Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1478 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1478 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1478 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
823
4 stars
402
3 stars
75
2 stars
50
1 stars
128
1-20 of 1210 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1210 total reviews
1-20 of 1210 reviews
Realistic Review-Understand Your Purchase
12/3/2012

Customer review by SkepticalTechLover

5.0 stars 12/3/2012 by SkepticalTechLover
by SkepticalTechLover

Folks, let me give you readers a realistic review on this Sceptre. I saw this 50" TV for $429 for Walmart's PreBlackFriday Deal and had to investigate the opportunity further. This was an incredible big TV for a great deal. I needed 2 new BIG TV's to replace my existing 32" and 37" LG flat screens. My primary TV is the 37" of course, so I knew I could take a chance and buy a bad BIG TV to replace the 32" and if i determined i made a mistake i would simply take it back. I read all the reviews and the worst consistent CON i saw was the bad speaker comments. Well, i will tell ANY SKEPTIC that is also considering this TV that the Sceptre is a FANTASTIC buy for the money and size. Folks, if you are honest, informed, and realsitic on what you are buying- 1. Sceptre is a brand not many people are familar with 2. They are supposedly known for computer parts 3. they are trying to crack the consumer electronics industry 4. Therefore they are trying to offer you more product for less and make a name for themselves.....the story should sound pretty familar just like Vizio, LG, Honda, Hyundai, Kia. You can not expect this TV to blow away at every category like a Sharp, Sony, Samsung, or LG right out of the gate on every feature #But the Sceptre is real close#. If you understand this going in, you will REALLY REALLY appreciate this TV and how great of a performer it is. You must have HD service to first enjoy the picture clarity-This TV's clarity competes with any. Yes the screen is so wide that its possible your screen can tilt lower on one side because of the screens weight. The Sceptre engineers need to use a thicker diameter neck and wider support base to support the screen. BUT IT IS A 50" SCREEN FOLKS. The darn TV should be mounted on a Wall or Entertainment Stand ANYWAY. Lastly, the speakers, i was expecting the sound to be as terrible as the sound you get out of some of these cell phone speakers or touch tablets. The sound is NOT TERRIBLE. In fact, i would imagine most users are placing there Sceptres on low level stands so the sound accoutics are already below ear level. I have found the sound quality to be pretty decent and very functional for those users who have either mounted their Sceptres on the wall or have them high over top a fire place mantle such as myself. The sound quality emits better when high above or at your ear levels since the speakers are on the bottom underside of the tv. LG, Samsung, and others have great sound b/c they invest much energy in the emission of their bottom speakers. But this technology often comes at an expensive price. BUT AGAIN PEOPLE, its a 50inch TV made for Theatre-like viewing.....INVEST IN A SOUND BAR. Most people are connecting their 50" to a HOME SURROUND SYSTEM anyway. Thats the assumed understanding if you are trying to step up to a BIG-BOY product. Sorry to be brash but i wanted the normal skeptical consumer like me to not be scared about this product-I love this inexpenive TV. Lastly, buy the cheap 3year warranty too just to cover your bases, It could be worth it later should you need it. Now i can move on and go spend my money on buying a BIG High Quality LED SMART TV for my primary room or consider buying another Sceptre since my first experience was such a good one! Good luck to you in your search.

Was this review helpful? (673) (118)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SkepticalTechLover
Atlanta Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Totally Awesome TV!
5/27/2012

Customer review by Electrodude1

5.0 stars 5/27/2012 by Electrodude1
by Electrodude1

I was a tad skeptical before purchasing this TV, Sceptre isn't a well known name. But I bought it anyway because at that price and with the plethora of features, it was looking real good!, It was delivered in two days. When I lifted this thing out of the box, it looked enormous!, I was shocked on how big a 50" TV can be! I hooked this baby up and tossed on an HD channel! The picture is so clear I can see ingrown hairs on peoples faces, and i can see razor burn on faces too! This TV has surpassed my expectations, I am in love with it! Quite Frankly, if it were legal I would Marry this TV today! For $499.99, this TV cannot be beat. The same TV with the same features made by let's say Sony, will cost you well over $2000.00, I did good, I did real good with this buy! I recommend this TV to anyone who does not want to waste money, you can have your cake and it it too with this Sceptre TV! I can sum this TV up with one word......"Wowsers" Buy one now!

Was this review helpful? (718) (139)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Electrodude1
07070
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Sceptre 50" tv for $499.00
5/30/2012

Customer review by briandaniella

5.0 stars 5/30/2012 by briandaniella
by briandaniella

I just received this TV last week and installed it. This is by far the best deal you will find on a 50" size LCD. I have had a Sceptre LCD in my bedroom for 3 year which this tv is replacing. I moved my 46" Sceptre to my sons room which is still working strong. Paid $699 for that one in 2009. This 50" is about the same size as my 46" Sceptre from 2009 in respect to the way it is constructed with the housing and plastic, but the 50" has more view area for sure and lighter now with the way they build them now. Dont't buy into the hype of all the over priced name brand tv's this gets the job done hands down. I would only go for something better in a main living room but this tv will still handle that job too if your not to picky, for a bedroom its great. The sound is ok but most will always add a surround sound with a flat screen tv. Almost all flat screen tvs have moderate sound at best.

Was this review helpful? (397) (71)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
briandaniella
Eastvale, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Absoluetly love it!
5/11/2012

Customer review by lkg3383

5.0 stars 5/11/2012 by lkg3383
by lkg3383

For being my 2nd Sceptre product, I am completely satisfied and amazed. This unit replaced our 6 year old 42" Olevia in the living room. This 50" Sceptre works superb with a PS3, Blu-Ray Player and a Roku player all connected via HDMI. This unit is a definite best buy for those looking to upgrade to a larger size.

Was this review helpful? (537) (111)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lkg3383
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Well worth the purchase
10/27/2012

Customer review by SomethinBoutaTruck

4.0 stars 10/27/2012 by SomethinBoutaTruck
by SomethinBoutaTruck

Great t.v. for the price. I'm just a regular guy; I don't subscribe to GQ or drive an Audi, but, at the same time, I don't have an inflatable pool anywhere on my property (well to be honest that's only because my better half won't let me). I've had it for 6 months and no problems. Great picture (especially sports), but the sound is not great (so I plugged a decent set of computer speakers into one of the outputs and problem solved). I'm writing this review for people like me - on a tight budget and trying to get a good deal without spending a couple grand. I was skeptical, but I'm very happy with the purchase. Good luck and write reviews on good deals you find because I'm always looking for a good deal since my kid gets all of the latest and greatest products. Disregard any grammatical errors because I'm not proofreading this at all.

Was this review helpful? (295) (56)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SomethinBoutaTruck
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is a good TV
10/27/2013

Customer review by jamescyberjoe

5.0 stars 10/27/2013 by jamescyberjoe
by jamescyberjoe

This TV is a good one. Is it a major name? No. Does it perform like one? Yes. I have TWC DVR cable box, Sony PS 3, Wii and a Yamaha sound system all hooked up to this baby. I used HDMI cables for the DVR, PS 3 and the sound system and a PS cable for the Wii. The picture is fantastic after adjusting the settings properly. Out of the box factory setting are setup to give a bright picture like all TV's nowadays. But properly adjusted and it's astounding. You can even adjust the settings for each source like Blu rays and games. It runs cool and there is the faint whir of cooling fans internally. The remote is a button pushers paradise. ( I simplify things by using a Logitech Harmony remote) I really have no complaints I just love this TV. A word about the sound. If I just want to watch TV like a sitcom or the news the built in speakers are fine. For games, movies or music an external sound system is a must. For the price they put more thought into the picture and the sound was an afterthought. I added a surround sound system to it, and I'm happy.

Was this review helpful? (99) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jamescyberjoe
Staten Island NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Amazing Television!!!
12/25/2012

Customer review by YondaBoy1

5.0 stars 12/25/2012 by YondaBoy1
by YondaBoy1

For me, this has been an exceptional television. For the price I paid, I couldn't have found a better deal. This television comes from a manufacturer that I hadn't heard of, but I couldn't be happier. The TV has a great picture, decent sound, and all the bells and whistles I was looking for. It's not a wifi enabled smart tv, but that's not to be expected for a 50" television at this price... I think this is a great television with plenty of hdmi ports, a swivel tv stand, and a well deserved 5 star rating from me!!!

Was this review helpful? (99) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YondaBoy1
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
WHAT A PIECE OF.......HEAVEN!!!!!
6/13/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/13/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

O.K. folks....Here's the deal. I was VERY hesitant to purchase this baby after getting the big one from an internet site that rymes with "1 sale a day". So anywho I take a chance on another 3rd string t.v. I'm telling ya, this baby is SOOOO worth the 499.00 price tag it's SICK! I've only had it for a week but I cannot in good concious delay the review any longer and let some other folks pass up what I believe to be a fantastic buy. The 1080 picture is to die for and the ease of use/setup is idiot proof! The sound from such a thin T.V. isn't going to be theater quality, but it so much more than you need for watching cable! Such a t.v. for the money should really be considered!

Was this review helpful? (116) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Wisconsin...
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So far, so good...
12/12/2012

Customer review by Tessy82000

4.0 stars 12/12/2012 by Tessy82000
by Tessy82000

I have had this TV for barley 2 weeks. I ordered it on cyber Monday 2012 for $498 + 3 yr warranty included, and it arrived on Wednesday 2 days later, which is pretty impressive. So far, picture clarity, sound and everything else is on point with no problems. I upgraded from a 29 inch RCA tru-flat "tube" TV that I have had for 8 years. I am pretty much using this TV as I did my RCA esp. since I am still within my 90 day Walmart return period. The only thing that makes me weary about this TV is its longevity. My previous TV lasted for 8 years and quite frankly is still going strong. With this TV being new on the market, it is rather impossible to know how long its capable of lasting or not blowing something. I am a regular girl with no flare for the latest technology or electronic. I feel with or without the latest TV, I will still live. Anyway, I bought this as a birthday present for myself, in addition to getting straight A's in college this semester. I thought I would indulge...besides, I deserve it. I can only pray this TV will last....

Was this review helpful? (141) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tessy82000
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great (not so) little television for the money!
6/12/2012

Customer review by Doc15

5.0 stars 6/12/2012 by Doc15
by Doc15

I found the television sound to be weak and hollow when set up on the stand. However, once mounted on the wall, the sound was much improved. I wasn't impressed with the picture quality until I connected HD. With active HD, the Sceptre picture looked as vivid as those you see in the department store floor models, i.e., Sony, Panasonic, etc. Easy set-up. From the box, to the stand (connect cable and scan channels) to watching tv. It was just that simple. I connected my laptop with only inserting HDMI cable and switching television from TV mode to HDMI mode. Super easy! If you want a lot of television for the least amount a money, you have HD and are going to mount on a wall, this is the right television for you. Without HD and wall mounting, Vizio may be a better choice for you without breaking the bank.

Was this review helpful? (140) (42)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Doc15
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great deal for a 50" HDTV
6/7/2012

Customer review by DosDudesMom

5.0 stars 6/7/2012 by DosDudesMom
by DosDudesMom

So far, I am really pleased with this purchase. For $499 with free delivery to the local WalMart, this TV was a bargain and a long overdue replacement of our 10 year old monster of a 42" TV. Not only does it weigh a fraction of the set it replaced, it pivots on the stand, has a great picture and was an easy set up for my husband and 16 year old son. Sound quality is good, but I'm spoiled by the surround sound system we have in our family room with our home's only other big screen TV. My only complaint is getting the correct code to allow the TV to be controlled via the cable controller. The Sceptre codes work for everything except volume. I called Sceptre and they said to use Sony codes...those work for all but the TV power on/off. Kind of annoying. Quick delivery to the store and helpful employees to load it into our SUV. We're really enjoying this purchase and I'd buy a Sceptre TV again.

Was this review helpful? (83) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DosDudesMom
Sherman Oaks, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product - a real value
9/28/2013

Customer review by wtptx

4.0 stars 9/28/2013 by wtptx
by wtptx

I was skeptical about this product because of the price - 50" LCD 1080p for less than $400 - with free shipping to the house! I must say, however, that I am impressed with the product so far - 2 weeks in. I read a previous review before I purchased about the sound quality wasn't so good, but I think that's to be expected from a thin tv like this, there's just not enough room for really good speakers, especially not at this price point. This TV has a head-phone output on the back side of the unit so I did as a previous reviewer had suggested and plugged a set of computer speakers in and staged those behind the TV. You can't see them, the volume level is still controlled by the remote, and it sounds great! I used a set of computer speakers that have a sub-woofer so honestly, the sound quality I'm getting out of this tv now is the best sound I've ever had from a tv! I would highly recommend this unit to anyone looking for a good tv at a great price.

Was this review helpful? (76) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wtptx
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Value for a 50inch TV
9/15/2013

Customer review by Bobby1121

5.0 stars 9/15/2013 by Bobby1121
by Bobby1121

Bought the 50 inch to replace the 32 that I got last Christmas, it's my Patio TV for outdoor entertainment and poolside viewing, the picture quality is excellent, all my guests comment on what a great picture it is!! And when 8 tell them how much I paid for it they run for the computer or mobile device to order one!! A great TV for the price!!!

Was this review helpful? (145) (49)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bobby1121
Copperas Cove, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent TV. Very pleased with my purchase.
11/22/2013

Customer review by tyrranus

5.0 stars 11/22/2013 by tyrranus
by tyrranus

This TV arrived at my door in perfect condition. It comes with the stand (as they all should), the remote, a screen cleaner, batteries, the screws for the stand, and it even included a Phillips screwdriver. I use it for my Xbox 360, and the graphics are awesome. Plenty of ports to connect to. I purchased the 3 year warranty, so with tax, shipping (which was only about $3.00), and the tv I spent around $450.00. I consider that an amazing deal. Most used tvs that size start at $500 plus shipping. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (89) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tyrranus
san francisco, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value for the money
11/5/2013

Customer review by Riverrubytoo

4.0 stars 11/5/2013 by Riverrubytoo
by Riverrubytoo

I purchased this TV based on the price and on other reviews on picture quality. I knew their might be a disappointment with the sound quality. By tweaking the sound controls I was able to get "almost" acceptable sound. I had a decision to make. Try to connect to my home theater system, buy a sound bar or just return it. As I was very impressed with picture quality I wanted to keep the TV. The digital coax output would not mate with the optical input of the home theater system. So off to Walmart to check out sound bars. I found a huge selection. I picked out a Yamaha ATS 1010 because of a huge price discount and a digital coax input,output for sub woofer,and the ability to learn codes. What a great suprise in sound. The home theater system is now going out the door and I have a great picture (no need for HD) and wonderful sound. The Sceptre 50" remote has a full screen freeze frame function that is instantaneous. The stand seems very sturdy with unlimited rotation. Overall I could have paid a lot more and gotten a lot less.

Was this review helpful? (62) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Riverrubytoo
Glendale, Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
worked great then...
9/19/2012

Customer review by BkCFresno

2.0 stars 9/19/2012 by BkCFresno
by BkCFresno

Unit was working fine, then developed a red thick line down at the bottom that came and went. Then oneday while watching it, loud pop... and no tv.

Was this review helpful? (45) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BkCFresno
Fresno
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Disappointed
6/15/2012

Customer review by Mommydeebz

1.0 stars 6/15/2012 by Mommydeebz
by Mommydeebz

I ordered this tv online and received it yesterday. We hooked it up, and the picture quality was decent, but the sound was horrible. No matter how we adjusted it, it sounded very "tinny." Today a pixel burned out. I read the reviews before purchasing it, and it seemed like everyone else had good luck, but us, not so much. I probably wouldn't order one online again. :(

Was this review helpful? (78) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mommydeebz
illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Dreadful Experience
8/28/2013

Customer review by timmyjoe5

1.0 stars 8/28/2013 by timmyjoe5
by timmyjoe5

Bought 50" Sceptre TV for my daughter which was delivered promptly. Installtion was quick and straghtford and TV operated fine for all of 5 days when it completly failed (no pciture or sound). Since I also purchased the 4 year warranty we contacted Sceptre who advised us the TV would need to be shipped to California at our expense. However, we would not accept this option and eventually was told since the failure occured after only 5 days we could return the TV to Walmart for an in-store credit, which we did.

Was this review helpful? (73) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
timmyjoe5
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Purchase!
9/30/2012

Customer review by only1adean

5.0 stars 9/30/2012 by only1adean
by only1adean

We are very happy with this purchase as you can see by my ratings. It is a much lighter TV than the LCD we replaced. We had planned on getting an LED on our next purchase but are satisfied with this one. The only one negative that I found on this purchase was that all of the adapters on the back are on the left side of the TV when facing the TV so we have to run cords along the fireplace mantle because of where our outlets are. This I am sure would only be a problem to few.

Was this review helpful? (33) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
only1adean
UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent value for $500
7/25/2012

Customer review by th3n0rthsid3

3.0 stars 7/25/2012 by th3n0rthsid3
by th3n0rthsid3

This is not the best tv, but paying $1/inch, you can't expect latest and greatest. However I've been pleasantly surprised by the quality of this product. It doesn't have a ton of features and little customization, however the picture is vivid (on gaming mode), the viewing angle is great for a LCD, the power saver mode is wonderful (it shuts off automatically if nothing is happening on it, great for falling asleep on the couch to a good movie), and so far nothing has broken or degraded. The sound is terrible, but it can get loud enough for any room. You can also hook it up to external speakers as I do and it sounds just fine. The inputs are inconveniently located in my opinion (they are on the left side of the tv), I like them in back of the stand, put that is a matter of preference. The stand is nice that it swivels, however it seems to make the tv sit slightly lop-sided (it's a very cheap plastic). If you're looking for a big screen at a very good price, I would recommend this TV. If you're looking for higher quality than just average, open up your wallet a little more.

Was this review helpful? (40) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
th3n0rthsid3
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 1210 total reviews
1-20 of 1210 reviews