Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 157 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

157 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

157 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
116
4 stars
35
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 155 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 155 total reviews
1-20 of 155 reviews
Abu Garcia Black Max Baitcaster Combo
9/5/2014

Customer review by Woods88

5.0 stars 9/5/2014 by Woods88
by Woods88
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love it it's really awesome! Great breaks and I put Power pro braid on it and it's flawless.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Woods88
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Longtime Fisherman, first baitcaster
7/10/2014

Customer review by gkott78

5.0 stars 7/10/2014 by gkott78
by gkott78

I've been fishing spinning rods for over 20 years, but recently had interest in getting a baitcaster. I planned on getting the KVD combo, but the store has this one marked down (in error I believe, but they honored the tagged price) so I couldn't pass it up. I'm also testing out braided lines for the first time, so it's a complete learning experience. If your new to baitcasters, take your time and learn how to set it up properly for each lure you attach. Choose line wisely, and make sure to get heavy enough line. I'm running 30# braid (which has an 8lb test dia) and it gets tricky. If the drag is set too tight, the braid will dig into the spool and can cause backlashes if your not careful. This is not the reel's fault, this is user error. I'd probably recommend running 12# flouro or mono line if your new to these to learn, much easier to handle. That being said, after one day of use and a lot of practice I've got this down. The reel is smooth, casts well, and seems durable. Rod and reel combo is balanced well and very comfortable in the hand. Good response, without feeling flimsy. There are better combo's out there I'm sure, but for the price this one is hard to beat. Still going to get the KVD combo, but this is a great starter and I'd recommend it to anyone new to baitcasters.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gkott78
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/6/2012

Customer review by toldusew29

5.0 stars 12/6/2012 by toldusew29
by toldusew29
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I thought it would not meet my expectations, but boy was I wrong. Great rod and reel combo for the price. Casting it is so very easy. I would recommend this for someone who has never used a baitcast reel.

Was this review helpful? (50) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
toldusew29
Jeanerette, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great combo
11/29/2015

Customer review by itsogood

5.0 stars 11/29/2015 by itsogood
by itsogood

great combo

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
itsogood
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Black max low profile outstanding review
3/5/2015

Customer review by Trusso04

4.0 stars 3/5/2015 by Trusso04
by Trusso04

I bought this product last summer and it was my go to. Everything about it was just great. The bearing system in it was fantastic. I only birds nested my braided line once or twice. The reel is overall my favorite reel to use for any occasion. It's so smooth with the casts and is dead accurate. The accuracy also has to do with the rod. Without out the rod the performance of the reel would be 7 out 10 but with the rod it's a 10 out 10. The eyes they used were great. My line goes threw them without any drag so I always get the distance cast of necessary. This combo set is good for bait fishing, hard plastics and soft plastics. I use it for everything. I have two other bait casters and they just don't add up to what the black max combo is. I love this reel and rod together or apart. I tell all my friends about it and wish everyone had one!

Trusso04
Mount Airy, MD, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Alright
9/22/2015

Customer review by john

3.0 stars 9/22/2015 by john
by john

It was fine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
john
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't Fear trying A Baitcast Reel
7/29/2012

Customer review by Kckurazz

5.0 stars 7/29/2012 by Kckurazz
by Kckurazz

After hearing all the war stories from family and friends I never would try a baitcast reel even though I always wanted to. I ran across this combo earlier this year and just hade to buy it. This combo is so easy to master because of the features are such good quallity like the Mag Trax Brake system and lightweight feel (not to mention really good looking to) that I couldn't imagine fishing with anything less than a Abu Garcia Low Profile Baitcast Reel. I will say this the combo is so good that I now have a MGX/Villian Combo to go with it. Think about it the bottom end product is so good it sold me on the top end product if that doesn't say it all nothing does. Thanks Abu Garcia you have changed fishing for me forever with this combo.

Kckurazz
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
amazing combo!!
5/2/2012

Customer review by shut up and fish!!

5.0 stars 5/2/2012 by shut up and fish!!
by shut up and fish!!

this is a amazing rod and ver affordble. Ive had mine about 2 weeks i have had the first little problem with it, well except the first time used it i didnt get a bite but thats not a problem with rod, haha. Im thinkin about buying another one! its a great rod for throwing a worm, spinner bait, topwaters, etc... If they mad this rod in a 7'6" flippin stick id own atleast 2. i love fishing with this rod its a really smooth rod to throw and retrieve the smallies dont have a chance once their on, their on, with this rod. haha. i have a revo too and i wouldnt trade the black max for another revo.. so far abu garcia hasnt let me down. id rather have a abugarcia than i would a g-loomis or any other rod out there. since i really got big on bass fishing and getting into tournament fishing ive really loved the way abu garcias rods on reels perform, i want good quality gear that i can trust and rely on, and i can put all my trust in abu's rods and reels when im in the middle of a big tournament. ive noticed that to me the abu reels perform the best with about 10-12lb basspro excel line and the spinnin reels work great with around 6to8lb bass pro excel line. if you are thinking about purchasing a baitcasting rod i would recomend this rod to you anyday of the year.

shut up and fish!!
east tennessee
Hog turner
3/5/2015

Customer review by sensei09

5.0 stars 3/5/2015 by sensei09
by sensei09

When I bought this combo I was not sure I would care for it, but when I picked it up it had a great feel to it. So the true test is out on the water searching for old bucket mouth. The ease in which it cast made for a great day no back lashes and when I set the hook the drag work like a winch. I have always used these products since 1974 when I started fishing bass tournaments here in NC. At that time it was the Ambassador 5000C. By the way I still have it and it is in fine working order as well. I wish I could afford one of these new reels I am sure they are awesome. Oh did I say that I pulled in a 10.29 large mouth last July. If you are on a budget then you can't go wrong with this out fit.

sensei09
North Carolina, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
nice piece for the price
2/8/2014

Customer review by ralphnherbie

4.0 stars 2/8/2014 by ralphnherbie
by ralphnherbie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

this is a beautiful rig, hope it works as good as it looks. And the price was very reasonable.

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ralphnherbie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Rod Snapped
9/7/2012

Customer review by Rickimaro

5.0 stars 9/7/2012 by Rickimaro
by Rickimaro

It is a great combo for the money. I caught a five pound lunker largemouth on this and it performs great. I wad kayaking with my uncle and cousin and I flipped the kayak and my combo was gone... I was so mad but my uncle walked in the water found it and pulle it out and it still performs like a charm. Because of my own stupidity I opened my car door when getting out from fishing and I closed the door on my rod and 6 inches snapped off the rod. So I'm not mad at Abu Garcia for this but the rod is very stiff and I question if it is to stiff. Anyways I put the reel on a different rod and I love it. Great combo but pair reel with a different rod.

Rickimaro
Black Creek, Wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great combo
6/26/2015

Customer review by Ramiro52

5.0 stars 6/26/2015 by Ramiro52
by Ramiro52

Great rod!!! I use this rod with braided and mono and I used with 10lb line with a bullet weight on a brush hog. Catches fish and is very durable

Ramiro52
Sacramento County, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Smooth rod
6/28/2015

Customer review by Levi 24

5.0 stars 6/28/2015 by Levi 24
by Levi 24

This rod is great. All I put on it was 15 pound and it works great never bird nested

Levi 24
Gretna, NE, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
GREAT COMBO....but i feel theres a flaw
3/6/2015

Customer review by HookemAndCookem

4.0 stars 3/6/2015 by HookemAndCookem
by HookemAndCookem

I had this combo for probably 4 weeks at most 5 and it was phenomenal. I loved it!! But i went to the creek one day and threw a few casts with a small worm and 1/4 oz. weight on it. I went to set the hook and the lure came out the fishes mouth and out of the water and happened to hit the rod and it broke the rod!! I was very disappointed! I don't think it was the weight that did it (of course that has a factor in the equation) but i feel that there may have been a flaw in the rod that caused it to break so easily. Overall it was a great rod and i would definitely buy one again!.

HookemAndCookem
North Carolina, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Awesome Combo!!
3/24/2015

Customer review by Riverado21

4.0 stars 3/24/2015 by Riverado21
by Riverado21

I bought this rod last year and used it very little and it was one of the best combos I've ever bought. BUT....one day i went fishing and i went to set the hook and the lure came back and hit the rod about 1/4 away from the tip and it broke!! It didn't hit the rod hard at all i thought! so good thing that Abu Garcia has a Warranty!:) So thank you Abu Garcia for not letting me just lose my money!! But i figured there may have been a flaw in the rod i purchased or something but other than that i loved it and would definitely purchase one again.

Riverado21
North Carolina, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great combo better price
3/25/2015

Customer review by Jeanisedd

5.0 stars 3/25/2015 by Jeanisedd
by Jeanisedd

I purchased this combo with low expectations and was impressed. It didn't take long to set the reel to my liking and have caught a great number of fish on toledo bend during the spawn with this combo. I will be getting another to have baited with another of my favorite lures so I don't have to retire so often. This combo works extremely wheel with what ever bait that I am using. Works good with my preferred line of choice, 14 lb test mono. I would recommend this combo to anyone looking for a affordable rod and reel.

Jeanisedd
Orange, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
best bang for the buck
3/11/2015

Customer review by Atoal1233

5.0 stars 3/11/2015 by Atoal1233
by Atoal1233

Purchased this rod/reel combo two years ago after a fishing demo cam to town. Yes back lashes will happen, don't get upset. It's your fault and not the reels. Once some basics are learned this thing casts a mile! At first I wasn't too impressed with the rod, however my tune has changed after some pretty impressive snags.... and fish. I am planning on buying another Black Max combo this summer so I do think have to keep switching out baits. You will be hard pressed to find this much performance at this price point elsewhere.

Atoal1233
North Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
great value on a quality product
3/27/2015

Customer review by Big Murf

5.0 stars 3/27/2015 by Big Murf
by Big Murf

I purchased my black max about a year and a half ago and it has done nothing but perform for me. Ive hooked some pretty big black drum and bull redfish that i thought would have destroyed my pole and reel but ive gotten the fish in every time without any problems. I already had multiple ambassador reels that have never let me down either i just wanted a lighter action rod and reel but i seem to be catching large fish on it as well. My next purchase will be the black pro for sure.

Big Murf
New Orleans, LA, United States
Gender:Male
great rod and reel combo
3/8/2015

Customer review by garry

5.0 stars 3/8/2015 by garry
by garry

Ive been using the black max for about 4 years now ive actually got two of them. They are great for flipping and casting what ever im using that day. The gear ratio is just right for my style of fish ive also got the silver max bait caster combo great price for what you can get out of that real simple to clean and lube up have had the blaxo and silver win some big tournaments for me. Abu is the only rods and reels I fish with hands down the best ive used in all my years keep up the good work

garry
LaGrange, IN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
My first bait caster.
3/11/2015

Customer review by Jenko

5.0 stars 3/11/2015 by Jenko
by Jenko

I started bass fishing about four years ago, so I needed to buy and learn how to use a bait caster. I went down to my local tackle shop and picked this combo up. I asked the salesman if it was a good set up to learn with, and he said "absolutely", he even took me out to the parking lot and worked with me on using it for a half an hour. I have several other set ups now, but I always have my Black Max with me. It's a great product and I'm now a lifelong Abu customer.

Jenko
Moline, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 155 total reviews
1-20 of 155 reviews