Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 303 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

303 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

303 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
118
4 stars
86
3 stars
30
2 stars
16
1 stars
53
1-20 of 279 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 279 total reviews
1-20 of 279 reviews
Try a rebuilt first, you'll like it.
11/3/2013

Customer review by ALEXSAYSTOO

5.0 stars 11/3/2013 by ALEXSAYSTOO
by ALEXSAYSTOO
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have never used any desktop other than Dell. So I only wanted to replace my old, deceased Dell Dimension with the same name since I'm past learning new tricks. While it's only been 6 days, I am extremely pleased. This Optiplex 745 does everything I expected or wanted or needed. I have loaded my thousands of old pictures and files with no problems. Internet speed is all I could ask for. When I choose this computer, I just wanted something far cheaper than buying a new Dell. $152 was perfect compared to ordering new from the company. And with a 1 year warranty (although I do not know how that would work). But possibly the best part was not having to decide if I wanted - a 1-3 year extended warranty for my new Dell, a better sound card; more memory, etc, etc. No decisions to make. Plus this rebuilt has a 15 day return. My advise for anyone that wants to save money without decisions is to pick a low priced rebuilt. And shipping was free. But it has only been 6 days.

Was this review helpful? (104) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ALEXSAYSTOO
Newtown Sq, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Mom's Christmas present!
12/16/2013

Customer review by hairbender1950

4.0 stars 12/16/2013 by hairbender1950
by hairbender1950
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My 81 yr old. mom needed an updated computer, so I purchased this computer for her. It did take 10 days to get here. I was able to get it set up for her in a day and a 1/2. Installing programs that she used, like Facebook, Pandora and others. I was pleasently surprised that it had a cdr/dvd rom in it. I was expecting just a DVD rom. I was able to upgrade the IE8 to IE11. I bought this because of it being Windows 7. I got the Windows live mail set up for her. Installed the 121 critical updates too. Also enclosed was a windows 7 Prof. 32 bit. (recovery dvd) for a refurbished PC. Wasn't expecting it but was happy to get it. Gave the computer to mom early, so she could start enjoying her gift. She is thrilled. We are hoping that it is a good one and last mom a very long time. I am pleased and recommend refurbished computers from Walmart. A few months back I bought me a refurbished HP laptop(Windows 8) and it appeared to be new.

Was this review helpful? (42) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hairbender1950
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Refurbished Dell GX745
1/28/2016

Customer review by Josef

5.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Josef
by Josef

I am pleased with this unit. It was packed well and was like new when I opened the box. I had also ordered a wide screen monitor which was delivered with a thick coat of dust. That unit also is running good. I did notify the company of my surprise that they didn't at least wipe it down before shipping. That was the only flaw. Both units are running with no problems and I am pleased with the purchase. Both units were packed very well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Josef
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AWEFUL!!!!
1/28/2016

Customer review by Lisa

1.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Lisa
by Lisa

This was the worst computer on earth! Slow as a snail. Had a nerve to have a FLOPPY DISK!! SHM!!! Had to reboot the computer, pressed restart and this mess took 6 min to restart. Please don't waste your time on this computer. Customer service was AWEFUL. Was on hold for over 1 hour and they hung up on me. Guess their phone hangs up after an hour on hold. SMH... Try another computer, however this one SUCKS!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lisa
Would recommend to a friend? No
All PCs should ship like this!
12/10/2012

Customer review by pkpolansky

5.0 stars 12/10/2012 by pkpolansky
by pkpolansky
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

What a great value! ALL PCs (including new!) should arrive like this! Spared me from having to reformat & install a clean version of Windows, and Microsoft Security Essentials already installed. No junk programs, no "recovery partition", Win 7 Pro disc included (love this!) so A+ in my book. Would definitely buy again (and did!).

Was this review helpful? (101) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pkpolansky
Prentice, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Only caution is to pay attention to the DVD drive
5/6/2014

Customer review by goingjag

5.0 stars 5/6/2014 by goingjag
by goingjag
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I forgot to look at the type of DVD drive supplied with this small form factor machine. This particular model comes with a DVD-ROM which means it will not write DVD's. As many of these machines come without backup Windows DVD's, you need to make your own as soon as you receive the machine. The only reason it is in issue is this is a small form factor machine which means you can't just throw in any old DVD-RW drive. It has to be a Dell that will fit in the tiny slot allotted inside the small case. Not even a regular half height drive will fit in there. Not a major issue as I have external drives that I can use with a USB connector, just a minor annoyance - which was my fault for not paying attention. So if you are getting a used computer with a DVD-Rom thinking you'll use the DVD-RW from your old machine, remember to be sure it isn't a small form factor machine. The specs will say that it has 5-1/2 in external drive space which means a regular drive will fit in there. All in all a good answer to our need for a Win 7 pro machine to run some accounting software that was on an XP and won't run on regular home software Windows machines made since the XP.

Was this review helpful? (25) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
goingjag
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Little Computer For The Basics
1/17/2016

Customer review by ToffeePudding

4.0 stars 1/17/2016 by ToffeePudding
by ToffeePudding

If you just need a computer to access the net quickly then this it !

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ToffeePudding
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
refurbished dell computer
1/15/2016

Customer review by gary

5.0 stars 1/15/2016 by gary
by gary

only thing that takes time is all the updates-but they are necessary- machine works great

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gary
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
exact as advertised
1/15/2016

Customer review by chylady53

5.0 stars 1/15/2016 by chylady53
by chylady53

Works great, was hard to read the license code. Good buy for my money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chylady53
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Only worked a short time before failure!
9/10/2015

Customer review by Hambone

1.0 stars 9/10/2015 by Hambone
by Hambone

I was very pleased when first received. Registration of Windows 7 went good with no problems. Update of Defender went fine. Processor usage percentage extremely low and looking good. Went to Windows update, started downloads. Came back about 2 hours later and downloads still running. OK, give it more time. I happen to touch the computer and extremely hot! Looked at my current meter on the UPS and computer is drawing 200+ watts!!!! Shut down every thing to investigate. Everything appeared OK. After about half hour tried restart. HO NO! blue screen of death. Will not boot, indicates hard drive not present. Shut down everything and went to bed. Next morning hit power button and boot is successful and computer up and running great, only drawing about 40 watts of power. Tried updates again and after three hours the same problems occur! Put the unit back in box and returned to Walmart. Return policy worked as advertised.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hambone
Would recommend to a friend? No
Price is right
2/3/2014

Customer review by delitruck

5.0 stars 2/3/2014 by delitruck
by delitruck

This replaced my 15 year old PC and with the cost of a brand new one I wanted to give this a try. Very happy it has worked so well have not had any problems.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
delitruck
Mulberry, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
would not function and was returned
1/6/2016

Customer review by Jackieray

1.0 stars 1/6/2016 by Jackieray
by Jackieray

product would not boot help line was no help so was returned have reordered will give it another chance in case it was a fluk

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jackieray
Would recommend to a friend? No
No wifi ability
1/3/2016

Customer review by Yolandra

1.0 stars 1/3/2016 by Yolandra
by Yolandra

No ability to a connect to wi fi cd rom dvd doesn't work. Its 2016 come on

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yolandra
Would recommend to a friend? No
4/10/2012

Customer review by Muunstruk

5.0 stars 4/10/2012 by Muunstruk
by Muunstruk

I knew I would like it before I got it. It was such an upgrade - from Win 2000 and a dinosaur of an computer. But this is a great no frills computer. Would definitely buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Muunstruk
Bainbridge
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It works Greats
6/5/2014

Customer review by Armandosr

5.0 stars 6/5/2014 by Armandosr
by Armandosr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For the bucks it a real good deal for all"" work great with wireless Printer i hook up to My Dell Gx745 and all for under 200.00 and free Shipping fom Walmart and one year service on it too.oh yea it got window 7 Professional""

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Armandosr
Smithfield RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent purchase
9/3/2012

Customer review by ELMattfeld

4.0 stars 9/3/2012 by ELMattfeld
by ELMattfeld

Excellent computer for "basic" computing for getting on the web, using the word processor, etc. Many people would confuse this computer with another one offered by Dell with the pentium 4 processor. Make sure the Optiplex GX745 comes with at least the Pentium D processor if you wish to use Windows 7. And I would suggest you upgrade the RAM from 2 GB's to 4 GB's.

Was this review helpful? (46) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ELMattfeld
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
What do you expect for $140?
5/14/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 5/14/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After reading some of the reviews from others who had bought refurbed computers this way I wasn't sure about this but, like I said, "For $140 and change, it's worth a shot". It has turned out OK for the most part. It was an inexpensive way for us to make the jump from Windows XP and avoid all the hassles over that. This Dell seems to be an improvement over our old PC. The only problem is the CD drive can only be opened manually by poking a paper clip into a little hole in the drive. Once I got the drive open, it functioned satisfactorily, so I'm not sure it's worth the hassle of returning it just because of that.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
so far so good
6/19/2015

Customer review by lilolelady

5.0 stars 6/19/2015 by lilolelady
by lilolelady

I may not be the right person to ask. I already have a computer for "full time " use. This refurbished Dell is dedicated to a single purpose, a program that allows me to record printable music score by playing it on electronic keyboard. After some false starts and wrong driver at first, I have it performing as hoped for. Otherwise would have returned it. Bonus was when someone helped sync with my other computer's wifi, so now fully functional with internet. More than anticipated. I have not experienced slowness described by other reviewers, maybe because it is dedicated to the music program, rarely used for anything else, and has no other extraneous programs loaded. No photos, videos, games. For its intended purpose it works great, and Internet access is lagniappe. Only problem was Microsoft downloading 67 updates and interfering with shutting her down. Do not like MS taking control of MY computer without MY permission.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lilolelady
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Can't beat this price!
3/22/2014

Customer review by RedShedWriter

5.0 stars 3/22/2014 by RedShedWriter
by RedShedWriter
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a noisy computer, delightfully reminding you what a great price you paid for it. This Dell has everything an ordinary housewife requires in a computer, and the price is simply wonderful. My XP became obsolete, so for this small price I replaced it with this Dell loaded with Windows 7 Professional, with twice the speed and four times the memory of my old one. Your old monitor will probably work, too, and the new keyboard it comes with is a happy surprise. I like it much better. The mouse is small and comfortable. Plenty of USB ports, too. And my speakers put out twice the sound. Hey, a great deal!! Thank you, Walmart and Joy Systems!

Was this review helpful? (45) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RedShedWriter
Colorado mountain town
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Computer works fine.
5/15/2014

Customer review by bathless

4.0 stars 5/15/2014 by bathless
by bathless
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I use the computer for emails, on line banking,etc, So far (3 days) it works good. I used phone support once. I had to wait quite a while but I got my answer and I could understand the the tech. Keep in mind it has the operating system and almost no other software.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bathless
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 279 total reviews
1-20 of 279 reviews