Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 200 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

200 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

200 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
154
4 stars
28
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 stars
9
1-20 of 194 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 194 total reviews
1-20 of 194 reviews
ACNE BE GONE!
9/1/2013

Customer review by asraf

5.0 stars 9/1/2013 by asraf
by asraf
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my first review on any product I've used for acne because none of them worked... until I got this kit. I am 28 years old and never had acne , until around my 26th birthday I started seeing it popping up around my cheek area. For two years I struggled with this horrible skin condition , everyone was asking me what happen to your face? I was so embarrassed. I couldn't see a dermatologist because I don't have insurance. I used so many herbal and over the counter acne medication until I stumbled across this at Walmart I was hesitant to try another product but the reviews were excellent, I received my package and just after only two days of use I saw great improvement , all the pimples were fading , drying up. I one week I had no pimples on my face. I continue using it everyday for two weeks then to every other day , as with alot of acne medication it dries the skin out. I would recommend this to ANYBODY. TRY THIS YOU WON'T REGRET IT!! oh did I mention how affordable this is? 12 bucks!!

Was this review helpful? (171) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
asraf
New York, NY.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It WORKS!!!
6/1/2014

Customer review by Lala66513651

5.0 stars 6/1/2014 by Lala66513651
by Lala66513651

My acne cleared up in a month, helped with some dark spots as well!

Was this review helpful? (70) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lala66513651
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Amazing!
5/17/2016

Customer review by HappyConsumer

5.0 stars 5/17/2016 by HappyConsumer
by HappyConsumer

I am in my early 30's and my acne came back to haunt me when I turned 30. Long story short, I have been battling acne in various severity for years (both cystic and lighter). The cystic acne has proven to be difficult to get rid of and I tried just about everything from various cleansers to spot treatments to dermatologist treatments and nothing fended off the acne...until now. Knowing my frustration, my husband compared the active ingredients of Proactive to this product and found them to be the same for a fraction of the cost so he surprised me and purchased it for me. I have used it religiously for 3 months now (all three parts to the system) morning and night, which doesn't take long at all. I was a week and a half in when I began seeing a difference. Each pimple on my face cleared up, and has not returned! My face is completely cleared up, which I haven't had in YEARS! I may get the occasional small pimple, but it goes away within a few days at the most. I couldn't be happier with this product. Goodbye painful acne!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyConsumer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works the same if not better than name brand!!!
5/24/2016

Customer review by Mecka

5.0 stars 5/24/2016 by Mecka
by Mecka
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have purchased this kit 3 times, 1 for my sister. After I had my baby, my face started to break out in like rash type acne. Nothing worked. I was going to purchased proactive but I wasn't cool with them taking money out of my account every month. It's like they suck you into a contract. Not cool. So I goggled "generic proactive" and this popped up. After reading a few dozen reviews and a couple videos on YouTube, I was sold! Thank you to those who posted pics! This stuff really works! I saw results after the 2nd day! Im kind of heavy on the toner, lol. But overall, my face cleared up in about 2 weeks! I only wash my face with whole kit at night, and a hot face cloth in the morning, moisturer and sunscreen. I drink lots of water too! It works guys! Don't wasted your money in proactive. Ive used it when it first came out, so i know. This to me, is way better.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mecka
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exceeded My Expectations
6/28/2016

Customer review by Anonymous

5.0 stars 6/28/2016 by Anonymous
by Anonymous

If you need a review to make your decision easier, it should probably be this one. I am a girl in High School, so yeah of course, I have lots and lots of acne. Recently I came across this system online and in the store and just bought it because i was desperate ASSUMING it wouldn't work like the others i have tried. Going off of that thought, i didn't care to take a before picture which i wish i had now. After a couple days of use, my face started clearing up and not only did it surprise my family, it surprised ME because i wasn't expecting that to happen. The only down side is that my face began to get a little dry so i have to decrease the amount i use. I still will give it 5 stars though because it genuinely deserves it. Cheap, Convenient, Easy to buy and restock, and reliable. BUY IT!! I never write reviews but i thought this could save someone's life and face.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Anonymous
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works just as well as Proactiv, but is affordable!
1/12/2013

