Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 65 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

65 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

65 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
35
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
9
1 stars
11
1-20 of 52 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews
Happy long term customer
6/8/2012

Customer review by LGOptimusT

5.0 stars 6/8/2012 by LGOptimusT
by LGOptimusT

I have had 2 lines for over a year now. So I got plenty of experience and time to rate this product. Before I switched to Family Mobile, I was very hesitant as it sounded too good to be true. I did my homework and researched all the different plans and prices from all main providers and decided to go with Family Mobile. I was sick and tired of paying about $140 a month for calls, text, and data for 2 lines. Just wanted good service and not as expensive. Even though there are smaller providers with cheap plans, the problem is that it was just local and I needed a provider that worked at national level and didn't want to have to worry about roaming fees. It's been great so far, I really have no complaints at all. The coverage is great and it really has unlimited national calls and texting. No roaming fees either. I also use the Extras Pack quite a lot to access the internet on my phone and even to make international calls. The charges are very accurate for both internet access and international calls. By the way, the quality of the international calls is very good. So, yes, Family Mobile really is as good as it sounds and I hope more families can benefit as well and save $$$, specially during these times. Cheers!

Was this review helpful? (323) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LGOptimusT
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Service!! A++x2^
3/7/2012

Customer review by StevenElectronicAssociate

5.0 stars 3/7/2012 by StevenElectronicAssociate
by StevenElectronicAssociate

I bought this for my father to transfer his AT&T number to Family Mobile. He was complaining about how much he paid for their service. So I talked to him about Family Mobile, since I have 5 lines on my account and 2 lines on my wife's account. The service coverage is really good around here. The service coverage is in the middle of Pre-paid and contract coverage. So its like flex-pay coverage.. Layamons terms - only 3g coverage. While pre-paid and contract uses 4g coverage. It is still not bad for a person to pay $45 + tax for unlimited talk, txt and web on a more reliable service.

Was this review helpful? (160) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StevenElectronicAssociate
Superior, WI 1447
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
GREATEST Cell Plan EVER!!!!
12/5/2012

Customer review by Yeaya

5.0 stars 12/5/2012 by Yeaya
by Yeaya

I have had a cell since 16 yrs old (I'm 30 now# with Sprint, Alltel, US Cellular, & T-Mobile. Always had issues with auto systems, or people at call ceters out of country, messed up billing, surprise charges, mistaken suspentions with crazy re-activation fees....it was INSANE!!!! Then wandering around Wal-Mart electronics, my husband and I about 2 yrs ago now, found a Family Mobile kiosk....sounded way to good to be true...but hey what's another cell company at this point, right?!?!?! We went for it....and OMG they dont lie!!!! No hidden fees, no roaming, no signal issues, same bill every month for a year and a half #changed recently because we now have 3 lines instead of 2# & we are ALL running brand new androids #from T-Mobile# on our plan with NO ISSUES and no crazy extra data plans!!! We have the nationwide unlimited talk, txt and web plan for all 3 lines and my bill has never been over $120 #with tax included). I only pray that Wal-Mart NEVER discontinues this!!!!

Was this review helpful? (86) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yeaya
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Service, Great Product
10/28/2012

Customer review by TheHappyMrs

5.0 stars 10/28/2012 by TheHappyMrs
by TheHappyMrs

My husband and I switched to Family Mobile several months ago, and LOVE the service! It is truly UNLIMITED everything for the same low price.

Was this review helpful? (44) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheHappyMrs
Brilliant, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Family Mobile could care less about your issues
1/2/2013

Customer review by ChanginginVA

1.0 stars 1/2/2013 by ChanginginVA
by ChanginginVA

Beware: Family Mobile customer service is horrible. I've been a customer for two years. I tried to activate a new additional line and they said there was a "system issue" and I had to get a THIRD activation kit from the store. A manager refused to get on the phone to explain why it would take up to three days to fix the issue. Would other services take days to activate a phone?

Was this review helpful? (26) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChanginginVA
Sandbridge, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome value! Best choice for Baltimore area
11/16/2012

Customer review by BrEngineer

5.0 stars 11/16/2012 by BrEngineer
by BrEngineer

Coverage is a little weaker than my previous carrier, but I have had no problems in Maryland. Wife and I purchased two unlocked win phones to use with this service. Both are fully compatible with Family Mobile. Just had to set them up properly - found instructions on internet. We previously had the nations largest carrier and were nervous about switching, but NO regrets. Now with the unlimited Family Mobile plan, we can use our music pass to download alsmost any song we want no matter where we are without paying extra. Also we can pull word or excel files onto the phone, edit them, and email them, which is nice when I travel around the state for work. So far no problems with reception. The win 7 phones coupled with the Family Mobile service is an incredible combination!!! The phones are like a mini PC and with the unlimited Family Mobile service, the sky is the limit with what you can do. NOTE: Walmart's site indicates the sim card is "standard" size. Just to clarify, this is a mini-sim card, so most unlocked GSM phones out there are compatible.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BrEngineer
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bad Experience X2 Now
11/22/2012

Customer review by birdlady0223

1.0 stars 11/22/2012 by birdlady0223
by birdlady0223

I had T-mobile years ago, who runs this and it was a diaster. So when I went to Walmart and the assoiciate was great, she even called to make sure we could use the phone I had, they said YEs no problem. I purchase and activate the SIM card, get home wait, wait, wait about 4 hours and it still had not changed over so I called. A man, who did not speak english, told me it could take up to 24 hours or longer, and so just to make sure I ask again could it be the phone. He ask what it was I told him, he said No problem. Ok hang, up and decided to go onto their website and look around. Found out that the phone that we had ask about twice can not be used on their service. Now get this it is a T-mobile phone that will not work on their service. Now I am returning the SIM card and have to stand in line probably on Black Friday because they don't know what they are talking about. Never again.

Was this review helpful? (51) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
birdlady0223
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Best value for the money
1/10/2013

Customer review by Stacy9971

4.0 stars 1/10/2013 by Stacy9971
by Stacy9971

I was getting gouged by T-mobile for the last 2 years, bill kept creeping up every month for some unexplained reason so I decided to go with the family mobile plan. So far, I have no complaints. I like the flexibility of the GSM network and I unlimited everything (and yes, i know internet it slows down after a certain point). My kids like the phones that come with it and for the money you can not beat it. My bill dropped 100 dollars per month! Best thing is, if something better comes along I am not tied to a contract.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stacy9971
Sumter, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great, so much cheaper than big companies!
1/1/2013

Customer review by lakerscutie

5.0 stars 1/1/2013 by lakerscutie
by lakerscutie

Set up was easy, no problems with service or dropped calls or anything. Half the price of most other everything p,ans out there. Bought my own unlocked smartphone, no issues!

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lakerscutie
Salt Lake City, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I Love Walmart Familiy Mobile
2/18/2013

Customer review by asdfagerfgjdtrjyedhj

5.0 stars 2/18/2013 by asdfagerfgjdtrjyedhj
by asdfagerfgjdtrjyedhj

I'm not afraid to be negative in my reviews, but I can't on this one. I order two Activation Kits online to save $10 in each kit, but they took one week to be ready for pick up. Once I get them, open the box: the instructions inside are so clear that you will not have any problem. I called the number inside and in a few minutes I created an account and had my old numbers transferred to this Walmart Family Mobile. Within a hour or so, my old SIM card was OFF and the new SIM card from Walmart was already ringing. Then the only managing of you account is GREAT!!! You can monitor all your Walmart Mobiles in one account and even impose limits, like limiting text, voice or data for you kids. Web data is included and unlimited, but the first 1GB is 3G speed and then the speeds go down to 2G. But I can tell you that 2G is more than enough to have you email up to date, using your map in a emergency. This is a post-payed service, meaning: use first pay later. I will see the surprises I will have on my bill. The ads says that I'll pay $40/month for the first one and $35/month for the second one. Will see. No contract. I'm free.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
asdfagerfgjdtrjyedhj
Virginia Beach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Family Plan "catch"
6/5/2013

Customer review by Greytneon

2.0 stars 6/5/2013 by Greytneon
by Greytneon

This is NOT in the fine print... All numbers in the Family Plan MUST have the same Area Codes! Why? In today's global society, it would be rare that all members of a family have the same area code! Why is this a t-mobile requirement?

