Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 70 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

70 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

70 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
35
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
9
1 stars
16
1-20 of 57 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 57 total reviews
1-20 of 57 reviews
GREATEST Cell Plan EVER!!!!
12/5/2012

Customer review by Yeaya

5.0 stars 12/5/2012 by Yeaya
by Yeaya

I have had a cell since 16 yrs old (I'm 30 now# with Sprint, Alltel, US Cellular, & T-Mobile. Always had issues with auto systems, or people at call ceters out of country, messed up billing, surprise charges, mistaken suspentions with crazy re-activation fees....it was INSANE!!!! Then wandering around Wal-Mart electronics, my husband and I about 2 yrs ago now, found a Family Mobile kiosk....sounded way to good to be true...but hey what's another cell company at this point, right?!?!?! We went for it....and OMG they dont lie!!!! No hidden fees, no roaming, no signal issues, same bill every month for a year and a half #changed recently because we now have 3 lines instead of 2# & we are ALL running brand new androids #from T-Mobile# on our plan with NO ISSUES and no crazy extra data plans!!! We have the nationwide unlimited talk, txt and web plan for all 3 lines and my bill has never been over $120 #with tax included). I only pray that Wal-Mart NEVER discontinues this!!!!

Was this review helpful? (98) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yeaya
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome value! Best choice for Baltimore area
11/16/2012

Customer review by BrEngineer

5.0 stars 11/16/2012 by BrEngineer
by BrEngineer

Coverage is a little weaker than my previous carrier, but I have had no problems in Maryland. Wife and I purchased two unlocked win phones to use with this service. Both are fully compatible with Family Mobile. Just had to set them up properly - found instructions on internet. We previously had the nations largest carrier and were nervous about switching, but NO regrets. Now with the unlimited Family Mobile plan, we can use our music pass to download alsmost any song we want no matter where we are without paying extra. Also we can pull word or excel files onto the phone, edit them, and email them, which is nice when I travel around the state for work. So far no problems with reception. The win 7 phones coupled with the Family Mobile service is an incredible combination!!! The phones are like a mini PC and with the unlimited Family Mobile service, the sky is the limit with what you can do. NOTE: Walmart's site indicates the sim card is "standard" size. Just to clarify, this is a mini-sim card, so most unlocked GSM phones out there are compatible.

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BrEngineer
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
customer service
3/6/2016

Customer review by BadCustomerService

1.0 stars 3/6/2016 by BadCustomerService
by BadCustomerService

I found at that for the price of my 3g plan I could have been receiving 5g data didn't find this out until I called to lower my plan to the34.88 plan was told it was lowered but it wasn't when I called they stated I was given wrong info the 34.88 was no longer available and that my bill amount was the same I was now getting 5g instead of 3g which I could of taken advantage of over a year ago had I been made aware of it the agent and the supervisor were very rude over talking me and no apologies were made so now after 3 years of service I am leaving family mobile bc you get what you pay for not to mention their call center is over seas and no one can barely understand you when you do call in  

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BadCustomerService
Would recommend to a friend? No
Happy long term customer
6/8/2012

Customer review by LGOptimusT

5.0 stars 6/8/2012 by LGOptimusT
by LGOptimusT

I have had 2 lines for over a year now. So I got plenty of experience and time to rate this product. Before I switched to Family Mobile, I was very hesitant as it sounded too good to be true. I did my homework and researched all the different plans and prices from all main providers and decided to go with Family Mobile. I was sick and tired of paying about $140 a month for calls, text, and data for 2 lines. Just wanted good service and not as expensive. Even though there are smaller providers with cheap plans, the problem is that it was just local and I needed a provider that worked at national level and didn't want to have to worry about roaming fees. It's been great so far, I really have no complaints at all. The coverage is great and it really has unlimited national calls and texting. No roaming fees either. I also use the Extras Pack quite a lot to access the internet on my phone and even to make international calls. The charges are very accurate for both internet access and international calls. By the way, the quality of the international calls is very good. So, yes, Family Mobile really is as good as it sounds and I hope more families can benefit as well and save $$$, specially during these times. Cheers!

Was this review helpful? (332) (41)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LGOptimusT
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
sub par
10/19/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 10/19/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The service I was provided was sub-par. The upload and download speeds were poor. The speeds were comparable to 3G but on a 4G network. Why use t-mobile 4g network and extra battery when its at 3g speeds? The throttled speed was unacceptable. My connection dropped constantly and was limited to 128kbps which is enough for email and nothing more. It was very frustrating being on t-mobiles network which is very quick and being limited to speeds that are useless. You get what you pay for though, the pricing was very fair, for $37 I got unlimited talk and text and data lasted for 6 days of my billing cycle. I can see an elderly person having no issue with this service but anyone who plans to use their smartphone in any capacity should look elsewhere. for less than $10 more i'm now getting unlimited talk text and 5 times the data with double the speed with another carrier.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Poor data access; price kept going up
2/1/2016

Customer review by BigAl

1.0 stars 2/1/2016 by BigAl
by BigAl

I'm not sure where to start. I tried to get my son a cheap mobile plan - something cheaper than adding him to my standard Verizon account. We purchased a Family Mobile plan, and in no time we were paying about $38/month. The main problem was that within 10 minutes outside of Oklahoma City, he had no data access. We travel to some rural land around Maud, OK, and the entire distance from just outside OKC to Maud (including Maud) had such poor data transfer signal that he couldn't even play Pandora. I'd find a better service if I were you.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigAl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bad Experience X2 Now
11/22/2012

Customer review by birdlady0223

1.0 stars 11/22/2012 by birdlady0223
by birdlady0223

I had T-mobile years ago, who runs this and it was a diaster. So when I went to Walmart and the assoiciate was great, she even called to make sure we could use the phone I had, they said YEs no problem. I purchase and activate the SIM card, get home wait, wait, wait about 4 hours and it still had not changed over so I called. A man, who did not speak english, told me it could take up to 24 hours or longer, and so just to make sure I ask again could it be the phone. He ask what it was I told him, he said No problem. Ok hang, up and decided to go onto their website and look around. Found out that the phone that we had ask about twice can not be used on their service. Now get this it is a T-mobile phone that will not work on their service. Now I am returning the SIM card and have to stand in line probably on Black Friday because they don't know what they are talking about. Never again.

Was this review helpful? (60) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
birdlady0223
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
I Love Walmart Familiy Mobile
2/18/2013

Customer review by asdfagerfgjdtrjyedhj

5.0 stars 2/18/2013 by asdfagerfgjdtrjyedhj
by asdfagerfgjdtrjyedhj
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm not afraid to be negative in my reviews, but I can't on this one. I order two Activation Kits online to save $10 in each kit, but they took one week to be ready for pick up. Once I get them, open the box: the instructions inside are so clear that you will not have any problem. I called the number inside and in a few minutes I created an account and had my old numbers transferred to this Walmart Family Mobile. Within a hour or so, my old SIM card was OFF and the new SIM card from Walmart was already ringing. Then the only managing of you account is GREAT!!! You can monitor all your Walmart Mobiles in one account and even impose limits, like limiting text, voice or data for you kids. Web data is included and unlimited, but the first 1GB is 3G speed and then the speeds go down to 2G. But I can tell you that 2G is more than enough to have you email up to date, using your map in a emergency. This is a post-payed service, meaning: use first pay later. I will see the surprises I will have on my bill. The ads says that I'll pay $40/month for the first one and $35/month for the second one. Will see. No contract. I'm free.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
asdfagerfgjdtrjyedhj
Virginia Beach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Service!! A++x2^
3/7/2012

Customer review by StevenElectronicAssociate

5.0 stars 3/7/2012 by StevenElectronicAssociate
by StevenElectronicAssociate
Walmart associate

I bought this for my father to transfer his AT&T number to Family Mobile. He was complaining about how much he paid for their service. So I talked to him about Family Mobile, since I have 5 lines on my account and 2 lines on my wife's account. The service coverage is really good around here. The service coverage is in the middle of Pre-paid and contract coverage. So its like flex-pay coverage.. Layamons terms - only 3g coverage. While pre-paid and contract uses 4g coverage. It is still not bad for a person to pay $45 + tax for unlimited talk, txt and web on a more reliable service.

Was this review helpful? (163) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StevenElectronicAssociate
Superior, WI 1447
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Kidney Processed Poor Service
11/2/2015

Customer review by TarHeelCheeseHead

1.0 stars 11/2/2015 by TarHeelCheeseHead
by TarHeelCheeseHead

2 lines we brought from Sprint. Kept service for 4 years, byt dropped calls began to increase, and cold not connect for adequate hearing/dialing inside most buildings. Spoke with retail rep who suggested we cancel service before end of billing period and port away numbers. Did so. Contacted WM FMP Customer (DIS)Service and advised them we were porting numbers away and closing account. Email response rec'd for us to email them with acct number, info, and acct PIN. Did so. Now being billed and dunned for month following cancellation and porting of numbers. Customer DISservice has only one response: Pay it. Wish we'd never gotten into an account with them, AVOID AT ALL COSTS! If zombie apocalypse occurs and only cell service avail is WM, refuse this and go to morse code using coconuts and spoons.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TarHeelCheeseHead
Would recommend to a friend? No
Features that should work are not included!
4/9/2013

Customer review by honeybearjj

2.0 stars 4/9/2013 by honeybearjj
by honeybearjj

If you are a T-Mobile Regular customer you will be very upset to find some basic features do not work on this plan. First, you can't do contests (you know where you text in 12456 keyword "WIN") - not allowed. For me, I am a "power user" and need Good Mobile Messaging that works with my Outlook server at work. Can't do it. Not allowed. So if you have a connection with your phone to work email or something that has a server based you won't be able to. Let's see the other feature I had that I can't use - wireless calling if I am at home and the 4G connection in the house is very very very bad- inbound calls and voicemail do not work. These all worked on my old plan. Well because I travel for work I will not be renewing next month. It's not really called out anywhere in their ads so just saying as an FYI to those who use features like this.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
honeybearjj
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Seriously Flawed Customer Service
10/1/2013

Customer review by Hazel2222

1.0 stars 10/1/2013 by Hazel2222
by Hazel2222

We had a problem with our discount not being applied for a phone we bought in January. It is 9 months later and the issue still isn't fixed. My husband calls monthly, and is repeatedly reassured the discount will be applied "next month". He has to give the same information over and over. The wait time to even get a rep is 20 min- 1 hour, as they are always "experiencing a high call volume", day and night! Then he explains everything, and gets the same reassurance, even when transferred to higher ups. One month, I tried to use my bank bill pay service that I typically use for everything. The money was taken from our account and appeared to be transferred to Family Mobile. The nightmare then ensued. Our service was cut off, because we "didn't pay our bill". We had to make daily phone calls as they tried to "track down the money". I faxed our proof of check, at their wishes, THREE TIMES!! The store I faxed it from let me fax one for free, because they felt so sorry for me. We spent hours on the phone with reps. Finally, we got a return check in the mail, from Family Mobile, dated two weeks before. The last two weeks of phone calls were meaningless! They should have had that in their records.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hazel2222
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
customer service is a nightmare
5/30/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 5/30/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I switched my business phone from T-Mobile and decided to get a family plan for my two sons. First son's phone worked fine, until second son was added on a family plan. myfamilymobile canceled my fist son's phone number and calls to my second son's phone make my first son's phone ring. One phone won't ring and the other gets calls from the wrong number. Reps in a secret central american country, promise to fix the problem, again and again, but no fix, so call again with the account numbers, the passwords, the pin numbers. Meanwhile two sons on a family plan have phones that don't work. I can not access my bill at myfamilymobile.com because the website says "Sorry-we don't recognize this a Family Mobile phone number", though calls to 611 from my phone recognize me immediately. First customer service rep I called, hung up on me when he could not access my account on myfamilymobile.com. Second customer service rep said there is a website issue and escalated the problem to the engineering. One day later, I still can't access my account on the website. Last rep promised to cancel the second son's phone number, which is now usurping the first son's phone, so the first phone can have it's number re-established. Then the second phone can get its correct phone number. Las Vegas is taking book that there is a 20% chance that this will not succeed without at least 7 more calls.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
saint paul, mn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worked Well With My Iphone's
4/12/2013

Customer review by TimBRLA

5.0 stars 4/12/2013 by TimBRLA
by TimBRLA

I had been with ATT for 2 years paying almost $150.00/month. Got 2 of these kits after my contract was up with ATT. I went online to activate them and everything worked good but the site said I could not port my old phone numbers? After a short call under 5 minutes (Thank You Jesus) to WFM support the numbers were ported within a few hours. Now I almost cut my bill in half. I also live out in the boondocks in southern Michigan and still get 3 bars most of the time. The phones I used were iPhones 3GS's. Everything went fine just takes a little time to manually put in the settings for MMS etc... Had no issues though. My phones were also unlocked through ATT ahead of time.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TimBRLA
Mendon Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Family Mobile could care less about your issues
1/2/2013

Customer review by ChanginginVA

1.0 stars 1/2/2013 by ChanginginVA
by ChanginginVA

Beware: Family Mobile customer service is horrible. I've been a customer for two years. I tried to activate a new additional line and they said there was a "system issue" and I had to get a THIRD activation kit from the store. A manager refused to get on the phone to explain why it would take up to three days to fix the issue. Would other services take days to activate a phone?

Was this review helpful? (31) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChanginginVA
Sandbridge, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best value for the money
1/10/2013

Customer review by Stacy9971

4.0 stars 1/10/2013 by Stacy9971
by Stacy9971
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was getting gouged by T-mobile for the last 2 years, bill kept creeping up every month for some unexplained reason so I decided to go with the family mobile plan. So far, I have no complaints. I like the flexibility of the GSM network and I unlimited everything (and yes, i know internet it slows down after a certain point). My kids like the phones that come with it and for the money you can not beat it. My bill dropped 100 dollars per month! Best thing is, if something better comes along I am not tied to a contract.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stacy9971
Sumter, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good phone ,,,, not great phone
4/27/2013

Customer review by freddyfreeloader

4.0 stars 4/27/2013 by freddyfreeloader
by freddyfreeloader

Samsung Galaxy SII is a good phone, but it's the T-Mobile Family Plan that makes this package work for me. Bought the additional 3 Gb data package for a total of 4 Gb at $60 per month. I can stream Aha RadioThe apps are very good, the bloatware is there but not overwhelming, the screen is very good, the battery will give me about a day of use with moderately heavy use on Wi-fi. The 4G is reliable when I leave my wi-fi spots at work and home. Has more features than I expected. Very happy with this package from Walmart. Thinking of buying another phone for my sweetie so she can keep track of my whereabouts. DOH?

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
freddyfreeloader
Ephrata, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works great, so much cheaper than big companies!
1/1/2013

Customer review by lakerscutie

5.0 stars 1/1/2013 by lakerscutie
by lakerscutie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Set up was easy, no problems with service or dropped calls or anything. Half the price of most other everything p,ans out there. Bought my own unlocked smartphone, no issues!

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lakerscutie
Salt Lake City, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not as advertised
4/3/2013

Customer review by 1WITCH

2.0 stars 4/3/2013 by 1WITCH
by 1WITCH

I had been with Straight Talk prior to Family Mobile, loved Straight Talk, but for some reason I could not get a micro sim card, no explanation, they are not in stock @ this time. so i signed up with family mobile, $25.00 for micro sim card. (bit expensive) $40.00/mon. unlimited talk text, n web, sounds good. right? talk n text is unlimited, but not web. when away from home wifi, t-mobile web is terrible, slow or not able to connect to server, most of tome it states E, sometimes 3G, but either way, not able to connect to web, I have to hot spot if I need the web. no problem with talk n text. I miss straight Talk. the $5.00 extra a month is worth it.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1WITCH
EL PASO, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Limited cell coverage
2/15/2016

Customer review by Nothappy

1.0 stars 2/15/2016 by Nothappy
by Nothappy

I bought this phone service for my son as I was looking for a starter plan for him. Unfortunately, the coverage where we live is not good so sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. Not work the money since you can't always use it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nothappy
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 57 total reviews
1-20 of 57 reviews