Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 88 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

88 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

88 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

48%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
11
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 stars
40
1-20 of 87 total reviews
48%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 87 total reviews
1-20 of 87 reviews
Not a winner in the bunch!
3/29/2016

Customer review by MadMack

1.0 stars 3/29/2016 by MadMack
by MadMack

Over the past year I've been buying these lights to replace the old fluorescent lighting fixtures in my basement. I had a decent sized stack of new units waiting in a corner. As the old fixtures died I replaced them with the new ones from Lights of America. One night my helper asked why I was replacing a new fixture, turns out one of the new LOA fixtures died less than three months after installation, that pattern continued, I've been getting anywhere from six months to a year of life from them before they stop working, one actually had a bit of arcing and smoking coming from one of the end pieces. I returned what I could to Wal-Mart, for the others, LOA offered to honor the 2 year replacement warranty, all I had to do was mail the item back to them, with proof of purchase, guess how much it cost to mail these things cross country? In summation, nice design, nice light spread from the bulb placement in the fixtures, worthless performance and zero value for your money, sorry Wal-Mart, not worth your shelf space, my money or my time.

Was this review helpful? (41) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MadMack
Would recommend to a friend? No
Cheaply made and poorly packaged
1/14/2016

Customer review by Hawk

2.0 stars 1/14/2016 by Hawk
by Hawk

I have never seen a fluorescent light fixture put together as these were. If you had to replace the ballast, you might as well throw the unit away. The ballast was an integral part of the light and not a separate removal and replacement item in the light. The plastic ends that contained the T8 sockets were not made to be taken apart and removed, and this would be the only way to access the ballast which was a small computer board. Approximately 50% of the 10 lights I ordered had damage on the hood because of the packaging. The were bent and paint chipped off. I understand the light were quite inexpensive compared to the all metal fluorescent light fixtures. If I was not installing them in a barn, I would have returned them. My intent was to use the fixture only, and not to run as fluorescent lighting, but to rewire them for LED bulbs. If you wanted them strictly as fluorescent lighting and added the fluorescent bulbs, they would most likely work okay, with the exception of the damage to the hood due to poor packaging for shipment.

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hawk
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bought numerous, 75% Dead in 3 Months
4/11/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 4/11/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I very rarely ever write reviews but this product is so bad, I felt I needed to in order to potentially save others from making the same mistake. I bought 12 of these fixtures over the past 3 months for some lighting projects INSIDE my home. I thought it important to note that these are being used in my office, in a climate controlled environment and have no outside sources working against them. Temperature has been maintained between 68F and 74F. The lights are being used as grow lights for my seedlings, which were all bottom watered (no moisture issues) and the lights were set on a time, 12 hours on and 12 hours off. There is positively no reason these fixtures should die in less than 3 months (some are barely 2 months old). Out of the 12 I bought, only 3 remain working and one is starting to flicker today so I assume the ballast will be blown on it by the end of day. These are an absolutely horrible purchase if you actually plan on using them.

Was this review helpful? (89) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Saucier, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not very good quality
8/31/2016

Customer review by Glen

1.0 stars 8/31/2016 by Glen
by Glen

I have six of these in my workshop. Four are dead. Two have been going for more than a year, the others died anywhere from two months to less than a year after installation. Spend money on better quality lighting. Do not but these.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Glen
Would recommend to a friend? No
complete waste of time
8/10/2016

Customer review by Thomas

1.0 stars 8/10/2016 by Thomas
by Thomas

I bought two of these at the local store to add lighting to my garage. I installed the first unit and looked good, easy install, worked with the LED T8 Bulb, thought I was golden. I proceeded to install the second unit and the first failed by the time I had the second unit in place, less than 10 minute life. I inspected the first unit and couldn't find any loose connections, not meant to ever be serviced, completely a disposable fixture. I shut the second unit down and went inside for lunch, came back after lunch and turned the light on while boxing the first unit the second arced and failed.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thomas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Doesn not work with LED T8 lights
5/8/2016

Customer review by controlofsound

1.0 stars 5/8/2016 by controlofsound
by controlofsound

Had 2 blow the ballast within 5 minutes. they are cheaply made.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
controlofsound
Would recommend to a friend? No
lights up attic
9/3/2016

Customer review by REX4

4.0 stars 9/3/2016 by REX4
by REX4
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

it takes a thinner bulb (T8) which is smaller around then the (T12) and more costly. I also needed t o go and get some more chain, to reach between the rafters all together it was less to do this way, then any other.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
REX4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product for the money
9/27/2012

Customer review by DIYRealReview

5.0 stars 9/27/2012 by DIYRealReview
by DIYRealReview

I have been using these flourescent fixtures for many years without issues both in doors in house and outdoors in shops and greenhouses. They work just fine both in summer and winter given the greenhouses are cold frames that do not get heated. Given this is the cheapest place I have seen to buy flourescent fixtures and have not had issues can't see how anyone can complain. It is more likely the installer that creates the issues than the product itself. Granted you get the occational bad seed. Out of literally thousands of these fixtures I have bought in years of construction and other business ventures I may have seen a handful of bad ones. But when other fixtures cost so reduculously more and literally do not provide any significant difference in quality, you are better off replacing the occational bad seed than to pay 3, 4, 5, plus times the cost of these for every fixture. It is the bulb that provides the light and quality of light not the fixture. Fixture only provides a functional medium for the bulb to light and an astheitic value in appearance. If you dont need asthetic. this is the product for your needs.

Was this review helpful? (71) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DIYRealReview
Southern Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Product is no good
9/22/2016

Customer review by Ferg

1.0 stars 9/22/2016 by Ferg
by Ferg

They suck brought 4 last night put bulbs in them they started smoking immediately and arcing lasted less than a minute don't buy

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ferg
Would recommend to a friend? No
Unit was defective
2/23/2016

Customer review by Doug

1.0 stars 2/23/2016 by Doug
by Doug

I ordered online, and was given a waiting time of five days. When I picked it up (20 miles away), and brought it home, then I opened it. There was a long metal part laying in the box with the wiring exposed. I tried to put it back together but the part was bent and sprung. Somebody knew it was no good, taped the box up and sent it to fill the order. Customer service was excellent and refunded my money, but of course, I can't get my time or gas refunded.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Doug
Would recommend to a friend? No
Waste money
1/17/2016

Customer review by Dragon4DYI

1.0 stars 1/17/2016 by Dragon4DYI
by Dragon4DYI

I bought three of these and tested two out of three and each one turn on for about 15 minutes and then shut off. Unplugged and tried again...same issue. I returned all three.

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dragon4DYI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent life span and easy install.
7/10/2016

Customer review by Randy

5.0 stars 7/10/2016 by Randy
by Randy

I can't believe the bad reviews. I bought this fixture for the first time 5 years ago. I used it for 2 years no problem in a garage. I built a custom hood for my 100 gallon fish tank and used this same fixture inside it. There is no harsher environment then 2 inches off the surface of heated water. With the evaporation, over 3 years later, the metal is all rusted out and falling apart and still works perfectly today. That's over 5 years and still working like the day I bought it despite the worst possible care. Bought more to light my garage and now putting 2 more in my shed. The reports of burning, arcing, smoke, that is all describing ballast going out and perfectly safe, not a fire concern. At a quarter of the price of other brands, this product is more than worth the occasional replacement of a defective product. By it in a store an return the defective one to walmart instead of shipping. Even if you throw it away you still only paid $20 instead of $40 for a light fixture. The bulb as nothing to do with the fixture working or not other than fitting. They even sell it in stainless for 5 more bucks if you want it pretty.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Randy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Too bad these are such poor quality.
9/20/2012

Customer review by GeekyOldLady

1.0 stars 9/20/2012 by GeekyOldLady
by GeekyOldLady

I have had 6 of these lights. If they last a year you are lucky. Four were purchased for garage and 1 was DOA on opening. Two were for basement. All of them died quickly. Save yourself the frustration and hastle, and buy a better product. My average life for this product was 6 months. That is a lot of waste in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (82) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GeekyOldLady
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT MERCHANDISE WITH LOT OF USES
8/25/2016

Customer review by JOSEAN

5.0 stars 8/25/2016 by JOSEAN
by JOSEAN
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

THESE COMPACT, USEFULL AND EASY TO HANDLE WERE PLANNED TO BE INSTALL IN MY GARAGE AREA WHICH IS CHANGE TO MY PERSONAL WATERCRAFT & SMALL BOATS REPAIR SHOP. THEY WERE CHANGE TO L.E.D. TUBES TO HAVE MORE DAY LIGHT APPERANCE AND MORE CLEAR LIGHT FOR THE DAILY WORK ON THIS AREA, TO SERVE MORE COMFORTABLE FOR ME AND MY CUSTOMERS. EVEN IN THE FIRST NIGHT HOUR TO WORK PROPERLY.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JOSEAN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Doesn't work out of the box
2/13/2014

Customer review by HKELLER

1.0 stars 2/13/2014 by HKELLER
by HKELLER

Ballast is inconsistent in providing power to the bulbs. There are BRIGHT and DIM spots all throughout. Bought 2 of them and one has (1) tube that just won't light up no matter the bulb I put in there. HORRIBLE quality.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HKELLER
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Failed prematurely
11/15/2012

Customer review by cbrillow

1.0 stars 11/15/2012 by cbrillow
by cbrillow

I purchased two of these at separate times over the course of a couple of years for use in my attached garage. Neither lasted more more than about a year or so, making them unreliable in my opinion. Would not purchase from this manufacturer again.

Was this review helpful? (46) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cbrillow
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Lights flicker.
8/19/2016

Customer review by jearlc

2.0 stars 8/19/2016 by jearlc
by jearlc

Bought 4 of these about a month ago. They came on but flickered a lot, and three of the 8 bulbs burnt out. Going with the t-12 fixture.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jearlc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Does not last
3/28/2014

Customer review by mountainmama84

1.0 stars 3/28/2014 by mountainmama84
by mountainmama84

I purchased three of these lights. One quit working after 5 weeks another one quit at 6 weeks. What a waste. Will never purchase again.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mountainmama84
wv
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Light fixture
8/10/2016

Customer review by John

4.0 stars 8/10/2016 by John
by John
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's a good light fixture for your shop or laundry room, basement, it works out great for these places, and easy to put up. I'm happy with it. John, MA

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
John
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A 50% failure rate in less than 3 months
3/15/2014

Customer review by BunkerGrower

1.0 stars 3/15/2014 by BunkerGrower
by BunkerGrower

Tape the receipt to these lights because you will be returning them often.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BunkerGrower
Hillsdale, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 87 total reviews
1-20 of 87 reviews