Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 114 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

114 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

114 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
71
4 stars
23
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 stars
8
1-20 of 105 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 105 total reviews
1-20 of 105 reviews
Great multi-floor monitoring with ability to talk
1/11/2016

Customer review by CVar1

5.0 stars 1/11/2016 by CVar1
by CVar1

My mother-in-law moved into an in-law apartment in the basement of my house. I placed the base in the basement with her and one of the parent monitors on the first and second floor. If she calls me- I can use either parent monitor by pressing the talk button and respond to her. I use it to call her for dinner too. The volume control allows me to lower it almost all the way so that I can sleep and not hear the background noise, yet still hear her call me in the middle of the night. I can then respond to let her know I am on my way rather than having her repeatedly call me not able to hear my response as I run down the stairs (which was the case before this). The parent monitors have clips on them so that you can carry them around with you if need be. I have yet to have had to carry them though so I don't know how far I can go. They work beautifully for what we need them for. If you are caring for an elderly person and want peace of mind...this is a GREAT product for you.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CVar1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE! LOVE! LOVE!
5/30/2012

Customer review by CorneliusFamily10

5.0 stars 5/30/2012 by CorneliusFamily10
by CorneliusFamily10

When we had our first child, we talked about how nice it would be to have a moniter that we were able to talk back to her, and TA-DA! it's here for the second! I didn't want to take the moniter out of the oldest room just yet, because she's down the hall and we close all of our doors at night making it hard to hear if she needs anything, and the baby is still in our room for time being, so I have put this is the oldest room and it's so nice to just be able to talk to her if she needs anything, since she won't move from the bed until actually go to her room. Now we have no problems and she LOVES it just as much as we do! We have one receiver in our bedroom, and another outside in the garage in case we're outside and she's taking a nap! I've read other reviews about how they weren't clear or really quiet, not true in our case.. it's 100x's clearer than the other set we have and you don't have that buzzing all night long!! Absolutely LOVE this moniter and highly recommend it to anyone!!!

Was this review helpful? (39) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CorneliusFamily10
Washington, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for Elderly
6/18/2014

Customer review by momofash

5.0 stars 6/18/2014 by momofash
by momofash
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My elderly father (90) is in his own bedroom/bathroom/lounge area in a different part of our house on the same floor as my bedroom/living area. This monitor is perfect! I was always fearful that he might fall and I wold not hear him. When he needs me he will take off his oxygen, because it is too short to come all the way to our room. But since he can't walk without oxygen, he loses his breath and is not able to go any further and is stuck in the middle of the hallway unable to move. With the monitor, this is great! Dad lives his life. If he wants me, he just hollers for me (louder than his TV) and I come running. It works for me out in the garden and weeding out in the yard too. He has his privacy and he has help when he drops something or needs me to let his dog back in. I can let him know dinner will be ready in ten minutes from my end too.

Was this review helpful? (38) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momofash
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for use in chicken coop
2/14/2015

Customer review by PAshopperGal

5.0 stars 2/14/2015 by PAshopperGal
by PAshopperGal

I bought this set for use in my chicken coop. Distance is about 80' from the house, and it transmits perfectly and very clearly. I can hear the chickens both when they are in their coop and when I let them out into their fenced-in yard (which was my original intent in buying the monitors, because of hawks and other predators). Now I can relax, because I can hear if they become distressed and can run out to chase off any predators. I keep one receiver in the kitchen and one in the bedroom, so I can hear wherever I am in the house. I found that I just enjoy listening to the chickens cluck and cackle to one another throughout the day. The "talk" feature also comes in handy when my husband and I are doing chores, as we can communicate between the coop and the house. The transmitter needs to be plugged in at all times, but it has a nice long cord that enables me to hang it at a convenient location. The receivers run off rechargeable batteries and each has its own charging unit. Very reliable, easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PAshopperGal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
worked very good
2/9/2016

Customer review by davids

4.0 stars 2/9/2016 by davids
by davids

works very good, the only draw back is the main unit is not wireless capable like the parent units

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
davids
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quality
2/9/2016

Customer review by BlakeD

5.0 stars 2/9/2016 by BlakeD
by BlakeD

Product is exceptional

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlakeD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Vtech Baby Monitor Set
8/22/2013

Customer review by Jaziejud

5.0 stars 8/22/2013 by Jaziejud
by Jaziejud
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this as a gift for my neice who had just given birth. I live in Alabama and she lives in California. I purchased online and she picked up in Caliornia store without any problems. I did my research re baby monitors and found this product to be the best buy for the money. There were two monitors with this product which was a big selling point for me. There were more expensive monitors but I recently purchased Vtech toys for my granddaughter and the quality of the product is excellent. My neice lives in a two story home and the babies room is upstairs. The base of course, is in the nursery and one monitor is set-up downstairs and the second she can clip on and carry with her into the yard. The monitor has a 1,000 foot radius and she says it is crystal clear and she feels comfortable putting the baby in her crib and doing her chores. I highly recommend this product. For the price to me, it is the best buy on the market.

