Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 94 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

94 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

94 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
67
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 94 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 94 total reviews
1-20 of 94 reviews
1/27/2016

Customer review by Ferg60

5.0 stars 1/27/2016 by Ferg60
by Ferg60
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've always loved your products they're top quality even for the lower end reels. Sadly they were lefty reels but I'm gonna adjust and go ambidextrous. But I say again you can't go wrong with any of your products thank you Abu Garcia.

Ferg60
Wisconsin, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Only Abu Garcia reel with a Flipping Switch!
1/3/2016

Customer review by Fish Pro

5.0 stars 1/3/2016 by Fish Pro
by Fish Pro

Thanks, Abu Garcia for having at least one low profile bait casting reel in your line that has a flipping switch.

Fish Pro
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
profile, spool speed, controlled cast
12/14/2015

Customer review by Captainwignfoot

5.0 stars 12/14/2015 by Captainwignfoot
by Captainwignfoot
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought one last year and after using it only one season was totally impressed. I have several Black Ambassador from the 60 and 70. This new Silver Max is just so much easier to use and more versatile as far as I'm concerned and every bit packed with the latest quality features. I liked it so much I just purchased two more; one for my son and one for my 14 year old grandson for Christmas. The grandson is already into casting rods and I know he will love his new real. He has already been asking me if he can throw mine when we go fishing. (He may be able to cast better that me!)

Captainwignfoot
Charlotte, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great little reel...
12/23/2015

Customer review by bts12

5.0 stars 12/23/2015 by bts12
by bts12
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Spark Reviewer - received free product

Low profile is so easy to handle. My wife has little hands and this makes it so easy for her to use. Smooth and tough, reel ratio is excellent.

bts12
boise, idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Spark Reviewer - received free product
The best.
12/24/2015

Customer review by NCBuck

5.0 stars 12/24/2015 by NCBuck
by NCBuck
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Spark Reviewer - received free product

What can I say. These are the best reels for the price anyone can buy.

NCBuck
Elizabeth City, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Awesome Rod/Reel for the budget Angler
4/16/2013

Customer review by CoyoteSlayer77

5.0 stars 4/16/2013 by CoyoteSlayer77
by CoyoteSlayer77

I'm fairly new to baitcasters and I used to have a Abu Garcia Ambassador. Then finally one day it broke a nd I was out of a baitcaster. I had $90 and I happened to be at Walmart when I saw this. I was river fising and reeled a 13 lb bass out of the weeds. The casting is great and it retrieves fast. The rod has quite the back bone. The flipping switch I never use because it always screws me up. Overall, Its a great rod for the price.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CoyoteSlayer77
Southern WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great reel!
11/10/2015

Customer review by Rustydrummer

5.0 stars 11/10/2015 by Rustydrummer
by Rustydrummer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my first bait caster, coming from using spinning reels. I ordered the lefty model, as I'm used to reeling lefty an working the rod with the right, and am really enjoying it. Took a little time to get the brakes dialed in, but it works like a charm. Definitely recommend. I'm sure there are better reels out there, but for the price, this thing seems buttery smooth.

Rustydrummer
NW Ark
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome reel
11/18/2015

Customer review by allenoak

5.0 stars 11/18/2015 by allenoak
by allenoak
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this reel about a month ago and I am loving it easy casting just a great reel

allenoak
Oak City, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Reel Deal!
10/31/2015

Customer review by NROD1221

5.0 stars 10/31/2015 by NROD1221
by NROD1221
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Casts far, it is very smooth and its smaller profile is a perfect fit for me. Cant wait to order a few more in a higher gear ratio. Great reel for a great price! Highly recommend this reel.

NROD1221
TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Outstanding reel for the money.
10/30/2015

Customer review by Steeler Fan

5.0 stars 10/30/2015 by Steeler Fan
by Steeler Fan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my second silver max purchase, first one is 10 years old, and still performs great!

Steeler Fan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This reel is not a flippin or pitichen reel.
10/23/2015

Customer review by gambler

1.0 stars 10/23/2015 by gambler
by gambler

A true flippin reel is totally operable with one hand. You do not have to turn the handle to engage the spool. Just release the thumb bar.

gambler
Kansas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
5/23/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/23/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I am a kinda beginner bass fisherman and I needed a good starter baitcaster. I got the rod today and caught 7 bass all weighing no less than 2 lbs. Great reel speed and very durable rod, and i plan on fishing with it more and more. Great deal

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fixed problem
5/23/2012

Customer review by Big Coffee

4.0 stars 5/23/2012 by Big Coffee
by Big Coffee

I posted a review previously concerning problems with my new silver max-2. I managed to fix the problems myself and now my two reels work flawlessly. The first problems was constant backlishing because a spacer was not installed at the factory. The second problem was that the handle and release button would become jammed sometimes. I dissassembled the reel and gave it a thorough cleaning, now it works very well. What I still don't like about the reel is that it doesnt seat firmly on most Abu Garcia rods of a comporable price and the rods the reels come with are not very sensitive. I created spacers from tackle box organizers which work pretty well. The quality of the handles need to be improved because they become loose after a few months of extensive use. I would recommend this reel for the average weekend angler and tournament fisherman--just clean the reel and avoid getting grit and grime near the working parts. I will recommend relocating the flipping swicth to a location less likely to be accidentally engaged during casting. Most people with big hands palm thier reels which makes it easy to make contact with the flipping switch.

Big Coffee
Cocoa Beach, FL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome reel.
1/1/2015

Customer review by SwimbaitFreak

5.0 stars 1/1/2015 by SwimbaitFreak
by SwimbaitFreak

Perfect reel.I couldn't cast lures that weighed below 4 grams on my previous baitcaster,but with the silvermax,casting micro lures is easy.Skipping,flipping and pitching lures are not a problem for me anymore.I usually fish everyday (avg.of 6 hours a day) and in any weather.The performance of the reel is no different from the first time I used it. The mag trax breaking system is great too.My number of backlashes has decreased. The ratio is perfect for my needs as I use this one reel for all applications.The flipping switch makes pitching baits much easier.There's a lot more I would like to say about this,but I'm in a rush here. The reel looks great too,feels great to palm.I would recommend this if you are searching for your first baitcaster reel,or even if you are an experienced baitcaster user,you should try this.

SwimbaitFreak
Malaysia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
my favorite rod
7/28/2015

Customer review by mattattack

5.0 stars 7/28/2015 by mattattack
by mattattack

I got this for my birthday and I picked it out I knew abu Garcia is really good so this is my worm rod

mattattack
Howe, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Truly an extremely versatile and durable combo.
3/17/2015

Customer review by bgbssbum

5.0 stars 3/17/2015 by bgbssbum
by bgbssbum

I have 6 combos in various size ranges that I use for all applications. These reels are very tough and yet smooth in operation. Powerful drag ( 28 pound Bighead Carp) on 10 lb. test and the 6'6" medium action Silver Max rod performed flawlessly. Ease of use with flipping mechanism and ability to handle various line types make this the perfect reel for the Pro or weekend angler. The price and option of left and right hand place this combo in the budget of all fisherman. Poles are sensitive in the reel seat to feel a lipless crankbait vibrate to hitting a log with a jig on bottom. Be assured you cannot go wrong with these outfits!!!

bgbssbum
Springfield, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
I don't recommend baitcasting for beginners
7/24/2015

Customer review by Survive1

3.0 stars 7/24/2015 by Survive1
by Survive1

Not the right product for me. I purchased a lot combo thinking that I could pick it up fairly quickly. This did not happen 1 out of 3 cast resulted in birds nesting. I gave this product a rating of 3 due to the fact that the quality of the reel and Rod looked and felt pretty solid.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Survive1
Would recommend to a friend? No
big preformance from a smal rod
5/6/2015

Customer review by vtrsean

5.0 stars 5/6/2015 by vtrsean
by vtrsean

i bought this rod to try the style of reel as over in northern ireland they are not common place I had originally thought that I would fish light with this perch bream etc but I was out fishing one day nothing was doing on the worm so went to dead bait for pike no sooner had the mackerel hit the water and settled that I was on, 30 mins later I landed this beauty 16lbs 4oz on such a small rod and never once felt like it was weak or fragile

vtrsean
Armagh, United Kingdom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
for its price it works verry well and casts great
6/9/2015

Customer review by Sebk

5.0 stars 6/9/2015 by Sebk
by Sebk

I bought mine a year ago and I use it for fishing on the river and catfishing it also works well bass fishing I am very pleased with it

Sebk
Wyoming, IA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
great quality and features
5/8/2015

Customer review by dhood

5.0 stars 5/8/2015 by dhood
by dhood

I bought this reel about a month ago and Ive been using it almost every day, it fits great in my hands, casts great, and very durable, its been bashed around in the bed of my truck, and so far shows no sign of damage. Its very easy to set up and use which is very good for someone new to baitcasters like me.

dhood
Decatur, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 94 total reviews
1-20 of 94 reviews