Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 155 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

155 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

155 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
115
4 stars
35
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 153 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 153 total reviews
1-20 of 153 reviews
12/6/2012

Customer review by toldusew29

5.0 stars 12/6/2012 by toldusew29
by toldusew29

I thought it would not meet my expectations, but boy was I wrong. Great rod and reel combo for the price. Casting it is so very easy. I would recommend this for someone who has never used a baitcast reel.

Was this review helpful? (47) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
toldusew29
Jeanerette, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Longtime Fisherman, first baitcaster
7/10/2014

Customer review by gkott78

5.0 stars 7/10/2014 by gkott78
by gkott78

I've been fishing spinning rods for over 20 years, but recently had interest in getting a baitcaster. I planned on getting the KVD combo, but the store has this one marked down (in error I believe, but they honored the tagged price) so I couldn't pass it up. I'm also testing out braided lines for the first time, so it's a complete learning experience. If your new to baitcasters, take your time and learn how to set it up properly for each lure you attach. Choose line wisely, and make sure to get heavy enough line. I'm running 30# braid (which has an 8lb test dia) and it gets tricky. If the drag is set too tight, the braid will dig into the spool and can cause backlashes if your not careful. This is not the reel's fault, this is user error. I'd probably recommend running 12# flouro or mono line if your new to these to learn, much easier to handle. That being said, after one day of use and a lot of practice I've got this down. The reel is smooth, casts well, and seems durable. Rod and reel combo is balanced well and very comfortable in the hand. Good response, without feeling flimsy. There are better combo's out there I'm sure, but for the price this one is hard to beat. Still going to get the KVD combo, but this is a great starter and I'd recommend it to anyone new to baitcasters.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gkott78
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Abu Garcia Black Max Baitcaster Combo
9/5/2014

Customer review by Woods88

5.0 stars 9/5/2014 by Woods88
by Woods88

I love it it's really awesome! Great breaks and I put Power pro braid on it and it's flawless.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Woods88
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
nice piece for the price
2/8/2014

Customer review by ralphnherbie

4.0 stars 2/8/2014 by ralphnherbie
by ralphnherbie

this is a beautiful rig, hope it works as good as it looks. And the price was very reasonable.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ralphnherbie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
best present yet
12/6/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/6/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I got one christmas of 10 and I have been using it ever since. Now I have caught more and larger fish where i probably would have lost them if I had been useing what I had before I got this combo. It was the best present yet.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Combo
6/9/2012

Customer review by Salt fisherman

5.0 stars 6/9/2012 by Salt fisherman
by Salt fisherman

I have had this combo for a month now and it has been doing really well fishing in saltwater. I fish with it probably about 4 times a week and it's a great piece of work.

Salt fisherman
Port Lavaca, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
First yet the best
5/11/2012

Customer review by Outdoorsman88

5.0 stars 5/11/2012 by Outdoorsman88
by Outdoorsman88

I'm 13 years old and I have been fishing since I was four. I got this awesome combo last year for my first bait caster and I learned how to use a bait caster with it in my backyard pool. This is my first fishing session with it and I've already reeled in 2 two pound and 1 five pound largemouth bass. Love the combo now I've got my eyes on the bcx combo which I plan to get very shortly.

Outdoorsman88
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BMAX THE GREATEST YET??
12/29/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/29/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I believe so! this is the best combo on the market! great with the MH rod for bass/walleye... just cant beat this deal!...do not keep browsing the web anymore! just click CHECKOUT!! BUY ONE NOW! AND BE AMAZED!!!!! you can also cast lighter lures with less backlash, (i am a beginner with baitcast) i have found that other reels with lighter lures were very difficult for me to throw but not with blackmax...

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Combo For The Price
5/4/2012

Customer review by RobLofva

5.0 stars 5/4/2012 by RobLofva
by RobLofva

I just started fishing again. First time in well over 12 years. I bought myself and my wife this combo. It was very easy to use and within 3 cast had a small mouth bass on the line. Takes alittle getting used to the smooth open face aspect of a baitcaster but I have been very pleased with the performance and the ease of casting.

RobLofva
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
amazing combo!!
5/2/2012

Customer review by shut up and fish!!

5.0 stars 5/2/2012 by shut up and fish!!
by shut up and fish!!

this is a amazing rod and ver affordble. Ive had mine about 2 weeks i have had the first little problem with it, well except the first time used it i didnt get a bite but thats not a problem with rod, haha. Im thinkin about buying another one! its a great rod for throwing a worm, spinner bait, topwaters, etc... If they mad this rod in a 7'6" flippin stick id own atleast 2. i love fishing with this rod its a really smooth rod to throw and retrieve the smallies dont have a chance once their on, their on, with this rod. haha. i have a revo too and i wouldnt trade the black max for another revo.. so far abu garcia hasnt let me down. id rather have a abugarcia than i would a g-loomis or any other rod out there. since i really got big on bass fishing and getting into tournament fishing ive really loved the way abu garcias rods on reels perform, i want good quality gear that i can trust and rely on, and i can put all my trust in abu's rods and reels when im in the middle of a big tournament. ive noticed that to me the abu reels perform the best with about 10-12lb basspro excel line and the spinnin reels work great with around 6to8lb bass pro excel line. if you are thinking about purchasing a baitcasting rod i would recomend this rod to you anyday of the year.

shut up and fish!!
east tennessee
the best combo i have
5/8/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/8/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

i bought the blackmax combo this year and its the best one i own abu garcia is the best my next buy is the silvermax

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Don't Fear trying A Baitcast Reel
7/29/2012

Customer review by Kckurazz

5.0 stars 7/29/2012 by Kckurazz
by Kckurazz

After hearing all the war stories from family and friends I never would try a baitcast reel even though I always wanted to. I ran across this combo earlier this year and just hade to buy it. This combo is so easy to master because of the features are such good quallity like the Mag Trax Brake system and lightweight feel (not to mention really good looking to) that I couldn't imagine fishing with anything less than a Abu Garcia Low Profile Baitcast Reel. I will say this the combo is so good that I now have a MGX/Villian Combo to go with it. Think about it the bottom end product is so good it sold me on the top end product if that doesn't say it all nothing does. Thanks Abu Garcia you have changed fishing for me forever with this combo.

Kckurazz
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
black max
7/31/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/31/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

this is the first baitcast reel that i have owned and it was easy to learn to use . i have caught alot of bass with this rod and reel and i love the action . i plan on buying some more to keep rigged with alot of different thing thanks abu garcia

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Rod Snapped
9/7/2012

Customer review by Rickimaro

5.0 stars 9/7/2012 by Rickimaro
by Rickimaro

It is a great combo for the money. I caught a five pound lunker largemouth on this and it performs great. I wad kayaking with my uncle and cousin and I flipped the kayak and my combo was gone... I was so mad but my uncle walked in the water found it and pulle it out and it still performs like a charm. Because of my own stupidity I opened my car door when getting out from fishing and I closed the door on my rod and 6 inches snapped off the rod. So I'm not mad at Abu Garcia for this but the rod is very stiff and I question if it is to stiff. Anyways I put the reel on a different rod and I love it. Great combo but pair reel with a different rod.

Rickimaro
Black Creek, Wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great combo
7/24/2014

Customer review by Hank714

5.0 stars 7/24/2014 by Hank714
by Hank714

Great combo for the money!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hank714
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
ABU GARCIA BLACK MAX. WHAT ELSE IS THERE TO SAY!!!
9/8/2014

Customer review by creekmanbass

5.0 stars 9/8/2014 by creekmanbass
by creekmanbass

Best combo you can get for under 100$. can't go wrong.OUT PERFORMS MOST 300$ COMBOS

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
creekmanbass
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awsome
6/14/2015

Customer review by RicanOne

5.0 stars 6/14/2015 by RicanOne
by RicanOne

Good

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RicanOne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great product
6/26/2015

Customer review by jerry

5.0 stars 6/26/2015 by jerry
by jerry

Nothing

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jerry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great rod and reel
6/30/2015

Customer review by Jb1986

5.0 stars 6/30/2015 by Jb1986
by Jb1986

I'd buy another. It's smooth casting and excellent

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jb1986
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great rod and reel!
9/27/2014

Customer review by Doc131

5.0 stars 9/27/2014 by Doc131
by Doc131

Love this combo! Well made and balanced! I have the black max with the medium/hard rod. Caught a 8 pound bass with little difficulty!

Doc131
Braidwood, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 153 total reviews
1-20 of 153 reviews