Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 549 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

549 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

549 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
302
4 stars
155
3 stars
42
2 stars
24
1 stars
26
1-20 of 454 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 454 total reviews
1-20 of 454 reviews
7/12/2016

Customer review by Al

4.0 stars 7/12/2016 by Al
by Al

This my 3rd Dell computer and I have not had any problems. I am not a computer expert but found I am able to complete any and all of my tasks. Just completed changing over to Microsoft 10 and it works out fine. Would not hesitate to stay with Dell unit in the future if I wanted to.

Al
Inspiron 660
7/12/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/12/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have been very happy with this desk top machine. It was ordered online and had it customized for my taste. This was a wise decision.

An anonymous customer
POOR OPERATION EXCUTION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
7/12/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 7/12/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I now have to reboot (i.e.) unplug the system from the wall to get it to operate.

An anonymous customer
7/12/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 7/12/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

excellent extremely good .

An anonymous customer
Dell Inspiron 660 is Quiet and Fast!
12/10/2012

Customer review by TallBill2

5.0 stars 12/10/2012 by TallBill2
by TallBill2

Pros: Since this system has an Intel i5 processor (4 processors), it is extremely fast compared to my old system (766 MHz Pentium III machine). It boots up to the login screen in 15 seconds and I am up and running applications in about 1 minute! Even after adding a 2nd internal hard disk drive, this machine makes no noise at all. Cons: The Dell Support Center (web app) is not a re-sizeable window, and lacks much of a border, making it hard to see sometimes. Also, attempts to get answers leaves you feeling like you are going in circles. The support web site does not recognize my Service Tag. Another big beef of mine is that there no CD-ROMs or DVD-ROMs for the software (Windows 8 and Office 2010) that was installed on the system I purchased. You have to use the Dell Backup and Recovery utility to create your own backup disks, but this event typically occurs a week or 2 after you have already had the system and I think you have to upgrade to the Pro version of the software (I don't know the cost yet).

TallBill2
Cypress, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cheap computer that can run modern games.
6/27/2012

Customer review by Experiment

4.0 stars 6/27/2012 by Experiment
by Experiment

My review will mostly be about gaming. If you can't afford an alien ware computer but you still want to play game such as Assassin's creed, skyrim or MW3 then this is a good computer. i had no problem running assassin's creed on high graphic however when playing skyrim i had to set the resolution to the lowest in order to play without any problem. However i personally think there is too much applications that are installed by dell already I had to uninstall plenty of useless application in order to run my computer.it takes so long for it to start up because of that. All this applications running all at the same time when you start your computer isn't really nice. On the other hand, the design is really nice even though i chose the black color. The USB port at the front are really useful. I would not recommend this computer to a beginner but if you know how to manage your application and uninstall some of them then this computer is great.

Experiment
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Solid Value
8/31/2012

Customer review by BahbW

4.0 stars 8/31/2012 by BahbW
by BahbW

Pros This is a well built machine. I got the Core i5 with 8GB RAM and 2TB hard drive and there is definitely a lot of room to grow into. Having the built in HDMI and Wireless is nice! Cons Do yourself a favor and upgrade from the base keyboard. The keyboard that is included features laptop style chicklet keys instead of full keys. My keyboard also featured a space bar that would squeak if you hit it with your left thumb (but not if you hit it with your right thumb). Since I'm a lefty this got annoying really quickly. I gave up and ditched the included keyboard for a Logitech K260 which I purchased separately. The built in sound is rather basic and insufficient to run my old 5.1 speaker system, so I'll be upgrading the sound soon. If you have basic speakers, the built in sound is probably sufficient. If you an audiophile, you'll want to upgrade the sound. Review There's a lot of value to be found here with an affordable price tag. However, don't be afraid to visit the add-ons section when you configure yours. You'll be glad you did.

BahbW
Joliet, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
660 i5 Desktop in Florida
1/7/2013

Customer review by ABEMAN

5.0 stars 1/7/2013 by ABEMAN
by ABEMAN

I replaced an old Dell 2400 desktop with the Dell 660 Desktop with an i5 processor, 8 Meg of Ram and 1 gig hard drive. I still plan to use the old Dell as a stand alone game computer for the kids to play with. First of all the price was excellent and with the free shipping and free McAfee, it was a no brainer. After a month of use, I find the computer is extremely fast, and especially quiet in all aspects its operation. The setup was fairly easy to do and Windows 8 perhaps has too many features. However, I am disappointed with the lack of free software such as an PDF acrobat reader. And I had to find a USB to retrofit the parallel port that is now missing from the computer. Also the computer should have more available USB ports. My keyboard, mouse and backup hard drive take up three right of the bat. The front USB ports are a bit tight fitted. I am using a USB Hub but not all devices work on it. The Pros are the value, overall speed and internet speed. The cons are a need for more USB ports and lack of free software such as a PDF reader.

ABEMAN
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very satisfied customer so far
12/15/2012

Customer review by Gordon2002

5.0 stars 12/15/2012 by Gordon2002
by Gordon2002

Have only had this computer for a couple days, but I wanted to submit a review to say that I am very happy with this computer. It is very quiet, fast, and a big improvement over my old Dell Windows Vista computer. I was sort of hesitant about going to Windows 8, but it is really not that complicated, but then I am an advanced computer guy. I can see where someone not so computer savy could have trouble. In just 2 days time I had the new computer & monitor up and running and all my files transferred from the old computer. Of course that was all day for 2 days (retired). Probably the best good comment is how fast it boots up compared to my old computer. Right now I can't really think of any cons. I have had Dell computers for about 15-20 years now and the only negative thing was that I had to replace a DVD/CD RW drive in one of them after it went dead. I would recommend Dell computers very strongly to everyone.

