Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 16 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

16 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

16 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-12 of 12 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Very good reel for the money, I will buy another.
3/20/2013

Customer review by Muddler

5.0 stars 3/20/2013 by Muddler
by Muddler

I purchased the 7-8 wt reel. Used it on the Missouri river in very cold weather and caught two nice large browns (24-26 inches) and it performed very well. Stripping line for casting is great and line retrieval is very nice, even with big 5 LB -plus pound fish on. The only precaution I can say is, don't loosen the drag too much as it will spin your line off the reel too fast causing a tangled mess when you strip line off.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Muddler
Great Falls, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
12/24/2012

Customer review by Alstr

5.0 stars 12/24/2012 by Alstr
by Alstr

Excellent reel for the price. Holds lots of backing w/ a strong smooth drag

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alstr
Walla Walla, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good working reel, great value
6/16/2013

Customer review by runmt

4.0 stars 6/16/2013 by runmt
by runmt

I bought an Okuma reel several years ago and have been very pleased with its performance and reliability. This updated model seems like it will retain its appearance and function even better than the older one. At this price, it's a bargain. If you have the cash and enjoy purchasing more expensive reels for emotional reasons, then buy a different reel. If you like a reel that looks good and works great, then buy this one.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
runmt
Pray, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Super reel for the money!
5/30/2014

Customer review by Tabloka

5.0 stars 5/30/2014 by Tabloka
by Tabloka

This reel is as good as reels three times the price,and smooth,this real is so smooth just hold it and give it the slightest shake and the spool will go round and round.I really did not expect this reel to be this nice but so far i am very impressed,if you find a better fly reel for this price,please let me know,i'am sure you will have a hard time finding one,i have dozens of fly reels so trust me.The reel pretty much cost as much as a spare spool,so instead of buying spare spools,i think i'am just going to buy a couple more reels,ya cant beat it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tabloka
Charlotte,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
As expected
11/5/2013

Customer review by porkcheeks

5.0 stars 11/5/2013 by porkcheeks
by porkcheeks

I'm sure a lot more money would get you a lot more reel. I bought this for steelhead and fully believe its up to the task. So far its only had to handle mid-sized trout. Easy to reverse the retrieve direction and load up. the drag can stop a bulldozer. Well deserving of its reputation as one of the best cheap reels out there.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
porkcheeks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Smooth Drags
3/25/2014

Customer review by GoodDoog

5.0 stars 3/25/2014 by GoodDoog
by GoodDoog

I bought his reel for trolling flies and streamers for largemouth bass and stripers on my local waters. I bought th 7/8 wt version. For trolling you need a large arbored reel because you dole out 100 feet of line or more. Since fly reels are 1:1 ratio, it helps to have the large arbor for reels line faster. Despite the large arbor, it holds a lot of line and backing. The drags are nice. I read that it had cork drags. There is a stainless steal washer and another material in addition to the cork. This was my second disc-drag fly reel. The Okuma has a superior, smoother drag than another brand I had that I won't mention. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoodDoog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
unbelievable value
12/8/2014

Customer review by flyfishermaan

5.0 stars 12/8/2014 by flyfishermaan
by flyfishermaan

I own far more expensive reels than this one but some I was just investigating salt water fly fishing for the first time I didn't want to sink a small fortune into a reel I didn't know was going to be used 1 or 21 times a year. Surprisingly smooth drag slowing down the fish and unlimited backing storage (over 500 yards) and large arbor to reel them in quickly. A real home run. .

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
flyfishermaan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good drag & lightweight
8/27/2014

Customer review by Spudhucker

4.0 stars 8/27/2014 by Spudhucker
by Spudhucker

For the money, it's a pretty decent reel. But, if you are putting 5 wt line on the 4/5 reel; don't expect to get very much backing onto the reel. I paired up the Crisium 4/5 (8'6") rod with the SLV 4/5 reel using 5 wt line; and it has a very nice balance to the setup.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Spudhucker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
perfect purchase
11/7/2013

Customer review by cteve

5.0 stars 11/7/2013 by cteve
by cteve

Just what I wanted. Delivered ahead of schedule. Best price anywhere.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cteve
Lewisburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fishin' Dude
11/25/2014

Customer review by Weedette

5.0 stars 11/25/2014 by Weedette
by Weedette

It works great!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Weedette
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good value
6/2/2015

Customer review by siege

4.0 stars 6/2/2015 by siege
by siege

Quality reel for a bargain price. This is my third Okuma reel. Strong and smooth, they are a reliable workhorse, but look like a more expensive reel.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
siege
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Okuma Reels
5/26/2015

Customer review by N2trout

4.0 stars 5/26/2015 by N2trout
by N2trout

Bought the reel for a 14 foot 9 weight spey rod in size 10-11. I own four other Okuma fly reels in smaller sizes and have had very good function from them all, no problems whatsoever. Drags are smooth, and the free spool retrieve is a great feature. I fish about fifty days a year, primarily in Montana and have never had an issue with these reels even though they have all been abused occasionally. This would have been a five star rating except that the SLV model, at least in the large size, doesn't convert to a left hand retrieve. The Sierra and Integrity reels can be converted.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
N2trout
Would recommend to a friend? Yes