Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 131 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

131 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

131 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
53
4 stars
53
3 stars
12
2 stars
7
1 stars
6
1-20 of 119 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 119 total reviews
1-20 of 119 reviews
my kids love this set!
2/23/2012

Customer review by deb2be4

5.0 stars 2/23/2012 by deb2be4
by deb2be4

I was super excited to hear that a wooden swing set would be in my price range. My kids are having a blast! The swings are their favorite but it includes monkey bars for additional adventure. Not only was this wooden swing set in in my price range but it also comes with a warranty. 1yr warranty for all metal/plastic and 5yr warranty for wood rot/decay. I recommend this for people looking for outdoor fun for their children and it's affordable :)

Was this review helpful? (66) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
deb2be4
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
We are very impressed with this set
2/23/2012

Customer review by cliff22

5.0 stars 2/23/2012 by cliff22
by cliff22

We bought this set for our granddaughter. When we put the set together it was very easy to do. The instructions were very easy to follow. We loved the fact that they included the pictures in the instructions to help build it. We found that putting the set together was alot of fun to do. Another nice thing about the set is that it came with the ground stakes to anchor it down to the ground. It is a very sturdy set. And the quality of the set is well beyond our expectations.

Was this review helpful? (78) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cliff22
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good buy at a great price
2/23/2012

Customer review by Sherry1212

5.0 stars 2/23/2012 by Sherry1212
by Sherry1212

My kids love spending hours playing outside on their new playset. I love the smell of the cedar wood. Assembly did take awhile but well worth it.

Was this review helpful? (32) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sherry1212
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7 yr old loves it!
5/2/2012

Customer review by Robynk34

4.0 stars 5/2/2012 by Robynk34
by Robynk34

This swingset is very nice. There are only three monkey bars though and the slide is not the length it claims to be. We bought this for our 7 yr old and for our newborn baby to play on when she gets older. The monkey bars and the space to get on the slide are almost too small for our 7 yr old to play. The rock climbing wall is way to small for him, he loves the swing though! Overall this seems to be a good product.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Robynk34
Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice set but only for small children.
4/23/2012

Customer review by LoveToGoGo

2.0 stars 4/23/2012 by LoveToGoGo
by LoveToGoGo

We purchased this set for our 6 year old. He really likes it but it has already cracked in one place after 2 days of activity. It is definately not sturdy enough for him as he grows older/bigger/heavier... I can already tell. Overall, it looks nice. The instructions to put it together were good and everything is labeled accordingly; however, it did take 2 adult men 8 hours to put it all together. I highly recommend making a level place to put it before beginning the project. For the cost, I would like something sturdier that would last thru generations of children and I do not think this set will.

Was this review helpful? (29) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveToGoGo
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Terrible product, terrible service
7/8/2013

Customer review by JJT123

1.0 stars 7/8/2013 by JJT123
by JJT123

Very cheep woods. Came in with many defects and almost half of wood parts have long cracks. We called Backyard Discovery to ask for replacement of damaged items, and were requested to submit pictures. Ok, we submitted many pictures. No response for a week. We called them, and were asked to submit more pictures. We submitted over 30 pictures, and then finally they agreed that there are surely tones of cracks in over half of the wood parts. However, they still refused to send us replacement. Instead, they asked us to purchase all those problematic wood parts, and they would like to offer free shipping. What a big offer!!! This is a biggest mistake to purchase this products. I will tell everyone to stay away from Backyard Discovery!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JJT123
Chapel Hill, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
6/25/2012

Customer review by Gobae

4.0 stars 6/25/2012 by Gobae
by Gobae

This swing set is definitely engineered for a specific age range and level of usage in mind. As another reviewer pointed out, if you have larger kids or those that are hard on equipment it may not hold up as well as you might like. For my granddaughter (age 6) and the neighbor kids it's perfect. The wood is cedar and it is therefore softer and lighter than the typical 2x4. Because of that I recommend a light hand hammering the few tight joints to fit, and definitely set your cordless drill to low speed or be extremely careful when tightening the fasteners. Also I did have an issue with some of the fasteners so I recommend test threading them so you can avoid any cross-threading issues. Overall, this was a minor issue since there are plenty of extras provided and out of the hundreds only about 6 cross threaded on me and none after I started test-threading. As others have mentioned, the directions were quite good. My only wish is that they had labeled the fasteners in the diagram along with the frame parts instead of only in the assembly text. I prefer visual directions (like diagrams) so jumping from the diagram to the assembly text to find out what fasteners to use where was an annoyance for me, but not really big deal. In the end it took me a total of 10 hours (1 hour to layout and organize parts + 9 hours construction time). I went through 5 recharges on my cordless drill, but since I have 4 backup batteries and 2 chargers, I had no down time from that. Although, with some saw horses and planning I was able to build the whole thing *by myself*, most people would do well to have an assistant handy for certain phases of the construction as recommended in the directions.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gobae
Upstate, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Swing set
5/10/2012

Customer review by ffcarnp

3.0 stars 5/10/2012 by ffcarnp
by ffcarnp

We bought this mainly for my 2 year old grandson and it is fine for him however my granddaughter who is 13 would still like to swing on it and it doesn't seem sturdy enough for that. The one we had before came from a lumber yard and it was much stronger.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ffcarnp
Great but cheap - beware
5/11/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 5/11/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this thinking of quality, I did not get it. Made of the softest and cheapest wood. The nuts and bolts will strip with the greatest of ease. But on a lighter note, I was pretty easy to build. Just pre-read the instructions. I built it buy myself in about 4 hrs. My kids love it that is what counts. Just be careful not to over tighten the nuts bolts and screws and you'll be fine

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Attica
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
Great Playset for the money
5/21/2012

Customer review by ElfRuler

4.0 stars 5/21/2012 by ElfRuler
by ElfRuler

We bought this for our three kids, aged 3,7 and almost 9. It is perfect for them! The beams and bars are strong enough for the oldest and not too much for the youngest. Obviously, the youngest can't use the monkey bars yet, but he loves the rock climbing ladder up to the fort and slide. I wouldn't recommend trying to move the box it comes in with less than 3 adults. It's very heavy! when you open it all up and see the bag of hardware, it is intimidating. Don't lose heart!! Everything is well marked and the instructions are actually not too hard to follow. Also, they do include the star bits for the drill in the correct sizes in the hardware bag. (I didn't realize this and went out and bought them.) It took me and my sister about 8 hours to do half of it. My husband and I finished the rest in about 5 hours. About the first 3 hours were taken up in laying everything out and sorting all the hardware, and running to the store for tools I thought I needed. Once that was done, it went much faster. We are very happy with this Playset. The only reason I didn't give it a full 5 stars, is that I can't say how it will hold up. We have only had it about 3 weeks. So far it is great.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElfRuler
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
colorado swing set
5/1/2012

Customer review by 1brian

5.0 stars 5/1/2012 by 1brian
by 1brian

kids love this swing set, it does take about six hours to put together but if u can follow directions its not to hard to assemble.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1brian
Good product for the price
5/15/2012

Customer review by Jmurph4

4.0 stars 5/15/2012 by Jmurph4
by Jmurph4

Took awhile to put together and it is a lot easier if you have more than two people putting it up. Love the smell of the Cedar wood! My kids love it and use it everyday that its not raining. I thought the picnic table was actually going to be a picnic table but as it turns out it is just two pieces of wood at different levels, only one child can sit at. Great product, our family loves it!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jmurph4
Jacksonville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
4/12/2012

Customer review by AdoringMomofThreeKids

5.0 stars 4/12/2012 by AdoringMomofThreeKids
by AdoringMomofThreeKids

Took forever to assemble. However, once it was done, my daughter LOVES it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AdoringMomofThreeKids
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice Swingset
5/7/2012

Customer review by leighrese

5.0 stars 5/7/2012 by leighrese
by leighrese

The swingset was delivered earlier then expected. It was farily easy to set up (my husband did most of the work) but it took a friend to complete the slide , the tower section and the final assembly. We have only had it up for a week but the kids love it. I worried it would be to small for our eight year old but she fits it fine and loves the monkey bars.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
leighrese
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
4/29/2012

Customer review by 315atvheaven

5.0 stars 4/29/2012 by 315atvheaven
by 315atvheaven

We bought this item for twin two year olds and a ten year old. Perfect for twins, lots of room for them to grow into it. Our ten year old is at the limits of the swing set, tough to climb inside of and stresses it a little while on the swing. Goes together much easier than i thought it would. Biggest things are to make sure its being set up on a level ground, watch closely the pictures of the instructions. Not bad over all. Price is right and hopefully years of fun. Warrenty and down the road replacement parts prices reasonable.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
315atvheaven
fly creek, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value, but somewhat light on lumber.
9/24/2013

Customer review by Trav9536

5.0 stars 9/24/2013 by Trav9536
by Trav9536

I think this will serve the purpose of entertaining our kids over the next 15 years. Assembly was easy to follow, though there were a couple of places where pilot holes were needed but had not been pre-drilled. There were also a couple of times when particular parts were not labeled as expected in the directions, but a little common sense goes a long way. The lumber is mostly 1x material, but it is stained a nice redwood-looking color. Hopefully it lasts a long time. I consider myself quite handy with building projects, and it took my father-in-law and I about 5 hours to assemble from box to finish. Keep in mind the box itself weighs about 160 pounds, so if Walmart helps you load it into a truck, make sure you have help ready to unload it at home. A great purchase for the money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Trav9536
Modesto CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/1/2013

Customer review by alreadybeentaken2

4.0 stars 9/1/2013 by alreadybeentaken2
by alreadybeentaken2

We bought this for my grandson's 6th birthday. He loves it! It's only been up for 2 weeks so can't comment on the life of it but for the price we paid I think he, and his friends, will get our moneys worth out of it. We had a little difficulty putting it together, mainly deciding which side of the slide surface was the top side as they both appeared equally shiny and we did have to take pieces apart once or twice as the directions were not specific as to which side of the piece was suppose to go at which end but overall it wasn't too bad. Having the diagrams was a great help. Took about 8 hours for 4 adults to put together. Tip, lay all the pieces out based on # and letter codes, read the instructions fully and look at the wood pieces carefully so you make sure you put the correct end where it needs to go (this will avoid having to take pieces apart and redo) and don't rip the bags of hardware open so that you can't read the piece number or leave them in the sun while putting other parts together as they get real hot!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alreadybeentaken2
Enfield, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/25/2012

Customer review by DrakiesMommy

4.0 stars 4/25/2012 by DrakiesMommy
by DrakiesMommy

This swingset was a great purchase that my children love. However, the building of this took about 10 or 11 hours for 2 men to build. This is a huge project and I wish the set up was easier. I also thought there were going to be more than 3 monkeybars. However my kids love this so much.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DrakiesMommy
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great alternative to expensive wood playsets
8/13/2013

Customer review by SouthernCanuck

4.0 stars 8/13/2013 by SouthernCanuck
by SouthernCanuck

It took me a little over a day to put together this play set. The directions were clear and easy to follow as long as you have the tools to put it together its not all that bad. My yard isn't exactly level and the play-set isn't made of heavy wood but with the stakes in the ground and screwed into the wood of the play-set I am very satisfied with the stability. As for the swing-set itself, my 3 year old daughter loves it. I bought a infant swing seat for my 8 month old and he loves it too. The slide is good quality the monkey bars are way to high for my kid to reach so that will be something she can look forward to mastering later. We were at first, opting for a used wood set or a cheaper metal version but a nice used set was a hassle to get and the metal would rust and looked dated over time so it was an easy choice as the price was just right with this set.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SouthernCanuck
Tenneessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's just "ok"
7/23/2013

Customer review by Littlebearsmama

3.0 stars 7/23/2013 by Littlebearsmama
by Littlebearsmama

I'm sure my kido will have lots of fun with her friends on this. Overall- we have a swing set in the backyard for the littles. The nice part is that it looks nice all put together & offers several options for them to play with. My complaints are that the deck for them to play on is much smaller than I expected. The dimensions weren't shown on the website. As for the assembly.....I'm pretty handy, I know how to swing a hammer, but this was a doozy! We were able to figure out which bolts & washers went where, but when an instruction page had several to use on an area, you had to figure out which ones to use where. My biggest frustration was that at least a dozen holes that were supposed to be pre-drilled weren't so I had to measure & drill....and that was in addition to the holes that they instruct you to drill. My husband hasn't filed for divorce yet so I guess we survived. ;)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Littlebearsmama
Dallas tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 119 total reviews
1-20 of 119 reviews