Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 680 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

680 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

680 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
476
4 stars
136
3 stars
32
2 stars
22
1 stars
14
1-20 of 680 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 680 total reviews
1-20 of 680 reviews
Fast computer, but difficult setup
2/13/2013

Customer review by JimJM

4.0 stars 2/13/2013 by JimJM
by JimJM

I bought this computer for my business, which I run out of my home. I decided to go with HP because it offered many of the characteristics I wanted at a more reasonable price than most of the competitors. The delivery was pretty slow. It took over 3 weeks for the computer to be built and delivered. I wasn't in a rush, so that wasn't a problem. If someone needs it more quickly, however I wouldn't recommend this. I am fairly proficient at setting up a new computer, but since I hadn't had to do it in a couple of years, there were some new things that I had to acclimate myself with. With that said, the instructions that came with the computer were scant. The instructions that did come with the computer were basic symbols, with no written explanations. There were several cables that came with the computer that had no explanation given for their purpose. I still haven't figured out what they are, and I'm not sure if I have them plugged in to the correct ports on the back of the computer.

JimJM
Adirondacks, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Desktop! Highly Recommend
4/10/2012

Customer review by equinemassage

5.0 stars 4/10/2012 by equinemassage
by equinemassage

This desktop was all that I expected and more. I bought it because my old Dell Laptop was way out dated and I could no longer work with my photos and play my game on it. This one plays my game to perfection and stays cool. The HD is great for working with my pictures, I can see a big difference between it and my laptop. The speed is amazing, compared to my little laptop which only has a 1.6ghz processor in it, this desktop is lightning fast! I love all the room the 1TB hard drive gives me. Overall I believe I made a great decision in purchasing this laptop. I had been looking into purchasing an iMac, but this HP is so much more affordable and it is a better all around computer. I highly recommend this PC to anyone, It is easy to set up, except for the removal I had to do of all the junk they fill computers with now, but all that did was take some time. That is the only complaint I have and it really isn't toward this PC so much as every PC seems to come this way. Thumbs up for this computer!!

equinemassage
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
sweet spot
10/10/2012

Customer review by nola43

5.0 stars 10/10/2012 by nola43
by nola43

I hadn't bought a new desktop for 8 years so this was a big step forward. I like the SSD, and the fast boot-up makes the reboots when setting up the computer more bearable. Liked the surprise inclusion of HP's pdf software - both reads and creates .pdf files from other software or a bunch of .pdf files. Why right-click doesn't get you copy from selected text bewilders me, however. Made use of the wireless capability to network with the old computer for file transfer, a nice feature, but I didn't set it for automatic connect to my router because eventually I'll use the wired lan since it's there. Spent quite a bit of time trying to understand why I couldn't see the other computer on the next session before realizing that I hadn't explicitly connected. Bought one like it for the office. Didn't find a "what's in the box" list or really good description of the ports on the back, for example, to understand what I needed to get to set it up such as the VGA dongle that was included.

nola43
New Orleans
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
My Second Desktop I Purchased for myself
2/12/2012

Customer review by MrAwesome

5.0 stars 2/12/2012 by MrAwesome
by MrAwesome

I have always been a fan of HP and this is why I only purchase from HP. This Computer does all that I have always wanted a computer to do. Play HI Quality Movies with no lagging, Allows me to edit Photos and videos and create animation without freezing or slow down, and it's really fast with starting up Applications. It only takes 50 seconds from button pressed to having me logged into my account. I Love this computer so much I'm running it with 24gb of RAM(Which is max), I'm also using my personal NVidia Quadro 4000 Graphics card, and i7 990x processor to get the full performance I can. I'm not even overclocking or setting it to high power states for better performance. I feel that my computer is the best personal Desktop in the world right now. Sure I can upgrade the graphics card but I'll dread the day for the release of an i9 processor or a better motherboard that carries more then 24gb of RAM in a personal Desktop. I'm really wishing that these things don't release til the next 5- 10 years.

MrAwesome
Jersey City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Solid Buy
4/25/2012

Customer review by FreeRadical

4.0 stars 4/25/2012 by FreeRadical
by FreeRadical

This is the second HP Pavilion HPE h8m I've purchased this year. My custom built Cyberpower PC's EVGA motherboard recently failed. So I purchased this second machine (my fifth HP). It's a very quiet and cool running tower. Attractive design, with a sweet 6-core AMD CPU. The case is a little tight for space, but it is well designed. My son's Compaq Desktop is over 7 years old, so I expect this computer to last much longer than my liquid-cooled Cyberpower. Now, what could be improved? Well boot times could be shorter. I almost bought the Lenovo for this reason. They make their boot times shorter through something they call Lenovo Enhanced Experience 2.0. This can be done without expensive SSD's. And although I expect a longer lasting experience from this motherboard, I am disappointed that it doesn't recognize my old hard drive's Windows XP operating system (allowing me to dual boot). Bottom line though is you won't find a faster, more solidly built PC for the money out there anywhere. Good job HP!

