Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 16 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

16 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

16 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-13 of 13 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Good value
5/31/2012

Customer review by AuntLuc

5.0 stars 5/31/2012 by AuntLuc
by AuntLuc

I have used this repeatedly over the past month. I have recommended it to one of my relatives. A few things that a newbie needs to know: 1. Use the function to reduce the sound of wind. 2. Definately remember to use the Menu to select the HD setting (UXP) 3. Be prepared to either charge or have a spare battery. 4. You will need am ecternal flash or a light to use in the dark. The auto-zoon mic is an improvement over the JVC GZMN30BUS, but not as good as having an external mic as with more expensive cameras. I have used it for over a month without any kind of software malfunction, which had been a problem with my Kodak.

Was this review helpful? (65) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AuntLuc
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A simple camcorder that does its job well.
6/6/2012

Customer review by camman16

4.0 stars 6/6/2012 by camman16
by camman16

This was an awesome camcorder for the money that was paid. But looking here on the website to take a look at the camcorder was a bit confusing. First of all, the picture on this page of the JVC camcorder is not the actual camcorder, or at least that's what I get on my screen. The picture I see is actually the GZE200 JVC camcorder, not the GZHM40. That might not be the case for you, but keep that in mind. This camcorder does record at 1080p, which the camcorder shows as being called "UXP". I stay at the "XP" setting, which is probably the 720p. It records video nicely and sharply, but one thing that disappointed me was that I can't seem to take actual photos or "stills" with this. Other models had a round button on the top that takes the photos, but on my model, the only thing it does is switch from manual settings to I.Auto, or "Intelligent Auto". Also the battery, as mentioned in other reviews, isn't that nice. It stays alive for around 40 minutes, so I would recommend getting spare batteries.But on the nice side, it does well in low light, and even has "time-lapse"! Its audio is crisp and clear, and its video preforms great. But just keep money for getting an extra battery, and since a memory card is not included in the package, store some change for that too. So, overall, I'm really pleased. The camcorder did what it said it would, and while I'm not a fan of the included software, I still think it works nicely as well.

Was this review helpful? (52) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
camman16
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love it
5/14/2012

Customer review by pwmjr

5.0 stars 5/14/2012 by pwmjr
by pwmjr

Not for the professional, but great if you want really good videos. Great zoom, but consider an extra battery.

Was this review helpful? (34) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pwmjr
Colliers WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
5/26/2012

Customer review by Gracejgirl

5.0 stars 5/26/2012 by Gracejgirl
by Gracejgirl

This is a wonderful camcorder really good for taking pics and does not break when u drop it a bunch of times trust me i know ive done droped my alot zoom is really good hope if u get it u like it

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gracejgirl
new york city , NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Camera! Too Good?
6/13/2012

Customer review by Nick18909

5.0 stars 6/13/2012 by Nick18909
by Nick18909

I got this to make a summer film. I wanted something high quality. It is actually too high quality for the free Windows Live Movie Maker. I had to buy the new program because it took way too long to render. I highly recomend this to someone that has some experience before you just play around with it. The only reason i said meets expectations 4/5 is it is really small, it does fit in the palm of your hands, but I bought a big tripod, so it looks a little funny with a giant tripod with such a small camera on top. Durable too, it took a 4 foot drop onto pavement on my driveway and has no problems.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nick18909
Albuquerquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Liked the camera, but did not like the software
8/15/2012

Customer review by BRIANofVA

3.0 stars 8/15/2012 by BRIANofVA
by BRIANofVA

1) quality of the recordings was excellent in normal conditions and pretty good in low light. 2) the battery that comes with it only lasts 40 mins at best. go to jvc.com for additional batts 3) it is very compact and my hand was actually too big to comfortably hold the camera and press the record button on the back 4) in full 1080 quality (UXP) you can transfer the clips to a computer for playback BUT you cannot add UXP clips to a movie. the provided software converts the UXP clips to XP quality. 5) the provided software (which is loaded on the camera) is proprietary by EVERIO and is the only software you can use to edit clips or compile clips into a movie due to the file format the clips are saved in. i tried using windows movie maker and it attempts to convert the file format, but to convert a 2 min clip... 45 mins had passed and it still wasnt halfway done. 6) i returned the camera after 4 days of testing it mainly because of the software/file ext issues. I contacted JVC and EVERIO multiple times to no avail. if you dont care about the software then this could be an ideal camera for you!

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BRIANofVA
Va Beach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GOOD QUALITY!!!
6/13/2012

Customer review by SeattleRulez

5.0 stars 6/13/2012 by SeattleRulez
by SeattleRulez

I may be a SONY fan, but JVC has outdone themselves with this camcorder. It may be one of the cheapest HD camcorders around, but it proves its great value through easy use, High Definition Quality, and many features. I love it and I recommend it to people who want great quality video for a great price (compared to most camcorders under $200).

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SeattleRulez
Leesburg,OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very affordable but get the touchscreen camera
12/19/2012

Customer review by polikuj

3.0 stars 12/19/2012 by polikuj
by polikuj

I didn't realize this was not a touchscreen camera. You have to keep looking at the inside panel to change controls WHILE you are recording. It was not convenient. Also this camera does not take still photos and I though it did. I returned it and bought the VHC with the touch screen and camera which also included a camera case----for the same price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
polikuj
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product for the money.
3/2/2013

Customer review by 1956model

4.0 stars 3/2/2013 by 1956model
by 1956model

It takes great videos. The videos look so real on a high def tv.Colors are true to life and the zoom is awsome.The only thing that i didnt like is the battery life is terrible.Bout 30-40 min recording time. i think i will get a larger capacity battery.Battery life is why i only gave it 4 stars.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1956model
Katy,Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Its good for regular takings!
12/21/2012

Customer review by Jackoli

3.0 stars 12/21/2012 by Jackoli
by Jackoli

I bought mine but to shoot testimonial videos for t.v. but image was too poor, even though it said it was HD 1080, so I exchange it for a Sony, with a better sharper image. Yet, the price is reasonable and good for outside or home videos.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jackoli
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
nice detail high def, good software editing
7/23/2012

Customer review by lumberman

4.0 stars 7/23/2012 by lumberman
by lumberman

high def...nice

Was this review helpful? (1) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lumberman
otsego,MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Great camera and easy to use
1/5/2013

Customer review by Su25

5.0 stars 1/5/2013 by Su25
by Su25

Great quality for that price

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Su25
Fenton, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Simple, easy to use, batter life poor
3/5/2013

Customer review by Snortle

3.0 stars 3/5/2013 by Snortle
by Snortle

Nice Camcorder, simple to use, straight foreward interface. Many useful features such as time-lapse and motion detection. The battery life is about 50-60 minutes with the OEM battery. Plan on getting a spare battery. Battery charges in about 2.0 hours.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Snortle
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.