Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 142 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

142 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

142 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
87
4 stars
26
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 stars
15
1-20 of 133 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 133 total reviews
1-20 of 133 reviews
Garbage
8/9/2016

Customer review by TaraWalker

1.0 stars 8/9/2016 by TaraWalker
by TaraWalker

The reception cuts out constantly, so I can only hear my baby's room maybe half the time. That is not acceptable. And it isn't a range issue, as it happens no matter where I am in the house, even in the next room. I expected a product that at least worked, and this one does not.

TaraWalker
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not the greatest
6/22/2016

Customer review by Reviewed

2.0 stars 6/22/2016 by Reviewed
by Reviewed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this a few weeks ago and has a lot of 'white static noise' and often gets quieter and then really loud frequently when running. Maybe just have a faulty one but haven't been impressed as i don't get clear sounds of my child's movements because of all the extra noise.

Reviewed
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Horrible battery life
1/22/2014

Customer review by Sarah32

1.0 stars 1/22/2014 by Sarah32
by Sarah32

I got this monitor months before my baby was born and didn't bother to open it. Once I took it out to use, the screen on one of the parent units didn't work. Now 7 months later the screen is messing up on the other unit. The parent unit is plugged in between 7-8am and stays plugged in until I go to bed at 11:30. It is unplugged from 11:30pm -8am at the latest (8.5hrs) and by then it is already beeping to notify of low battery. That's absolutely pathetic. I also dislike that the unit that stays in the nursery has to be plugged in and can't run on battery. If the power happens to go out it means the monitor will not work. It's not worth the time to find the receipt and return it, once it dies I will go with another brand.

Sarah32
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
Batter life not good
6/11/2016

Customer review by Marilyn Rose

1.0 stars 6/11/2016 by Marilyn Rose
by Marilyn Rose
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I returned this monitor. It wouldn't last the night on a fully charged battery. Bought a new Summer Brand one with video and its lasted 2 nights so far without a charge

Marilyn Rose
Kawartha Lakes
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Basic
3/28/2016

Customer review by Sabrinav23

2.0 stars 3/28/2016 by Sabrinav23
by Sabrinav23

I got this as a gift. Pros: Lights up, 2 parents units, vibrates, good two-way communication, good clear sound. Cons: baby unit has to always be plugged in, parent unit battery life is short so you're always plugging it in be because its "low battery", limited range, Very basic. If you don't want to spend a ton of money and don't mind having everything plugged in, give it a try. I'm going to buy a video one instead because I'm very mobile in our 3 storey house & mind the energy/hydro usage

Sabrinav23
Toronto, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
Replacement Monitor
3/6/2016

Customer review by gran5

4.0 stars 3/6/2016 by gran5
by gran5
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this unit to replace the same one I bought three years ago which suddenly decided not to connect with the base monitor despite having a new battery installed. It also lost the letters on the display, both parental units within 2 days. I use it to monitor my husband who is handicapped while he is in bed so it is important to have a working unit. Hopefully this will give me another three years.

gran5
Vancouver Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not so great
9/30/2014

Customer review by jupa

1.0 stars 9/30/2014 by jupa
by jupa

We got this set as a gift, if I had known what I know now I would have returned it and purchased another. After a few months the screen on one of the monitors stopped lighting up, over the next few months the screens on both became unreadable. So now I can not adjust anything on the monitor because I cant read them to do so. As well we have to leave the reviver plugged in overnight or they will beep low battery just a few hours after we are in bed. Do not buy this product, invest your money somewhere else.

jupa
Toronto, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Excellent Monitor
11/8/2012

Customer review by Jbieber0112

5.0 stars 11/8/2012 by Jbieber0112
by Jbieber0112

I love this product. The price is affordable and the sound is crystal clear. My toddler has figured out she can talk to me through it, which is great when she is playing and I am on another floor cleaning. It also lets me hear all my babys squeaks and cries. There is feedback when the baby monitor and parent ones are within 3 feet of each other, but other then that i have not had an issue at all. Definately recommend this monitor to all parents. Dont cheap out it is worth the money!

Jbieber0112
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Quit Working after a few months
2/2/2014

Customer review by JLS80

1.0 stars 2/2/2014 by JLS80
by JLS80

I have gone through 2 sets of this baby monitor and both sets stopped connecting to the parent unit within a year. The first one stopped working after 2 months and the second set lasted almost one year before doing the same thing. Will not be buying Vtech again.

JLS80
Calgary, AB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Good Product
2/19/2013

Customer review by camzy

4.0 stars 2/19/2013 by camzy
by camzy

I like the Monitor, all in all I get good reception but it does cut out sometimes, monitor is on the second floor and the reciever is on the first floor. Don't know if its cause of the cordles phone or not.

camzy
Ontario
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Up to my expectations
7/19/2014

Customer review by Arthemise

4.0 stars 7/19/2014 by Arthemise
by Arthemise
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The sound is very clear, works everywhere around the house and outside also. No background sound either. Love it

Arthemise
Laval, QC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOVE! LOVE! LOVE!
5/30/2012

Customer review by CorneliusFamily10

5.0 stars 5/30/2012 by CorneliusFamily10
by CorneliusFamily10

When we had our first child, we talked about how nice it would be to have a moniter that we were able to talk back to her, and TA-DA! it's here for the second! I didn't want to take the moniter out of the oldest room just yet, because she's down the hall and we close all of our doors at night making it hard to hear if she needs anything, and the baby is still in our room for time being, so I have put this is the oldest room and it's so nice to just be able to talk to her if she needs anything, since she won't move from the bed until actually go to her room. Now we have no problems and she LOVES it just as much as we do! We have one receiver in our bedroom, and another outside in the garage in case we're outside and she's taking a nap! I've read other reviews about how they weren't clear or really quiet, not true in our case.. it's 100x's clearer than the other set we have and you don't have that buzzing all night long!! Absolutely LOVE this moniter and highly recommend it to anyone!!!

Was this review helpful? (44) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CorneliusFamily10
Washington, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great multi-floor monitoring with ability to talk
1/11/2016

Customer review by CVar1

5.0 stars 1/11/2016 by CVar1
by CVar1

My mother-in-law moved into an in-law apartment in the basement of my house. I placed the base in the basement with her and one of the parent monitors on the first and second floor. If she calls me- I can use either parent monitor by pressing the talk button and respond to her. I use it to call her for dinner too. The volume control allows me to lower it almost all the way so that I can sleep and not hear the background noise, yet still hear her call me in the middle of the night. I can then respond to let her know I am on my way rather than having her repeatedly call me not able to hear my response as I run down the stairs (which was the case before this). The parent monitors have clips on them so that you can carry them around with you if need be. I have yet to have had to carry them though so I don't know how far I can go. They work beautifully for what we need them for. If you are caring for an elderly person and want peace of mind...this is a GREAT product for you.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CVar1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for use in chicken coop
2/14/2015

Customer review by PAshopperGal

5.0 stars 2/14/2015 by PAshopperGal
by PAshopperGal

I bought this set for use in my chicken coop. Distance is about 80' from the house, and it transmits perfectly and very clearly. I can hear the chickens both when they are in their coop and when I let them out into their fenced-in yard (which was my original intent in buying the monitors, because of hawks and other predators). Now I can relax, because I can hear if they become distressed and can run out to chase off any predators. I keep one receiver in the kitchen and one in the bedroom, so I can hear wherever I am in the house. I found that I just enjoy listening to the chickens cluck and cackle to one another throughout the day. The "talk" feature also comes in handy when my husband and I are doing chores, as we can communicate between the coop and the house. The transmitter needs to be plugged in at all times, but it has a nice long cord that enables me to hang it at a convenient location. The receivers run off rechargeable batteries and each has its own charging unit. Very reliable, easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PAshopperGal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for Elderly
6/18/2014

Customer review by momofash

5.0 stars 6/18/2014 by momofash
by momofash
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My elderly father (90) is in his own bedroom/bathroom/lounge area in a different part of our house on the same floor as my bedroom/living area. This monitor is perfect! I was always fearful that he might fall and I wold not hear him. When he needs me he will take off his oxygen, because it is too short to come all the way to our room. But since he can't walk without oxygen, he loses his breath and is not able to go any further and is stuck in the middle of the hallway unable to move. With the monitor, this is great! Dad lives his life. If he wants me, he just hollers for me (louder than his TV) and I come running. It works for me out in the garden and weeding out in the yard too. He has his privacy and he has help when he drops something or needs me to let his dog back in. I can let him know dinner will be ready in ten minutes from my end too.

Was this review helpful? (54) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momofash
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Vtech Baby Monitor Set
8/22/2013

Customer review by Jaziejud

5.0 stars 8/22/2013 by Jaziejud
by Jaziejud
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this as a gift for my neice who had just given birth. I live in Alabama and she lives in California. I purchased online and she picked up in Caliornia store without any problems. I did my research re baby monitors and found this product to be the best buy for the money. There were two monitors with this product which was a big selling point for me. There were more expensive monitors but I recently purchased Vtech toys for my granddaughter and the quality of the product is excellent. My neice lives in a two story home and the babies room is upstairs. The base of course, is in the nursery and one monitor is set-up downstairs and the second she can clip on and carry with her into the yard. The monitor has a 1,000 foot radius and she says it is crystal clear and she feels comfortable putting the baby in her crib and doing her chores. I highly recommend this product. For the price to me, it is the best buy on the market.

Was this review helpful? (21) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jaziejud
Birmingham, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nifty and thrifty
12/28/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/28/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Got this near monitor set for our second baby but our first is still just 3 years old so it works just as well for her too. Here's MY pros and cons Pros: Battery life on both parent sets is decent and will continue to receive clear audio up to 95ft The talk back feature is very useful for a clingy toddler also its a neat distraction. For example: While you're getting some "no more putting off" chores done and kiddo wants to play with you just start using that fun talk back feature, making funny sounds and WHA-LA! You've got yourself a distracted toddler and a bit more time to get stuff done. Rechargeable batteries are a SWEET addition to the set. Saves on money and pays you back if you think about how much money you'd spend buying batteries day after day. Useful for lots of things like helping spouse reverse the car, set up a security camera, get some one to bring you items when your hands are tied etc etc. Cons: No screen. It's kind of troublesome when you hear your baby/toddler making normal but weird sounds and have to walk across the house to check on them so a screen and camera would be better but this is my only con.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent for parents if you don't want video
7/8/2012

Customer review by PhotogGrrl

4.0 stars 7/8/2012 by PhotogGrrl
by PhotogGrrl
Walmart associate

This was the easiest baby monitor I've used right out of the gate. Just plug in, add battery, and go. Buttons and menu are minimal and easy to navigate. They are also quiet buttons! Some others are too loud in the middle of the night. The parent unit linked to the baby unit easily and the range was amazing. Reception was clear downstairs, upstairs, and in the backyard. I thought I would run into some interference but I have not yet experienced an issue. Love the clip, makes it so easy to be portable. Battery is much better than other units I've used. Usually I have to plug a parent unit in the middle of the night even if it started with a full charge but this still runs well into the morning. I recommend this product for those that want to hear their baby but don't necessarily need video. The value is phenomenal and you can't beat the two parent units. One for you, one for daddy. Or one for you while other charges. Or one for the kitchen, one for your room. I personally find the video units much more helpful and beneficial because you can see your child and determine if baby is crying because baby is wide awake and up, or if baby may have had a dream, is still sleeping, and therefore does not need an intervention. I would encourage the video model instead: http://www.walmart.com/ip/19717410. Overall, however, this item was pretty darn good. One cute plus: baby unit as a night light in its handle that you can turn on and off.

Was this review helpful? (38) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PhotogGrrl
San Carlos, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Unit Stopped Working Twice Before My Baby Was 1
6/17/2013

Customer review by NewMomWI

1.0 stars 6/17/2013 by NewMomWI
by NewMomWI

This product is clearly defective. This unit died on us twice. Both times we had unplugged the unit to take w/ us on a night away. When we went to plug it back it the units wouldn't link. We have successfully taken them many places without trouble, but obviously there is some sort of flaw that causes these monitors to have trouble linking if they have been unlinked. The first time they failed to link, we were able to get a replacement from Vtech. (There is a 1 year warranty). Now it's 6 months later and we are having an issue again. My son just turned 11 months, but b/c I bought this about 2 months before he was born we no longer meet the 1 year warranty time frame. I would not recommend this monitor! He slept in our room for the first 3 months so in 8 months we have been using this product TWO monitors have failed on us twice!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewMomWI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works great!
6/19/2012

Customer review by brittanythebrit

5.0 stars 6/19/2012 by brittanythebrit
by brittanythebrit

I searched for a long time for a monitor for my newborn daughter. We have an old monitor that we used for my son who is now 2 and it was VERY staticy. This new monitor is worlds apart! It works wonderfully! We are very happy with this monitor. We haven't heard any static so far. We love the Wilkie talkie feature on the parent units. They are very useful for older children. Some of the other reviews mentioned that they couldn't hear their baby very well but we've heard her just fine. There is a setting to turn the sensitivity up and down. We love this product!!

Was this review helpful? (23) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brittanythebrit
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 133 total reviews
1-20 of 133 reviews