Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 81 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

81 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

81 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
51
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
5
1-20 of 66 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews
water quest 10' aruba
3/10/2012

Customer review by humprhard

5.0 stars 3/10/2012 by humprhard
by humprhard

The water quest aruba 10' kayak is a great kayak at a great price,plus it comes with a free paddle! handles nicely on the water,plenty of room for a dry box and rod n reel and tackle bag!

Was this review helpful? (108) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
humprhard
Point Pleasant,WV.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent for Beginners
6/11/2012

Customer review by GunnyL

5.0 stars 6/11/2012 by GunnyL
by GunnyL

This Kayak is an excellent value and a really good Yak for Beginners. Very Stable Light enough for my kids to carry together Very Maneuverable and easy to handle, my 9 and 12 year olds were paddling around the lake in little time. Have made some trips with my 9 year old up a river (no whitewater) and it handled perfectly for him. I would recommend this to anybody looking for an affordable entry into the world of Kayaking and for any Recreational Kayak enthusiast. Easy to control and tracks nice. There is a drain plug in the back that is hard to get back in, use a blunt tip object like an allen wrench to make that easier to seat.

Was this review helpful? (62) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GunnyL
Savannah, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Buy It!!!
6/21/2012

Customer review by Top1STSarge

5.0 stars 6/21/2012 by Top1STSarge
by Top1STSarge

Excellent kayak for rivers, streams or lakes. I'm new to kayaking but after shopping around at a lot of stores and websites I couldn't pass this kayak up. $249.00 vs $499.00 at other stores. It's very stable, nice dry compartment, plenty of front storage for a weekend outing but do pick up a seat floatation device for extra comfort. I would recommend this product to anyone, it's that nice! See ya on the water.

Was this review helpful? (42) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Top1STSarge
Cartersville, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great beginner kayak. Great value!
7/15/2012

Customer review by Ladimere

5.0 stars 7/15/2012 by Ladimere
by Ladimere

So I was looking at starting a new hobby and kayaking really appealed to me. Shopped around and found this 10ft Aruba on sale for $249. Read the reviews and saw that the only common complaint was on shipping. Unfortunately, no Walmarts in my area had the green colored one in stock. So I ordered. Shipped on time, but loosely wrapped in slightly shredded plastic covering. Exterior of plastic was covered in soot or some kind of black dust, but once removed, the Kayak was sound. I figured luck played a part in that. Took the Kayak out on the water and was very pleased overall. Im 5'10", 215 pds and was initially worried about the buoyancy. Was not an issue and turned out to bear my weight easily. However, I found that the included paddle was not the proper length for me. During my paddling, I kept scraping both sides of the kayak. I attempted to alter my technique, but that only ended up in creating additional water spill onto my lap. Bought a longer paddle from Cabelas and problem was solved. Besides, grips and drip guards are a must. The included paddle will make an excellent backup to stow onboard during longer trips. Still attempting to find a proper fitting Sprayskirt for the Aruba. This is one minor complaint on this kayak. The lip of the cockpit is prominent in both the front and back. But the lip of the kayak cockpit is nearly non existent along the sides. I found a Seals Splash Deck Spray Skirt 2012 Large/Black on ebay for $39 (new) and ordered it. It is only a half skirt, but the bungy tie line should secure it soundly regardless of the sides. For those of you that need a full skirt, I can't help you. The lack of a bottom seat is noticeable after being out paddling for an hour or more. I purchased a fold out Skwoosh Paddling Cushion for $12.00 and it works perfectly. It is easily storable onboard the kayak when not in use as well. I also purchased a Bilge Buddy ($11.00) for soaking up any water spilled into the cockpit. It works wonderfully and is also easily storable onboard the kayak in the rear compartment with the cushion. So all in all, I am very happy with this kayak. Quality structure. Light and fairly easy to one man carry and load. Tracks nicely. The few flaws that I mentioned are minor and correctable for little pain on the wallet. For the cost, you get quite a great kayak!

Was this review helpful? (66) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ladimere
Marysville, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great kayak!
11/19/2012

Customer review by yaklocal

4.0 stars 11/19/2012 by yaklocal
by yaklocal

So just to clarify a few things different from the picture: This will be the new model, which has two black rubber thigh pads on the lip of the kayak to protect your legs. It also says "Sun Dolphin" on the side, not waterquest. But they are both identical and both made by KL industries. Which brings me to my next point. The KL Industries "Deluxe" kayak is $100 more, and is THE EXACT SAME KAYAK, besides being blue and not green. So grab this one and save some dough if you don't mind the color. Also, the paddle pictured with this kayak is not the one you get. You get the one that is pictured with the Deluxe blue kayak, which is actually a terrible paddle. I was a bit disappointed it didn't come with the pictured one, because this one is a bit awkward. But hey, it's a free paddle, can't complain! Characteristics: Very stable without being slow. It tracks very well given its size, and is quite comfortable and maneuverable. Very easy to paddle and maintain momentum. People with short arms or short height will need a longer paddle, or you'll be hitting your hands on the lip of the cockpit. It's not the fastest, but it will do a decent clip. You'll get tired trying to keep it up for too long though, but it's a very nice cruising yak. Sits relatively high above the water, but I'm a relatively light frame. Very light kayak; able to be carried by one person to the shore and back over the shoulder. Features: Gee I wish it had a padded seat! But again, for the price, you can't complain. Buy a $10 stadium seat cushion and you'll be golden. Rear back rest is adjustable to nearly any comfortable position. Foot pedals can adjust to anyone's height and are comfortable. They feel a tad flimsy, but if you're not abusing them, I wouldn't imagine there would be any problem. Rear hatch is relatively watertight and decently deep, there's about enough room for a six pack of cokes in there. If you want more storage, it is very easy to cut the bottom out of the compartment to open up the entire rear for storage. The rear does not have a sealed bulkhead, so you will lose the isolation from the inside of the boat in case you get any water inside the kayak. Again not a big deal, put the stuff in a $10 watertight totebag and you're golden. Would be nice to have front storage, but the water bottle holder is fine by me. Plenty of room inside the kayak cabin and for storage near the front. The side paddle holder is handy and relatively tight, although I would not trust it to hold a spare paddle if paddling the kayak around. The carry handles are a bit cheap as they are just cording with a plastic grip. Tighten the knots or they may come undone. There is a drain plug in the back as well which is a very tight fit to get in and out, but I suppose that is a good and bad thing. Free paddle is awful, but will get you by until you can find one you like. At least they give you a paddle! Overall: I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because if bought at full price (~$290) I would be a bit upset about the paddle being so terrible, and not being the one pictured. Also, the lack of a seat pad is a little cheap, but again for the price it's still the best buy out there. Got on sale for $200 and worth every penny! Can't think of a better kayak for the price, and I did a lot of research before purchasing. Hope this helps someone who pays attention to all the details like me! :)

Was this review helpful? (39) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yaklocal
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Good buy
7/8/2012

Customer review by Underpaidhomemaker

5.0 stars 7/8/2012 by Underpaidhomemaker
by Underpaidhomemaker

This is the first kayak that I have owned. I have been kayaking for years but with friends. When I went to purchase I was waiting for the sales to hit. When I saw this in the store I had saved more than enough to get it. I was pleased with it when I took it out only to find that my friend that had paid twice as much and liked mine better. I would recommend this to anyone looking to buy a kayak. It is not only great for beginners but if you have been doing it for years. Very stable in the water and light enough for this 37 year old, 5 foot 125 lbs woman to carry on my own with ease. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Underpaidhomemaker
Heath, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
A Kayak that exceeds my expectations
7/16/2012

Customer review by KayakdaUP

5.0 stars 7/16/2012 by KayakdaUP
by KayakdaUP

I am so pleased with Aruba 10'. It is very stable and I have even placed my children in it with out any stability issues. The Kayak is comfortable, light enough for me to lift myself, and can fit inside my minivan with the door shut. The accompanying paddle works fine. Sometimes the paddle is a little hard to pull apart but is no big deal. The seat did have a sticker on it and when pealed off created a sticky spot so it will need a little goo gone. I am very pleased with how easily it manuvers. I have taken it down rivers, inland lakes, and Lake Superior and have been impressed by how easily it glides on the water. I would definitly buy another and highly reccomend it to all my friends. Its a great price, made in the USA, and overall exceeds my expectations!

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KayakdaUP
Marquette, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
An EXCELLENT Buy!
8/15/2012

Customer review by APaddler

5.0 stars 8/15/2012 by APaddler
by APaddler

We have a second home in Cape Coral, Florida and I wanted to purchase a Kayak there to use when we visit. I researched different brands and based on previous comments regarding the Aruba I decided to buy it. Well, I am not at all unhappy with my purchase. It tracks and turns with ease. A great buy for any paddler. I use it in creeks, lagoons and the back bay area. It's stable and has plenty of room. For the price (with a paddle) it's an excellent purchase and recommend it to any level of paddler. If I had to pick one thing negative about this kayak it's that it does not have a seat cushion, but that is easily corrected with a stadium seat or pad....

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
APaddler
NEW JERSEY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great purchase, great value
9/12/2012

Customer review by MrLall

5.0 stars 9/12/2012 by MrLall
by MrLall

Very happy with this purchase, has a dry storage compartment on the back and a place for the water bottle on the front and the best feature is the adjustable foot rests, I really have no complaints, super stable in the ocean. Per other reviews, I had this shipped to the store as I was worried about having it damaged in shipping, but it arrived no problems. They have stickers all over and the sticker on the seat does not come off nicely and leaves residue once removed, but all in all, great purchase, and it comes with the paddle. We also bought the 8' which I would NOT recommend, very unstable. I wish I had just bought 2 of these

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrLall
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
I like this kayak.
6/26/2012

Customer review by JLLKY

5.0 stars 6/26/2012 by JLLKY
by JLLKY

This is a good kayak for paddling around the lake and river. The size is good for me but I am 5'3. Weighs 40 lbs so I am able to pick it up and put it in the back of my car. Good purchase from Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JLLKY
KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great all around for price.
7/16/2012

Customer review by tazman60

4.0 stars 7/16/2012 by tazman60
by tazman60

Bought as an entry purchase for daughter to make opinions of want I want in a kayak for myself or if I could even handle it. I am a large man, 275lb. and this was comfortable and stable, even agile with me in it. Not so sure about a lake, as it doesn't have much of a "ridge" down the center bottom, which tends to make it go a little left and right as paddling, but in moving water it was great! Had a blast.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tazman60
pineville,nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
7/15/2012

Customer review by Delilahlunch

5.0 stars 7/15/2012 by Delilahlunch
by Delilahlunch

I bought this kayak a few weeks ago, and it is the best. i take it all over i live on the gulf and it handles great in all types of weather. I love that it has the extra cushions for your knees and water bottle holder and a dry spot for things, i love this kayak and recommend for people to buy from walmart.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Delilahlunch
New Port Richey, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great value for the money
7/28/2012

Customer review by rfkayaker

4.0 stars 7/28/2012 by rfkayaker
by rfkayaker

I work at a Wal-Mart store and saw several of the kayaks come through for site-to-store customers and decided to order one for myself. It does not have a hand hold to grip it with if you are carring it by yourself and the paddle holder is too low on the kayak to secure the paddle. The only other thing I would do differently is to order it to come in to the store--I had it delivered to my house and it arrived badly gouged.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rfkayaker
va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
9/30/2012

