Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 27 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

27 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

27 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
5
1-20 of 24 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews
Very unstable, would not recommend
9/12/2012

Customer review by MrLall

2.0 stars 9/12/2012 by MrLall
by MrLall

We bought two kayaks, this 8' one for my wife (5' 2") thinking the shorter one would be better and I got the WaterQuest Aruba 10' Kayak for myself (5' 11") The 8' has no footpegs and no seat back, its also much taller, so the combination of these 3 things makes it very unstable. This flips over and wobbles too easily and since its taller, its top heavy and its uncomfortable to paddle with as you have to raise your arms too high. With the adjustable foot pegs on the 10' that we got, she can use this one fine, no problems. I would stay away from this one, its the cheapest for a reason

Was this review helpful? (18) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrLall
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
VERY HAPPY WITH IT!!!
6/16/2012

Customer review by CaliCath

4.0 stars 6/16/2012 by CaliCath
by CaliCath

Walmart went above and beyond to get my kayak to me sending it UPS freight in a big transport! It came with a paddle that I wasn't expecting. I'm female, 5'3" and I was able to carry it at least 200 feet to the water. The construction is sturdy, plastic seems thick. If a person is quite overweight, then shifting around might be an issue. I read the only other review and don't agree. The kayak was easy to keep straight, I went straight as an arrow. When I first got into it, the first 20 seconds I wasn't sure how stable it was, but I was also shifting around. It fits in my my car (hatchback-with seats down) and sticks out a smidge. It has enabled me to get to lakes and enjoy nature. This morning I was out on the lake bright and early and it was pure heaven! I've had canoeing experience, but this was my first time out in a kayak. It's solid, Not tippy Well Constructed Easy to carry if you put it on one shoulder and find a hand position on the inside. (I'm getting a little sponge for my shoulder though. Just to make it even better. (pictures to come)

Was this review helpful? (43) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CaliCath
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Little Boat
4/27/2012

Customer review by oldhermit

5.0 stars 4/27/2012 by oldhermit
by oldhermit

This is my first kayak, so I have no real comparison. I have paddled canoes and inflatables. I want everyone to know this is a very very basic kayak no dry storage, foot braces, or even deck bungee, or padded seats for those creature comforts except the foot braces you need to look for the cayman ss same boat but with extras. What attracted me to this one was 27 lbs and the length of 8'. My intended purpose was to be able to carry it to my fishing holes that are a good walk and include some steep hills, and this little boat was perfect for that. Now for my experience with it. Despite its short length there is a surprising amount of leg room I am 5'7" and can stretch my legs out even with my tackle box in front of my feet it is about as stable as a canoe this is the first kayak I have ever been in and have had it out 4 times so far and caught several fish out of it and never felt like it would tip. There is a small keel running the length of it and it seems to work very well the first time i was in it there was some wag but as my paddle technique is improving it is becoming much easier to keep straight. I can get it to move along at a pretty good clip fast enough for it to push water and make a small wake and it will glide for a good distance. In conclusion I'm sure there are vastly Superior kayaks on the market but at this price range the WQ Cayman is hard to beat I recomend it highly. I will be adding a few things a deck kit, an anchor cleat, and a couple of flush mount rod holders, and some cushioning tor the seat, but I am very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (118) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oldhermit
Beckley WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Inexpensive Kayak
8/6/2013

Customer review by juicy48

1.0 stars 8/6/2013 by juicy48
by juicy48
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very inexpensive price, especially including a paddle for $200. We bought two. The Kayaks are fairly well built and comfortable. However, my wife and I both found them to be too "tipsy". I own six other kayaks, and have extensive experience in many types and sizes of kayaks. We were looking for a pair of very short kayaks that would fit inside of our van and on our motorboat. I found that the "initial stability" of this kayak to be "poor", and unfortunately, it's secondary stability was also "poor". This kayak "tracks" and paddles well for its size. I weigh 180 pounds. It may be suitable for a smaller person, or someone who doesn't mind "tipsy". We returned our 2 kayaks to Walmart for a refund. The customer service staff was pleasant and attempted to be helpful, but the process was long and difficult because of the inability of the staff to get the computer to accept the return. Finally a senior manager had to use his executive "powers" to refund our money. It took about 45 minutes. There were many frustrated people in the line behind us.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
juicy48
Port Orchard
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to handle; nice kayak for the price
6/7/2012

Customer review by skayfox

4.0 stars 6/7/2012 by skayfox
by skayfox

I was pleasantly surprised when the kayak arrived and included a paddle. The paddle was actually nicer than the one that I had ordered separately. The size and weight of this kayak are ideal for an individual to handle. I was able to lift it and put it on top of my car without any problems. There is plenty of room in the cockpit for a dry bag, the paddlers legs, and probably fishing gear. The seat is also comfortable. I would have like it if the kayak had been just a little more stable but I can fix that and have the perfect boat for my area.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
skayfox
Greensboro, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good lightweight kayak
10/1/2013

Customer review by Paddlinggeezer

4.0 stars 10/1/2013 by Paddlinggeezer
by Paddlinggeezer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the only kayak that I found that has a weight limit this high (260 lbs) but weighs less than 28 lbs. It is only 8 feet long so it is less stable than longer kayaks weighing more, and it takes a little time to get used to, but is ideal for calm waters. I recently had shoulder surgery, but I can still easily throw this on the top of my car with some foam and 2 straps when I have a spare hour to go down to a local lake. It is a basic kayak with no seat padding or foot pegs and can cause back fatigue after awhile, but those are the trade-offs for a lightweight, inexpensive kayak. I am 60 years old, 5' 10" and weigh 200 and the kayak fits me well. If you are a beginner, a short distance paddler, and/or weight-lifting challenged, I would recommend this kayak. It was just what I wanted. I would recommend a foam placemat on the seat to prevent sliding in a slippery bathing suit.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Paddlinggeezer
Dracut, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Kayak Excellent value, Hassle proof
8/12/2012

Customer review by Aubie101

5.0 stars 8/12/2012 by Aubie101
by Aubie101

I purchased this Kayak because of the size. I did not want to have a Kayak that needed two people to lift . At 8 Feet it fits into my Ford Focus hatchback with the seats down. Just spent a week using it on Cape Cod on the pond near our campsite. It was great fun. Easy to maneuver, very steady. My favorite was rowing out to the middle of the pond and putting my feet out and reading and letting the current take me slowly back in. Great to explore the inlets of the ponds.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Aubie101
plymouth,ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great for everybody
7/28/2012

Customer review by HunterBusen

5.0 stars 7/28/2012 by HunterBusen
by HunterBusen

this is great and perfectly priced this is the one that is for experts or for beginners it is easy to ride in and it is just amazing i have 5 for my family for the river

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HunterBusen
Crawfordville/FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
You get what you pay for
7/1/2013

Customer review by 8gman

3.0 stars 7/1/2013 by 8gman
by 8gman

I have had this kayak for a little over a year now. I have taken it on many 10-15 mile trips and even a few 20+ miles. I paddle with a group of Pelican Ultimate 100's and I do have a hard time keeping up with them (I have same physical build and endurance). This kayak is 2 feet shorter and a tad bit wider, making it somewhat slower. We have been in a few caves where the shortness came in handy when turning around though. With that being said, it does do a great job on the water. It is stable with me (5'11" 180lbs) and tracks good until I start paddling hard and then it starts to slow up and drift a bit. I do like the dry storage compartment in the back. It is very small and sometimes you'll get your hand stuck in it, but I am always the "key holder" when we kayak. So I guess they have faith in the waterproofness. It does NOT have foot pegs, which is a problem on long trips where your arms get tired at the end and you tend to use your whole body in paddling. The seat is rather big for me but it is comfortable (add a foam pad and your glutius maximus will thank you). I have hit many many rocks and this thing still keeps on taking it. The bottom is scuffed, but there are no holes or huge gashes. I can strap this thing to my car and go, which is a huge plus. All in all, you get what you pay for with the kayak and the paddle. I bought a cheap paddle and snapped it on my second trip because we were horseplaying and splashing water. Anyways, I recently upgraded to the Future Beach Spirit 120 Sit-On so I could keep up with my group. I would recommend the Aruba 8 SS to any beginner who wants to paddle and get out on the water. But in a year or two, you will upgrade to a more streamlined boat. If you have experience in paddling or are wanting something fast, pass up this cinder block. As a general rule, the longer and narrower the boat, the faster. But with the speed and ease of paddling, you lose your maneuverability and stability, something an experienced paddler is okay with. Pros: small, lightweight (solid 15 lbs lighter than most), easy to maneuver, easy to store, fun, dry compartment, bungee straps for coolers, paddle holder, stable once you get in, bow-stern carry handles, "kind of a" cup holder in the front middle of the seat Cons: SLOW, no foot pegs, wide, not very hydrodynamic, high side rails, drain plug hard to get back in, small storage compartment, sways when you start picking up speed, seat pad hurts your back after an hour, thin walled and flexes easy

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
8gman
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
You get what you pay for
6/13/2013

Customer review by bummblebean

4.0 stars 6/13/2013 by bummblebean
by bummblebean
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Its lightweight and fits almost totally into a SUV so it's nicely portable. The sides are thinner than I expected but that is probably why it is so light. It is absent footrests and that makes paddling fast difficult but these can be purchased and installed.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bummblebean
Berea ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Only good if you want to stay afloat :(
8/12/2012

Customer review by MrRN

1.0 stars 8/12/2012 by MrRN
by MrRN

Very uncomfortable, flimsy and cheap. You get what you pay for! Seat is very uncomfortable. The only positive about this kayak is that it does float.

Was this review helpful? (9) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrRN
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Love this kayak!
8/27/2013

Customer review by happycook10

5.0 stars 8/27/2013 by happycook10
by happycook10
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased the Sun Dolphin Aruba 8' kayak to use in our favorite lake. It is the perfect size and fits in my Ford Explorer. It has a nice wide seat which is comfortable, it seems to be very durable, and it's lightweight so I can lift it by myself. It may be a little more tippy than flatter kayaks, but once you get used to it, it's no big deal. I love that it comes with a paddle, too. I could not be more happy with this purchase - it's a good kayak for a bargain price.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
happycook10
Battle Ground, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good lite kayak.......yes lite means thin...
7/14/2012

Customer review by trout914

3.0 stars 7/14/2012 by trout914
by trout914

It came with flaws on top of hull. Hole in top, flimsy kayak I still used it and was great, my 14 yr son loved it. We did lite river rapids. I liked it but returned it and want to get 1 without flaws. It is not heavy duty like most kayaks. It is now not avalaible on line,but would buy another one easy to paddle, not that stable but very agile good design and cheap

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trout914
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
2/13/2013

Customer review by memelala

4.0 stars 2/13/2013 by memelala
by memelala

i bought one of these for my 14 year old son and he loves it. it did not come with a paddle like the others but he still loved it. it has great leg room and would be perfect for a family. but just in case buy a paddle.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
memelala
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It will work
6/8/2013

Customer review by goinunder

3.0 stars 6/8/2013 by goinunder
by goinunder
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Not very stable. If you lean to far to either side, your going for a swim. It will work o.k. if your just out to slowly cruise around the lake. Don't forget the seat cushion.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
goinunder
nor Cal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
KL Industries WaterQuest Cayman 8' Kayak
6/16/2012

Customer review by Electricbill43

1.0 stars 6/16/2012 by Electricbill43
by Electricbill43

The Kayak I received was not the model I ordered. The stickers on it, which were coming off, indicated a model that did not exist. The Kayak was shipped only in a plastic bag. The bag had several holes in it and was in bad condition. The hull had several scratches and a 2" cut in it. I returned it. Walmart Customer Service took care of the Return in an excellent manner.

Was this review helpful? (8) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Electricbill43
Quakertown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
4/10/2013

Customer review by gypse

2.0 stars 4/10/2013 by gypse
by gypse
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is not very good quality plastic. The delivery and easy ordering was great. I will probably return it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gypse
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/22/2012

Customer review by bwglsp

1.0 stars 8/22/2012 by bwglsp
by bwglsp

This little kayak is absolutely wonderful. I take to the lake and have enough room for my fishing gear. It goes in the back of the pickup and is easy to load/ unload and launch.

Was this review helpful? (3) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bwglsp
Molina, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
get what you pay for
12/5/2013

Customer review by Groundhog54

1.0 stars 12/5/2013 by Groundhog54
by Groundhog54

I knew this was going to be a "basic" boat but I didn't realize how bad until it showed up. Wal-Mart did do a good job on the shipping BTW. The hull is very thin and could easily be punctured with a ball point pen. Reminds me of a milk jug only a little thicker. There is a casting flaw in the gunnel which is only cosmetic but it looks like a big dent. No provision to add footpegs later if you wanted to. I would have overlooked all of these if the hull was thicker.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Groundhog54
North Cackalacky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Awesome kayak!
8/2/2013

Customer review by Marcyannie

5.0 stars 8/2/2013 by Marcyannie
by Marcyannie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great and sturdy kayak. Lightweight with a large cockpit. The only issue is that there is no place to clip any of your travel items. So my friend drilled s hole in the lip of the cockpit and I attached a clip to ciip other items for secure travel. Lightweight and easy to maneuver.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marcyannie
Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews