Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 77 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

77 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

77 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

58%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
37
4 stars
13
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 stars
14
1-20 of 77 total reviews
58%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 77 total reviews
1-20 of 77 reviews
BY FAR BEST BUY OUT THERE FOR THE MONEY
11/6/2012

Customer review by MNWSR

5.0 stars 11/6/2012 by MNWSR
by MNWSR

EXCELLANT SOUND, EASY SET UP, WIRELESS REARS WORK PERFECT, SONY OUT DID THEMSELVES ON THIS PRODUCT. I WOULD BUY THIS AGAIN IF I NEEDED. WALWART HAS BEST PRICE ON THIS UNIT, WAS 479.00 AT THE STORE. THIS UNIT HAS NO DISTORSION AT HIGHEST VOLUME SETTING. THE DVD HAS PERFECT PICTURE AND REMOTE IS EASY TO USE. ONLY HAD SOME TIME IN PROGRAMMING FM PRESETS. OVERALL I GIVE THIS UNIT A EASY 10. AND I WILL RECOMEND THIS UNIT TO EVERYBODY. I HAD A HIGH END BOSE UNIT THAT THIS REPLACE FOR LESS THEN HALF THE PRICE AND BETTER SOUND. SOUND ON THIS UNIT IS CRYSTAL CLEAR, DIRECTIONS CLEAR FOR THE NORMAL PERSON TO SETUP. THANK YOU SONY.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MNWSR
ST LOUIS COUNTY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice System
12/23/2012

Customer review by Hato

5.0 stars 12/23/2012 by Hato
by Hato

Getting it all connected was quick and easy thanks in part to the nice speaker wire connectors. The wireless rear speakers with their own little amp are great and there was no problem with the connection to them. It sounds real good and I haven't noticed any odd sounds coming from the bass speaker, like I think someone else mentioned. The only problem I had was getting it to connect to our home network using any of the methods offered by the system, which are Easy Setup, Pin Setup and manual setup. On the second day of attempting to get it to connect I finally went to my computer to look for the answer, which I found. I logged into my router, which is a Netgear N600 dual band router (WNDR3400), and started going through the menus, then I found it. When I found the answer the system connected instantly. This is where I found the answer for my router: Go to Wireless>Advanced>Advanced Setup>Wireless Settings. At the bottom of that page was a section called Wireless Card Access List and a button called Set Up Access List. When I clicked on that button I saw my wifes laptop, and our Sony Playststion in the list. All I had to do was add the Sony surround system to the list and BAM it was connected. I bought this system online for in store pickup, the price was $429, but when I picked it up I got it for the store price of $350 which was really cool. I want to say that I don't usually give products a five star rating, but I really like this system and I think you will too. The picture shows the system and front speakers, along with the cable box, which is to the left. The speaker bases have screw slots and the speakers can be hung on the wall, or sit on the stand. I put screws in the stand to keep them from getting knocked off; we have hard floors.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hato
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Suprised I haven't been evicted!
7/3/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/3/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Here's the scoop on this gem, LOUD! As soon as I set everything up, I slapped in Clash of The Titans and I'll tell you, I thought the neighbors downstairs were going to pay me a visit. They probably didn't because they were enjoying the amazing sound clarity as much as I was! This setup is intense! It's an attractive package also, being all black and modern and stuff. The BluRay player itself looks like a PS3, which always fools my friends. I'll buy another one just to put in my bathroom. Yes, my bathroom. Peace.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Lake Charles, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great its does what it says.
3/10/2013

Customer review by dkramr

5.0 stars 3/10/2013 by dkramr
by dkramr

My family and I love it the online media like YouTube and pandora are great. We bought the Sony after our old home theater quit and the sound quality is great and the picture is true hd on our 52''. This system would be hard for people who are not computer savvy or don't understand the online account setup but if you do the setup it does all work and really make for the best home entertainment experience.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dkramr
Rockland, Me
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good
1/1/2014

Customer review by Pepe46

5.0 stars 1/1/2014 by Pepe46
by Pepe46

Thank

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pepe46
Canaan ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not Impressed
10/20/2013

Customer review by exasperated123

1.0 stars 10/20/2013 by exasperated123
by exasperated123

Love the look and price of this Home Theater System but right out of the box the screen flashed when on the Home Screen or playing a BluRay/DVD. The screen did not flash when used AppleTV through the HDMI port on the system, which doesn't make sense...Talked to Sony Technical Support and they have no product knowledge at all, I had to explain to them what AppleTV was. Im sorry if you are working in Technical Support you should know Technology...Needless to say after dealing with Sony on this system and not getting anything solved I will be returning the unit and finding something else.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
exasperated123
Southern VT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/22/2012

Customer review by smallville7

5.0 stars 9/22/2012 by smallville7
by smallville7

works good base could be better crackle does not work all that good keeps going off line,on the wifi.everthing esle works ok.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smallville7
usa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
1/19/2013

Customer review by treejam

1.0 stars 1/19/2013 by treejam
by treejam

GREAT SOUND...HOWEVER IT WON'T PLAY SOME MOVIES SAYS IT CAN'T READ THEM...ALREADY HAD A MOVIE GET STUCK IN IT AND IT FROZE ON ME.....TAKING THIS BACK AND GETTING MY MONEY BACK....2ND SURROUND SYSTEM I BOUGHT IN LESS THEN A MONTH FROM WALMART AND AM TAKING THIS BACK ALSO BECAUSE SONY STINKS....I WILL NEVER EVER BUY SONY ANYTHING AGAIN!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
treejam
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value!
5/4/2014

Customer review by LittleAngelERB

5.0 stars 5/4/2014 by LittleAngelERB
by LittleAngelERB

When our last "theater in a box" blew up, we tried 2 much more expensive systems (not theater in a box) but were not satisfied. Neither provided good separation of sound between the speakers even after making adjustments several times. So, we found this Sony and decided to try it. Glad we did. Sound is much better than the two more expensive systems, and the Blu Ray player has other features that we were looking for. The rear speakers are "wireless" because they do not have to be connected to the main system, but there are wires involved (must be connected to the wireless module which has to be plugged into an electrical outlet). We have a weak wireless signal in our living room (router is on an upper floor). but, even so, the rear speakers work great--no cutting on and off as someone else reported. For the money, you can't beat this system.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LittleAngelERB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excellent sound
5/5/2014

Customer review by JcKam

5.0 stars 5/5/2014 by JcKam
by JcKam

I just used it couples nights and it is great, easy to setup..WiFi, rear speakers are wireless and great sound

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JcKam
Napa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A great system setup is everything.
2/9/2014

Customer review by familyr

5.0 stars 2/9/2014 by familyr
by familyr

We have had it for about two years we love it. The placement of the sub and front speakers is key to getting the best bass and sound don't just follow pictures experiment with it. We have the PS3 hooked up to it as well and it's great for gaming. All the wifi and streaming features work great we stream more than buy now.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
familyr
Rockland Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Truly Amazing!! Player
8/1/2012

Customer review by tekno

5.0 stars 8/1/2012 by tekno
by tekno

After exploring features for a week, i realized i had bought the best player ever. Highly tek getting the intergration done with HDTV AND COMPUTER,but well worth the challenge!!!! Sony has an array of services it offers with Sony Entertainment Network. Music, Movies,Podcast etc. Also your computer videos are transferable to USB HD filtering. Great!!! I Love it

tekno
Minneapolis Mn.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Happy I bought this unit
10/10/2012

Customer review by rwats2001

5.0 stars 10/10/2012 by rwats2001
by rwats2001

This unit was so easy to setup and get the wifi network connected with no problems. I did have problems with getting audio from the TV through the Home Theater System but that was my fault. I went to sony.com and had a Live Chat with customer service and within minutes I had the problem resolved, which if I had read the instructions better I would have known what to do. No Fault of sony. The customer service guy was extremely helpful. I had a Philips Home Theater System with surround sound and Blu Ray. The rear speakers had extra long wires from the unit to the speakers and you had to run them under the floor to the other side of the room. With the Sony the rear speakers plug into an external wife unit and with ease you have your rear speakers set where ever you want them without running wires under the floor. I would highly recommend this system to everyone. I have a 60 HDTV and with this Sony system the surround sound is awesome.

rwats2001
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very pleased
12/7/2012

Customer review by Pley

5.0 stars 12/7/2012 by Pley
by Pley

This system surprised me in its full, rich surround sound. It was fairly easy to set up, provided even an FM tuner which they hardly mention in their writeup. I am totally pleased. Paul

Pley
Bixby
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/9/2012

Customer review by JRWSR

5.0 stars 12/9/2012 by JRWSR
by JRWSR

Sony technology at its best, out of the box great. Great picture, terrific sound, set was a snap with absolutely no problems.

JRWSR
Cambridge, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Use a Quality HDMI Cable
3/2/2013

Customer review by LoveSony1111

5.0 stars 3/2/2013 by LoveSony1111
by LoveSony1111

I was having issues after the first few days with picture going out, breaking up, sound going out and coming back again. I thought it might be my cable box. I looked here to see if others had similar problems. I did find at least one review that matched my challenges, having the same cable box. I swapped out a new cable box and had the same issues. While working with the cable company, I had picture but no sound. They asked me to make sure all my cables were secure. I was sure, did that several times, but I checked again. When I pushed the HDMI cable in, although it was already secure, the sound came back. I got off the phone and all the same problems started. Then it dawned on me. When I bought the HDMI cables they had basic cables and expensive high speed extra quality cables. I went with basic. I went back and bought the expensive high quality, high speed HDMI cables and all my problems went away. Better picture, great sound, and no more blacking out or sound loss. Never had another problem. It's been great ever since. love it. Lesson, don't go cheap, get the best HDMI cables you can get.

LoveSony1111
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing sound
3/5/2013

Customer review by jsb77059

5.0 stars 3/5/2013 by jsb77059
by jsb77059

This system sounds much better than most systems that cost twice as much. automated configuration is pretty cool. The two HDMI inputs work with both my cable box and my PC. I don't have any issues or problems with it. I think this is the best system for the money.

jsb77059
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing Sound
6/30/2013

Customer review by simplyteeb

5.0 stars 6/30/2013 by simplyteeb
by simplyteeb

Great sound. Music sounds so real now, especially the voices. Movies...unbelievable. Goes great with my Sony 3D Led TV. If you want cool looks, great sounds and EASE of use, buy this system. Feels like it should cost $1000 instead of just $500

simplyteeb
Saint Albans, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great!!
5/5/2014

Customer review by Stephen63

5.0 stars 5/5/2014 by Stephen63
by Stephen63

This all-in-one home theater system is by far (especially for a Sony) a great buy. Though not for a real large room it still puts out plenty of volume to fill one. For as low as the price is, you get a good quality Item with great high definition 3D/2D picture and sound. I recommend this for anyone looking for a new home theater system for their apartment or home.

Stephen63
Tx
best product so far
5/3/2014

Customer review by generalhudson

5.0 stars 5/3/2014 by generalhudson
by generalhudson

this product is great , just wish it wasnt so difficult to get blu-rays into the side option

generalhudson
brooklyn new york
1-20 of 77 total reviews
1-20 of 77 reviews