Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 174 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

174 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

174 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
135
4 stars
23
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 stars
9
1-20 of 168 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 168 total reviews
1-20 of 168 reviews
ACNE BE GONE!
9/1/2013

Customer review by asraf

5.0 stars 9/1/2013 by asraf
by asraf
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my first review on any product I've used for acne because none of them worked... until I got this kit. I am 28 years old and never had acne , until around my 26th birthday I started seeing it popping up around my cheek area. For two years I struggled with this horrible skin condition , everyone was asking me what happen to your face? I was so embarrassed. I couldn't see a dermatologist because I don't have insurance. I used so many herbal and over the counter acne medication until I stumbled across this at Walmart I was hesitant to try another product but the reviews were excellent, I received my package and just after only two days of use I saw great improvement , all the pimples were fading , drying up. I one week I had no pimples on my face. I continue using it everyday for two weeks then to every other day , as with alot of acne medication it dries the skin out. I would recommend this to ANYBODY. TRY THIS YOU WON'T REGRET IT!! oh did I mention how affordable this is? 12 bucks!!

Was this review helpful? (105) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
asraf
New York, NY.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It WORKS!!!
6/1/2014

Customer review by Lala66513651

5.0 stars 6/1/2014 by Lala66513651
by Lala66513651

My acne cleared up in a month, helped with some dark spots as well!

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lala66513651
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
amazing, will use forever, unique acne was cleared
10/28/2013

Customer review by shatt09

5.0 stars 10/28/2013 by shatt09
by shatt09

So after trying a plethora of products, and tricks during my teens to fight my serve acne, I'm shocked I a) have skin on my face and b) skin capable of producing a pimple. Then in my mid 20 I started my teenage acne all over again. I came across the equate acne system and thought for $12 and its the only one on this skin care rack I haven't tried over the years. Omg the frist night I was impressed! !!!!!!!! Compared to proactiv is an understatement, this is proactiv, even the bottles are the same design just at an extremely affordable price. The only difference is I'm able to actually use this product in the necessary amount to see results because I'm not forking out $60 for it. So this is day 3 and I went from 30+ cystic pimples some scabbed over trying to heal to beautiful skin that is smooth with little redness. I attached pics because this is something that some one with sensitive skin, finding no results with other products on acne that happens from oily and dirty skin will be glad they tried.

Was this review helpful? (36) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shatt09
san diego ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works just as well as Proactiv, but is affordable!
1/12/2013

Customer review by PineappleSkewer

5.0 stars 1/12/2013 by PineappleSkewer
by PineappleSkewer

I have been constantly complaining around the house that Proactiv is too expensive and nothing else works for me, so my mom went and bought this for me as a Christmas present (and to probably stop my complaining). I didn't actually think it would work, but I was still excited to try something new. I looked up reviews and videos on it, and it sounded too good to be true. However, after a few weeks of using this, I can definitely see a difference! When I first tried this, my chin and neck was just covered with a very bad breakout of huge, itchy bumps. I'm happy to say that almost all the blemishes are completely gone! My pores look smaller, too! Sometimes I forget to use it twice a day and my face ends up just fine. I will say that the little trial mask seemed to make me break out, but the actual three step system is wonderful. I'm so happy to finally have something that works well with my annoying acne and is at a price that I can afford! I'll definitely be purchasing this for myself from now on!

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PineappleSkewer
OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Amazed
7/19/2015

Customer review by FarahsMom

5.0 stars 7/19/2015 by FarahsMom
by FarahsMom

I have never reviewed a product before, but because of how amazing this product is, I had to in case someone else is suffering from the same embarrassing infliction. After turning 30 I developed hormonal and cystic acne. I have ADHD and take Adderall to treat it. Between the medication and changing hormones, I developed acne for the first time in my life. In the past 3 years, I have tried many other products that my budget would allow. I'm so thankful for reviews and internet info I found on this. I noticed almost immediate results. Within 5 days my skin was flawless even though I was having the worst breakout I had ever experienced. My oldest daughter is 13 and she is just starting to have some acne as well. She has been using this for 4 days now and her face is almost 100% clear now. We also have very sensitive skin and have not had any problems with peeling or sensitivity. I highly recommend this product and we will continue using it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FarahsMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Peace of Mind for $12.
3/21/2012

Customer review by lpage6007

5.0 stars 3/21/2012 by lpage6007
by lpage6007

I am 22 years old and I have had clear skin up until around six or eight months ago. So unfortunately, I have adult acne. :( I guess this is pretty common. I have been using this for almost two months and my skin is looking So great! My complexion is incredibly even, I have no blackheads, my acne scars are fading, and I do not get any breakouts (not even during that dreaded time of the month...). The only issue that I have had with this system is that it takes a few weeks to get used to. It took about two weeks for my skin to stop burning when putting on lotion and flaking during the day. Your skin just takes awhile to get used to the benzoyl peroxide, just like with Proactiv. But honestly, the irritation wasn't ever bad enough to make me stop using this product. Plus, my skin started looking great right after I started using it, so I was motivated to continue. My best tip for using this is to only use the first step cleanser at night, not in the morning. I use step 2 & 3 in the morning and steps 1,2,& 3 at night. It works great and I will keep using it!

Was this review helpful? (71) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lpage6007
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exceeded My Expectations!
10/23/2013

Customer review by JanesvilleWICustomer

5.0 stars 10/23/2013 by JanesvilleWICustomer
by JanesvilleWICustomer

I was surprised to see that Walmart had come out with a comparable product to Proactive, but was so grateful. Proactive is overpriced, and a hassle to buy. I read the reviews from the Walmart website, and thought I would give the Equate Acne Treatment System a try. I have been fighting breakouts on my chin for a while now, and have tried everything from natural cleansers, to top brand cleansers with salicylic acid in them, and nothing was working. I used the cleanser for the first time last night before bed, and to my amazement my acne was pretty much gone in the morning! I have an important charity gala coming up tomorrow, and now I can feel confident and beautiful during the big event. Thank you so much Walmart!!!! I can't wait to tell all of my friends. The only request I have for your product development team is to provide the different components sold separately for restocking purposes. I usually run out of the cleanser before anything else. You would be ahead of Proactive's product line if you made this possible. Thanks again!

Was this review helpful? (30) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JanesvilleWICustomer
Janesville, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Long Term Proactive User Happy to Save!
12/22/2013

Customer review by SarahMW

5.0 stars 12/22/2013 by SarahMW
by SarahMW
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've been a Proactive user since I was 17 years old, and now being almost thirty and paying my own way in life, it can be really hard to keep up with the price of keeping my skin clear. Proactive was literally the only thing that was effective for me. Then, my best friend told me about the equate system, and for the price, I figured it couldn't hurt to try it. I am SO glad I did, because this stuff is great. The only notable difference I can find between it and the proactive system is the scent. My order even came with the sulfur mask I like so much. It works great, and for a fourth of the cost. The only issue I have run across, is that it can be hard to find in stock in store. Walmart needs to work on keeping this product in stock. But, even with paying the costs for shipping, it was still a much better value than ordering from Proactive. This equate system has found a return customer in me!

Was this review helpful? (41) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SarahMW
Gainesville, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesomely Affordable~Hello Walmart~bye ProActive!
2/25/2015

Customer review by Kelli

5.0 stars 2/25/2015 by Kelli
by Kelli

I grew tired of dealing with Proactive... being set up on recurring shipments that were always wrong, paying shipping and the like. While on Ebay trying to find proactive from an individual that was cheaper than Proactive, I luckily stumbled across this product! After being a Proactive customer for 10+ years, I decided to step out on a limb and give this product a try...I immediately ordered 3 sets of Walmart Brand, got store pickup within 2 hours of my online purchase. let me say this....the price of walmarts 3 sets were cheaper than 1 set of Proactive!!!! I love this product, it works exactly the same, IF NOT BETTER! I only wish the cleanser had a little more exfoliant as proactive does, but after getting used to its fine, just change! I will no longer be a proactive customer unless Walmart discontinues this item, which hopefully they never will! As a single mom, the price of proactive was overwhelming. thanks Walmart for another wonderful EQUATE product! you got this formula right and for a very fair price and ease of getting it! WONDERFUL JOB!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kelli
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
THANK YOU, WALMART!!!
1/7/2016

Customer review by HAPPY

5.0 stars 1/7/2016 by HAPPY
by HAPPY

This product is a miracle. I am 30 years old and STILL get zits. I've never had terrible acne all over my face, but I've always had zits along my T-zone. Ugh!! As a teenager, I tried ProActiv and it didn't do a thing. The only thing that worked was a small tube of Equate brand benzoyl peroxide cream that I used to buy at my local WalMart in Las Vegas. I used to put it on before bed. It dried very quickly and turned your face completely white until you washed it off the next morning. And it would bleach everything--clothing, towels, etc. But it worked! Well, they stopped selling that product like 7 years ago, and ever since then my skin has been zitty. It's so embarrassing having breakouts as an adult. I just want clear skin!! Two weeks ago, I saw this product and read the reviews online and got it for myself for Christmas. Two weeks later and my SKIN IS COMPLETELY CLEAR!! My forehead has cleared up, around my nose, and my chin too! I feel so much more confident and I don't have to spend so much time covering up my breakouts with makeup. Yay!!! I was praying that I'd be able to write as wonderful of a review for this product that I had read, and now I can! It's a miracle! Tips: --Start out by JUST using it at night. I started out doing the routine every morning and every night, and it was toooooo much. My skin dried out terribly and BURNED. Oh, it was painful. So, if this happens to you, don't toss the product!!! Instead, BACK OFF a bit and only do it every night. As soon as I just started doing it at night, my skin responded SO much better. Once a day is enough for me. It took me about a week and a half to figure this out, but ever since I've gone to once a day a few days ago, my skin is looking amazing. (And I can smile without it hurting. :) ) --Get an additional non-comedogenic (non-pore-clogging) moisturizer to hydrate your skin after you do the treatment. The lotion that comes with this kit is very small, and it is medicated with benzoyl peroxide, so it will dry out your skin (even as a lotion!) I began looking at lots of expensive moisturizers that would make my skin baby soft. But on a whim, I went to WalMart to browse their moisturizer section and found something AWESOME!! "Ponds Crema S Nourishing Moisturizer". http://www.walmart.com/ip/Pond-s-Nourishing-Moisturizing-With-Botanical-Moisturizers-Cream-14.1-oz/12519627 It is a MASSIVE tub of moisturizer that cost me $8.47!!!!!!! When you open it and feel it, it feels thick and you might worry it will make your skin breakout. But it WILL NOT. It is non-comedogenic and it smells AMAZING. So, after I do the 3-step acne treatment (yes, still use the benzoyl peroxide lotion), THEN I put on the Pond's as an additional moisturizer and go to bed. When you wake up in the morning, your skin will feel awesome!! Please, buy this product like I did! You will find out that all these reviews are true!! And you can walk around with confidence and love your skin!!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HAPPY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great save!!
1/15/2013

Customer review by KimbersMommy

5.0 stars 1/15/2013 by KimbersMommy
by KimbersMommy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was so excited when I found out that Walmart made a generic Proactiv. The first time I used it, I noticed a difference in my skin immediately. My skin appeared to be brighter, smoother and more clear. However, I think I was allergic to it. My skin felt warm to the touch and almost felt like it had the texture of snake skin. But because my skin looked so much better, I was determined to find a way to use this product. So I asked my husband, who is a reputable physician, what I could do to make this work. He told me to use the face wash like I normally would, but then to wash my face afterwards with my regular face wash to clear my skin of the active ingredient which was what was causing the reaction. I applied the toner as you normally would, and then avoided the moisturizer because it contained the same active ingredient that the face wash did. I use this system every other day. It really makes the difference. Love this product. I'll just buy the cleanser and toner separately in lieu of the kit since I won't be using the moisturizer.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KimbersMommy
Jacksonville Beach, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
EXACTLY the same ingredients as Proactiv!!
3/5/2012

Customer review by aallen713

5.0 stars 3/5/2012 by aallen713
by aallen713

I have used Proactiv for years, but paying $40+ a month for the kit was too costly for my budget. I came across this kit while browsing for a cheaper alternative at Walmart and decided to give it a try (for only $11, it was worth a shot.) I was amazed to find that when I compared the ingredients in my Proactiv system to the ingredients in Equate system, they containted the exact same ingredients! It has been 6 months and my face is perfectly clear- I LOVE this stuff! It is also nice that you can buy the kit or purchase the items seperately, i.e. if you run out of one faster than the other. I hope Walmart never stops selling this!!!!

Was this review helpful? (301) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aallen713
Arlington, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Really Great Price
3/5/2012

Customer review by Ambarth

5.0 stars 3/5/2012 by Ambarth
by Ambarth
Walmart associate

When I was 10 years old, I've started to break out since until from now. I saw a commercial of "Proactive". My dad brought me a Proactive Kit. He told me it cost nearly about $60 dollars a month for Membership (It was back since 2002). Been using Proactive the age 14-20. My dad stop buying for me. Since I've turn 18, I didn't have enough money to buy Proactive. Then I've been using Clean & Clear Advantage, it is a really good product for my skin, however it was too expensive for me. When I was looking through the aisle, I saw the Store Brand compare to Proactive. So I gave it a try. I have to say the ingredients and the smell are the same as the Name Brand. If someone who used to use Proactive and try to save money. Then here is your chance to give it a try. I do recommend for everyone who tries to get rid of acne.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ambarth
Moore, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
ABSOLUTELY! THE BEST ACNE SYSTEM EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!
1/1/2014

Customer review by licensetoshop

5.0 stars 1/1/2014 by licensetoshop
by licensetoshop

First...I would like to say that this is by far the best acne system I have ever used!!! I have had acne my whole life, so I have tried every single acne system imagineable! I cant begin to tell you how many hundreds of dollars I have spent on acne systems throughout my life claiming to be "the best", when the whole time the best acne system was available at walmart for 11.97!! I know this product is meant to mimic the proactiv system, but I personally think it way surpasses their technology. Most of the acne systems I have used are either are not strong enough to combat my acne or either they are way to strong. Some of the products I have used have even changed the color of my clothes!!! There is something so wrong about using a product like that on your bare skin!! I LOVE this product but have recently noticed it is becoming harder and harder to find at walmart stores! I hope they are not going to discontinue the product? The only suggestion/wish I would like is if that the products were available individually. I cant tell you how good it feels not to have to worry about skin issues anymore! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON ANY OTHER ACNE SYSTEM!!! this is by far the best available on the market today...

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
licensetoshop
ashville, al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Effective and Affordable!
2/7/2012

Customer review by Beth178

5.0 stars 2/7/2012 by Beth178
by Beth178

I haven't had acne since I was 14, but much to my dismay I recently started breaking out again at the age of 20. I went searching for an acne treatment product that would work well and not break the bank (unlike some 3 step acne treatment systems). This product is wonderful because the entire 3 part kit cost me less than 12 dollars, which is almost what I would spend for ONE bottle of other brands of face wash/toner/acne lotions. I've only been using this for a couple of days, but I already have seen a huge difference in my acne and the overall texture of my skin. My skin is far less red, very soft, and not dry at all. It seems to be just as effective as other systems without being anywhere near as harsh. I tend to get acne right between my eyebrows and on my chin that leaves horrible bright redish-purple spots, but after the very first use of this system i woke up the next morning and they were 75% faded! I was completely speechless! It started to dry out existing pimples overnight as well, and I haven't had any new ones pop up since I started using this. The consistency of the cleanser and lotion is a bit thin, but that just means it spreads much easier and you therefore use less, so it should last quite a long time. I think this kit will easily last for two months using it twice a day. I highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (139) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beth178
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works just as well as Proactive
1/31/2016

Customer review by somegirl920

4.0 stars 1/31/2016 by somegirl920
by somegirl920

Works just as well as Proactive.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
somegirl920
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Please never buy proactive again!!
12/2/2012

Customer review by AmyLove09

5.0 stars 12/2/2012 by AmyLove09
by AmyLove09

One night out of no where I had a severe breakout all over my face, at first we thought it was an allergic reaction to something but soon the white heads appeared and I freaked out. I had gotten a zit here and there my whole life and still had scars from it but never experienced anything like that breakout. My husband ran to Walmart and got this after I read the great reviews, but I was pretty iffy since it was an off brand and was so cheap. I used it that night and no exaggeration but within an hour I noticed the redness went away and when I woke up the whiteheads were gone and 85% of all the breakout was gone. It was amazing! I am still using it and my scars have started to fade, I actually go out without makeup now which I was never comfortable doing before! Please never buy pro active again, this stuff is such an amazing price and is incredible!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AmyLove09
Cali
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Made me break out more
1/27/2016

Customer review by lkwnsd

4.0 stars 1/27/2016 by lkwnsd
by lkwnsd

I'm 15 yrs old, wanted to keep my face clear this product made me break out with small rash like pimples

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lkwnsd
Would recommend to a friend? No
Allergy Warning
3/1/2013

Customer review by thisisthenickname

1.0 stars 3/1/2013 by thisisthenickname
by thisisthenickname

Hi everyone. I love my Proactive, however on a single parent budget, it's simply too expensive. After seeing great reviews for this product, I decided to try it out. The active ingredient is the same as Proactive, but the inactive must not be, because I had an allergic reaction to it :( I'm so disappointed. The skin around my eyes specificly is swollen and itchy, which is odd since I didn't use the product on my eyes. The rest of my face wasn't as bad, but still a bit red and itchy. Basically, I just wanted to let you know that if you are a proactive user and want to try switching to this, I recommend doing a spot test on your skin before using it on your whole face. I'm glad it's working for most people, though. Don't let my reaction to it keep you from at least trying it. Good luck, guys! :):)

Was this review helpful? (50) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thisisthenickname
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Life Saver!!!
4/17/2013

Customer review by MrsVacca

5.0 stars 4/17/2013 by MrsVacca
by MrsVacca

I had the worst acne. Facial redness, painful acne and semi sensitive and dry skin. If I scratched one area on my face, the whole area would turn red and itch more. My acne was getting really horrible! :( I started using this product and I could tell a difference in just 3 days. After 1 week ALL of my pimples were gone!!! I still had redness but that went away after a few more days. I only use it 1 time a day because I didn't want it to irritate my skin. I haven't bleached any clothes because iuse it in the shower but I have bleached the towel I dry my face with. Lol. Now I use a white towel. I love this cleanser and will never use anything else again, as long as it keeps working. I wish I could post the pictures I have of my "old face" because its soo much better now. (Pictures are on my old phone) The price is great also. It doesn't really have a scent and the beads are small but it does its job. :)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsVacca
South Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 168 total reviews
1-20 of 168 reviews