Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1485 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1485 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1485 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
825
4 stars
403
3 stars
75
2 stars
50
1 stars
132
1-20 of 1217 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1217 total reviews
1-20 of 1217 reviews
So far, so good...
12/12/2012

Customer review by Tessy82000

4.0 stars 12/12/2012 by Tessy82000
by Tessy82000
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have had this TV for barley 2 weeks. I ordered it on cyber Monday 2012 for $498 + 3 yr warranty included, and it arrived on Wednesday 2 days later, which is pretty impressive. So far, picture clarity, sound and everything else is on point with no problems. I upgraded from a 29 inch RCA tru-flat "tube" TV that I have had for 8 years. I am pretty much using this TV as I did my RCA esp. since I am still within my 90 day Walmart return period. The only thing that makes me weary about this TV is its longevity. My previous TV lasted for 8 years and quite frankly is still going strong. With this TV being new on the market, it is rather impossible to know how long its capable of lasting or not blowing something. I am a regular girl with no flare for the latest technology or electronic. I feel with or without the latest TV, I will still live. Anyway, I bought this as a birthday present for myself, in addition to getting straight A's in college this semester. I thought I would indulge...besides, I deserve it. I can only pray this TV will last....

Was this review helpful? (161) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tessy82000
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing Television!!!
12/25/2012

Customer review by YondaBoy1

5.0 stars 12/25/2012 by YondaBoy1
by YondaBoy1

For me, this has been an exceptional television. For the price I paid, I couldn't have found a better deal. This television comes from a manufacturer that I hadn't heard of, but I couldn't be happier. The TV has a great picture, decent sound, and all the bells and whistles I was looking for. It's not a wifi enabled smart tv, but that's not to be expected for a 50" television at this price... I think this is a great television with plenty of hdmi ports, a swivel tv stand, and a well deserved 5 star rating from me!!!

Was this review helpful? (122) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YondaBoy1
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent TV. Very pleased with my purchase.
11/22/2013

Customer review by tyrranus

5.0 stars 11/22/2013 by tyrranus
by tyrranus
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This TV arrived at my door in perfect condition. It comes with the stand (as they all should), the remote, a screen cleaner, batteries, the screws for the stand, and it even included a Phillips screwdriver. I use it for my Xbox 360, and the graphics are awesome. Plenty of ports to connect to. I purchased the 3 year warranty, so with tax, shipping (which was only about $3.00), and the tv I spent around $450.00. I consider that an amazing deal. Most used tvs that size start at $500 plus shipping. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (97) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tyrranus
san francisco, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Value for a 50inch TV
9/15/2013

Customer review by Bobby1121

5.0 stars 9/15/2013 by Bobby1121
by Bobby1121
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought the 50 inch to replace the 32 that I got last Christmas, it's my Patio TV for outdoor entertainment and poolside viewing, the picture quality is excellent, all my guests comment on what a great picture it is!! And when 8 tell them how much I paid for it they run for the computer or mobile device to order one!! A great TV for the price!!!

Was this review helpful? (151) (54)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bobby1121
Copperas Cove, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I just love it..
12/10/2013

Customer review by Syeeda

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by Syeeda
by Syeeda
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I would definitely recommend this tv to everyone. I just got it last week and it was like love at first sight. I was a bit concerned about the company but after watching the results I m satisfied. The picture quality is excellent.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Syeeda
Cape Girardeau, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Totally Awesome TV!
5/27/2012

Customer review by Electrodude1

5.0 stars 5/27/2012 by Electrodude1
by Electrodude1
Top 500 contributor

I was a tad skeptical before purchasing this TV, Sceptre isn't a well known name. But I bought it anyway because at that price and with the plethora of features, it was looking real good!, It was delivered in two days. When I lifted this thing out of the box, it looked enormous!, I was shocked on how big a 50" TV can be! I hooked this baby up and tossed on an HD channel! The picture is so clear I can see ingrown hairs on peoples faces, and i can see razor burn on faces too! This TV has surpassed my expectations, I am in love with it! Quite Frankly, if it were legal I would Marry this TV today! For $499.99, this TV cannot be beat. The same TV with the same features made by let's say Sony, will cost you well over $2000.00, I did good, I did real good with this buy! I recommend this TV to anyone who does not want to waste money, you can have your cake and it it too with this Sceptre TV! I can sum this TV up with one word......"Wowsers" Buy one now!

Was this review helpful? (791) (166)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Electrodude1
07070
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Great value for the money
11/5/2013

Customer review by Riverrubytoo

4.0 stars 11/5/2013 by Riverrubytoo
by Riverrubytoo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this TV based on the price and on other reviews on picture quality. I knew their might be a disappointment with the sound quality. By tweaking the sound controls I was able to get "almost" acceptable sound. I had a decision to make. Try to connect to my home theater system, buy a sound bar or just return it. As I was very impressed with picture quality I wanted to keep the TV. The digital coax output would not mate with the optical input of the home theater system. So off to Walmart to check out sound bars. I found a huge selection. I picked out a Yamaha ATS 1010 because of a huge price discount and a digital coax input,output for sub woofer,and the ability to learn codes. What a great suprise in sound. The home theater system is now going out the door and I have a great picture (no need for HD) and wonderful sound. The Sceptre 50" remote has a full screen freeze frame function that is instantaneous. The stand seems very sturdy with unlimited rotation. Overall I could have paid a lot more and gotten a lot less.

Was this review helpful? (72) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Riverrubytoo
Glendale, Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is a good TV
10/27/2013

Customer review by jamescyberjoe

5.0 stars 10/27/2013 by jamescyberjoe
by jamescyberjoe

This TV is a good one. Is it a major name? No. Does it perform like one? Yes. I have TWC DVR cable box, Sony PS 3, Wii and a Yamaha sound system all hooked up to this baby. I used HDMI cables for the DVR, PS 3 and the sound system and a PS cable for the Wii. The picture is fantastic after adjusting the settings properly. Out of the box factory setting are setup to give a bright picture like all TV's nowadays. But properly adjusted and it's astounding. You can even adjust the settings for each source like Blu rays and games. It runs cool and there is the faint whir of cooling fans internally. The remote is a button pushers paradise. ( I simplify things by using a Logitech Harmony remote) I really have no complaints I just love this TV. A word about the sound. If I just want to watch TV like a sitcom or the news the built in speakers are fine. For games, movies or music an external sound system is a must. For the price they put more thought into the picture and the sound was an afterthought. I added a surround sound system to it, and I'm happy.

Was this review helpful? (123) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jamescyberjoe
Staten Island NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product - a real value
9/28/2013

Customer review by wtptx

4.0 stars 9/28/2013 by wtptx
by wtptx
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was skeptical about this product because of the price - 50" LCD 1080p for less than $400 - with free shipping to the house! I must say, however, that I am impressed with the product so far - 2 weeks in. I read a previous review before I purchased about the sound quality wasn't so good, but I think that's to be expected from a thin tv like this, there's just not enough room for really good speakers, especially not at this price point. This TV has a head-phone output on the back side of the unit so I did as a previous reviewer had suggested and plugged a set of computer speakers in and staged those behind the TV. You can't see them, the volume level is still controlled by the remote, and it sounds great! I used a set of computer speakers that have a sub-woofer so honestly, the sound quality I'm getting out of this tv now is the best sound I've ever had from a tv! I would highly recommend this unit to anyone looking for a good tv at a great price.

Was this review helpful? (90) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wtptx
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best deal I've made!
9/3/2013

Customer review by JohnnyJH

5.0 stars 9/3/2013 by JohnnyJH
by JohnnyJH

I was reluctant since I had never heard of Sceptre, but the price was too awesome to pass up. I was also scared because I had never ordered a major purchase online & to be shipped before. However, everything was easy and even quicker than I expected. None of the stores around me had this in stock. This television is much better than my Vizio in the game room. It has all the features I wanted, but at about 1/2 the cost of most of it's rivals. I bought a $6 HDMI cable and ordered a mount at the same time. It took only minutes. I like the remote too. It is very user friendly though I only use the one with AT&T uverse to operate it now. My only knock on this tv, and it is a little one, is the sound. The internal speakers are not too powerful so I recommend having it hooked up to a stereo or sound bar. I recommend this to anyone who is looking for a great deal! The picture is awesome and sound is good. I think this is the best deal I have made in years! So glad I didn't buy the other televisions I was looking at for $400 MORE....

