Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1468 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1468 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1468 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
775
4 stars
443
3 stars
77
2 stars
61
1 stars
112
1-20 of 1163 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1163 total reviews
1-20 of 1163 reviews
Great TV and great company
12/1/2016

Customer review by lynn63

4.0 stars 12/1/2016 by lynn63
by lynn63

I bought this TV due to the price for what I wanted. My order came with a cracked screen, damaged in shipment. I bought direct from Scepter. I called and reported the problem, I sent it back, they sent me a new one. The new one is fine. Good picture and great sound.Everyone I have spoken to on the phone or did live chat with was very kind and very helpful. I like this company.

lynn63
Dexter, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great picture
12/18/2015

Customer review by Eleanor

5.0 stars 12/18/2015 by Eleanor
by Eleanor

My daughter in law helped me shop for a new TV and this is the brand she recommended. It has a great picture and I could not be happier.

Eleanor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Awesome!
12/18/2015

Customer review by Scarlsher

5.0 stars 12/18/2015 by Scarlsher
by Scarlsher

Love this tv, and all the features. Would recommend to anyone looking for a reliable tv

Scarlsher
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great TV Very reliable
11/28/2014

Customer review by TexasT

5.0 stars 11/28/2014 by TexasT
by TexasT

I have been using this TV for several years and have yet to find a better one anywhere even at a higher price until now, and just ordered the new U500CV-umk ultra hd model I've been waiting to come out. Love SCEPTRE and US too!

TexasT
The Colony, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Value and quality
1/12/2015

Customer review by Dadto5

5.0 stars 1/12/2015 by Dadto5
by Dadto5

The picture is crisp and bright. the sound can be adjusted (Dynamic setting works well) and is plenty loud for built-in speakers. Sceptre also makes a sound bar compatable with this TV and it's remote.

Dadto5
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Picture
4/4/2015

Customer review by grenard

5.0 stars 4/4/2015 by grenard
by grenard

I bought this TV in November and use it every day for about 8 hours. I have been very happy with it's performance. I use it as a monitor for my computer. It has performed flawlessly.

grenard
Dothan, AL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great TV
2/12/2015

Customer review by LBro

5.0 stars 2/12/2015 by LBro
by LBro

I purchased this tv for the size and price. I wasn't expecting all of the extra ports. I can hooked up the sound and to myy computer. Great sound. Easy setup. This was a great buy.

LBro
Detroit, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great Value for the Price
11/25/2014

Customer review by Average Joe

4.0 stars 11/25/2014 by Average Joe
by Average Joe

I really like this HDTV. The picture is really crisp and clear. The only issue so far is a little vibration when the volume is up high.

Average Joe
Upstate New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great TV
11/27/2014

Customer review by LBro

5.0 stars 11/27/2014 by LBro
by LBro

I love my sceptre tv. The color sound an size are perfect. It works great. Best investment in a TV i've made in a long time.

LBro
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Spectacular
2/12/2015

Customer review by NUMBER 1 granny

5.0 stars 2/12/2015 by NUMBER 1 granny
by NUMBER 1 granny

I am VERY PLEASED No problems!

NUMBER 1 granny
Philadelphia, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great TV
7/1/2012

Customer review by Vannie24

4.0 stars 7/1/2012 by Vannie24
by Vannie24

This was my first flat screen LCD tv and I love it I do not have HD on my cable package but the picture is awesome imagine if i had HD!!

Was this review helpful? (123) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vannie24
Little Rock
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good sound and picture for the low price paid
12/13/2013

Customer review by sibehusky

4.0 stars 12/13/2013 by sibehusky
by sibehusky
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I needed a slightly larger tv for my living space and chose this one over two others of nearly the same price. Some reviews said the sound is bad. Sceptre must have repaired this issue because my sound on this tv is excellent. Volume on 10 is perfect for my home. The volume will go as high as 100. My only issue is it appears the attachment for the antenna is crooked and I seem to be having reception problems. I already threw away packaging. Wondering if I must return due to the bent antenna connection. Otherwise I am happy with the television as far as picture and sound quality and I love the swivel stand on this television. It really is a good purchase for the money and all hook ups needed for modern technology are available on this television.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sibehusky
Camden SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great tv
8/15/2012

Customer review by Marie100

5.0 stars 8/15/2012 by Marie100
by Marie100

My husband and I bought this tv because it looked to be a good deal. As it turns out it was a great deal. It only costed $279, and it was very easy to set up.The stand is very sturdy. The picture is great, and the volume on the tv is pretty good. I really love the size of the tv.

Was this review helpful? (64) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marie100
Belle Chasse, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good TV for the price
9/16/2013

Customer review by iakshawk

4.0 stars 9/16/2013 by iakshawk
by iakshawk
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

