Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 126 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

126 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

126 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
82
4 stars
23
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 stars
9
1-20 of 117 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 117 total reviews
1-20 of 117 reviews
LOVE! LOVE! LOVE!
5/30/2012

Customer review by CorneliusFamily10

5.0 stars 5/30/2012 by CorneliusFamily10
by CorneliusFamily10

When we had our first child, we talked about how nice it would be to have a moniter that we were able to talk back to her, and TA-DA! it's here for the second! I didn't want to take the moniter out of the oldest room just yet, because she's down the hall and we close all of our doors at night making it hard to hear if she needs anything, and the baby is still in our room for time being, so I have put this is the oldest room and it's so nice to just be able to talk to her if she needs anything, since she won't move from the bed until actually go to her room. Now we have no problems and she LOVES it just as much as we do! We have one receiver in our bedroom, and another outside in the garage in case we're outside and she's taking a nap! I've read other reviews about how they weren't clear or really quiet, not true in our case.. it's 100x's clearer than the other set we have and you don't have that buzzing all night long!! Absolutely LOVE this moniter and highly recommend it to anyone!!!

Was this review helpful? (41) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CorneliusFamily10
Washington, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great multi-floor monitoring with ability to talk
1/11/2016

Customer review by CVar1

5.0 stars 1/11/2016 by CVar1
by CVar1

My mother-in-law moved into an in-law apartment in the basement of my house. I placed the base in the basement with her and one of the parent monitors on the first and second floor. If she calls me- I can use either parent monitor by pressing the talk button and respond to her. I use it to call her for dinner too. The volume control allows me to lower it almost all the way so that I can sleep and not hear the background noise, yet still hear her call me in the middle of the night. I can then respond to let her know I am on my way rather than having her repeatedly call me not able to hear my response as I run down the stairs (which was the case before this). The parent monitors have clips on them so that you can carry them around with you if need be. I have yet to have had to carry them though so I don't know how far I can go. They work beautifully for what we need them for. If you are caring for an elderly person and want peace of mind...this is a GREAT product for you.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CVar1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for use in chicken coop
2/14/2015

Customer review by PAshopperGal

5.0 stars 2/14/2015 by PAshopperGal
by PAshopperGal

I bought this set for use in my chicken coop. Distance is about 80' from the house, and it transmits perfectly and very clearly. I can hear the chickens both when they are in their coop and when I let them out into their fenced-in yard (which was my original intent in buying the monitors, because of hawks and other predators). Now I can relax, because I can hear if they become distressed and can run out to chase off any predators. I keep one receiver in the kitchen and one in the bedroom, so I can hear wherever I am in the house. I found that I just enjoy listening to the chickens cluck and cackle to one another throughout the day. The "talk" feature also comes in handy when my husband and I are doing chores, as we can communicate between the coop and the house. The transmitter needs to be plugged in at all times, but it has a nice long cord that enables me to hang it at a convenient location. The receivers run off rechargeable batteries and each has its own charging unit. Very reliable, easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PAshopperGal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for Elderly
6/18/2014

Customer review by momofash

5.0 stars 6/18/2014 by momofash
by momofash
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My elderly father (90) is in his own bedroom/bathroom/lounge area in a different part of our house on the same floor as my bedroom/living area. This monitor is perfect! I was always fearful that he might fall and I wold not hear him. When he needs me he will take off his oxygen, because it is too short to come all the way to our room. But since he can't walk without oxygen, he loses his breath and is not able to go any further and is stuck in the middle of the hallway unable to move. With the monitor, this is great! Dad lives his life. If he wants me, he just hollers for me (louder than his TV) and I come running. It works for me out in the garden and weeding out in the yard too. He has his privacy and he has help when he drops something or needs me to let his dog back in. I can let him know dinner will be ready in ten minutes from my end too.

Was this review helpful? (49) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momofash
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product with a fair price
8/26/2016

Customer review by Grandpa

5.0 stars 8/26/2016 by Grandpa
by Grandpa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this baby monitor for my son to have with his new daughter. It was very simple to set up and has a good signal range. It worked well in his basement and out in the back yard.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grandpa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Vtech Baby Monitor Set
8/22/2013

Customer review by Jaziejud

5.0 stars 8/22/2013 by Jaziejud
by Jaziejud
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this as a gift for my neice who had just given birth. I live in Alabama and she lives in California. I purchased online and she picked up in Caliornia store without any problems. I did my research re baby monitors and found this product to be the best buy for the money. There were two monitors with this product which was a big selling point for me. There were more expensive monitors but I recently purchased Vtech toys for my granddaughter and the quality of the product is excellent. My neice lives in a two story home and the babies room is upstairs. The base of course, is in the nursery and one monitor is set-up downstairs and the second she can clip on and carry with her into the yard. The monitor has a 1,000 foot radius and she says it is crystal clear and she feels comfortable putting the baby in her crib and doing her chores. I highly recommend this product. For the price to me, it is the best buy on the market.

Was this review helpful? (20) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jaziejud
Birmingham, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent for parents if you don't want video
7/8/2012

Customer review by PhotogGrrl

4.0 stars 7/8/2012 by PhotogGrrl
by PhotogGrrl
Walmart associate

This was the easiest baby monitor I've used right out of the gate. Just plug in, add battery, and go. Buttons and menu are minimal and easy to navigate. They are also quiet buttons! Some others are too loud in the middle of the night. The parent unit linked to the baby unit easily and the range was amazing. Reception was clear downstairs, upstairs, and in the backyard. I thought I would run into some interference but I have not yet experienced an issue. Love the clip, makes it so easy to be portable. Battery is much better than other units I've used. Usually I have to plug a parent unit in the middle of the night even if it started with a full charge but this still runs well into the morning. I recommend this product for those that want to hear their baby but don't necessarily need video. The value is phenomenal and you can't beat the two parent units. One for you, one for daddy. Or one for you while other charges. Or one for the kitchen, one for your room. I personally find the video units much more helpful and beneficial because you can see your child and determine if baby is crying because baby is wide awake and up, or if baby may have had a dream, is still sleeping, and therefore does not need an intervention. I would encourage the video model instead: http://www.walmart.com/ip/19717410. Overall, however, this item was pretty darn good. One cute plus: baby unit as a night light in its handle that you can turn on and off.

Was this review helpful? (38) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PhotogGrrl
San Carlos, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Looses connection cosntantly
8/10/2016

Customer review by kerinwestchesterny

1.0 stars 8/10/2016 by kerinwestchesterny
by kerinwestchesterny
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Since day one this system is constantly loosing the connection. We are in an apartment mind you, close to NYC, not in a house and not in the middle of no where. Trying to return as I write this. If you do try it don't throw away the packaging. Apparently you can't return without it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 8/11/2016

Please call our support team @ 1-800-595-9511 for assistance with your DM221-2.

kerinwestchesterny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Unit Stopped Working Twice Before My Baby Was 1
6/17/2013

Customer review by NewMomWI

1.0 stars 6/17/2013 by NewMomWI
by NewMomWI

This product is clearly defective. This unit died on us twice. Both times we had unplugged the unit to take w/ us on a night away. When we went to plug it back it the units wouldn't link. We have successfully taken them many places without trouble, but obviously there is some sort of flaw that causes these monitors to have trouble linking if they have been unlinked. The first time they failed to link, we were able to get a replacement from Vtech. (There is a 1 year warranty). Now it's 6 months later and we are having an issue again. My son just turned 11 months, but b/c I bought this about 2 months before he was born we no longer meet the 1 year warranty time frame. I would not recommend this monitor! He slept in our room for the first 3 months so in 8 months we have been using this product TWO monitors have failed on us twice!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewMomWI
Would recommend to a friend? No
VTech DM221-2 Baby Monitor
7/23/2016

Customer review by rdej

5.0 stars 7/23/2016 by rdej
by rdej
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My husband wanted to exchange our two pack monitor's for the three pack monitor's system. He really wanted an extra monitor to move around the house or outside while the baby was sleeping. I am happy that we spent a little more at the time to get an extra monitor. The only negative I have is that the light on top is suppose to be able to use it as a night light and it doesn't stay on all night. That is ok with me though because we have another night light that I already had. We also have three lamps in the baby's room too. It is a great item.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rdej
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great!
6/19/2012

Customer review by brittanythebrit

5.0 stars 6/19/2012 by brittanythebrit
by brittanythebrit

I searched for a long time for a monitor for my newborn daughter. We have an old monitor that we used for my son who is now 2 and it was VERY staticy. This new monitor is worlds apart! It works wonderfully! We are very happy with this monitor. We haven't heard any static so far. We love the Wilkie talkie feature on the parent units. They are very useful for older children. Some of the other reviews mentioned that they couldn't hear their baby very well but we've heard her just fine. There is a setting to turn the sensitivity up and down. We love this product!!

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brittanythebrit
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DON'T BOTHER!
1/20/2015

Customer review by MBee1

1.0 stars 1/20/2015 by MBee1
by MBee1

I thought i would really like these monitors. I did for about the first day. The walkie talkie feature is nice, but how often do you talk back to a newborn...chances are you are going to go check on her, anyways, so that renders it pretty useless. The sound quality is clear, but also very soft. Sometimes I have to double check to make sure I even have it turned on. The WORST part is the battery life. my husband and I have used the set a handful of times, and the battery on our units lasts, maybe, an hour. I have fully charged the handset and turned it off, turned it back on the next day to use it, only to find the battery is dead! How can it be dead when it wasn't even on???? Very annoying, especially when the product states a "18 hour battery life." You can plug it in, but that defeats the purpose of a mobile handset. I def would have thought twice about this if I had read a review about the battery! Just doesn't stay charged, even from day one!!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MBee1
Would recommend to a friend? No
3/30/2012

Customer review by SuzeP

3.0 stars 3/30/2012 by SuzeP
by SuzeP

Battery life is less than half of what the manufacturer claims it to be.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SuzeP
Would recommend to a friend? No
Grandpa
4/25/2016

Customer review by Grandpa

5.0 stars 4/25/2016 by Grandpa
by Grandpa

Satisfied Grandpa

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grandpa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/30/2012

Customer review by KateLR

4.0 stars 9/30/2012 by KateLR
by KateLR

This monitor, which we are using to help us care for my dad who has Alztheimers, has proven helpful in monitoring him while he sleeps/naps. It was easy to set up and easy to use. I do wish we could turn it up louder than it goes so my mother would be better able to hear him.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KateLR
Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good sound, bad life to product
3/13/2013

Customer review by JoeMomma1214

1.0 stars 3/13/2013 by JoeMomma1214
by JoeMomma1214

We have been using these monitors for just under 5 months. The sound from them is great, much better than the monitors we used for our last child. At first, we loved these monitors. The vibrating feature is great, and it's nice to be able to talk to someone in the baby's room. Our complaint with these monitors is that they don't last. When we unplug our monitors, the sound cuts out quite often for very short periods of time. The battery in one monitor lasts for about 1.5 hours and the other monitor shuts off completely when unplugged from the charger. The words on the digital readout (screen) have started to disappear, so you can't tell what the screen says.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoeMomma1214
Black Hills, South Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Revised Review...DONT waste your money!
11/25/2013

Customer review by ThePinkBurrito

1.0 stars 11/25/2013 by ThePinkBurrito
by ThePinkBurrito

I bought this a year and a half ago. I LOVED it. I gave it a rave review. I am now here to resend that review. My 4yr old daughter is Autistic and needs to be monitored at night. So I needed a monitor that would last longer than 1 1/2 yrs. I have carried both handheld receivers all over my house and property and had no problems. BUT, I had never moved the base. Last week I changed the furniture layout in my daughter's room. I unplugged the base for the first time in 1 1/2 years. I walked ten feet with it and plugged it in another socket. BEEP. BEEP. BEEP. " No Link" WHAT? I walked it ten feet from where it's always been and now it doesn't work? So I returned it to it's original socket. Nope. Same thing. Maybe it's just me but I feel I should be able to move the base once every 1 1/2 tears and still have it WORK! Very irritated!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThePinkBurrito
Bethany Beach, DE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good unit for elderly adult monitoring
1/14/2014

Customer review by SuffolkDan

4.0 stars 1/14/2014 by SuffolkDan
by SuffolkDan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We are pleased so far with this product for monitoring our 87 year old mother who recently had a stroke. Moms strength and stroke damage require constant monitoring to prevent falls. We like the ability to hear and talk back to her at all times. Sound is clear, volume has good controls and reception range is good. thanks

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SuffolkDan
Suffolk, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bought for monitoring an elderly parent
2/7/2013

Customer review by collectmark

5.0 stars 2/7/2013 by collectmark
by collectmark
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This has been a God send for me. I'm able to passively monitor my Mom at night, when doing the laundry in the basement and doing gardening. I especially like the push to talk button. Mama gets a little startled and disoriented when I'm speaking and I"m not there but it is really helping me to care for my mom. This is much better than one of the emergency buttons.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
collectmark
Malta Bend, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor sound quality
4/12/2012

Customer review by allmynicknameswereused

1.0 stars 4/12/2012 by allmynicknameswereused
by allmynicknameswereused

I bought this monitor because it was the only one I could find with a talk back feature. As soon as I set it up, I realized two things. First, it is way to soft. At full volume, I couldn't hear my daughter's lullabies while in the same room as the monitor! Second, the sound came in and out in waves...very annoying when you are trying to sleep. I returned it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
allmynicknameswereused
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 117 total reviews
1-20 of 117 reviews