Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 266 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

266 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

266 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
154
4 stars
61
3 stars
15
2 stars
14
1 stars
22
1-20 of 241 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 241 total reviews
1-20 of 241 reviews
SERIOUSLY FABULOUS
11/13/2013

Customer review by Seabeewife11

5.0 stars 11/13/2013 by Seabeewife11
by Seabeewife11

Recieved this as a gift after i added it to my baby registry. Got the extra camera too because im pregnant with #2. A little disapointed i couldnt add the cheaper "bundle" of two cameras and a parent unit to my registry so my MIL purchased the second camera seperately (losing out on roughly $30 in savings) but i LOVE the system just the same. We are upgrading from the Fisherprice one-camera system and its a BIG difference in quality, for sure. You can definitely feel in your hand its made very well. Ive taken it all over the house and have yet to face a loss of signal (hasnt gone lower than two bars actually) the kick stand on the back gives it a nice tilt on a counter or coffee table so you can easily see the screen. And i love that the antenna lays flush when not in use, making it all the more convienent. Seriously i could go on all day. NO cons so far coming from me!

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Seabeewife11
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Peace of mind!
4/17/2013

Customer review by SATXgirl11

5.0 stars 4/17/2013 by SATXgirl11
by SATXgirl11

I was hesitant to purchase this video monitor because of the reviews that said this monitor had horrible video quality. I'm sure there are video monitors with crystal clear picture but this one isn't horrible. I have our camera set up on a tripod (yep it has a tripod connection) 2 feet away from our baby's crib and the picture quality is good. I can see everything, even enough detail to see his chest moving up and down from breathing and this is in black and white video because it's dark in his room. The video color when there is light is a bit washed out (meaning it's not vivid color) but you can still see everything perfect. The sound is fine I can hear him when he wakes and that's good enough for me. For the price I think this video monitor works great. I'm sure the 200+ monitors are great too but this monitor is a great deal and serves its purpose well.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SATXgirl11
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Can't see my kids!
12/8/2013

Customer review by Cee

1.0 stars 12/8/2013 by Cee
by Cee

I decided after searching for a long time to get this monitor system because of the option to view all of the cameras on one screen, I wasn't able to find any other system with this option. However I was very disappointed as I couldn't see my kids in their beds because of the built in light for night vision. Had to return the monitor and keep looking.

Was this review helpful? (13) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cee
Independence, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Wonderful Monitor
9/23/2012

Customer review by HisSemperFiCherryPie

5.0 stars 9/23/2012 by HisSemperFiCherryPie
by HisSemperFiCherryPie

I live overseas where we aren't allowed to use 900 MHz-frequency in our homes. I was nervous that this monitor, which operates at a different frequency, wouldn't work as well but was pleasantly surprised. While the screen is quite as clear as the image here portrays, I would still say it's good quality. I love that I can zoom and talk to my daughter. The built-in lullabies are nice, too. Overall, it's a really wonderful product and a great price!

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HisSemperFiCherryPie
FPO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good construction but terribble video
12/12/2012

Customer review by DisappointedATL

2.0 stars 12/12/2012 by DisappointedATL
by DisappointedATL
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We had a summer monitor and wanted to upgrade our monitor and have two cameras. So we bought this item thinking that it would be superior to our old system. This item comes with nice packaging and is very portable, which was very appealing to us. I also like the way the camera looks. However, the thing that made me return it was the quality of the camera picture. It was so unbelievable how bad it was. Not only was the picture grainy and delayed, but at a distance of more than four or five feet from the children, one cannot make out their face. While I don't want a clear picture, it would have been at least good to be able to tell if their eyes were open or not. Terrible picture and sound is not that great either. Save your money and buy a summer product that has a good video quality. That's ultimately what should be key: Whether you can hear and see your little one. pros: good construction, sleek portable viewing unit cons: terrible picture quality and sound. Recommend to others: NO

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DisappointedATL
ATL, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not only for babies
6/30/2013

Customer review by camping6

5.0 stars 6/30/2013 by camping6
by camping6

I LOVE THIS MONITOR but, I don't use it to keep an eye on my kids, their grown. I use this V Tech monitor to keep an eye on my mother who has alzheimers/dementia. I have one set up facing her favorite chair, and one in the vestibule between the storm door and the main door, which is great because I can still do what I need to do in the yard when she doesn't want to go out back. Between the monitor with sound, and the alarm I have on the door, I can be sure mom is safe. I plan on getting two more cameras, one for her room and the other for the kitchen. I have to say, I didnt read about this monitor, but wow, I was surprised when I got it. I like that I can set up 4 camers. Its very easy to pair another camera, easy to switch from camera to camera, looks great even at night, plug in or batt. Use, color during day, blk and white at night, sounds great, music for the kids, and I can talk to mom without stopping what i'm doing.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
camping6
long island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works well over all.
9/17/2012

Customer review by Meldan08

4.0 stars 9/17/2012 by Meldan08
by Meldan08

All the features meet or exceed expectations, except the color display. Its supposed to automatically switch from black and white night Vison to color during the day. Mine stays black and white most of the time, It'll flicker in color, but go back to black and white shortly. This could be because I keep her blinds closed, but they are white blinds and the room is well lit, it would be too bright for her to nap with them open. I haven't been too concerned with this issue because the black and white is still very clear. As I said all other features work well. The lullabies are pretty and not too electronic sounding, I just wish you could play them from the parent unit, not just from the baby's room unit. The talk back feature is cool, but perks our daughter up more then soothes! The battery lasts for several hours,much longer then I thought it would. I purchased this moniter to replace one that I broke and I like this one much better then my old Summer Infant one. Overall I'm very pleased with this product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Meldan08
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Monitor ....Great Value!
3/9/2012

Customer review by abbaschild71

5.0 stars 3/9/2012 by abbaschild71
by abbaschild71

This monitor has many of the bells and whistles of the more expensive monitors, but is in the more "mid-line" price range for video monitors. Some of the "bells" we LOVE.... 1) You can talk back to your child through the parent's monitor 2) You can zoom in and then you can adjust your camera angle from the parent's monitor 3) It has different options for the screen display to adjust according to your preference 4) Great reception and portability 5) Thermostat reader & alarm (you set the range you want). We have really loved it thus far! It also has some lullabies you can play, but our son is a toddler, so we don't use that function. Also, you could add 2 more cameras to the monitor if needed, which will be helpful if we have another baby soon!

Was this review helpful? (135) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
abbaschild71
Lawrenceville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works perfectly!
10/6/2013

Customer review by MrsWms83

5.0 stars 10/6/2013 by MrsWms83
by MrsWms83
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this! I read a lot of reviews before I purchased this video baby monitor and found that the biggest complaint was that the battery life was very short. I specifically bought one that could be plugged in to avoid that problem. The instructions said that computers, laptops, printers, cell phones, cordless phones, etc. could interfere with the reception of the baby monitor. I have not had that problem. I have the monitor sitting between my my laptop and printer - with my cell phone and cordless phone nearby. The camera can be adjusted so it will point exactly where you want it. I have two cameras and I have the option to view one or the other or both at the same time. I could add up to four cameras, which I am considering doing so I can see outside (I would put it on the window sill). I am very happy with this video baby monitor.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsWms83
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
freedom!
3/16/2012

Customer review by subburb

5.0 stars 3/16/2012 by subburb
by subburb

This is a must have for parents of any age child. As a mother of four, I have tried other products, this one bieng the best. I now have the freedom to go outside and around the house at naptime and can see (very clearly) that my baby is still sleeping or starting to wake up! I can talk to the baby or older children from a distance. I tested the range as well, and am happy to say that the range is every bit of 1000 feet maybe more. It's definately farther than I would need to go. Temperature sensor is cool too. Also the vibrating alert is great when the baby makes its first noise. I like this product so much, I'm considering adding another camera. Also the camera has a good field of view which helps me see farther in the room. excellent monitor at a great price! I highly recommend this product to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (63) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
subburb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Highly Recommend This Monitor!
5/11/2012

