Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 53 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

53 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

53 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 51 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews
Awesome
1/6/2016

Customer review by Desy

5.0 stars 1/6/2016 by Desy
by Desy

Awesome

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Desy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Patio grill
12/5/2013

Customer review by OklahomaGentleman

4.0 stars 12/5/2013 by OklahomaGentleman
by OklahomaGentleman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great grill for a small patio situation and for a two person family. You can cook on the small grill in the smoker section so you do not have to fire up a lot of charcoal to make a couple of hamburgers or hot dogs. The smoker grill is large enough to smoke a section of ribs, a chicken or smaller turkey. The smoker grill is also large enough to cook for a group if you are doing hot dogs and hamburgers when guests are over. But remember this is Char-Broil's smallest and cheapest grill, less that $100, if you want more features go buy a more expensive unit. I would have liked the metal to have been a heavier gauge, the charcoal racks to be more closely spaced to hold the briquettes better, and the cooking grill to be a cast iron style grill. The size of the unit is excellent, this is the 300 model. My suggestion to Char-Broil is to make a 3000 model, this size, heavier metal, better briquette grill, cast iron cooking grills and maybe charcoal height adjustment. That would make for a super nice grill. Char-Broil your customer base is down sizing to smaller homes and need a good smaller grill like this. When this unit wears out, I would buy a 3000 model if it were available. I recommend this unit as long as you remember you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (18) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OklahomaGentleman
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Christmas
12/30/2015

Customer review by Lori

5.0 stars 12/30/2015 by Lori
by Lori

Haven't quite got it assembled yet but my boyfriend was in awe..

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lori
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/29/2012

Customer review by Loneley

5.0 stars 12/29/2012 by Loneley
by Loneley

This is the best smoker That I ever had , And yes I would recommend it to a friend

Was this review helpful? (23) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Loneley
Baker, Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/25/2013

Customer review by kioejfmanf

3.0 stars 2/25/2013 by kioejfmanf
by kioejfmanf
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Let's just say we got what we paid for. It's much smaller than we expected, so you can't put very much meat on at one time, and it does take awhile to cook. However, for the price it is a good enough Pitt for a quick or small weekend bar B Que. If you have a large family or large gathering we would recommend getting this item as a decent spare Pitt. That being said, we don't feel like we wasting our money, and were pleased with the at store pickup time. It arrived in 6 days.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kioejfmanf
Spring, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Upgrade at a low price
11/11/2014

Customer review by BBQparadise

5.0 stars 11/11/2014 by BBQparadise
by BBQparadise

If you are looking to smoke your meat with indirect smoke and heat, this is the perfect low budget smoker. Hands down better then my other more expensive smokers. The chimney pipe is perfect and turns your backyard into a BBQ smoke cloud. It takes a little longer to smoke on this because it smokes with indirect heat but hey that's room enough for a few more beers and let me tell you the taste is worth the wait.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BBQparadise
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good size for first time smokers
10/2/2013

Customer review by ShopGirlLori

5.0 stars 10/2/2013 by ShopGirlLori
by ShopGirlLori
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The grill itself was a bit tricky to put together because some of the holes didn't line up. But got it together and have been loving it since. This is our first smoker and its perfect to learn on.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShopGirlLori
Port Saint Lucie, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good starter smoker!
10/8/2015

Customer review by Al Dog

4.0 stars 10/8/2015 by Al Dog
by Al Dog

I bought this a couple months ago, I wanted to try my hand at smoking as I'm an avid charcoal griller and wanted to try some bigger cooking projects and I have a lot of good woods for smoking meats (apple, crab apple, hickory, cherry). So far, the pork spare ribs and the pork butt I made came out incredible and this is a great grill for a beginner smoker, I really enjoyed using this and will get a lot of use in the future. The more I use this, the better I'm getting at knowing how to best cook with this smoker. The drawbacks, the temperature gauge has no measurement reading in degrees which I find totally ridiculous since you want to maintain the grill at a certain temperature. Additionally, this "temperature" gauge clouded up with smoke the first time I used it and rendered it unusable for as long as I own this.. Another annoying feature is that the side door on the offset firebox will not stay open unless something is jammed in there (I used a small rock) to keep it open a bit for air flow. Lastly, this grill should come with some basic user instructions included for beginners (who are probably the biggest purchaser of this product), one shouldn't have to peruse the internet or Youtube to figure out how to use this grill. Despite the drawbacks, this grill was very functional and I will be getting a lot of use out of this in years to come, I look very forward to grilling and smoking up many excellent gourmet meals for my family to enjoy.

Al Dog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 month
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Male
1/23/2013

Customer review by bostonsteamer2000

4.0 stars 1/23/2013 by bostonsteamer2000
by bostonsteamer2000

Great little smoker. The thin metal does let a lot of heat out, and it tends to burn though wood or charcoal quickly, but for shorter cooks it was spot on. I will continue to use this one for my sides and for shorter cooks along with my green egg.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bostonsteamer2000
Detroit, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Nice Smoker for the money.
7/13/2015

Customer review by milkman63

5.0 stars 7/13/2015 by milkman63
by milkman63

This is a great smoker. It may not be the biggest but it delivers the smoke. For a family of 4 it is perfect for us. Easy to move around and doesn't take up a lot of space. Yes I would recommend this product to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
milkman63
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/18/2013

Customer review by Jbogg

2.0 stars 1/18/2013 by Jbogg
by Jbogg
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

too small and very hard to keep the temp up. if you want to do some smoking go for the more expensive model.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jbogg
KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great smoker/cooker for the small family.
11/24/2013

Customer review by Inou

5.0 stars 11/24/2013 by Inou
by Inou
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is easy to assemble with good fitting parts and the price is great for this level of quality. Cooks great and works very well as a smoker. Not too big to put on a patio.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Inou
Perdido Beach, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Doesn't Seal
8/11/2015

Customer review by todd100

3.0 stars 8/11/2015 by todd100
by todd100

I was so excited to try this product after I bought it. It was easy to assemble with simple instructions. I seasoned the smoker and firebox. However, when I went to use it I noticed a lot of smoke escaping from the smoker barrel. I don't know what to do to seal it tighter, as I hoped it would have come properly sealed.

todd100
Really enjoy my new smorker
7/28/2015

Customer review by Grill rite

4.0 stars 7/28/2015 by Grill rite
by Grill rite

Easy assembly, my wife and son set it up. I smoked pork chops rapped in bacon for my first use and OMG, was awesome. Pork chops were very tender. Think I had the envy of everyone in the neighborhood. Can't wait to use it more. I have a great gas grill but this offset smoker is by far my favorite.

Grill rite
Excellent for a small family
6/11/2014

Customer review by Summerofgreatfood

5.0 stars 6/11/2014 by Summerofgreatfood
by Summerofgreatfood
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This smoker/grill exceeded our expectations. Once the grill is prepared, smoking or grilling fish or meat is quite easy. I reccomend going on line to find the Char-Broil web site. There, you will find easy receipes to prepare and helpful tips. We first smoked/grilled salmon and it was delicious! Use flavored wood chips for the smoked flavor to come through the fish/meat. The smoker was also easy to assemble. Other smokers/grills are double the price, but for the value, flavor and ease of use - this is one great buy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Summerofgreatfood
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOVING IT !!!!!!!!!!!
7/10/2015

Customer review by Joe690

5.0 stars 7/10/2015 by Joe690
by Joe690

I bought my char broil offset grill last month and it was delivered a a couple days before the 4th of July I've used it several times great great for the money you cannot beat the deal best purchase I've made all year. Thanks for the product

Joe690
for 80$ excellent value!
11/16/2012

Customer review by donawanna

4.0 stars 11/16/2012 by donawanna
by donawanna
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

good smoker for the price!

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
donawanna
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for those just getting into smoking.
2/11/2013

Customer review by UncaJoe

4.0 stars 2/11/2013 by UncaJoe
by UncaJoe

Price is good for the beginner. It's not perfect, but it has potential. The issues it does have can be a quick and inexpensive fix to improve its performance. If you purchase this item, I would recommend watching some videos on youtube about how to modify them before putting it together. I can't say how well they all work as I haven't yet tried them, but some are definitely helpful.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UncaJoe
Rohnert Park, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Baby Smoker
12/31/2014

Customer review by BrisketManCraftBeerLvr

5.0 stars 12/31/2014 by BrisketManCraftBeerLvr
by BrisketManCraftBeerLvr

Perfect baby smoker - cooking for two , holds heat temp right on point with mini logs. I also own the larger Char-Broil smoker which can handle large amount of meats...can't go wrong with either one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BrisketManCraftBeerLvr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great starter or experienced smoker
1/31/2015

Customer review by Hansmann83

4.0 stars 1/31/2015 by Hansmann83
by Hansmann83

This is a great smoker for the beginner, easy to operate. The Only downfall is that the smoker box lid doesn't seal all the way, you lose heat and smoke through the not correctly seald lid. The Legs and wheels also could use some kind of support or brace. It's a decent size, obviously you won't fit a whole hog on it but you can entertain or just cook for the family with it, and have no problems Otherwise I love my smoker! It's nice and pretty easy to assemble, I hope that this helps you in your decision to purchase a smoker! It's great fun and a exelent hobby. Best wishes and smoke on!!

Hansmann83
St Paul, MN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 month
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Male
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews