Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 263 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

263 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

263 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
202
4 stars
48
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 stars
5
1-20 of 262 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 262 total reviews
1-20 of 262 reviews
abu's black max is a winner at a great price!
12/6/2011

Customer review by igor

5.0 stars 12/6/2011 by igor
by igor

i used the black max last year for bass,muskie and northern and it held up great to whatever i could throw at it...i paired it up w/ 30lb braid and it cast a mile. it also had the lock down drag out power to drag the hogs out of the jungle. for the price this reel cant be beat! i look forward to buying another one to add to my deadly abu aresenal!

igor
central wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing no back lashes
1/13/2016

Customer review by Cstarr14

5.0 stars 1/13/2016 by Cstarr14
by Cstarr14
Spark Reviewer - received free product

Bought two I'm 13 and very into fishing they are my best reels and no problems and no back lashes

Cstarr14
Howard, Ohio, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Absolutely amazing!
4/29/2012

Customer review by BornToBeOutdoors

5.0 stars 4/29/2012 by BornToBeOutdoors
by BornToBeOutdoors

I just bought this reel last weekend and it has completely blown me away. I've picked up reels priced up to $130 and they didn't feel as smooth as this one. Amazing quality for a fraction of the price. Great for veteran bait cast users or beginners.

Was this review helpful? (51) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BornToBeOutdoors
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Amazing Reel Great Price
3/5/2015

Customer review by BigBassBump

5.0 stars 3/5/2015 by BigBassBump
by BigBassBump

I first bought this reel 4 years ago and since then I have bought many of these reels, they are amazing they handle any type of line great, they have a lot of power and I've never lost a fish while using one of my black max reels. I own a total of four of them and am going to be buying more. I am a father of four so I can't afford the revo so I had to find one that would do the job I needed it to do and with the black max I've never had any problems with them. They're easy to handle, easy to clean, light weight, strong and durable and can handle any conditions with ease. I put them on heavy rods, medium heavy rods and they work truly amazing. I use a lot of high strength lines like braid and flourocarbon, I almost never get a bird's nest. They cast super smooth and tell in like a dream. If you in the market to buy a new reel for any or all of your rods you can't go wrong with any of the black max reels. I highly recommend them

BigBassBump
Fresno, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Avid Amateurs First Baitcaster
3/24/2015

Customer review by JFrick

5.0 stars 3/24/2015 by JFrick
by JFrick

After a lifetime of fishing with cheap spinning reels, I finally got the courage to buy a baitcast reel. I had grown up with horror stories of how they were difficult to use and unreliable. But after watching so many professionals on TV use them with confidence, I thought if they could do it I could too. Abu Garcia makes it easy to learn. There are a million online videos of tips and tricks, go check some out. After spooling up for the first time and learning how to adjust the magnetic brake and drag, I was off and fishing. On the first day, I did one or two (or five) little overruns completely due to user error. This is still a very forgiving reel to a first timer. On the second day, I didn't have a single one. 6 months later and I'm fishing like a pro, or at least I look the part with an Abu Garcia in hand. I would recommend this to anglers of any skill level, as a first baitcast or as another weapon in their arsenal. Good build quality, easy to use and all at an amazing price. Would you just buy one already, you already know you're going to.

JFrick
Phoenix, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
My first baitcaster, my first Calico Bass
3/6/2015

Customer review by Big East

5.0 stars 3/6/2015 by Big East
by Big East

My dad is a big fan of Abu Garcia products, and the Apple doesn't fall far from the tree. I decided that I wanted to catch one a Calico Bass from shore in Southern California. A few days later I ordered a left handed Abu Garcia Black Max baitcaster reel, and 7' 6" Heavy/Fast Abu Garcia Vendetta Rod. Me and a buddy found a cove that we thought might be a great place to fish, and my rod and reel arrived the night before our trip. We had to climb down a very steep slope in the rain and cold, but we had our lines in the water for 7:00am. We tried every swim bait we had, but the fish just weren't biting. However, I was having a blast casting my new rig, so we decided to hang out a little longer. A few cast later, bam...fish on! I pulled this guy threw the kelp and the rocks with a huge smile on my face. It was my first time using a baitcaster and I was able to fish for over 4 hours without any problems. Thank you Abu Garcia.

Big East
Los Angeles, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
awesome reel for begginers
4/23/2013

Customer review by catchenembass

5.0 stars 4/23/2013 by catchenembass
by catchenembass

I got this reel the other day and it worked excellent didnt have a backlash all day

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
catchenembass
north carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great reel!
4/11/2013

Customer review by chunk777

5.0 stars 4/11/2013 by chunk777
by chunk777

This is a great reel for starters or more expeirenced fishers. It has far smooth casting and 5 ball bearing system for very easy reeling. I was wandering if I should buy this reel for the price but it is deffenitly worth it. I would recemmend this to anyone. I love it!

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chunk777
Florida, sanford
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great reel
4/4/2013

Customer review by paulallen65270

5.0 stars 4/4/2013 by paulallen65270
by paulallen65270
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I just purchased this reel, so have not got a chance to use it. However, the feel of it as I was stringing it was great. Light easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
paulallen65270
Holliday, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I am deeeeeeelighted!
7/26/2012

Customer review by Dave

5.0 stars 7/26/2012 by Dave
by Dave

Having retired last year, I found that I was bored to death with no hobbies to speak of. I decided to take up fishing. I bought a couple of fishing kayaks (one for the wife, as she's an outdoor kind'a girl# and began looking for some equipment. After deciding to try out baitcasting, I bought a cheeeap combo and got to where I could kind of throw the thing without too much trouble so, wanting to progress with the sport, I looked for a tad better reel ... and stumbled upon the Black Max. I am delighted with my purchase. I know its the bottom of Abu's offerings but #perhaps because I'm a novice) I feel that for the money, I couldn't be happier. No problems what-so-ever. Easy to spool, light as a feather, effortless to cast and retrieves like a dream. I'll get a nicer rod when my next retirement check comes in but until then ... and until I win the Revo contest ... I couldn't be happier. Great job Abu!

Dave
Starkville, Ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
task master with some engagement issues
8/19/2015

Customer review by Uxoricide99

3.0 stars 8/19/2015 by Uxoricide99
by Uxoricide99

Overall for this reel being my first bait caster and putting it through the torture of the "learning curve," I would say that it held up quite nicely, though there is one major issue. Ive yet to pull up the exploded diagrams nor opened up the reel to inspect the mechanical components so bear with me. As of late, after a healthy cast i crank to retrieve and the mechanism that allows the gear to engage after freespool is sticking or taking quite some centrifugal force to get it to engage. The gears seem to be fine as I have fought a few lunkers on the reel while it was malfunctioning. Id say the issue is a product of the torture of learning with it and perhaps a manufacturing issue on the assembly line or component manufacture. STILL A great entry level reel for the money.

Uxoricide99
Vallejo, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
abu garcia
6/1/2015

Customer review by steve

5.0 stars 6/1/2015 by steve
by steve

beast real i ever had,smooth cast

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
steve
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice reliable product!
9/5/2014

Customer review by Bigpin

5.0 stars 9/5/2014 by Bigpin
by Bigpin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Smooth reel! Durable and reliable! Awesome price. I've had some spendy reels, and this one is by far the smoothest and durable.

Was this review helpful? (13) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bigpin
Lexington ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Well worth it!!
4/29/2015

Customer review by drumz

5.0 stars 4/29/2015 by drumz
by drumz

I've bought two of these reels at Walmart and I'm going to buy two more. I'm not buying them to replace the ones I have. I'm buying two more so I have more choices of setups with different string and poles. The two I have now are almost 2 years old and are just as smooth as they were new!! At $40 and under price, you won't find anything else close to it. It's smooth. It's been reliable and it's very forgiving for the beginner. If you're new to baitcasting, you must have patience and learn the reel. This one happens to be very straight forward and the adjustments stay put. With baitcasting reels, you have to adjust them when you switch to a different weight lure to avoid the backlash. This is alittle more basic than the higher end reels are to adjust, yet nearly as sensitive which really helps. I've had the Shimano Citica reels as well. Although I will give the nod to the Citica in a side by side comparison,which really isn't an apples for apples comparison and when you're talking about an $80+ difference in price between the two, this one wins hands down for value!! I use both of my Black Max reels in tournaments. I can't say one bad thing about this reel. Is it going to be as nice as some higher priced reels? Of course not, but if you're like me and you don't really care about some bells and whistles and you're more concerned about reliability and cost, THIS is the reel you want. You just can't do better at this price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
drumz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for a beginner!
3/5/2015

Customer review by Westwindmike

5.0 stars 3/5/2015 by Westwindmike
by Westwindmike

I wanted a baitcaster to be able to cast crankbaits, but I was scared of all the horror stories I had heard about "backlash" and "birdsnest". I had a Pro-fisherman recommend the Abu Garcia Black Max to me. He said it was easy to set up and easy for a beginner to cast with no fear of, as he called it, "Professional Overun". I bought the Black Max and spooled it with 8 pound mono. I followed the directions in the package on how to set it up. I then spent the next couple of hours in the back yard casting a crankbait with no hooks until I felt confident with the reel. To my amazement, I only had 1 small backlash! The Black Max braking system was taking care of any backlash that tried to happen. As my experience grew, I was able to dial down the braking and get more casting distance. On the water, the Black Max performed just as well. I am able to cast lures from 3/8 oz up to 1 full oz. The Black Max has a great drag system too. No matter how big the fish, the drag is smooth and consistant. So for anyone just getting started in Bass fishing and wants a quality baitcast reel with ease of operation, the Abu Garcia Black Max is my recommendation for you.

Westwindmike
Murfreesboro, TN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
U GOT WRONG PHOTO
7/21/2015

Customer review by UNHAPPY

1.0 stars 7/21/2015 by UNHAPPY
by UNHAPPY

HORRIBLE YOU HAVE A PHOTO OF A LEFT HANDED REEL , WITH THE WRITE UP FOR A RIGHT HANDED ONE... I WANTED A LEFT HANDED ONE AND GOT A RIGHT.....

Was this review helpful? (5) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UNHAPPY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Baitcaster for a beginner
10/7/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/7/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Getting into fishing tournaments, I knew I had to expand my knowledge and become more versitile in my fishing style. Having grown up using nothing but spinning reels I was nervous about trying to use bait cast reels. I have tried them in the past and got nothing except a birds nest on each cast. That all changed when I tried the Black Max by Abu Garcia! The slim design was a perfect fit for my hands and the ease of use and ease of tweaking the casting roller. Pros: slim design great for any cover easy to repair if broken Low cost, great for the angler on a budget con: the only con I had was when I needed a schmetic drawing of the componets they were very hard to read I would totally suggest this product to any one beginner to experienced angler. you wont be undersold

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good beginner reel
11/19/2011

Customer review by steelhead

4.0 stars 11/19/2011 by steelhead
by steelhead

i decided to use a baitcaster for steelhead fishing, wanted something light to be able to cast all day and something cheap in case i ended up not liking it. it fulfilled my two requirements. It was quite easy to learn how to cast. I would recommend watching videos first online on how to cast. Initially the drag was very smooth. Landed tons of steelhead no problem. The fast gear ratio is also nice when fish are coming right at you. The only problem i have now is that the drag is not quite as smooth. It is rather jerky. makes me nervous about loosing the fish. Sometimes I just release the spool and use my thumb for pressure. I don't know if the more expensive reels have better drags. Overall pretty happy with this inexpensive reel.

steelhead
michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value and no backlash!
3/6/2015

Customer review by FishHacker

5.0 stars 3/6/2015 by FishHacker
by FishHacker

I got this reel and it has held up solid fishing salt water in the surf. I had disassembled it to see the parts and the gears were very solid. The drags were of a composite material and looked capable. I added additional lubrication to help with the harsh conditions of surf fishing and it was worth it. I have fished 3 seasons with this reel and only serviced it once to check on the wear and tear. The inside parts were all as good as I saw them the first day. I cast into the wind and ocean spray fishing 2x a week average each season and this reel has held up very well for it's price point with rarely a backlash unless I'm fishing in the dark and can't see what's going on.

FishHacker
San Diego, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Best bang for the buck
8/22/2012

Customer review by Wildcards

5.0 stars 8/22/2012 by Wildcards
by Wildcards

I have been using the older style BlackMax for well over a year and it has provided hours and hours of trouble free performance. I fish exclusivity large mouth, and it's usually out of lilly pads so when my line gets caught my BlackMax gets put to the test. With 50lbs power pro the lilly pads always loses. I gave the BlackMax a "good" on casting performance because the brake needs small adjustments from time to time to keep the casts perfect. I am 100% satisfied considering the price point of this reel. Upon my return from Afghanistan I will upgrade to a Revo and the BlackMax will stay on a backup rod. Abu Garcia for life !

Wildcards
Tampa FL. / San Diego CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 262 total reviews
1-20 of 262 reviews