Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 213 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

213 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

213 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
107
4 stars
62
3 stars
21
2 stars
10
1 stars
13
1-20 of 188 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 188 total reviews
1-20 of 188 reviews
You get what you pay for
12/23/2012

Customer review by Striker2

5.0 stars 12/23/2012 by Striker2
by Striker2

Solid usa built vehicle Add an hour to assembly time for adding stickers. Battery takes 18 hours to charge 1st time so plan accordingly. Wish walmart disclosed additional free 2 yr warranty that comes inside the pakage, Wouldn't have purchased walmarts' Shipping worth the cost as the box is almost 4 feet tall. Would only fit in a pickup truck

Was this review helpful? (142) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Striker2
Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Riding Toy on the Market!
6/8/2012

Customer review by Bachfire

5.0 stars 6/8/2012 by Bachfire
by Bachfire

We purchased the new model of the John Deere Gator XUV for our 2 1/2 year old grandson. We have a very large lot that is all grass and wanted to have something he could ride around on when he came to visit. Could not have made a better choice. This vehicle is slightly larger then the previous model Gator and is of very high quality. Took about 2 hours to assemble including the application of all the decals. Peg Perago missed no details in designing this new model. It looks just like the full size version. One small part was missing and I called Peg Perego customer service. They shipped out a replacement part without question and we received it in 2-days! Great customer serivice!!!! This vehicle is powerful and handles hills without any problems. The working tail gate and working rear bed dump are a real plus. Our grandson simply loves this vehicle. Battery life is about 2 hours even on hilly terrain. Quite remarkable. If you are looking for a top quality ride on toy then do not hesitate to pick this one up. Walmart has the best price on this toy bar non plus free shipping to the store. Can't beat the deal anywhere.

Was this review helpful? (177) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bachfire
Christiansburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
5/13/2013

Customer review by BriggsMommy

5.0 stars 5/13/2013 by BriggsMommy
by BriggsMommy

We got this for my son's second birthday, and he LOVES it! My four year old daughter loves it, too. He is able to drive it everywhere and all through the woods...it even went through a pretty deep swampy area. Definitely an awesome present!!

Was this review helpful? (33) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BriggsMommy
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/30/2012

Customer review by Allra

4.0 stars 8/30/2012 by Allra
by Allra

We bought this for our 6 year olds birthday, to replace the one we bought him for his second birthday. The age recommendation is 3-8 years, it should be 3-5 years! His knees are hitting against the dash board, it is no bigger than the old one. The width is wider than the old one so I thought the seat would be wider, NOT at all, same size! We should not have bought this for our son:( Great product for a younger child 3-5 years!

Was this review helpful? (57) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Allra
New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/21/2012

Customer review by And2008

5.0 stars 5/21/2012 by And2008
by And2008

Bought this for my 3 year-old son for his birthday. He absolutely loves it. The quality is great. Price is fair and I would recommend this product. I will purchase more Perego products in the future.

Was this review helpful? (61) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
And2008
KCMO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/29/2012

Customer review by codybug

1.0 stars 8/29/2012 by codybug
by codybug

This John Deere wasn't designed for the country. My son spends more time sitting with the tires spinning on the grass and on gravel then he does riding around. This product stinks because of the cheaply made tires. I would not reccomend this product to anyone and wish i never spent 400.00 for it. It was defintely a waste of money!

Was this review helpful? (56) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
codybug
York,PA.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Ride-On but recommended age should'nt be 3-8
4/14/2014

Customer review by crnjssc

4.0 stars 4/14/2014 by crnjssc
by crnjssc

I bought this as the "from Santa" gift for my 4 yr old (had just turned 4 two weeks before Christmas). He loves John Deere and I knew this would be his favorite toy. Unfortunately he got on to ride it and his knees were so crammed against the front that it is not fun for him. He is a tall 4 yr old (probably the same size as most 6-7 yr olds) but I expected this toy to be suitable since it says ages 3-8. I am very disappointed, as is he, that he is too tall for this ride-on. I believe the age range should be more like 2-5--at that it would be for average height children not tall children.

Was this review helpful? (33) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crnjssc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Great if your land is flat!
6/10/2012

Customer review by mlpccc04

4.0 stars 6/10/2012 by mlpccc04
by mlpccc04

We bought this for our 3 year old son, he has wanted it for a year! It looks very sharp, and my husband had no problems assembling, just an hour. My complaints are the tires spin out unless you are driving on completely flat land. It states that it is for 3-8 yr. olds, I also have a 6 & 8 year old boys, and my 6 year old has to sit sideways as the passenger with his legs hanging out the side, because there is no leg room, I won't let the 8 yr. old sit on it. For right now the big brothers follow along behind to push it when it gets stuck, but my 3 yr. old thinks it is great fun!

Was this review helpful? (46) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mlpccc04
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worth the $
6/7/2012

Customer review by NEWPORT5555555

5.0 stars 6/7/2012 by NEWPORT5555555
by NEWPORT5555555

Met all of our expectations and more. Our son couldn't have been more happy with his birthday present. Basically put together just small details to finish up.

Was this review helpful? (24) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NEWPORT5555555
newport tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Expensive for what it is
8/13/2012

Customer review by availablenickname

4.0 stars 8/13/2012 by availablenickname
by availablenickname

Granted we bought this for a 4 year old's birthday (who has a 6 year old sibling) but it definitely is smaller than it looks in terms of seating space. It is plenty roomy for the 4 year old and 6year old, but they will likely outgrow it sooner than later. It may have been better to purchase the single John Deere tractor that accomodates one slightly larger child and let them take turns, plus save over $100 in the purchase price. It seems fairly well made, but was a nightmare to put together given there were only picture instructions vs picture and written instructions. It is rather large and bulky of an item so it is tough to carry across the yard when the battery dies far away from the outlet in the garage. The battery only seems to last an hour or so, and the battery is not easy to get to to plug in...you need a screwdriver to remove the battery cover each time. Overall, my son enjoys riding and taking friends for rides, but I have the few gripes mentioned.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
availablenickname
Trumbull CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
JD just keeps going!
12/27/2012

Customer review by kcranchboys

5.0 stars 12/27/2012 by kcranchboys
by kcranchboys

My boys LOVE this!!! I have a 7 year old and a 4 year old and they can both ride in this, side by side. Very easy to use and understand. Seems well built and heavy duty! My 4 year old calls it his 4-wheeler. The only think I don't like-or that I would change-is that the wheels are kinda grooved, but totally slippery plastic. So, in the snow, the wheels just keep turning. It's probably not supposed to be going over rugged terrain, but my boys and I live on a farm, and this has been up to the barn countless times. And when it does get stuck, the boys just hop out, push it and drive on. The back dumps, but my boys don't really use it for more than hauling stuff around. The tailgate does not stay closed very well and is constantly popping open. But, I would still recommend this John Deere to anyone, for boys or girls! All I have to do is unplug it, take it off the porch and the boys go and go on this! Definitely recommend this...can't go wrong with a John Deere!

Was this review helpful? (27) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kcranchboys
Upstate New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/26/2012

Customer review by Nanapapaof4

3.0 stars 8/26/2012 by Nanapapaof4
by Nanapapaof4

My grandsons love riding the Gator which is great. BUT when it comes time to charge the battery you have to take most of the front of it off just to charge the battery which is VERY time consuming. Also you have to hold the shifter in reverse while you are backing up and my 3 yr old does great with it but the two 2 year olds don't understand that you HAVE to hold it in reverse to back it up. I also feel like they could have done a better job with the tires.... they are hard plastic and have trouble with traction at times, If they had put some rubber on the tires I feel like that would have solved all of the "sit and spin" situations!!! I think they will out grow this one quicker than the John Deere Tractor models - there is not a lot of leg room in them. IF I only had one child then I would buy the Tractor model over the Gator model due to them out growing the toy so quickly.

Was this review helpful? (25) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nanapapaof4
Roxboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
My son Loves his!
2/5/2013

Customer review by jgil0615

5.0 stars 2/5/2013 by jgil0615
by jgil0615

We bought one for my 3 1/2 yr old for christmas. The only prob we had was we live on a hill our yard isn't flat. We figured it would have been a prob before we purchased it. When we got it home and my son finally got to ride it. It did slip a lot and you would have to push him. You can solve this prob two ways. Either put something heavy in the bed. Which we didnt like doing cuz then he couldnt put anything in the back. So my husband took some self tapping i think he used 5/8ths screws and put them in the back tires so it could get better traction. Worked like a charm! It will even go up hill on wet grass now. Just a thought for some people that have the same prob. Now he only goes on low speed so I have no idea how it handles in high.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jgil0615
Springtown, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
My son's favorite toy....ever! And a great value!
1/5/2014

Customer review by MasonsDad53

5.0 stars 1/5/2014 by MasonsDad53
by MasonsDad53

Mason (2-1/2yrs old at the time) noticed this thing on the sales rack in Oct. Almost weekly until Christmas, we walked past, and in most cases i got it down so he could sit on it. He had a sales flier at home and kept showing it to us, saying "My tractor". Santa finally brought it. It eclipsed all other presents on Christmas day. Every minute that the weather is decent, he's been on his 'Tractor'. We live on a hill and it goes great in 2nd gear. It took almost no time for him to learn to ride it. The battery life is much better than the Motion Trendz 4wheeler i bought one of our other kids a couple years ago. Even with all the uphill riding, he gets about an hour of steady ride time. By the time he loads and unloads the bed, he plays for 2-1/2 to 3 hours at a time. My only gripe with the whole experience is the assembly instructions. I am a very mechanically inclined person, so logic and the illustrations were good for me to put it together. However, a person who doesn't work on cars regularly or has no experience building things may have trouble with the instructions. The paper explaining what screws go where, is separate from the instruction book and could be overlooked, making assembly a real headache. All in all, this is the best outdoors toy i've run across. A friend's son has had a Gator for 4 years and still riding it! (very roughly). I can only hope ours gives the same kind of service!

Was this review helpful? (47) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MasonsDad53
Madison Heights, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/23/2012

Customer review by otterlake

3.0 stars 6/23/2012 by otterlake
by otterlake

No traction when attempting to navigate small inclines. Only works on level ground. Very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? (23) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
otterlake
new york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
OK riding vehicle - U.S. products supporter
12/26/2012

Customer review by OIAE

3.0 stars 12/26/2012 by OIAE
by OIAE

I purchased this because it is made in USA & willing to pay more money then rather buy from import made, i experted it will be a lot heavy duty or better construcion than the imported ones. I am a bit disappointed on what came with it, no horn, no mirror, no actual lights, no seat belts and the assembly needs some technical assitance even only a few parts to put together, the AIS needs to improve to give more details specially when comes to install the dump tray joint in the back. The dashboard are all stickers, looks cheap, the wheel has no traction, the reverse gear has to press down to works, making kids hard to make the reverse by pressing down, truning the wheel & pedal down all together in one action and no subspension, last bad thing is did not come with quick charger ( 2 hour full charge), it comes with a charger that need to charge the battery full with 18-20 hours. ( " 3/4 of a full day) The battery wont hold up charge, mine ran out 45 min to an hour at normal use on flat road by my 4 years old son with 35 lbs only. i will be calling for an RA for the replacement of the battery & charger next day or two. Come on ! John Deere, $350+tax , you got to do better than that ! You are comparing yourself with import products, how that's make you feel with the products you are calling "made in U.S.A.", be fair to the consumers who support local industires, employment & economy.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OIAE
Westwood, Nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product
1/2/2013

Customer review by Trip53

5.0 stars 1/2/2013 by Trip53
by Trip53

Assembly was quick and simple. Our 4 year old granddaughter had a ball. I am looking forward to her younger sister getting involved also.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Trip53
Burlington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Over priced; age spec wrong
4/18/2013

Customer review by DisappointedinBumpass

1.0 stars 4/18/2013 by DisappointedinBumpass
by DisappointedinBumpass

Purchased this for our 7 year old grandson. Specs say 3-8 year old but would be more appropriate for 3-6 years old. Difficult to assemble based on the instructions. Over priced based on cheap plastic materials. Best suited for city kids on the sidewalk but not country boy on the farm. Does not go well in the grass. I would not recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DisappointedinBumpass
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
New model is for smaller kids!
2/13/2014

Customer review by JimmyJohnThe3rd

1.0 stars 2/13/2014 by JimmyJohnThe3rd
by JimmyJohnThe3rd

We bought the older model gator in 2010 for our then 3 yr old and it was a really great product, we wanted to buy another for our younger son. They'd still be using the 2010 model but they wore it out. Our youngest is 5 (42 lbs.) and the new model gator is too small for him, his knees hit the dash. Recommended age on the box is 3 - 8 yrs old. We're taking it back! I wouldn't recommend the new gator for kids older than 3 -4 yrs old. We are super disappointed in the new model gator!

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JimmyJohnThe3rd
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Doesn't work
12/28/2012

Customer review by Brokendownagain

1.0 stars 12/28/2012 by Brokendownagain
by Brokendownagain

Took out of box, assembly complete. Grand kids can't wait..,,battery charged. Lets go...,not so fast it. Wait its not going at all. The low gear doesn't work, reverse doesn't work. Rabbit gear works. But paid for more than 1 gear. So gonna attempt to return to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brokendownagain
Granite Falls, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 188 total reviews
1-20 of 188 reviews