Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 62 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

62 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

62 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
10
4 stars
30
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 stars
7
1-20 of 62 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews
Edsal is a disaster
2/28/2014

Customer review by JD560

1.0 stars 2/28/2014 by JD560
by JD560
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I received the product on time, but there was damage to both bench shelves (particle board), and both drawer bottoms (particle board), and the pegboard. Also missing two key steel brackets. I have put a lot of toys and stuff together over the years, but the assembly instructions for this were poorly written. I called Edsal (manufacturer) once and they sent me missing parts, but received some wrong parts and still missing one drawer bracket. Then I sent an email, advising them that I was still short the drawer bracket and sent them pictures of the original shipment damages, and gave them the measurement and their part number for the draw bracket. Yesterday, I received a bracket, but it was the wrong one. For the fourth time, I will try to get a bracket that I can’t get anywhere else and likely have to purchase locally some material that I can make the shelves and drawer bottoms with to finish the bench. Conceptually a very good bench

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JD560
Myrtle Beach
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Work bench.
5/11/2017

Customer review by FASte

2.0 stars 5/11/2017 by FASte
by FASte

I received this work station and one of the boards was broke there was no instructions to put it together. And the metal is scratched like it came out of a junk yard. Would not recommend this. Save your money

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FASte
Would recommend to a friend? No
Light duty bench with major parts missing
4/2/2012

Customer review by VegasGunhand

1.0 stars 4/2/2012 by VegasGunhand
by VegasGunhand

I ordered the Edsel six foot steel work bench for my garage. I only needed a light to medium duty bench, and this product seemed to be the answer. After I opened the box, two major beams were bent in shipping. Once I straightened those out, I began the assembly. The direction are terribly written, and poorly diagramed. At the end of the build, I discovered that three major parts for the drawers were not shipped. Of course I have to wait till during the week to call the company to try and get replacement parts. I called seven times today, and have yet to talk to a live person. I have left messages for a return call, and have had no response. The quality control at packing is terrible, and certainly needs vast imporvement. I would NOT recommend this bench for anyone

Was this review helpful? (32) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VegasGunhand
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Never
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Instructions Need Diagram of Parts
5/2/2017

Customer review by John

4.0 stars 5/2/2017 by John
by John
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great work bench. My complaint is the instructions, which are not user friendly. There is no diagram and description of the parts, so it takes much longer to assemble. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

John
undisclosed
Received free product:Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Heavy Duty
6/15/2014

Customer review by Rodohio

3.0 stars 6/15/2014 by Rodohio
by Rodohio
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Lousy Instructions, Missing some Hardware. We finally got it together in spite of the directions. Still have to come up with some hardware to attach the bench top and upper shelf to the steel frame.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rodohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Big Headache
2/4/2016

Customer review by KAES

2.0 stars 2/4/2016 by KAES
by KAES

This could be an awesome work bench but it has been nothing but one big headache for us. First it was delivered damaged. You have to call the manufacturer with product issues so we called Edsal and listened to the lovely music for easily 20+ minutes before getting to speak with someone. They sent out replacement parts no problem and we got them pretty soon after but then noticed there were no instructions and no hardware. So again we will be reaching out to Edsal in hopes of getting the hardware send out to us ASAP so we can get the work bench put together once an for all and be done with it. It does seem sturdy but it really isn't worth all the trouble!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KAES
Would recommend to a friend? No
4/21/2013

Customer review by Mike265

2.0 stars 4/21/2013 by Mike265
by Mike265
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Poorly packed. Box came repaired with parts missing. Walmart buys thru another outfit and the price goes up. Not backed up by or returnable to Walmart. Instructions poor, no list of nuts and bolts and small parts.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mike265
North East, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
instructions?
12/27/2015

Customer review by Brian

2.0 stars 12/27/2015 by Brian
by Brian

the instructions were not clear at all... you kind of have to use trial and error. they did not provide enough bolts to hold it together... the drawers are flimsy and could fall apart when trying to open.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brian
Would recommend to a friend? No
If needed I would purchase another
3/22/2017

Customer review by Danny

5.0 stars 3/22/2017 by Danny
by Danny
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I seen some reviews saying they had trouble with the instructions I thought they were just fine, after completed its pretty sturdy.

Danny
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
DO NOT PURCHASE - WORST PURCHASE EVER
9/29/2013

Customer review by John

1.0 stars 9/29/2013 by John
by John

I bought my Edsal MRWB-6 work bench online and what a mistake this has been. The main package delivery was delayed twice for a total of three (3) extra weeks. Once I did receive it the instructions were horrifically thin and lacking. It took many hours to determine that I was missing at least four parts and some connectors. I emailed Edsal online to request the missing parts which I identified by part number and they very nicely told the would provide. They did provide me three (3) weeks later an additional package full of the wrong requested parts. So I am now emailing again to re-request the correct missing parts. Total time waiting on this item is over two (2) months and I still do NOT have it put together. The wood provided is very cheap particle board which will have to be replaced with thick (3/4" - 1") ply-wood in a few months given how the particle board is already chipping. The steel structure is fair from what I can tell so far. The peg-board is also very thin also. I WILL NEVER BUY ANYTHING AGAIN FROM THIS COMPANY!!!

John
Franklin, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
you get what you pay for
3/21/2017

Customer review by workbench

4.0 stars 3/21/2017 by workbench
by workbench
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

for the price a well made workbench. don't expect a lot and you will be more than satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
workbench
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect size workbench
2/13/2017

Customer review by Harold

5.0 stars 2/13/2017 by Harold
by Harold
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very nice looking and long enough for most things. Great price.

Harold
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/6/2012

Customer review by bunbon

5.0 stars 7/6/2012 by bunbon
by bunbon

Great workbench for the price. You do need to put it together which isn't to hard if you are handy. Can be difficult if you are not. I would recommend this product again. Good value.

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bunbon
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Would not recommend.
2/1/2017

Customer review by Sergio

2.0 stars 2/1/2017 by Sergio
by Sergio
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Worst assembly instructions I have ever seen. Does not align to the vague instructions at all and took a very long time to assemble. Not rigid after assembled.

Sergio
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice for the price
11/2/2009

Customer review by DB

4.0 stars 11/2/2009 by DB
by DB

You can't beat the price for the workbench! The instructions were horrible, but its easy to put together just by looking at the pics. I was however a little lost, I got plastic push in type locking plugs and I don't know what they were for? The instructions never mentioned them and always said to use the nuts and bolts provided. I didn't have enough nuts and bolts so I am guessing they are for the peg board, but it wasn't solid enough so I went and purchased some more hardware to do it right. Wish the table had a light and power strip built in for the same price. But I can't complain, the table seems pretty sturdy and its exactly what I was looking for. I'm not a big fan of particle board, but what the heck. I sealed it with varnish and hopefully it lasts a life time. [...]

DB
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not bad for the price............
10/30/2009

Customer review by 50+ yr old "do-it-yourself-er"

4.0 stars 10/30/2009 by 50+ yr old "do-it-yourself-er"
by 50+ yr old "do-it-yourself-er"

....I needed a good sized workbench to do small to medium projects at home....and put it on an outside covered patio. This workbench is made almost entirely of steel, so it fit the spot perfectly....The bench had marginal instructions, but if you are someone who can think outside the box you should be able to accomplish the task in about 2 hrs. The bench is basically a snap together type project with few nuts and bolts, but everything was in the box. I did have to tweak some of the metal so a couple pieces would fit. The metal seemed to be a little scratched but it is a work bench so it will get dinged soon enough. One person can put it together but it does weight about 125 pounds, so build it where you want it.....Good bench/Good price....

50+ yr old "do-it-yourself-er"
Orange, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice bench for the price
3/3/2010

Customer review by Alan

5.0 stars 3/3/2010 by Alan
by Alan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased both the 6 ft. bench and the 4ft. bench for my home work shop. The 6ft. bench is made of heavier gage metal and came with a ½" wood top. The 4ft. bench is built the same way but has thinner gage metal and wood. I use the 4ft. bench for light weight use and the 6ft bench for heavier uses. I would not recommend the 4ft. bench to do any heavy hammering or cutting. I shopped around for a long time and found hayneedle had the best price compared to other similar home workbenches. I'm happy with both benches and would recommend them for normal home owner use.

Alan
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
bad packaging
10/2/2014

Customer review by chas12345

3.0 stars 10/2/2014 by chas12345
by chas12345

Overall this bench is good. However, the cardboard used by the manufacturer is much too thin to handle the weight. I had to get two and both boxes were broken and both were missing parts. The instructions are terrible mostly because there are no pictures of the individual parts. Somehow they think you know what part is what. It is so bad I could not tell the service rep which parts were missing because they are not numbered, lettered or named. The drawers are wobbly mostly because there is no bracing either from the front to back or side to side:just a shell of a drawer.

chas12345
Texas, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Not worth purchasing
5/5/2015

Customer review by Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

1.0 stars 5/5/2015 by Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
by Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

When I received this item, the box was destroyed and strapped together...should have been my first clue. One sheet for instructions...just pictures. Not enough hardware to finish the job. Drawers are very tight. The pegboard doesn't line up with the holes for securing it to the back. The two pieces made to 'support' the working surfaces can be bent with one finger. I would have sent it back but it was too much trouble to take it apart. I need another but I WON'T be buying this again. I think this was someone else's return because the box wasn't for this product.

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
North Carolina, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Great Bench at a low price!
12/1/2009

Customer review by Cupid

5.0 stars 12/1/2009 by Cupid
by Cupid
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I like the large, sturdy drawers in which to put tools. I also have all my power tools on the bottom shelf. Plenty of room there. I like the top shelf for all my nuts, bolts, nails and screws. It makes them accessible and handy. The peg board back is great for tools too! I hung a shop light which I attached to the bottom of the top shelf. It lights up the whole bench. I am very happy that I chose this bench. I'm not the greatest do-it-your shelf kind of guy. But I like to fix what I can. This bench makes it a lot easier.

Cupid
Eagle, Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews