Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4out of 5 stars
4 out of 5 | 94 reviews
5 stars
46
4 stars
26
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 stars
8
Sort by: 
1-20 of 92 reviews
1-20 of 92 reviews
Great product
1/17/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It arrived in 3 days witch was awesome, secondly, it was easy to assemble. No issues with that. First fire up was able to maintain heat.. spiked over 400.. and maintaining heat was no issue. First meal was a 14lb turkey whole... 10 hours later and it was done... Love this smoker!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Serves it Purpose!
7/5/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I like the little pit. It was cheap, easy enough to put together, and has just enough room to cook what I need for my family of 4. Works great as grill, heats up really fast and doesn't require a lot of coals to cook a few hamburgers or hot dogs, but it burns up really quick. It's ok as a smoker but doesn't hold head very well in the smoking chamber and has a lot of leaks. I highly recommend buying a better temp gauge to give you a more accurate temp. Takes a little bit of playing with to learn how to maintain the heat, but once you figure it out, not hard to control. Also, don't use seasoned wood as fuel, only coals, or it will be too strong of a smoke because the chamber is so small and the smoke will be very concentrated. You can use a couple of small chunks to give the meat the desired flavor, once you start cooking. Fill the box with charcoal and light with a wax cube. Let it burn until it reaches the temp you want, and then adjust the air intake to try and maintain it. Then add your meat and don't wander off too long. Paint chips off easy, so you will need some grill paint too!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Only received a few parts
6/29/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I only received a few parts of the smoker. I received 3 wheels and no manual. I called Walmart, they referred me to Hayneedle. I called Hay Needle they referred me to Char Broil. Char Broil referred me back to Walmart. I called Walmart they transferred me back to Hayneedle and then Hayneedle says all they can do is a return and then it will take 2-4 business days to get my money back. Horrible that these 3 companies cannot figure their problem out. Do not order a grill or smoker from Walmart.com
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works very well and lasted 7+ years outside
3/9/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great smoker, I've had it 7+ years and leave her out in the New Orleans rain and sadly she is on her last leg. It can handle small briskets or 2 racks of ribs or 2 pork butts. I like that it doesn't take a lot of fuel to keep temperature going in the 200's. I smoked a brisket last weekend and it turned out great but I noticed the fire box has rust holes toward the bottom and right side. I hope to get a few more smokes out it. I bought the Char-Griller Smokin Outlaw recently but it is huge and takes a lot more fuel and it leaks quite a bit.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (27)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Smoker Grill
1/30/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Perfect for our needs. We had one before and it was left out in the weather. Replaced it with same brand
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice small cooker
9/24/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
wanted a smaller grill/smoker since there is only the two of us and this was perfect. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome for smoking BBQ
8/3/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Arrived in a small box and took about 2 hours to assemble. It worked perfectly on our first try with charcoal and mesquite chunks. Used a surprisingly small amount of charcoal and the grill area is pretty large. Can easily handle 2 large briskets. The heat was very easy to control. It does not come with a water reservoir for humidity control. We just set a small can of water inside the larger box and it worked great. The brisket was awesome!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Patio grill
12/5/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is a great grill for a small patio situation and for a two person family. You can cook on the small grill in the smoker section so you do not have to fire up a lot of charcoal to make a couple of hamburgers or hot dogs. The smoker grill is large enough to smoke a section of ribs, a chicken or smaller turkey. The smoker grill is also large enough to cook for a group if you are doing hot dogs and hamburgers when guests are over. But remember this is Char-Broil's smallest and cheapest grill, less that $100, if you want more features go buy a more expensive unit. I would have liked the metal to have been a heavier gauge, the charcoal racks to be more closely spaced to hold the briquettes better, and the cooking grill to be a cast iron style grill. The size of the unit is excellent, this is the 300 model. My suggestion to Char-Broil is to make a 3000 model, this size, heavier metal, better briquette grill, cast iron cooking grills and maybe charcoal height adjustment. That would make for a super nice grill. Char-Broil your customer base is down sizing to smaller homes and need a good smaller grill like this. When this unit wears out, I would buy a 3000 model if it were available. I recommend this unit as long as you remember you get what you pay for.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (34)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2/25/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Let's just say we got what we paid for. It's much smaller than we expected, so you can't put very much meat on at one time, and it does take awhile to cook. However, for the price it is a good enough Pitt for a quick or small weekend bar B Que. If you have a large family or large gathering we would recommend getting this item as a decent spare Pitt. That being said, we don't feel like we wasting our money, and were pleased with the at store pickup time. It arrived in 6 days.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (28)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Offset smoker
3/19/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was very surprised of the heavy guage steel it is built from, easy to assemble , perfect size for a small family or a single guy like me who enjoys cooking
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Disappointed
2/28/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The paint, after its first use, is bubbling. Cooks wonderful.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
12/29/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the best smoker That I ever had , And yes I would recommend it to a friend
Was this review helpful?
Yes (34)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great
3/17/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Not difficult to put together
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Upgrade at a low price
11/11/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
If you are looking to smoke your meat with indirect smoke and heat, this is the perfect low budget smoker. Hands down better then my other more expensive smokers. The chimney pipe is perfect and turns your backyard into a BBQ smoke cloud. It takes a little longer to smoke on this because it smokes with indirect heat but hey that's room enough for a few more beers and let me tell you the taste is worth the wait.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (24)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
LOVE IT!! He literally grills at MIDNIGHT now!
7/28/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is a WONDERFUL smoker!! He's been smoking stuff literally all night long from smoked pork loins to beef ribs, vegetables, chicken, fish, or burgers this lil' dude ROCKS! EXCELLENT and AWESOME!! I think I have to say it's one of the best presents ever! :-)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Smoker Grill
8/21/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We Got The Smoker Grill And The Grill Didn't Seem To Want To Get Real Hot,After Adjusting The Top Draft To Completely Open And The Bottom Draft Only Half Open. It Now Gets Really Hot.This Is A Great Little Smoker Grill,I Would Recommend This To Everyone. We Love It !!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
You get what you pay for
5/15/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Over all, this was a good buy. Under $100 I was not expecting much, just something for the summer. Had a little issue of assembling the legs that the predrilled holes on the body did not line up, and had to drill them out to make it work. After that, assembly was very easy, straight forward, no other issues. Once together, it is sturdier than I expected. If I remember to put it in the shed when cooled down and keep it out of the rain, I should get a couple years of use out of it. I only bar-b-que occasionally and did not need a $400 grill. As for being forced to recommend this product to a friend or not to submit this review, there needs to be an indifferent button.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Item review
12/6/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This was exactly the item quality I was looking for, for the ideal price! Works like a charm!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
smoker
3/9/2016
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was amazed when I got it. The only bad part is when I was curing it the paint on the smoker peeled off. I was under the understanding that it wasn't supposed to do that and that's why you cure it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great smoker/cooker for the small family.
11/24/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It is easy to assemble with good fitting parts and the price is great for this level of quality. Cooks great and works very well as a smoker. Not too big to put on a patio.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640655, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-