Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 71 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

71 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

71 reviews | 4 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
32
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
6
1-20 of 69 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews
Works very well and lasted 7+ years outside
3/9/2016

Customer review by Garynola

5.0 stars 3/9/2016 by Garynola
by Garynola

Great smoker, I've had it 7+ years and leave her out in the New Orleans rain and sadly she is on her last leg. It can handle small briskets or 2 racks of ribs or 2 pork butts. I like that it doesn't take a lot of fuel to keep temperature going in the 200's. I smoked a brisket last weekend and it turned out great but I noticed the fire box has rust holes toward the bottom and right side. I hope to get a few more smokes out it. I bought the Char-Griller Smokin Outlaw recently but it is huge and takes a lot more fuel and it leaks quite a bit.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Garynola
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
smoker
3/9/2016

Customer review by grillking

3.0 stars 3/9/2016 by grillking
by grillking

I was amazed when I got it. The only bad part is when I was curing it the paint on the smoker peeled off. I was under the understanding that it wasn't supposed to do that and that's why you cure it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 4/7/2016

We're very sorry to hear this. Seasoning the inside of the smoker should keep this issue from occurring. Please give us a call at 1-800-241-7548 and we will be able to best investigate this.

grillking
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Offset smoker
3/19/2016

Customer review by Pocketeer

5.0 stars 3/19/2016 by Pocketeer
by Pocketeer

I was very surprised of the heavy guage steel it is built from, easy to assemble , perfect size for a small family or a single guy like me who enjoys cooking

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pocketeer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My First Smoker
6/30/2016

Customer review by GeraLdP82

4.0 stars 6/30/2016 by GeraLdP82
by GeraLdP82

My Wife surprised me with this smoker as a Christmas gift in 2014. I didn't even ask for it but she got it for me... any ways I had no idea about what offset smoking was all about until she got me this smoker. Great for starting out and I hosted many parties while manning this grill and I LOVE IT. I think the fire box can be made to where I can shift out the ashes easily and keep that fire going longer... other than that I thought this smoker is AWESOME!!!

GeraLdP82
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:6 months
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Male
Not really what I expected
7/4/2016

Customer review by Weeze

2.0 stars 7/4/2016 by Weeze
by Weeze

I bought this a month ago from, have used it for the 3rd time and am very disappointed. It doesn't keep the temperature and only heats one side of the grill. I also notice that I loose smoke from the edges and the side of the unit. I'll keep it this year but buy a better product next year.

Weeze
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 month
Gender:Female
Upgrade at a low price
11/11/2014

Customer review by BBQparadise

5.0 stars 11/11/2014 by BBQparadise
by BBQparadise

If you are looking to smoke your meat with indirect smoke and heat, this is the perfect low budget smoker. Hands down better then my other more expensive smokers. The chimney pipe is perfect and turns your backyard into a BBQ smoke cloud. It takes a little longer to smoke on this because it smokes with indirect heat but hey that's room enough for a few more beers and let me tell you the taste is worth the wait.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BBQparadise
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/29/2012

Customer review by Loneley

5.0 stars 12/29/2012 by Loneley
by Loneley

This is the best smoker That I ever had , And yes I would recommend it to a friend

Was this review helpful? (28) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Loneley
Baker, Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
You get what you pay for
5/15/2016

Customer review by ziggy1903

4.0 stars 5/15/2016 by ziggy1903
by ziggy1903

Over all, this was a good buy. Under $100 I was not expecting much, just something for the summer. Had a little issue of assembling the legs that the predrilled holes on the body did not line up, and had to drill them out to make it work. After that, assembly was very easy, straight forward, no other issues. Once together, it is sturdier than I expected. If I remember to put it in the shed when cooled down and keep it out of the rain, I should get a couple years of use out of it. I only bar-b-que occasionally and did not need a $400 grill. As for being forced to recommend this product to a friend or not to submit this review, there needs to be an indifferent button.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ziggy1903
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2/25/2013

Customer review by kioejfmanf

3.0 stars 2/25/2013 by kioejfmanf
by kioejfmanf
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Let's just say we got what we paid for. It's much smaller than we expected, so you can't put very much meat on at one time, and it does take awhile to cook. However, for the price it is a good enough Pitt for a quick or small weekend bar B Que. If you have a large family or large gathering we would recommend getting this item as a decent spare Pitt. That being said, we don't feel like we wasting our money, and were pleased with the at store pickup time. It arrived in 6 days.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kioejfmanf
Spring, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Patio grill
12/5/2013

Customer review by OklahomaGentleman

4.0 stars 12/5/2013 by OklahomaGentleman
by OklahomaGentleman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great grill for a small patio situation and for a two person family. You can cook on the small grill in the smoker section so you do not have to fire up a lot of charcoal to make a couple of hamburgers or hot dogs. The smoker grill is large enough to smoke a section of ribs, a chicken or smaller turkey. The smoker grill is also large enough to cook for a group if you are doing hot dogs and hamburgers when guests are over. But remember this is Char-Broil's smallest and cheapest grill, less that $100, if you want more features go buy a more expensive unit. I would have liked the metal to have been a heavier gauge, the charcoal racks to be more closely spaced to hold the briquettes better, and the cooking grill to be a cast iron style grill. The size of the unit is excellent, this is the 300 model. My suggestion to Char-Broil is to make a 3000 model, this size, heavier metal, better briquette grill, cast iron cooking grills and maybe charcoal height adjustment. That would make for a super nice grill. Char-Broil your customer base is down sizing to smaller homes and need a good smaller grill like this. When this unit wears out, I would buy a 3000 model if it were available. I recommend this unit as long as you remember you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (21) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OklahomaGentleman
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Smoking made easy
4/20/2016

Customer review by Pj in Ohio

4.0 stars 4/20/2016 by Pj in Ohio
by Pj in Ohio

I have been using this for over 5 years and every year my food and skills get better. Only negative is cleaning out the ashes, no ash catcher or tray, all and all great buy for smoker and grill on a budget or if your starting out in smoking.

Pj in Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Male
Broken
5/12/2016

Customer review by BBQKing

3.0 stars 5/12/2016 by BBQKing
by BBQKing

The product works great, but putting it together was the hard part. Pieces were bent & parts were broken. A hammer was needed to "fix" the dented, bent pieces. Other than that, it works fine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BBQKing
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
open lid
5/11/2016

Customer review by will89

5.0 stars 5/11/2016 by will89
by will89

The smoker works great and was assembled easily. My only complaint is I have to put something on the lid to keep it closed all the way. Thankfully that is not a hindrance.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
will89
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor quality
4/11/2016

Customer review by catsai2386

1.0 stars 4/11/2016 by catsai2386
by catsai2386

Very flimsy. Smoke came out of all the seams, lid didn't close all the way. We wound up having bungee cords attached to the lid just to keep it shut. It was so hard to keep the temp regulated due there being gaps everywhere.

catsai2386
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great deal
5/9/2016

Customer review by Greg

5.0 stars 5/9/2016 by Greg
by Greg

Delivery was way faster than expected. Quality is very good. Lots of fun to BBQ on this!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Greg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ken
4/26/2016

Customer review by kenneth

5.0 stars 4/26/2016 by kenneth
by kenneth

Its a great product. I would recommended.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kenneth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/18/2013

Customer review by Jbogg

2.0 stars 1/18/2013 by Jbogg
by Jbogg
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

too small and very hard to keep the temp up. if you want to do some smoking go for the more expensive model.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jbogg
KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Smaller than it looks.
3/15/2016

Customer review by LONEEAGLE

3.0 stars 3/15/2016 by LONEEAGLE
by LONEEAGLE

Made in China. Item looks much larger than it really is. Construction is supper cheap. Pretty drilled holes do not line up. However it will work better than the bullet style smoker.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LONEEAGLE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awesome grill
3/6/2016

Customer review by PattiH

5.0 stars 3/6/2016 by PattiH
by PattiH

I bought mine about 5 or more years ago and I love it!!!! Does a great job I am so glad I bought it

PattiH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Female
1/23/2013

Customer review by bostonsteamer2000

4.0 stars 1/23/2013 by bostonsteamer2000
by bostonsteamer2000

Great little smoker. The thin metal does let a lot of heat out, and it tends to burn though wood or charcoal quickly, but for shorter cooks it was spot on. I will continue to use this one for my sides and for shorter cooks along with my green egg.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bostonsteamer2000
Detroit, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews