Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 195 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

195 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

195 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
80
4 stars
67
3 stars
22
2 stars
6
1 stars
20
1-20 of 184 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 184 total reviews
1-20 of 184 reviews
6/3/2012

Customer review by xswal1

4.0 stars 6/3/2012 by xswal1
by xswal1

We ordered it on-line and shipped to store. I thought the box 2 would be bigger so I picked up each box/slide as it arrived with my Ford Explorer. The box 2 with all the wood had to be returned or had a delivery issue so Wal-mart provided a credit and I had to bring the box 3 and slide to the store to return. We then had to re-order the playset again with a $20 credit due to the first issue. The second time I waited for all the boxes to arrive before I picked them up. No issues putting them all in my truck with the back gate open the short drive to my house. The manufacture needs to use a better box for all the wood but it arrived with only 1 board broken. Follow the directions and there shouldn't be an issue with assembly in the 8-10 hours.

Was this review helpful? (68) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xswal1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Wonderful!!
5/27/2013

Customer review by Floridamom2013

5.0 stars 5/27/2013 by Floridamom2013
by Floridamom2013

We got this for our two year old and he absolutely loves it. He is still too little for the monkey bars but this is a set he can really grow into. He's a climber so the rock wall going up to the fort isn't an issue. It took my husband a few hours to put the rock wall and swing section of the swing as well as the monkey bars. We had a friend come help the next day and it took them about 5-6 hours to finish it completely. They are both pretty handy but they also had lunch/ water & beer breaks in there too : ) I would highly recommend this set. We live in Florida and to put out money on the smaller plastic sets were a waste since the sun/heat makes them brittle...this set is made out of nice cedar that should last him years of playing.

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Floridamom2013
Ft Myers,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
One Happy Little Girl
4/6/2013

Customer review by Star2013

5.0 stars 4/6/2013 by Star2013
by Star2013
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this for my daughter who is 4 yrs old and she enjoys every minute that she gets to play on it. I spent a long time searching and price matching the different swing sets at the different stores but when it came down to it this one was the best deal and we even got free shipping to our home. It came a week earlier then the expected delivery date I order on Friday it came on Wensday the following week so we were very happy. The assembly was fairly easy and my dad and husband had all kinds of fun with it took them about 7 1/2 hours total over 2 days. It is very nice and my daughter loves it! I would recommned it to anyone that it looking for a good wooden swing set because for the money it is well worth the amount!

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Star2013
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect Swing Set!
4/10/2013

Customer review by parkersmom1009

5.0 stars 4/10/2013 by parkersmom1009
by parkersmom1009

I don't usually write reviews but I am so pleased with this swing set and wanted to let others know who might be considering purchasing this. I looked for two months trying to find a swing set that wasn't too large for our backyard, and this swing set had the smallest footprint I could find (around 12x12 ft). We ordered it and received it in a few days; faster than I expected! It was all packaged very well and the box that held the lumber was actually packed in one large box with another box on the outside to prevent damage during shipping. I did an inventory on all of the parts and there were no missing pieces and no damaged pieces. My husband worked on it for about 4 hours one day and then the following weekend we did the rest in about 8 hours. It is quite a job but we had no problems at all. Our backyard is not level at all so instead of leveling the entire area we just dug a trench and kind of buried the monkey bars in the ground. On a couple of other areas that needed to be built up we used a brick here and there and that solved the problem; might go back under the swing legs and pour some Quikrete there. They also recommend in the directions to put a water seal on the wood every year because even though the wood is pretreated it will wear off due to the sun. We haven't done this yet but plan to soon. We also plan to put landscaping timbers around the swing set and fill with mulch. As for our 3 year old boy, he loves his new swing set! We ordered a half bucket swing for him and installed it in place of one of the regular ones so he will be more secure. We also ordered handles and installed them at the top of the ladder; I would highly recommend doing this as it helps our little boy feel more secure going up. I knew he would want a ship's wheel in his fort so I ordered one of those separately and also a flag for the outside of his fort. Very pleased with this swing set! Looks nice and the wood is a nice quality; doesn't look cheap like a lot of others I've seen. Great purchase!