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JohnnyJH
Fort Worth, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Read reviews, picture okay but sound is terrible.
9/9/2013

Customer review by toooldforthehassle

1.0 stars 9/9/2013 by toooldforthehassle
by toooldforthehassle
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I researched tvs and decided to try this brand because it had 4 out of 5 stars on your website. Buyer beware. Read poor reviews first. I read one review initially that said sound quality not so good but I figured that I didn't care about surround sound that much. The tv was sent fedx and arrived a day earlier than e-mail stated. Person left it at front door and didn't even ring bell. ( I was at home.) There are two vertical black lines on each side of screen which shortens picture to 42". The sound is poor and surges up and down. The picture is okay but 2 days after receiving it, the picture went to white static. The channel also switched from movie to PBS on its own. Now the volume doesn't change with the remote so I went back to website and read from low to high reviews. Over and over people have same issues, even to point of tv not working at all. I will be taking it back to store and probably choose a Vizio or Samsung. I am in my 60s so to return 50" tv to store is going to be a challenge but I know Walmart will help me.

Was this review helpful? (68) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
toooldforthehassle
Katy, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sceptre 50" tv for $499.00
5/30/2012

Customer review by briandaniella

5.0 stars 5/30/2012 by briandaniella
by briandaniella

I just received this TV last week and installed it. This is by far the best deal you will find on a 50" size LCD. I have had a Sceptre LCD in my bedroom for 3 year which this tv is replacing. I moved my 46" Sceptre to my sons room which is still working strong. Paid $699 for that one in 2009. This 50" is about the same size as my 46" Sceptre from 2009 in respect to the way it is constructed with the housing and plastic, but the 50" has more view area for sure and lighter now with the way they build them now. Dont't buy into the hype of all the over priced name brand tv's this gets the job done hands down. I would only go for something better in a main living room but this tv will still handle that job too if your not to picky, for a bedroom its great. The sound is ok but most will always add a surround sound with a flat screen tv. Almost all flat screen tvs have moderate sound at best.

Was this review helpful? (458) (84)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
briandaniella
Eastvale, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Picture, Great Value, Satisfied
12/31/2012

Customer review by UKfan2012

4.0 stars 12/31/2012 by UKfan2012
by UKfan2012
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was looking for a cheap 50 inch TV. After looking at several stores and many online sites, I took advantage of this Sceptre offer. I read all the reviews on this product as I was not familiar with Sceptre. After reviewing other readers, I got exactly what I expected. Great picture, Great Value, and poor sound. Even after messing with the equilizer, the sound is very tinny. If you push the bass to the max, it gets distorted. But the sound will not bother me for long as I am expecting to run sound through a home theatre system within the next month or so. I did purchase the 3 year warranty though as I am still not sure about the brand. Overall, with warranty, taxes and shipping I am into this TV for right at $500... Hard to find a deal like that with a warranty on a 50 inch LCD with 1080p. It will buy me a few years to allow the smart TV technology to come down in price! I would definately recommend for those who want a nice, large picture at an affordable price.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UKfan2012
Frisco, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't buy
12/23/2015

Customer review by Msk33b

1.0 stars 12/23/2015 by Msk33b
by Msk33b

i just bought this t.v. back on April2 2015 and its not working its broken already it willn't turn one

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Msk33b
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent value for $500
7/25/2012

Customer review by th3n0rthsid3

3.0 stars 7/25/2012 by th3n0rthsid3
by th3n0rthsid3

This is not the best tv, but paying $1/inch, you can't expect latest and greatest. However I've been pleasantly surprised by the quality of this product. It doesn't have a ton of features and little customization, however the picture is vivid (on gaming mode), the viewing angle is great for a LCD, the power saver mode is wonderful (it shuts off automatically if nothing is happening on it, great for falling asleep on the couch to a good movie), and so far nothing has broken or degraded. The sound is terrible, but it can get loud enough for any room. You can also hook it up to external speakers as I do and it sounds just fine. The inputs are inconveniently located in my opinion (they are on the left side of the tv), I like them in back of the stand, put that is a matter of preference. The stand is nice that it swivels, however it seems to make the tv sit slightly lop-sided (it's a very cheap plastic). If you're looking for a big screen at a very good price, I would recommend this TV. If you're looking for higher quality than just average, open up your wallet a little more.

