Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1466 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1466 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

5 stars
773
4 stars
442
3 stars
78
2 stars
60
1 stars
113
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1161 total reviews
Excellent HD TV
5/1/2012

Customer review by WERSAVIN

5.0 stars by WERSAVIN

Okay I am a electronic geek and researched this item to upgrade from Sony and Samsung TV's to accommodate our new home. We were viewing a 37". Okay here we go. This is the fastest TV to set up. Keep your video on energy saving (reduces the back light and excellent auto setting)...your done. Next the sound is awesome on this TV. The reviews here are mistaken due to not knowing how to adjust the equalizer (7 band). Keep bass halfway (left sliders, 2x) and treble (far right) all the way up. Finally if using HDMI hit source on remote and your viewing the subject (Xbox, Blu ray, Dish, etc). Simple and only three steps. That's it! I only view HD and Xbox online gaming. This TV has excellent picture quality. We have some LCD TV's that are $800 and the picture is equal. This product and through Sony corporation. The sound has several options and I chose the EQ adjustments and set up as "user" (you'll see under sound button on remote). It will boost about 10 DB more than the dynamic setting. I view late night and keep volume at a (3), yes a (3) not a 30. It is that clear and loud. You have to fine tune but the outcome is great. We do have a 1000 watt system with a 500 watt powered sub, but the TV alone sounds great. I am buying another one just to have because it is that great. ALSO we ordered at late night and got the TV at home (5 states away) 2 days after order. I use the rush and it is like $30, but keeps from waiting 2 weeks to get to Walmart. So we set up equalizer and sound to user. Then leave TV at factory energy (power) saving option, and leave picture at normal (not zoom, etc). You need 1080 HD and you will be astonished. The TV also looks great and another thing the stand look the best we have seen as it is a low profile and bottom is not cheap looking, very nice. Oh and ALL the hookups (a lot) are on one side (no flat in the middle of the back (poor design). A lot was given for this and with 90,000 to one contrast it looks great. Enjoy, Robert Broken Bow, OK

Was this review helpful? (1801) (113)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
WERSAVIN
Broken Bow, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 50 contributor
Great for a bedroom TV
4/21/2012

Customer review by RetailFanatic89

5.0 stars by RetailFanatic89

First I was a little sceptical about this tv because I've never heard of "Sceptre" before but after reading the reviews I decided to take a chance to purchase this tv and now I am so glad I did. The picture quality is about the same as my 47" Vizio I have in my Den(which is pretty impressive), the sound quality is pretty good and you can always change it to your liking. This tv is a very good value, I paid $299.00 plus tax which was $17.00. I used the site to store shipping and I received my tv in 8 days which was not too bad. This tv is perfect for a bedroom which I watch all my reality shows and playing video games.

Was this review helpful? (516) (53)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RetailFanatic89
ATLANTA,GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pleasantly surprised
4/20/2012

Customer review by honeyspot07

4.0 stars by honeyspot07

I bought this TV a little over a month ago. Ordered it online and had it shipped to the store for free. I was sent a text upon its arrival. It arrived within the estimated window, and pick-up went smoothly. Set up was easy, even with my new BluRay player. I did mistakenly install the base backwards the first time (LOL). I did quite a bit of research and found that most of the complaints with this TV, (as well as most of the new flat screens), is with its sound quality. I too found that the sound quality was less than desirable. I tried all of the different settings and finally decided to go with my back-up plan, and I purchased a sound bar...and now I have absolutely no complaints. I feel like I got a great bargain...as I purchased the TV and the 2 yr Walmart (bumper to bumper, as I call it) protection plan, and STILL spent less than I would've on a well-known brand. Last week my 5 year old 32" Westinghouse started malfunctioning, so I made up my mind last night to buy the Sceptre 32" as a replacement.

Was this review helpful? (280) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
honeyspot07
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better than it gets credit for.
7/8/2012

Customer review by TheOldDuke

5.0 stars by TheOldDuke

I did a lot of research before buying this. Almost all the reviews were positive, but it being a brand I'd never heard of and the fact that the price was drastically less than any other comparable television, I was still hesitant. All my fears have proven to be groundless, though. First, let me say that my biggest concern, and as almost every other review has stated, is the sound. Everyone has said that the sound is terrible on this television, and some have returned it for this reason. And it's true, the /default/ sound settings are abysmal. However, if you go into the sound options and tweak the bass and treble settings, this TV can sound just as good as any other. Just have a little patience, experiment with the settings to find what sounds best to you, and the sound will not be an issue. If you still can't get it to sound right, it has both a 3.5mm audio out jack (headphone jack) and an RCA audio out, so it's incredibly easy to hook up a set of external speakers or soundbar (I have a set of 2.1 Altec Lansing virtual surround speakers hooked up to it, and they sound absolutely incredible, especially with the TV's built-in speakers for some extra depth of sound.) The main reason I chose this model over any other was the amount of hookups it has. I'm a huge technology nerd, so I wanted something that could support anything I could throw at it, and this fits the bill perfectly. As stated above, it has both RCA audio input and 3.5mm headphone jack, as well as 3 HDMI, one Component, one Composite, VGA input (with 3.5mm input), USB (for JPG pictures and MP3 audio only), digital audio out, and cable hookup (with built-in digital tuner; it also has an onscreen guide)--all of which are located on the left side (when facing the front), so if it's wall-mounted or mounted to a stand they are all still accessible. The picture is absolutely amazing and every bit as sharp and clear as bigger, name-brand televisions. The first thing I watched on it was Avatar on BluRay, and the quality was simply beautiful. This television supports true 1080p HD resolution, and it takes full advantage of it. I also use it as a clone of my tertiary computer monitor (via HDMI), also set at 1080p resolution, making it amazing to watch streaming video from my PC. I haven't a single complaint with this television. The price is stellar, and I even got free shipping to home via a Wal-Mart promotion (it is also offered in Site-to-Store.) This is an excellent television and well worth the risk of an off-brand manufacturer.

Was this review helpful? (201) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TheOldDuke
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good TV for the price
9/16/2013

Customer review by iakshawk

4.0 stars by iakshawk

To summarize my long review for those that don't care to read all of it, the tv meets all my expectations, performs well, has many features of a nicer tv, but lacks a few specific features. Now for those that want details. I was shopping for cheap TV's for the first time and did not know what to expect. My previous TV was a Samsung, and I was very happy with it, but did not want to pay premium money this time around. I bought a cheap 32" from best buy, was not happy with it (sound issues), so I returned it and decided to do a little bit of an upgrade to this 39". The specs were better, but I was not sure about the brand and figured that it was 50/50 if I would return it. After setting it up and using it for about two weeks, I am confident that this TV will stay and will not be returned unless something unexpected happens. The picture quality is just as good as my Samsung for what I use it for (cable tv and chromecast streaming), and the sound is adequate (better than my returned best buy cheap tv, but not as good as my Samsung). Almost everything else about it I like: the case looks good, swivel base is a plus (but squeaky), plenty of inputs, a few interesting features, quick setup and channel scan (compared to other TV's I've had), and a reasonable remote with many options. This TV meets all of my expectations, but doesn't exceed them (except for the fact that it came with the phillips screwdriver to attach the base, and the driver was fairly high quality: that was a surprise). The things I don't like are pretty nitpicky. I don't like the location of the inputs on the back left side of the TV. I know that is a pretty standard place to put them, but they are too close to the edge so the cables are visible no matter what (the arrangement of my room doesn't help, but if there were some inputs on the back or if the side inputs were pushed a little further in towards the center it wouldn't be a problem). I also don't like the on screen displays. There is nothing wrong with them, they just seem a little low tech and dated. Another thing is that the swivel base is squeaky. I also wish that it had a time on/off feature, but that only seems to be something on higher end tv's, and I wish that the remote had an hdmi button (it has a tv and usb button that quickly takes you to those inputs, but I think most people use hdmi for most of their inputs). One other concern was that it was delivered laying flat. I used to think that they had to stay upright. I hope that doesn't lead to problems. Once again, overall good TV with all the basic features and everything seems to work well.

Was this review helpful? (206) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
iakshawk
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ok TV for the money
4/26/2012

Customer review by nbook

2.0 stars by nbook

I bought the TV as a Christmas gift, and it was great for about 3 months. After that, it developed a thin vertical line in the screen, and a 2-3" thick bar running horizontally along the bottom of the screen. I think for the money, it's a decent TV, just disappointed to have issues with it so soon. The people at Sceptre were pretty helpful in the warranty deparment. I had to send the TV back #which means either keep your box, or you have to get one sent from them#. Still waiting to get it back...estimating about a week or two. If anyone out there does have to send one back, just make sure to get them to send you a UPS lable. They don't offer it up unless you ask, but it will save you around $50 in shipping costs.

Was this review helpful? (334) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
nbook
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
As long as it works -- about 6 months...
8/1/2012

Customer review by OlderandWiserGranny

1.0 stars by OlderandWiserGranny

I thought I was being wise with my money when I bought the 40" Sceptre HDTV in March 2012. It was fairly easy to set up, and for a few months I was blissfully happy with it. Then it wouldn't turn on. Not with the remote; not with the on/off button, nothing. I followed the instructions in the book and still nothing. I bought new batteries for the remote, a new surge protector, and changed the outlet where it is plugged in. Still nothing. I go to the website and discover the technicians only work 7 hours a day, five days a week. I send an email. They say 'call us". I call - five times - before I get a live person, who cannot help me. That's their interpretation of 'customer service'. Finally I reach a technician who informs that I must box up my 40" TV and ship it to them AT MY EXPENSE for them to fix it. It will be gone for 4 to 5 weeks. I'm a 'senior citizen', partially disabled, and on a fixed income. How am I supposed to accomplish this? That is, according to the company, not their problem. If I want my TV fixed under its warranty, I have to pay to ship it to them, and let them have it for several weeks. I think Walmart should not carry this brand and I pity anyone who buys one. I have no clue how I will deal with this problem. I've wasted enough money on Sceptre brand and don't think I'll do anything with it. My advise: DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT FOR ANY REASON WHATSOEVER.

Was this review helpful? (179) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
OlderandWiserGranny
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sceptre 40 Class LCD HDTV
4/27/2012

Customer review by Donna967

5.0 stars by Donna967

Our neighbor bought the 32" and told us about his when our Sony went out. We investigated and, because of price, decided to try it. We just received our 40" Sceptre and love it! The color and sound are wonderful. It was easy to install to our cable box and presto, we had a picture. However, you have to read the manual to tweek the adjustments to get the picture just the way you want it. We went from a 55" Sony to this and think the picture is of better quality. Not missing the Sony at all. This satisfies our needs quite nicely!

Was this review helpful? (106) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Donna967
Sceptre 40
8/16/2013

Customer review by Justy39

5.0 stars by Justy39

This is a good tv. Sceptre is made by a company called Hitachi. This tv has a very good picture, but poor sound. You can adjust the sound and make it better. I set the treble at 2+ and bass 15+, the eq on Rock. AVL (auto volume level) off. Then it's not so bad sounding tv. But to make my tv sound better. I bought some PC speakers (Logitech Z130 3.5mm mini plug) from walmart and plugged them into the headphone jack of this tv. This turns off the tv internal speakers and uses the pc speakers instead. The tv remote, controls the sound with the pc speakers attached to the tv. You can also go the route and plug a stereo system to the rca outputs on the back of the tv. However, the tv remote will not control the volume through the rca plugs. You would need a remote for the stereo to control the sound levels. Otherwise, this tv is solid. Never had troubles with setting up. Or software issues with the tv freezing up or bugs. It's been a fantastic tv besides the sound area. Well worth it's price, if I had too. I would buy another one.

Was this review helpful? (63) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Justy39
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Great tv
8/15/2012

Customer review by Marie100

5.0 stars by Marie100

My husband and I bought this tv because it looked to be a good deal. As it turns out it was a great deal. It only costed $279, and it was very easy to set up.The stand is very sturdy. The picture is great, and the volume on the tv is pretty good. I really love the size of the tv.

Was this review helpful? (64) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Marie100
Belle Chasse, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV
7/1/2012

Customer review by Vannie24

4.0 stars by Vannie24

This was my first flat screen LCD tv and I love it I do not have HD on my cable package but the picture is awesome imagine if i had HD!!

