Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 159 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

159 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

159 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
81
4 stars
36
3 stars
4
2 stars
14
1 stars
24
1-20 of 156 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 156 total reviews
1-20 of 156 reviews
Great camera to start out with
9/19/2012

Customer review by Davercks

5.0 stars 9/19/2012 by Davercks
by Davercks

I got this camera to start our with for my photography class after my point and shoot died. I brought it to my teacher to inpsect before I bought it and she was really impressed. The picture quailty is great and the 19 scene modes are really helpful in the sunset pi I uploaded it really does an excellent job of ehacing the colors. The same applies for sport mode I got great pics out of a car moving 60 mph+ in that mode. The flash is great as well as the night scene mode. It also has a manual mode for those who know what they are doing. The only thing is when you use the zoom make sure the lens is clean or pictures can get blurry, and when you reach the full zoom capacity the picture starts to not looks so good but its pretty good. Overall great if your not ready to start with a $300 camera and a great crossover.

Was this review helpful? (265) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Davercks
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Camera
4/13/2012

Customer review by Jbaker33

5.0 stars 4/13/2012 by Jbaker33
by Jbaker33

This camera is one of the best i have owned. It takes amazing pictures with features i have always wanted and didn't expect from this camera. it's not just a simple point and shoot and has a manual mode that can do just about anything. I would recommend this camera for any photographer who wants a great camera that is actually affordable.

Was this review helpful? (189) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jbaker33
Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love this awesome little camera!
9/25/2012

Customer review by Butterflypix

5.0 stars 9/25/2012 by Butterflypix
by Butterflypix

I am an experienced photographer and have bought many cameras previous to this one. I have worked with everything from a 1955 canon IID2 all the way up to a brand new Nikon digital SLR camera. This camera is one of the best digital cameras I have ever used. It has incredible features that make the camera super easy to use whether you know how to take a great picture or not, and all features can be turned on and off. As long as you read the guide and learn how to properly use the camera it is easy to use. the only problem i had was with the user manual disk, it loaded really slow on my computer.

Was this review helpful? (77) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Butterflypix
Chattaroy, Wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great camera
9/5/2012

Customer review by YellowGlitter

5.0 stars 9/5/2012 by YellowGlitter
by YellowGlitter

This is my first bulkier camera and I love it!! It takes gorgeous pictures if you play with the settings. This is not a camera for someone who just wants to take quick pictures of just whatever. This is a good one for someone who enjoys making beautiful pictures.

Was this review helpful? (137) (53)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YellowGlitter
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/30/2013

Customer review by paranormalmom

5.0 stars 5/30/2013 by paranormalmom
by paranormalmom

I absolutely love this camera! I have Parkinson's so the stability feature is great for my shaky hands. Also I run a Paranormal group which relies greatly on our videos and still shots, this camera is perfect. Crystal clear still shots and perfect video. I bought my 15 year old son one and he loves it.

Was this review helpful? (54) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
paranormalmom
Plainfield,Ct.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very Good Value For Price
7/18/2012

Customer review by JBW2009

4.0 stars 7/18/2012 by JBW2009
by JBW2009

I needed a camera ASAP for a weekend trip and checked around the internet to see what was available. The GE X500 digital camera with all of its features looked like it would be more than adequate, so I printed the manual off with the intentions of buying the camera the next morning- which was the start of the trip. Unfortunately, no GE X500s were available at the local Walmart, so I bought the GE X400 instead. (I had not read anything about the GE X400 the night before). The sales person helped set it up ready for action with batteries, memory, strap and case, and I was out the door for $173.71. (AA batteries and strap came with it. The user manual is on CDROM). That evening, I read the X500 manual to try to figure out the primary functions of the X400. (This was my first new camera since my late 1960's 35mm SLR#. I had concerns about the negative reviews for the GE X500-- where some people complained about blurred photos. However, since my photos would be of vintage race cars, I figured out a couple of settings to experiment with next day. I understood that the elapsed time for photos would be longer with this camera-- something like .7 seconds for the shutter-- so I knew I could not just snap off photos without using some kind of support for the camera. The next day I used the camera to take many photos-- all outdoors. Sometimes I would take the same shot using different settings just so I might get one good one out of the batch. It was bright sunlight for almost all of the shots, but some of the photos were under the shade of awnings or tents. Because of the bright sunlight, sometimes I could not see all of the subject in the LCD screen. This seemed to occur for long distance shots. However, for photos of a vehicle where the target filled the entire LCD screen, there were no problems in viewing the subject. Even with only the basic information for a similar GE camera, the operation of the GE X400 seemed easy to understand and execute. The zoom lens made it easy to take a photo of a vehicle further down on the other side of the staging lane or of the vehicle immediately in front of you. Again I had concerns of the quality of the photos, since there were negative comments on the GE X500 about the sharpness of the photos at full zoom. #I did not have the time to check the results of each photo in the LCD screen#. After my arrival back at my home, my first task was to use the CDROM to print a copy of the GE X400 User Manual and download the ArcSoft MediaImpression software onto my PC. Once that was done, I would be able to copy the photo images from the camera to my #primary# Windows Vista personal computer using a USB port. It was easy to print off a copy of the User Manual, but it was absolutely impossible to download the Arcsoft software. After trying numerous drives and techniques, selecting the "Install ArcSoft MediaImpression" button would not invoke any type of response. After successfully installing the CDROM's ArcSoft on my backup Windows XP personal computer, I recognized that there was a problem with the installation code for Windows Vista #only#. I suppose the software installation would work okay for Windows 7 or 8, but not on Vista. #Note: I reported this problem to GE Customer Service, but have not received a response yet#. Using my old XP PC, I was finally able to copy in all of the photos I took the day before at the race track. EVERY PHOTO WAS SHARP AND CLEAR. There were no blurry photos and I was real pleased with everything that was attempted. Now that I am armed with the GE X400 User Guide and a little time to experiment, I think all of the other features will be a bonus. Do I have any complaints? Yes. Besides the problem with the installation of the ArcSoft software on the Windows Vista PC, it sure would be nice to have basic instructions on how to use the ArcSoft MediaImpression software that comes with the camera. I find myself poking around the dark trying to understand how some of the software functions work. I was hoping I would find a copy of the Arcsoft MediaImpression User Manual on the internet, but the only thing I found was for a Kodak camera. I suppose I could buy the full retail ArcSoft product for $79.99 and download it, but all of the support items for the software should be provided with the GE camera. Bottom line: The camera's functions and performance are worth the price, in my opinion. I am just scratching the surface of its capabilities and after I gain a little experience with the camera #and software#, this should be one of the better bargains I have come across.

Was this review helpful? (46) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JBW2009
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Definitely not what it seems
3/22/2012

Customer review by Xtina31

2.0 stars 3/22/2012 by Xtina31
by Xtina31

Pros: All functions are easy to use. Comes with lens cover Battery compartment locks to stay closed. Cons: Does not include paper Manuel (on disc) Lens cover comes off easily Pictures are blurry, even with focusing they aren't the best. Auto Scene does not detect correct scene when used. High quality, does not produce high quality photos. The 'best' setting does just as good as the 'fine' or 'normal' settings. Macro does not take clear close ups. Screen is very grainy, pictures looks dark. Camera is very noisy. Etc. Overall this camera is horrible. I currently own a Samsung 10.3 megapixel with 4x zoom. I was wanting a better camera to use for my photography. The GE 400 seemed like a great camera, with a lot more than the Samsung. However, even though my Samsung is out of date as far as mp, it is a better camera. It takes so much more clearer photos that are not grainy. I have been in photography for two years now and I will be returning this camera I bought. Definitely not worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (82) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Xtina31
Ballard, WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great for the money
5/18/2012

Customer review by boblongjohn

4.0 stars 5/18/2012 by boblongjohn
by boblongjohn

This is a great camera. It is one of those camera to get the most out of you really need to read the manual it on a disk by the way, which most people refuse to do so they write bad reviews. before I go on got to say the panoramic mode is very cool and easy to use. If your willing to get to know the camera you can have a impressive camera that take great pictures. you have to spend at least 100 dollars more to find a better. If you just want a point and shout type maybe not the first choice if you like lot of built in feature more control this is a great choice. This camera does everything I want it to do.

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
boblongjohn
Madison, tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Great little camera
10/14/2013

Customer review by Cabreco

5.0 stars 10/14/2013 by Cabreco
by Cabreco

I am an avid photobug. I have ,many cameras both digital & film (Nikons, Hasselblad, etc) I bought this camera for my kid's college class. I really didn't want to spend alot for a camera that he may not really use afterwards. It had plenty of bells & whistles...BUT GE? ANYHOW I was very impressed I bought this at Walmart online ($99# So the proce was perfect. He needed a 10 MP min camera with manual capabilities #ISO F STOP etc) This camera has it all & MORE. With 14 MP it take GREAT pix & fairly smple to use. Of course it has a full auto mode WITH anti shake. Bottom line DON'T FEAR the GE brand name for a camera. THEY GOT IT RIGHT!

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cabreco
hampton roads va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Love this camera!
7/16/2012

Customer review by lovingecamera

5.0 stars 7/16/2012 by lovingecamera
by lovingecamera

I purchased this camera for myself in November, 2011. I was a little worried about the product because of the cost. My first "outing" with it was Thanksgiving and I must say this camera performed beautifully. All of my photos were sharp and the color was fabulous. My second "outing" was Christmas and again, I was delighted with its performance. For all of your Facebook people, it's easy as pie to pull the SD card, insert it into the computer and upload any or all of the photos. (I did change the size of the photo for FB because they are large.) What's more, I uploaded the photos to WalMart's photo center to have them printed. I've owned several cameras that cost more but I must say I am delighted with this one.

Was this review helpful? (20) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovingecamera
Monroe, Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
WORST camera I have ever owned!!
9/19/2014

Customer review by Loretta13

1.0 stars 9/19/2014 by Loretta13
by Loretta13

Takes poor pictures no matter what mode you are using. I went to a camera class & the teacher even had trouble with the camera. Would not recommend for a beginner or anybody for that matter. Battery life is very poor. Constantly reloading batteries. Threw my $ away on this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (24) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Loretta13
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
nice
4/4/2012

Customer review by pumpkinmarion

4.0 stars 4/4/2012 by pumpkinmarion
by pumpkinmarion

Great camara my daughter loves it, only wish it would have came with memory card included!!! Good price!

Was this review helpful? (19) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pumpkinmarion
va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
It is being returned to the store
2/27/2013

Customer review by Juzkins

1.0 stars 2/27/2013 by Juzkins
by Juzkins

The relationship started out nice and I was enjoying the cool features of this camera. It was short lived. Why? Because the freshly charged batteries wore out after 10 pictures. I was still willing to stock up on batteries and be ready for it. Then things got worse. Pictures were blurry, even with the use of a tripod. And the clincher of the relationship was when I saw the video it took. Major disaster on that task. Videos froze up and was garbled. End of story. I think I will go back to Sony. Don't waste your money on the attractive price, you will make it up in gas when you take the camera back to the store.

Was this review helpful? (21) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Juzkins
Finger Lakes NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/22/2012

Customer review by oma963

5.0 stars 3/22/2012 by oma963
by oma963

love this camer. easy to use . takes the best pictures.

Was this review helpful? (23) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oma963
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Totally Disappointed
10/9/2013

Customer review by couldjustcry

1.0 stars 10/9/2013 by couldjustcry
by couldjustcry

The camera is beautiful, but it's quality is pathetic. I was disappointed from the first time I used it because the pictures would turn out blurry. So, I called customer service and found out that I needed to program my memory card to the camera! Yep, it took only about 10 steps and 25 minutes on the phone. When I got off the phone, it took clear pictures only until I unloaded the card and started over. Who has time to program the memory card every time you clear the card. Then, when I would set the "self-timer" and jump into the view, I would be the one that was ALWAYS blurry. Never could I trust the pictures to turn out so I was constantly taking multiple views in hopes to get one good one. Finally, the stress was not worth it, so I called to see if I could get a refund only to find out that they do not give refunds. Imagine that. I sent the camera back and told them to just keep it. They said it had been checked out and was fine, BUT they offered to send me a new one to replace it. Needless to say, I have my own opinion about that one.....no refund, but they will send me a new one? I told them I would not even give a new one away to someone and I would not recommend them to anyone. So, now they have the camera and I wasted $130!

Was this review helpful? (23) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
couldjustcry
Newark, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great camera for a beginner
10/7/2012

Customer review by dano1675

4.0 stars 10/7/2012 by dano1675
by dano1675

I just got this camera like a month and a half ago and always have it on me and they really made this simple. Like the pop up flash button is quick easy to get too. Takes very good & clear photos and videos. If you play the video back on the camera the volume isn't the best but you can hear what you say. When you take a picture it makes alittle noise but it's no big thing as i take pics of deer etc. And it doesn't spook them. So i guess what i'm saying is i'm really enjoying this camera.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dano1675
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Liked at first. Not anymore.
10/6/2014

Customer review by Areid98

2.0 stars 10/6/2014 by Areid98
by Areid98

When my parents first bought this camera for me, I loved everything about it. The picture quality was so much better than a simple point and shoot camera and there are a lot more available settings to choose from. Then I got in to photography class and discovered that my camera isn't as good as I thought. In aperture priority (a setting on the camera), I was supposed to be able to blur the background. It even says so in the manual. Sadly, it doesn't do it. It has an option for shutter speed and when I try to raise my shutter speed, it darkens my picture immensely. If you are a beginner though, and you just want a camera that is better than a normal point and shoot from kodak, try this one. But I wouldn't recommend it for classes, or serious picture taking.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Areid98
Would recommend to a friend? No
takes rotten pictures
10/4/2014

Customer review by robtde

1.0 stars 10/4/2014 by robtde
by robtde

I bought this camera, it is easy to use but the quality of the picture is awful, I had several cameras in the past so I know how to take pictures but this camera I do not recommend even for a beginner!!!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
robtde
Would recommend to a friend? No
Just purchased.
9/13/2012

Customer review by ItsOKimaDelta

5.0 stars 9/13/2012 by ItsOKimaDelta
by ItsOKimaDelta

Light-weight. Awesome price. Remember to buy memory card; can only take 3 pictures without one. Batteries included will die quickly, purchase rechargeable ones. Cap slides off pretty easily, make sure you're careful when putting up or purchase a case. Great product for beginner.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ItsOKimaDelta
Fairfield, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
DO NOT BUY THIS!!!
2/28/2013

Customer review by bfindley05

1.0 stars 2/28/2013 by bfindley05
by bfindley05

This camera takes horrible pictures!! what a waste of money! ANd GE customer service is just as bad. I've included a picture with a comparison pic using a Canon A3100 camera. Do yourself a BIG favor and do NOT buy this camera!!

Was this review helpful? (30) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bfindley05
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 156 total reviews
1-20 of 156 reviews