Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 252 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

252 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

252 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
131
4 stars
71
3 stars
23
2 stars
13
1 stars
14
1-20 of 227 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 227 total reviews
1-20 of 227 reviews
You get what you pay for
12/23/2012

Customer review by Striker2

5.0 stars 12/23/2012 by Striker2
by Striker2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Solid usa built vehicle Add an hour to assembly time for adding stickers. Battery takes 18 hours to charge 1st time so plan accordingly. Wish walmart disclosed additional free 2 yr warranty that comes inside the pakage, Wouldn't have purchased walmarts' Shipping worth the cost as the box is almost 4 feet tall. Would only fit in a pickup truck

Was this review helpful? (209) (49)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Striker2
Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Ride-On but recommended age should'nt be 3-8
4/14/2014

Customer review by crnjssc

4.0 stars 4/14/2014 by crnjssc
by crnjssc

I bought this as the "from Santa" gift for my 4 yr old (had just turned 4 two weeks before Christmas). He loves John Deere and I knew this would be his favorite toy. Unfortunately he got on to ride it and his knees were so crammed against the front that it is not fun for him. He is a tall 4 yr old (probably the same size as most 6-7 yr olds) but I expected this toy to be suitable since it says ages 3-8. I am very disappointed, as is he, that he is too tall for this ride-on. I believe the age range should be more like 2-5--at that it would be for average height children not tall children.

Was this review helpful? (88) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crnjssc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
5/13/2013

Customer review by BriggsMommy

5.0 stars 5/13/2013 by BriggsMommy
by BriggsMommy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We got this for my son's second birthday, and he LOVES it! My four year old daughter loves it, too. He is able to drive it everywhere and all through the woods...it even went through a pretty deep swampy area. Definitely an awesome present!!

Was this review helpful? (65) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BriggsMommy
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My son's favorite toy....ever! And a great value!
1/5/2014

Customer review by MasonsDad53

5.0 stars 1/5/2014 by MasonsDad53
by MasonsDad53
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Mason (2-1/2yrs old at the time) noticed this thing on the sales rack in Oct. Almost weekly until Christmas, we walked past, and in most cases i got it down so he could sit on it. He had a sales flier at home and kept showing it to us, saying "My tractor". Santa finally brought it. It eclipsed all other presents on Christmas day. Every minute that the weather is decent, he's been on his 'Tractor'. We live on a hill and it goes great in 2nd gear. It took almost no time for him to learn to ride it. The battery life is much better than the Motion Trendz 4wheeler i bought one of our other kids a couple years ago. Even with all the uphill riding, he gets about an hour of steady ride time. By the time he loads and unloads the bed, he plays for 2-1/2 to 3 hours at a time. My only gripe with the whole experience is the assembly instructions. I am a very mechanically inclined person, so logic and the illustrations were good for me to put it together. However, a person who doesn't work on cars regularly or has no experience building things may have trouble with the instructions. The paper explaining what screws go where, is separate from the instruction book and could be overlooked, making assembly a real headache. All in all, this is the best outdoors toy i've run across. A friend's son has had a Gator for 4 years and still riding it! (very roughly). I can only hope ours gives the same kind of service!

Was this review helpful? (56) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MasonsDad53
Madison Heights, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My son loves his Gator
7/8/2014

Customer review by AR1982

4.0 stars 7/8/2014 by AR1982
by AR1982

The cons are the battery charger has already stopped working and the decals are a little bit of a pain around the shocks area. We use are own charger now so it hasn't been a huge issue but I don't want to pay another 67.00 for a new one. For the most part were very pleased and my son is extremely happy.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AR1982
Wheatfield IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product
1/2/2013

Customer review by Trip53

5.0 stars 1/2/2013 by Trip53
by Trip53
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Assembly was quick and simple. Our 4 year old granddaughter had a ball. I am looking forward to her younger sister getting involved also.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Trip53
Burlington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My Son Loves it! (2yo)
6/14/2014

Customer review by BeaufortMomma

5.0 stars 6/14/2014 by BeaufortMomma
by BeaufortMomma
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We got this for our son for his second birthday and he loves it!! Worth every penny!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BeaufortMomma
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/20/2012

Customer review by gator2012

4.0 stars 3/20/2012 by gator2012
by gator2012

Was this review helpful? (3) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gator2012
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Expensive for what it is
8/13/2012

Customer review by availablenickname

4.0 stars 8/13/2012 by availablenickname
by availablenickname

Granted we bought this for a 4 year old's birthday (who has a 6 year old sibling) but it definitely is smaller than it looks in terms of seating space. It is plenty roomy for the 4 year old and 6year old, but they will likely outgrow it sooner than later. It may have been better to purchase the single John Deere tractor that accomodates one slightly larger child and let them take turns, plus save over $100 in the purchase price. It seems fairly well made, but was a nightmare to put together given there were only picture instructions vs picture and written instructions. It is rather large and bulky of an item so it is tough to carry across the yard when the battery dies far away from the outlet in the garage. The battery only seems to last an hour or so, and the battery is not easy to get to to plug in...you need a screwdriver to remove the battery cover each time. Overall, my son enjoys riding and taking friends for rides, but I have the few gripes mentioned.

Was this review helpful? (27) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
availablenickname
Trumbull CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
JD just keeps going!
12/27/2012

Customer review by kcranchboys

5.0 stars 12/27/2012 by kcranchboys
by kcranchboys
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My boys LOVE this!!! I have a 7 year old and a 4 year old and they can both ride in this, side by side. Very easy to use and understand. Seems well built and heavy duty! My 4 year old calls it his 4-wheeler. The only think I don't like-or that I would change-is that the wheels are kinda grooved, but totally slippery plastic. So, in the snow, the wheels just keep turning. It's probably not supposed to be going over rugged terrain, but my boys and I live on a farm, and this has been up to the barn countless times. And when it does get stuck, the boys just hop out, push it and drive on. The back dumps, but my boys don't really use it for more than hauling stuff around. The tailgate does not stay closed very well and is constantly popping open. But, I would still recommend this John Deere to anyone, for boys or girls! All I have to do is unplug it, take it off the porch and the boys go and go on this! Definitely recommend this...can't go wrong with a John Deere!

Was this review helpful? (37) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kcranchboys
Upstate New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great ride-on for Toddlers
4/12/2014

Customer review by tactadaddy

5.0 stars 4/12/2014 by tactadaddy
by tactadaddy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this for my 2 year old son for his birthday. He has never been happier. His older brother has the tractor version and this is much bigger than that one side by side. Easy to put together - like that you can pull the gator up to an outlet and recharge the battery without removing from the vehicle as we recharge these batteries every night - the boys love to ride these daily. The other one we have had for 3 years and the battery still holds a charge so I hope this one is the same. Must charge battery for 18 hours before using for the first time, so plan ahead. I am thoroughly satisfied with this purchase - big, durable and fun fun fun for the kiddos. Walmart has it for the best price - compared for a couple of months before we bought and if you buy online and pick it up at the store they offer a better deal - over $40 cheaper using Walmarts Site to Store option. Great product by far! The kids even drive around the yard and we load the back up with sticks - so it comes with free yard work!

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tactadaddy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Riding Toy on the Market!
6/8/2012

Customer review by Bachfire

5.0 stars 6/8/2012 by Bachfire
by Bachfire

We purchased the new model of the John Deere Gator XUV for our 2 1/2 year old grandson. We have a very large lot that is all grass and wanted to have something he could ride around on when he came to visit. Could not have made a better choice. This vehicle is slightly larger then the previous model Gator and is of very high quality. Took about 2 hours to assemble including the application of all the decals. Peg Perago missed no details in designing this new model. It looks just like the full size version. One small part was missing and I called Peg Perego customer service. They shipped out a replacement part without question and we received it in 2-days! Great customer serivice!!!! This vehicle is powerful and handles hills without any problems. The working tail gate and working rear bed dump are a real plus. Our grandson simply loves this vehicle. Battery life is about 2 hours even on hilly terrain. Quite remarkable. If you are looking for a top quality ride on toy then do not hesitate to pick this one up. Walmart has the best price on this toy bar non plus free shipping to the store. Can't beat the deal anywhere.

Was this review helpful? (225) (58)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bachfire
Christiansburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good
1/26/2016

Customer review by Garyf

4.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Garyf
by Garyf

We owned this years ago for an older child and purchased it again. It works great. The only bad thing is the tires wear out quickly and it gets expensive replacing them. Also the instructions are Horrible. There are only a few things to assemble but trying to follow the instructions are a nightmare.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Garyf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/26/2012

Customer review by Nanapapaof4

3.0 stars 8/26/2012 by Nanapapaof4
by Nanapapaof4

My grandsons love riding the Gator which is great. BUT when it comes time to charge the battery you have to take most of the front of it off just to charge the battery which is VERY time consuming. Also you have to hold the shifter in reverse while you are backing up and my 3 yr old does great with it but the two 2 year olds don't understand that you HAVE to hold it in reverse to back it up. I also feel like they could have done a better job with the tires.... they are hard plastic and have trouble with traction at times, If they had put some rubber on the tires I feel like that would have solved all of the "sit and spin" situations!!! I think they will out grow this one quicker than the John Deere Tractor models - there is not a lot of leg room in them. IF I only had one child then I would buy the Tractor model over the Gator model due to them out growing the toy so quickly.

Was this review helpful? (35) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nanapapaof4
Roxboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
My son Loves his!
2/5/2013

Customer review by jgil0615

5.0 stars 2/5/2013 by jgil0615
by jgil0615

We bought one for my 3 1/2 yr old for christmas. The only prob we had was we live on a hill our yard isn't flat. We figured it would have been a prob before we purchased it. When we got it home and my son finally got to ride it. It did slip a lot and you would have to push him. You can solve this prob two ways. Either put something heavy in the bed. Which we didnt like doing cuz then he couldnt put anything in the back. So my husband took some self tapping i think he used 5/8ths screws and put them in the back tires so it could get better traction. Worked like a charm! It will even go up hill on wet grass now. Just a thought for some people that have the same prob. Now he only goes on low speed so I have no idea how it handles in high.

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jgil0615
Springtown, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Less than one month- being replaced. Quit working
8/29/2014

Customer review by koxl

1.0 stars 8/29/2014 by koxl
by koxl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have bought Peg Perego for my children and grandchildren for 30 years now. We live in Ft. Wayne where they are made and they have brought so much joy.... until now. I bought the Gator for my granchildren and had it delivered to them over 800 miles away. For less than one month they have had a fantastic time with their new "wheels". 2 days ago it stopped working. At this time I am on the phone trying to find out a solution to my problem. Hopefully I can change my extremely low rating of this item to a better one. This is the 3rd Peg Perego Power vehicle I have purchased and so far it has fallen below any expectations. The representative I spoke to at Walmart.com was extremely helpful and I can return this item for a replacement. I do not expect any problems with the next one. The items I have purchased from Peg Perego in the past have been tough and lasted through years of play. I cannot imagine what went wrong with this one.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
koxl
Ft. Wayne IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Buy - Quality Product
2/2/2016

Customer review by DodgeGirl

5.0 stars 2/2/2016 by DodgeGirl
by DodgeGirl

Bought this for our 2 1/2 year old granddaughter for Christmas. She loves it and so do we. It is well made and easy for her to operate.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DodgeGirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Peg Perego Gator
1/23/2016

Customer review by Craft

4.0 stars 1/23/2016 by Craft
by Craft

Got this for my son for Christmas and haven't had a chance to put it together yet. Looking forward to seeing what it can do and for my son to enjoy it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Craft
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Running strong after 5 years of use.
9/27/2015

Customer review by kyjere

5.0 stars 9/27/2015 by kyjere
by kyjere

I bought this for my 3 year old who is now 8 (he can still ride on it but is squished in the seats) and now my current 3 year old has taken over the driver seat. It has been ran on the grass, gravel, and small hills almost daily during the summer, fall, and spring. It has the same battery and still runs strong. Very impressed, money well spent.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kyjere
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gator
12/28/2015

Customer review by Greg

4.0 stars 12/28/2015 by Greg
by Greg

Went together well. Be prepared to charge the battery for a day and a half. It is expensive for what it is but what can you do. The only issue is that it should have positive traction because if there is only one Kid in it, the passenger side wheel will spin on the slightest hill or root or bump. I put a 35 pound stump in the bed of it on the passenger side and it took care of that by weighting the drive tire down. It runs for a long time on a full charge,

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Greg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 227 total reviews
1-20 of 227 reviews