Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 8 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

8 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

8 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-6 of 6 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

5/17/2012

Customer review by DJRickles

5.0 stars 5/17/2012 by DJRickles
by DJRickles

I'm so glad I bought this receiver. Excellent sound quality. Can connect all my HDMI devices. Remote is very easy to use. Excellent value for the price. If I ever do upgrade to a 3D tv, it is ready for that challenge. I would definitely reccomend this receiver to a frien

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DJRickles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just what I was looking for!
12/21/2012

Customer review by 6strings6

5.0 stars 12/21/2012 by 6strings6
by 6strings6

Since I placed all of my music (over 500 CD's) onto a Motorola Zoom that I got solely for this purpose, the only other component to my audio system is a receiver. So streamlined that I can park it on top of a cabinet for maximum accessibility and to show it off. The unimaginative black box receiver was not going to work for me. I wanted something with designer qualities, sleek and eye catching. The old Marantz had more style than anything on the market today. My budget was up to $2000 but no matter where I looked, all I saw was the "Black Box". I kept imagining something in a gloss white finish, with rounded edges and not too many buttons. Sort of what Steve Jobs might create. I was convinced there was no one of that creative mindset in the audio industry. Then I saw the Sherwood NetBoxx R-904NW. I couldn't believe it! Everything I wanted and more than I needed. It was perfect. I am fully aware that Sherwood, as a brand, is not in the audiophile category of products. But who cares...Look at it! I use it strictly as a stereo receiver. No surround sound, no video switching and no streaming. I select an album or playlist from my Zoom or an FM broadcast and I'm done. The 2-zone feature is nice and I use the 2nd zone for my outdoor speakers. I gives me much greater flexibility to balance the volume with the inside speakers eliminating the need for volume controls. And the Fluorescent Display? Awesome!!! Other than issues with the special streaming features, with which I am not familiar, this is the biggest criticism of the unit I have seen. It's too bright? That's the point guys. Put it out in the open, on display. You'll see it is just bright enough. It's a centerpiece. It deserves to be seen. It has style and visual appeal. Show it off. Would you hide your Christmas tree in a closet? No. These things want to interact with the participant. It's just another facet of this gem to enjoy. I almost wish it made the Star Wars Light Saber sound when it fires up, and produced a hologram of Mozart or Eric Clapton inviting me to play some music. My hat is off to the guy or gal who got this thing on the market. Sony, Yamaha et al: wake up and hire some talented designer to give your products another edge. I guarantee if you see this on display with the rest of the receiver entries, it is the first one you will go to. Put some snobby brand name on it and it will fly off the shelves. At $200 from Walmart, this is a real bargain.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
6strings6
Doylestown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/1/2012

Customer review by fantasticL

5.0 stars 6/1/2012 by fantasticL
by fantasticL

It comes with a bunch of net channels, but I really only use it for Netflix. I had bought the Sony NP200 model before and it would constantly need to rebuffer so I returned it and got this one. No rebuffering issue with this box, everything is crystal clear, plus wireless capable and simple to use.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fantasticL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No support or help
3/11/2013

Customer review by momsofmany

1.0 stars 3/11/2013 by momsofmany
by momsofmany

This product no longer offers technical support. It also does not offer a web browser. It's very hard to setup, you have only a select few things you can use and you must subscribe to every thing else, if you can figure out how. It's not very efficient and I am returning the one I bought for something else.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momsofmany
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Unbelievably advanced receiver
9/4/2013

Customer review by TLatta

5.0 stars 9/4/2013 by TLatta
by TLatta

I purchased this receiver for one reason and one reason only... It is the only all white receiver on the market. I purchased it as a birthday present for my fiancée because her entire computer room is white. I also purchased the Bose Acustimass 3 system to compliment the receiver. I was totally blown away by the simplicity to use (for her) and the technical aspects of the receiver (for me). I have a high end Onkyo receiver in my man cave and it can not even begin to touch on all of the features this receiver possesses. I still have to take more time to tweak with the settings for optimal sound and to see everything this baby can do. But as a bonafide techie and audiophile I recommend this for beginner to expert. There are a lot of options. The funny thing is my techie self was shown up by my fiancée on a feature. There is a dimmer button on the remote that works in 3 phases to dim the receivers lights to set ambiance. I was like how did you do that? The total "I'm Floored" moment was plugging in the sound EQ microphone. It set the proper levels of the 2.1 set up for that room and balanced the acoustics better than I was trying to manually. I wish my expensive onkyo did that one. I recommend this receiver. The only thing is when I crank this baby past 75 it powers off to avoid blowing the amp so I need to do some more research on the ohms compatibility as Bose does not offer wattage amounts of what their speaker systems do. All I know is my fiancée is going to be kicking me out of her room. Can't wait to mount speakers to wall brackets to truly hear the receiver as God intended!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TLatta
Springfield, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Only white receiver on the market & not very deep!
12/30/2013

Customer review by arock30

3.0 stars 12/30/2013 by arock30
by arock30

Great look (rare to find a white receiver with 5.1 channels) and one of the most shallow receivers I could find....putting this on a white bookcase that is only 11" deep.....so it was a great find! The price was great too! Problem is, the unit stopped turning on after having it for only two weeks. I push the power button and it looks like it is going to start up, then powers off. I am not sure if Sherwood is a good brand, hoping that I got a lemon and the next unit lasts. I just ordered a replacement from Walmart and they are expediting shipping, so Walmart is doing what they can to make things right...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
arock30
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.