Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 82 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

82 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

82 reviews | 4 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 stars
7
1-20 of 80 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 80 total reviews
1-20 of 80 reviews
Not what I was expecting
1/6/2017

Customer review by Hellwolf

5.0 stars 1/6/2017 by Hellwolf
by Hellwolf

The pics of it were missleading, the space for cooking is very large, and provides enough space to cook a 15lb turkey! Well worth the money. It arrived at my house in 2days, and putting it together was smooth. My fiance said "I should have gotten it sooner".

Hellwolf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Below expectations
7/16/2016

Customer review by Darrick

2.0 stars 7/16/2016 by Darrick
by Darrick

I bought this grill a year ago and have tried everything I can to keep a consistent temperature with wood and charcoal and it will always stay at 180 degrees no matter what I do. I had to replace the thermometer with one that had the actual numbers on it so that I could not the exact temperature instead of the range. The fire box seems to burn only on the side where the vent is and this keeps the wood or charcoal burning at a low heat. I have tried keeping the vent on the fire box opened all the way but it does not do any good and it only seems to make a difference when I open the top lid. This grill may work for some people but I have been very unlucky with this one. I will be upgrading very soon to one that actually works the way it says and does not have any leaks.

Darrick
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Length of ownership:6 months
Good airflow control.
8/27/2016

Customer review by Grandpa Jim

4.0 stars 8/27/2016 by Grandpa Jim
by Grandpa Jim

1) If you take the time to paint the pieces befor assembly, your smoker will last MUCH longer. 2) The airflow controls are adjustable enough to concentrate the heat anywhere in the smoker you want. 3) The only negative I can find is that the fire grate warps easily. Two fires later I need a new grate.

Grandpa Jim
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Length of ownership:6 months
My First Smoker
6/30/2016

Customer review by GeraLdP82

4.0 stars 6/30/2016 by GeraLdP82
by GeraLdP82

My Wife surprised me with this smoker as a Christmas gift in 2014. I didn't even ask for it but she got it for me... any ways I had no idea about what offset smoking was all about until she got me this smoker. Great for starting out and I hosted many parties while manning this grill and I LOVE IT. I think the fire box can be made to where I can shift out the ashes easily and keep that fire going longer... other than that I thought this smoker is AWESOME!!!

GeraLdP82
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Length of ownership:6 months
Not really what I expected
7/4/2016

Customer review by Weeze

2.0 stars 7/4/2016 by Weeze
by Weeze

I bought this a month ago from, have used it for the 3rd time and am very disappointed. It doesn't keep the temperature and only heats one side of the grill. I also notice that I loose smoke from the edges and the side of the unit. I'll keep it this year but buy a better product next year.

Weeze
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
very happy with the smoker
7/17/2016

Customer review by Philip

5.0 stars 7/17/2016 by Philip
by Philip
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The smoker arrived fast from FEDEX. The assembly took about an hour. I smoked my first rack the next day (3,2,1 method). PERRFECT. The unit is the best size for my smoking needs. Next time I'm smoking a pork roast. Thanks for making this unit available.

Philip
Keene NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Smoking made easy
4/20/2016

Customer review by Pj in Ohio

4.0 stars 4/20/2016 by Pj in Ohio
by Pj in Ohio

I have been using this for over 5 years and every year my food and skills get better. Only negative is cleaning out the ashes, no ash catcher or tray, all and all great buy for smoker and grill on a budget or if your starting out in smoking.

Pj in Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Great starter or experienced smoker
1/31/2015

Customer review by Hansmann83

4.0 stars 1/31/2015 by Hansmann83
by Hansmann83

This is a great smoker for the beginner, easy to operate. The Only downfall is that the smoker box lid doesn't seal all the way, you lose heat and smoke through the not correctly seald lid. The Legs and wheels also could use some kind of support or brace. It's a decent size, obviously you won't fit a whole hog on it but you can entertain or just cook for the family with it, and have no problems Otherwise I love my smoker! It's nice and pretty easy to assemble, I hope that this helps you in your decision to purchase a smoker! It's great fun and a exelent hobby. Best wishes and smoke on!!

Hansmann83
St Paul, MN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Length of ownership:1 month
Poor quality
4/11/2016

Customer review by catsai2386

1.0 stars 4/11/2016 by catsai2386
by catsai2386

Very flimsy. Smoke came out of all the seams, lid didn't close all the way. We wound up having bungee cords attached to the lid just to keep it shut. It was so hard to keep the temp regulated due there being gaps everywhere.

catsai2386
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good starter smoker!
10/8/2015

Customer review by Al Dog

4.0 stars 10/8/2015 by Al Dog
by Al Dog

I bought this a couple months ago, I wanted to try my hand at smoking as I'm an avid charcoal griller and wanted to try some bigger cooking projects and I have a lot of good woods for smoking meats (apple, crab apple, hickory, cherry). So far, the pork spare ribs and the pork butt I made came out incredible and this is a great grill for a beginner smoker, I really enjoyed using this and will get a lot of use in the future. The more I use this, the better I'm getting at knowing how to best cook with this smoker. The drawbacks, the temperature gauge has no measurement reading in degrees which I find totally ridiculous since you want to maintain the grill at a certain temperature. Additionally, this "temperature" gauge clouded up with smoke the first time I used it and rendered it unusable for as long as I own this.. Another annoying feature is that the side door on the offset firebox will not stay open unless something is jammed in there (I used a small rock) to keep it open a bit for air flow. Lastly, this grill should come with some basic user instructions included for beginners (who are probably the biggest purchaser of this product), one shouldn't have to peruse the internet or Youtube to figure out how to use this grill. Despite the drawbacks, this grill was very functional and I will be getting a lot of use out of this in years to come, I look very forward to grilling and smoking up many excellent gourmet meals for my family to enjoy.

Al Dog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Length of ownership:1 month
6/10/2014

Customer review by bagbeard

4.0 stars 6/10/2014 by bagbeard
by bagbeard
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I wrote this review a little over a year ago, not long after I bought the smoker: I bought this smoker 2 weeks ago. Last weekend I cooked a 9 lb pork butt in it. First try ever at smoking. Been grilling for years , even smoking on the charcoal grill. This was quite the experience. I had temp prob in meat and one in chamber , but the one in the chamber was in front of the meat. The false reading resulted in 5 hours of extra cooking. i had to use the grill supplied for the firebox , as it sat down lower in the smoke chamber allowing the Butt to fit. I used a rub overnight and spritzed with apple juice/ apple cider vinegar and water after 6 hrs of cooking. I maintained a smoking temp of 200-200 or so i thought. about 12 hours in i moved butt closer to fire and moved temp probe beside meat. Much better. I didnt mind the constant tending because it was a relaxing day of bevies and yard work. After 18 hrs (i started a 5am) the meat hit 188 and after wrapping in foil came up to closer to 200. I have never eaten meat so good!!!!!!! the bark was beautiful and the red smoke ring was 1/2 thick. it pulled with no effort and required no sauce , it was that juicy! i will definately think about getting a bigger , less tempermental smoker some day , but for now I am hooked on smoking. Had Ted Readers book on smoking to help me out and yesterday i bought Jeff''s. Both these books are fantastic references. Happy Smoking All!!

bagbeard
scotland, ontario
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Length of ownership:6 months
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome grill
3/6/2016

Customer review by PattiH

5.0 stars 3/6/2016 by PattiH
by PattiH

I bought mine about 5 or more years ago and I love it!!!! Does a great job I am so glad I bought it

PattiH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
2/18/2016

Customer review by Barry76

1.0 stars 2/18/2016 by Barry76
by Barry76

this is one of the worst bbq- smoker to buy save your money

Barry76
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Length of ownership:3 months
7/31/2014

Customer review by olesmokey

4.0 stars 7/31/2014 by olesmokey
by olesmokey

I received this as a gift and used it this week for the first time. It worked fine. However the heat/temp indicator (its plastic and aluminum) in the cover got hot and now no longer works. tried to order a replacement from the diagram and it shows one with a wingnut and the indicator on mine just twists in 1/4 turn. and I don't have the receipt etc. so I guess I will do my smoking without an indicator.

olesmokey
Washington, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Doesn't Seal
8/11/2015

Customer review by todd100

3.0 stars 8/11/2015 by todd100
by todd100

I was so excited to try this product after I bought it. It was easy to assemble with simple instructions. I seasoned the smoker and firebox. However, when I went to use it I noticed a lot of smoke escaping from the smoker barrel. I don't know what to do to seal it tighter, as I hoped it would have come properly sealed.

todd100
Terrible!
6/22/2014

Customer review by KRB1960

1.0 stars 6/22/2014 by KRB1960
by KRB1960
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

DO NOT BUY ONE OF THESE. Have tried to use the unit a couple of times and it is impossible to maintain heat, heat is uneven and I have not been able to finish anything on it. Have only been able to get some smoke flavor, then had to switch to BBQ or oven to finish. These units should be totally redesigned or discontinued. They simply do not work well. DO NOT BUY ONE!!

KRB1960
Calgary, AB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Length of ownership:6 months
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
You get what you pay for
9/26/2014

Customer review by steveo31

4.0 stars 9/26/2014 by steveo31
by steveo31

I have owned this smoker for over 2 years. It is a great starter smoker, I have cooked everything from whole chickens and 9lb Beef Briskets to St. Louis ribs. It has served it's purpose as a entry level smoker. I plan on retiring it and buying a bigger and thicker made smoker. I recommend this smoker to anyone who wants to try it out without spending big bucks.

steveo31
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Length of ownership:6 months
Really enjoy my new smorker
7/28/2015

Customer review by Grill rite

4.0 stars 7/28/2015 by Grill rite
by Grill rite

Easy assembly, my wife and son set it up. I smoked pork chops rapped in bacon for my first use and OMG, was awesome. Pork chops were very tender. Think I had the envy of everyone in the neighborhood. Can't wait to use it more. I have a great gas grill but this offset smoker is by far my favorite.

Grill rite
Poor quality
6/25/2014

Customer review by JeffD

1.0 stars 6/25/2014 by JeffD
by JeffD
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this bbq directly from the vendor. Incredibly disappointed with the quality of the item. Very thin metal resulted in poor heat maintenance. Edges were not flush resulting in more heat loss. There's no reason that a product should require several modifications to make it more efficient. Gave product away after several frustrating sessions.

JeffD
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Length of ownership:1 month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOVING IT !!!!!!!!!!!
7/10/2015

Customer review by Joe690

5.0 stars 7/10/2015 by Joe690
by Joe690

I bought my char broil offset grill last month and it was delivered a a couple days before the 4th of July I've used it several times great great for the money you cannot beat the deal best purchase I've made all year. Thanks for the product

Joe690
1-20 of 80 total reviews
1-20 of 80 reviews