Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 69 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

69 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

69 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
29
4 stars
20
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 stars
9
1-20 of 63 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 63 total reviews
1-20 of 63 reviews
good product, but connection hose is too short.
11/24/2015

Customer review by hbzen

4.0 stars 11/24/2015 by hbzen
by hbzen

This is replacing an existing Suncast hose reel that finally broke. It was at least 10 years old, maybe older. (I broke the reel..my fault..not the product's). It's a little different from my old model in that this version does not have a hose "guide" ... that's NOT a problem because I never used it anyway. What IS a problem is the supplied hose that connects the wall-mounted hub to my hose bib (faucet). The faucet, like most I presume, is rather low. In order to mount the hub at a reasonable height I need a hose that's about 2 feet longer than the one provided. You should be aware that most (all?) hose faucets point down, so you need to connect the coupling hose with some length to spare--otherwise you'll crimp the hose. I happen to have a length of hose that I use for just this reason: cutting it to length and attaching two fittings is not a big deal ... but you should be aware that you might need to do the same.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hbzen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not so great
7/26/2016

Customer review by Fixmiester

3.0 stars 7/26/2016 by Fixmiester
by Fixmiester
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Product had a severely warped spool, on the side where the handle is. Contacted Suncast and they promptly sent me a new spool, but it too was warped, but not as badly. They have a problem in their cooling process which leaves one side of the spool deformed. Oh well; it should last awhile before cracking.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fixmiester
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good value for the money
6/29/2014

Customer review by happypoet

4.0 stars 6/29/2014 by happypoet
by happypoet
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased 2 of these, for the side and back of my house. I already had a "container" type reel, but I wanted something off the ground, and with the other type,I had a tangled hose often. These were easy to attach to the house, a basic drill is all you need. The piece that stays in place is lightweight but sturdy, and the reel itself is as well. I was worried that my 75 ft hose would be too heavy for it but it was fine. I wouldn't suggest anything longer though, the wheel is plastic, and would easily fall off if I had a bigger or heavier hose. It winds easily, when I go to unwind it as I walk out into my yard, it unwinds easily and with no problems. When I am finished and go to put it away, it is very easy to wind and at the same time, guide it onto the reel to make sure it isn't all clumped up or kinked.One of the best selling points to me, is the easy removal of the wheel for winter storage, leaving the bracket in place on the house. All in all, it's well made product, and works great, especially for the price. If one breaks in the ear future, it wouldn't be horrible to have to replace it. This would be a nice gift for a new homeowner or a summer "thank you" gift to friends or neighbors.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
happypoet
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Simple and effective hose reel
10/8/2012

Customer review by MrNorml

5.0 stars 10/8/2012 by MrNorml
by MrNorml

I have had an identical Suncast reel installed for more than ten years. I wanted an identical one on the other side of the house and found this online at Wal Mart. The design has not changed in all this time. It is designed to hold 100 feet of hose but I store no more than 50 feet on mine. Suncast realized it has a great product. "If it ain't broke . . .don't fix it!"

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrNorml
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Hose reel
7/13/2016

Customer review by bennett

4.0 stars 7/13/2016 by bennett
by bennett
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works great. have to guide it onto the reel some and needs to be lined up correctly to hold 100 feet.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bennett
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Piece of Junk
5/29/2016

Customer review by GuyfromCa

1.0 stars 5/29/2016 by GuyfromCa
by GuyfromCa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I followed the installation instructions to a T and when I hooked the hose up and turned the water on, the unit leaked at the point where the reel connects to the spindle. As far as I'm concerned it was a complete waste of money. I'm very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GuyfromCa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hose reeler
7/3/2016

Customer review by Junebug

3.0 stars 7/3/2016 by Junebug
by Junebug
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love the concept. However we were very disappointed that it could not handle 100 foot of hose. The construction is just too flimsy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Junebug
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Suncast 100' side winder hose reel
1/24/2016

Customer review by Daniel

3.0 stars 1/24/2016 by Daniel
by Daniel

This is the first one I've ever bought so I have nothing to compare it to. It was easy to install and seems sturdy enough. I guess only time will tell. In any event the customer service was excellent and a good experience.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Daniel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works...
10/12/2012

Customer review by TKvanilla

5.0 stars 10/12/2012 by TKvanilla
by TKvanilla

I purchased two of these and I love it. Very easy to install to house and winds hose easily.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TKvanilla
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Functional but no idea on reliability
6/6/2016

Customer review by ALMO

4.0 stars 6/6/2016 by ALMO
by ALMO
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Just got it a few days ago. Have used it only a few times. Seems to be a good product, however it's too early to judge. The leader hose that comes with the unit, is only 4 feet. I had to buy an additional hose.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ALMO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect Storage for Area Needed!
7/17/2012

Customer review by TheBigC

5.0 stars 7/17/2012 by TheBigC
by TheBigC

Had no problem installing this and it works great! Simple Storage Accessory!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheBigC
Pennsburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Quick and easy to install
9/8/2013

Customer review by WhistlingDixie

5.0 stars 9/8/2013 by WhistlingDixie
by WhistlingDixie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was much easier to install than I thought and delightful for that reason alone. Worked well and best of all no leaks. I replaces an almost identical one by the same manufacturer that lasted me many years. The old one eventually developed a leak just from two tiny rubber O rings that eventually went bad over time. It would have been nice to just get replacements rather than scraping the housing which was still in perfect condition. That seemed quite a waste. The new one has a parts list and seems to open the possibility the O rings can be obtained. I sure will save the new ones parts list.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WhistlingDixie
Danvers, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Kincked with low water flow!
6/2/2016

Customer review by ReelsadnKincked

1.0 stars 6/2/2016 by ReelsadnKincked
by ReelsadnKincked
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Can't keep short hose from the back of the reel to the water facet from kincking restricking water flow.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ReelsadnKincked
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
OK for the price
5/26/2016

Customer review by reviewer1

3.0 stars 5/26/2016 by reviewer1
by reviewer1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Does what it supposed to do, but does not look very robust, for the price not bad.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
reviewer1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product, poor quality control
5/30/2013

Customer review by Billinva2

4.0 stars 5/30/2013 by Billinva2
by Billinva2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Purchased and installed one. Worked well. Purchased a second for another location, and found the hose connection tube in the reel was split and splintered in a way that was unlikely to have happened after assembly was completed. Walmart refunded my money, and I'm waiting a second two weeks for my reordered reel to arrive at the local store. Side note: The mounting screws provided would likely only work on wood siding. My installations are free standing on 2x8s spanning 4x4 posts.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Billinva2
Sterling,VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
decent hose reel
6/27/2014

Customer review by ezdoesitct

3.0 stars 6/27/2014 by ezdoesitct
by ezdoesitct
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought a few of these hose reels. One was slightly defective....the sides of the reel are warped, rather than straight. It still works, but it looks funny. Not great quality, but reasonable for the price. Not sure how long it will hold up, but it's working ok initially.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ezdoesitct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great buy.
8/7/2012

Customer review by Helensue

5.0 stars 8/7/2012 by Helensue
by Helensue

Quality product for the money. Easy to install and eliminates hose laying all over your yard or driveway.

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Helensue
Three Rivers, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Doesn't work at all..........
6/14/2015

Customer review by JohnDude1

1.0 stars 6/14/2015 by JohnDude1
by JohnDude1

I got it mounted on the side of the deck with nice long sturdy wood screws, but the reel won't fit on the mount so it's worthless. Calling the company's 800 number is also a joke. It's "on hold" constantly and forever. Avoid this product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JohnDude1
Would recommend to a friend? No
This is a great product for a limited space onwall
1/18/2013

Customer review by GardenGirl2013

5.0 stars 1/18/2013 by GardenGirl2013
by GardenGirl2013
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Our first one lasted 12 years, so that's pretty good. It is easy to roll up a full sized hose.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GardenGirl2013
West Palm Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
"Reely" good product
2/10/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 2/10/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have used three of these on my home and gifted two friends. Great product if you remember it's made of plastic and doesn't tolerate much side force. My only complaint is the "O" rings. Why use two different sizes on the same shaft? They're an odd size impossible to locate locally. Ordering from SunCast gets you a .50 cent O ring for $5.00 "Shipping/handling". The O rings must be replaced occasionally; order a good supply at one time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 63 total reviews
1-20 of 63 reviews