Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 120 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

120 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

120 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
85
4 stars
23
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 120 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 120 total reviews
1-20 of 120 reviews
good overall reel for the money
5/30/2016

Customer review by Boost_N on Instagram

5.0 stars 5/30/2016 by Boost_N on Instagram
by Boost_N on Instagram

The reel is very good if you take the time to figure it out. Bird nested twice due to my own error, 30 yard cast every time lipped 9 LMB using crank and swim baits. The drag is not the greatest it takes some getting used mg used to.

Boost_N on Instagram
Reno, NV, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Awesome Rod/Reel for the budget Angler
4/16/2013

Customer review by CoyoteSlayer77

5.0 stars 4/16/2013 by CoyoteSlayer77
by CoyoteSlayer77

I'm fairly new to baitcasters and I used to have a Abu Garcia Ambassador. Then finally one day it broke a nd I was out of a baitcaster. I had $90 and I happened to be at Walmart when I saw this. I was river fising and reeled a 13 lb bass out of the weeds. The casting is great and it retrieves fast. The rod has quite the back bone. The flipping switch I never use because it always screws me up. Overall, Its a great rod for the price.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CoyoteSlayer77
Southern WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Silver is as Good as Gold
4/28/2016

Customer review by Bigcee12

4.0 stars 4/28/2016 by Bigcee12
by Bigcee12

I love my Silver max! Proud owner for three seasons! I use it as a bait reel and also as a lure chucker :) Love the design and especially the automagical bail engage. The magnetic brake is solid and the performance is definitely up to par to the Abu standard. I've owned the Black Max, Silver Max but ready for the Pro Max. Haven't made the purchase yet but maybe soon. I did just buy the STX Ambassaduer 6601. Haven't used it yet but fishing is just about to start her in Alaska. Report will come soon. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Bigcee12
Eagle River, Alaska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Love the right hand version
5/14/2016

Customer review by Bbarras85

3.0 stars 5/14/2016 by Bbarras85
by Bbarras85
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this on accident thinking it was right handed. The max line of reels are great though.

Bbarras85
Morgan City, LA, United States
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very smooth
5/14/2016

Customer review by nobody

5.0 stars 5/14/2016 by nobody
by nobody
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I received the real couple of weeks ago And I've been fishing once so far with it Very smooth very fast retrieve I love it

nobody
Slidell Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome for my first baitcaster!
4/16/2016

Customer review by DCooney346

5.0 stars 4/16/2016 by DCooney346
by DCooney346

I've never owned a baitcaster before and was a little nervous about purchasing one. I heard a lot of mixed reviews about this reel, but I said the heck with it and bought it anyway and am so glad I did!!! It is one of the best reels I've ever owned, I love the braking system and the way the line runs is so smooth I went out and bought a backup reel! I am so happy I decided to go with your product, you have a customer for life!!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

DCooney346
Boyertown, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great combo!
4/24/2016

Customer review by Emgrza

5.0 stars 4/24/2016 by Emgrza
by Emgrza

Great setup to learn how to use baitcaster! Solid rod, great reel! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Emgrza
Pasco, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Smooth cast
4/1/2016

Customer review by Angelis

5.0 stars 4/1/2016 by Angelis
by Angelis

I bought this reel last year about july after havi g so much trouble with my shimonu spinning 4000 ix. I got a recommandation for the abu garcia silver max bait caster and i am glad i listened. This reel has given me no trouble and best performance than any other reel i have used in the past. The casting is so smooth it takes little effort to control plus no tagles or kinks. I would recommend this reel or any other abu garcia reel. By far the best. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Angelis
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
4/4/2016

Customer review by Quentin

5.0 stars 4/4/2016 by Quentin
by Quentin

I actually own 2 silver Max's & I had them for almost 2 years now and they work amazing!!! I have 1 on a crank bait set up with the veritas 2.0 crankbait rod & the other on a frog set up with braid on the veritas 2.0 frog rod. They never let me down. Once I switched from quantum to Abu Garcia I became a better fisherman and after watching Kevin vandam lol but I just wanna say y'all are the best.!!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Quentin
Katy, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Low profile smooth casting and retrieve
4/10/2016

Customer review by Poultorg

5.0 stars 4/10/2016 by Poultorg
by Poultorg

I have bought plenty of reels but the Abu Garcia silver Max is the only real I will by now I use it for all my rods and baits. I own about seven of these reels and have not had one break on me. The Black Max is also a great reel as well. I would strongly recommend both reels for any Angler [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Poultorg
Schenectady, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great
4/14/2016

Customer review by Tonka

4.0 stars 4/14/2016 by Tonka
by Tonka

I've had this for a while now and I love it. It's pretty good for the price and the flipping switch on it works pretty good. I recommend this to everyone [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Tonka
Michigan, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Monster Catcher
4/10/2016

Customer review by Rpb19845

5.0 stars 4/10/2016 by Rpb19845
by Rpb19845

I have caught some Personal Best with this reel. It cast great and retrieves easy. So far I have enjoyed this reel over other baitcasters. It is my go to reel. I mostly fish for bass. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Rpb19845
Cincinnati, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great reel
4/11/2016

Customer review by Dwendelschafer

4.0 stars 4/11/2016 by Dwendelschafer
by Dwendelschafer

I bought my silver max about 3 months ago and it has helped me land some nice ones with the help of the varitos 2.0. Awesome rod too. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Dwendelschafer
Walker, LA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Worried at first
4/8/2016

Customer review by Southerndrawl23

5.0 stars 4/8/2016 by Southerndrawl23
by Southerndrawl23

I bought this a little while ago and when it arrived I was a little worried. I unknowingly ordered a left handed model and being right handed I was worried but after a few casts it felt natural. Smooth on cast and retrieve would recommend [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Southerndrawl23
Victoria, TX, United States
Gender:Male
Great reel!
4/13/2016

Customer review by ty21793

4.0 stars 4/13/2016 by ty21793
by ty21793

I bought this reel last year and have had nothing but good luck with it! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

ty21793
Panora, IA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
light smooth !
4/11/2016

Customer review by crankinstein

5.0 stars 4/11/2016 by crankinstein
by crankinstein

love the gen 3 max reels cast ahan mile reliable workhorse hadles rough fishing conditions [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

crankinstein
nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Very simple
4/4/2016

Customer review by Jaydog

4.0 stars 4/4/2016 by Jaydog
by Jaydog

I've bought a used silvermax, not much ware, I'm going on my 4th year using it. It's very simple to use and maintain, so long as you have minimal baitcaster experience works great with suffix 382 30lb and works nice with just about any rod, caught many muskies with it [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Jaydog
Rice Lake, WI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Love the flipping switch!
4/9/2016

Customer review by MCSxAllstar

4.0 stars 4/9/2016 by MCSxAllstar
by MCSxAllstar

I bought this a few months ago and have used it a ton! Beautifully designed and can't beat it for the value! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

MCSxAllstar
Williamson, WV, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good price for quality
4/7/2016

Customer review by MarkNarduzzi

5.0 stars 4/7/2016 by MarkNarduzzi
by MarkNarduzzi

I bought this as an impulse buy as I have seen a lot about Abu Garcia and after about a 2 years it still has not let me down.

MarkNarduzzi
Brighton, TN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Casts a mile
4/8/2016

Customer review by Capt bob

5.0 stars 4/8/2016 by Capt bob
by Capt bob

Great buy for the money,I have 9 on the boat Many features of more Expensive reels [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Capt bob
KuttawaKy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 120 total reviews
1-20 of 120 reviews