Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 62 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

62 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

62 reviews | 4 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
29
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 stars
7
1-20 of 56 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 56 total reviews
1-20 of 56 reviews
good product, but connection hose is too short.
11/24/2015

Customer review by hbzen

4.0 stars 11/24/2015 by hbzen
by hbzen

This is replacing an existing Suncast hose reel that finally broke. It was at least 10 years old, maybe older. (I broke the reel..my fault..not the product's). It's a little different from my old model in that this version does not have a hose "guide" ... that's NOT a problem because I never used it anyway. What IS a problem is the supplied hose that connects the wall-mounted hub to my hose bib (faucet). The faucet, like most I presume, is rather low. In order to mount the hub at a reasonable height I need a hose that's about 2 feet longer than the one provided. You should be aware that most (all?) hose faucets point down, so you need to connect the coupling hose with some length to spare--otherwise you'll crimp the hose. I happen to have a length of hose that I use for just this reason: cutting it to length and attaching two fittings is not a big deal ... but you should be aware that you might need to do the same.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hbzen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good value for the money
6/29/2014

Customer review by happypoet

4.0 stars 6/29/2014 by happypoet
by happypoet
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased 2 of these, for the side and back of my house. I already had a "container" type reel, but I wanted something off the ground, and with the other type,I had a tangled hose often. These were easy to attach to the house, a basic drill is all you need. The piece that stays in place is lightweight but sturdy, and the reel itself is as well. I was worried that my 75 ft hose would be too heavy for it but it was fine. I wouldn't suggest anything longer though, the wheel is plastic, and would easily fall off if I had a bigger or heavier hose. It winds easily, when I go to unwind it as I walk out into my yard, it unwinds easily and with no problems. When I am finished and go to put it away, it is very easy to wind and at the same time, guide it onto the reel to make sure it isn't all clumped up or kinked.One of the best selling points to me, is the easy removal of the wheel for winter storage, leaving the bracket in place on the house. All in all, it's well made product, and works great, especially for the price. If one breaks in the ear future, it wouldn't be horrible to have to replace it. This would be a nice gift for a new homeowner or a summer "thank you" gift to friends or neighbors.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
happypoet
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Suncast 100' side winder hose reel
1/24/2016

Customer review by Daniel

3.0 stars 1/24/2016 by Daniel
by Daniel

This is the first one I've ever bought so I have nothing to compare it to. It was easy to install and seems sturdy enough. I guess only time will tell. In any event the customer service was excellent and a good experience.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Daniel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Simple and effective hose reel
10/8/2012

Customer review by MrNorml

5.0 stars 10/8/2012 by MrNorml
by MrNorml

I have had an identical Suncast reel installed for more than ten years. I wanted an identical one on the other side of the house and found this online at Wal Mart. The design has not changed in all this time. It is designed to hold 100 feet of hose but I store no more than 50 feet on mine. Suncast realized it has a great product. "If it ain't broke . . .don't fix it!"

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrNorml
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Quick and easy to install
9/8/2013

Customer review by WhistlingDixie

5.0 stars 9/8/2013 by WhistlingDixie
by WhistlingDixie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was much easier to install than I thought and delightful for that reason alone. Worked well and best of all no leaks. I replaces an almost identical one by the same manufacturer that lasted me many years. The old one eventually developed a leak just from two tiny rubber O rings that eventually went bad over time. It would have been nice to just get replacements rather than scraping the housing which was still in perfect condition. That seemed quite a waste. The new one has a parts list and seems to open the possibility the O rings can be obtained. I sure will save the new ones parts list.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WhistlingDixie
Danvers, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works...
10/12/2012

Customer review by TKvanilla

5.0 stars 10/12/2012 by TKvanilla
by TKvanilla

I purchased two of these and I love it. Very easy to install to house and winds hose easily.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TKvanilla
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect Storage for Area Needed!
7/17/2012

Customer review by TheBigC

5.0 stars 7/17/2012 by TheBigC
by TheBigC

Had no problem installing this and it works great! Simple Storage Accessory!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheBigC
Pennsburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Suncast 100' hose reel.
12/7/2015

Customer review by danno

1.0 stars 12/7/2015 by danno
by danno

It is a somewhat poorly designed plastic hose reel. I am replacing one just like it because it fits well in the same location. Poorly designed means the plastic is too weak to support the reel, then sags and breaks. The part that broke was the part that attaches to the wall or fence. The one I am replacing lasted about 6 years or so which is not good. If it was advertised as a 25' hose reel it would probably last longer. I used the reel to hold a 50' hose.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
danno
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good product, poor quality control
5/30/2013

Customer review by Billinva2

4.0 stars 5/30/2013 by Billinva2
by Billinva2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Purchased and installed one. Worked well. Purchased a second for another location, and found the hose connection tube in the reel was split and splintered in a way that was unlikely to have happened after assembly was completed. Walmart refunded my money, and I'm waiting a second two weeks for my reordered reel to arrive at the local store. Side note: The mounting screws provided would likely only work on wood siding. My installations are free standing on 2x8s spanning 4x4 posts.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Billinva2
Sterling,VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
decent hose reel
6/27/2014

Customer review by ezdoesitct

3.0 stars 6/27/2014 by ezdoesitct
by ezdoesitct
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought a few of these hose reels. One was slightly defective....the sides of the reel are warped, rather than straight. It still works, but it looks funny. Not great quality, but reasonable for the price. Not sure how long it will hold up, but it's working ok initially.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ezdoesitct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great
11/16/2015

Customer review by caribemami

5.0 stars 11/16/2015 by caribemami
by caribemami

Delivered fast and was easy to install

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
caribemami
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WONDERFUL.......!!!!!!!
10/26/2015

Customer review by Doug

5.0 stars 10/26/2015 by Doug
by Doug

This reel worked great for my hose. Easy to install, took less than ten minutes......!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Doug
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great buy.
8/7/2012

Customer review by Helensue

5.0 stars 8/7/2012 by Helensue
by Helensue

Quality product for the money. Easy to install and eliminates hose laying all over your yard or driveway.

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Helensue
Three Rivers, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It leaks!
8/9/2015

Customer review by Tarby

2.0 stars 8/9/2015 by Tarby
by Tarby

It is cheaply made for the price. It leaks profusely even after using plumbers tape where their hose connects to cylinder & to my brand new hose; all the connections to/from the short hose that is provided. It is difficult to wind, a bit wobbly,. You have to guide the hose every second to turn the handle. The hose is twisted causing kinks as it unwinds (but that may be in all winders, unsure). I would buy in the future a winder that winds in front vs on the side to prevent twisting/kinking. It does get that ugly hose out of the way. The mounting seems to be holding up fine. It functions but I can't get it to stop leaking & we are in a severe drought!!! I just can't have leaks!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tarby
CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Doesn't work at all..........
6/14/2015

Customer review by JohnDude1

1.0 stars 6/14/2015 by JohnDude1
by JohnDude1

I got it mounted on the side of the deck with nice long sturdy wood screws, but the reel won't fit on the mount so it's worthless. Calling the company's 800 number is also a joke. It's "on hold" constantly and forever. Avoid this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JohnDude1
Would recommend to a friend? No
This is a great product for a limited space onwall
1/18/2013

Customer review by GardenGirl2013

5.0 stars 1/18/2013 by GardenGirl2013
by GardenGirl2013
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Our first one lasted 12 years, so that's pretty good. It is easy to roll up a full sized hose.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GardenGirl2013
West Palm Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent product
9/20/2015

Customer review by Pete

5.0 stars 9/20/2015 by Pete
by Pete

Excellent product... this is the second one I purchased. The first one is almost 15 years old and still going strong

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pete
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome!
9/11/2015

Customer review by Bigdude57

5.0 stars 9/11/2015 by Bigdude57
by Bigdude57

I used this item on my camper. I mounted it just below and to the right of my water hookup. When done I wind it up, remove the reel, and stow it in the front compartment just about 3 feet away.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bigdude57
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
"Reely" good product
2/10/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 2/10/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have used three of these on my home and gifted two friends. Great product if you remember it's made of plastic and doesn't tolerate much side force. My only complaint is the "O" rings. Why use two different sizes on the same shaft? They're an odd size impossible to locate locally. Ordering from SunCast gets you a .50 cent O ring for $5.00 "Shipping/handling". The O rings must be replaced occasionally; order a good supply at one time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Walmart service
8/30/2013

Customer review by bkthumper

4.0 stars 8/30/2013 by bkthumper
by bkthumper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I called the local store 3 times 2 days after the product was supposed to hit their store according to their responding e mail (it still hasn't arrived). I was put on hold each time & waited 5 minutes & hung up. Customer service - how about lack of customer service!! I know the product I ordered is a good item - I have 3 of them already. Bob

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bkthumper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1-20 of 56 reviews