Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 65 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

65 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

65 reviews | 4 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 stars
8
1-20 of 59 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 59 total reviews
1-20 of 59 reviews
ADEW65 did not last 2 years
9/22/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 9/22/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Purchased this unit late September 2010. Worked great until recently. Coil inside is partially freezing (lower portion only) which indicates low refrigerant level. I noticed this by the crackling noises it starting making over the last month or two. It never did this before (even my wife was concerned about the new noise it was making). There has also been a drastic reduction in the amount of water in the bucket. It only has a one year warranty (some other manufacturers offer a longer warranty on the sealed system, not this one). Purchased for $224 and only got 2 years out of it (not good !!!!). Going to have to buy a new dehumidifier as the cost to repair these units is excessive (based on my previous experience). Dehumidifiers do not have a long life span (usually no more than 8 years under seasonal use), but it should last longer than 2 years. I saw another review on this site that indicated failure after 2 years. Now looking at another brand.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
short lifespan
7/9/2012

Customer review by PhillyAccountant

2.0 stars 7/9/2012 by PhillyAccountant
by PhillyAccountant

I previously owned this model and while it worked, it worked beautifully. But it only lasted 2 years before the compressor gave out, which seems to be longer than average if the reviews I've read elsewhere are to be believed. Sadly, this seems to be the norm for these products now. I had another GE dehumidifier that lasted around 20 years, so I know that they are capable of building a quality product. I would gladly spend twice as much money for a QUALITY alternative. Unfortunately, I have not been able to find one that costs less than $1200. Business opportunity anyone?

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PhillyAccountant
Philadelphia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Quality GE Energy Star Dehumidifier + great price
6/15/2012

Customer review by INTHEBOX4

5.0 stars 6/15/2012 by INTHEBOX4
by INTHEBOX4

The dehumidifier is very quiet, powerful and efficient with many different setting options. It also allows me to connect a hose to it that leads to my automatic pump. This way I never have to dump the water from the dehumidifier by hand. I am very pleased with this product and will recommend it to friends.

Was this review helpful? (34) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
INTHEBOX4
Massapequa, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wonderful GE Product
5/2/2012

Customer review by Gatzdad

5.0 stars 5/2/2012 by Gatzdad
by Gatzdad

Got the unit home, pulled it out of the box, plugged it in and set the humidity to 55% and waited....24 hours later we had a FULL bucket of water and the air felt so much better! This is a fantastic unit and we would highly recommend it, especially for high humidity areas, like in the North Georgia Mountains. Air feels & smells better in the area we are using this wonderful GE product.

Was this review helpful? (49) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gatzdad
Works well, maybe a little too much plastic
9/24/2012

Customer review by bargainboy1

4.0 stars 9/24/2012 by bargainboy1
by bargainboy1

Draws a lot of water out of the air in our basement--will easily fill its large container in a day, which has a floater for ease of judging water level. But best to use the built-in, standard size drain hose connector if you can. Has all the features you will need, and fan shuts right off shortly after humidity level is reached, which is not the case on all brands. Somewhat noisy when running but you get used to it. More hard plastic than my previous model, which makes me think some parts might be prone to breaking in the long run. Still, probably the best overall model on the market right now, and ranked highly by Consumer Reports.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bargainboy1
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Good Product With Minor Issues
9/6/2012

Customer review by YankeeInSouth

5.0 stars 9/6/2012 by YankeeInSouth
by YankeeInSouth

After reading reviews, I purchased this model for my basement. It is quiet enough if it is in another room or on another floor, but you would not want to be in the same room with the fan noise. Also, it throws a substantial amount of heat. When I open the basement door, whoosh!, a lot of heat comes up from the dehumidifier, a condition we certainly did not have previously. With that said, I am still pleased with how well it draws water, ease of removing water container with handle and disposing without any spills, has long enough cord, has wheels, easy to operate, it has a light to indicate the water bucket is full and also a clear water level gauge. There is one little design fluke, which wld not stop me from recommending this product. After I run the dehumidifier, I remove the bucket, but also pull the plug. For restart the next day, I plugged the unit in, and before I could replace the water bucket, it started to dehumidify, rather than not starting until the bucket was in position to receive water. I have not utilized the hose connection yet.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YankeeInSouth
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
4/30/2012

Customer review by indbones

1.0 stars 4/30/2012 by indbones
by indbones

I purchased this over from the website. It arrived on a timely basis. I set it up and thought that it was extremely noisy. I had hooked a hose for draining and it did not work well. When I went to empty the bucket I noticed a crack on the inside where in the bucket slides into the unit. It was not easy to see on initial set-up. I returned it to Walmart. I was granted a full refund less my one dollar for shipping.

Was this review helpful? (17) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
indbones
Fishers, In
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
BEST I EVER HAD.
8/4/2012

Customer review by BUDDY52

4.0 stars 8/4/2012 by BUDDY52
by BUDDY52

YES, THE BEST DEHUMIDIFIER I EVER HAD. WORKS VERY GOOD REMOVING HUMIDITY AND IS QUIET. I LIKE IT AND I AM GLAD I BROUGHT IT. IT WAS DELIVERED QUICKLY AND IN GOOD CONDITION. THE ONLY PROBLEM IS THE HUMIDITY READING ON THE DEHUMIDIFIER IS ABOUT 5 % HIGHER THAN AN ADJACENT HUMIDITY MEASURING INSTRUMENT. HOPE IT CONTINUES TO WORK AS IT DOING NOW FOR MANY YEARS.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BUDDY52
ELYRIA, OHIO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for the price
9/6/2012

Customer review by KBZR

5.0 stars 9/6/2012 by KBZR
by KBZR

Didn;t have to put it together(yea), just took it out of the box and read the quick directions and plugged it in. I put it in my basement and set it at 45% - Easy to empty. didn't realize how much humidity I had but i've had to empty it every day. Only have it about a month so I can't talk about longevity.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KBZR
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/4/2012

Customer review by LizzyJo

5.0 stars 8/4/2012 by LizzyJo
by LizzyJo

It has only been in use for about 3 weeks. So far, works great in our basement. The only down side is the tank is small, so I have to empty at least twice daily.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LizzyJo
Butler, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The dehumidifier was very noisey and hot
6/19/2012

Customer review by livelylinda

1.0 stars 6/19/2012 by livelylinda
by livelylinda

I would not recommend it due to the above - I took it back to Walmart

Was this review helpful? (7) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
livelylinda
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/6/2012

Customer review by FLINGSHOT1

4.0 stars 9/6/2012 by FLINGSHOT1
by FLINGSHOT1

This is a great dehumidifier for the price. My plan was to attach a hose so that it would empty into my sump pump. This tooK a little more work than expected. If the hose lays on the ground this function doesn't work well. As a result the bucket will fill up, and the unit won't run continuously as I had planned. I've now learned that if the hose is cut short enough, so that it just reaches into the sump pump, the unit does much better with running continuously.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FLINGSHOT1
Buffalo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
working great so far
9/5/2012

Customer review by dawg4

4.0 stars 9/5/2012 by dawg4
by dawg4

We have been using this unit for about a month now, and so far it is doing a great job! Our basement smells so much better now that we have gotten the humidity out. So glad we went with the 65 pint because we still have to empty it twice a day. It is a little noisy, but it's in the basement, so it doesn't bother us. Great price and good product!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dawg4
ffam4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Lasted 21 months
4/10/2013

Customer review by RBT56

1.0 stars 4/10/2013 by RBT56
by RBT56

Purchased in July of 2011. Worked well until April 2013. Unit blew oily substance all over itself and died. One year warranty. No more GE for me.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RBT56
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worked well for 20 months, then stopped working
6/13/2013

Customer review by rpivonka

2.0 stars 6/13/2013 by rpivonka
by rpivonka

Works well, very quiet BUT BUY the Walmart extended warranty or be sure your credit card gives extended warranty protection.Bought fall of 2011, worked well till winter of 2012 . then didn't need to run it till spring of 2013 and now it's not working. BUMMER

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rpivonka
Chagrin Falls, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent dehumidifier
6/10/2013

Customer review by ALARY

4.0 stars 6/10/2013 by ALARY
by ALARY
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We put this dehumidifier to work in our 1300 square foot basement immediately upon receipt on 05/24/13. It has been running 24-7 since then. It dropped the humidity from 60% down in 40% within 24 hours and is keeping it there. It seems to be an excellent machine except that the water container is very difficult to empty without spilling water on the floor, and in fact, must be emptied very slowly to avoid at least some drizzle onto the floor. The addition of a pipe threaded drain boss in or near the bottom of the water container similar to what GE provided in their dehumidifiers many years ago would be very helpful. This would permit those of us who wish to collect the water for other uses to add a plug, cap, or valve so we could drain without spilling.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ALARY
Georgetown, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works Great. Short lifespan.
8/29/2012

Customer review by sja67

3.0 stars 8/29/2012 by sja67
by sja67

Unit works great in my large basement. With hose hooked up, start it in spring and leave it. Shut it off in Fall. It is noisy, but doesn't bother me upstairs. I rated it good on value and expectations because the price is good and it works the way it should. They need a line for durability or something like that. Just picked this one up today. It is my 3rd one since April, 2011. Bought 1st one 4/29/11. It quit working 4/26/12 (3 days short of 1 yr.). As instructed by GE warranty call, I returned it and was given the 2nd one. Got 2nd one 4/27/12 and it quit 8/25/12. Now on 3rd one 8/29/12. Let's see how long this one lasts?? I will continue to return it as long as they work with me. Doesn't bother me at all since wal-mart is on my way to work.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sja67
central, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
VERY NICE!
5/4/2012

Customer review by kendra625

5.0 stars 5/4/2012 by kendra625
by kendra625

great item at a great price.. $25!! i couldnt pass this up! very heavy.. and shipped to my door for 0.97! yessss!

Was this review helpful? (4) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kendra625
Very effective in reducing indoor moisture!
9/5/2013

Customer review by Raleigh1031

5.0 stars 9/5/2013 by Raleigh1031
by Raleigh1031

We purchased this unit almost a year ago to help control moisture levels in our home (unusually wet weather + an old house= uncomfortable conditions: moldy odor in closets & cabinets, even the occasisional cricket spider!). It has been in continuous use and we've noticed a drastic improvement (no sight of cricket spiders!), allowing us to once again clean / use our guest bedrooms!  We highly recommend! Two comments: it can be loud when running (on high), and the bucket handle could be strengthened for carrying while  emptying the bucket.  Overall though, we love this unit!

Raleigh1031
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Time Will Tell
2/8/2013

Customer review by Audiophile2

3.0 stars 2/8/2013 by Audiophile2
by Audiophile2

This is the second GE 65-pint dehumidifier of this model. The first worked well for a summer season. Upon restarting ten months after purchase, it ran and ran but no longer condensed water from the air. I suspect that the refrigerant leaked out of the unit. I obtained a certificate from GE to repay me for purchase of a GE replacement. I expect that this replacement will fail in a season or two, so I purchased a warranty extension through Walmart for less than $30, worth it from my perspective. When working, the unit was quiet, efficient and did an excellent job of holding the humidity at about 50% for our 1700 sq. ft. basement.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Audiophile2
Cumming, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
1-20 of 59 total reviews
1-20 of 59 reviews