Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 130 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

130 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

130 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
69
4 stars
41
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
15
1-20 of 121 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 121 total reviews
1-20 of 121 reviews
Excellent Computer for the Cost
2/24/2013

Customer review by Pywrit

4.0 stars 2/24/2013 by Pywrit
by Pywrit
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for my wife to replace her older, slower computer. We had to reload the operating system (as most computer manufacturers and refurbishers merely clone drives and do not install a fresh copy straight from the disk, this did not surprise me at all). Once this was done, which took only a few minutes, the computer has functioned at a high level. It is quick, does not hang, and meets all the expectations I had of it. My wife is overjoyed with the speed of the system and the stuff she can get done. Her stress at waiting for the old computer to catch up is gone and all is good within the computing household once again. I did appreciate the fact that they included the operating system on DVD. The keyboard was a little cheap, but that was a non-factor as we have several high-quality keyboards within our home. The mouse is more than adequate and of reasonable quality. Overall, the system met every one of my expectations and actually exceeded what I expected for speed and overall quality.

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pywrit
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
working great but not enough time to be sure
2/14/2014

Customer review by klhprice

4.0 stars 2/14/2014 by klhprice
by klhprice
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My husband and I bought this to replace a 10+ yr old desktop which still worked but was so slow it was just about useless. We absolutely did not want anything with Windows 8 which limited our options so we bought this refurbished Dell. It's not really used that heavily so we figured refurb'ed would be fine. The size is great, much better than our old desktop. The DVD seems to work fine though seems a little loud. The USB port works fine too. Responsiveness is great but anything would be better than what we had been working with. After booting it up it notified us that it needed a LOT of windows updates which took a while to download and install but that's understandable. I was happy that it came with MS Security Essentials already installed and not some other security software which I would have just uninstalled and replaced with Security Essentials anyway. Overall we're happy with the purchase however it's only been a couple weeks and we haven't used it much so time will tell.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
klhprice
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Think Twice About Purchasing this Computer
1/30/2013

Customer review by 55Saint

1.0 stars 1/30/2013 by 55Saint
by 55Saint
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this computer to replace another workstation for receptionist. We have purchased refurbs before, but nothing like this one. Once you opened the box, you could tell it was heavily used before. One of the back cover plates was missing. Case appearance isn't everything. Once started, we started to experience the computer cycling on-off upto 6 times per day. Checking the Event Error log we found critical errors in the Power Kernal as well as errors in the LCS module interfacing with the Intel chip. There were hundreds of other errors in the event log too. All within the first day. I don't think you can take an older computer, add a new drive, and put on Win 7 and expect it to perform without errors. If you are a "geek" and want to troubleshoot these errors with various kernals, intel chip programming, etc. then this is the computer for you. Otherwise, I would avoid this. One good point. I was able to return to WalMart for full refund without any trouble at all. We will still purchase computers from WalMart, but not refurbs.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
55Saint
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2 for 2, hoping for a hat trick!
3/3/2014

Customer review by FuManChoo

5.0 stars 3/3/2014 by FuManChoo
by FuManChoo

This is the 2nd refurb I've purchased and completely happy with both. I've ordered a 3rd and hoping my luck hasn't run out! The 2 I've already purchased have been rock solid and well worth the money. I've upgraded the video card in both (1gb Nvidia) for less than $40 each. Is this a gaming system? NO, but it will serve well as work station/web machine/word processor, etc. I have one in my shop and 1 in my office and they are serving my purposes well. 1 had some light marks on it, the other looks nearly brand new. I've had 1 for about 4 months and the other for about 2 months. I would suggest supplying your own mouse and keyboards, as what comes with them are pretty much cheap junk, but not a problem for me as I never intended to use them anyway. The wireless keyboard/mouse combos are just too affordable these days and much more convenient than being tethered to the box....

