Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

35 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

35 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
9
1-20 of 34 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews
Very intimidating lock
10/19/2012

Customer review by Zlurz

5.0 stars 10/19/2012 by Zlurz
by Zlurz

Honestly for $17 (Plus Tax) you can't go wrong. If you're looking for a heavy duty chain lock thats strong, reliable, well made, but don't have the money for a $30-$90 lock then look no further. Considering Kryptonite (Top of the line manufacture of bicycle locks known for its amazingly strong locks) made this lock i was expecting it to be more than $30 or $40. I just bought this a week ago and honestly if i were a bike thief and saw this lock on the bike i wanted to steal i wouldn't even waste my time, This lock looks very intimidating and it should be. Some people might say its a bit heavy (5lbs) But don't expect a heavy duty bicycle lock to weigh less than 5 lbs. Talk about bang for your buck! -This lock comes with 2 keys, which you can register at Kryptonite.com and get 2 free replacement keys if you ever lose your first set. - The owners manual comes with helpful tips on how to properly lock your bicycle up. READ THEM. Overall you can't beat this price. Buy it and you'll thank me later.

Was this review helpful? (37) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zlurz
Long Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very heavy, but AWESOME quality
9/26/2012

Customer review by TRayAllDay

4.0 stars 9/26/2012 by TRayAllDay
by TRayAllDay

This is a sweet bike lock for $20 bones. Its so easy to lock my bike to literally anything i find in a parking lot. you cant do that with a U-lock. This lock is super high quality, the fabric material covering the look feels and looks nice. The inside out key is awesome. It feels solid and its easy to throw around my neck or arm if im going for a commute under 5 miles. Assuming you don't know some of the different advantages and disadvantages of a big chain lock, heres mine Pros: -Easier to lock bike to trees, signs, poles, ect than a U-lock -Stronger than a cord lock -U-lock style inside out key -Can wear around your neck while riding/wrap around your frame Cons: -Not as strong as U-lock (but still pretty darn strong) -Heaviest out of all locks -The lock part is made out of tough plastic, could possibly be smashed with a sledge hammer the only not desirable thing about this lock is the weight. VERY heavy, be prepared to throw it around your neck or bring a backpack with you. But AMAZING for $20 bucks.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TRayAllDay
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Super solid.
4/21/2016

Customer review by Elementsoffire

5.0 stars 4/21/2016 by Elementsoffire
by Elementsoffire

This chain is unlikely to be cut. It's essentially a flat log chain with a built in canvas cover and lock. Someone cut my bike tires rather than attempt and steal it. The lock clicks in firmly with no question, and unlocks reliably. I tested keys on another Kyrptonite locking chain to verify the keys do NOT interchange, thank goodness. I lock my bike onto benches, poles and such knowing my bike will be there when I return. PS, I didn't recommend it to a friend, I bought her one.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Elementsoffire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great bike lock
7/17/2016

Customer review by Stefan

5.0 stars 7/17/2016 by Stefan
by Stefan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

A great lock but heavy, will keep your bike save , around town when needed

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stefan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Bike Security
6/24/2012

Customer review by DrewReview

5.0 stars 6/24/2012 by DrewReview
by DrewReview

You can't beat the price on this Kryptonite Chain Lock! Most comparable Kryptonite Chain Locks are around $100 from other popular online stores. The reason they are so pricey is because they are the best chain locks available. This model is very high quality, VERY Strong and just about perfect, especially considering the price. The length of it is perfect, any longer just adds more weight you have to carry while riding your bike around.

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DrewReview
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Medium security, good price
8/15/2012

Customer review by DylanFromLA

4.0 stars 8/15/2012 by DylanFromLA
by DylanFromLA

Kryptonite (and OnGuard) is the biggest bike lock brand in the US. Item of this quality usually costs double as much. The reason for the cheap price isn't cheap quality, but because Kryptonite appears to make this specifically for Walmart, a high volume retailer. Avoid unknown brands because they could be made of low quality metal, or the lock and key mechanism would get stuck after a while. However, it doesn't mean this is the best way to secure your bike. It's more secured than the cable lock (which can be cut easily), and not as secured as the U-lock. A U-lock of the same price has 15mm steel diameter, while this chain only has 8mm. Since the steel is made of carbon alloy, it would take very long to saw through, and would require significant effort with a huge bolt cutter to cut through. Knowing this, the most important tip to remember is to keep the chain as high as possible off the ground so that the thief would have to use 2 hands to press the bolt cutter, rather than placing one side of the cutter on the ground and use his/her entire weight on the other side. So why didn't I buy the U-lock? Because where I usually park the bike I couldn't hook up the U-lock to anything. The 3 feet chain gives me more options, like to a tree or a post. If where you park always has a bike rack or anything else that can fit the U-lock, then by all means get the U-lock instead. Kryptonite has a warranty for the lock, but not for a stolen bike. In the packaging, it clearly states that the chain is for "convenience deterrence against theft" only, not for serious security.

Was this review helpful? (47) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DylanFromLA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
missing keys in online order
4/19/2016

Customer review by Customer

4.0 stars 4/19/2016 by Customer
by Customer

I am giving it 4 stars because it is a good product but I had to exchange it for a new one as the one I ordered online came without keys.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No keys came with this KC890HD
4/30/2016

Customer review by Jeanne

1.0 stars 4/30/2016 by Jeanne
by Jeanne

This chain came without the keys so it is useless, please send me one with keys so i can use the chain.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jeanne
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very good lock for the price...
5/8/2016

Customer review by dmac

5.0 stars 5/8/2016 by dmac
by dmac

it is rather heavy and takes time to place through the spokes for a proper bike locking.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dmac
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cost Effective Bike Lock
4/24/2016

Customer review by NoviceBiker

5.0 stars 4/24/2016 by NoviceBiker
by NoviceBiker

Sturdy bike lock for the price. Flexible, easy to lock to other structures than just bike rack, key works good.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NoviceBiker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
?
3/21/2016

Customer review by toooshort

1.0 stars 3/21/2016 by toooshort
by toooshort

This item was shipped without the key so I had to return it to the store and buy the same item there which was more expensive. I works ok, but it is very heavy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
toooshort
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great price, great product.
12/12/2012

Customer review by sonya153

5.0 stars 12/12/2012 by sonya153
by sonya153

Product was as described, arrived way before the expected date (which is usual for Walmart I have to say). The lock is not too heavy and does the job perfectly. I do use it as a complementary lock with a U lock as well. For the price it is definitely a great Lock and you can register your Key Lock online since it's a Kryptonite lock. Definitely would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sonya153
SF Bay Area , CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Bike Lasted less than 24 hours
8/30/2013

Customer review by UnknownConsumer

1.0 stars 8/30/2013 by UnknownConsumer
by UnknownConsumer

I bought this, locked my bike with this AND a steel cable thru the wheels. Next morning, bike is gone. Apparently it is easy to pick or cut. I thought I would be safe with this brand's reputation....I was wrong. If you value your bike, do not buy this lock....

Was this review helpful? (12) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UnknownConsumer
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Heavey duty lock
9/14/2015

Customer review by Janis

5.0 stars 9/14/2015 by Janis
by Janis

Great lock became without the keys went back to Walmart return to got one with the keys

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Janis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
missing key
8/15/2014

Customer review by edgard1

1.0 stars 8/15/2014 by edgard1
by edgard1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The key was missing.

Was this review helpful? (8) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
edgard1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This Lock Lasted 1 Week Before My Bike Was Stolen
6/24/2013

Customer review by NowBikeless

1.0 stars 6/24/2013 by NowBikeless
by NowBikeless

I purchased this lock nine days ago at Walmart and began using it two days later to lock up an old-model Schwinn in the basement parking lot of my building (which supposedly has security). This morning, I found the broken lock on the ground near the bike rack. Using this Kryptonite KC890 lock is about as secure as tying up your bike with a string of toilet paper.

Was this review helpful? (8) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NowBikeless
Silver Spring, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/6/2012

Customer review by SOSP

2.0 stars 5/6/2012 by SOSP
by SOSP

not long enough to lock bike to post that that is thick in width

Was this review helpful? (15) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SOSP
NY
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Heavyduty lock
5/19/2013

Customer review by sir2004

5.0 stars 5/19/2013 by sir2004
by sir2004
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The lock is heavy duty. It is easy to use, opens and locks pretty easily. The only small negative point is the length is little short perhaps this is to keep the weight in check since it is made of real steel and is heavy. Overall very good product for the price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sir2004
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very secure!
9/8/2015

Customer review by PistolPete

5.0 stars 9/8/2015 by PistolPete
by PistolPete

So secure it took me 15 minutes to unlock it...with the keys! Tricky technicque required to unlock it. Easy once you learn how. Seems very heavy duty amd secure enough for short term security.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PistolPete
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not much good if it wont unlock
7/3/2015

Customer review by ReviewerDude

1.0 stars 7/3/2015 by ReviewerDude
by ReviewerDude

Got it today, and was excited to use it. Before doing so, I tried locking and unlocking it a few times, It wasn't working very smoothly, and sure enough, after the 3rd try, it would no longer unlock. I could only get the key to turn 1/4 of a rotation. I tried for 5 minutes, using both keys, and it wouldn't unlock. My wife tried again for a few minutes, and it wouldn't unlock. Returning ASAP.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ReviewerDude
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews