Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 164 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

164 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

164 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
82
4 stars
38
3 stars
4
2 stars
15
1 stars
25
1-20 of 161 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 161 total reviews
1-20 of 161 reviews
Great camera to start out with
9/19/2012

Customer review by Davercks

5.0 stars 9/19/2012 by Davercks
by Davercks

I got this camera to start our with for my photography class after my point and shoot died. I brought it to my teacher to inpsect before I bought it and she was really impressed. The picture quailty is great and the 19 scene modes are really helpful in the sunset pi I uploaded it really does an excellent job of ehacing the colors. The same applies for sport mode I got great pics out of a car moving 60 mph+ in that mode. The flash is great as well as the night scene mode. It also has a manual mode for those who know what they are doing. The only thing is when you use the zoom make sure the lens is clean or pictures can get blurry, and when you reach the full zoom capacity the picture starts to not looks so good but its pretty good. Overall great if your not ready to start with a $300 camera and a great crossover.

Was this review helpful? (265) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Davercks
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great camera
9/5/2012

Customer review by YellowGlitter

5.0 stars 9/5/2012 by YellowGlitter
by YellowGlitter

This is my first bulkier camera and I love it!! It takes gorgeous pictures if you play with the settings. This is not a camera for someone who just wants to take quick pictures of just whatever. This is a good one for someone who enjoys making beautiful pictures.

Was this review helpful? (137) (54)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YellowGlitter
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/30/2013

Customer review by paranormalmom

5.0 stars 5/30/2013 by paranormalmom
by paranormalmom

I absolutely love this camera! I have Parkinson's so the stability feature is great for my shaky hands. Also I run a Paranormal group which relies greatly on our videos and still shots, this camera is perfect. Crystal clear still shots and perfect video. I bought my 15 year old son one and he loves it.

Was this review helpful? (54) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
paranormalmom
Plainfield,Ct.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
DO NOT BUY THIS!!!
2/28/2013

Customer review by bfindley05

1.0 stars 2/28/2013 by bfindley05
by bfindley05

This camera takes horrible pictures!! what a waste of money! ANd GE customer service is just as bad. I've included a picture with a comparison pic using a Canon A3100 camera. Do yourself a BIG favor and do NOT buy this camera!!

Was this review helpful? (31) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bfindley05
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Definitely not what it seems
3/22/2012

Customer review by Xtina31

2.0 stars 3/22/2012 by Xtina31
by Xtina31

Pros: All functions are easy to use. Comes with lens cover Battery compartment locks to stay closed. Cons: Does not include paper Manuel (on disc) Lens cover comes off easily Pictures are blurry, even with focusing they aren't the best. Auto Scene does not detect correct scene when used. High quality, does not produce high quality photos. The 'best' setting does just as good as the 'fine' or 'normal' settings. Macro does not take clear close ups. Screen is very grainy, pictures looks dark. Camera is very noisy. Etc. Overall this camera is horrible. I currently own a Samsung 10.3 megapixel with 4x zoom. I was wanting a better camera to use for my photography. The GE 400 seemed like a great camera, with a lot more than the Samsung. However, even though my Samsung is out of date as far as mp, it is a better camera. It takes so much more clearer photos that are not grainy. I have been in photography for two years now and I will be returning this camera I bought. Definitely not worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (84) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Xtina31
Ballard, WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Camera
4/13/2012

Customer review by Jbaker33

5.0 stars 4/13/2012 by Jbaker33
by Jbaker33

This camera is one of the best i have owned. It takes amazing pictures with features i have always wanted and didn't expect from this camera. it's not just a simple point and shoot and has a manual mode that can do just about anything. I would recommend this camera for any photographer who wants a great camera that is actually affordable.

Was this review helpful? (189) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jbaker33
Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Liked at first. Not anymore.
10/6/2014

Customer review by Areid98

2.0 stars 10/6/2014 by Areid98
by Areid98

When my parents first bought this camera for me, I loved everything about it. The picture quality was so much better than a simple point and shoot camera and there are a lot more available settings to choose from. Then I got in to photography class and discovered that my camera isn't as good as I thought. In aperture priority (a setting on the camera), I was supposed to be able to blur the background. It even says so in the manual. Sadly, it doesn't do it. It has an option for shutter speed and when I try to raise my shutter speed, it darkens my picture immensely. If you are a beginner though, and you just want a camera that is better than a normal point and shoot from kodak, try this one. But I wouldn't recommend it for classes, or serious picture taking.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Areid98
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bad power issues
10/16/2014

Customer review by Boonyrat

2.0 stars 10/16/2014 by Boonyrat
by Boonyrat

Have had this camera for over 6 mo. now and from the beginning I real haven't been happy with it. I thought at 1st it was just a learning curve and I was doing something wrong. But after reading the info many times and practicing with it. it didn't get any better. I finally have come to the conclusion its a power problem, because when I put a fresh set of batteries in the camera the 1st 20 stills and the 1st 15-20 minutes of video is not to bad.But after that is when the pics start to degrade. I have used all the premium brands of batteries and even rechargables with the same results. In the still mode what happens is the pics start to become darker and grainy . In video mode after a few minutes the image becomes wavy and grainy. Then the sound starts breaking up. Like I said I have used all the high dollar brand of batteries with the same results.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Boonyrat
Ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
great for the money
5/18/2012

Customer review by boblongjohn

4.0 stars 5/18/2012 by boblongjohn
by boblongjohn

This is a great camera. It is one of those camera to get the most out of you really need to read the manual it on a disk by the way, which most people refuse to do so they write bad reviews. before I go on got to say the panoramic mode is very cool and easy to use. If your willing to get to know the camera you can have a impressive camera that take great pictures. you have to spend at least 100 dollars more to find a better. If you just want a point and shout type maybe not the first choice if you like lot of built in feature more control this is a great choice. This camera does everything I want it to do.

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
boblongjohn
Madison, tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Love this awesome little camera!
9/25/2012

Customer review by Butterflypix

5.0 stars 9/25/2012 by Butterflypix
by Butterflypix

I am an experienced photographer and have bought many cameras previous to this one. I have worked with everything from a 1955 canon IID2 all the way up to a brand new Nikon digital SLR camera. This camera is one of the best digital cameras I have ever used. It has incredible features that make the camera super easy to use whether you know how to take a great picture or not, and all features can be turned on and off. As long as you read the guide and learn how to properly use the camera it is easy to use. the only problem i had was with the user manual disk, it loaded really slow on my computer.

Was this review helpful? (78) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Butterflypix
Chattaroy, Wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great little camera
10/14/2013

Customer review by Cabreco

5.0 stars 10/14/2013 by Cabreco
by Cabreco

I am an avid photobug. I have ,many cameras both digital & film (Nikons, Hasselblad, etc) I bought this camera for my kid's college class. I really didn't want to spend alot for a camera that he may not really use afterwards. It had plenty of bells & whistles...BUT GE? ANYHOW I was very impressed I bought this at Walmart online ($99# So the proce was perfect. He needed a 10 MP min camera with manual capabilities #ISO F STOP etc) This camera has it all & MORE. With 14 MP it take GREAT pix & fairly smple to use. Of course it has a full auto mode WITH anti shake. Bottom line DON'T FEAR the GE brand name for a camera. THEY GOT IT RIGHT!

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cabreco
hampton roads va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Love this camera!
7/16/2012

Customer review by lovingecamera

5.0 stars 7/16/2012 by lovingecamera
by lovingecamera

I purchased this camera for myself in November, 2011. I was a little worried about the product because of the cost. My first "outing" with it was Thanksgiving and I must say this camera performed beautifully. All of my photos were sharp and the color was fabulous. My second "outing" was Christmas and again, I was delighted with its performance. For all of your Facebook people, it's easy as pie to pull the SD card, insert it into the computer and upload any or all of the photos. (I did change the size of the photo for FB because they are large.) What's more, I uploaded the photos to WalMart's photo center to have them printed. I've owned several cameras that cost more but I must say I am delighted with this one.

Was this review helpful? (21) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovingecamera
Monroe, Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Just purchased.
9/13/2012

Customer review by ItsOKimaDelta

5.0 stars 9/13/2012 by ItsOKimaDelta
by ItsOKimaDelta

Light-weight. Awesome price. Remember to buy memory card; can only take 3 pictures without one. Batteries included will die quickly, purchase rechargeable ones. Cap slides off pretty easily, make sure you're careful when putting up or purchase a case. Great product for beginner.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ItsOKimaDelta
Fairfield, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great camera for a beginner
10/7/2012

Customer review by dano1675

4.0 stars 10/7/2012 by dano1675
by dano1675

I just got this camera like a month and a half ago and always have it on me and they really made this simple. Like the pop up flash button is quick easy to get too. Takes very good & clear photos and videos. If you play the video back on the camera the volume isn't the best but you can hear what you say. When you take a picture it makes alittle noise but it's no big thing as i take pics of deer etc. And it doesn't spook them. So i guess what i'm saying is i'm really enjoying this camera.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dano1675
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Camera for a Great Price
6/14/2015

Customer review by 1jimmyb

5.0 stars 6/14/2015 by 1jimmyb
by 1jimmyb

I recently took it out on an outing and it worked great. Almost every picture came out wonderful. There were a couple of pictures the did not come out to good because it was my fault. I would highly recommend this camera to anyone who is looking for 14MP Digital Camera for under $100. You will have a great time using it and it is easy to learn.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1jimmyb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice Camera...
11/30/2014

Customer review by Sammy3186

3.0 stars 11/30/2014 by Sammy3186
by Sammy3186

This is a nice little camera, it's very user friendly, and has lots of different picture modes to use. However the reason for the three stars is the picture quality in itself. The subject your photographing has to be completely still or the picture will be blurry. Does not take good pictures in low light settings, and I've found I've had to take multiple pictures of something just as a fail safe I'll get a good one. Maybe it's just me and it may work better for you. However most smart consumers research their potential purchases, if that's you I hope this has been helpful.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sammy3186
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Many issues to consider
11/30/2012

Customer review by PhotoMediaMan

2.0 stars 11/30/2012 by PhotoMediaMan
by PhotoMediaMan

I'm an amateur photographer who still has a 12' x 18' Kodak Darkroom in the cellar. I have had many film and digital cameras over the years. This camera was purchased for my Grandson. There were no professional reviews just user reviews so I conducted my own comparison against a Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ35 - a camera with stellar reviews. In summary, these were my major concerns: Image quality on high 15x zoom, lag time focusing, noise at low iso, aberrations on hi-zoom and difficulty focusing on hi-zoom. To me, all that matters in a camera is image quality and not the litany of many functions. The functions are meaningless if the image quality isn't there. And to me, the image quality, noise, and slowness of the camera wasn't sufficient to retain it even for a budding young photographer. I was optimistic that the camera would suffice as the price was reasonable for a youngster. In summary, I didn't agree with image quality that others felt was there when compared to images taken with another camera. I feared my Grandson would have been frustrated and lose his interest in the hobby so I returned the camera and decided to buy a used FZ35.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PhotoMediaMan
Central New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Totally Disappointed
10/9/2013

Customer review by couldjustcry

1.0 stars 10/9/2013 by couldjustcry
by couldjustcry

The camera is beautiful, but it's quality is pathetic. I was disappointed from the first time I used it because the pictures would turn out blurry. So, I called customer service and found out that I needed to program my memory card to the camera! Yep, it took only about 10 steps and 25 minutes on the phone. When I got off the phone, it took clear pictures only until I unloaded the card and started over. Who has time to program the memory card every time you clear the card. Then, when I would set the "self-timer" and jump into the view, I would be the one that was ALWAYS blurry. Never could I trust the pictures to turn out so I was constantly taking multiple views in hopes to get one good one. Finally, the stress was not worth it, so I called to see if I could get a refund only to find out that they do not give refunds. Imagine that. I sent the camera back and told them to just keep it. They said it had been checked out and was fine, BUT they offered to send me a new one to replace it. Needless to say, I have my own opinion about that one.....no refund, but they will send me a new one? I told them I would not even give a new one away to someone and I would not recommend them to anyone. So, now they have the camera and I wasted $130!

Was this review helpful? (24) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
couldjustcry
Newark, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Worst camera ever
4/7/2015

Customer review by Duckie

1.0 stars 4/7/2015 by Duckie
by Duckie

I purchased this camera after my sister recommended it to me. I had the worst luck. Right from the start it drained batteries faster than a vampire drains a victom. After owning it just over a month it stopped working. I would turn it on and it would shut down instantly. Of course since I didn't pay for the extra warrenty, the store I purchased it from would do nothing. I shouldn't have to pay $50+ extra to make sure the product works longer than 30 days. I did not purchase it from WalMart, my bad. Either way. I would strongly recommend you stear clear of this camera. Stick with Nikkon, Cannon, Pentax or even Kodiak over GE... This camera is the biggest waste of money.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Duckie
Would recommend to a friend? No
It is being returned to the store
2/27/2013

Customer review by Juzkins

1.0 stars 2/27/2013 by Juzkins
by Juzkins

The relationship started out nice and I was enjoying the cool features of this camera. It was short lived. Why? Because the freshly charged batteries wore out after 10 pictures. I was still willing to stock up on batteries and be ready for it. Then things got worse. Pictures were blurry, even with the use of a tripod. And the clincher of the relationship was when I saw the video it took. Major disaster on that task. Videos froze up and was garbled. End of story. I think I will go back to Sony. Don't waste your money on the attractive price, you will make it up in gas when you take the camera back to the store.

Was this review helpful? (22) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Juzkins
Finger Lakes NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 161 total reviews
1-20 of 161 reviews