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FuManChoo
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
small and powerful
1/10/2016

Customer review by Cabe

5.0 stars 1/10/2016 by Cabe
by Cabe

Got this to my door several days before I expected it. Well packed, and the Win7 registered fine. Was going to use it horizontally on my desk, but even though it is light years quieter than my old Dell, it was a bit too distracting having it right there. So I put it vertically where the old one was, and I am enjoying the great improvement in noise level. Very good price with free fast shipping, and I got a multi card reader that I wasn't expecting. Bonus!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cabe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor quality control from joy systems
1/14/2016

Customer review by xqpty

1.0 stars 1/14/2016 by xqpty
by xqpty

Second day it came up with a "floppy drive seek error". Would not function or restore, so took it back to walmart for a no hassle return. Also was 22nd in line for joy tech support, their support is equivalent to nonexistent.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xqpty
Would recommend to a friend? No
4gb 750 gb
1/12/2013

Customer review by SCOOTER196741

5.0 stars 1/12/2013 by SCOOTER196741
by SCOOTER196741

I AM SO HAPPY I BOUGHT THIS FROM WALMART. WAS SCARED SEEING IT WAS REFURBISHED. THIS TOWER WORKS SO WELL I CANT SAY ANYTHING BETTER ABOUT IT. I AM 45 AND MY SON IS 14. HE HOOKED EVERYTHING UP FOR ME. WINDOWS 7 IS AWESOME ALSO. IT IS SOOOOOOO QUIT COMPARED TO THE TOWER I HAD (it was a xp) IT IS SO FAST ALSO. I CLICK FROM ONE THING TO THE NEXT. ONE THING I DIDNT CARE FOR IS THE KEY BOARD....SOME BUTTONS WERE DIFFERENT THAN THE ONE I HAVE....SO EASY I JUST KEPT MY OLD KEY BOARD.MY SON CAN USE THE KEY BOARD ON HIS "WII" ANY QUESTIONS ASK ME I CAN MAYBE HELP ALITTLE BIT. ALSO IT IS SO SMALL COMPARED TO THE ONE TOWER I HAD.

Was this review helpful? (38) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SCOOTER196741
WADENA,MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Never got the computer out of the box
9/22/2013

Customer review by Uphillbothways

1.0 stars 9/22/2013 by Uphillbothways
by Uphillbothways
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The DVD drive had dislodged and dropped into the center of the computer. Not knowing if it had dammaged anything else, I never even plugged it in. The packing and the box did did show any damage. I returned it the next morning and Customer Service people were polite and when I opened the top of the box and shined a flashlight down into the now empty slot, they immediatley gave me credit for my purchase and took it back. It does seem that the rebuilder has a quality control issue.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Uphillbothways
Eastern North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Overall experience GREAT !!
6/4/2012

Customer review by MCDST

5.0 stars 6/4/2012 by MCDST
by MCDST

Was what I expected..gently used PC. Came with everything listed no more no less. If your expecting all the offers, advertising etc that comes with a new PC you will be disappointed. Icons to click to join this and that...you will NOT get this which I think is great. I knew what I wanted and loaded everything I needed and had the PC is running great !! Fast convienent ordering/shipping.

Was this review helpful? (33) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MCDST
Louisville, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worked first time it was plugged in, no problems.
3/24/2014

Customer review by picker77

4.0 stars 3/24/2014 by picker77
by picker77
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm a retired computer guy with 30 years of PC operation and repair experience. For years, I've avoided eating the huge depreciation on new PC's by routinely buying on the "refurbished" market. This Dell 755 had a few exterior handling scratches but otherwise was just fine and showed little use. Inside the case it was pristine. It worked perfectly from the get-go, and I have had no problems with it so far, nor do I expect any. Joy Systems seems to be a good refurbish contractor. The Core 2 Duo is plenty fast and with 4 GB and Win7 is quite capable for it's low cost on the refurb market. Does fine for adult business/home/general purpose use. If you do much gaming, look for more horsepower than this (but also be ready to pay the price!). I'm considering ordering a second refurb for my home network.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
picker77
Central Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product for money:
11/4/2013

Customer review by Smokey77

5.0 stars 11/4/2013 by Smokey77
by Smokey77

I didn't know where to order a refurb or not, not knowing much about them .We didn't need anything but a tower.Had everything else. Looked new inside and out, worked perfect, faster than the XP Dell we had. My wife likes it very much she is the one that uses it most. I think I made a right dicision to buy it. Saved a lot of money for what I needed it to do. Thing is if you buy a new one, you're not any better off, just more money out of your pocket. Or I think so anyway .

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Smokey77
Pulaski VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Product is good
4/17/2012

Customer review by 143Ruby

4.0 stars 4/17/2012 by 143Ruby
by 143Ruby

I am happy with the product at this time. I have not had any problems and have a warrenty for one year.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
143Ruby
Gays Mills, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Decent home computer
3/12/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 3/12/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a good computer for home use if you don't plan on working it too hard. This replaced our family computer and is mostly used for email, web surfing and videos. The computer itself is a bit worn but did not have any issues. I didn't realize that the computer would be so small (which is nice) but the trade-off is that the computer runs pretty hot and hence the fan is always noticeably running. Overall a good value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Lunenburg, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/18/2012

Customer review by gkcarr

5.0 stars 12/18/2012 by gkcarr
by gkcarr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Shipped very quickly. Works very well. Unheard of, but very happy that there is a 1 year warranty on this refurbished computer.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gkcarr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent machine
5/29/2012

Customer review by JHR1884

5.0 stars 5/29/2012 by JHR1884
by JHR1884

Bought three of these to replace 5 year old desktops for my business. Didn't need monitors, so this was perfect. Installed easily, even on the existing XP network. Small form, and fast..

Was this review helpful? (26) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JHR1884
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
dynamite in a small package
12/1/2013

Customer review by Moviefan64055

5.0 stars 12/1/2013 by Moviefan64055
by Moviefan64055
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I just purchased this unit to replace an old model. WOW...what a difference. easy and quick set-up. only had for a short time...so far, greatly impressed!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Moviefan64055
Independence, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bad video
12/18/2013

Customer review by Saoul

1.0 stars 12/18/2013 by Saoul
by Saoul
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Worked great for a few days, so thought I got a good refurb and started putting software on it. The video then started freezing, sometimes recovering, but eventually the computer would crash. I'd better hurry and finish this review before it crashes again and I lose what I've written. Microsoft website had suggested fixes for the problem, but none of them worked. The unit came with Vista originally, and had Win 7 put on it. However, the Vista video driver apparently isn't working well with Win 7. Since a search for an updated video driver didn't find one, I'm taking it back to Walmart. I knew buying a refurb was a gamble...but at least I'll get the money I bet back. I just hate having lost valuable time.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Saoul
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/6/2013

Customer review by Manx3

3.0 stars 4/6/2013 by Manx3
by Manx3

I have had this computer a couple months and it works fine, fast and quiet. See what it is like in a year or two. The computer is being used for the Internet only. Windows 7 is disappointing. As usual Microsoft decided what we need with no way to incorporate functions that they dropped.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Manx3
El Paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
HORRIBLE Computer with Even Worse Customer Service
12/16/2014

Customer review by pandazle

1.0 stars 12/16/2014 by pandazle
by pandazle

Got it set up and added my printer. Not real happy that it took over 30 minutes to download the driver. But, I was hopeful things would get better. After being hooked up for about 3 hours, my screen started scrambling, making screeching noises then went black. Tried to turn off computer but as soon as I took my finger off the button, power was back on. Tried unplugging it, came back on when plugged back in. But still black screen. Called customer service for Joy Systems, the company that refurbished the computer. After being on hold for 2 hours and 20 minutes, he answered the phone "Yeah?" and told me to return it to where I bought it! The paperwork that came with it says it has been "inspected, cleaned and tested to perform as new by one of the country's best computer refurbishers." That's kind of scary! But at least their customer service matches their refurbishing skills.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pandazle
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't waste your money
5/1/2014

Customer review by ladymalamb

2.0 stars 5/1/2014 by ladymalamb
by ladymalamb

I got my computer, hooked it up.. worked great.. until I tried to install my printer! Not ONE of the 8 USB ports work!! I called Joy System tech support, waited on phone for hours.. and when I got him, he did not know anything about a computer and no help. Instead he told me how to return it, but recommended I deal with Walmart instead. No matter how great it works in normal run mode if you need USB ports, avoid!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ladymalamb
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 121 total reviews
1-20 of 121 reviews