Was this review helpful? (50) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
th3n0rthsid3
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great deal for a 50" HDTV
6/7/2012

Customer review by DosDudesMom

5.0 stars 6/7/2012 by DosDudesMom
by DosDudesMom

So far, I am really pleased with this purchase. For $499 with free delivery to the local WalMart, this TV was a bargain and a long overdue replacement of our 10 year old monster of a 42" TV. Not only does it weigh a fraction of the set it replaced, it pivots on the stand, has a great picture and was an easy set up for my husband and 16 year old son. Sound quality is good, but I'm spoiled by the surround sound system we have in our family room with our home's only other big screen TV. My only complaint is getting the correct code to allow the TV to be controlled via the cable controller. The Sceptre codes work for everything except volume. I called Sceptre and they said to use Sony codes...those work for all but the TV power on/off. Kind of annoying. Quick delivery to the store and helpful employees to load it into our SUV. We're really enjoying this purchase and I'd buy a Sceptre TV again.

Was this review helpful? (92) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DosDudesMom
Sherman Oaks, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
garbage
12/16/2015

Customer review by rollingon2

1.0 stars 12/16/2015 by rollingon2
by rollingon2

Won this tv at a christmas raffle. Great for one year and then poof. Never came on again. Didnt have receipt and over one year so no go for warranty. Glad i didnt buy it because i would have been fuming. Glad i didnt throw out the tube tv that it replaced. That thing lasted me 20 years and this for one. Garbage.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rollingon2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Our Second Scepter
11/11/2013

Customer review by Voofie

5.0 stars 11/11/2013 by Voofie
by Voofie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is our 2nd Scepter. The first was a 32" that we use as both a PC monitor and TV in our guest room. This second unit is in our great room and both were excellent buys, so don't let the bargain price concern you. Both sets have great sound sound quality out of the box but we added 200 watt surround sound to this 50 inch unit to give theater quality sound boost when watching movies in the large great room space with vaulted ceiling. We have a ROKU 2 and Nintendo Wii, as well as DVD/VHS players and a free to air satellite receiver also connected to this 50 inch set, and there are still 2 unused HDMI ports and a VGA port unused as of yet. It even has a surround sound connection. I am an engineer, but the quick start instructions and user manual are very user friendly - very clear and easy to understand and follow. We are very pleased with this purchase as both sets are well worth the money spent.

Was this review helpful? (31) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Voofie
Hedgesville, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great TV for the Price!
6/28/2012

Customer review by McRiderGuy

5.0 stars 6/28/2012 by McRiderGuy
by McRiderGuy

This unit replaced my old 32" 1080 HD flat screen that I have been using for over six years. It's true that the Scepter is not a $2k TV... but it's not far off in features, picture and quality. I've only had this unit for about a month but I am completely satisfied in all respects. It worked fantastic right out of the box, set up was easy and the picture and sound are both excellent. I run a PS3 with it along with a Roku box and just use the built in digital receiver for local news and sports. Streaming videos typically has very good quality (not quite HD), regular DVD's up convert to excellent quality via the PS3 and both Blu-ray and HD channels are amazingly sharp and detailed. The only 'slightly' negative is that the base the TV mounts to is not as sturdy as it could be. If you have wild pets or children (or are clumsy :) this could be a slight issue. It is not really an issue for me though and seems to be sturdy 'enough'. This of course would not be an issue at all if it's mounted to the wall... which I may do anyway soon enough. Anyone that gives this TV, for the price, only 1 or 2 stars either got a lemon (it happens) or is just bitter for some other reason.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
McRiderGuy
CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Well worth the purchase
10/27/2012

Customer review by SomethinBoutaTruck

4.0 stars 10/27/2012 by SomethinBoutaTruck
by SomethinBoutaTruck

Great t.v. for the price. I'm just a regular guy; I don't subscribe to GQ or drive an Audi, but, at the same time, I don't have an inflatable pool anywhere on my property (well to be honest that's only because my better half won't let me). I've had it for 6 months and no problems. Great picture (especially sports), but the sound is not great (so I plugged a decent set of computer speakers into one of the outputs and problem solved). I'm writing this review for people like me - on a tight budget and trying to get a good deal without spending a couple grand. I was skeptical, but I'm very happy with the purchase. Good luck and write reviews on good deals you find because I'm always looking for a good deal since my kid gets all of the latest and greatest products. Disregard any grammatical errors because I'm not proofreading this at all.

Was this review helpful? (327) (68)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SomethinBoutaTruck
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 1217 total reviews
1-20 of 1217 reviews