Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 129 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

129 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

129 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

57%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
62
4 stars
22
3 stars
19
2 stars
5
1 stars
21
1-20 of 129 total reviews
57%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 129 total reviews
1-20 of 129 reviews
Nice System
12/23/2012

Customer review by Hato

5.0 stars 12/23/2012 by Hato
by Hato
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Getting it all connected was quick and easy thanks in part to the nice speaker wire connectors. The wireless rear speakers with their own little amp are great and there was no problem with the connection to them. It sounds real good and I haven't noticed any odd sounds coming from the bass speaker, like I think someone else mentioned. The only problem I had was getting it to connect to our home network using any of the methods offered by the system, which are Easy Setup, Pin Setup and manual setup. On the second day of attempting to get it to connect I finally went to my computer to look for the answer, which I found. I logged into my router, which is a Netgear N600 dual band router (WNDR3400), and started going through the menus, then I found it. When I found the answer the system connected instantly. This is where I found the answer for my router: Go to Wireless>Advanced>Advanced Setup>Wireless Settings. At the bottom of that page was a section called Wireless Card Access List and a button called Set Up Access List. When I clicked on that button I saw my wifes laptop, and our Sony Playststion in the list. All I had to do was add the Sony surround system to the list and BAM it was connected. I bought this system online for in store pickup, the price was $429, but when I picked it up I got it for the store price of $350 which was really cool. I want to say that I don't usually give products a five star rating, but I really like this system and I think you will too. The picture shows the system and front speakers, along with the cable box, which is to the left. The speaker bases have screw slots and the speakers can be hung on the wall, or sit on the stand. I put screws in the stand to keep them from getting knocked off; we have hard floors.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hato
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
BY FAR BEST BUY OUT THERE FOR THE MONEY
11/6/2012

Customer review by MNWSR

5.0 stars 11/6/2012 by MNWSR
by MNWSR

EXCELLANT SOUND, EASY SET UP, WIRELESS REARS WORK PERFECT, SONY OUT DID THEMSELVES ON THIS PRODUCT. I WOULD BUY THIS AGAIN IF I NEEDED. WALWART HAS BEST PRICE ON THIS UNIT, WAS 479.00 AT THE STORE. THIS UNIT HAS NO DISTORSION AT HIGHEST VOLUME SETTING. THE DVD HAS PERFECT PICTURE AND REMOTE IS EASY TO USE. ONLY HAD SOME TIME IN PROGRAMMING FM PRESETS. OVERALL I GIVE THIS UNIT A EASY 10. AND I WILL RECOMEND THIS UNIT TO EVERYBODY. I HAD A HIGH END BOSE UNIT THAT THIS REPLACE FOR LESS THEN HALF THE PRICE AND BETTER SOUND. SOUND ON THIS UNIT IS CRYSTAL CLEAR, DIRECTIONS CLEAR FOR THE NORMAL PERSON TO SETUP. THANK YOU SONY.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MNWSR
ST LOUIS COUNTY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Disappointed
11/7/2012

Customer review by sonynobuy

1.0 stars 11/7/2012 by sonynobuy
by sonynobuy

I could write a very well worded review of this product but I simple am too frustrated to spend any more time on this product. Where to start, the sound crackles when louder scenes occur, there is no physical user interface (sure when you press the "button areas" the fancy LED light dims and brightens) but the function doesn't work every time (never had that with hard buttons on a receiver), turning on sometimes doesn't work so you try to reboot only to find out that the function selector somehow change from HDMI1 to another one without you changing it. Boot up time varies and that isn't because I change standby modes. I've left the standby mode the same since purchase and boot up time is all over the map however sometimes I find that is because the unit decided to change functions. There is a hard drive in this unti which means it will only last a few years where as my last home theater is still perfectly fine if the industry hadn't changed interfaces. Convienent.

sonynobuy
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed
11/7/2012

Customer review by sonynobuy

1.0 stars 11/7/2012 by sonynobuy
by sonynobuy

I could write a very well worded review of this product but I simple am too frustrated to spend any more time on this product. Where to start, the sound crackles when louder scenes occur, there is no physical user interface (sure when you press the "button areas" the fancy LED light dims and brightens) but the function doesn't work every time (never had that with hard buttons on a receiver), turning on sometimes doesn't work so you try to reboot only to find out that the function selector somehow change from HDMI1 to another one without you changing it. Boot up time varies and that isn't because I change standby modes. I've left the standby mode the same since purchase and boot up time is all over the map however sometimes I find that is because the unit decided to change functions. There is a hard drive in this unti which means it will only last a few years where as my last home theater is still perfectly fine if the industry hadn't changed interfaces. Convienent.

