Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 84 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

84 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

84 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
58
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
1-20 of 84 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 84 total reviews
1-20 of 84 reviews
Awesome Rod/Reel for the budget Angler
4/16/2013

Customer review by CoyoteSlayer77

5.0 stars 4/16/2013 by CoyoteSlayer77
by CoyoteSlayer77

I'm fairly new to baitcasters and I used to have a Abu Garcia Ambassador. Then finally one day it broke a nd I was out of a baitcaster. I had $90 and I happened to be at Walmart when I saw this. I was river fising and reeled a 13 lb bass out of the weeds. The casting is great and it retrieves fast. The rod has quite the back bone. The flipping switch I never use because it always screws me up. Overall, Its a great rod for the price.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CoyoteSlayer77
Southern WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/23/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/23/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I am a kinda beginner bass fisherman and I needed a good starter baitcaster. I got the rod today and caught 7 bass all weighing no less than 2 lbs. Great reel speed and very durable rod, and i plan on fishing with it more and more. Great deal

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Missing a part so will have to return and exchange
8/6/2013

Customer review by Fishingnutt

3.0 stars 8/6/2013 by Fishingnutt
by Fishingnutt

Got for grandson's 11th birthday. Opened on 8/4 and part (drag adjustment) is missing. Will have to return for a replacement.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fishingnutt
Iuka, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
amazing right out of the box
6/19/2012

Customer review by wanttobebassin'96

5.0 stars 6/19/2012 by wanttobebassin'96
by wanttobebassin'96

Just got my combo today so no water time yet but it is very balanced and incredibly light. The reel is also very smooth.

wanttobebassin'96
Altoona,IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
First Baitcaster in 15 years...Great Purchase!
10/12/2011

Customer review by dmix35t

5.0 stars 10/12/2011 by dmix35t
by dmix35t

I've stayed away from baitcasters for the past 15 years, due to a bad experience and I've used spinning reels ever since. I figured it was about time that I gave baitcasters another shot. I did my research to make sure I was getting the best combo for my money. I went back and forth between two different combo sets and finally decided on the Silver Max combo. The gear ratio, balance, and smoothness won me over. I plan on adding more Abu Garcia products to my fishing arsenal.

dmix35t
Mclean, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
CAN'T GO WRONG!!!!!!
4/13/2012

Customer review by BASSMAN

5.0 stars 4/13/2012 by BASSMAN
by BASSMAN

BOUGHT IT TODAY AND WEANT DOWN TO THE LOCAL LAKE. CASTS SMOOTH. GREAT RETRIVE. MY DAD BEGS ME TO USE IT.

BASSMAN
MONCKS CORNER,SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT PACKAGE!
7/26/2012

Customer review by roadwarrior

5.0 stars 7/26/2012 by roadwarrior
by roadwarrior

Pulled a 2.5 lb bass out of the brush. Nice & smooth crank bait casting using 20# braid. The rod tip is soft enough to feel the bite and has good backbone when setting the hook. Currently using a 6'6" which helps with rod storage. Will buy a 7' next purchase for drop shots and jigging. Very pleased with performance and flipping switch on reel. Great value for the price!

roadwarrior
Amarillo, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worth every penny
9/21/2014

Customer review by BruceSV

5.0 stars 9/21/2014 by BruceSV
by BruceSV

This is my first reel and and love every bit of it. Casts smooth, good distance, ofcourse I've had some backlashes in the beginning but they were all easy to "unknot". This reel has made me an Abu guy all the way.

BruceSV
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome reel.
1/1/2015

Customer review by SwimbaitFreak

5.0 stars 1/1/2015 by SwimbaitFreak
by SwimbaitFreak

Perfect reel.I couldn't cast lures that weighed below 4 grams on my previous baitcaster,but with the silvermax,casting micro lures is easy.Skipping,flipping and pitching lures are not a problem for me anymore.I usually fish everyday (avg.of 6 hours a day) and in any weather.The performance of the reel is no different from the first time I used it. The mag trax breaking system is great too.My number of backlashes has decreased. The ratio is perfect for my needs as I use this one reel for all applications.The flipping switch makes pitching baits much easier.There's a lot more I would like to say about this,but I'm in a rush here. The reel looks great too,feels great to palm.I would recommend this if you are searching for your first baitcaster reel,or even if you are an experienced baitcaster user,you should try this.

SwimbaitFreak
Malaysia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Awesome
2/4/2015

Customer review by tvna3

5.0 stars 2/4/2015 by tvna3
by tvna3

Pretty amazing reel. I have used Abu reels for years. Still have five Black Max and three Pro Max that were bought back in the early 90's. This reel fits well in the hand, cast like a dream and is a very smooth operator. Liked it so well I just bought two more and two Pro Max2's. By far the ease of use and level of craftsmanship are top notch. Price is great for this quality of reel

tvna3
Illinois, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
best beginners baitcaster!
3/5/2015

Customer review by youngblood

5.0 stars 3/5/2015 by youngblood
by youngblood

I've had this reel for over 2 years now, and absolutely love it. The Silvermax is amazing. I learned to cast baitcasters with this reel and continue to use it all the time. I've thrown everything from 1/2 oz jigs to weightless wacky rigged senkos. Seems amazingly fluid.

youngblood
Charlotte, NC, United States
Gender:Male
Smooth casting, easy adjustment, smooth retrieve.
3/5/2015

Customer review by Braven

5.0 stars 3/5/2015 by Braven
by Braven

I bought this reel a year ago and could not be happier with it. Easiest, smoothest casting reel I own.

Braven
Arkansas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
3/5/2015

Customer review by Ajk780

5.0 stars 3/5/2015 by Ajk780
by Ajk780

Smoothest reel I have ever owned! Lightweight and easy to cast! Favorite reel in my arsenal!

Ajk780
Mount Pleasant, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great features
3/5/2015

Customer review by BIG Brother

5.0 stars 3/5/2015 by BIG Brother
by BIG Brother

I bought this over a month ago and love it's ease and handling. The smoothness of it's operation is really great.

BIG Brother
Charlotte. NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
A reel jewel
3/5/2015

Customer review by PaBasser

5.0 stars 3/5/2015 by PaBasser
by PaBasser

This has been an outstanding reel for me. I have it paired with an Abu Garcia Vendetta rod. They look great together and perform magnificently.

PaBasser
Dillsburg, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Fantastic
3/5/2015

Customer review by Rickybobby

5.0 stars 3/5/2015 by Rickybobby
by Rickybobby

Without a doubt Abu Garcia is the best! Simply put the best value, quality, and performance. I will not buy any other casting reel.

Rickybobby
Nebraska, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Best combo for price!
3/5/2015

Customer review by bass912

5.0 stars 3/5/2015 by bass912
by bass912

I own 3 of these combos and have never had any issues at all with them. The silver max is probably one of the easiest casting reels out there. The flipping feature is awesome too! I can't say anything bad about this combo except my arm gets sore from catching all the fish on it!!:)

bass912
Wisconsin, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Workhorse combo!
3/6/2015

Customer review by Jake16

5.0 stars 3/6/2015 by Jake16
by Jake16

This is my go to combo while fishing for bass all over ohio. The rod has great action and the reel casts very smoothly with its 6 ball bearings. This rod has landed me some nice fish in my kayaking tournaments. I have even used this combo in saltwater for bluefish and Reds and it has no problems. For the price you can not beat this combo!

Jake16
Ohio, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
great value!
3/5/2015

Customer review by chrispy81

5.0 stars 3/5/2015 by chrispy81
by chrispy81

I bought this combo over 5 years ago and was really impressed with it . I o only paid 70 for the combo and got 5 great years out of it . I still use the rod, but have to fix anti reverse on the reel.

chrispy81
Oswego, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Abu Garcia Silver Max Combo
3/5/2015

Customer review by TonyG

5.0 stars 3/5/2015 by TonyG
by TonyG

I bought my first one about 2 years ago and everytime I turned around my one of my boys was using it. So I bought a second for a me one to be used as a worm rod. Now both were being used.... but not by me. So on their birthdays this past year we all now have this combo and we are ALL happy. Except they are both wanting a second rod.... Great purchase and awesome value. A fishing guide turned me on to this combo.... And the Hoodie is sweet!

TonyG
Emory, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 84 total reviews
1-20 of 84 reviews