Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 15 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

15 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

15 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
5
1-15 of 15 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great Competitively Priced Charcoal
6/13/2012

Customer review by Matt78

5.0 stars 6/13/2012 by Matt78
by Matt78

I have gone through two bags of this charcoal and I have no complaints at all. And for the price, it is hard to resist using this as my primary charcoal. I have no idea what people are doing wrong with these briquets, but I've never had a problem getting them lit, having them stay lit and hot, or anything. My only complaint is that it does produce a lot of ash, but not anymore than what Kingsford does. For the price, you cannot go wrong with this charcoal. Quite frankly, I almost don't even believe the negative reviews because these coals are no harder to light than Kingsford.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Matt78
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Grilling
6/4/2012

Customer review by 123DL123

5.0 stars 6/4/2012 by 123DL123
by 123DL123

Same here, i beg to disagree on the first customer's rating. this charcoal works fine and heats up consistently. At par with Kings charcoal and not to mention, very affordable. Satisfied with the product and would certainly buy more. definitely recommends this product!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
123DL123
Ocean Township, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good charcoal for the money.
6/10/2012

Customer review by HarmonyDawg

4.0 stars 6/10/2012 by HarmonyDawg
by HarmonyDawg

I grill 2-3 times per week and I am very satisfied with this charcoal. I use a chimney starter (no fluid)and find that this brand works just as well as Kingsford. The briquettes are almost twice the size of Kingsford briquettes and provide white hot heat for searing your steaks. They provide long lasting heat for long cooking times for chicken and ribs.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HarmonyDawg
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Some of the best charcoal I've used for the money!
9/8/2012

Customer review by Jumpmann

5.0 stars 9/8/2012 by Jumpmann
by Jumpmann

I've used Kingsford (too ashy), Royal Oak Hardwood Lump (too many small pieces), but this is just as good or better than either of those in my opinion. I paid $3.50 for 9 lbs. at my local Walmart, and they had tons in stock. I'll be buying this brand again.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jumpmann
Union SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
JUST WONDERFUL
7/25/2012

Customer review by JAMOKA138

5.0 stars 7/25/2012 by JAMOKA138
by JAMOKA138

THIS CHARCOAL IS JUST WONDERFUL ME AND MY FAMILY USE THIS VERY OFTEN. MY HUSBAND LOVES TO BBQ WHENEVER HE FELLS LIKE IT WHICH IS VERY OFTEN AND THIS IS THE BRAND THAT WE USE. I LOVE THE FACT THAT IT COOK THE FOOD VERY WELL AND NOT TO FAST. THE ONLY ISSUE WE HAVE IS THAT IT KEEPS BURNING AND BURNING WHICH ISN'T A PROBLEM FOR REAL THAT JUST LET YOU KNOW THAT YOU HAVE A VERY GOOD FIRE GOING. WELL 2 THUMBS UP FROM ME. AND THE PRICE IS GOOD AS WELL

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JAMOKA138
BIRMINGHAM AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
DO NOT USE
6/5/2012

Customer review by HolndFisher

1.0 stars 6/5/2012 by HolndFisher
by HolndFisher

We grill every weekend in the Summer months and we usually buy Kingsford but were tight on money and thought "charcoal is charcoal". BIG MISTAKE buying this brand. We used loads of lighter fluid trying to get these things to light and stay lit. Wasn't even windy outside. They burn super slow and go out easily. 45 minutes after we first lit them, they were finally ashed over. We put the burgers on and covered with the lid, as always. 5 minutes later, went to flip the burgers and the juices from the burgers had put the coals out. UNBELIEVABLE! Never had a problem with this with the Kingsford brand. Total GARBAGE!

Was this review helpful? (7) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HolndFisher
Pleasant Prairie, Wi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Happy w/ product & the convience of online shoppin
5/27/2012

Customer review by WalMartGroupey

5.0 stars 5/27/2012 by WalMartGroupey
by WalMartGroupey

I totally disagree with the previous customer's rating. I find the product to be as good as Kings Ford Briquettes and much cheaper. I BBQ almost daily w/ a kettle grill and find no problem with the coals not staying lit or the temperature of coals. I cook several steaks, hamburgers, pork or fish at the same time and find them to be very tasteful and delicious. I myself, prefer the Backyard charcoal over Kings Ford (paying for a name not quality), for the price one cannot go wrong. The happy griller.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WalMartGroupey
Minden, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works great smoking or grilling
7/11/2013

Customer review by Alatamata

5.0 stars 7/11/2013 by Alatamata
by Alatamata

I was a little disappointed when they changed the shape of the briquettes but have learned to use them fine. I always use a chimney to light them, 15-20 minutes and they are lit. I always use a charcoal basket when smoking in my Weber so that I can add coals and wood as needed. The coals always start up on there own. Really nothing more to say except that these are second to none except the Brinkman Competition Briquettes or Lump.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alatamata
Bryson City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6/24/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/24/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

They work, place them in a chimney designed for briquettes and allow them to burn until white hot. Its very easy to use charcoal briquettes if using a chimney (any brand).

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Gretna, La.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Spend the extra for the national brands
6/27/2012

Customer review by LaGriller

1.0 stars 6/27/2012 by LaGriller
by LaGriller

This stuff is terrible. Very slow to light and to get to grilling temp. A half to a quarter of the briquettes do even light. I have a Weber grill with a gas-assisted lighter and have never had a problem lighting briquettes until I bought this stuff. Stay away unless you want an aggravating grilling experience

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LaGriller
St. Francisville, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Terrible product!
5/13/2012

Customer review by FIREITUP97

1.0 stars 5/13/2012 by FIREITUP97
by FIREITUP97

Absolute GARBAGE. Do NOT waste your money on this product. It will not stay lit/hot long enough to cook more than one hamburger at a time. The so-called improved design is a HUGE MISTAKE.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FIREITUP97
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
"new and improved" NOT!
6/11/2012

Customer review by Puckettguy

1.0 stars 6/11/2012 by Puckettguy
by Puckettguy

I have been using the old stuff for years. In my opinion it was superior to the "name brand" charcoal. We cook on the grill 3 or 4 times a week and would get 5 or 6 uses out of a bag. Now it's 3 and it lasts 1/2 as long. I won't purchase anymore of this product, it would be good for some quick burgers but not for smoking or anything else that takes time. The "new and improved" design makes it burn faster so you will have to use more. Shame they had to ruin a good thing. Note to Walmart, "If it ain't broke don't fix it!"

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Puckettguy
Puckett, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
4/24/2013

Customer review by MVSURob

5.0 stars 4/24/2013 by MVSURob
by MVSURob

I grill and smoke every week and have used Kingsford, Royal Oak, several types of lump charcoal and this brand tops them all. It lights easily with or without fluid (when using chimney). The briquettes are bigger and burn longer. I have a 500 gallon BBQ grill and can get it up to temp for smoking at 250-300 degrees on 2 bags for 4 hours. It is a great value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MVSURob
Jackson, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent for novice smoker.
10/19/2014

Customer review by CruiseMonster

5.0 stars 10/19/2014 by CruiseMonster
by CruiseMonster

I just did a 3.5 hour smoke on some chicken in my Weber Smokey Mountain Cooker (14.5"). These lit perfectly within 15 mintutes in the Weber chimney starter. Coals stayed lit the whole time and maintained a very steady temperature as well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CruiseMonster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME!!!
5/31/2013

Customer review by Scottiev63

1.0 stars 5/31/2013 by Scottiev63
by Scottiev63

This is the WORST charcoal I have ever used!!! What few briquettes actually do take light, they take FOREVER to get hot enough to cook with! After waiting 45 minutes for the coals to ash up (which never really happens), I put my items on the grill. after 45 minutes, my pork chops were still not done enough and had to be finished in the kitchen ... POINTLESS!!! Just another example of 'You get what you pay for'!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Scottiev63
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days