To summarize my long review for those that don't care to read all of it, the tv meets all my expectations, performs well, has many features of a nicer tv, but lacks a few specific features. Now for those that want details. I was shopping for cheap TV's for the first time and did not know what to expect. My previous TV was a Samsung, and I was very happy with it, but did not want to pay premium money this time around. I bought a cheap 32" from best buy, was not happy with it (sound issues), so I returned it and decided to do a little bit of an upgrade to this 39". The specs were better, but I was not sure about the brand and figured that it was 50/50 if I would return it. After setting it up and using it for about two weeks, I am confident that this TV will stay and will not be returned unless something unexpected happens. The picture quality is just as good as my Samsung for what I use it for (cable tv and chromecast streaming), and the sound is adequate (better than my returned best buy cheap tv, but not as good as my Samsung). Almost everything else about it I like: the case looks good, swivel base is a plus (but squeaky), plenty of inputs, a few interesting features, quick setup and channel scan (compared to other TV's I've had), and a reasonable remote with many options. This TV meets all of my expectations, but doesn't exceed them (except for the fact that it came with the phillips screwdriver to attach the base, and the driver was fairly high quality: that was a surprise). The things I don't like are pretty nitpicky. I don't like the location of the inputs on the back left side of the TV. I know that is a pretty standard place to put them, but they are too close to the edge so the cables are visible no matter what (the arrangement of my room doesn't help, but if there were some inputs on the back or if the side inputs were pushed a little further in towards the center it wouldn't be a problem). I also don't like the on screen displays. There is nothing wrong with them, they just seem a little low tech and dated. Another thing is that the swivel base is squeaky. I also wish that it had a time on/off feature, but that only seems to be something on higher end tv's, and I wish that the remote had an hdmi button (it has a tv and usb button that quickly takes you to those inputs, but I think most people use hdmi for most of their inputs). One other concern was that it was delivered laying flat. I used to think that they had to stay upright. I hope that doesn't lead to problems. Once again, overall good TV with all the basic features and everything seems to work well.

Was this review helpful? (206) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iakshawk
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Screen only 38.5 in
5/29/2012

Customer review by kiker127

5.0 stars 5/29/2012 by kiker127
by kiker127

I love this tv for the value. I bought it three weeks ago and hung it on my patio. I purchased the 3 yr warranty since it is an outside tv, but that was only $28.00 through Wal-mart. The only thing I can complain about is that it sells as a 40 inch tv, but the actual screen (diagonal measurement) is only 38.5 inches. Close enough...haha. Very Happy customer! If this tv lasts outside, I will buy more in the future. kiker127

Was this review helpful? (63) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kiker127
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Fantastic Large Screen TV
11/23/2013

Customer review by neededaphonesystem

5.0 stars 11/23/2013 by neededaphonesystem
by neededaphonesystem
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was a hesitant initially on the brand, but did notice many in offices, waiting rooms, so for the price I figured that someone had to make this brand. Received the set in two days, connected to my Directv HDMI and the picture was really good on HD 1080, would highly recommend this brand as an alternative to much higher price sets. The TV does the job at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (51) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
neededaphonesystem
Troy, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
pretty satisfied
12/15/2013

Customer review by aggie36

4.0 stars 12/15/2013 by aggie36
by aggie36
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The tv looks great perfect size for gaming. You can customize the sharpness and brightness to make it look more crisp. The sound is pretty week so I suggested to buy a surrounded sound system or speakers. Overall cant go wrong with the price and size I am pretty satisfied

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aggie36
providence, ri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor quality
4/26/2012

Customer review by lawrence5876

2.0 stars 4/26/2012 by lawrence5876
by lawrence5876

when i received the t.v. the bow was very aged and i thought nothing of it. when you turn the t.v. on it takes about a minute to show you the picture. very often it will switch from HDMI 1 to A1 which is the basic cable if you have a coax cable running directly into the t.v. For me i don't since i use the HDMI and then you have to find the original remote that came with the thing or go up to the t.v. itself to switch it back to HDMI. The picture definitely does not seem to be a true 1080p. they could not even put their own label on the bottom of the t.v. on straight or centered. Just very poor quality.

Was this review helpful? (39) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lawrence5876
new york
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Pleasantly surprised
4/20/2012

Customer review by honeyspot07

4.0 stars 4/20/2012 by honeyspot07
by honeyspot07

I bought this TV a little over a month ago. Ordered it online and had it shipped to the store for free. I was sent a text upon its arrival. It arrived within the estimated window, and pick-up went smoothly. Set up was easy, even with my new BluRay player. I did mistakenly install the base backwards the first time (LOL). I did quite a bit of research and found that most of the complaints with this TV, (as well as most of the new flat screens), is with its sound quality. I too found that the sound quality was less than desirable. I tried all of the different settings and finally decided to go with my back-up plan, and I purchased a sound bar...and now I have absolutely no complaints. I feel like I got a great bargain...as I purchased the TV and the 2 yr Walmart (bumper to bumper, as I call it) protection plan, and STILL spent less than I would've on a well-known brand. Last week my 5 year old 32" Westinghouse started malfunctioning, so I made up my mind last night to buy the Sceptre 32" as a replacement.

Was this review helpful? (280) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
honeyspot07
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sceptre 40
8/16/2013

Customer review by Justy39

5.0 stars 8/16/2013 by Justy39
by Justy39

This is a good tv. Sceptre is made by a company called Hitachi. This tv has a very good picture, but poor sound. You can adjust the sound and make it better. I set the treble at 2+ and bass 15+, the eq on Rock. AVL (auto volume level) off. Then it's not so bad sounding tv. But to make my tv sound better. I bought some PC speakers (Logitech Z130 3.5mm mini plug) from walmart and plugged them into the headphone jack of this tv. This turns off the tv internal speakers and uses the pc speakers instead. The tv remote, controls the sound with the pc speakers attached to the tv. You can also go the route and plug a stereo system to the rca outputs on the back of the tv. However, the tv remote will not control the volume through the rca plugs. You would need a remote for the stereo to control the sound levels. Otherwise, this tv is solid. Never had troubles with setting up. Or software issues with the tv freezing up or bugs. It's been a fantastic tv besides the sound area. Well worth it's price, if I had too. I would buy another one.

Was this review helpful? (63) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Justy39
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 1163 total reviews
1-20 of 1163 reviews