Was this review helpful? (18) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jaziejud
Birmingham, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent for parents if you don't want video
7/8/2012

Customer review by PhotogGrrl

4.0 stars 7/8/2012 by PhotogGrrl
by PhotogGrrl
Walmart associate
Staff sparks

This was the easiest baby monitor I've used right out of the gate. Just plug in, add battery, and go. Buttons and menu are minimal and easy to navigate. They are also quiet buttons! Some others are too loud in the middle of the night. The parent unit linked to the baby unit easily and the range was amazing. Reception was clear downstairs, upstairs, and in the backyard. I thought I would run into some interference but I have not yet experienced an issue. Love the clip, makes it so easy to be portable. Battery is much better than other units I've used. Usually I have to plug a parent unit in the middle of the night even if it started with a full charge but this still runs well into the morning. I recommend this product for those that want to hear their baby but don't necessarily need video. The value is phenomenal and you can't beat the two parent units. One for you, one for daddy. Or one for you while other charges. Or one for the kitchen, one for your room. I personally find the video units much more helpful and beneficial because you can see your child and determine if baby is crying because baby is wide awake and up, or if baby may have had a dream, is still sleeping, and therefore does not need an intervention. I would encourage the video model instead: http://www.walmart.com/ip/19717410. Overall, however, this item was pretty darn good. One cute plus: baby unit as a night light in its handle that you can turn on and off.

Was this review helpful? (35) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PhotogGrrl
San Carlos, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Works great!
6/19/2012

Customer review by brittanythebrit

5.0 stars 6/19/2012 by brittanythebrit
by brittanythebrit

I searched for a long time for a monitor for my newborn daughter. We have an old monitor that we used for my son who is now 2 and it was VERY staticy. This new monitor is worlds apart! It works wonderfully! We are very happy with this monitor. We haven't heard any static so far. We love the Wilkie talkie feature on the parent units. They are very useful for older children. Some of the other reviews mentioned that they couldn't hear their baby very well but we've heard her just fine. There is a setting to turn the sensitivity up and down. We love this product!!

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brittanythebrit
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Unit Stopped Working Twice Before My Baby Was 1
6/17/2013

Customer review by NewMomWI

1.0 stars 6/17/2013 by NewMomWI
by NewMomWI

This product is clearly defective. This unit died on us twice. Both times we had unplugged the unit to take w/ us on a night away. When we went to plug it back it the units wouldn't link. We have successfully taken them many places without trouble, but obviously there is some sort of flaw that causes these monitors to have trouble linking if they have been unlinked. The first time they failed to link, we were able to get a replacement from Vtech. (There is a 1 year warranty). Now it's 6 months later and we are having an issue again. My son just turned 11 months, but b/c I bought this about 2 months before he was born we no longer meet the 1 year warranty time frame. I would not recommend this monitor! He slept in our room for the first 3 months so in 8 months we have been using this product TWO monitors have failed on us twice!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewMomWI
Would recommend to a friend? No
VTech Safe&Sound DM221-2
12/26/2015

Customer review by Respect2Glory2

4.0 stars 12/26/2015 by Respect2Glory2
by Respect2Glory2

We replaced a single set (parent & stationary model) that could actually hear our son breathing. This set is not that sensitive (at least this set). The sound is pretty good otherwise. I might not hear the first word or two he says, but the sound machine is also playing. I thought that might help, but I can still hear him clearly when he makes a few sounds or uses sentences. I've considered an exchange, but it's working for what we want. His room is next to the livingroom, so I can hear him cry a second before hearing him on the monitor. That's not any lag to be concerned about. This unit could use more volume. Still, I turn down the sensitivity and volume while we're watching TV, because this is setting a few inches from my head in a remote holder on the center cushion of our sofa. I keep one unit on our nightstand plugged in, and the other unit is ready for roaming in the living areas. I love the portability, and the battery life is truly acceptable. After 5 hours the battery was nearly dead because I roamed with it at nap time a few times. No worries, I plugged it in for bedtime and it charges while we listen. I've not really paid much attention to how long it takes to charge. We've never left it unplugged overnight. These batteries wouldn't last 8 hours. I'm glad to have 2 units so when the battery does begin to fade in the roaming unit, I'll switch units and roam with the other unit. I've not looked at the battery yet to see if it's replaceable. All around good unit. The sensitivity and missing higher volume are its flaws, but it's not to bad. I'd gift these, but not for a newborn. However, this may be a flaw in my units. Another set may work better.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Respect2Glory2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Revised Review...DONT waste your money!
11/25/2013

Customer review by ThePinkBurrito

1.0 stars 11/25/2013 by ThePinkBurrito
by ThePinkBurrito

I bought this a year and a half ago. I LOVED it. I gave it a rave review. I am now here to resend that review. My 4yr old daughter is Autistic and needs to be monitored at night. So I needed a monitor that would last longer than 1 1/2 yrs. I have carried both handheld receivers all over my house and property and had no problems. BUT, I had never moved the base. Last week I changed the furniture layout in my daughter's room. I unplugged the base for the first time in 1 1/2 years. I walked ten feet with it and plugged it in another socket. BEEP. BEEP. BEEP. " No Link" WHAT? I walked it ten feet from where it's always been and now it doesn't work? So I returned it to it's original socket. Nope. Same thing. Maybe it's just me but I feel I should be able to move the base once every 1 1/2 tears and still have it WORK! Very irritated!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThePinkBurrito
Bethany Beach, DE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/30/2012

Customer review by SuzeP

3.0 stars 3/30/2012 by SuzeP
by SuzeP

Battery life is less than half of what the manufacturer claims it to be.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SuzeP
Would recommend to a friend? No
great monitor
12/25/2015

Customer review by gina

5.0 stars 12/25/2015 by gina
by gina

Love it, works great. Can't say anything bad about it. So happy that I went with this one. No static. It very clear. Love that you can talk with both parent unit.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/30/2012

Customer review by KateLR

4.0 stars 9/30/2012 by KateLR
by KateLR

This monitor, which we are using to help us care for my dad who has Alztheimers, has proven helpful in monitoring him while he sleeps/naps. It was easy to set up and easy to use. I do wish we could turn it up louder than it goes so my mother would be better able to hear him.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KateLR
Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DON'T BOTHER!
1/20/2015

Customer review by MBee1

1.0 stars 1/20/2015 by MBee1
by MBee1

I thought i would really like these monitors. I did for about the first day. The walkie talkie feature is nice, but how often do you talk back to a newborn...chances are you are going to go check on her, anyways, so that renders it pretty useless. The sound quality is clear, but also very soft. Sometimes I have to double check to make sure I even have it turned on. The WORST part is the battery life. my husband and I have used the set a handful of times, and the battery on our units lasts, maybe, an hour. I have fully charged the handset and turned it off, turned it back on the next day to use it, only to find the battery is dead! How can it be dead when it wasn't even on???? Very annoying, especially when the product states a "18 hour battery life." You can plug it in, but that defeats the purpose of a mobile handset. I def would have thought twice about this if I had read a review about the battery! Just doesn't stay charged, even from day one!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MBee1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good unit for elderly adult monitoring
1/14/2014

Customer review by SuffolkDan

4.0 stars 1/14/2014 by SuffolkDan
by SuffolkDan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We are pleased so far with this product for monitoring our 87 year old mother who recently had a stroke. Moms strength and stroke damage require constant monitoring to prevent falls. We like the ability to hear and talk back to her at all times. Sound is clear, volume has good controls and reception range is good. thanks

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SuffolkDan
Suffolk, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor sound quality
4/12/2012

Customer review by allmynicknameswereused

1.0 stars 4/12/2012 by allmynicknameswereused
by allmynicknameswereused

I bought this monitor because it was the only one I could find with a talk back feature. As soon as I set it up, I realized two things. First, it is way to soft. At full volume, I couldn't hear my daughter's lullabies while in the same room as the monitor! Second, the sound came in and out in waves...very annoying when you are trying to sleep. I returned it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
allmynicknameswereused
Would recommend to a friend? No
Finally, a monitor that works in our house!
5/19/2013

Customer review by ChiTown1

5.0 stars 5/19/2013 by ChiTown1
by ChiTown1

I've bought 3 baby monitors. I HATE returning things, and I was forced to return all 3 of them because none of them worked out of the box. We have tons of electronic devices in our 9-member household. Laptops, phones, you name it. I bought Motorola, Samsung, and First Years. The first two kept saying "not linked" and beeping "out of range" even if I went down the hall to the bathroom. The second one was just plain static (and yes I followed all instructions for each one, even charging the batteries for the recommended time period before testing them out.) . I read tons of reviews and finally bought vtech, still saving the box in case it gave me the same problem. I'm pleased to say that it's actually working. And it's way cheaper in price than some of these other ones I returned. I haven't used it for long, but it deserves a good review just for functioning when I'm 2 stories down in my basement.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChiTown1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent!
1/22/2013

Customer review by longdistancecaregiver

5.0 stars 1/22/2013 by longdistancecaregiver
by longdistancecaregiver
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Used to monitor my sick mother during the night so we can come to her assistance. Works great! The 2 receivers allow us to hear her from all over the house without having to carry the receivers around with us!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
longdistancecaregiver
Hammond, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 105 total reviews
1-20 of 105 reviews