Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 29 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

29 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

29 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-20 of 29 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews
First impressions - Nice bar for the price
9/6/2012

Customer review by Rayden99

4.0 stars 9/6/2012 by Rayden99
by Rayden99

Have been looking for a bar to complete my garage gym. Read several good reviews of this CAP bar (product #OB-86B) and the price was the lowest of all the bars I was considering, plus you cannot beat the free shipping. I am planning on using it for CrossFit workouts at home. Bar arrived today packaged well in a thick cardboard sleeve. Was slight box damage to one end from the shipping, but the bar was flawless. Most cheap bars have a large bolt that often works its way loose holding on the sleeves. This bar is of a higher quality and uses a snap ring to hold the sleeve. The sleeve has deep grooves to keep the plates in place. The sleeves have some spin and may spin more freely once it gets broken in. The knurling feels a bit aggressive and that is why I gave 4 stars instead of 5. It feels a bit sharp in my hands. Maybe after some use I will feel differently. This bar has no center knurling which is good if you are doing exercises like thrusters or cleans, where the center of the bar rests near your neck. Overall an excellent bar for the price.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rayden99
Nor Cal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best "Value" bar
9/5/2013

Customer review by mrcright

5.0 stars 9/5/2013 by mrcright
by mrcright

I have been more than happy with this bar. I use it was bumper plates for cross-fit and it hold up to the abuse quite well. The action and feel of the bar isn't as nice as, say a rogue bar, but you can also buy three of these for the price of one of the higher end bars. All in all, the best bar I've used at this price point.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrcright
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good value for a a barbell
6/8/2013

Customer review by FiveofClubs

5.0 stars 6/8/2013 by FiveofClubs
by FiveofClubs

I was looking for a barbell that was a step above the poorly made bars that come with weight sets. After researching for a good intermediate bar, I found that many people recommend this particular barbell (especially for the price). I can say the quality appears good and it should last me a very long time. Walmart shipping and delivery were top notch as well.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FiveofClubs
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good deadlift bar
5/18/2014

Customer review by Dfyybhkurschjy

5.0 stars 5/18/2014 by Dfyybhkurschjy
by Dfyybhkurschjy

This bar has what I would say is the perfect amount of knurling. The knurling also travels farther in to the middle than other bars I have. This makes it ideal for sumo deadlifts. You can get a whole had full of knurling rather than just a finger or two. It doesn't tear chunks out of shins and fingers either. I was going to buy a Texas powwrbar, but decided to give the cap 86 pb a try due to cost difference. Very happy I did. I like this bar better than a tpb. The bearings/ bushings what ever is in the end spin well, diameter feels good. For the money they charge you can not beat this bar. Anything I found to be similar walked me up at least 100 dollars. It also works well for benching and rows and overhead pressing. Might be sketchy for squatting due to the fact there is no center knurling. I think good bar placement is the key factor in that though. I would definatley buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dfyybhkurschjy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
super bar
9/25/2013

Customer review by jonebgood

4.0 stars 9/25/2013 by jonebgood
by jonebgood

Got my bar and put it to use right away. Just love the feel of the bar, just the right thickness for benching, great knurling as well . Am considering buying another one exclusively for deadlifting as the bar has lots of weight potential. Training for the WABDL worlds and this bar will be a great asset.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jonebgood
abbotsford B.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Strong Bar, Whimpy Knurling
5/3/2014

Customer review by HammerBros

4.0 stars 5/3/2014 by HammerBros
by HammerBros

I have used this bar for just over a month now. I have loaded 800lbs and un-racked and re-racked it. It did NOT permanently bend the bar. The collars spin freely. I have squatted and Deadlifted 400lb+ with no issues. This bar would be a great bar if it had better (more aggressive) knurling. The Knurling on this bar is almost non-existant. I have a hard time finding the rings without visually looking for them. I guess I'm spoiled with the Capps Texas Power and Deadlifing Bars.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HammerBros
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great bar!
5/12/2014

Customer review by MkeCsey12345

5.0 stars 5/12/2014 by MkeCsey12345
by MkeCsey12345

Great knurling, great balance, tough, beautiful bar.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MkeCsey12345
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best bar for the money
3/25/2014

Customer review by CrossFitgymowner

5.0 stars 3/25/2014 by CrossFitgymowner
by CrossFitgymowner

Black oxide bar, zinc coated ends, bushings and spring clip ends. Nearly zero maintence. Rated for more than I can dead lift. IMO, this is the best bar out there at this price point. Comparable bars like this are $170 and up.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CrossFitgymowner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Bar
5/31/2014

Customer review by Crossfitter2

4.0 stars 5/31/2014 by Crossfitter2
by Crossfitter2

What an absolutely great bar. The knurling is absolutely perfect, not too aggressive, not too weak. Perfect. The bar came in a cardboard tube, and had a couple of dings in it. I blame the shippers, not the manufacturer. The bar had a brown oil covering it, which was easily wiped off and replaced with a lighter gun oil. The bar has a very nice whip to it, collars spin very freely. I love this bar and at 1/3 the cost of another bar I was looking at, there are no complaints. I am very satisfied with the purchase and look forward to getting a second bar.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Crossfitter2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
outstanding quality
4/5/2014

Customer review by jscottburnside

5.0 stars 4/5/2014 by jscottburnside
by jscottburnside

Heavy user, this bar holds up

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jscottburnside
Ocean Spings
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great First Bar
7/5/2014

Customer review by CrossFitGarage

4.0 stars 7/5/2014 by CrossFitGarage
by CrossFitGarage

This is an awesome bar. Knurling is perfect. I bought this bar for doing crossfit in my garage. It is almost perfect. Great balance, just the right amount of whip, spins very well etc. The only drawback I have is that the black bar it is difficult to see the markings in the knurling and the knurling is so light it is hard to feel - even though I do not wear gloves. I still think the knurling is perfect though, just enough to keep the bar from slipping, but no where near too much that it eats your hands, just too light to see the markings. I'm going to buy some chalk and mark the bar with it to help with that aspect. Still a great bar and I am looking forward to buying a couple more so friends can work out with me. I would have given 4 1/2 stars if that was possible.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CrossFitGarage
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great!
2/24/2014

Customer review by Jkcrossfit

5.0 stars 2/24/2014 by Jkcrossfit
by Jkcrossfit

Awesome Olympic barbell at a cheap price

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jkcrossfit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great buy!
10/2/2014

Customer review by dlasnj

5.0 stars 10/2/2014 by dlasnj
by dlasnj

Awsome barbell for the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dlasnj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome bar for the price....
8/25/2014

Customer review by cajunrage

5.0 stars 8/25/2014 by cajunrage
by cajunrage

Can't say enough. This bar is ideal for my power rack and looks good also. It will hold far more than needed. You can't go wrong. I spents months researching bars and this one rocks.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cajunrage
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice bar!
10/19/2014

Customer review by Leeman69

5.0 stars 10/19/2014 by Leeman69
by Leeman69

Bar is perfect for my bench press. The bushings make the bar spin freely. In addition the grip is perfect. Stays planted in your hands but is not overly aggressive.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Leeman69
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The last barbell you'll ever need
9/5/2014

Customer review by krawlpowercleans

5.0 stars 9/5/2014 by krawlpowercleans
by krawlpowercleans

Great sealed ends. Rolls really really nice. Plates go on and off smoothly every time. Probably the last barbell you will ever need in your lifetime.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
krawlpowercleans
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent for the price.
9/25/2014

Customer review by Deadliftter

5.0 stars 9/25/2014 by Deadliftter
by Deadliftter

Bar came assembled. No hex head screws to install/tighten. Bar feels great on squats due to no knurling mid bar.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Deadliftter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great bar for at home Olympic lifting
11/11/2014

Customer review by Hunt23

5.0 stars 11/11/2014 by Hunt23
by Hunt23

Best bargain I could find for a good product. I didn't want to fork out the cash for the rogue Ohio bar- which is a great bar that I have used- but this is almost as great and a heck of a bargain. My first bar was damaged in shipping so I would recommend site to store to keep the delivery man from dropping it off the truck in your driveway.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hunt23
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good bearings
5/9/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 5/9/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The bearings were tight so no loud bang if using bumper plates. The only down fall is its hard to see the knurlings because of the black coating.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice bar
2/25/2014

Customer review by Homehospteach

4.0 stars 2/25/2014 by Homehospteach
by Homehospteach

This is a solid bar. The knurling is a bit aggressive, but If you wear gloves or use sponges you will be fine. It was packed really well and shipped quickly. It weighs right around 44-45lbs. If you train with 300-400 lbs the bar will be just fine.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Homehospteach
Tampa, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews