Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 297 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

297 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

297 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
175
4 stars
54
3 stars
17
2 stars
12
1 stars
39
1-20 of 278 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 278 total reviews
1-20 of 278 reviews
Don't waste your money on fancy instead of sturdy
6/10/2012

Customer review by SingleMomBargainHound

5.0 stars 6/10/2012 by SingleMomBargainHound
by SingleMomBargainHound

This carpet cleaner is awesome. I shopped around for 3 months to find the best carpet cleaner for the value, and this one meets all of my expectations. Listen to the good reviews! The only bad stuff I saw was that some people bought returned machines that were missing parts, or broke the parts themselves. This carpet cleaner works, don't waste your money on something that looks pretty but doesn't do the job. I went over my gray carpet ONCE and now it's white again! It cleaned up old car oil, beer, wine, strawberry, and syrup stains along with dirt and grime. I will be recommending this to everyone. Pros: Lightweight Sturdy SUPER easy to clean Affordable Detergent is included in the box Cons: Detergent in the box doesn't work as good as regular old laundry detergent (I used a 1/4 cup of Purex every time I refilled the water tank) Really ugly compared to other brands Plastic looks cheap (but it's not!) Was slightly confusing to assemble the upholstery tool based on the diagram in the manual

Was this review helpful? (159) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SingleMomBargainHound
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Product
3/28/2012

Customer review by powell63401

5.0 stars 3/28/2012 by powell63401
by powell63401

Prior to this carpet cleaner, the only shampooer I owned was a Bissell Pro Heat, it worked well in the beginning but began clogging towards the end to were I couldn't use the hose and it didn't suck the carperts that well. I decided to try the Hoover Steamvac Silver and it seems to work much better than my Bissell ever did. I like that the this machine does not have the bladder as I could never get the Bissell completely clean after using it. The Hoover has a seperate area for the clean water/cleaner and the dirty waste, so it is as simple as rinsing each container. Great carpet cleaner for the money.

Was this review helpful? (215) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
powell63401
Hannibal, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
They should call these HAZMAT vacs!
10/4/2013

Customer review by ArdmoreMommy

5.0 stars 10/4/2013 by ArdmoreMommy
by ArdmoreMommy

I just bought my third. My first one only stopped working after some mice chewed it up after storing it in the barn. The second unit I bought for my mother and she loves it and uses it. This third unit is just as good as the first. Yes, they aren't pretty but they are workhorses and once you get the hang of it you'll never use professionals again. If you have carpet with kids and/or pets you must have this in your cleaning arsenal. In one use it pays for itself. I use folex in mine (if the stain is greasy you can use laundry detergent) or grate fels naptha laundry bar soap in some water and once dissolved it makes an amazing cleaning solution and there will be no residual odors. With any cleaning solution a little goes a long way and rinse, rinse and rinse again. Leaving cleaning solution residue in the carpet will cause stains to "re-appear." You don't need the fancy version of this and don't even look at the other brands, Hoover has found a formula that works and gets the job done the first time!

Was this review helpful? (84) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ArdmoreMommy
Ardmore, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great for homes with kids and pets!
4/7/2012

Customer review by Whatnicknamesavailable

5.0 stars 4/7/2012 by Whatnicknamesavailable
by Whatnicknamesavailable

This carpet cleaner is fantastic for spills and stains from kids and pets! We could not believe how well the stains came up. I had a Bissell machine before which I thought worked good, but this Hoover machine blew that away! We did pre-treat with OxyClean stain remover spray and then used the Woolite Oxy Pet cleaning solution. With the extra power scrub feature on this machine, coupled with the products we used, EVERY stain came out. Our carpet looks new! First we tried the free Hoover brand solution that came with the machine in our living room...what a joke...don't waste your time using that cleaning solution. We then tried the other method in our son's room and WOW! The machine itself is very easy to use and with the heated cleaning system the carpets are almost dry when finished. A good pre-soak, super scrub and a clean rinse and with this machine you're carpets are as good as new! :)

Was this review helpful? (171) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Whatnicknamesavailable
Bradenton, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Awesome product
3/17/2012

Customer review by 2pack

5.0 stars 3/17/2012 by 2pack
by 2pack

With a house of 2 dogs, 5 cats, a husband and 2 kids, this shampooer is an awesome product. I bought another one yesterday. The other one that I had was the same brand at which it lasted for 3 years before I had any issues with it to where I couldn't use it any longer. I have owned the Bissell brand as well but I think this one is much easier to use. I even think that it works better than the commercial rug doctor shampooers. So, if you are looking for a good inexpensive shampooer this is a good one.

Was this review helpful? (171) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2pack
Nashport Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Love this cleaner!!!!
10/14/2012

Customer review by MoDiva

5.0 stars 10/14/2012 by MoDiva
by MoDiva

This is only the second review Ive ever done and when I do it must be a pretty awesome thing. I reviewed this cleaner and did comparison shopping and found this product to be a great deal. I bought it months ago because I have a very active and messy toddler among other things. I have tan microfiber cushions and pillows on my couch and had recently bought a rather expensive area rug for my living room space which doubles as play space for the little one and seating for guests.(High traffic) Putting the cleaner together was straightforward and easy to assemble(except where to put the large brush attatchment altho fits fine in back). I finally used it for the 1st time last night(10/14) when my toddler at the potty training stage decided to do her business on the couch. months behind anyway I decided to begin. Unlike one of the other reviewers I felt the detergent that came with the product was fine but I did use about 50% more than suggested as some of my cushions were heavily soiled with water milk juice and anything else a child can think to decorate the furniture with. I should menion that about a year ago my cushions and bed were done by Stanley Steamer for a whopping $300 and I had them use a protectant for the fabric but I never spot cleaned cushions often since I didnt want it to lose its effect once I did use the cleaner. These stains on that type of fabric almost appear black so to see my couches look as good as when I first bought them(2008) has me ecstatic about my purchase!!! By time I finished the seat cushions(5) most were dry after doing front back and 3 sides. My hands are small so my only complaint is the hold of the hose for extended periods or when your putting a little extra effort in a stain may make your hands cramp a bit, but that was due to the need of some extra elbow grease needed in some areas. As a female I like seeing the dirty water so you see it working in essence and to know when an area is or is not in need of further cleaning. OH, I must say that I NEVER pretreated either which was another thing that impressed me so about the included cleaner. Using the extra solution I was able to do the cushions and most of my living room floor(10 x 12? or so) with the bottle included. the other thing to note is that the nozzle spray(hose) has a wide coverage which will cause you others or items to be sprayed unless your prepared. The book tells you of this but you dont get the full idea until you see the span(good and bad?). Needless to say altho I have never had another carpet cleaner given the price and the ease of use and it doing what its suppose to do this is hands down the best carpet and upholstry cleaner!!!!Price being the main factor! FULLY RECOMMEND for anyone who values their hard earned money on quality products and knows that price does not determine how good or bad a product is thats why I read reviews! You cant get more honest than the 47%...lol....Great for people with kids n carpet 2! YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED! I just wish I could show the before, my camera was acting stupid for the before but I will include the after...dont forget to imagine how soiled they were with liquids, chocolate, n sticky finger residue...lol

Was this review helpful? (99) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MoDiva
Buffalo, Ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Like it!
4/22/2012

Customer review by Silverheals

4.0 stars 4/22/2012 by Silverheals
by Silverheals

Had the unit shipped and it arrived 3 days early. Great! For some reason Hoover put a decal inside the nozzel? It looks good for display purposes but the first time I used the machine, it sucked the decal through the machine and into the recovery tank. It was a mess cleaning the decal pieces out of the recovery tank the first time I emptied it. The decal should've been put on the outside of the nozzle. After getting it cleaned out the washer worked as advertise. I am very happy with it and have already let a friend use it, who is also happy with the performance.

Was this review helpful? (65) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Silverheals
Aubrun, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Love This!
4/18/2012

Customer review by GAOinLV

5.0 stars 4/18/2012 by GAOinLV
by GAOinLV

I don't believe I have EVER gone online specifically to look up and review a product. This is a first--because I'm amazed at how well this thing works. After throwing away my SECOND Bissell ProHeat, I went to WalMart to rent a rug doctor. My Bissell had quit suctioning and I was left with a wet mess in my living room. On a lark, I decided to look at the Hoover cleaners because I vaguely remembered that they get better reviews. I couldn't believe there was one with a heater for $139. I bought it and in the car on the way home started to get buyers remorse--I hadn't even looked up the reviews for this model, I bought it on a whim--not like me. I got it put together, cleaned the living room carpet--and was astounded at how well it worked. And how easy it was to set up and take down. I absolutely can't believe I found a shampooer for this price that works this well. I love this thing. It actually WORKS. The Bissell's never really did work. They were always a weak attempt to get a little bit of dirt out in between professional cleaners. I think I can actually use this INSTEAD of paying professionals. Amazing. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (62) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GAOinLV
Henderson, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Best idea I have ever had!!!!!
7/9/2013

Customer review by Jacks23

5.0 stars 7/9/2013 by Jacks23
by Jacks23

I had an area my dogs liked to visit often, and I didn't want to call a carpet cleaner for just one area and pay a ton, so I bought this. It is wonderful. I thought I was going to have to clean the area one time, let it dry and then clean the area a few more times. That is not the case, it worked great the first time, did not leave a lot of water after, dried in an hour and looked, smelled and felt great. I was so shocked, I stuck my nose in the carpet and smelled and I could not get anything. My dogs seem to be leaving it alone as well. I am very impressed by this carpet cleaner. And the price you just can not beat. The parts come apart easily and go back great. I did not feel like I had to push hard back and forth it was smooth. I like how there are two containers one for clean water and one for the dirty. And I was surprised to find that the dirty bin washes away nicely. I didn't have to scrub anything, I even forgot to clean it the first day and rinsed it out the next and it washed out nicely.

Was this review helpful? (45) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jacks23
Harker Heights, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Overall a plus - many more pros than cans
8/19/2012

Customer review by TheCleaningDad

4.0 stars 8/19/2012 by TheCleaningDad
by TheCleaningDad

I just used this carpet cleaner for the first time today. Coming out of the box, it took 5-10 minutes to completely assemble. It took a few more minutes to figure out how to mix the ratio of cleaning supply to water. It was not clearly marked initially and took some finding. The included cleaning solution did a so so job. I added in oxy clean with resolve carpet cleaner that I purchased seperately and that did a much better job extracting dirt from the carpet. While it is very convenient having both the cleaning tank and extracting tank seperate, they are different sizes. The cleaning solution tank is smaller by about 40% of the size of the extraction tank. So every time I filled the cleaning tank, I also emptied the extraction. You can clearly tell when the washer is extracting water from the carpet. While the cover of the extraction tool is clear, you can still see the water come out very easily. You can also tell very easily if the washer is clogged anywhere along the way, as the pitch of the extractor changes to a much higher one. Over 5 rooms and a hallway, it happened about once per full tank of extraction that the filter in the tank needed to be cleaned, which is very easily to clean. However, it is also a bit time consuming and annoying. I did have to clean it 3 times during my cleaning, however the filter is extremely easy to clean. There is a sticker placed by Hoover on the front of the vacuum that you need to be sure to remove, as it will get wet and eventually come off the front and get sucked up into the washer as mine did. Removal of both tanks was very easy and I had no problem reinserting them back into the machine at any time. None of the equipment leaked at all while using, even when the cleaning tank was left in full and the machine was laid on its side. The area where the machine extracts water from the carpet and sucks it into the extraction tank does have a cleaning tool available to remove particles. However I did not find it useful, and actually removed the screws to take the cover off to properly clean it. It can catch bigger pieces to remove them, but not fine cleaning. I would not want to leave any particles in there if it's going to be stores for any length of time as this could cause a bad odor to build up. The included stair / furniture attachment was a bit confusing at first trying to install it. however, upon re reading the instructions I was able to figure it out with little problem. The attachment does pretty close to the same amount of extraction power as the full machine. It did a nice job cleaning the couch I used it on. The floor only took about 45 minutes to an hour to dry to the touch. The couch, about 2 hours. I used it on a cloth fabric couch. While the extractor overall did a very good job removing dirt and debris from the carpet and our couch, the differences in the size of the tanks and the considerable amount of time wasted on cleaning the fiilter was a bit annoying. You can also see very easily if the brushes are actually spinning or if they get caught, as there is a window on top of the extraction area to see the brush rotate. We paid $140 for this cleaner, and I would say it was worth it. I'm sure some of the clogs we had were due to the type of carpet we have installed in our home, as it does have a tendency to give off what I would call hair balls on occasion when cleaning. Once was from the sticker that slipped off and in. The other con would be when you need to get to the bottom of the machine. it is very bottom heavy even after the tanks are removed. Trying to get at the screws to remove the cover was a bit annoying, and the weight of it is not evenly balanced. Best piece of advice - read the instructions thoroughly guys. then re-read them again. If you expect it to perform properly, you have to read the instructions carefully. Don't just go zooming ahead without them. If you do, you will experience issues. Overall I would rate a 7.5 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheCleaningDad
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Get it!
4/22/2012

Customer review by poolaid

5.0 stars 4/22/2012 by poolaid
by poolaid

This is my second Hoover SteamVac and the first one is still going strong. I purchased the first one in 2003 (?) and let my inlaws use it six months later. They have an animal farm in their house and have used the vac weekly since borrowing it. Since they are getting such good use out of my first one I decided it would be less of a headache to purchase another one.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
poolaid
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Absolutely the only carpet washer I ever needed!
5/22/2012

Customer review by LilacLovebird

5.0 stars 5/22/2012 by LilacLovebird
by LilacLovebird

I bought this in store to replace my broken Bissell Pro Heat after reading the reviews online. I was astounded to find them so true. This is a great item for the price and performs in a way my Bissell never did! Easy to clean, easy to use and best of all great suction and excellent performance. This baby got out stains I had lost all hope on. A little Resolve and then this SteamVac and they were gone! Even rust from an old filing cabinet! I cannot attest to durability as I have only had this for a few hours but I am sure this cleaner will last longer than my other one. I am not one to write reviews especially on Walmart.com(had to make the account and everything) but I am completely sold on this product. Listen to the reviews, this Hoover SteamVac does everything they say it does.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LilacLovebird
Odessa, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great Deal
5/31/2014

Customer review by Jimbo62

5.0 stars 5/31/2014 by Jimbo62
by Jimbo62

Cleaned my living room carpet that had dirt on it for at least 5 years. Removed all spots and carpet looks almost new. Picks up almost all cleaning fluid, rug drys fast. I really liked how it has several little brushes, not much gets wrapped around them like a single roller brush. Easy clean up. Only comes with upholstery tool, but you can get spin brush off of popular action service for about 15-30 bucks. Part #302598001 see attached pic. I just ordered tool, this part number was listed on Hoovers website Time will tell to see how it holds up..

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jimbo62
Forest Grove, or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
9/18/2013

Customer review by friendlyhelper2013

4.0 stars 9/18/2013 by friendlyhelper2013
by friendlyhelper2013

i just bought this for exact model for the second time (first time i bought this carpet cleaner was for a friend while i stayed with her cause her carpets were in desprite need of cleaning... with her 6 children,3 dogs, 4 cats her carpets had never been cleaned since she lived there and she's lived there for 10 years, the stains, and crusty crud on her floors didnt stand a chance with this hoover, for best results use an oxi-clean or a detergent with oxi-clean ( 1/4 cup if you desire to use laundry detergent) ) also just to let everyone know if you didnt already know you can release your water on to the floor with out it being plugged in or turned on that way you can let the solution soak in your carpet with out it getting sucked up the second you release it from the tank the only thing i dislike about this hoover is the recovery tank and water tank is so small that you cant do to much cleaning with out having to stop and reload and empty the tanks.... but over all i really do recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a carpet shampooer, you wont be disappointed

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
friendlyhelper2013
fayetteville, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
4/5/2012

Customer review by nicestuff1234

5.0 stars 4/5/2012 by nicestuff1234
by nicestuff1234

I have always bought the bissel heat rug cleaner and this one works way better then the 293.00 i bought before this is a nicer sprayer and cleans way better.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nicestuff1234
las vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
I bought "2" of these already.... now going on 3
11/1/2013

Customer review by Spade818

5.0 stars 11/1/2013 by Spade818
by Spade818

Ok.... I originally bought this from a "furniture store" in 2004, I paid $259 plus tax, and purchased an extended warranty with it, so it came close to $350 in all. The first 2 years I used it approx once every 1-4 months and it worked excellent. Then I got a puppy, and you know the "potty training" stage, so I would use it once every couple weeks. Within the NEXT 2 years, and NOW a total of 5 dogs, 3 cats, 2 older kids that don't take their shoes off once in the house, started using it 1-4 days. NOW, using it so much, my first machine needed to be repaired only ONE time in the 4 years, so I brought it in, after looking it over, they said due to the amount of hair that was clogging it, that it would be much easier to replace it. When looking over the choices at the furniture store I purchased it originally, I decided to stick to the same machine because it performed BEAUTIFULLY!!!! NOW, about 8 months into it, my tank started leaking, so I still had one more year of warranty to go. So I took it in and they said it had a defect in the tank, and I could wait 2 months for the part, or he had a machine in the back, and that it was only used a couple of times, so he could either order the part or just replace that one, I said just give me that one, don't forget, I had /have LARGE dogs. So I STILL have that SAME machine from 2008, and it is STILL running, but, I am noticing that it is getting time to either pay to get it cleaned out from the hair (no more warranty) or just by a new one. I will be buying a new in the next couple months. I also would like everyone to note..... shampoo for ANY cleaner is just to stinken expensive, so from the begining, I have bought 2 bottles of shampoo that they claim you NEED to use. I am not sure about ALL cleaners, but this particular one, I do not use that expensive soap.... I am a fanatic about carpet (always have been) so u will understand better once I tell you what I use in place of the EXPENSIVE shampoo..... 1. Laundry Soap.... ANY kind, just make sure it is an "HE" so that it does not make to much bubbles. If there is a brand you like but does not have it in HE, then just use a 1/2 cap.... HE brand you can use a whole cap 2. Bleach.... I use this once a month for sanitizing my carpets 3. Fabuloso, Mr Clean, Pine Sol, and even Laudry Crystals that make your clothes smell fresh, I use to make my carpets smell nice. 4. Fabric Softener.... it TRULY helps to keep carpet soft, also, if you use double the amount it acts like a stain resistant, so juice, animal accident, milk, etc will not settle into the carpet. 5. Vinegar.... it is great for stains, helps pull them to the surface, as well as it takes animal order or doggie accidents. I really love this machine, it works hard, does a beautiful and is VERY durable.... I would recommend it anyone.... It is an EXCELLENT machine!!!! :)

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Spade818
Sun Prairie, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
simple is BEST! this is the workhorse of steamers
6/1/2014

Customer review by tmegee

5.0 stars 6/1/2014 by tmegee
by tmegee

This is the second time I have purchased this model. The first time I was lucky enough to get one used (lucky because I quickly learned how wonderful the machine is!). It was damaged in a move so I decided to get a new machine. I was lured in by the sleek appearance of the bissell models and the bells and whistles so I switched. what a HUGE mistake that was!! the bissell was a train wreck. I returned that machine and promptly went out and bought the machine that I love and trust. It works like a dream! Is it pretty? no- but it is solid and reliable and easy to use. I can't say enough good things about this hoover. Comparing the suction of this one next to the bissell made me laugh. oh- one other thing that I can say is this- I am a scrapper (curbside recycling lol) and I see a TON of bissells in the trash. Now I know why. In the couple of years that I have been scrapping I have never seen this model. this item is a lifer- you won't be sorry that you bought it.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tmegee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE IT!
8/15/2012

Customer review by 2catlady

5.0 stars 8/15/2012 by 2catlady
by 2catlady

I've had this for about a year and a half and I still love it. I use it once a month (my son also borrows it to clean his house) and it's so easy to use and does just as good as one you have to go out and rent (and then take back). I read reviews that said the 3rd time they used it it did not suck the water back up. This happened to me but I checked to make sure everything was seated correctly and closed tightly and then it worked perfectly. The problem was the piece that gets pulled up and out to connect the furniture cleaner was not seated back down properly so it had no suction. I reseated that piece and had no more problems. If this one stops working or if it just gets older I will absolutely get another one. I like having a carpet cleaner right here to use any time I want to.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2catlady
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
defective or a lemon
4/12/2014

Customer review by Jenny82

1.0 stars 4/12/2014 by Jenny82
by Jenny82

Just purchased today and machine was defective out of the box, never got to use it. I got everything assembled correctly, put water and solution in the tank, went to put the clean water tank back on to use and streams of water came pouring out the brushes all over my floor. From what I can tell, the trigger parts must not be aligning correctly or they aren't snapping into place so when the top handle is installed the trigger is always pushed down on the inside (when I remove the top handle and set the solution tank where it goes, it doesn't leak at all). Shame considering my mom has a similar model that's 15 years old and works great. Its after hoovers customer svc hours on friday(they are open mon-fri) and i need my carpets cleaned so going to just return tomorrow and hope that Walmart has the Bissell I initially wanted in stock. Hoover is normally a good product, so it's possible I just got a lemon.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jenny82
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
AVOID!!!!
5/24/2012

Customer review by Housecleaner27

1.0 stars 5/24/2012 by Housecleaner27
by Housecleaner27

I purchased this item 2 weeks ago and thought it was pretty good....... Well, after 1 week the solution sprayer for the handtool broke off. I thought well maybe I will just get a replacement one, no biggie. Then the worst happened. The spinbrushes on the bottom stopped working all of a sudden. Isn't this the reason people buy it????? I thought maybe it would be an easy fix.... So after googling it, I found a site that showed me how to fix the problem. ( I am pretty good with a set of tools# When I was following the instructions, I realized how deep and difficult this problem was to fix , should it ever happen again. # and there is no promise that it would fix the problem anyway#. What I found very alarming is it is really just hot air that powers these brushes.# Bissell powers theirs the right way with a belt). If you suck up a lot of pet hair or something else that creates a clog for the air to power the brushes, you are out of luck. I took this thing back ASAP and got a Bissell. I am in no way a Bissell fan, but between the both of them, Bissell atleast has their stuff together on building them.

Was this review helpful? (21) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Housecleaner27
Racine, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 278 total reviews
1-20 of 278 reviews