sonynobuy
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Mostly great. Lacking some detail
7/14/2012

Customer review by KarlT10

4.0 stars 7/14/2012 by KarlT10
by KarlT10

I mostly love this unit, but there are some details that were missed.... First, the remote sensor is VERY poor. The unit is sitting on TV cabinet at 6' high, and 10' away, yet I have to hold the remote above my head and point it at the unit before it will pick-up commands. Second, I've used a receiver every time I watch TV for about 10 years. I'm now doing that with the BDV-N790W, but every time you turn-on the unit it displays the input source at the top of the screen until you you turn-off 'Display'. (setting Auto Display to 'Off' does not correct this) Third, there appears to be no means of adj. individual sound levels such as bass, mid, treble, etc. I'm having a hard time finding a volume level that doesn't include too much bass. It also appears you cannot tweak front or rear volume levels. I'd like to be able to boost rear speaker volume. The overall sound is great - the functionality is great- the looks are excellent - the unit size is great - the remote rear speakers are EXCELLENT. No regret whatsoever in buying this unit.

KarlT10
West Des Moines, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Mostly great. Lacking some detail
7/14/2012

Customer review by KarlT10

4.0 stars 7/14/2012 by KarlT10
by KarlT10

I mostly love this unit, but there are some details that were missed.... First, the remote sensor is VERY poor. The unit is sitting on TV cabinet at 6' high, and 10' away, yet I have to hold the remote above my head and point it at the unit before it will pick-up commands. Second, I've used a receiver every time I watch TV for about 10 years. I'm now doing that with the BDV-N790W, but every time you turn-on the unit it displays the input source at the top of the screen until you you turn-off 'Display'. (setting Auto Display to 'Off' does not correct this) Third, there appears to be no means of adj. individual sound levels such as bass, mid, treble, etc. I'm having a hard time finding a volume level that doesn't include too much bass. It also appears you cannot tweak front or rear volume levels. I'd like to be able to boost rear speaker volume. The overall sound is great - the functionality is great- the looks are excellent - the unit size is great - the remote rear speakers are EXCELLENT. No regret whatsoever in buying this unit.

KarlT10
West Des Moines, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Happy I bought this unit
10/10/2012

Customer review by rwats2001

5.0 stars 10/10/2012 by rwats2001
by rwats2001

This unit was so easy to setup and get the wifi network connected with no problems. I did have problems with getting audio from the TV through the Home Theater System but that was my fault. I went to sony.com and had a Live Chat with customer service and within minutes I had the problem resolved, which if I had read the instructions better I would have known what to do. No Fault of sony. The customer service guy was extremely helpful. I had a Philips Home Theater System with surround sound and Blu Ray. The rear speakers had extra long wires from the unit to the speakers and you had to run them under the floor to the other side of the room. With the Sony the rear speakers plug into an external wife unit and with ease you have your rear speakers set where ever you want them without running wires under the floor. I would highly recommend this system to everyone. I have a 60 HDTV and with this Sony system the surround sound is awesome.

rwats2001
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Happy I bought this unit
10/10/2012

Customer review by rwats2001

5.0 stars 10/10/2012 by rwats2001
by rwats2001

This unit was so easy to setup and get the wifi network connected with no problems. I did have problems with getting audio from the TV through the Home Theater System but that was my fault. I went to sony.com and had a Live Chat with customer service and within minutes I had the problem resolved, which if I had read the instructions better I would have known what to do. No Fault of sony. The customer service guy was extremely helpful. I had a Philips Home Theater System with surround sound and Blu Ray. The rear speakers had extra long wires from the unit to the speakers and you had to run them under the floor to the other side of the room. With the Sony the rear speakers plug into an external wife unit and with ease you have your rear speakers set where ever you want them without running wires under the floor. I would highly recommend this system to everyone. I have a 60 HDTV and with this Sony system the surround sound is awesome.

rwats2001
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better then expected!!!!
9/2/2012

Customer review by Mrnyknicks

4.0 stars 9/2/2012 by Mrnyknicks
by Mrnyknicks

The unit itself is functioning better then I expected from a HTIB, Dur to budget I was on the fence about purchasing componets. I ran across a great deal for this unti and tried. I can only say this unit had completely won me over and i have never second guess myself on this purchase. Set up was easy. Some of the apps was a headache but that was minor. I didn't buy this for the apps they are extra. I was looking for a great sound, that can handle many inputs and this unit fits the bill. The bad is while sitting down you can not see what is displayed on the unit becaue the display faces up and not o the front. There is no EQ so other then the surround sound setting you can't lower bass ( there is a night setting that seems to lower the bass) or adjust other areas to my liking. Support had me on hold forever so i hung up and asked a friend for help. overall I like the unit and plan to keep it for a long time.

Mrnyknicks
Wilmington, Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better then expected!!!!
9/2/2012

Customer review by Mrnyknicks

4.0 stars 9/2/2012 by Mrnyknicks
by Mrnyknicks

The unit itself is functioning better then I expected from a HTIB, Dur to budget I was on the fence about purchasing componets. I ran across a great deal for this unti and tried. I can only say this unit had completely won me over and i have never second guess myself on this purchase. Set up was easy. Some of the apps was a headache but that was minor. I didn't buy this for the apps they are extra. I was looking for a great sound, that can handle many inputs and this unit fits the bill. The bad is while sitting down you can not see what is displayed on the unit becaue the display faces up and not o the front. There is no EQ so other then the surround sound setting you can't lower bass ( there is a night setting that seems to lower the bass) or adjust other areas to my liking. Support had me on hold forever so i hung up and asked a friend for help. overall I like the unit and plan to keep it for a long time.

Mrnyknicks
Wilmington, Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Suprised I haven't been evicted!
7/3/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/3/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Here's the scoop on this gem, LOUD! As soon as I set everything up, I slapped in Clash of The Titans and I'll tell you, I thought the neighbors downstairs were going to pay me a visit. They probably didn't because they were enjoying the amazing sound clarity as much as I was! This setup is intense! It's an attractive package also, being all black and modern and stuff. The BluRay player itself looks like a PS3, which always fools my friends. I'll buy another one just to put in my bathroom. Yes, my bathroom. Peace.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Lake Charles, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Use a Quality HDMI Cable
3/2/2013

Customer review by LoveSony1111

5.0 stars 3/2/2013 by LoveSony1111
by LoveSony1111

I was having issues after the first few days with picture going out, breaking up, sound going out and coming back again. I thought it might be my cable box. I looked here to see if others had similar problems. I did find at least one review that matched my challenges, having the same cable box. I swapped out a new cable box and had the same issues. While working with the cable company, I had picture but no sound. They asked me to make sure all my cables were secure. I was sure, did that several times, but I checked again. When I pushed the HDMI cable in, although it was already secure, the sound came back. I got off the phone and all the same problems started. Then it dawned on me. When I bought the HDMI cables they had basic cables and expensive high speed extra quality cables. I went with basic. I went back and bought the expensive high quality, high speed HDMI cables and all my problems went away. Better picture, great sound, and no more blacking out or sound loss. Never had another problem. It's been great ever since. love it. Lesson, don't go cheap, get the best HDMI cables you can get.

LoveSony1111
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Use a Quality HDMI Cable
3/2/2013

Customer review by LoveSony1111

5.0 stars 3/2/2013 by LoveSony1111
by LoveSony1111

I was having issues after the first few days with picture going out, breaking up, sound going out and coming back again. I thought it might be my cable box. I looked here to see if others had similar problems. I did find at least one review that matched my challenges, having the same cable box. I swapped out a new cable box and had the same issues. While working with the cable company, I had picture but no sound. They asked me to make sure all my cables were secure. I was sure, did that several times, but I checked again. When I pushed the HDMI cable in, although it was already secure, the sound came back. I got off the phone and all the same problems started. Then it dawned on me. When I bought the HDMI cables they had basic cables and expensive high speed extra quality cables. I went with basic. I went back and bought the expensive high quality, high speed HDMI cables and all my problems went away. Better picture, great sound, and no more blacking out or sound loss. Never had another problem. It's been great ever since. love it. Lesson, don't go cheap, get the best HDMI cables you can get.

LoveSony1111
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sony Blueray HDB-N790w
3/14/2015

Customer review by coump

3.0 stars 3/14/2015 by coump
by coump

At first I liked the unit. The more I used it the more it let me down. The surroud speakers (rear) have little or no bass. Most of the time you hear something that sounds like something fell in the kitchen. Long time to boot around 40secs after the tv comes on and reads no signal. I completly do not understand how you mount the speakers from the rear. If it means removing the black rectangular cap on the back, forget about it. I would create more damage to the speakers. Try finding speaker stands for that syatem. I ended up buying flat stands that are too large for the rear speakers looks weird. Every speaker stand I tried would not mount the speakers with that bottom mount setup. If Im wrong about my review can someone let me know.

coump
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Sony Blueray HDB-N790w
3/14/2015

Customer review by coump

3.0 stars 3/14/2015 by coump
by coump

At first I liked the unit. The more I used it the more it let me down. The surroud speakers (rear) have little or no bass. Most of the time you hear something that sounds like something fell in the kitchen. Long time to boot around 40secs after the tv comes on and reads no signal. I completly do not understand how you mount the speakers from the rear. If it means removing the black rectangular cap on the back, forget about it. I would create more damage to the speakers. Try finding speaker stands for that syatem. I ended up buying flat stands that are too large for the rear speakers looks weird. Every speaker stand I tried would not mount the speakers with that bottom mount setup. If Im wrong about my review can someone let me know.

coump
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great value!
5/4/2014

Customer review by LittleAngelERB

5.0 stars 5/4/2014 by LittleAngelERB
by LittleAngelERB
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When our last "theater in a box" blew up, we tried 2 much more expensive systems (not theater in a box) but were not satisfied. Neither provided good separation of sound between the speakers even after making adjustments several times. So, we found this Sony and decided to try it. Glad we did. Sound is much better than the two more expensive systems, and the Blu Ray player has other features that we were looking for. The rear speakers are "wireless" because they do not have to be connected to the main system, but there are wires involved (must be connected to the wireless module which has to be plugged into an electrical outlet). We have a weak wireless signal in our living room (router is on an upper floor). but, even so, the rear speakers work great--no cutting on and off as someone else reported. For the money, you can't beat this system.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LittleAngelERB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice 'wireless' system
5/5/2014

Customer review by WolfmanJoe3

3.0 stars 5/5/2014 by WolfmanJoe3
by WolfmanJoe3

The system sounds great, looks nice, and was easy to set up. My only complaint - and it is a significant one - is that the marketing for this product is very misleading. The word "wireless' appears in the description multiple times. As does wi-fi. In fact, the Sony website still says "home theater system with wireless, rear surround sound speakers allow for unlimited placement options..." The photos on the website are also void of any wires. Wow, this must be a wireless system. I can put the speakers anywhere without the constraint of wires. Not!!! Imagine my surprise to find a box full of wires with the speakers. Yes, every speaker has a wire connected to it. OK, so the rear speakers connect to an amplifier, but the amp is plugged in to a power outlet and has WIRES to the two rear speakers. The amp is just wireless to the main controller. Does that qualify as wireless? It certainly does not have unlimited placement options. The speakers are not wireless. The system sounds great and would rate 5 stars if it was truly wireless and still worked this well. As it is, I now have speakers that have very limited placement - unlike the creative writing / false advertising in the product literature.

WolfmanJoe3
Washington, DC area
Great system
5/7/2014

Customer review by bwhami

5.0 stars 5/7/2014 by bwhami
by bwhami

I liked the feature where the disk slides in the side of the top. No tray for a small child to break off by accident. I also bought it for the Wi-Fi feature and the rear wireless speakers. I was surprised by all the internet features available including Pandora and Netflix. Some of the internet features, like Netflix require a subscription fee and some are free. The surround sound is great and I also run my satellite TV through it too. The light in front dims every time you touch a button; it reminds me of an old Cylon eye moving back and forth. It was very easy to setup and use. The remote is small and easy to use. It even remembers the movies you watch and you put a disc you watch back in and it will ask you if you want resume play. It is a great system.

bwhami
Provo, Utah
Good Product but lot to improve.
12/6/2012

Customer review by HariVinings

3.0 stars 12/6/2012 by HariVinings
by HariVinings

Pros: Sound Quality is good but it doesn't produce enough sound for a 1000W system. Rear speake quality is also very good. Easy Set up. Cons: Rear speakers are not really wireless. I even called the customer support to enquire about the rear speakers before buying this product, they also said it is wireless. I will be more careful when I buy something from Sony next time. Rear speakers need to connect to a common amplifier attached to a power source and the wires for the rear speakers are not long enough. HDMI cable is not included in the package and to me it is totally unacceptable. Also the screws for hanging the speakers on the wall could have been included in the package. I am giving 3 stars for this product for the sound quality and easy set up.

HariVinings
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Adjustments
7/19/2015

Customer review by okcgary

2.0 stars 7/19/2015 by okcgary
by okcgary

My rear speakers keep cutting off. I have followed instructions multiple times, the light is green, adjust says they work but NO sound from wireless speakers.

okcgary
Oklahoma City, OK 73142, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 129 total reviews
1-20 of 129 reviews