Customer review by PineappleSkewer

5.0 stars 1/12/2013 by PineappleSkewer
by PineappleSkewer

I have been constantly complaining around the house that Proactiv is too expensive and nothing else works for me, so my mom went and bought this for me as a Christmas present (and to probably stop my complaining). I didn't actually think it would work, but I was still excited to try something new. I looked up reviews and videos on it, and it sounded too good to be true. However, after a few weeks of using this, I can definitely see a difference! When I first tried this, my chin and neck was just covered with a very bad breakout of huge, itchy bumps. I'm happy to say that almost all the blemishes are completely gone! My pores look smaller, too! Sometimes I forget to use it twice a day and my face ends up just fine. I will say that the little trial mask seemed to make me break out, but the actual three step system is wonderful. I'm so happy to finally have something that works well with my annoying acne and is at a price that I can afford! I'll definitely be purchasing this for myself from now on!

Was this review helpful? (42) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PineappleSkewer
OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
amazing, will use forever, unique acne was cleared
10/28/2013

Customer review by shatt09

5.0 stars 10/28/2013 by shatt09
by shatt09

So after trying a plethora of products, and tricks during my teens to fight my serve acne, I'm shocked I a) have skin on my face and b) skin capable of producing a pimple. Then in my mid 20 I started my teenage acne all over again. I came across the equate acne system and thought for $12 and its the only one on this skin care rack I haven't tried over the years. Omg the frist night I was impressed! !!!!!!!! Compared to proactiv is an understatement, this is proactiv, even the bottles are the same design just at an extremely affordable price. The only difference is I'm able to actually use this product in the necessary amount to see results because I'm not forking out $60 for it. So this is day 3 and I went from 30+ cystic pimples some scabbed over trying to heal to beautiful skin that is smooth with little redness. I attached pics because this is something that some one with sensitive skin, finding no results with other products on acne that happens from oily and dirty skin will be glad they tried.

Was this review helpful? (54) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shatt09
san diego ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exceeded My Expectations!
10/23/2013

Customer review by JanesvilleWICustomer

5.0 stars 10/23/2013 by JanesvilleWICustomer
by JanesvilleWICustomer

I was surprised to see that Walmart had come out with a comparable product to Proactive, but was so grateful. Proactive is overpriced, and a hassle to buy. I read the reviews from the Walmart website, and thought I would give the Equate Acne Treatment System a try. I have been fighting breakouts on my chin for a while now, and have tried everything from natural cleansers, to top brand cleansers with salicylic acid in them, and nothing was working. I used the cleanser for the first time last night before bed, and to my amazement my acne was pretty much gone in the morning! I have an important charity gala coming up tomorrow, and now I can feel confident and beautiful during the big event. Thank you so much Walmart!!!! I can't wait to tell all of my friends. The only request I have for your product development team is to provide the different components sold separately for restocking purposes. I usually run out of the cleanser before anything else. You would be ahead of Proactive's product line if you made this possible. Thanks again!

Was this review helpful? (35) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JanesvilleWICustomer
Janesville, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Amazed
7/19/2015

Customer review by FarahsMom

5.0 stars 7/19/2015 by FarahsMom
by FarahsMom

I have never reviewed a product before, but because of how amazing this product is, I had to in case someone else is suffering from the same embarrassing infliction. After turning 30 I developed hormonal and cystic acne. I have ADHD and take Adderall to treat it. Between the medication and changing hormones, I developed acne for the first time in my life. In the past 3 years, I have tried many other products that my budget would allow. I'm so thankful for reviews and internet info I found on this. I noticed almost immediate results. Within 5 days my skin was flawless even though I was having the worst breakout I had ever experienced. My oldest daughter is 13 and she is just starting to have some acne as well. She has been using this for 4 days now and her face is almost 100% clear now. We also have very sensitive skin and have not had any problems with peeling or sensitivity. I highly recommend this product and we will continue using it.

Was this review helpful? (22) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FarahsMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Peace of Mind for $12.
3/21/2012

Customer review by lpage6007

5.0 stars 3/21/2012 by lpage6007
by lpage6007

I am 22 years old and I have had clear skin up until around six or eight months ago. So unfortunately, I have adult acne. :( I guess this is pretty common. I have been using this for almost two months and my skin is looking So great! My complexion is incredibly even, I have no blackheads, my acne scars are fading, and I do not get any breakouts (not even during that dreaded time of the month...). The only issue that I have had with this system is that it takes a few weeks to get used to. It took about two weeks for my skin to stop burning when putting on lotion and flaking during the day. Your skin just takes awhile to get used to the benzoyl peroxide, just like with Proactiv. But honestly, the irritation wasn't ever bad enough to make me stop using this product. Plus, my skin started looking great right after I started using it, so I was motivated to continue. My best tip for using this is to only use the first step cleanser at night, not in the morning. I use step 2 & 3 in the morning and steps 1,2,& 3 at night. It works great and I will keep using it!

Was this review helpful? (84) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lpage6007
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great save!!
1/15/2013

Customer review by KimbersMommy

5.0 stars 1/15/2013 by KimbersMommy
by KimbersMommy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was so excited when I found out that Walmart made a generic Proactiv. The first time I used it, I noticed a difference in my skin immediately. My skin appeared to be brighter, smoother and more clear. However, I think I was allergic to it. My skin felt warm to the touch and almost felt like it had the texture of snake skin. But because my skin looked so much better, I was determined to find a way to use this product. So I asked my husband, who is a reputable physician, what I could do to make this work. He told me to use the face wash like I normally would, but then to wash my face afterwards with my regular face wash to clear my skin of the active ingredient which was what was causing the reaction. I applied the toner as you normally would, and then avoided the moisturizer because it contained the same active ingredient that the face wash did. I use this system every other day. It really makes the difference. Love this product. I'll just buy the cleanser and toner separately in lieu of the kit since I won't be using the moisturizer.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KimbersMommy
Jacksonville Beach, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Long Term Proactive User Happy to Save!
12/22/2013

Customer review by SarahMW

5.0 stars 12/22/2013 by SarahMW
by SarahMW
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've been a Proactive user since I was 17 years old, and now being almost thirty and paying my own way in life, it can be really hard to keep up with the price of keeping my skin clear. Proactive was literally the only thing that was effective for me. Then, my best friend told me about the equate system, and for the price, I figured it couldn't hurt to try it. I am SO glad I did, because this stuff is great. The only notable difference I can find between it and the proactive system is the scent. My order even came with the sulfur mask I like so much. It works great, and for a fourth of the cost. The only issue I have run across, is that it can be hard to find in stock in store. Walmart needs to work on keeping this product in stock. But, even with paying the costs for shipping, it was still a much better value than ordering from Proactive. This equate system has found a return customer in me!

Was this review helpful? (49) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SarahMW
Gainesville, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great
3/2/2016

Customer review by Chicandduck

5.0 stars 3/2/2016 by Chicandduck
by Chicandduck

I'm 44 yrs old and recently started getting acne on my forehead and cheeks, probably due to stress, but it looked more like a rash. I bought the 3 step beauty acne treatment system and within 3 days I had a clear face. I was so happy! I don't have to wear makeup to hide any acne. I continued to use it for a week and my face started drying and flaking a little so I used a good moisturizer and stopped using the acne treatment system, its been 2 weeks now and my face is still clear! Its AMAZING!! I'm very happy!

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chicandduck
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It works but there's not enough of it
6/30/2016

Customer review by ewest305

4.0 stars 6/30/2016 by ewest305
by ewest305

First off, I am 40 year old male and I get acne. I have no idea what's up with that. With that out of the way, this is the only stuff that works! And it works so well, use it every time I shower. Unfortunately, 4 measly ounces is not enough. I tried searching for the purifying cleanser by itself but they don't seem to sell it! I don't mind paying 12.00 because I was with Proactive for 10 years paying 50 bucks a month for a kit. This is way cheaper and does the same job. With ProActive, I ended up with a surplus of the witch hazel and recovery cream (whatever its called) but I constantly ran out of the cleanser. So i'm back at this same dilemma with this product. Just glad its so much cheaper. Anyway, if anyone knows where I can get more than 4 ounces, please (oh I dont know) beg wal mart to advertise it?

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ewest305
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesomely Affordable~Hello Walmart~bye ProActive!
2/25/2015

Customer review by Kelli

5.0 stars 2/25/2015 by Kelli
by Kelli

I grew tired of dealing with Proactive... being set up on recurring shipments that were always wrong, paying shipping and the like. While on Ebay trying to find proactive from an individual that was cheaper than Proactive, I luckily stumbled across this product! After being a Proactive customer for 10+ years, I decided to step out on a limb and give this product a try...I immediately ordered 3 sets of Walmart Brand, got store pickup within 2 hours of my online purchase. let me say this....the price of walmarts 3 sets were cheaper than 1 set of Proactive!!!! I love this product, it works exactly the same, IF NOT BETTER! I only wish the cleanser had a little more exfoliant as proactive does, but after getting used to its fine, just change! I will no longer be a proactive customer unless Walmart discontinues this item, which hopefully they never will! As a single mom, the price of proactive was overwhelming. thanks Walmart for another wonderful EQUATE product! you got this formula right and for a very fair price and ease of getting it! WONDERFUL JOB!

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kelli
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
EXACTLY the same ingredients as Proactiv!!
3/5/2012

Customer review by aallen713

5.0 stars 3/5/2012 by aallen713
by aallen713

I have used Proactiv for years, but paying $40+ a month for the kit was too costly for my budget. I came across this kit while browsing for a cheaper alternative at Walmart and decided to give it a try (for only $11, it was worth a shot.) I was amazed to find that when I compared the ingredients in my Proactiv system to the ingredients in Equate system, they containted the exact same ingredients! It has been 6 months and my face is perfectly clear- I LOVE this stuff! It is also nice that you can buy the kit or purchase the items seperately, i.e. if you run out of one faster than the other. I hope Walmart never stops selling this!!!!

Was this review helpful? (318) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aallen713
Arlington, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Please never buy proactive again!!
12/2/2012

Customer review by AmyLove09

5.0 stars 12/2/2012 by AmyLove09
by AmyLove09

One night out of no where I had a severe breakout all over my face, at first we thought it was an allergic reaction to something but soon the white heads appeared and I freaked out. I had gotten a zit here and there my whole life and still had scars from it but never experienced anything like that breakout. My husband ran to Walmart and got this after I read the great reviews, but I was pretty iffy since it was an off brand and was so cheap. I used it that night and no exaggeration but within an hour I noticed the redness went away and when I woke up the whiteheads were gone and 85% of all the breakout was gone. It was amazing! I am still using it and my scars have started to fade, I actually go out without makeup now which I was never comfortable doing before! Please never buy pro active again, this stuff is such an amazing price and is incredible!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AmyLove09
Cali
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
works great right price
7/25/2016

Customer review by korn5619

4.0 stars 7/25/2016 by korn5619
by korn5619
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

only took a week to see an improvement. priced better than proactiv and no commitments to buy more.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
korn5619
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Acne Treatment
7/17/2016

Customer review by Carol

5.0 stars 7/17/2016 by Carol
by Carol
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I first bought this for my granddaughter that was visiting for the summer as I am generally very happy with Equate products. This one did not disappoint. My son used ProActive as a teenager and it worked wonders, this product has the same type of treatment and works very well when used as instructed. It's also much easier to obtain since it is a WalMart product that is available in all their pharmacy areas.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carol
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Effective and Affordable!
2/7/2012

Customer review by Beth178

5.0 stars 2/7/2012 by Beth178
by Beth178

I haven't had acne since I was 14, but much to my dismay I recently started breaking out again at the age of 20. I went searching for an acne treatment product that would work well and not break the bank (unlike some 3 step acne treatment systems). This product is wonderful because the entire 3 part kit cost me less than 12 dollars, which is almost what I would spend for ONE bottle of other brands of face wash/toner/acne lotions. I've only been using this for a couple of days, but I already have seen a huge difference in my acne and the overall texture of my skin. My skin is far less red, very soft, and not dry at all. It seems to be just as effective as other systems without being anywhere near as harsh. I tend to get acne right between my eyebrows and on my chin that leaves horrible bright redish-purple spots, but after the very first use of this system i woke up the next morning and they were 75% faded! I was completely speechless! It started to dry out existing pimples overnight as well, and I haven't had any new ones pop up since I started using this. The consistency of the cleanser and lotion is a bit thin, but that just means it spreads much easier and you therefore use less, so it should last quite a long time. I think this kit will easily last for two months using it twice a day. I highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (143) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beth178
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 194 total reviews
1-20 of 194 reviews