Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 33 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

33 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

33 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 33 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews
First impressions - Nice bar for the price
9/6/2012

Customer review by Rayden99

4.0 stars 9/6/2012 by Rayden99
by Rayden99

Have been looking for a bar to complete my garage gym. Read several good reviews of this CAP bar (product #OB-86B) and the price was the lowest of all the bars I was considering, plus you cannot beat the free shipping. I am planning on using it for CrossFit workouts at home. Bar arrived today packaged well in a thick cardboard sleeve. Was slight box damage to one end from the shipping, but the bar was flawless. Most cheap bars have a large bolt that often works its way loose holding on the sleeves. This bar is of a higher quality and uses a snap ring to hold the sleeve. The sleeve has deep grooves to keep the plates in place. The sleeves have some spin and may spin more freely once it gets broken in. The knurling feels a bit aggressive and that is why I gave 4 stars instead of 5. It feels a bit sharp in my hands. Maybe after some use I will feel differently. This bar has no center knurling which is good if you are doing exercises like thrusters or cleans, where the center of the bar rests near your neck. Overall an excellent bar for the price.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rayden99
Nor Cal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good deadlift bar
5/18/2014

Customer review by Dfyybhkurschjy

5.0 stars 5/18/2014 by Dfyybhkurschjy
by Dfyybhkurschjy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This bar has what I would say is the perfect amount of knurling. The knurling also travels farther in to the middle than other bars I have. This makes it ideal for sumo deadlifts. You can get a whole had full of knurling rather than just a finger or two. It doesn't tear chunks out of shins and fingers either. I was going to buy a Texas powwrbar, but decided to give the cap 86 pb a try due to cost difference. Very happy I did. I like this bar better than a tpb. The bearings/ bushings what ever is in the end spin well, diameter feels good. For the money they charge you can not beat this bar. Anything I found to be similar walked me up at least 100 dollars. It also works well for benching and rows and overhead pressing. Might be sketchy for squatting due to the fact there is no center knurling. I think good bar placement is the key factor in that though. I would definatley buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dfyybhkurschjy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bent after 3 months of general use.
10/22/2015

Customer review by Diaz

1.0 stars 10/22/2015 by Diaz
by Diaz

Like most people on here I bought the bar for economic purpose. That backfired. After just 3 months of general use the bar bent. I used the bar to perform Crossfit movements but never loaded it with more than 225lb at the time.(just to prevent possible bending) While doing Crossfit related workouts I have hi-temp rogue bumpers and 1 inch thick rubber matts. I never slammed the weights/bar whenever performing cleans/jerks/snatch if I didn't have to. That didn't matter, one day doing normal back squats I noticed a sweet bend in the bar. The bar was a major disappointment and would never purchase again. Do not use this bar for Crossfit/deadlift/squats as the bar will most definitely bend over time. Tensile is not strong enough to endure these type of workouts. Maybe good for bench and any lifts under 250 with no bouncing.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Diaz
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good value for a a barbell
6/8/2013

Customer review by FiveofClubs

5.0 stars 6/8/2013 by FiveofClubs
by FiveofClubs
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was looking for a barbell that was a step above the poorly made bars that come with weight sets. After researching for a good intermediate bar, I found that many people recommend this particular barbell (especially for the price). I can say the quality appears good and it should last me a very long time. Walmart shipping and delivery were top notch as well.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FiveofClubs
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best "Value" bar
9/5/2013

Customer review by mrcright

5.0 stars 9/5/2013 by mrcright
by mrcright

I have been more than happy with this bar. I use it was bumper plates for cross-fit and it hold up to the abuse quite well. The action and feel of the bar isn't as nice as, say a rogue bar, but you can also buy three of these for the price of one of the higher end bars. All in all, the best bar I've used at this price point.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrcright
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great First Bar
7/5/2014

Customer review by CrossFitGarage

4.0 stars 7/5/2014 by CrossFitGarage
by CrossFitGarage

This is an awesome bar. Knurling is perfect. I bought this bar for doing crossfit in my garage. It is almost perfect. Great balance, just the right amount of whip, spins very well etc. The only drawback I have is that the black bar it is difficult to see the markings in the knurling and the knurling is so light it is hard to feel - even though I do not wear gloves. I still think the knurling is perfect though, just enough to keep the bar from slipping, but no where near too much that it eats your hands, just too light to see the markings. I'm going to buy some chalk and mark the bar with it to help with that aspect. Still a great bar and I am looking forward to buying a couple more so friends can work out with me. I would have given 4 1/2 stars if that was possible.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CrossFitGarage
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Bar
5/31/2014

Customer review by Crossfitter2

4.0 stars 5/31/2014 by Crossfitter2
by Crossfitter2

What an absolutely great bar. The knurling is absolutely perfect, not too aggressive, not too weak. Perfect. The bar came in a cardboard tube, and had a couple of dings in it. I blame the shippers, not the manufacturer. The bar had a brown oil covering it, which was easily wiped off and replaced with a lighter gun oil. The bar has a very nice whip to it, collars spin very freely. I love this bar and at 1/3 the cost of another bar I was looking at, there are no complaints. I am very satisfied with the purchase and look forward to getting a second bar.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Crossfitter2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It will bend well under 1000 lbs
11/8/2015

Customer review by Kenn

1.0 stars 11/8/2015 by Kenn
by Kenn

Doing shrugs with 600 lbs put a bow in the bar, if your lifting over 600 get a better bar

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kenn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best bar for the money
3/25/2014

Customer review by CrossFitgymowner

5.0 stars 3/25/2014 by CrossFitgymowner
by CrossFitgymowner
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Black oxide bar, zinc coated ends, bushings and spring clip ends. Nearly zero maintence. Rated for more than I can dead lift. IMO, this is the best bar out there at this price point. Comparable bars like this are $170 and up.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CrossFitgymowner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Strong Bar, Whimpy Knurling
5/3/2014

Customer review by HammerBros

4.0 stars 5/3/2014 by HammerBros
by HammerBros

I have used this bar for just over a month now. I have loaded 800lbs and un-racked and re-racked it. It did NOT permanently bend the bar. The collars spin freely. I have squatted and Deadlifted 400lb+ with no issues. This bar would be a great bar if it had better (more aggressive) knurling. The Knurling on this bar is almost non-existant. I have a hard time finding the rings without visually looking for them. I guess I'm spoiled with the Capps Texas Power and Deadlifing Bars.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HammerBros
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
The good and the ugly
2/6/2015

Customer review by engineer

4.0 stars 2/6/2015 by engineer
by engineer

The good: 1. Grooved sleeves that is safer than smooth sleeves. 2. Snap pin ends which should be better than hex nuts ends. 3. Sleeves in different color than the shaft so that it is easy to see without mirror in front. 4. Well packaged. The ugly: 1. The shaft black coating is very thin. When delivered, there is ready a thin scratch line from the sleeves all the way to the center on one side. 2. No center knurl. Overall it is a good value. I was considering buying an American Barbell's stainless bar but it costs 4 times this bar and does not have grooved sleeves. Overtime, this bar most likely will get rusted (don't expect me to oil it frequently to prevent it getting rusted since it is not healthy and time consuming) but it may take more than 5 years for the bar to become useless and then it will be the time to buy a new, assuming the price does not good up as most sporting goods do. Otherwise I will ask American Barbell whether it has a bar with grooved sleeves at no increased price. However, unless the stainless is 18/10 the stainless bar may get rusted too. Let's see whether someone will make 18/10 stainless bar at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
engineer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great bar!
5/12/2014

Customer review by MkeCsey12345

5.0 stars 5/12/2014 by MkeCsey12345
by MkeCsey12345
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great knurling, great balance, tough, beautiful bar.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MkeCsey12345
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
super bar
9/25/2013

Customer review by jonebgood

4.0 stars 9/25/2013 by jonebgood
by jonebgood
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Got my bar and put it to use right away. Just love the feel of the bar, just the right thickness for benching, great knurling as well . Am considering buying another one exclusively for deadlifting as the bar has lots of weight potential. Training for the WABDL worlds and this bar will be a great asset.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jonebgood
abbotsford B.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
outstanding quality
4/5/2014

Customer review by jscottburnside

5.0 stars 4/5/2014 by jscottburnside
by jscottburnside
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Heavy user, this bar holds up

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jscottburnside
Ocean Spings
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for my home gym
8/24/2015

Customer review by KeepMovin67

5.0 stars 8/24/2015 by KeepMovin67
by KeepMovin67

I've had it for a little over a week, practicing my snatches and cleans with it. Working on my front squat rack as well with it. Haven't loaded it with weights yet bu so far it's great. Rolls smooth and balanced very well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KeepMovin67
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for Price!
8/27/2015

Customer review by JeyRey

5.0 stars 8/27/2015 by JeyRey
by JeyRey

The bar feels solid. It's comfortable. Great beginner bar. I've been doing squats, press, deadlifts etc. So far its doing its job.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JeyRey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great bar for at home Olympic lifting
11/11/2014

Customer review by Hunt23

5.0 stars 11/11/2014 by Hunt23
by Hunt23

Best bargain I could find for a good product. I didn't want to fork out the cash for the rogue Ohio bar- which is a great bar that I have used- but this is almost as great and a heck of a bargain. My first bar was damaged in shipping so I would recommend site to store to keep the delivery man from dropping it off the truck in your driveway.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hunt23
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice bar!
10/19/2014

Customer review by Leeman69

5.0 stars 10/19/2014 by Leeman69
by Leeman69
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bar is perfect for my bench press. The bushings make the bar spin freely. In addition the grip is perfect. Stays planted in your hands but is not overly aggressive.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Leeman69
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome bar for the price....
8/25/2014

Customer review by cajunrage

5.0 stars 8/25/2014 by cajunrage
by cajunrage
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Can't say enough. This bar is ideal for my power rack and looks good also. It will hold far more than needed. You can't go wrong. I spents months researching bars and this one rocks.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cajunrage
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The last barbell you'll ever need
9/5/2014

Customer review by krawlpowercleans

5.0 stars 9/5/2014 by krawlpowercleans
by krawlpowercleans
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great sealed ends. Rolls really really nice. Plates go on and off smoothly every time. Probably the last barbell you will ever need in your lifetime.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
krawlpowercleans
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews