Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 21 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

21 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

21 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

57%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
9
1-18 of 18 total reviews
57%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

This works well
4/30/2012

Customer review by Sharpiedog

5.0 stars 4/30/2012 by Sharpiedog
by Sharpiedog

I don't understand why the others get no results with this product. I use it and get the same results as the other brand (in the orange package). my pool is 22,000 gallons and I use 2-3 bags per add and always get expected results.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sharpiedog
North Georgia Mountains
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
Don't ruin your pool!!!
7/26/2012

Customer review by grebel

1.0 stars 7/26/2012 by grebel
by grebel

we usually buy the other brand in the orange box, but decided to get this because it was cheaper. My husband learned from a friend to put your desired amount of the bag into a 5 gallon bucket, stir it, and then dump it into the pool. We tried it with this brand, and it wouldn't dissolve. It bleached out the bottom of my pool. With the other brand, this procedure worked perfectly. I tried this brand again, waiting until the water in the hose got hot, to see if it would dissolve faster. No such luck. I left it in the 5 gallon bucket, poured boiling water into the mix, and it still took about 2 hours to dissolve. The product may be cheaper, but not when you have to replace your pool/liner, because the shock destroyed it! Stick with the stuff in the orange box. We've never had problems with it. I plan on calling pool essentials and let them know

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grebel
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
To All With Algae (Green) Pool
5/31/2012

Customer review by PoolOwnerInJax

5.0 stars 5/31/2012 by PoolOwnerInJax
by PoolOwnerInJax

This product WILL NOT kill the algae in the pool which is usually the cause of a green pool. The Shock Xtra Blue in the orange box at Walmart does. This product is equivalent to the Shock Plus in the orange box. This is the maintenance shock. It will work just as well as Shock Plus; a maintenance shock.

Was this review helpful? (37) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PoolOwnerInJax
Jacksonville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
5/16/2012

Customer review by Jamie06

5.0 stars 5/16/2012 by Jamie06
by Jamie06

Our pool was just starting to get slimy, and I bought this product because it was cheaper and it worked very well! Just 2 hours after I used it my pool was crystal clear! I will totally continue to use this!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jamie06
Aynor, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
DON'T BUY THIS GARBAGE!!!!!!
7/14/2012

Customer review by misterroy

1.0 stars 7/14/2012 by misterroy
by misterroy

I was trying to save a buck and bought this instead of the orange bag.HUGE MISTAKE!!!!! This stuff will not dissolve in water no matter how much you stir.It sticks to your liner after a couple days and will not come off.I hope this stuff is taken off the shelves because it is total trash.I gave a friend a bag of this before I used it myself and it ruined their liner as well.As far as I'm concerned,this company owes at least 2 people new pool liners.It's a shame I couldn't give less than 1 star because it deserves much less.Only use this product if you want to ruin your pool.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
misterroy
barnwell,south carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
STAINS LINERS WHITE.....
7/10/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 7/10/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I am totally mad.....It stained my pool liner WHITE.....It costs $1600 for a new liner.....Don't buy this JUNK!.....DO NOT USE!!!! There is too much of some chemical in this brand shock, that is causing it to have this affect on the pool liners.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Commerce, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
****WARNING**** Do Not Use!
7/6/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 7/6/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Bought this product, and it turned my liner white, which was blue to begin with, and in addition to turning it white, also shrunk it....Hoping my liner lasts thru the summer, but do not for see being able to use it next year. Have talked to several other people this year, who also purchased this product and it did the same thing to their pool liners as well. DO NOT USE!!!! There is too much of some chemical in this brand shock, that is causing it to have this affect on the pool liners.

Was this review helpful? (10) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
manchester, ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Does not work as well as other comparable products
4/15/2012

Customer review by Houstonian77

1.0 stars 4/15/2012 by Houstonian77
by Houstonian77

I agree with the previous reviewer. This product does not work. I tried all 5 pounds in my inground 25000 gal pool and did not get any appreciable results. After I switched to HTH shock, the results were much better. It is the cheapest shock but ineffective. I would neither buy this product nor recommend it to anyone in the future.

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Houstonian77
Would recommend to a friend? No
9/4/2012

Customer review by chrisfandb

5.0 stars 9/4/2012 by chrisfandb
by chrisfandb

i use and it always works on my pool. previous reviews said that it does not dissolve when mixing. If you read the directions. It specifically says do not mix add directly to pool. Great product. I had a black pool with tad poles in it put 2 boxes of this stuff in my pool and 2 days later it is crystal clear.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chrisfandb
sarasota fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
does not work !!!
6/29/2012

Customer review by donna001

1.0 stars 6/29/2012 by donna001
by donna001

Put one bag in pool (under 10000 gal.) with 2 chlorine tabs checked 24 hrs. later no chlorine reading on test .Added another bag, 12 hrs. later no chlorine reading.Poured a teaspoon directly into test kit, turned only a very pale yellow.do not buy!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
donna001
Homosassa,Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Don't waste your money!
4/13/2012

Customer review by dband3

1.0 stars 4/13/2012 by dband3
by dband3

Please don't buy this product. I thought I would save a little by trying Walmart's brand but it actually made my pool worse. I have not been able to get rid of the algae even after using all 5 bags. It does not work!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dband3
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
cheaper and works great!
6/27/2012

Customer review by cutie828

5.0 stars 6/27/2012 by cutie828
by cutie828

my green pool was crystal clear in 2 days! if your pool gets a lot of direct sunlight, (or you live in the south and get easily 100 degree heat every day) you have to add stabilizer

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cutie828
st bernard, la
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Very bad product
6/12/2012

Customer review by PoolRon

1.0 stars 6/12/2012 by PoolRon
by PoolRon

I have used the all 5 lbs. in a 4 days span and it did not clear my water, and my pool turned green. Cheap is Cheap. I would not buy it again, and definitely would not recommend it to others.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PoolRon
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works well
6/13/2012

Customer review by Jdamcalister

5.0 stars 6/13/2012 by Jdamcalister
by Jdamcalister

This product cleared the green water in my pool in minutes. Can't be beat for the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jdamcalister
Shawnee, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Awesome Product
6/17/2013

Customer review by prdmommy11

5.0 stars 6/17/2013 by prdmommy11
by prdmommy11

I used this product on my pool, with no negative results. The product did not stain my liner-which was brand new. The chlorine levels were higher than the HP pool products and also cheaper. I am very careful with the chlorine levels in my pool and using the Pool Essentials Pool Products was a cheaper more effective way of cleaning and maintaining my water.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
prdmommy11
Claremore OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
It clears out the growth of algae quickly
4/16/2013

Customer review by BlueCritic

5.0 stars 4/16/2013 by BlueCritic
by BlueCritic

I love the product. I have a 30k gallon pool and 2 bags can clean out the mild green in 1 day. My problem is finding it in the stores. The internet says they have it. I get there and there isn't even a place for it. You can't buy it online so how can I get it???

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlueCritic
plano
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
love
6/21/2013

Customer review by izmini

5.0 stars 6/21/2013 by izmini
by izmini

If you never want to have pool problems this is it... DO NOT poor into the pool itself but instead pour it into your skimmer basket and you will love it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
izmini
Massapequa, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
STAINS LINERS WHITE AND MESSED IT UP....
7/1/2013

Customer review by Itsrach2013

1.0 stars 7/1/2013 by Itsrach2013
by Itsrach2013

I hate this pool shock i only will buy the name brand from now on! It messed up my Summer Ecapes pool floor last year.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Itsrach2013
Tn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year