Customer review by rivergramps

4.0 stars 9/30/2012 by rivergramps
by rivergramps

This is my first kayak. I purchased 2 for my wife and myself to get some exercise and fun. We have used them on a local flow controlled white-water river and on a local "slow" scenic river. The Aruba handles very well. My wife, small of stature, can manage it well, even though the cockpit is rather deep for her. The adjustable seat back and footpegs are a big help. The drain plug could have been designed better. It's not bad when you are off the water and in your driveway to stand the kayak on end, but is a little troublesome when on the muddy river or lake bank. This not a craft for wild white-water, but neither does it claim to be. It has proven to be tough and rugged and just what we wanted.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rivergramps
Newport, Tn.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Grandson loved it
6/29/2012

Customer review by Lakoda

5.0 stars 6/29/2012 by Lakoda
by Lakoda

Handles nice and easy to transport. Good Quality.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lakoda
West Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great value, handles nicely in the water.
10/2/2012

Customer review by leanderlyn

4.0 stars 10/2/2012 by leanderlyn
by leanderlyn

Bought two. We took them for an easy stretch down the Rogue River. Had only used inflatable kayaks before. Was pleasantly suprised at how it handled on the water. We brought too much stuff and i think it kept the nose down as we had small soft icechests stuffed by our feet. Took on lots of water in the riffles. Kept having to pull over and it took two of us to dump the water out. Now i understand there's a drainplug but u still gotta pull over. We need to get some kind of extra cushy seat and find a splash skirt that fits. Drip guards for the paddles would be much better too. It was nice to not have to worry about hitting some rocks but you can't kick back like you can in an inflatable. Now I gotta get a car rack and -it really needs a skirt.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
leanderlyn
Grants Pass, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Highly recommended beginner kayak!
5/11/2013

Customer review by StinksMcGee

5.0 stars 5/11/2013 by StinksMcGee
by StinksMcGee

I live around the Tampa Bay area and I've taken it on five 6+ hour trips and love it.....I was skeptical from buying it at Walmart but I think it's the perfect beginner kayak. I am male, 6 foot 2 inches tall 190lbs and this kayak holds me just fine. I think I'll buy a better one eventually, but for now I enjoy it! I wanted to get into kayaking and was looking around for about a year before I decided on this one and I definitely don't regret it. The paddle holder on the side is great and comes in handy, also the foot pedals are a nice touch and make the paddle more comfortable. The storage in the back is a little small, but enough to hold plenty of food, drinks, my DSLR, and some other small things. The straps in the front drink holder snapped on me before I even put it in the water, but they really aren't necessary as the wedge in front holds drinks in place just fine by itself. Bottom line: If you're new to kayaking and want to get into paddling then this is the perfect kayak to start with, not only for the low price but the surprisingly good quality.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StinksMcGee
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great kayak for the price
7/25/2012

Customer review by Krash47

5.0 stars 7/25/2012 by Krash47
by Krash47

I bought two of these to go on lake excursions and they're perfect. Very lightweight, glide well in the water and nicely maneuverable. I sort of wish the kayak wasn't so wide and the adjustable footrest things don't quite adjust to someone my height (I'm 5'11") but it's pretty nitpicky for a kayak so cheap. All said, if you're looking for a cheap starter kayak that does the job, these are great.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Krash47
Lake Stevens, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
8/29/2012

Customer review by LMHN

5.0 stars 8/29/2012 by LMHN
by LMHN

What every one else wrote about this kayak is true. The first day my wife, who had never been in a kayak, took it out and loved it, so last week I ordered a second one for just her. My 12 year old granddaughter took it our last Saturday and had a ball. We are using it on Chautauqua Lake and we have had no problems with it even in a moderate swell.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LMHN
Bemus Point NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome for beginners!!!!
8/1/2012

Customer review by monkeypox72

5.0 stars 8/1/2012 by monkeypox72
by monkeypox72

All of my kids, ages 23, 16, 14 and 12 are able to easily maneuver this in the lake. They have had hours of fun in the past 2 weeks. Just remember to apply sun block to your knees because all the fun you forget about that area.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
monkeypox72
Weston, Or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews