Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 14 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

14 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

14 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-14 of 14 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great new reel.
10/12/2012

Customer review by bobbubba38

5.0 stars 10/12/2012 by bobbubba38
by bobbubba38

First time buyer of an Okuma product. I sought out all reviews I could find. After buying this reel I was very impressed. It IS as advertised. Light, extremely smooth, quiet and well made. I purchased the 30 size "S" for high speed. It is fast!! First use handled bass and pike with ease with 8 lb line. I love this baby and am going to get another for my son. Price points are excellent, a lot lower than MSRP here at WMart. It is also a fine looking reel using latest technology. I would expect many yrs of service based on Okumas reputation

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bobbubba38
North Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
8/13/2012

Customer review by silverback13

5.0 stars 8/13/2012 by silverback13
by silverback13

just as good if not better than many reels in the $200 price range will last for many year as long as you keep it clean matche perfect to my okuma citrix rod.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
silverback13
north carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
TrioS Has Turned Me into an Okuma Collector!
5/27/2013

Customer review by Vvs1Blue

5.0 stars 5/27/2013 by Vvs1Blue
by Vvs1Blue

I've recently began a collection of reels and rods and I was drawn by the Okuma brand's looks and product development throughout the years. Yes, I have done my homework! One of my first purchases has been the TrioS 40 which I have strung up with a Monofiber wrap then attached Spiderwire 30lbs Braid. I attached the reel to the Okuma Tarvos rod. The size 40 is quite adequate for the type of fishing that I do around Biscayne Bay and I cheat by using the 30 Lb braid. Since the braid diameter is thinner than mono 125 yards fits easily on the spool. The TrioS performed flawlessly while fishing for snappers 2-6 lbs. Setting the drag was effortless and once done, cleaning was just as easy. I was not satisfied with the performance of the Tarvos rod so I changed to a Abu Garcia Vigilante for my next fishing trip and cannot wait to test out this formidable combination as I wait for an Okuma Citrix rod I specifically ordered for this reel.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vvs1Blue
Miami, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Reel , real smooth and high-speed retrieve
2/18/2013

Customer review by 2fattire

4.0 stars 2/18/2013 by 2fattire
by 2fattire

I paired up my Okuma SST Steelhead pole with a Okuma Trio 55S . Nice fit, so smooth, ten bearings ,high-speed , tough too , loaded with braided line. For me it just could not get much better. Great price for a quality reel.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2fattire
Eugene Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great
3/24/2013

Customer review by jamorenos

5.0 stars 3/24/2013 by jamorenos
by jamorenos

Excellent product light and cool finish the 10 bearing really make it work smooth

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jamorenos
Medina, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
okuma trio high speed spinning reel
2/15/2013

Customer review by soddyjeff

5.0 stars 2/15/2013 by soddyjeff
by soddyjeff

Bought two of the 30"s and I am thoroughly impressed for the price. I also use pflueger president spinning reels which cost a few more bucks than these and I like the okuma's better. I use these for white bass and small mouth bass on the tennessee river. They are spooled with berkley braid at ten pounds, 2 lb diameter. Mated to a 7 foot medium pflueger president im8 rod. This is an outstanding combination. I am very impressed with okuma reels, I now have 5 of them. I highly recommend these reels.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
soddyjeff
hixson,tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
$30 dollar performace in a $80 reel.
7/19/2013

Customer review by Crabbypants31

2.0 stars 7/19/2013 by Crabbypants31
by Crabbypants31

This reel reminds me of the prototypes you read about in the "What's coming next year" section of fishing magazines. However, it must have gotten released too soon. It casts like a dream; but it reels in like a grade school science project. The gear ratio is so high, the bail MUST be operated by hand. If not, it binds so bad it feels like the handle will break before the bail closes. The purists say that's how it's supose to work. Yet all of the 80 dollar reels, including the Trio bait feeder, operate as slick as can be. The drive pinion #the gear that the handle drives# is not supported and results in a handle feeling loose. The handle wobbles as a result. These excess clearances are generally the way the whole reel is designed. To bad. This is like selling a fast car with no brakes. I also own an Okuma Epixor Baitfeeder. That and a Cedros Saltwater baitcaster reel. They are top shelf reels. The Trio Baitfeeder has similar clearance issues to the 40S except the bail can be closed by turning the handle. I usualy manually close the bails on open face reels as a matter of practice. But, occationally, I like to use the handle.

Was this review helpful? (7) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Crabbypants31
Gibson, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Mid-Priced Reel
7/7/2014

Customer review by Regreps

5.0 stars 7/7/2014 by Regreps
by Regreps

I own two of the Trio 40s which I used for silver (coho) salmon here in Alaska. Two years and many hard-charging fish later and these reels still act like new. I filled both with 30 lb. Power Pro braid and mounted then to Okuma SST Salmon/Steelhead rods. The drag works exceptionally well, a must for my fishing. All other functions are smooth as silk. Their third season begins in about a month and I have no doubts as to how they will perform! I highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Regreps
Medical Lake, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Great reel
7/9/2014

Customer review by Nevulafruit

4.0 stars 7/9/2014 by Nevulafruit
by Nevulafruit

Great reel for salt, got the 30 and put 30lb power pro 150 yards casts perfect once the line is wet.. I have to slow down the reeling its prity quick, nice and smooth. Lil woried about not having stainless bearings, but no mater salt eats everything when you live at the beach eventually. rinse and take care of it. do not let it sit without a splash or two of fresh water.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nevulafruit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
disappointed
10/15/2014

Customer review by nohuli

1.0 stars 10/15/2014 by nohuli
by nohuli

I had high expectations for this reel. Unfortunately after the first use, cogs inside the reel gears apparently broke making the reel completely inoperable. In my opinion the overall quality of okuma reels seem to be getting worse. This was the second (and last) failure of an okuma reel. My Okuma reels however seem to be holding up quite well and I am very satisfied with their quality. The site to store purchase is convenient and I like saving on shipping charges.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nohuli
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice looking but...
12/9/2014

Customer review by Wallysworld66

1.0 stars 12/9/2014 by Wallysworld66
by Wallysworld66

Worked fine fresh out of the box but anti-reverse quit working before I put line on the spool. Will be returning.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wallysworld66
Would recommend to a friend? No
Innovative, and well built
12/23/2014

Customer review by Uflytyer

5.0 stars 12/23/2014 by Uflytyer
by Uflytyer

I have several other Okuma Reels, and based on the experience I have with those decided to get the Trio. The Okuma reels are built a well as any, and better than most. For the price, they are a very good value.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Uflytyer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Reel
7/27/2014

Customer review by JimmyDH

5.0 stars 7/27/2014 by JimmyDH
by JimmyDH

Functions great and price was excellent.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JimmyDH
Grand Praire. Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
OKUMA Trio 30S
7/14/2015

Customer review by John

3.0 stars 7/14/2015 by John
by John

Have not had a chance to use this reel yet. It looks to be well made. Very smooth , good fit and finish. Materials look high quality and the price is great. My rating reflects that I have not fished with it yet.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
John
Would recommend to a friend? Yes