Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 159 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

159 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

159 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
123
4 stars
20
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 stars
9
1-20 of 153 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 153 total reviews
1-20 of 153 reviews
EXACTLY the same ingredients as Proactiv!!
3/5/2012

Customer review by aallen713

5.0 stars 3/5/2012 by aallen713
by aallen713

I have used Proactiv for years, but paying $40+ a month for the kit was too costly for my budget. I came across this kit while browsing for a cheaper alternative at Walmart and decided to give it a try (for only $11, it was worth a shot.) I was amazed to find that when I compared the ingredients in my Proactiv system to the ingredients in Equate system, they containted the exact same ingredients! It has been 6 months and my face is perfectly clear- I LOVE this stuff! It is also nice that you can buy the kit or purchase the items seperately, i.e. if you run out of one faster than the other. I hope Walmart never stops selling this!!!!

Was this review helpful? (233) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aallen713
Arlington, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Effective and Affordable!
2/7/2012

Customer review by Beth178

5.0 stars 2/7/2012 by Beth178
by Beth178

I haven't had acne since I was 14, but much to my dismay I recently started breaking out again at the age of 20. I went searching for an acne treatment product that would work well and not break the bank (unlike some 3 step acne treatment systems). This product is wonderful because the entire 3 part kit cost me less than 12 dollars, which is almost what I would spend for ONE bottle of other brands of face wash/toner/acne lotions. I've only been using this for a couple of days, but I already have seen a huge difference in my acne and the overall texture of my skin. My skin is far less red, very soft, and not dry at all. It seems to be just as effective as other systems without being anywhere near as harsh. I tend to get acne right between my eyebrows and on my chin that leaves horrible bright redish-purple spots, but after the very first use of this system i woke up the next morning and they were 75% faded! I was completely speechless! It started to dry out existing pimples overnight as well, and I haven't had any new ones pop up since I started using this. The consistency of the cleanser and lotion is a bit thin, but that just means it spreads much easier and you therefore use less, so it should last quite a long time. I think this kit will easily last for two months using it twice a day. I highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (112) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beth178
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Peace of Mind for $12.
3/21/2012

Customer review by lpage6007

5.0 stars 3/21/2012 by lpage6007
by lpage6007

I am 22 years old and I have had clear skin up until around six or eight months ago. So unfortunately, I have adult acne. :( I guess this is pretty common. I have been using this for almost two months and my skin is looking So great! My complexion is incredibly even, I have no blackheads, my acne scars are fading, and I do not get any breakouts (not even during that dreaded time of the month...). The only issue that I have had with this system is that it takes a few weeks to get used to. It took about two weeks for my skin to stop burning when putting on lotion and flaking during the day. Your skin just takes awhile to get used to the benzoyl peroxide, just like with Proactiv. But honestly, the irritation wasn't ever bad enough to make me stop using this product. Plus, my skin started looking great right after I started using it, so I was motivated to continue. My best tip for using this is to only use the first step cleanser at night, not in the morning. I use step 2 & 3 in the morning and steps 1,2,& 3 at night. It works great and I will keep using it!

Was this review helpful? (51) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lpage6007
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
ACNE BE GONE!
9/1/2013

Customer review by asraf

5.0 stars 9/1/2013 by asraf
by asraf

This is my first review on any product I've used for acne because none of them worked... until I got this kit. I am 28 years old and never had acne , until around my 26th birthday I started seeing it popping up around my cheek area. For two years I struggled with this horrible skin condition , everyone was asking me what happen to your face? I was so embarrassed. I couldn't see a dermatologist because I don't have insurance. I used so many herbal and over the counter acne medication until I stumbled across this at Walmart I was hesitant to try another product but the reviews were excellent, I received my package and just after only two days of use I saw great improvement , all the pimples were fading , drying up. I one week I had no pimples on my face. I continue using it everyday for two weeks then to every other day , as with alot of acne medication it dries the skin out. I would recommend this to ANYBODY. TRY THIS YOU WON'T REGRET IT!! oh did I mention how affordable this is? 12 bucks!!

Was this review helpful? (57) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
asraf
New York, NY.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great and great price
2/20/2012

Customer review by jinkiesscoobygirl

5.0 stars 2/20/2012 by jinkiesscoobygirl
by jinkiesscoobygirl

I bought this for my 13 year old who was starting to get pimples around his nose and mouth. This was about $12 at my local Wal-Mart so I decided it was worth a try. The next morning after the first use we could tell a difference. Less pimples and the ones that he did still have were smaller and less red-and this happened overnight. So far this system is working great!

Was this review helpful? (61) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jinkiesscoobygirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome stuff!!
2/17/2012

Customer review by Brandi702

5.0 stars 2/17/2012 by Brandi702
by Brandi702

This stuff works great! I used proactiv but my bottles were getting low and I didn't want to go through the hassle of ordering it again. This stuff works just as good as my proactiv did but only a fraction of the cost. By far worth the 11 dollars i paid for it. I saw the redness go down in my face within the first day. I can feel my skin is softer and see its starting to get clear. Im so happy I bought this!!

Was this review helpful? (57) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brandi702
Bridgeton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Allergy Warning
3/1/2013

Customer review by thisisthenickname

1.0 stars 3/1/2013 by thisisthenickname
by thisisthenickname

Hi everyone. I love my Proactive, however on a single parent budget, it's simply too expensive. After seeing great reviews for this product, I decided to try it out. The active ingredient is the same as Proactive, but the inactive must not be, because I had an allergic reaction to it :( I'm so disappointed. The skin around my eyes specificly is swollen and itchy, which is odd since I didn't use the product on my eyes. The rest of my face wasn't as bad, but still a bit red and itchy. Basically, I just wanted to let you know that if you are a proactive user and want to try switching to this, I recommend doing a spot test on your skin before using it on your whole face. I'm glad it's working for most people, though. Don't let my reaction to it keep you from at least trying it. Good luck, guys! :):)

Was this review helpful? (41) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thisisthenickname
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Long Term Proactive User Happy to Save!
12/22/2013

Customer review by SarahMW

5.0 stars 12/22/2013 by SarahMW
by SarahMW

I've been a Proactive user since I was 17 years old, and now being almost thirty and paying my own way in life, it can be really hard to keep up with the price of keeping my skin clear. Proactive was literally the only thing that was effective for me. Then, my best friend told me about the equate system, and for the price, I figured it couldn't hurt to try it. I am SO glad I did, because this stuff is great. The only notable difference I can find between it and the proactive system is the scent. My order even came with the sulfur mask I like so much. It works great, and for a fourth of the cost. The only issue I have run across, is that it can be hard to find in stock in store. Walmart needs to work on keeping this product in stock. But, even with paying the costs for shipping, it was still a much better value than ordering from Proactive. This equate system has found a return customer in me!

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SarahMW
Gainesville, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it, but it's never in stock!
5/13/2014

Customer review by WeWantMore

5.0 stars 5/13/2014 by WeWantMore
by WeWantMore

This is the best acne treatment system for the money... the only problem is that it is never in stock.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WeWantMore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
amazing, will use forever, unique acne was cleared
10/28/2013

Customer review by shatt09

5.0 stars 10/28/2013 by shatt09
by shatt09

So after trying a plethora of products, and tricks during my teens to fight my serve acne, I'm shocked I a) have skin on my face and b) skin capable of producing a pimple. Then in my mid 20 I started my teenage acne all over again. I came across the equate acne system and thought for $12 and its the only one on this skin care rack I haven't tried over the years. Omg the frist night I was impressed! !!!!!!!! Compared to proactiv is an understatement, this is proactiv, even the bottles are the same design just at an extremely affordable price. The only difference is I'm able to actually use this product in the necessary amount to see results because I'm not forking out $60 for it. So this is day 3 and I went from 30+ cystic pimples some scabbed over trying to heal to beautiful skin that is smooth with little redness. I attached pics because this is something that some one with sensitive skin, finding no results with other products on acne that happens from oily and dirty skin will be glad they tried.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shatt09
san diego ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exceeded My Expectations!
10/23/2013

Customer review by JanesvilleWICustomer

5.0 stars 10/23/2013 by JanesvilleWICustomer
by JanesvilleWICustomer

I was surprised to see that Walmart had come out with a comparable product to Proactive, but was so grateful. Proactive is overpriced, and a hassle to buy. I read the reviews from the Walmart website, and thought I would give the Equate Acne Treatment System a try. I have been fighting breakouts on my chin for a while now, and have tried everything from natural cleansers, to top brand cleansers with salicylic acid in them, and nothing was working. I used the cleanser for the first time last night before bed, and to my amazement my acne was pretty much gone in the morning! I have an important charity gala coming up tomorrow, and now I can feel confident and beautiful during the big event. Thank you so much Walmart!!!! I can't wait to tell all of my friends. The only request I have for your product development team is to provide the different components sold separately for restocking purposes. I usually run out of the cleanser before anything else. You would be ahead of Proactive's product line if you made this possible. Thanks again!

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JanesvilleWICustomer
Janesville, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Same as Proactive
6/29/2012

Customer review by Trouble41267

4.0 stars 6/29/2012 by Trouble41267
by Trouble41267

I'm 26 years old and I've been using Proactive since I was 18. Protactiv no longer fits into my budget due to money changes. This works just as well as Proactive without the price tag. My only complaint is that Equate does not have an extra strength version which it what I needed. Equate Acne Kit cleared a lot of my acne but I still had breakouts. The price is awsome and if you have mild to moderate acne this kit is for you but if you have a lot of acne I would suggest getting an Acne Free kit.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Trouble41267
Warfield, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
It WORKS!!!
6/1/2014

Customer review by Lala66513651

5.0 stars 6/1/2014 by Lala66513651
by Lala66513651

My acne cleared up in a month, helped with some dark spots as well!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lala66513651
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great so far! Will report later after more use
11/29/2012

Customer review by kumarihpx

5.0 stars 11/29/2012 by kumarihpx
by kumarihpx

I am so surprised that I would like to report right away about my clearer skin. I've used the kit for only three days so far but my skin is visibly clearer. My complexion seems smoother, too, which I can only attribute to there being less acne. I suppose the acne had been causing redness in certain parts of my face because now my face is clearer and more evenly-toned. I am suspicious of claims reporting that acne scars have faded. This product is benzoyl peroxide - the cleanser contains 2.5% as does the "repair lotion." (As compared to other products which contain up to 10% BP (I thought Proactiv advertises 10% - correction please). Anyway, I highly doubt these ingredients will fade acne scars, as they function to attack bacteria and other junk in your pores that cause acne. The product advertises that it helps to remove dead skin cells but I don't think there's so much that it would fade a scar. This outcome should not be expected. As for each part of the kit itself: (1) Purifying Cleanser - use a dime-sized amount to wash face, leave on 1-2 minutes before rinsing, 2)Rejuvenating Toner - I find that, even without alcohol as an ingredient, the toner does sting my face some anyway, not enough to stop using, just enough to want to pass along the info, 3) Repairing Lotion Both steps 1 and 3 (because they use BP as the primary ingredient) will bleach colored fabrics, like wash cloths used to wipe face or hands -- I've found it best to simply use white wash cloths, otherwise I am paranoid each morning and night about destroying my fabrics. Also, be very careful so that lotion, wash, or dripping water containing either do not whiten your colored shirts. Never get into bed or lie on pillows until the lotion has completely dried. Trust me, a lot of people stop using these products because their possessions get discolored. Just be very careful, like you are trying to avoid cross-contamination. This is where white wash cloths come in handy - wash, scrub, wipe, pat, dry. No colors to ruin. Finally, Losing money on Equate products? Many of these reviews mention that they've tried this product because it was so cheap, as if they'd be willing to lose money if it does not work for them. However, there's NO REASON TO LOSE MONEY ON ANY EQUATE PRODUCT! This is why you should try this cheaper knock-off product because Equate promises "Satisfaction Guaranteed -- Or, we'll replace it or give you your money back. For questions or comments or to report undesired reaction or side effect, please call 1-888-287-1915." The last part does not mean you need to call the number to get your money back. Walk up to the customer service counter, say you are unsatisfied as the product does not work (or does not compare to Practiv) and they will "give you your money back." It can't be stated any plainer than that. I plunked down the money for this product because it was cheaper than others I could try or knew worked (mostly Proactiv for me). I hoped it worked well enough to continue purchasing it, so that my budget could stand it. Otherwise, future clear skin would always be iffy. So far I am pleasantly surprised that my skin looks better, and so quickly. It's exciting! I don't think it's the placebo effect, either. However, I'll have to see as time goes on. I had horrible breakouts due to hormonal changes during menses -- this is what finally got me motivated enough to buy more acne treatment. The hormones have calmed now and so that could account for less acne, too. However, the more even tone of the skin on my whole face is not explained by hormones, so I'm attributing it to the product. I'm glad to say it's working. The price cannot be beat, either.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kumarihpx
New Orleans
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works just as good as proactive!
8/14/2012

Customer review by momma16

5.0 stars 8/14/2012 by momma16
by momma16

My son has been using proactive for 3 years, I had to stop buying it about 5 months ago because I could no longer afford it. I heard about the equate and decided to give it a try. He's been using for 2 weeks and it is an amazing difference. We tried everything before and the only thing that worked was proactive. The Equate brand works just as well as proactive. I wish I knew sooner.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momma16
ocala
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Really Great Price
3/5/2012

Customer review by Ambarth

5.0 stars 3/5/2012 by Ambarth
by Ambarth

When I was 10 years old, I've started to break out since until from now. I saw a commercial of "Proactive". My dad brought me a Proactive Kit. He told me it cost nearly about $60 dollars a month for Membership (It was back since 2002). Been using Proactive the age 14-20. My dad stop buying for me. Since I've turn 18, I didn't have enough money to buy Proactive. Then I've been using Clean & Clear Advantage, it is a really good product for my skin, however it was too expensive for me. When I was looking through the aisle, I saw the Store Brand compare to Proactive. So I gave it a try. I have to say the ingredients and the smell are the same as the Name Brand. If someone who used to use Proactive and try to save money. Then here is your chance to give it a try. I do recommend for everyone who tries to get rid of acne.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ambarth
Moore, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Perfect for mild acne
4/11/2012

Customer review by NYgrlUT

5.0 stars 4/11/2012 by NYgrlUT
by NYgrlUT

I bought this a few weeks ago to try because I kept breaking out around my chin. I only use this once a day even though the directions say twice a day. Within 2 days my acne was gone and hasn't returned. I debated between this product and the Clearasil kit and I am glad I saved some money buying this one because it did the job. I would recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NYgrlUT
Salt Lake City, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
ABSOLUTELY! THE BEST ACNE SYSTEM EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!
1/1/2014

Customer review by licensetoshop

5.0 stars 1/1/2014 by licensetoshop
by licensetoshop

First...I would like to say that this is by far the best acne system I have ever used!!! I have had acne my whole life, so I have tried every single acne system imagineable! I cant begin to tell you how many hundreds of dollars I have spent on acne systems throughout my life claiming to be "the best", when the whole time the best acne system was available at walmart for 11.97!! I know this product is meant to mimic the proactiv system, but I personally think it way surpasses their technology. Most of the acne systems I have used are either are not strong enough to combat my acne or either they are way to strong. Some of the products I have used have even changed the color of my clothes!!! There is something so wrong about using a product like that on your bare skin!! I LOVE this product but have recently noticed it is becoming harder and harder to find at walmart stores! I hope they are not going to discontinue the product? The only suggestion/wish I would like is if that the products were available individually. I cant tell you how good it feels not to have to worry about skin issues anymore! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON ANY OTHER ACNE SYSTEM!!! this is by far the best available on the market today...

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
licensetoshop
ashville, al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not just for teens!
7/6/2012

Customer review by limey08

5.0 stars 7/6/2012 by limey08
by limey08

I've had skin problems for years; even been on prescription creams with no help. This was kind of a last resort effort and I'm happy to say I finally have great skin. No dry patches, NO red face, and no more prescription meds! I am very pleased with the outcome.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
limey08
Booneville, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Finally!!!!!!!!!
9/21/2012

Customer review by LiLMrsOptimistic

5.0 stars 9/21/2012 by LiLMrsOptimistic
by LiLMrsOptimistic

after years of trying different things to get ride of my acne I came across this and figured why not since I couldn't afford proactive. After only using it for a few days I seen a difference in my face. Now if they could come out with a body wash I would be set. Also if my store could keep it stocked in the store so I didn't have to drive across town to the other walmart to refill my supplies would be ecstatic. Hope yall give it a try

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LiLMrsOptimistic
Central,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 153 total reviews
1-20 of 153 reviews