Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 65 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

65 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

65 reviews | 4 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 stars
8
1-20 of 59 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 59 total reviews
1-20 of 59 reviews
Wonderful GE Product
5/2/2012

Customer review by Gatzdad

5.0 stars 5/2/2012 by Gatzdad
by Gatzdad

Got the unit home, pulled it out of the box, plugged it in and set the humidity to 55% and waited....24 hours later we had a FULL bucket of water and the air felt so much better! This is a fantastic unit and we would highly recommend it, especially for high humidity areas, like in the North Georgia Mountains. Air feels & smells better in the area we are using this wonderful GE product.

Was this review helpful? (49) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gatzdad
Quality GE Energy Star Dehumidifier + great price
6/15/2012

Customer review by INTHEBOX4

5.0 stars 6/15/2012 by INTHEBOX4
by INTHEBOX4

The dehumidifier is very quiet, powerful and efficient with many different setting options. It also allows me to connect a hose to it that leads to my automatic pump. This way I never have to dump the water from the dehumidifier by hand. I am very pleased with this product and will recommend it to friends.

Was this review helpful? (34) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
INTHEBOX4
Massapequa, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
short lifespan
7/9/2012

Customer review by PhillyAccountant

2.0 stars 7/9/2012 by PhillyAccountant
by PhillyAccountant

I previously owned this model and while it worked, it worked beautifully. But it only lasted 2 years before the compressor gave out, which seems to be longer than average if the reviews I've read elsewhere are to be believed. Sadly, this seems to be the norm for these products now. I had another GE dehumidifier that lasted around 20 years, so I know that they are capable of building a quality product. I would gladly spend twice as much money for a QUALITY alternative. Unfortunately, I have not been able to find one that costs less than $1200. Business opportunity anyone?

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PhillyAccountant
Philadelphia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/30/2012

Customer review by indbones

1.0 stars 4/30/2012 by indbones
by indbones

I purchased this over from the website. It arrived on a timely basis. I set it up and thought that it was extremely noisy. I had hooked a hose for draining and it did not work well. When I went to empty the bucket I noticed a crack on the inside where in the bucket slides into the unit. It was not easy to see on initial set-up. I returned it to Walmart. I was granted a full refund less my one dollar for shipping.

Was this review helpful? (17) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
indbones
Fishers, In
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works well, maybe a little too much plastic
9/24/2012

Customer review by bargainboy1

4.0 stars 9/24/2012 by bargainboy1
by bargainboy1

Draws a lot of water out of the air in our basement--will easily fill its large container in a day, which has a floater for ease of judging water level. But best to use the built-in, standard size drain hose connector if you can. Has all the features you will need, and fan shuts right off shortly after humidity level is reached, which is not the case on all brands. Somewhat noisy when running but you get used to it. More hard plastic than my previous model, which makes me think some parts might be prone to breaking in the long run. Still, probably the best overall model on the market right now, and ranked highly by Consumer Reports.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bargainboy1
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
The dehumidifier was very noisey and hot
6/19/2012

Customer review by livelylinda

1.0 stars 6/19/2012 by livelylinda
by livelylinda

I would not recommend it due to the above - I took it back to Walmart

Was this review helpful? (7) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
livelylinda
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/4/2012

Customer review by LizzyJo

5.0 stars 8/4/2012 by LizzyJo
by LizzyJo

It has only been in use for about 3 weeks. So far, works great in our basement. The only down side is the tank is small, so I have to empty at least twice daily.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LizzyJo
Butler, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
BEST I EVER HAD.
8/4/2012

Customer review by BUDDY52

4.0 stars 8/4/2012 by BUDDY52
by BUDDY52

YES, THE BEST DEHUMIDIFIER I EVER HAD. WORKS VERY GOOD REMOVING HUMIDITY AND IS QUIET. I LIKE IT AND I AM GLAD I BROUGHT IT. IT WAS DELIVERED QUICKLY AND IN GOOD CONDITION. THE ONLY PROBLEM IS THE HUMIDITY READING ON THE DEHUMIDIFIER IS ABOUT 5 % HIGHER THAN AN ADJACENT HUMIDITY MEASURING INSTRUMENT. HOPE IT CONTINUES TO WORK AS IT DOING NOW FOR MANY YEARS.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BUDDY52
ELYRIA, OHIO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
ADEW65 did not last 2 years
9/22/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 9/22/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Purchased this unit late September 2010. Worked great until recently. Coil inside is partially freezing (lower portion only) which indicates low refrigerant level. I noticed this by the crackling noises it starting making over the last month or two. It never did this before (even my wife was concerned about the new noise it was making). There has also been a drastic reduction in the amount of water in the bucket. It only has a one year warranty (some other manufacturers offer a longer warranty on the sealed system, not this one). Purchased for $224 and only got 2 years out of it (not good !!!!). Going to have to buy a new dehumidifier as the cost to repair these units is excessive (based on my previous experience). Dehumidifiers do not have a long life span (usually no more than 8 years under seasonal use), but it should last longer than 2 years. I saw another review on this site that indicated failure after 2 years. Now looking at another brand.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Lasted 21 months
4/10/2013

Customer review by RBT56

1.0 stars 4/10/2013 by RBT56
by RBT56

Purchased in July of 2011. Worked well until April 2013. Unit blew oily substance all over itself and died. One year warranty. No more GE for me.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RBT56
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for the price
9/6/2012

Customer review by KBZR

5.0 stars 9/6/2012 by KBZR
by KBZR

Didn;t have to put it together(yea), just took it out of the box and read the quick directions and plugged it in. I put it in my basement and set it at 45% - Easy to empty. didn't realize how much humidity I had but i've had to empty it every day. Only have it about a month so I can't talk about longevity.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KBZR
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
working great so far
9/5/2012

Customer review by dawg4

4.0 stars 9/5/2012 by dawg4
by dawg4

We have been using this unit for about a month now, and so far it is doing a great job! Our basement smells so much better now that we have gotten the humidity out. So glad we went with the 65 pint because we still have to empty it twice a day. It is a little noisy, but it's in the basement, so it doesn't bother us. Great price and good product!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dawg4
ffam4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/6/2012

Customer review by FLINGSHOT1

4.0 stars 9/6/2012 by FLINGSHOT1
by FLINGSHOT1

This is a great dehumidifier for the price. My plan was to attach a hose so that it would empty into my sump pump. This tooK a little more work than expected. If the hose lays on the ground this function doesn't work well. As a result the bucket will fill up, and the unit won't run continuously as I had planned. I've now learned that if the hose is cut short enough, so that it just reaches into the sump pump, the unit does much better with running continuously.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FLINGSHOT1
Buffalo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worked well for 20 months, then stopped working
6/13/2013

Customer review by rpivonka

2.0 stars 6/13/2013 by rpivonka
by rpivonka

Works well, very quiet BUT BUY the Walmart extended warranty or be sure your credit card gives extended warranty protection.Bought fall of 2011, worked well till winter of 2012 . then didn't need to run it till spring of 2013 and now it's not working. BUMMER

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rpivonka
Chagrin Falls, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
VERY NICE!
5/4/2012

Customer review by kendra625

5.0 stars 5/4/2012 by kendra625
by kendra625

great item at a great price.. $25!! i couldnt pass this up! very heavy.. and shipped to my door for 0.97! yessss!

Was this review helpful? (4) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kendra625
Great product for our needs
8/30/2012

Customer review by NovRus

5.0 stars 8/30/2012 by NovRus
by NovRus

I found this on clearance to place in our unfinished basement. It has worked very well. It has a fan that is pretty powerful (I read another review about the fan being too loud, this isn't a quiet fan, but its part of getting the results so I don't mind). I've yet to hook it up to the sump pump for continuous results however it beeps when the bucket is full which is nice heads up to empty. I'd buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NovRus
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great product
8/21/2012

Customer review by bjw35765

5.0 stars 8/21/2012 by bjw35765
by bjw35765

the ge dehumidiferis an excellent product. the only improvement i would make is to improve the handle sockets so the handle will not shift to the side and lock when you empty the water. The fan moves a big volume of air so it works great in our big basement.

bjw35765
pisgah,al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very effective in reducing indoor moisture!
9/5/2013

Customer review by Raleigh1031

5.0 stars 9/5/2013 by Raleigh1031
by Raleigh1031

We purchased this unit almost a year ago to help control moisture levels in our home (unusually wet weather + an old house= uncomfortable conditions: moldy odor in closets & cabinets, even the occasisional cricket spider!). It has been in continuous use and we've noticed a drastic improvement (no sight of cricket spiders!), allowing us to once again clean / use our guest bedrooms!  We highly recommend! Two comments: it can be loud when running (on high), and the bucket handle could be strengthened for carrying while  emptying the bucket.  Overall though, we love this unit!

Raleigh1031
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good reliable product
8/21/2012

Customer review by beach

5.0 stars 8/21/2012 by beach
by beach

Have had this product for 6 months and no problems. Reliable keeps humidity level at setting.

beach
MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This dehumidified is working great this summer.
8/21/2012

Customer review by cactus83

5.0 stars 8/21/2012 by cactus83
by cactus83

I have not had any problem so far in the first year. It is functioning well.

cactus83
Manlius, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 59 total reviews
1-20 of 59 reviews