Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 247 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

247 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

5 stars
168
4 stars
41
3 stars
9
2 stars
12
1 stars
17
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 223 total reviews
Great Product!
2/28/2012

Customer review by ArtemisHuntress

5.0 stars by ArtemisHuntress

I purchased this set because I needed monitors for my newborn and I needed them not to interfere with the monitor used for my nephew. These definitely went beyond what I was expecting of them. The sound is very clear and I am able to adjust how sensitive they are so I can only hear when he cries or I can make it so I can hear when he squirms in his crib. I have mine set to the highest sensitivity I can because my son has a medical condition that effects his breathing and I need to be able to hear him breathe and these monitors allow me to do that. The only 2 drawbacks are the only set that is offered only comes with one parent unit and I would have liked to have 2 and the batteries can seem to die faster than expected. I do love the ability to talk to my son to soothe him while I walk to his room to answer his cries or to answer his baby babel when he is laying in his crib happy and talking. I hope everyone is as happy with theirs as I am with mine.

Was this review helpful? (112) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ArtemisHuntress
Portsmouth, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product!
3/13/2012

Customer review by bleve

5.0 stars by bleve

I purchased this monitor after hours spent looking at just about every monitor in the world! I got this one because its digital, and the parent monitor is rechargable! What i didnt know at the time of purchase is the the parent monitor actually has a talk button on it so you can talk to your baby on it! Overall, i'm VERY happy with this monitor!

Was this review helpful? (90) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bleve
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great monitor, great features, great reception!
5/10/2012

Customer review by txmommy2007

5.0 stars by txmommy2007

We love this monitor, great reception, sleek design and nice features too, all for $30.00. This has a great feature called 'talk back' where you can talk into the monitor and your kids can hear your voice. Saves me from going up and down the stairs when my boys need something. They just ask me something from their room and I just answer them from my receiver downstairs, really nice feature!

Was this review helpful? (36) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
txmommy2007
VTech Baby Monitor Bought for Unusual Purpose
5/28/2012

Customer review by Gretchen46

5.0 stars by Gretchen46

I am 66 years old and bought the VTech 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor for an unusual but great purpose. My washer and dryer are in the garage and it's very difficult to hear when the buzzer goes off for the dryer. For years I had to guess when the dryer was done. Now, with using the VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor, I can hear when the machine is done. Especially important for the dryer; no more wrinkled clothes! I just wish I had thought of using a baby monitor for this purpose back when I was married in 1966! The VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor is extremely easy to use and small enough that I can easily take it anywhere in the house to monitor my dryer. Go for it folks! It's very affordable and just think, no more rinsing and re-drying clothes that sat in the dryer forgotten. Gretchen46, San Diego

Was this review helpful? (35) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Gretchen46
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love, love, love.
4/12/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

This is my third monitor. I replaced my original monitor (Sony, lost the adaptor) with a Levana, which was horrible after a few weeks. Our master bedroom is upstairs, but my "baby" is 16mo, so I only needed something to hear him when he wakes up at night. This monitor is inexpensive, but its the best one I've owned. I haven't had any static #I've been using it for about 3 weeks#, the sound quality is great, and the best thing is I can talk to my kids through it. My boys share a room, and my 2yo will sometimes be up before the baby. I can use this to tell him to stay quiet until I come down in a few minutes.

Was this review helpful? (47) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
not using for a baby, it's used for my mother
6/14/2014

Customer review by sammiesreview

3.0 stars by sammiesreview

using it for a safety device, my mother is sick and needs help getting out of bed etc. this allows me some freedom cause I'm not confined to the house there a area around the house that I can get out to do jobs I haven't been able. now I can just hear her on the monitor and I don't have to stay in the house within ear s length

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
sammiesreview
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product can't beet the price.
2/9/2014

Customer review by Seashell1Oo

5.0 stars by Seashell1Oo

This product exceeds my expectations the talk back button is a great feature. You will be pleased with this unit I recommend it. I don't have a baby but I take care of a sick person and now we can talk without shouting and me running To hear what she says or needs. I recommend this highly. And very affordable. Works great.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Seashell1Oo
Cape Coral, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Some may not like it
7/8/2012

Customer review by Sublime2323

1.0 stars by Sublime2323

My main decision to buy this monitor was my great experiences with Vtech phones & reviews. I read many reviews where most people were very happy with this monitor. They may be unaware what theyre missing. I have a wired night/day video cam where this monitor is used. The 2nd night of use I could see my child sitting up in bed crying. The monitor is only inches away & was not picking it up. It said it was linked. Sensitivity & volume options were up all the way. I walked up to the room & could hear her calling for mommy & daddy. Her room is about 20 ft away. There's an air conditioner on in our room so we couldnt hear the cries up the hall. I feel this is unacceptable & gives false sense that your child is sound asleep & safe. The volume is low for a high setting even when talking directly into it. This monitor was bought to replace an older Summer brand DECT monitor. The previous monitor had more white noise, but picked up child moving around & crying even at 1/2 max volume. The Vtech has many great functions including talkback feature not common in most monitors. All of this I feel cant compensate for not hearing your child.

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Sublime2323
NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Might work well at first, but DO NOT BUY!
11/2/2013

Customer review by 11022013

1.0 stars by 11022013

I bought this monitor before my baby was born and didn't take it out until he was about a month old. It worked great and we were very happy with it...until about three-four weeks ago. One night, the parent unit, which had been placed in the same location since we started using it, started beeping saying "Not Linked". I took out the batteries and reset it and thought I fixed the problem. Then it happened again a few days later during the day. I didn't do anything and it randomly linked up again after beeping for about 5 minutes. A few days later it happened again at night. I took out the batteries and put them back in. Linked. Rolled over and went back to sleep. Two hours later, it was beeping again. Not Linked. And this machine doesn't just beep once and that's it. It continuously beeps over and over until it links again. I was up two more times that night before I just ripped the batteries out and slept on the couch to be closer to the baby's room. After reading many reviews on many different retail sites for this product, I contacted VTech to request a replacement. I mentioned the number of negative reviews citing this same problem and I was told it was not a widespread problem and was probably just linked to one retailer selling the product. No questions asked he sent me a replacement. When I asked if this would have the same problem, he assured me it would not because it was coming directly from the company warehouse. I took out my old one and plugged the new one in. THREE DAYS. That's all it took for it to stop linking to the baby unit again. Now I'm not giving it more than one night on the couch. I'm boxing this up, returning it, looking for a totally new brand of monitor, and it would suggest everyone else do the same. Don't we lose enough sleep from the baby crying? I don't think I need to hear my monitor crying for attention all night, too.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
11022013
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does the job it says it will do.
1/20/2014

Customer review by P3Sys

5.0 stars by P3Sys

I use the monitor for situations when I am in another part of the house or in the garage or yard close to the house, away from my wife who is an invalid. It works very well for my purpose. The only negative I would have is that the 1,000 foot range would probaly only apply to completely open spaces, but the range is good enough for my use. The belt clip is a little awkward to use, but it wnn't slip off.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
P3Sys
Palm Deesert, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Why didn't I order this sooner
6/4/2012

Customer review by HeatherP

5.0 stars by HeatherP

The first baby monitor i bought for my newborn was about $100 and it didn't do half the stuff this one does. Now that he is 4, I love having this monitor to talk to him when he calls me instead of having to go in ere every time. I also like that I can be in the yard, hear him get up, and be able to tell him where to find me. Why didnt I get this one in the first place?! The price is amazing. You can control the light from the parent monitor, the background levels, and lots more. I have been using it for about a month and I LOVE it!

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
HeatherP
Douglasville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent product for an affordable price!
6/11/2014

Customer review by CDownsStudios

5.0 stars by CDownsStudios

I bought this today and tested it out when I got home. It works great! My older daughter stayed inside with the baby while I went out to try it. Our property is almost 2 acres and our house is close to the road. I took the parent unit all the way out back to the property line with the baby unit in the front room of the house and could even hear my baby hiccuping while my older child was talking. I only had the sensitivity set on 1 out of 5. I hope this product lasts because so far it works great!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CDownsStudios
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works great WHEN IT WORKS!!
3/8/2014

Customer review by Hberry

1.0 stars by Hberry

I received this item as a baby shower gift before my son was born. Then after my son was born he slept in our room for the first few months so this monitor was not used for about 5 months after purchase. I took it out of the box and tested it but did not really use it until my son was sleeping in his own room. I am not happy with this product at all and ABSOLUTELY would NOT recommend it to anyone. It works great when it does work but it quit working right after about two months. I think there is a glitch with the sensitivity. I would always keep the sensitivity on 2. Well one night it just stopped working. I messed with it for a while and finally got it to work by raising the sensitivity to 3. About a week later, same thing happened and I had to raise the sensitivity to 4. At this point I was not happy and contacted the company for a replacement because it does have a warranty. They agreed to replace the unit but I would have to PAY OUT OF POCKET to SHIP IT BACK TO THEM (Which cost about $9). THEN ONCE THEY RECEIVED it they would ship a REFURBISHED unit back to me. I was without a baby monitor for about 2-3 weeks waiting on the replacement so my son was back to sleeping in our room. I received new unit and it worked fine for about 3-4 months but is not doing the exact same thing as the old one. I plan on contacting the company to see what they can do for me as the refurbished unit had a short warranty on it also (which I imagine is expired) but I REFUSE to pay anymore out of pocket and cannot go without a monitor as they made me in the past. DO NOT BUY THIS MONITOR!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Hberry
Cambridge, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Would not recommend to anyone!!!
9/3/2012

Customer review by MoMof20712

1.0 stars by MoMof20712

I bought this product after reading all the great reviews about it online. I saw where there were a few bad reviews but I thought with all the good reviews maybe those were just people who got one that may have been defective. First night I used this product I noticed that noises sounded very low and muffled. I was willing to give it a chance anyway but after an hour of using it the sound all of a sudden started going completley out on my monitor and then coming back on. Then when my daughter started to cry I noticed I could not hear her through the monitor. She is by no means a quiet crier either! Can not believe how poor this product really is. I will be returning it tomorrow and purchasing a different one. I know there are several good reviews about this product but I would like to say as a mother I would think twice before wasting my money on this!!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MoMof20712
Sylacauga, Al
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/14/2012

Customer review by SparkysCountryGirl

4.0 stars by SparkysCountryGirl

I'm really impressed with this baby monitor. I had an analog one that only had 2 stations and had recently started to hear my neighbors! Also I'm sure they could hear us as well. My old one had constant static and chatter from truckers on the hwy. Very annoying. This one is completely quite. You can talk back to the baby unit, awesome! Everything about it is so useful and worth the price. The only thing I would change is the nightlight. The nightlight on the baby unit will be on for 15 minutes then go out if it's quite. If there is noise it comes back on. Although this might be handy sometimes, I prefer the night light to just stay on all night. Other than that, very pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SparkysCountryGirl
MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Doesn't work
3/28/2013

Customer review by natjane8

1.0 stars by natjane8

We had this monitor for less than 30 days before it broke. It will not stay linked to the monitor base and will beep all night long until you reset the monitor. This is the 2nd Vtech product that we have purchased that has malfunctioned shortly after we purchased it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
natjane8
San Angelo, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Died in 1 month due to quick power failure
7/4/2012

Customer review by Noob

1.0 stars by Noob

I was attracted to these units when I realized that they didn't utilize the same frequencies as my far better Graco digital units, and were guaranteed to be clear. We are on child 2 now, and needed to hear both our baby and our toddler, and running 2 Graco units wasn't working out for whatever reason (interference from the first?) Anyway, these units worked great for about a month, although their volume wasn't quite as loud as the other brands we have tried, it was clear and had no static. The night light feature was nice, and being able to talk to the baby was a neat idea, especially for use with the toddler. One evening our power went out for about 30 seconds and came back on. Once it was on, the receivers would not link anymore with the baby unit. I looked this up (what little information I could find) and people say that the receiver, or sending unit will burn out in the baby side, and this renders the set useless. I had a very hard time finding the V-tech setup with 2 monitors, looks like they are off the market, more then likely for this issue. Even though they were under warranty, I don't feel like sending them back, so I threw them away and bought a cheaper Graco setup with the 900 mhz ( like older cordless phones) frequency as not to mess up my digital pair I've used flawlessly for over 2 years. It's working better then these V-techs, and it was about 30 dollars cheaper. Buy at your own risk. I have always thought V-tech communications was kinda on the cheap side, this item solidifies that opinion.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Noob
KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
You Get What You Pay For
6/27/2012

Customer review by alyakp

2.0 stars by alyakp

I had this monitor less than 2 months and it stopped working. It was decent for the time being. The battery life didn't last very long but I wasn't expecting much for $30. The parent unit would not charge and Vtech charges $24 for a new rechargable battery. Maybe my product was just a defect? I wrote to Vtech and I'm also going to try to exchange this at Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
alyakp
Gulf Shores, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works Great
4/30/2012

Customer review by NevadaMike

5.0 stars by NevadaMike

These work great! Had to sets of another brand given to us, but both just buzzed. Digital is the only way to go, no buzz at all.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
NevadaMike
2/18/2013

Customer review by Anyoldrose

5.0 stars by Anyoldrose

I love this product and bought it for my 82 year old mother. The sound is great with absolutely no static noise. Plus it has a 'talk' button that allows me to talk directly to her from my bedroom.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Anyoldrose
Macon, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 223 total reviews