Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1469 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1469 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1469 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
775
4 stars
442
3 stars
78
2 stars
61
1 stars
113
1-20 of 1164 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1164 total reviews
1-20 of 1164 reviews
Great TV
7/1/2012

Customer review by Vannie24

4.0 stars 7/1/2012 by Vannie24
by Vannie24

This was my first flat screen LCD tv and I love it I do not have HD on my cable package but the picture is awesome imagine if i had HD!!

Was this review helpful? (123) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vannie24
Little Rock
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good sound and picture for the low price paid
12/13/2013

Customer review by sibehusky

4.0 stars 12/13/2013 by sibehusky
by sibehusky
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I needed a slightly larger tv for my living space and chose this one over two others of nearly the same price. Some reviews said the sound is bad. Sceptre must have repaired this issue because my sound on this tv is excellent. Volume on 10 is perfect for my home. The volume will go as high as 100. My only issue is it appears the attachment for the antenna is crooked and I seem to be having reception problems. I already threw away packaging. Wondering if I must return due to the bent antenna connection. Otherwise I am happy with the television as far as picture and sound quality and I love the swivel stand on this television. It really is a good purchase for the money and all hook ups needed for modern technology are available on this television.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sibehusky
Camden SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great tv
8/15/2012

Customer review by Marie100

5.0 stars 8/15/2012 by Marie100
by Marie100

My husband and I bought this tv because it looked to be a good deal. As it turns out it was a great deal. It only costed $279, and it was very easy to set up.The stand is very sturdy. The picture is great, and the volume on the tv is pretty good. I really love the size of the tv.

Was this review helpful? (64) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marie100
Belle Chasse, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good TV for the price
9/16/2013

Customer review by iakshawk

4.0 stars 9/16/2013 by iakshawk
by iakshawk
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

To summarize my long review for those that don't care to read all of it, the tv meets all my expectations, performs well, has many features of a nicer tv, but lacks a few specific features. Now for those that want details. I was shopping for cheap TV's for the first time and did not know what to expect. My previous TV was a Samsung, and I was very happy with it, but did not want to pay premium money this time around. I bought a cheap 32" from best buy, was not happy with it (sound issues), so I returned it and decided to do a little bit of an upgrade to this 39". The specs were better, but I was not sure about the brand and figured that it was 50/50 if I would return it. After setting it up and using it for about two weeks, I am confident that this TV will stay and will not be returned unless something unexpected happens. The picture quality is just as good as my Samsung for what I use it for (cable tv and chromecast streaming), and the sound is adequate (better than my returned best buy cheap tv, but not as good as my Samsung). Almost everything else about it I like: the case looks good, swivel base is a plus (but squeaky), plenty of inputs, a few interesting features, quick setup and channel scan (compared to other TV's I've had), and a reasonable remote with many options. This TV meets all of my expectations, but doesn't exceed them (except for the fact that it came with the phillips screwdriver to attach the base, and the driver was fairly high quality: that was a surprise). The things I don't like are pretty nitpicky. I don't like the location of the inputs on the back left side of the TV. I know that is a pretty standard place to put them, but they are too close to the edge so the cables are visible no matter what (the arrangement of my room doesn't help, but if there were some inputs on the back or if the side inputs were pushed a little further in towards the center it wouldn't be a problem). I also don't like the on screen displays. There is nothing wrong with them, they just seem a little low tech and dated. Another thing is that the swivel base is squeaky. I also wish that it had a time on/off feature, but that only seems to be something on higher end tv's, and I wish that the remote had an hdmi button (it has a tv and usb button that quickly takes you to those inputs, but I think most people use hdmi for most of their inputs). One other concern was that it was delivered laying flat. I used to think that they had to stay upright. I hope that doesn't lead to problems. Once again, overall good TV with all the basic features and everything seems to work well.

Was this review helpful? (206) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iakshawk
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Screen only 38.5 in
5/29/2012

Customer review by kiker127

5.0 stars 5/29/2012 by kiker127
by kiker127

I love this tv for the value. I bought it three weeks ago and hung it on my patio. I purchased the 3 yr warranty since it is an outside tv, but that was only $28.00 through Wal-mart. The only thing I can complain about is that it sells as a 40 inch tv, but the actual screen (diagonal measurement) is only 38.5 inches. Close enough...haha. Very Happy customer! If this tv lasts outside, I will buy more in the future. kiker127

Was this review helpful? (63) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kiker127
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Fantastic Large Screen TV
11/23/2013

Customer review by neededaphonesystem

5.0 stars 11/23/2013 by neededaphonesystem
by neededaphonesystem
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was a hesitant initially on the brand, but did notice many in offices, waiting rooms, so for the price I figured that someone had to make this brand. Received the set in two days, connected to my Directv HDMI and the picture was really good on HD 1080, would highly recommend this brand as an alternative to much higher price sets. The TV does the job at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (51) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
neededaphonesystem
Troy, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
pretty satisfied
12/15/2013

Customer review by aggie36

4.0 stars 12/15/2013 by aggie36
by aggie36
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The tv looks great perfect size for gaming. You can customize the sharpness and brightness to make it look more crisp. The sound is pretty week so I suggested to buy a surrounded sound system or speakers. Overall cant go wrong with the price and size I am pretty satisfied

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aggie36
providence, ri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor quality
4/26/2012

Customer review by lawrence5876

2.0 stars 4/26/2012 by lawrence5876
by lawrence5876

when i received the t.v. the bow was very aged and i thought nothing of it. when you turn the t.v. on it takes about a minute to show you the picture. very often it will switch from HDMI 1 to A1 which is the basic cable if you have a coax cable running directly into the t.v. For me i don't since i use the HDMI and then you have to find the original remote that came with the thing or go up to the t.v. itself to switch it back to HDMI. The picture definitely does not seem to be a true 1080p. they could not even put their own label on the bottom of the t.v. on straight or centered. Just very poor quality.

Was this review helpful? (39) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lawrence5876
new york
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Pleasantly surprised
4/20/2012

Customer review by honeyspot07

4.0 stars 4/20/2012 by honeyspot07
by honeyspot07

I bought this TV a little over a month ago. Ordered it online and had it shipped to the store for free. I was sent a text upon its arrival. It arrived within the estimated window, and pick-up went smoothly. Set up was easy, even with my new BluRay player. I did mistakenly install the base backwards the first time (LOL). I did quite a bit of research and found that most of the complaints with this TV, (as well as most of the new flat screens), is with its sound quality. I too found that the sound quality was less than desirable. I tried all of the different settings and finally decided to go with my back-up plan, and I purchased a sound bar...and now I have absolutely no complaints. I feel like I got a great bargain...as I purchased the TV and the 2 yr Walmart (bumper to bumper, as I call it) protection plan, and STILL spent less than I would've on a well-known brand. Last week my 5 year old 32" Westinghouse started malfunctioning, so I made up my mind last night to buy the Sceptre 32" as a replacement.

Was this review helpful? (280) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
honeyspot07
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sceptre 40
8/16/2013

Customer review by Justy39

5.0 stars 8/16/2013 by Justy39
by Justy39

This is a good tv. Sceptre is made by a company called Hitachi. This tv has a very good picture, but poor sound. You can adjust the sound and make it better. I set the treble at 2+ and bass 15+, the eq on Rock. AVL (auto volume level) off. Then it's not so bad sounding tv. But to make my tv sound better. I bought some PC speakers (Logitech Z130 3.5mm mini plug) from walmart and plugged them into the headphone jack of this tv. This turns off the tv internal speakers and uses the pc speakers instead. The tv remote, controls the sound with the pc speakers attached to the tv. You can also go the route and plug a stereo system to the rca outputs on the back of the tv. However, the tv remote will not control the volume through the rca plugs. You would need a remote for the stereo to control the sound levels. Otherwise, this tv is solid. Never had troubles with setting up. Or software issues with the tv freezing up or bugs. It's been a fantastic tv besides the sound area. Well worth it's price, if I had too. I would buy another one.

Was this review helpful? (63) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Justy39
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good TV for price, would buy again.
11/10/2013

Customer review by jdphotog

3.0 stars 11/10/2013 by jdphotog
by jdphotog

I paid $249 for this TV and feel it was well worth the money. Let's face it, I didn't pay $1000 for it, and did not expect the quality to be up there with a $1000 TV. It's just fine for the price. After a few adjustments, I now have very nice picture quality. The sound is not good at all. It's actually very bad, so i lowered the volume all the way and use a sound bar (surround sound). It produces good quality sound with the bar. It only took a few minutes to hook up to the cable box, and my Netflix HD box, both via HDMI, and my sound bar via old style white/red cords. I had the TV up and running in under 5 minutes. The remote keys are not backlit, so watching TV at night with the lights off requires a light source to see what you're doing until you memorize the key's you use most. With regard to quality, It's not up there with my LG. I didn't expect it to be, but at 1/2 the price, it's just fine. Only time will tell how long it will last without issues.

Was this review helpful? (42) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jdphotog
Asbury Park, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
This TV is way better than I expected
10/29/2012

Customer review by AZmonkee

4.0 stars 10/29/2012 by AZmonkee
by AZmonkee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 25 contributor

I really didn't have very high expectations of this tv. It's way nicer than I expected. Color clarity is excellent. It has more than ample connection options hdmi, coax etc. The picture quality is excellent, even on non-hd channels. Set up took a total of 15 minutes including attaching the base and connecting to dvd, game system and cable. It was as simple as plug and play. Clarity of all mediums are equally good, I watch a lot of streaming video and it's just as clear as the cable connection. The remote control is easy to use and understand, it's also powerful, I can use it from the kitchen with no hassle. I ordered site to store and received the tv a full 8 days before projected delivery date. I'm glad I took the risk and ordered this, truth be told the price was just too good to pass up. As a safety precaution I purchased the 3 year warranty plan and even with that added purchase the total cost was considerably less than anything comparable on the market.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AZmonkee
Kingman, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 25 contributor
Sceptre Good Buy, Resonable Price
9/12/2013

Customer review by Pirategrl

5.0 stars 9/12/2013 by Pirategrl
by Pirategrl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is actually my second Sceptre TV purchase. The first TV I purchased was more than a year ago, I was unhappy with the sound and bought a sound bar for it (I did not think I would buy another one). We needed to buy another one for a different room and honestly for the price this is a pretty good buy for an extra room TV. It seems the sound is better on the new one, so no complaints, picture is great. Additionally, shipping from Wal-Mart on this purchase was really great. It was shipped to my house free and I received it in three days (really awesome)! I didn't expect it to come in so quick and received Fed Ex notice it was on my porch. I was a little worried since the box says flat screen TV all over it. But the very nice Fed Ex guy hid it behind a bench on my porch and folded the notice so you couldn't see it from the street. Awesome job again. Easy to set up, couple minutes had the cable hooked up and ready to go. Great team work everyone!

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pirategrl
SF Bay Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good product and excellent value.
7/17/2012

Customer review by Spikeruss

4.0 stars 7/17/2012 by Spikeruss
by Spikeruss

the 40 inch Sceptre has excellent picture quality and very good stereo sound. I have noticed on some of the digital channels I can now get the sound signal from the channel is limited and the volume will not increase beyond a certain level in particular the PBS channels or the local channels who rebroadcast in digital on another channel. For the hard of hearing or those who want to hear over ambient noise you might consider a surround sound or amplified speaker system of some sort for weak volumed channels. I have also used this with a streaming Blu-Ray player to get Netflix and other online programming. the HDMI inputs either don't have the sensitivity to lock on to the streaming signal and drop out in some instances and go to power saving mode and loose the program. switching momentarily to TV and back to HDMI will restore the reception. Might be better on the RCA inputs have not tried that yet. Other than that great picture, sound and Clarity I would certainly recomend the Sceptre as a good HDTV and a solid Value.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Spikeruss
Fairfield, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
An excellent value for the money.
9/26/2013

Customer review by nojotafo

4.0 stars 9/26/2013 by nojotafo
by nojotafo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this TV to replace an older analog model in my living room. I was a little leary of the quality based on the price. However, I read previous reviews and decided to purchase it. I was not disappointed. I think its a great tv for the price I paid and my only negative really is the sound. I find it difficult to hear the voices clearly against the background music which always seems to be louder. While there are ample ajustments and I can improve the situation to a degree, I can't quite seem to get a happy compromise that totally solves the problem. Also, the automatic volume control seems to operate erratically at times so I tend to leave it off. However, the sound is not a show stopper and I would definitely buy one of these tv's again. Its easy to set up, has all the features I want and an excellent picture too. I may try a set of external speakers to see if I can improve upon the sound problem, but like I said, its not a show stopper.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nojotafo
Hawley, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
UNBEATABLE VALUE FOR THE MONEY
7/15/2012

Customer review by HELVIUS

5.0 stars 7/15/2012 by HELVIUS
by HELVIUS

I PURCHASED THIS ON WALMART.COM MAINLY BECAUSE I COULD NOT FIND ANOTHER 40" INCH TV FOR THE PRICE. I CHECKED EBAY, AMAZON, OVERSTOCK.COM AND HH GREGG(?). I KNEW I WAS TAKING A CHANCE ON A NO NAME BRAND, BUT DECIDED TO RISK IT. THE TV WAS EXTREMELY EASY TO ASSEMBLE AND ACTIVATE. IT EVEN CAME WITH A NECESSARY SCREWDRIVER. MY ONE AND ONLY COMPLAINT IS THAT THE BASE MOUNTING POST WAS SLIGHTLY ASKEW, SO THAT WHEN THE BASE WAS ATTACHED, IT WAS NOT EXACTLY FLUSH WITH THE BOTTOM OF THE TV. IT LAYS FLAT, JUST A LITTLE CROOKED. OTHER THAN THAT, THE TV IS GREAT SO FAR, (IT'S BEEN ABOUT THREE WEEKS, OR SO). PICTURE AND COLOR ARE GREAT. I HAVEN'T NOTICED ANY BLURRING WITH FAST MOTION. I'VE HEARD COMPLAINTS ABOUT FEEBLE SPEAKERS IN THESE TYPES OF TV'S, BUT, ALTHOUGH THE SOUND IS CERTAINLY NOT GREAT STEREO, AND MAY EVEN BE A BIT TINNY, I HAVE THIS IN AN AVERAGE SIZED ROOM AND THE VOLUME IS MORE THAN ADEQUATE. THE REMOTE IS EASY TO USE AND THE MANUAL IS EASY TO UNDERSTAND. VERY HAPPY WITH MY BUY. SHOP AROUND, YOU COULD DO A LOT WORSE.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HELVIUS
WOODSTOCL, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pretty good for the price
3/8/2013

Customer review by misskaylamarie

3.0 stars 3/8/2013 by misskaylamarie
by misskaylamarie

I bought this for my husband almost a year ago - he needed to upgrade his 32" tube in the man cave. Shipping was average, no complaints. However within a couple of months, my daughter was in the room watching the tv and she came to me and said it wasn't working. I tried to fix it but apparently the screen just went out - completely black. Unplugging it and trying again didn't work, nothing worked. We were disappointed that it broke so fast. However, my husband contacted Sceptre and they sent out a box right away so that we could send the tv back and get it fixed under warrenty. It only took a few weeks to get it back, and I believe they sent us an extra part or two on accident which of course we had no problem with (haha). Since then we have had no problems thank goodness, and we were happy with the customer service that Sceptre gave us. Overall decent product for the price, since he just needed something to watch football on and play xbox. Nothing special about the product, and the price is okay.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
misskaylamarie
Mebane, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
What is a Sceptre??
11/3/2012

Customer review by ScrapbookMommy2012

4.0 stars 11/3/2012 by ScrapbookMommy2012
by ScrapbookMommy2012

Working with a Very Tight budget, finally took the plunge and purchased this tv to replace my older "5000 pound" 32 incher for my apartment living room. It arrived only 2 days after I ordered it, and I had to carry it to my 3rd floor apartment myself (wasn't home when it was delivered) but wow - it wasn't even THAT HEAVY! Out of the box, it was in perfect condition and the set up was like unwrapping a candybar. The picture was fabulous (especially after adjusting the contrast) but the sound was awful. Consulted a neighbor, who didn't have any other advice to give, so I decided to return it. But afterwards, decided to research this issue. Turns out, all I had to do was set the sound to USER and push up the treble setting!! Very happy now. May buy that sound bar thingy later because I like to listen to digital music channel. Last, glad I purchased the 3 year warranty, JUST IN CASE of any issues that may develop later.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ScrapbookMommy2012
Santa Clarita, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/23/2012

Customer review by BeccaNKtown

2.0 stars 11/23/2012 by BeccaNKtown
by BeccaNKtown

I bought 2 Sceptre tv's in August. A 32" for my office and a 40" for my bedroom. I LOVED them both! Now, the one in my bedroom - the 40" - won't come on! It's been almost 2 weeks now and it won't come on ... at all... neither by the remote or manually pushing the button. I have called customer service several times... and have left 3 messages... and they have YET to return my call. When you DO have a problem... you have to call Sceptre instead of Walmart... and the voice recording says to leave your name, number and a message of what you need them for and they will call you back. They sure aren't in ANY hurry!!! I'm getting more angry by the day! I've tried EVERYTHING I know... and today (Black Friday) I had someone else see if they could do anything for it... and still ... no power! I even tried the power cord from the OTHER new Sceptre TV that I purchased. NOPE... it didn't come on! IF they will fix it or replace it... then I'll go back to being happy. If this nightmare continues, it wasn't a good deal if it was $5.00!! My opinion of course.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BeccaNKtown
Knoxville, Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Worth every penny
6/25/2012

Customer review by NJDevils28

4.0 stars 6/25/2012 by NJDevils28
by NJDevils28

I waited six months before I wrote this review to make sure this TV meets my expectations. What to say? This TV more than meets my expectations. The picture quality is top notch. Motion is slightly blurred during high speed action (Very Minor). The Stanley cup finals was a pleasure to watch but there were a few times (Less than a second each) that the TV had to play catch-up because the on screen action was just a bit to fast for it. If you really need to watch sports and are not willing to put up with a minor jitter now and again then you would be better served with a 120Hz model. I can not speak for the sound quality for the six months I've had the set as I am using an external amp and speakers but I do know that when I first installed it the sound quality was fine. Other than the jitter (hi-speed action ONLY) mentioned above, this TV is one of the best I've seen for the price. I would recommend this TV over an equal or higher priced model of the same specs any day. Enjoy!! -Ron

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NJDevils28
Flanders, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 1164 total reviews
1-20 of 1164 reviews