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Greytneon
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
We have used this service over a year now
12/27/2012

Customer review by awaddell80

5.0 stars 12/27/2012 by awaddell80
by awaddell80

My husband and I have used Walmart Family Mobile for close to a year now. We love this service!!!! It picks up great in our area and we enjoy being able to use any phone we choose that takes a SIM card. We just bought our son a phone for Christmas and will be adding him to our plan!!! For us financially you can't beat the price with the service!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
awaddell80
Ringgold, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
*AWESOME!!*
2/2/2013

Customer review by MandyinTX

5.0 stars 2/2/2013 by MandyinTX
by MandyinTX

My family and I had Tmobile, and spent so much money! every 2 yrs when I would renew with them they made me feel like I was getting a deal! HA! NOT! Finally I was tired of having limited service for a high price and changed to Family Mobile and it has been great! It is a lot cheaper! And most importantly their service is dependable!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MandyinTX
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worked Well With My Iphone's
4/12/2013

Customer review by TimBRLA

5.0 stars 4/12/2013 by TimBRLA
by TimBRLA

I had been with ATT for 2 years paying almost $150.00/month. Got 2 of these kits after my contract was up with ATT. I went online to activate them and everything worked good but the site said I could not port my old phone numbers? After a short call under 5 minutes (Thank You Jesus) to WFM support the numbers were ported within a few hours. Now I almost cut my bill in half. I also live out in the boondocks in southern Michigan and still get 3 bars most of the time. The phones I used were iPhones 3GS's. Everything went fine just takes a little time to manually put in the settings for MMS etc... Had no issues though. My phones were also unlocked through ATT ahead of time.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TimBRLA
Mendon Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Features that should work are not included!
4/9/2013

Customer review by honeybearjj

2.0 stars 4/9/2013 by honeybearjj
by honeybearjj

If you are a T-Mobile Regular customer you will be very upset to find some basic features do not work on this plan. First, you can't do contests (you know where you text in 12456 keyword "WIN") - not allowed. For me, I am a "power user" and need Good Mobile Messaging that works with my Outlook server at work. Can't do it. Not allowed. So if you have a connection with your phone to work email or something that has a server based you won't be able to. Let's see the other feature I had that I can't use - wireless calling if I am at home and the 4G connection in the house is very very very bad- inbound calls and voicemail do not work. These all worked on my old plan. Well because I travel for work I will not be renewing next month. It's not really called out anywhere in their ads so just saying as an FYI to those who use features like this.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
honeybearjj
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not as advertised
4/3/2013

Customer review by 1WITCH

2.0 stars 4/3/2013 by 1WITCH
by 1WITCH

I had been with Straight Talk prior to Family Mobile, loved Straight Talk, but for some reason I could not get a micro sim card, no explanation, they are not in stock @ this time. so i signed up with family mobile, $25.00 for micro sim card. (bit expensive) $40.00/mon. unlimited talk text, n web, sounds good. right? talk n text is unlimited, but not web. when away from home wifi, t-mobile web is terrible, slow or not able to connect to server, most of tome it states E, sometimes 3G, but either way, not able to connect to web, I have to hot spot if I need the web. no problem with talk n text. I miss straight Talk. the $5.00 extra a month is worth it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1WITCH
EL PASO, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/5/2013

Customer review by DoubleD23

5.0 stars 1/5/2013 by DoubleD23
by DoubleD23

I bought this starter kit online because i was buying other things and it was $9 cheaper online than in the stores.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DoubleD23
Westminster, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
if you live in the appalachain mountains don't buy
10/25/2012

Customer review by LivinInAloha

2.0 stars 10/25/2012 by LivinInAloha
by LivinInAloha

T-mobile does not have coverage in the blue ridge mountains and this plan although advertised to work in my zip code, does not. I know because I had tmobiile when I moved here. Had to dump it because this is a bonafide dead zone.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LivinInAloha
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not ready for prime time
6/17/2013

Customer review by arkywally1

1.0 stars 6/17/2013 by arkywally1
by arkywally1

Works well thus my 2 stars if you live in a large city and do not roam, roaming will drop your service between towers.. Meets a one star due to coverage map is inaccurate, good luck witH service anywhere out of town or traveling.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
arkywally1
Garfield, ar
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Service Area
3/23/2013

Customer review by woollady

2.0 stars 3/23/2013 by woollady
by woollady

The coverage map needs to be detailed. It sure looked like I would be able to save money by using this service; but no, only 10m miles between service access from my home. Call customer service before trying to use this service to make sure you have coverage if you live in the country.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
woollady
Exchange,WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews