Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 80 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

80 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

80 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

53%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
25
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 stars
39
1-20 of 80 total reviews
53%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 80 total reviews
1-20 of 80 reviews
Good Product
2/19/2012

Customer review by Kerstie

5.0 stars 2/19/2012 by Kerstie
by Kerstie

I really like this new shampoo. It's much easier for me to lather through my hair in comparison to the old line of shampoo. The smell is very nice, but not what I was expecting- It smells more like a lemon lime fragrance to me, rather than mango, but it still smells good.

Kerstie
Alaska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for curls!
4/23/2012

Customer review by Melospizia

5.0 stars 4/23/2012 by Melospizia
by Melospizia

I have very thick, unruly hair. On a good day it forms into large ringlets and waves, on a bad day it looks like an Elvis style pompadour. This shampoo makes my hair so soft and manageable without killing my curls. The best part about it is that I can just shampoo my hair, hop out of the shower and my hair looks spectacular! I don't need to use any product at all to achieve a look that I would normally spend a ton of time and effort for. I only use natural beauty products, which can be very pricey, Burt's Bees is good stuff and it's affordable. Love it!

Melospizia
Nor Cal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing Product
6/20/2012

Customer review by CH11

5.0 stars 6/20/2012 by CH11
by CH11

Even though this product had a very low rating, I decided to give it a try. I love how it cleans gently, and doesn't lather much. I only wash my hair once a week(with shampoo), and only use it on my scalp. It smells amazing and feels beautiful! I really like that it's sulfate-free :)

CH11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Dry
Great for dry hair!
9/14/2012

Customer review by RamRooster

5.0 stars 9/14/2012 by RamRooster
by RamRooster

I saw a review done by Prevention Magazine and this shampoo came out on top, so I decided to try it. I love it. I am 55 and my hair is very dry and dull. After the first wash I saw an improvement. My hair is much softer and shinnier. Thank you Burt!

RamRooster
Lawrence, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
This is a GREAT shampoo!!
4/30/2012

Customer review by Ursula

5.0 stars 4/30/2012 by Ursula
by Ursula

This product is GREAT!! I have very thick, wavy, unruly hair and use only sulfate free shampoos. I'm so glad I tried this one! To the writer regarding "no lather" - this is because there are no sulfates in the product; sulfates is what gives that thick, rich lather; however, lather-lacking aside, this shampoo has a great clean scent and my hair feels so soft, clean, shiny and not heavy because I need to put minimal products in (just a curl enhancing mousse) because of this great shampoo. Please continue with this product - I feel I should stock up now just in case they decide to stop making it!!!

Ursula
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful for thick or naturally dry curly hair!!!
6/6/2012

Customer review by Cayleece

5.0 stars 6/6/2012 by Cayleece
by Cayleece

I have a lot of hair, and it is very thick. I find that this shampoo works really well for me, and leaves my hair content and satisfied. Perhaps many of the bad reviews are from people with straight or wavy hair which gets oily quickly, and may not need shampoos to leave behind as much moisture. I also do not mind the fact that it does not lather; it is a natural shampoo so it does not have the harsh sulfates in it, which causes products to lather. Why do you think dish soap lathers so well? As someone with very curly hair that tends to dry out easily, I need a shampoo that will clean my hair, but will not completely strip all natural oils and moisture. This product does a great job with that balance. Burt's Bees; please do not discontinue this product- it is something good for the curly people! We need shampoos too!

Cayleece
Oberlin, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
Worked on my THIN, FRIZZY, LONG HAIR
7/19/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/19/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is the first Burt's Bees product I have purchased. I bought it along with the conditioner. I have to say that I am satisfied. I spent a lot of time at the store comparing shampoos, trying to find the best sulfate free shampoo. I usually go with the more expensive hair products, but after reading their ingredients on the back they still had harsh chemicals and the "sulfate free" advertising on the majority of them turned out to be not so true. I would recommend this product for anyone who has thin, frizzy, curly, long or short hair. I am trying to nurse my hair back to health. I let my hair air dry after using the shampoo and conditioner and it feels great. I actually liked that it didn't lather up a lot...my hair feels healthier without all of that lather.

An anonymous customer
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
LOVE IT
4/5/2013

Customer review by Luv2Kayak

5.0 stars 4/5/2013 by Luv2Kayak
by Luv2Kayak

I decided to try Burst Bees shampoo and conditioner to help with my breakout problem on my upper arms, back, chest and face. Certain it was linked to my hair products. Everything is clearing up beautifully! I love the smell of the mango/citrus scent and my hair which is baby fine, and permed looks and feels shiney, soft and silky!! I use with the Mango conditioner. WOO HOO! We have a water softener (country well water).

Luv2Kayak
Tomahawk, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
perfect balance!
10/23/2012

Customer review by holalola

5.0 stars 10/23/2012 by holalola
by holalola

this shampoo was the perfect balance for my hair! i am of african american descent & i have locs (aka dreads) so it was a bit difficult to find the perfect shampoo for my hair...but then i tried this one! it works great! i would definitely recommend this product to a friend (:

holalola
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent for thick, curly, frizz, dry hair
11/10/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/10/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased Burt Bee shiny mango after it was featured in Prevention magazine. Now, it is the only shampoo I will use from now on. I finally have the soft, silky, shiny, frizz free hair that I have always wanted!! With age and heat damage from years of trying to tame my thick, curly frizzy hair my hair had become very dry and even unmangeable. Burts Bee has given me hope. From some of the reviews I have read it seems like this shampoo is best for people with my type of hair. Don't let the reviews scare you away. Love the shampoo. Five starts for me.

An anonymous customer
Portland, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
Great shampoo
7/18/2013

Customer review by bates2010

5.0 stars 7/18/2013 by bates2010
by bates2010

I do not understand all the negative reviews on this product, I think it is great! I have naturally blonde hair and this shampoo really makes it shine! I feel like it helps bring out my natural highlights. Also it smells amazing! I am going to have to fight my husband off soon because he keeps wanting to smell my hair! I can not remember the last time my hair felt this soft too. I read from other reviews that the product can settle so I made sure to shake it well and it has worked just fine for me. It lathers well and rinses clean. I don't know what more you could want from a shampoo!

bates2010
Circleville, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Great Shampoo
8/14/2013

Customer review by AshG

5.0 stars 8/14/2013 by AshG
by AshG

I like to go 2 or 3 days between hair washes, because sulfates can be damaging. I tried this shampoo when I was on my 3rd day between washes. I didn't blow dry it after, just air dry. It made my hair very soft and shiny. I was very surprised since it doesn't lather, but I love it! Would totally repurchase.

AshG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Got this in the Summer gift bag!
8/11/2013

Customer review by HereticPrincess

5.0 stars 8/11/2013 by HereticPrincess
by HereticPrincess

This shampoo is excellent! I have to shower with cold water due to a problem with our water heater currently, l can't wait to see what happens when we get hot water again! This smells and works fantastic. I don't use any conditioner either and my hair looks and feels great! It's so smooth! (I have very thick, somewhat curly hair) Did I mention that l absolutely love the scent too? :)

HereticPrincess
Des Plaines, IL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
What???
6/22/2013

Customer review by weirdo

5.0 stars 6/22/2013 by weirdo
by weirdo

First of all why is everybody making bad reviews on this? Maybe there are many bad bottles out there but when I bought mine I was impressed. 1. It smells really good. 2. It works well. 3. SULFATE FREE. HALLELUJAHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Well the point is that its good :D

weirdo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Makes my hair feel fuller and healthier
9/15/2013

Customer review by doorite

5.0 stars 9/15/2013 by doorite
by doorite

Is it different? Yes. I have short fine to medium wavy curly hair and I blow dry my hair with cool air and it makes it feel healthy and slightly shinier w/o conditioner. For people who complain I think they are use to the commercial shampoos and not use to a new brand or maybe using too much shampoo? Use vinegar if there are residue in your hair people. It's nice to have an alternative to sulfate type shampoos. My hair feels fuller bodied and I love the smell and the naturalness of it. Thanks Burts Bees! Will continue to use it.

doorite
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Super shiny
9/24/2014

Customer review by cathylojax

5.0 stars 9/24/2014 by cathylojax
by cathylojax

I purchased this shampoo and was amazed at how shiny and healthy my hair looked after using it.............

cathylojax
New Castle, Co
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Dry
Great Shampoo
3/26/2014

Customer review by scbluesky

5.0 stars 3/26/2014 by scbluesky
by scbluesky

I use this shampoo with the matching mango conditioner and my hair feels amazing! I have breast length baby fine but super thick straight hair. I use maybe 1/2 of a tablespoon (just guessing, haven't actually measured) and it spreads through my hair nicely, gently cleans, and rinses easily. I don't use any styling products, just finger dry my hair with a blow dryer. I think it smells nice & light and it doesn't linger much through the day. I think the price is fair for amount and quality. I have no idea why people give it bad ratings. Maybe they are using the wrong formula for their hair type or are using too much/little.

scbluesky
Rock Hill, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Shampoo
1/26/2014

Customer review by LLT1

5.0 stars 1/26/2014 by LLT1
by LLT1

I have curly, frizzy hair. I have tried so many different shampoos but none that satisfy me. Finally I found Super Shiny Mango Shampoo. My hair is soft and curly without the frizz. It is great. I really think shampoo depends on your hair type. This works for me.

LLT1
Toronto Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Normal
my favorite shampoo!!!
11/26/2013

Customer review by karibelle

5.0 stars 11/26/2013 by karibelle
by karibelle

I have been looking for a natural shampoo that leaves hair looking and feeling healthy, and this, finally, is the one! After trying so many different natural shampoos, I have never been more convinced or thrilled with the result as I have been with this one! I hope they will NEVER discontinue this product!!!

karibelle
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Dry
Worked for Damaged, Straight, Fine, Oily Hair!
6/12/2014

Customer review by Mereyyy

5.0 stars 6/12/2014 by Mereyyy
by Mereyyy

I was really disheartened and skeptical after reading such negative reviews, particularly with my hair type. I have been using Organix shampoo which has worked wonders for my hair. I decided to mix the shampoo with this one and the results are stunning! In the first use, I noticed little to no frizz, more shine, more smoothness, and overall healthy look and feel to the hair. I shampoo'd twice with this combination after researching that the trick to getting sulfate free shampoos to work is doing it twice (even thought shampooing twice is unnecessary otherwise). If this product makes your hair greasy or oily, it is in part because your hair may not be adjusted to the revoking of commercial-grade shampoos riddled with sulfates. Allow your hair to have an adjustment period so your scalp gets the message that it no longer has to overcompensate for the natural oils lost with commercial shampoo. Overall, AMAZING shampoo -- don't let those negative reviews scare you away.

Mereyyy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
1-20 of 80 total reviews
1-20 of 80 reviews