Customer review by caring4mom

5.0 stars 5/11/2012 by caring4mom
by caring4mom

I bought this monitor 2 months ago & really love using it! I have no complaints. It has so many features that the more expensive monitors have without having to pay their higher cost! It is well built--solid--not cheap looking. I love the large screen view for 1 camera, which is all I need, but it has the split screen viewing capability of up to FOUR CAMERAS at one time. I don't know if the reduced size of multiple camera views would be sufficient or not. I also like the zoom & PAN control of the camera from the parent unit. It has a clear picture day or night & a 5 level ADJUSTABLE BRIGHTNESS CONTROL to turn down the screen if you keep it plugged in all night. If you don't want the screen on all night you can operate it on battery power & set it to be SOUND ACTIVATED & it will be turned on automatically whenever there are sounds detected from the baby units. The parent unit screen will turn off automatically when no sounds are detected from the baby units within 30 seconds. There is a 7 level volume control plus MUTE OPTION for the parent unit & 6 SOUND INDICATOR LIGHTS, and you can use the parent unit to change the SOUND SENSITIVITY LEVEL of the baby units from 1 to 5 (max.). The higher the sensitivity is, the more sensitive the baby unit is in detecting sounds for transmitting to the parent unit. NOTICE: This maximum setting is the only level that does produce white noise as it picks up background sounds also. The battery will last up to 10 or 11 hours when the screen is left on constantly, if the brightness level is kept at the lowest setting. The BATTERY is a 3.7v LITHIUM ION POLYMER (research told me that these are the best for holding a charge the longest) & recharges fully in just a few hours. Four AA batteries keep the nursery unit working in a power failure, a nice plus I didn't find in other monitors. The parent unit has BUILT IN FOOT RESTS to make it stand up. Unlike other monitors, it does NOT have a clip to wear it on your clothing, but I don't miss this option. It has up to 1000 ft. range OUTDOORS or 150 FT. RANGE INDOORS, according to the manual. I tested the outdoor range & walked down the road to my neighbor's house before getting an out of range alert. V Tech's digital transmission provides superior sound quality with no interference by using a Frequency Hopping Digital Spread Spectrum System that automatically changes channels between 52 of them to eliminate any interference. This system is also beneficial for receiving ultimate privacy & security by encrypting your monitor's video & audio transmissions so they are not seen or heard through other monitors within range of yours. Knowing this fact alone was a high selling point for me to decide to buy a V Tech Safe & Sound Monitor. So far, I've not been disappointed that I did! I typed in all CAPS the features that are not listed on Walmart's description list of this product.

Was this review helpful? (113) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
caring4mom
Jourdanton, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worth It!
4/11/2012

Customer review by jademkf

5.0 stars 4/11/2012 by jademkf
by jademkf

I received a very cheap Graco monitor at my shower and I used that for a while, but I had to keep it plugged in and the static was horrible. I researched other monitors and this was the best price for all the best options. I absolutely love this monitor. The parent unit is portable, it tells you, like a cell phone, when you're getting out of range. It comes with a rechargeable battery, tells you the temp of the room and my son loves the lullabies. My absolute favorite thing about this monitor is the sound. There's minimum static and when the baby is asleep it completely shuts off the sound and as soon as the baby makes a noise it comes back on. My nights have gotten so much better since I bought it.

Was this review helpful? (58) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jademkf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great monitor for the price
4/17/2012

Customer review by ryansmomplusboy2

4.0 stars 4/17/2012 by ryansmomplusboy2
by ryansmomplusboy2

I purchused this (for newborn) along with a second camera for my (2yrs old) toddlers room. I installed the camera in the toddlers room in the top corner of the room so i could watch him play and sleep, the video quality is not that great in the dark from that far away. The camera in the babys room is much closer the bed and has a better picture in the dark. I love the option to talk to the children, I can allow my toddler to play in his room alone. The distance it went was not 1000 feet from inside the house to outside it was more like 300ft i believe the 1000 feet is only in open space but it does work every where in my home. I would recommend this product if you are on a tight budget, i have seen a more expenisve ($199) video monitor that had higher quality video, you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ryansmomplusboy2
Lexington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I suppose its a good monitor if you have 1 child
12/21/2012

Customer review by Joliving4Jesus

1.0 stars 12/21/2012 by Joliving4Jesus
by Joliving4Jesus

The whole reason I purchased this monitor was to monitor 3 children at once, I am expecting twins in 2 months and also have a 4 year old I want to monitor, this monitor claims to be able to monitor up to 4 kids at once but the thing is, you can't hear them! If your in multi mode, it goes completely silent and does not alert you if one of the children is crying, it just flashes words at the top of the screen that says "sound detected on camera 1, 2 or 3"...completely worthless if your sound to sleep, I have to now return these, I bought the parent unit and 3 camera's, but its no good to monitor more than 1 kid, what kind of sorry design is that?

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Joliving4Jesus
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this product
10/25/2012

Customer review by zdubb

5.0 stars 10/25/2012 by zdubb
by zdubb

I was originally looking for a camera that panned. Then I ran across this camera that had lots of great options and was affordable. I decided to give it a try and was prepared to return it if I didn't like it. I am very happy with my purchase. This camera allows me to see what my little one is doing and helps me decide whether I need to go in or not. This was my first camera so I don't have anything to compare it to but the picture is clear day or night. Because the camera doesn't pan, the zoom feature is limited. If your baby is laying in the corner of the crib, the zoom may only zoom in on his feet or nothing at all. One feature I love is that when baby is quiet, you don't hear white noise. When the monitor picks up sound, the sound kicks back in. (If you run a white noise machine in the room, this feature doesn't work even if you turn the sensitivity all the way down.) I can see what I need to see, I'm very satisfied with this product and it saves me trips to the bedroom to check on him. Great purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zdubb
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Monitor with solid sound and OK video
8/20/2012

Customer review by Brotherrewd

4.0 stars 8/20/2012 by Brotherrewd
by Brotherrewd
Walmart associate

This is the first video monitor we've used. My family has bought two different Audio-only monitors, so this is more a compare and contrast. Like: The setup is dead easy. Just plug it in, turn on the base station, wait for it to sync and away you go. The infrared LED's are pretty cool. They light up the area nicely without being visible to the baby. The sound is good - - Not great, but good. I like that it has a sound bar indicator across the top to give an indication of the volume that's being shouted in the baby's room. The best sound we've gotten is from the Sony monitor I've linked below. So-So: Video quality: I know that it's not a full-video cam, but the resolution is really rough. The zoom feature is neat, but all you really end up seeing is a bunch of grey-scale blotches. All that said, it does give you a sense of where the baby is, and how much they are moving around. Don't Like: Nothing. Like I said, it's a solid unit with good all around performance.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brotherrewd
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Do not buy
10/4/2012

Customer review by Thomas1202

1.0 stars 10/4/2012 by Thomas1202
by Thomas1202

I had my first monitor for about 3 months. After 3 months passed the battery capacity just seemed to drop off from almost 12 hours to barely 1. A couple weeks after that there was a problem with the parent monitor where the screen wouldn't stop flickering as well as major interference in the with the sound. I returned the monitor with no problem and then ordered another on-line. I received my second monitor a couple days ago and already returned it due to the following. As soon as I plugged both parts in it linked like it should have, but there was no video and the sound was very choppy at best. I went through all the troubleshooting procedures and nothing helped for about an hour. (Un-pairing and re-pairing the camera) Upon trying to re-pair the camera it would only try to pair for about 1/2 a second and then stop. I called vtech customer support and waited on hold for almost an hour until I got help. They were useless to say the least, all they could tell me was the same stuff that could find in the manual that comes with the unit. The only way I would recommend you buy this unit is if Wal-Mart carries it in store because with the amount of problems I had with mine you're probably going to have to take it back to the store and return it a couple times. I had to wait almost a week to get my second one just for it to be broken. It was good while it lasted, but 3 months isn't worth $100 in my honest opinion.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thomas1202
Ballwin, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Monitor (best I've owned)
6/8/2012

Customer review by wlmtreview

4.0 stars 6/8/2012 by wlmtreview
by wlmtreview

BACKGROUND Had only had this monitor for about 2 to 3 month so can’t speak to its durability. I’m currently on my six monitor so I have some experience with these – unfortunately. Here’s what I’ve owned with most recent on top: VTech Safe Sound 2 4GHz Full ColorVideo and Audio Monitor {favorite so far but only had it for 3 months} Summer Infant Secure Sight HandheldColor Video Monitor {mediocre} Levana - Deluxe Digital Video Baby Monitor (x2) {had two, they both broke within 6 to 9 months} Levana - BABYVIEW20 {it broke after about 1.5 years} Sony babyTalk (or something) {this one is sound only. Had it for 3 years and still works great. Good sound quality} ?? forget model {brought it home and range was really limited} THOUGHTS Good features, good quality picture/sound, and good physical design. I'd recommend it. I’ve been through various monitors and in comparison, the features and quality on this one are very good for the price. I just hope it doesn’t break. We’ll see. Video quality is pretty good – for a baby monitor. If this is your first monitor, lower your expectations. It has zoom feature which is useful sometimes. But it is digital zoom, not optical so it will be grainy. I has a sound activated screen if that interests you. Probably saves on battery life if you’re off the charger. Sound quality is pretty good. You can turn the sound all the way off (unbelievably, you can’t do this with all monitors). You can also turn off sound but turn on a vibration mode so that monitor will vibrate if sound occurs. Great feature. (or have both vibration and sound on like we do). You can also set the sound sensitivity so that you only hear sound at higher levels. Great feature as we have a sound maker in the room so don’t want to hear that all the time, just sound activated when baby cries (or loud truck goes by). The thermometer is a really nice feature, I think. You can have up to four cameras on one unit. Nice feature since additional cameras are only like $50 so cheaper than buying separate unit. Plus only one unit to carry around. Battery life. I haven’t gone more than about 2.5 hours with it off the charger so I don’t know just how long it will last. Range seems reasonable. No problem in the house (two story). I can outside, I’ll guess around 50 feet from the camera unit before it starts to loose signal. What I’d like to see changed. 1) While in multi-camera mode you cannot hear sound. You can only see the words “Sound Detected” on the screen, and feel/hear the monitor vibrate (if you set it to do so). Preferable I’d like to be able to hear babies in any room crying. 2) Temperature will max out at 87 (or something, I forget). Why limit this? If the room is hotter, which in the summer happens, I want to know. 3) While in multi-camera mode with only two camera the screen is split into 4ths, not 1/2s. Why? I want a bigger view not needlessly smaller. 4) the mounting bracket gave a decent amount of flexibility on where you can put it but needs a universal joint type swivel.

Was this review helpful? (34) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wlmtreview
Southern CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good deal - Good monitor
5/30/2012

Customer review by LLCLEM

5.0 stars 5/30/2012 by LLCLEM
by LLCLEM

This monitor is a great deal for a video monitor. It works great. The screen has a good pictures both in light and dark situations. The voice activation works very well. I have really enjoyed the intercom feature and see it coming in very handy next week when my child gets moved to a big kid bed, not to mention being able to talk to my husband when he is the the baby room without having to yell across the house. I have no complaints about this monitor and have infact bought another one for my next child due in July.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LLCLEM
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/30/2012

Customer review by Sp0712

4.0 stars 5/30/2012 by Sp0712
by Sp0712

This is a good monitor but the picture quality is nowhere NEAR what the picture shows. It really looks black and white to me and is not as detailed as the picture shows. I mean its good enough to see your child....put it this way - sometimes we're not sure if his eyes are open or closed - but it serves the purpose.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sp0712
Claxton,GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 241 total reviews
1-20 of 241 reviews