FreeRadical
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Close to Perfect
7/2/2012

Customer review by Sanman

5.0 stars 7/2/2012 by Sanman
by Sanman

Have had the h8-1240t for about a month and agree with all of the aclades in other reviews. I almost didn't buy this computer because I thought it didn't have USB3 ports or ethernet port located at the back. It wasn't in the specification so I called HP and confirmed that it had both. Also was suprised to find that the hard drive mounted inside is SATA III (6 GB/sec) so called HP again and asked about the controller. Was somewhat disappointed to find the controller was SATA II. Noted that Norton Anti-virus was ready to install even though it was not checked as something I wanted. The Norton pop up came up even after I installed my own anti-virus program. In addition there was no way of closing the pop up without going to the Task Manager to shut it down. PLEASE HP allow customers to have a choice. The computer has so many excellant features that the Norton pop up was a small annoyance. I highly recommend this computer because of the quality and high perfromance/price ratio.

Sanman
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
RAW POWER!
12/31/2011

Customer review by Beardawg

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by Beardawg
by Beardawg

I had heard a lot about Dual Core PC's and just began to hear some about Quad Cores. Now I have a Six Core PC! I can't wait til I learn how to use Windows 7 and it's features. I have been using XP for the past 4 years, so don't know much about WIN 7. But it already blows everything away that I have seen. Super fast and I ordered the 1MB optional HDMI DIVX, VGA adapter. It's a must if you have a home theater with a flat screen TV with HDMI inputs. Just one cable and you're connected. My sub-woofer still isn't working with it yet, but it's probably a driver, cable, connection problem or something that I just haven't found the solution yet. I could just call HP, and probably will, but I would like to figure it out myself first. There's just so much to learn, I really haven't got to it, yet. I worked and retired from the IT industry and HP has always been at the top of the list of preferred vendors among my professional IT colleagues and my friends personal choice. Better get ya one! :)...............Bear

Beardawg
San Angelo, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Overall top performer at affordable price
1/22/2012

Customer review by Homebody

5.0 stars 1/22/2012 by Homebody
by Homebody

I was impressed with the makeup of this computer...I'll never fill up the TB harddrive and the 6 processors is nice to have for a multitasker. The 3.3ghz speed is competitive with other computers out there so I don't expect any slowdowns in the future. The setup was easy, I just had to follow along with the instructions on the screen. Only complaint I have is that I ordered a wireless card to be built in so I didn't have to run a cable to the router, however the wireless card seems to be too weak to reach my router (I'm upstairs, the router is downstairs, i live in a 900 sqft house... go figure) If you're in a one level apartment the cheapest wireless card should work for you, however, if you live in a house I would opt for the higher level wioreless card or you will have problems when it comes to downloading files or playing on internet games. Other than the wireless card, I have not had any probems with this computer. Consider this a great buy at a great price.

Homebody
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Too much useless fluffware
9/24/2012

Customer review by CockatooRanch

3.0 stars 9/24/2012 by CockatooRanch
by CockatooRanch

The computer started up and ran fine as expected. HP is still loading the machines with too much useless junk, goofy kids games, services I will never use and an annoying new HP desktop that makes me nauseous. It is cluttered with notes and little cutesy animal images and everything has inertia. If you slide anything on the screen it keeps moving and overshoots where you want it. If I wanted an Apple lookalike desktop I'd have bought an Apple. At least that doesn't run itself on startup. I still use a dialup account and setting that up was a trial. I managed to get logged in once mostly by accident since the instructions are vague and sparce. Also I needed an IEEE1394 port which was not offered. I had picked up an interface card to install but the motherboard had only one PCI slot and that was used. There were two PCIE slots and my card didn't fit. No information on HP site about card slot availability. It's a good enough machine but it's going to take a lot of time to clean out and get set up the way I want it.

CockatooRanch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Full-featured speedster
5/27/2012

Customer review by AlandGert

4.0 stars 5/27/2012 by AlandGert
by AlandGert

This is a sleek, full-featured, and lightning fast product. Another review somewhere else said the red glow from the CPU was confusing - funny, we find it to be striking and dramatic. Set up was pretty easy. Data transfer was pretty smooth, though moving some older programs to Windows 7 may be a bit more problematic. Love the new USB 3.0 inputs for future product/uses. To customize, we found particular value in upgrading/adding: a little faster processor (to I5-2400); a bit more RAM (to 8GB); maximizing USB inputs in both front and rear for versatility/convenience; a wireless LAN; and, a TV tuner (to allow continued use with a DirecTV receiver for split-screen viewing). This would have been a hands-down five star rating, but for the persistent disk failures when trying to burn recovery disks. We'll try using a flash drive. Based on our new computer, our past experiences with HP products and support after the sale, we would recommend both this HPE h8 unit and the customizing (CTO) process. Well done once again, HP!!

AlandGert
Spokane WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Bang for the Buck
7/24/2012

Customer review by Alf33

4.0 stars 7/24/2012 by Alf33
by Alf33

This machine is a great "bang for the buck". Dollar for dollar it's hard to beat it. The performance is real good (there's always a better performing machine out there if you want to pay for it). It had all of the features (hardware wise) I wanted. The only thing more it could have had is a little more memory. Plus it an attractive machine. I didn't give it a 5 star overall rating because I don't care for the soft touch keyboard. It's keys are too mushy for me and the "0" on the side number keypad seems to stick every now and then. Also I could have done without the bloatware. I didn't need the trial of Norton or even the Adobe Photoshop Elements 10. I've had Elements before and found it very hard to learn and use. I wish I could have had had these removed before hand but they couldn't. Also there are some other smaller programs I don't want or use that I removed. Even with these items this is a machine you absolutely must give high consideration to.

Alf33
Chesapeake, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Excellent computer!
6/26/2011

Customer review by DudeFromOrlandoFL

5.0 stars 6/26/2011 by DudeFromOrlandoFL
by DudeFromOrlandoFL

Overall: An incredible computer that has handled everything I wanted it to and more. Pros: - Excellent performance. It's fast, and it runs everything I throw at it. This includes the Adobe CS5 Master collection, as well as various audio production programs I use. - It has lots of ports so I never have to compromise on my external devices (I opted for the extra USB ports/card reader stuff) - Runs games like Portal 2, Starcraft 2, Team Fortress 2, etc. without a hitch. I wasn't expecting super performance because I only picked the ATI Radeon HD 6670. I was pleasantly surprised to learn that I could run these games on max settings at max resolution on the 23" monitor I purchased with this desktop. Cons: - HP bloatware that is installed on it by default is annoying. I would recommend using a program like Revo Uninstaller or PC Decrapifier to remove the useless HP offerings for software. Either that or just install a fresh copy of Windows if you're good with that sort of thing. Verdict: Buy this computer. You won't regret it.

DudeFromOrlandoFL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top of the line processor for home PC
3/14/2012

Customer review by 2WasteNot

5.0 stars 3/14/2012 by 2WasteNot
by 2WasteNot

Processor and memory great! I didn't think the internet connection speed for browsing would improve this much ! Set up was fairly easy. Great to have wireless output to printer. Is this more computer power than what's needed for playing around and doing business applications at home ? Yes. Do I regret having so much computer speed ? No. Not for a nano second. The only item I can envision upgrading in the future is the graphics card. But right now, I'm very content with the way things are on the PC.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2WasteNot
Tustin, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Upgrade
9/22/2011

Customer review by Axel

5.0 stars 9/22/2011 by Axel
by Axel

This PC is faster than I expected, with regard to opening programs, browsing the Internet, and starting/shutting down the PC. Start up and shutdown are both less than 25 seconds. So far using for home business applications, email, and Internet. Wanted a quad-core I-5 processor, and this basic one is plenty fast for me. Was pleasantly surprised to find the PC came with (2) USB 3.0 ports, in case I need these in the future. The premium wireless card I ordered with it works great also. Like the premium keyboard that came with it. All of the applications that I wanted to load on it did load fine. My only complaint is that I could not get phone support for helping me with printer drivers for two HP printers I have, which are out of warranty. After a few tries to phone support, they directed me to email support, and they were very helpful in getting the correct printer drivers and confirming they were installed correctly when I was done.

Axel
Cary, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
5/27/2012

Customer review by HiryuTheGreat

4.0 stars 5/27/2012 by HiryuTheGreat
by HiryuTheGreat

This PC is a step up from the Acer laptop I've had for 7 years. It's a great PC with tons of power and the option to upgrade parts as necessary. The 8gigs of RAM is a great start for most high end programs and PC games. Visually, games and movies look outstanding and thus far, I've not had any problem. My only complaint is that it includes Norton Anti-virus and it's a very difficult program to remove. I prefer to use Comodo and it would be nice to see a computer company embrace the top rated antivirus program that is, of course, free. Norton has never been an outstanding program worth paying for; neither is McAfee. Other than that, this computer was worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HiryuTheGreat
Kenly, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
We Just Love HP
8/24/2012

Customer review by McGillFamily

5.0 stars 8/24/2012 by McGillFamily
by McGillFamily

The first computer we had lasted 13 years all original parts, Thank you HP. This new HP is just wonderful and the people at the help center try very hard to accommodate you in every way. So far so good with this new unit. We have just had the new computer a few day's and it was up and running in a few hours. Fast ...Fast...Fast... is all I can say. We say to the person looking for a new computer, Please look HP's way you will not be sorry! If you decide to look at the other name brands it will be at your own ( RISK) HP backs up all there products in every way so far with my family and have made us feel like part of the family at HP. From the first call to the last call they have been very helpful to our family.. Thank you HP for all the great service so far and thank you for the beautiful desktop your family made just for us! Your's truly The McGill Family ( We will update in a few weeks about your wonderful products )

McGillFamily
WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Extremely good value
3/23/2012

Customer review by Artifex

5.0 stars 3/23/2012 by Artifex
by Artifex

In general I have been very pleased with HP products. Besides my recent purchase of an HP Pavilion HPE h8qe, I have a Pavilion DV6-6190 I7 Quad core and an older Duo Core HP laptop as well. Next to other computers I have owned personally and used at work I find the workmanship and reliability to be quite high. I shopped around quite a bit looking for a system to meet the requirements of a very a demanding set of applications; Corel Painter 12 and Photoshop CS5. The six-core i7 with 16GB memory turned out to be a great combination and quite a performer. Moreover, I discovered that by buying a customized system with all the upgrades I needed through HP was the best choice I could make. Rather than buying a bargain computer and then upgrading, or even building a system myself, this choice saved me both time and money. Not only was it easy to get what I wanted, my computer was delivered weeks before I expected.

Artifex
Lake Forest CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
You hear nothing, I mean nothing!!!!!
4/15/2012

Customer review by Chughorse

5.0 stars 4/15/2012 by Chughorse
by Chughorse

I've only had it for a week. I thought it would be click and it would have the next page loaded, but I haven't noticed that it was that fast. I must say it feels like all that is in the room with you is the keyboard and monitor. No noise from anything, seems spooky comparing to old machines. I find the customizing is only what Microsoft will let you use. If there is a way to put my own pictures as wallpaper I haven't found it yet. Now you can use your pictures for screen savers. I'm new to Windows 7 but so far I think I will enjoy it more and more. It seems to me windows is windows don't care to much about the number that comes with it. For the most part the look is different and the end results seem to be one or two steps longer. You just have to learn the new road that you traveled for years to get to the same destination. All in all I like it and hope to really enjoy it in the future.

Chughorse
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
good choice
4/13/2011

Customer review by MrRoberts

4.0 stars 4/13/2011 by MrRoberts
by MrRoberts

I needed to replace my ailing and old Sony laptop. It served me well for 5 years. I chose this unit from HP. I did not really want another laptop, I intended to continue using the old Sony during classes and formal dances in additon to backup storage. I wanted something up to date. This unit with 6 gigs ram, 1gig video, i-5 quad core, dual 500gig-raid 0, usb 3.0, optical sound out and bluetooth (I did not know these came added) proved to be a good choice. I don't think the i-7 would be much faster (I do music editing and teach ballroom dancing). System and software boot is fast and stable so far using "Home Premium". I plugged the sound into my Sony theater system and wow. Also don't forget a good set of headphones. Also don't forget a good set of headphones. Along with this I added the 23" 2310E monitor. Outstanding color, richness etc. I was worried about the glossy or clear suface if you will, other reviewers did not like the glare or reflection surface. All I can say is that unless you have window light shining right on the screen it wouldn't be a problem. This is a great monitor.

MrRoberts
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Performance Challenged
1/29/2012

Customer review by kwicksilver

2.0 stars 1/29/2012 by kwicksilver
by kwicksilver

First,I've used HP since 1995 and each computer was better than the last and I never had any problems and was always pleased..Not so with my new "Hi Performance" HPE h8t. This is the most disappointing product I think I have ever got,and not what I expected from HP. Besides the flimsy build and the lackluster beats audio, the fact it uses 64 bit OSs renders it useless for most older CAD,Graphics,Design and game software. The claim that you can run most XP programs on it is why I choose Win 7 PRO instead of Home Premium that I use on my laptop.Ironically XP programs that run on the lap top won't even install on this. After much research prior to purchase I expected to lose some programs,but this is way more than what that research indicted.To be fair,HP isn't responsible for the OS,but they need to be more up front about how limited 64 bit is at this time. I've purchased 15 or more HP computers for friends, family and myself.This is the first letdown.And it's a biggy. Almost 20 years of satisfaction till now and I won't let one instance alter that,but this is not my idea of Hi Performance.

kwicksilver
Washington State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 680 total reviews
1-20 of 680 reviews