Gordon2002
Statesville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Inspiron 660
4/19/2016

Customer review by Tiddles

4.0 stars 4/19/2016 by Tiddles
by Tiddles

In the time that I have my Dell Inspiron I have found it very reliable and of a good quality. I am so pleased with it, that my next computer will also be a Dell.

Tiddles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Strong and Steady
4/14/2016

Customer review by Jay

4.0 stars 4/14/2016 by Jay
by Jay

We have had zero issues with this pc in the 4 years we've owned it. Software is another story....automatic upgrade to Windows 10 from 7 that we didn't authorize, but that's not the PC's fault. Strong and steady is exactly how I would describe this PC.

Jay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Inspiron 660
4/10/2016

Customer review by Bruce R

5.0 stars 4/10/2016 by Bruce R
by Bruce R

I have had this Inspiron 660 for four years now....during that time I have had no problems at all . Originally it came with Windows 8 and I upgraded to Windows 7 now it is Windows 10....the upgrades were seemless and no problems at all. The computer is a great workhorse and I would recommend it.

Bruce R
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My Dell Experience
4/9/2016

Customer review by Kathy

4.0 stars 4/9/2016 by Kathy
by Kathy

Before my Dell, I had several other well known PCs. In fact, at one time, I owned a Dell before purchasing my Inspiration 660. Not a computer in ths world that does not have its own mind, but the Dell is much more reliable and dependable. I would recommend it. Now, don't ask me about Windows 10!!!!

Kathy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So far it's everything and more than I expected!
12/13/2012

Customer review by dieselbgood

5.0 stars 12/13/2012 by dieselbgood
by dieselbgood
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a very fast computer. The only thing is that it could have come with a wireless mouse, since it's set up for one, and I don't understand why they don't make desktop keyboards lighted like laptops are.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dieselbgood
locust grove, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
unicorns
4/14/2016

Customer review by dot

1.0 stars 4/14/2016 by dot
by dot

unable to play audio after computer turns on from power save

dot
Would recommend to a friend? No
Superb
5/19/2012

Customer review by TessGoodman

5.0 stars 5/19/2012 by TessGoodman
by TessGoodman

I have ordered at least 10 Dell PC's for myself, friends and family over the years. I've also been an IT tech for 13 years. I got my new Inspiron 620 through Dell Outlet and I could not be happier. It is without a doubt the QUIETEST computer I have ever come into contact with - and I've worked on a LOT of computers. It's so quiet you'll question whether it's even running. And, it's FAST! Set up was a breeze, it connected immediately to my wireless network & the BEST thing is it came without a ton of bloatware on it. In the past, I've been accustomed to reformatting a new computer's hard drive & reinstalling a clean OS to rid myself of bloatware -- not necessary with this machine & that has saved me a lot of time. Dell is my first choice for new computer purchases, and this is just the latest example of why. All of my purchases from Dell have been problem free, great experiences. Thank you, Dell.

TessGoodman
Wichita, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
SOME ISSUES
3/26/2016

Customer review by Mac

1.0 stars 3/26/2016 by Mac
by Mac

Over all I like all the features that the Inspiron 660 offers but I think the issue I'm have maybe with the software and not the hardware (?) I've had this unit for less than a week and it continues to lock up, the picture freezes and the response to comandes are real slow. Not sure what the issues are but it is starting to get on my nerves...

Mac
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good performance, VERY quiet!
1/29/2014

Customer review by LarryB34695

5.0 stars 1/29/2014 by LarryB34695
by LarryB34695

I was replacing an older Dell Optiplex system that was still good, but the Windows XP on it was going to become a problem. As a techie, I wanted Windows 7 instead of Windows 8, and Dell offered that on this unit. I don't really push a PC processor very hard, but I do a ton of multi-tasking, so this unit, with a more modest processor but 8GB of memory, fit the bill. Plus, having 8 USB ports (and lots of those being USB 3.0) was a very good thing. Initial impressions have been very good. First off, the unit is wonderfully quiet...a great thing for a PC that I leave on 24/7. It is quiet enough that when I walk in the room, I can't tell until I move the mouse whether if it is screen blanked, or is in Sleep mode! Performance is very good; boot speeds are impressive, and a few things, like video conversions, have surprised me with their speed. Lastly, it didn't come with a lot of bloatware that would be a pain to remove...THANK YOU, DELL! I didn't want the McAfee they loaded (I prefer Norton), but removing that was straightforward. All in all, this was a very good PC for a very good price.

LarryB34695
Safety Harbor, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dell and me
3/16/2016

Customer review by Mel

4.0 stars 3/16/2016 by Mel
by Mel

Most if not all my problems using the Dell computer have been software related, not hardware related

Mel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
You can't beat Dell
3/16/2016

Customer review by Zekesdad

3.0 stars 3/16/2016 by Zekesdad
by Zekesdad

This is my first Dell product. I have had all the other big name brands in the past

Zekesdad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 454 total reviews
1-20 of 454 reviews