Was this review helpful? (39) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
parkersmom1009
Batesville, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Grandson Loves it!!
8/29/2014

Customer review by shoppinyaya

5.0 stars 8/29/2014 by shoppinyaya
by shoppinyaya

I am very pleased with this purchase. The hardest part was waiting for all the boxes to get here. I have never put anything like this together. Checking in the parts was easy to do with the labeling on each piece of lumber. Directions were a breeze to follow. The best part is our grandson loves his new playscape.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shoppinyaya
Hutto tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
pros and cons
3/12/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 3/12/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I found that the amount of activities that came with the playground was very impressive, but I was not completely satisfied with the quality of the wood, I would say the playground will last a few years but I would not suggest this for older/bigger children. The slide is wonderfully long and durable, the swings are comfortable and a great joy for the children, the picnic area inspires my kids to pretend ice cream shop, store, etc which is great to see. I love that it came with a telescope for the fort area. The monkey bars are fun although not as long as I expected, only 3 bars to climb across and last of all the chalkboard lol, is made of a tarp material, I was expecting a chalk "board". Over all, my children love it, I just wish the wood was sturdy enough that I could trust it would not break if I was to swing with them. Took 4 of us (2 being construction workers) about 5 hours to put the playground together. great for children 3 to 10

Was this review helpful? (27) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Taunton, ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Value for the Money!
5/27/2012

Customer review by mommy2rande

5.0 stars 5/27/2012 by mommy2rande
by mommy2rande

I have two young kids (ages 1 and 2 1/2) and this set is perfect for them and has some stuff that they can grow into. The swing set is very sturdy, it doesnt move when the kids are swinging on it, even though we have yet to stake it to the ground (just finished set up less than 24 hrs. ago). In addition, the fort is very strong and can support the adults who were putting it together. We had the item shipped to our local Walmart, and the box was very damaged and had lots of broken pieces. The company (Cedar Summit) sent out parts that arrived just over a week later. In that shipment, there was one more broken piece so they "overnighted" the part. Great company to deal with. The directions could have been more clear though, very confusing at times, and we had handy people helping us out! The kids LOVE it, it looks great, and is relatively compact for all that it has, so it doesn't take over the yard. So far, very happy with this set!

Was this review helpful? (21) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mommy2rande
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Choose this swingset!
6/8/2012

Customer review by Supermom2626

5.0 stars 6/8/2012 by Supermom2626
by Supermom2626

I spent months reading hundreds of reviews, researching, and going to different stores to see the swingsets actually assembled. The Backyard Discovery sets have very thin, cheap wood that was even broken sitting in front of the store!! When we received the swingset, the inside of the boxes were stamped Big Backyard, which makes extremely high end swingsets, so I guess this is a branch of that company. This swingset is extremely sturdy, and big enough for my 6 year old and 3 year old to play on together. I won't even talk about putting it together, it will be a lot of work no matter what set you choose- we worked from 9 am to 7 pm with 1 break and finished it. I love the details, and it can hold my husband standing in the fort, with me and both girls swinging without moving. I would definitely recommend this set as an affordable alternative, anything more for little kids is reallu just overkill. Some advice-- make sure your husband doesn't try to be macho and just skim the instructions-- read and look at them carefully! We did get almost to the end and realize we had a fort wall attached backwards!! Overall, great purchase, very happy!

Was this review helpful? (206) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Supermom2626
Springfield, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Well manufacturerd but 2 parts broken
6/17/2012

Customer review by Popop44

4.0 stars 6/17/2012 by Popop44
by Popop44

We purchased this swing set for our grand children to install it in their yard. Upon opening the boxes, there were two pieces that arrived broken. One was a "stair" for the climbing wall and the other was a scalloped piece for the upper level. We were able to assemble the set anyway but I will contact to mfg for replacement. I was surprised to find out how well the set is made. All the pieces were drilled perfectly. Once set up the only concern were the 2 seats on the lower section that were very poorly constructed. I will be putting something solid under the 2 seats to stabilize them where they touch the ground. The set looks like sets costing 2x's as much and offer many activities. We wanted a set that fit in a specific area. The set is about 13x13 ft but requires an area about 21x21 ft. Three (2 were professional carpenters) of us put the set together in 6.5 hours. The instructions suggested that it should take 10-14 hours for 2 people. I know the grandchildren will get many years of fun from it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Popop44
Cary, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very sturdy playset
5/28/2012

Customer review by deeds123

5.0 stars 5/28/2012 by deeds123
by deeds123

We purchased this play set after shopping around for a nice looking swing set that offered multiple activities. This set was not only in our price range but it had everything that we were looking for such as a clubhouse type platform, slide, swings, cafe area and monkey bars. It did take us the entire day to put it together with four adults (two of which were engineers) doing it but we were really impressed with how well the instructions were written. I would suggest putting all the wood pieces in numerical order before you start to make the pieces easier to find as you need them. Over all our 4 year old is very excited and we are happy to have a play set that is fun, sturdy and looks good.

Was this review helpful? (98) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
deeds123
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Kinda chinsy only 3 monkey bars LITERALLY
7/15/2012

Customer review by 0liBeeC3

2.0 stars 7/15/2012 by 0liBeeC3
by 0liBeeC3

Bought this for my kiddos (ages 9,4, & 1) looked awesome online in the pic but my kids were over it in 15mins... It was fairly easy to assemble (3 guys 6 hours) by the way had 6 broken/cracked boards upon opening the box so had to order replacements wait another 3 days & then do the entire assembly but after we got it up & done there really wasnt much to it... The swings are only about 4-5 inches apart so when swinging next to someone keep your arms/elbows tucked in close to your sides... Make sure everything is level, on level sturdy ground, & centered (My 75lb 9yr old swinging alone had it rockin--this set lifts off the ground just like the metal ones) if not id recommend adding extra anchors... There are literally only 3 monkey bars... You start at 1 then 2 then 3 your up on the platform for the slide... This set is as big as my two car wide driveways concrete pad... ok for a sm yard like a corner lot or townhome but otherwise I'd save up/splurge for the bigger playset with more options... it will pay off in the end...

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
0liBeeC3
Southern Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Well worth the price.. very nice product.
6/25/2012

Customer review by papa918

5.0 stars 6/25/2012 by papa918
by papa918

First,let me thank all of the people who reviewed this play set previously. I bought this based on your reviews.Bought for our 3 year old grandson.We have a small back yard and this unit fits great,but isn't small by any means. The quality of this play set is excellent.We had all of the parts we needed and many extra screws,bolts etc.Took 3 of us the better part of 12 hours to assemble,but we expected that.I must say that every part went together perfectly.Instructions were dead on great.As others stated,take the time to sort all material before starting.The quality of the wood is very good,make sure to pre-drill every hole and you will have no splitting.Nicely finished wood will need no treatment this year.When assembling,note the direction of every board and bolt in the directions (excellent diagrams ) so you aren't making changes later.Have at least 2 drill/drivers handy so you aren't changing bits.There are a LOT of screws. My compliments to both Cedar Summit and Walmart for producing and selling such a well made product. Honestly,as I progressed further and further through the assembly,I grew more and more fond of the quality of this swing set.And a 3 year old boy is as happy as can be with his new play set !

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
papa918
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not a bad swing set
5/27/2012

Customer review by RichmondMommie

4.0 stars 5/27/2012 by RichmondMommie
by RichmondMommie

We just had this set put together by a friend. It's not bad. The delivery was quick but the boxes were damaged which resulted in a few cracked boards. It took two people about 8-10 hours to put together. They worked on it for a few hours over two days. We didn't have any missing pieces and the wood is okay. The set is more than I expected. I think it was a good price, especially given that it comes with a rock climbing wall, monkey bars, and the little cafe. It was for our son's 5th birthday. He could barely wait for them to finish. He said it was the best gift he ever got. Lol! I would recommend this set as a starter set. We'll probably upgrade in a couple years.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RichmondMommie
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Kids love it
1/4/2013

Customer review by cyfalcon

4.0 stars 1/4/2013 by cyfalcon
by cyfalcon
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Expect to take up your whole weekend (18hrs later) if doing it by yourself. Read the instructions carefully then reread them. I have 3 kids age 2-4-9 that play on it. The two younger ones love it, but it's just a little small for the older one; she still plays on it but tight squeeze on the clubhouse. I wish the monkey bars were longer, only 3 bars, and that the swings were a little more spaced apart. If you have allot of kids or older kids go for something bigger, otherwise this is a great play set.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cyfalcon
Temecula, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Size and Price!
7/6/2015

Customer review by TheSolisClan

4.0 stars 7/6/2015 by TheSolisClan
by TheSolisClan

After 7 months of on and off searching, we decided on this set and couldn't be more than happy for what we received and paid! The set came in three boxes and small enough (but one box needed two people to carry) to ship via UPS ground. It was delivered within a week. All parts were in the boxes and all pieces of wood were in great condition. The chalkboard tarp is not my favorite but that's only one minor dislike. Putting the wood and screws in order really did help and kept us organized. It did take longer for us to put this together, around 14 hrs total but that's because we already had a busy weekend planned. The set is perfect for my 6 & 4 y/o's. I was afraid it would be just right and not enough space to grow but we can probably use this set for about 3 years with no issues. Thank you Cedar Summit for giving these parents a break while the kids play themselves to exhaustion! '

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheSolisClan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lot a things to do!
4/23/2012

Customer review by sunseeker77

5.0 stars 4/23/2012 by sunseeker77
by sunseeker77

Very nice ONE piece slide, and does not require assembly like others. Really like the cafe with stools and overhead climber for little monkeys!

Was this review helpful? (65) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sunseeker77
Western NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Beautiful swingset
6/11/2012

Customer review by clevelandmom1

5.0 stars 6/11/2012 by clevelandmom1
by clevelandmom1

My husband and I recently purchased this swingset for our almost 2-year old daughter as an early birthday present. My husband, my father and I put it up and took us about 10 hours to put together (6 hours on Friday and 4 hours on Saturday morning). My daughter loves it! Everything is marked nicely from the little bags of bolts and washers to the wood! My only complaint would be that we had some bolts missing from the box and thank goodness my husband had extras in his garage or we would have had to go to the hardware store. Also, some of the instructions were not clear, but we figured it out! Its a beautiful swingset!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
clevelandmom1
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Kids Love,
4/27/2012

Customer review by bobback

5.0 stars 4/27/2012 by bobback
by bobback

Great product, kids love it! Instructions say 8 hrs. of build time had to break it up a bit and it took about 14 hr. across a week’s time. Had a couple broken parts but called manufacture and sent part right out. Had this product ship to the store and it fix perfect in minivan. Overall vary happy with this item.

Was this review helpful? (55) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bobback
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wonderful play area for kids
8/4/2014

Customer review by LuckyGrandmaMary

4.0 stars 8/4/2014 by LuckyGrandmaMary
by LuckyGrandmaMary

It is well made with great support and good design. I can't give it 5 stars because the swing bar is not long enough and the instructions were so bad that they contradicted themselves. One place a board would show as in front of the another board. Then the positions were reversed on the next page. The designer needs to watch others try to follow the instructions to see their own faults. Luckily my brother is a pretty good carpenter. So he was able to understand what they mean. The swing bar should be another 2 feet long. As is, the swings and glider are so close that the children bang into each other. The glider puts the children back to back. Another reviewer complained that the children bumped heads. The glider should put the childern face to face with space in between to prevent hurting each other. We intend to extent the swing bar to prevent accidents. Overall, the children love it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LuckyGrandmaMary
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/23/2012

Customer review by Twinly

5.0 stars 4/23/2012 by Twinly
by Twinly

Awesome purchase!! It came in three packages - one large box for the wook, one smaller box for the other parts, and then the slide. The instructions were very clear and the parts labeled well which made assembly fairly easy. It took three adults about 9 hours total work to assemble and my kids love it!! well worth the purchase price!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Twinly
MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 184 total reviews
1-20 of 184 reviews