Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 26 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

26 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

26 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
9
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
7
1-20 of 25 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews
Medium security, good price
8/15/2012

Customer review by DylanFromLA

4.0 stars 8/15/2012 by DylanFromLA
by DylanFromLA

Kryptonite (and OnGuard) is the biggest bike lock brand in the US. Item of this quality usually costs double as much. The reason for the cheap price isn't cheap quality, but because Kryptonite appears to make this specifically for Walmart, a high volume retailer. Avoid unknown brands because they could be made of low quality metal, or the lock and key mechanism would get stuck after a while. However, it doesn't mean this is the best way to secure your bike. It's more secured than the cable lock (which can be cut easily), and not as secured as the U-lock. A U-lock of the same price has 15mm steel diameter, while this chain only has 8mm. Since the steel is made of carbon alloy, it would take very long to saw through, and would require significant effort with a huge bolt cutter to cut through. Knowing this, the most important tip to remember is to keep the chain as high as possible off the ground so that the thief would have to use 2 hands to press the bolt cutter, rather than placing one side of the cutter on the ground and use his/her entire weight on the other side. So why didn't I buy the U-lock? Because where I usually park the bike I couldn't hook up the U-lock to anything. The 3 feet chain gives me more options, like to a tree or a post. If where you park always has a bike rack or anything else that can fit the U-lock, then by all means get the U-lock instead. Kryptonite has a warranty for the lock, but not for a stolen bike. In the packaging, it clearly states that the chain is for "convenience deterrence against theft" only, not for serious security.

Was this review helpful? (45) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DylanFromLA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Bike Security
6/24/2012

Customer review by DrewReview

5.0 stars 6/24/2012 by DrewReview
by DrewReview

You can't beat the price on this Kryptonite Chain Lock! Most comparable Kryptonite Chain Locks are around $100 from other popular online stores. The reason they are so pricey is because they are the best chain locks available. This model is very high quality, VERY Strong and just about perfect, especially considering the price. The length of it is perfect, any longer just adds more weight you have to carry while riding your bike around.

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DrewReview
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very intimidating lock
10/19/2012

Customer review by Zlurz

5.0 stars 10/19/2012 by Zlurz
by Zlurz

Honestly for $17 (Plus Tax) you can't go wrong. If you're looking for a heavy duty chain lock thats strong, reliable, well made, but don't have the money for a $30-$90 lock then look no further. Considering Kryptonite (Top of the line manufacture of bicycle locks known for its amazingly strong locks) made this lock i was expecting it to be more than $30 or $40. I just bought this a week ago and honestly if i were a bike thief and saw this lock on the bike i wanted to steal i wouldn't even waste my time, This lock looks very intimidating and it should be. Some people might say its a bit heavy (5lbs) But don't expect a heavy duty bicycle lock to weigh less than 5 lbs. Talk about bang for your buck! -This lock comes with 2 keys, which you can register at Kryptonite.com and get 2 free replacement keys if you ever lose your first set. - The owners manual comes with helpful tips on how to properly lock your bicycle up. READ THEM. Overall you can't beat this price. Buy it and you'll thank me later.

Was this review helpful? (28) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zlurz
Long Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very heavy, but AWESOME quality
9/26/2012

Customer review by TRayAllDay

4.0 stars 9/26/2012 by TRayAllDay
by TRayAllDay

This is a sweet bike lock for $20 bones. Its so easy to lock my bike to literally anything i find in a parking lot. you cant do that with a U-lock. This lock is super high quality, the fabric material covering the look feels and looks nice. The inside out key is awesome. It feels solid and its easy to throw around my neck or arm if im going for a commute under 5 miles. Assuming you don't know some of the different advantages and disadvantages of a big chain lock, heres mine Pros: -Easier to lock bike to trees, signs, poles, ect than a U-lock -Stronger than a cord lock -U-lock style inside out key -Can wear around your neck while riding/wrap around your frame Cons: -Not as strong as U-lock (but still pretty darn strong) -Heaviest out of all locks -The lock part is made out of tough plastic, could possibly be smashed with a sledge hammer the only not desirable thing about this lock is the weight. VERY heavy, be prepared to throw it around your neck or bring a backpack with you. But AMAZING for $20 bucks.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TRayAllDay
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Bike Lasted less than 24 hours
8/30/2013

Customer review by UnknownConsumer

1.0 stars 8/30/2013 by UnknownConsumer
by UnknownConsumer

I bought this, locked my bike with this AND a steel cable thru the wheels. Next morning, bike is gone. Apparently it is easy to pick or cut. I thought I would be safe with this brand's reputation....I was wrong. If you value your bike, do not buy this lock....

Was this review helpful? (10) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UnknownConsumer
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great price, great product.
12/12/2012

Customer review by sonya153

5.0 stars 12/12/2012 by sonya153
by sonya153

Product was as described, arrived way before the expected date (which is usual for Walmart I have to say). The lock is not too heavy and does the job perfectly. I do use it as a complementary lock with a U lock as well. For the price it is definitely a great Lock and you can register your Key Lock online since it's a Kryptonite lock. Definitely would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sonya153
SF Bay Area , CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Heavyduty lock
5/19/2013

Customer review by sir2004

5.0 stars 5/19/2013 by sir2004
by sir2004

The lock is heavy duty. It is easy to use, opens and locks pretty easily. The only small negative point is the length is little short perhaps this is to keep the weight in check since it is made of real steel and is heavy. Overall very good product for the price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sir2004
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
missing key
8/15/2014

Customer review by edgard1

1.0 stars 8/15/2014 by edgard1
by edgard1

The key was missing.

Was this review helpful? (5) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
edgard1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/6/2012

Customer review by SOSP

2.0 stars 5/6/2012 by SOSP
by SOSP

not long enough to lock bike to post that that is thick in width

Was this review helpful? (15) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SOSP
NY
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
10/31/2012

Customer review by descentofritchie

5.0 stars 10/31/2012 by descentofritchie
by descentofritchie

really great for the price and toughness. Great!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
descentofritchie
chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This Lock Lasted 1 Week Before My Bike Was Stolen
6/24/2013

Customer review by NowBikeless

1.0 stars 6/24/2013 by NowBikeless
by NowBikeless

I purchased this lock nine days ago at Walmart and began using it two days later to lock up an old-model Schwinn in the basement parking lot of my building (which supposedly has security). This morning, I found the broken lock on the ground near the bike rack. Using this Kryptonite KC890 lock is about as secure as tying up your bike with a string of toilet paper.

Was this review helpful? (8) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NowBikeless
Silver Spring, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good product, good price
8/24/2014

Customer review by hildil

4.0 stars 8/24/2014 by hildil
by hildil

An excellent deal and fast shipping. Would recommend to all.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hildil
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The lock itself is very nice
9/11/2014

Customer review by Judge8480

4.0 stars 9/11/2014 by Judge8480
by Judge8480

The white writing/design is the worst. It's flaking off all over everything.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Judge8480
Miami, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Keys didn't work
8/11/2014

Customer review by asdasd23

1.0 stars 8/11/2014 by asdasd23
by asdasd23

The chain lock did not open with the keys provided. For the price of it, I won't loose my time going to the post office to send it back for replacement or drive all the way to Walmart. The lock went straight to the Trash

Was this review helpful? (0) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
asdasd23
Boston
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not happy
11/20/2012

Customer review by amhollow

1.0 stars 11/20/2012 by amhollow
by amhollow

This lock was to be a birthday present for my son along with the helmet that was purchased at the same time...how sad when both products took longer than expected to get here and the lock does not work. We have to take it to a local Roseburg store to exchange. Not happy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
amhollow
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
WAY too big
11/21/2012

Customer review by runuch39

2.0 stars 11/21/2012 by runuch39
by runuch39

i was looking for a standard lock for a kids bike this was EXTREMLY heavy and way too big for a kids bike

Was this review helpful? (0) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
runuch39
orange
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome chain lock
2/2/2015

Customer review by ACO91

5.0 stars 2/2/2015 by ACO91
by ACO91

This chain is pretty heavy to carry around, but I've learned to wrap it around my frame while I'm biking. I love this chain lock because it's heavy duty and when I wrap it around my bike, I feel extra protected.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ACO91
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bulletproof !!!
12/5/2014

Customer review by Jew2Jew

5.0 stars 12/5/2014 by Jew2Jew
by Jew2Jew

What A great lock!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jew2Jew
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
excellent lock
12/7/2014

Customer review by hippopotamus666

5.0 stars 12/7/2014 by hippopotamus666
by hippopotamus666

Has like a bolt inside the lock super strong chain Only downside is it must weigh 10 lbs...NOBODY gettingy bike!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hippopotamus666
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gone n 60S ecomds
10/27/2014

Customer review by Gonen60seconds

5.0 stars 10/27/2014 by Gonen60seconds
by Gonen60seconds

A fantastic lock for the price... used it on a motorized bicycle I built. You could see where someone had tried to cut the lock but I had much success. Unfortunately round two involved what my best guess was a cordless grinder (probably also available at Walmart) to jack my ride. Success not so great... I just ordered another lock & bike.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gonen60seconds
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews