Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 245 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

245 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

245 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
193
4 stars
31
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 stars
9
1-20 of 239 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 239 total reviews
1-20 of 239 reviews
ACNE BE GONE!
9/1/2013

Customer review by asraf

5.0 stars 9/1/2013 by asraf
by asraf
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my first review on any product I've used for acne because none of them worked... until I got this kit. I am 28 years old and never had acne , until around my 26th birthday I started seeing it popping up around my cheek area. For two years I struggled with this horrible skin condition , everyone was asking me what happen to your face? I was so embarrassed. I couldn't see a dermatologist because I don't have insurance. I used so many herbal and over the counter acne medication until I stumbled across this at Walmart I was hesitant to try another product but the reviews were excellent, I received my package and just after only two days of use I saw great improvement , all the pimples were fading , drying up. I one week I had no pimples on my face. I continue using it everyday for two weeks then to every other day , as with alot of acne medication it dries the skin out. I would recommend this to ANYBODY. TRY THIS YOU WON'T REGRET IT!! oh did I mention how affordable this is? 12 bucks!!

Was this review helpful? (264) (51)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
asraf
New York, NY.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It WORKS!!!
6/1/2014

Customer review by Lala66513651

5.0 stars 6/1/2014 by Lala66513651
by Lala66513651

My acne cleared up in a month, helped with some dark spots as well!

Was this review helpful? (121) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lala66513651
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
This stuff really works!
9/6/2016

Customer review by Kayy

5.0 stars 9/6/2016 by Kayy
by Kayy

Im a 20yr old female.. My skin was starting to look better the day i used it after 3 days it looked 100x better after a week its pretty much completely clear i have been dealing with this for years and this stuff is the only thing that has worked i love the face wash it works really good but its also super gentle no burning or stinging like others i have tried same with the toner and moisturizer the one thing i dont like is the smell of the toner but its worth it for the results you get i also loveeeee the mask i wish it was bigger i already used it all lol i will definitely buy this again its cheap and it works great

Was this review helpful? (28) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kayy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazed
1/18/2017

Customer review by Brooke

5.0 stars 1/18/2017 by Brooke
by Brooke

I have to brag on this stuff mostly because this is a 3 DAY difference! I never really had problems with acne until I had my son. Since he was born 4 months ago my face has been completely broken out. I bought this off brand proactive a few days ago at Walmart and have used it nightly for the past 3 nights. My skin is so much smoother and everything is clearing up really well. I still have some redness but it is no where near as bad as it was. The best part is the price!

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brooke
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works just as well as Proactiv, but is affordable!
1/12/2013

Customer review by PineappleSkewer

5.0 stars 1/12/2013 by PineappleSkewer
by PineappleSkewer

I have been constantly complaining around the house that Proactiv is too expensive and nothing else works for me, so my mom went and bought this for me as a Christmas present (and to probably stop my complaining). I didn't actually think it would work, but I was still excited to try something new. I looked up reviews and videos on it, and it sounded too good to be true. However, after a few weeks of using this, I can definitely see a difference! When I first tried this, my chin and neck was just covered with a very bad breakout of huge, itchy bumps. I'm happy to say that almost all the blemishes are completely gone! My pores look smaller, too! Sometimes I forget to use it twice a day and my face ends up just fine. I will say that the little trial mask seemed to make me break out, but the actual three step system is wonderful. I'm so happy to finally have something that works well with my annoying acne and is at a price that I can afford! I'll definitely be purchasing this for myself from now on!

Was this review helpful? (72) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PineappleSkewer
OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
amazing, will use forever, unique acne was cleared
10/28/2013

Customer review by shatt09

5.0 stars 10/28/2013 by shatt09
by shatt09

So after trying a plethora of products, and tricks during my teens to fight my serve acne, I'm shocked I a) have skin on my face and b) skin capable of producing a pimple. Then in my mid 20 I started my teenage acne all over again. I came across the equate acne system and thought for $12 and its the only one on this skin care rack I haven't tried over the years. Omg the frist night I was impressed! !!!!!!!! Compared to proactiv is an understatement, this is proactiv, even the bottles are the same design just at an extremely affordable price. The only difference is I'm able to actually use this product in the necessary amount to see results because I'm not forking out $60 for it. So this is day 3 and I went from 30+ cystic pimples some scabbed over trying to heal to beautiful skin that is smooth with little redness. I attached pics because this is something that some one with sensitive skin, finding no results with other products on acne that happens from oily and dirty skin will be glad they tried.

Was this review helpful? (74) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shatt09
san diego ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Amazing
1/1/2017

Customer review by Tiffany

5.0 stars 1/1/2017 by Tiffany
by Tiffany

I cant say how much i love this product. I never had acne issues before in my younger teenage years. But now ive been badling rabdom break outs weekly. It was product after product and some worked for a bit then it would be back again. Its also hard finding a product for sensitive skin like mine but this does the job. I noticed a improvement in my skin the following day after one treatment. My pimples are healing quickly and becoming less noticable. I tried proactive before and it dried my skin out and i broke out immediately after missing it one day. This product works perfectly and is simple and easy. No harsh smells and isnt hurting my skin. Worked so much faster than proactive and the acnefree and other systems i used. Oh and did i mention its half the price?! I will continue to use this product and my friends will too. Thank you for selling such a wonderful product please keep in stock.

Was this review helpful? (20) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tiffany
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing!
5/17/2016

Customer review by HappyConsumer

5.0 stars 5/17/2016 by HappyConsumer
by HappyConsumer

I am in my early 30's and my acne came back to haunt me when I turned 30. Long story short, I have been battling acne in various severity for years (both cystic and lighter). The cystic acne has proven to be difficult to get rid of and I tried just about everything from various cleansers to spot treatments to dermatologist treatments and nothing fended off the acne...until now. Knowing my frustration, my husband compared the active ingredients of Proactive to this product and found them to be the same for a fraction of the cost so he surprised me and purchased it for me. I have used it religiously for 3 months now (all three parts to the system) morning and night, which doesn't take long at all. I was a week and a half in when I began seeing a difference. Each pimple on my face cleared up, and has not returned! My face is completely cleared up, which I haven't had in YEARS! I may get the occasional small pimple, but it goes away within a few days at the most. I couldn't be happier with this product. Goodbye painful acne!

Was this review helpful? (40) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyConsumer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Exceeded My Expectations!
10/23/2013

Customer review by JanesvilleWICustomer

5.0 stars 10/23/2013 by JanesvilleWICustomer
by JanesvilleWICustomer

I was surprised to see that Walmart had come out with a comparable product to Proactive, but was so grateful. Proactive is overpriced, and a hassle to buy. I read the reviews from the Walmart website, and thought I would give the Equate Acne Treatment System a try. I have been fighting breakouts on my chin for a while now, and have tried everything from natural cleansers, to top brand cleansers with salicylic acid in them, and nothing was working. I used the cleanser for the first time last night before bed, and to my amazement my acne was pretty much gone in the morning! I have an important charity gala coming up tomorrow, and now I can feel confident and beautiful during the big event. Thank you so much Walmart!!!! I can't wait to tell all of my friends. The only request I have for your product development team is to provide the different components sold separately for restocking purposes. I usually run out of the cleanser before anything else. You would be ahead of Proactive's product line if you made this possible. Thanks again!

Was this review helpful? (44) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JanesvilleWICustomer
Janesville, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Working great at 1/10 the price
9/8/2016

Customer review by 4austin

5.0 stars 9/8/2016 by 4austin
by 4austin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My teenagers have been using ProActive for the last year. This summer we ran out (after cancelling our subscription) and for the sake of interest, I went on line to see what else was comparable. This Equate 3 Step Acne Treatment was rated quite highly and after watching a few You-Tube Videos, I decided to give it a try. A four month ProActive subscription with shipping was $136.42 for their 3 step plus emergency spot treatment. I purchased this Equate 3 Step and it came with a spot mask treatment. My daughter has been using it for three weeks ( the pkg states to use for a minimum of four weeks to see results). She has typical breakouts on her forehead and a few here and there on her face. I actually noticed yesterday that her forehead is clearing up nicely. There are still a few pimples, but they are smaller in size than before the treatment, and there are definitely less than three weeks ago. We will continue to use this product as I can see results and at less than 1/10 (depending on how long these bottles last) of the price - it EQUALS a winner.

Was this review helpful? (30) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4austin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazed
7/19/2015

Customer review by FarahsMom

5.0 stars 7/19/2015 by FarahsMom
by FarahsMom

I have never reviewed a product before, but because of how amazing this product is, I had to in case someone else is suffering from the same embarrassing infliction. After turning 30 I developed hormonal and cystic acne. I have ADHD and take Adderall to treat it. Between the medication and changing hormones, I developed acne for the first time in my life. In the past 3 years, I have tried many other products that my budget would allow. I'm so thankful for reviews and internet info I found on this. I noticed almost immediate results. Within 5 days my skin was flawless even though I was having the worst breakout I had ever experienced. My oldest daughter is 13 and she is just starting to have some acne as well. She has been using this for 4 days now and her face is almost 100% clear now. We also have very sensitive skin and have not had any problems with peeling or sensitivity. I highly recommend this product and we will continue using it.

Was this review helpful? (38) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FarahsMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I've tried everything... this really works!!
1/25/2017

Customer review by palmbuyer

5.0 stars 1/25/2017 by palmbuyer
by palmbuyer

I was so so hopeless about my acne. I'm 18 and have had horrible skin my entire adolescent life. I used to have really dry skin which led to horrible outbreaks in middle school and over the years, my skin type has become combination to oily. I've tried everything to get rid of my scarring and active blemishes. The amount of redness I had all over my face really would kill my self esteem. I've tried expensive hylauronic acid products, vitamin & c serums, you name it. This was one of the only products that I got results with within DAYS. The only complaint I have about this is that the moisturizer isn't very heavy and moist so it's kind of drying sometimes. so I always have to put another moisturizer over it especially because my skin gets so dry over the winter. But it's still amazing nonetheless. I also run out so quick because there's only 4 oz of the cleanser and toner. Either way, this stuff is magic I swear. I've tried samples of proactive before and it just made me break out due to my previous dry skin, but this stuff? Instant results. For $12. You really can't beat it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
palmbuyer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
FANTASTIC!
5/14/2017

Customer review by John

5.0 stars 5/14/2017 by John
by John

I've been using this Equate Acne Treatment system for years. It's absolutely a god send! With the same active ingredients as Proactiv, yet costing 1/4th as much you're getting a great deal. The "bonus mask" is a nice little extra to use once or twice a week on problem areas. I travel frequently and always throw this system into my suitcase without any leaks or broken bottles. I typically run out of the 2 oz repairing lotion before the other 4 oz bottles of toner and cleanser. Walmart use to sell each bottle in this system individually also, but I no longer seem them available individually. But, hey...at less than $12, I can afford to buy several kits. I really can't say enough great things about my experience with this kit. A+++

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
John
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Peace of Mind for $12.
3/21/2012

Customer review by lpage6007

5.0 stars 3/21/2012 by lpage6007
by lpage6007

I am 22 years old and I have had clear skin up until around six or eight months ago. So unfortunately, I have adult acne. :( I guess this is pretty common. I have been using this for almost two months and my skin is looking So great! My complexion is incredibly even, I have no blackheads, my acne scars are fading, and I do not get any breakouts (not even during that dreaded time of the month...). The only issue that I have had with this system is that it takes a few weeks to get used to. It took about two weeks for my skin to stop burning when putting on lotion and flaking during the day. Your skin just takes awhile to get used to the benzoyl peroxide, just like with Proactiv. But honestly, the irritation wasn't ever bad enough to make me stop using this product. Plus, my skin started looking great right after I started using it, so I was motivated to continue. My best tip for using this is to only use the first step cleanser at night, not in the morning. I use step 2 & 3 in the morning and steps 1,2,& 3 at night. It works great and I will keep using it!

Was this review helpful? (96) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lpage6007
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Results
3/1/2017

Customer review by Jennifer

5.0 stars 3/1/2017 by Jennifer
by Jennifer

I'm 27 and have struggled with acne for what seems like forever. Ranging from severe to mild. I would use facial scrubs or acne wash. Those would only feel good for the first couple of days but no results. My acne was usually worst on my cheeks before, usually one more than the other. I'd also tend to get it on my forehead too. Recently though, it started to be more of my chin line. I don't wear makeup hardly ever, and if or when I did it only made it worse. So after reading some of the reviews on this when looking into Proactive. I decided to give it a try. It's only been a couple weeks, I don't use it every day, but I do use it every week at least 2 times. My acne has cleared and my complexion looks so good. Normally my cheeks always would be red even when I didn't have acne on them. Today my co worker complimented how great my face looks. I'm completely makeup free today, so I thought I needed to write a review. I wish I would've taken a before and after pictures but I didn't. Everyone is different, but this worked for me. Plus, the clearer my face is the less I touch it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jennifer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great save!!
1/15/2013

Customer review by KimbersMommy

5.0 stars 1/15/2013 by KimbersMommy
by KimbersMommy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was so excited when I found out that Walmart made a generic Proactiv. The first time I used it, I noticed a difference in my skin immediately. My skin appeared to be brighter, smoother and more clear. However, I think I was allergic to it. My skin felt warm to the touch and almost felt like it had the texture of snake skin. But because my skin looked so much better, I was determined to find a way to use this product. So I asked my husband, who is a reputable physician, what I could do to make this work. He told me to use the face wash like I normally would, but then to wash my face afterwards with my regular face wash to clear my skin of the active ingredient which was what was causing the reaction. I applied the toner as you normally would, and then avoided the moisturizer because it contained the same active ingredient that the face wash did. I use this system every other day. It really makes the difference. Love this product. I'll just buy the cleanser and toner separately in lieu of the kit since I won't be using the moisturizer.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KimbersMommy
Jacksonville Beach, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this!
4/5/2017

Customer review by browndogmom

5.0 stars 4/5/2017 by browndogmom
by browndogmom

I started using this when I was 26 and think its just amazing still and I'm now 30. Left my skin feeling clean and free of almost all blemishes and perfectly moisturized without being oily. My local store stopped carrying it, as has the stores in several neighboring cities. I'm hoping stock is just back ordered and they are not ceasing production...I've tried the other 3 step system comparable to Proactiv+ and I hate it. My skin hasn't looked this terrible in year; oily, break outs, etc. Now I have to order the original formula online but its worth the hassle. I hope they never stop making this!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
browndogmom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Exceeded My Expectations
6/28/2016

Customer review by Anonymous

5.0 stars 6/28/2016 by Anonymous
by Anonymous

If you need a review to make your decision easier, it should probably be this one. I am a girl in High School, so yeah of course, I have lots and lots of acne. Recently I came across this system online and in the store and just bought it because i was desperate ASSUMING it wouldn't work like the others i have tried. Going off of that thought, i didn't care to take a before picture which i wish i had now. After a couple days of use, my face started clearing up and not only did it surprise my family, it surprised ME because i wasn't expecting that to happen. The only down side is that my face began to get a little dry so i have to decrease the amount i use. I still will give it 5 stars though because it genuinely deserves it. Cheap, Convenient, Easy to buy and restock, and reliable. BUY IT!! I never write reviews but i thought this could save someone's life and face.

Was this review helpful? (35) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Anonymous
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works!!!
9/25/2016

Customer review by Lindsay

5.0 stars 9/25/2016 by Lindsay
by Lindsay
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My combination skin is usually pretty clear, but recently I had a crazy breakout all over my chin and a new pimple was appearing every day. I remembered using this product years before with success so I ordered it again. Obviously for a whole kit, you can't beat the price. I started using it morning and night but had to cut the Repairing Lotion to just once a day. I found that to be the step that dried my face out the most. But still, IT WORKS! In about 2 days I saw improvement - the pimples were drying out and no new ones were forming. Each day after that, I was able to wear less and less makeup. After 1 week, my skin was back to pre-breakout clarity, save for the marks the pimples left behind. Be warned - this kit can be quite drying. I started to get small flakey patches. However, it cleared my breakouts away and I am so thankful!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lindsay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Long Term Proactive User Happy to Save!
12/22/2013

Customer review by SarahMW

5.0 stars 12/22/2013 by SarahMW
by SarahMW
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've been a Proactive user since I was 17 years old, and now being almost thirty and paying my own way in life, it can be really hard to keep up with the price of keeping my skin clear. Proactive was literally the only thing that was effective for me. Then, my best friend told me about the equate system, and for the price, I figured it couldn't hurt to try it. I am SO glad I did, because this stuff is great. The only notable difference I can find between it and the proactive system is the scent. My order even came with the sulfur mask I like so much. It works great, and for a fourth of the cost. The only issue I have run across, is that it can be hard to find in stock in store. Walmart needs to work on keeping this product in stock. But, even with paying the costs for shipping, it was still a much better value than ordering from Proactive. This equate system has found a return customer in me!

Was this review helpful? (63) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SarahMW
Gainesville, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 239 total reviews
1-20 of 239 reviews