Was this review helpful? (123) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Vannie24
Little Rock
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Stops working after a few months, pain to fix
5/13/2012

Customer review by Artemisabauer

1.0 stars by Artemisabauer

My husband and I bought this tv around the end of November, and it worked great. Until it didn't. We had our PS3 connected to it, and for some reason it would have a problem turning on with picture if you turned on the tv before the game console. Then, in March, it decided to stop showing picture completely, and will now just turn on, but that's about it. We did a little more research on this tv and found that we are one of thousands that this has happened to, and the warranty has a loop hole from the manufacturer, so you have to pay to get it fixed by the company itself. I do not recommend this tv, unless you want to spend 300 bucks for only a few months.

Was this review helpful? (90) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Artemisabauer
Jacksonville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
6/24/2012

Customer review by cu2213

5.0 stars by cu2213

Great..cheap..TV for our bedroom. It has a sharp picture..maybe as good as our 60" plasma. I would buy this one for my other rooms and so should you!! Great Value

Was this review helpful? (43) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
cu2213
Ill.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good and Cheap
4/22/2012

Customer review by DanielCt

5.0 stars by DanielCt

Great tv. The sound can be improved by a home theater or A soundbar

Was this review helpful? (69) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DanielCt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good TV for price, would buy again.
11/10/2013

Customer review by jdphotog

3.0 stars by jdphotog

I paid $249 for this TV and feel it was well worth the money. Let's face it, I didn't pay $1000 for it, and did not expect the quality to be up there with a $1000 TV. It's just fine for the price. After a few adjustments, I now have very nice picture quality. The sound is not good at all. It's actually very bad, so i lowered the volume all the way and use a sound bar (surround sound). It produces good quality sound with the bar. It only took a few minutes to hook up to the cable box, and my Netflix HD box, both via HDMI, and my sound bar via old style white/red cords. I had the TV up and running in under 5 minutes. The remote keys are not backlit, so watching TV at night with the lights off requires a light source to see what you're doing until you memorize the key's you use most. With regard to quality, It's not up there with my LG. I didn't expect it to be, but at 1/2 the price, it's just fine. Only time will tell how long it will last without issues.

Was this review helpful? (42) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jdphotog
Asbury Park, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Screen only 38.5 in
5/29/2012

Customer review by kiker127

5.0 stars by kiker127

I love this tv for the value. I bought it three weeks ago and hung it on my patio. I purchased the 3 yr warranty since it is an outside tv, but that was only $28.00 through Wal-mart. The only thing I can complain about is that it sells as a 40 inch tv, but the actual screen (diagonal measurement) is only 38.5 inches. Close enough...haha. Very Happy customer! If this tv lasts outside, I will buy more in the future. kiker127

Was this review helpful? (63) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
kiker127
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Decent picture quality poor sound
4/20/2012

Customer review by samsocal

3.0 stars by samsocal

picture quality is good. sound is poor. i recommend attaching external speakers. the tuner pulls in a lot of over-the-air stations. at 299.00 it's a decent buy.

Was this review helpful? (53) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
samsocal
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
WoW
4/28/2012

Customer review by kabab2222

5.0 stars by kabab2222

Got the 3 year extended warranty because I didn't expect much for the price,$299.00. WoW.Only 2 months in but I'm very impressed so far.Regular pic.is good & HD is very good.Sound is very good.Don't know why others didn't think so.I have more expensive tv's that don't sound this good.Side veiwing not so great,hence the swival base.Don't let 60 Hz scare you.No blur that I can see.Now have 2 and I love them.Hope they last a while.

Was this review helpful? (43) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
kabab2222
Lafayette La.
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Fantastic Large Screen TV
11/23/2013

Customer review by neededaphonesystem

5.0 stars by neededaphonesystem

I was a hesitant initially on the brand, but did notice many in offices, waiting rooms, so for the price I figured that someone had to make this brand. Received the set in two days, connected to my Directv HDMI and the picture was really good on HD 1080, would highly recommend this brand as an alternative to much higher price sets. The TV does the job at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (51) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
neededaphonesystem
Troy, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Secptre TV
4/24/2012

Customer review by Bondalayo

4.0 stars by Bondalayo

I took a chance on ordering this product online, they didn't have the actual TV in the store, so I could not compare it to another product. My expectation of this TV was on point and hooked to HDMI cable makes the TV clarity more crystal clear....It was shipped to the store before my actual delivery date...Good Job Walmart...I recommend this TV

Was this review helpful? (41) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Bondalayo
Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 1161 total reviews