Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 261 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

261 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

261 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
201
4 stars
48
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
5
1-20 of 260 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 260 total reviews
1-20 of 260 reviews
Absolutely amazing!
4/29/2012

Customer review by BornToBeOutdoors

5.0 stars 4/29/2012 by BornToBeOutdoors
by BornToBeOutdoors

I just bought this reel last weekend and it has completely blown me away. I've picked up reels priced up to $130 and they didn't feel as smooth as this one. Amazing quality for a fraction of the price. Great for veteran bait cast users or beginners.

Was this review helpful? (44) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BornToBeOutdoors
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great reel
4/4/2013

Customer review by paulallen65270

5.0 stars 4/4/2013 by paulallen65270
by paulallen65270

I just purchased this reel, so have not got a chance to use it. However, the feel of it as I was stringing it was great. Light easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
paulallen65270
Holliday, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great reel!
4/11/2013

Customer review by chunk777

5.0 stars 4/11/2013 by chunk777
by chunk777

This is a great reel for starters or more expeirenced fishers. It has far smooth casting and 5 ball bearing system for very easy reeling. I was wandering if I should buy this reel for the price but it is deffenitly worth it. I would recemmend this to anyone. I love it!

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chunk777
Florida, sanford
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice reliable product!
9/5/2014

Customer review by Bigpin

5.0 stars 9/5/2014 by Bigpin
by Bigpin

Smooth reel! Durable and reliable! Awesome price. I've had some spendy reels, and this one is by far the smoothest and durable.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bigpin
Lexington ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
awesome reel for begginers
4/23/2013

Customer review by catchenembass

5.0 stars 4/23/2013 by catchenembass
by catchenembass

I got this reel the other day and it worked excellent didnt have a backlash all day

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
catchenembass
north carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
this reel works just as great as my 300.00 abu, s
2/12/2014

Customer review by monielynn

5.0 stars 2/12/2014 by monielynn
by monielynn

these reels work just as great and smooth as my 300.00 dollar Garcia reels

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
monielynn
alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wrong reel :-(
11/25/2013

Customer review by PANHALE

2.0 stars 11/25/2013 by PANHALE
by PANHALE

The picture shows a left handed reel which I wanted. When it was delivered it was a right handed reel :-( . Disapponited. Ordered one from Amazon.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PANHALE
Morrilton ,AR.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
U GOT WRONG PHOTO
7/21/2015

Customer review by UNHAPPY

1.0 stars 7/21/2015 by UNHAPPY
by UNHAPPY

HORRIBLE YOU HAVE A PHOTO OF A LEFT HANDED REEL , WITH THE WRITE UP FOR A RIGHT HANDED ONE... I WANTED A LEFT HANDED ONE AND GOT A RIGHT.....

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UNHAPPY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent reel for the price
2/25/2014

Customer review by Chityworker

5.0 stars 2/25/2014 by Chityworker
by Chityworker

Good reel

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chityworker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
a must have
5/17/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/17/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

i have the black max and the pro max if you dont have them you need them its the best love it and you will too

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
a must buy!
5/28/2012

Customer review by Rich

5.0 stars 5/28/2012 by Rich
by Rich

I have owned this reel for about 4 years now and never once had an ounce of trouble out of it, light maintenance is all you really need to keep it functional. I have recommended it to multiple friends and family members. I bought it because the color scheme really caught my eye, then the price tag really helped. From the super smooth castablity to the large line capacity this is the best reel for the price.

Rich
Dallas, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The ONLY Reel I fish with!!
4/8/2012

Customer review by Fishing Medic

5.0 stars 4/8/2012 by Fishing Medic
by Fishing Medic

I have 4 black max reels and got my first one 6 years ago havent had a bit of trouble out of any of them I have them paired with various rods and they work for everything I fish for and with I would deffinately recommend this reel to anyone and say its the best one I've ever owned and will keep stocking up on them to keep my arsenal full and ready to fish!!

Fishing Medic
Opp, alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Black Max 1 Beast
1/26/2012

Customer review by Fishinkayaks

5.0 stars 1/26/2012 by Fishinkayaks
by Fishinkayaks

I fish pike, musky, walleye and bass in Michigan. I'm always hunting the monsters. I still haven't found "The One." I've caught 5lb smallies and largemouth. I've Landed 10 lb eyes. My largest muskie... 38 inches, maybe 13 lbs. Pike, 38 inches about 12 lbs. I have yet to catch "The One," but, when i do my Abu Garcia Black Max will be there. I've had it about 2 years so far and I haven't done any maintenance whatsoever. Its always done everything I've asked of it. It may not have been there for my personal best walleye and muskie but it did land the smallie largemouth and pike. I've abused it in every way possible. Whether I'm running a big pike with nearly no drag, a complete accident, which i did remedy in time to land the Fat 36 incher. Or, I'm cranking the drag all the way up to drag lunker largemouth over logs and out of the thickest vegetation a person can fish. Thank you 50 lb power pro. I abused this reel, I've thrown 12 0z bulldawgs for muskie and tiny weedless weightless homemade minnowbaits for largemouth. Only because this reel casts anything like a dream. I always use 50 lb power pro braid. I've run the reel on an Abu Garcia Conlon and a Bass Pro Shops Bionic Blade, both of which are 6'6" medium heavy casting rods. This reel has performed flawlessly under any condition I've set forth. Now at the end of year 2 I'm finally taking her apart to lube everything and do some cleaning. Much needed cleaning, This thing was way dirtier than my more expensive bass pro shops reel which i recently took apart because the worm gear wasn't functioning properly. Oh yeah I also forgot to mention that I used this reel in the same mud creek, aptly named, that killed my bass pro reel. The bass pro reel was so covered in mud and muck and slime that it only lasted for half an hour on mud creek. My Abu lasted hours in the muck and slime, and caught me 30 inch dogfish after 30 inch pike after 30 inch dogfish, 2 of each that day. Only now months later am I beginning to clean it up. Oh yeah did i mention that I've used this reel in sub zero temperatures for hours at time? In the hundreds of hours I've used this reel I only have one complaint. I don't own enough of these reels.

Fishinkayaks
Owosso, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for my first baitcaster
5/29/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/29/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

smooth, amazing control, great drag and easy to use. I only got two backlashes on my first 30 casts but that's probably because I've been practicing in my backyard for the past two weeks. I don't know about other baitcasters but undoing backlashes on the black max is pretty easy. I just thumb the spool and start pulling. I can get a pretty bad one out in about 30 seconds if I'm rushing it. I also realized that using lighter lures with a baitcaster is asking for trouble. Once I switched to a heavier one, it was smooth sailing.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The best reel I have ever purchased.
2/27/2012

Customer review by lovintruckin

5.0 stars 2/27/2012 by lovintruckin
by lovintruckin

I purchased the Black Max combo a few days ago and I am impressed with it.I have not fished with it yet because I am on the road as a truck driver but I have practiced casting it with a 3/8 oz practice plug and it casts like a dream.This is my first Abu Garcia reel but not the last. I plan to replace all of my bass pro reels and wal mart reel with Abu Garcia products. Abu Garcia for life.

lovintruckin
Abbeville,Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome reel
1/8/2012

Customer review by Bass master 1997

5.0 stars 1/8/2012 by Bass master 1997
by Bass master 1997

This is an awesome reel. I got it for my birthday. The coloring is awesome and it is super light and holds a run of fishing line. It can hold up too big fish and has a super smooth drag. This reel is good do beginners and experts alike. This reel looks awesome on the veritas and vendetta series rods. I recamend using 15-20 pound suffix or pawerpro for spinnerbaits and crankbaiting. And 30-50 pound for flipping and picking.

Bass master 1997
Falls church
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
You get what you pay for
10/7/2011

Customer review by Yetty

5.0 stars 10/7/2011 by Yetty
by Yetty

Now its not the best reel in the world and im not going to say it is, but for a first time user or some one who just wants to lern how to use a bait caster this is the reel for you. I started on this and now am moving up, For the money it was definitely worth it and I enjoy using my BM everyday.

Yetty
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Black Max on Big Fish
12/6/2011

Customer review by KB

5.0 stars 12/6/2011 by KB
by KB

I caught these big Striped bass with a ABU Black Max. These reels are TOUGH and can handle the punishment of BIG FISH!! I urge anyone to try one of these reels they are worth every dollar. Or you can get one of the more expesive reel and the quality is greatness on ALL ABU reels

KB
Plano Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Alabama Rig Performer
1/17/2012

Customer review by Flea

5.0 stars 1/17/2012 by Flea
by Flea

Bought a Black Max last week on price, Handled two at a time 4lb. and 4lb. 4 oz. largemouth on an Alabama Rig on Saturday. Bought second Black Max today based on performance. Thanks for quality fishing gear. Mike.

Flea
Dora, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dollar For Dollar, Simply An Excellent Value
10/15/2011

Customer review by NassauRebel

5.0 stars 10/15/2011 by NassauRebel
by NassauRebel

Until recently, I had not used the Black Max. With a long family history of using Abu Garcia rods & reels, I wanted to add to my existing equipment but money was an issue. In typical fashion, the Black Max has held up to the Company's fine history. I have matched the Black Max up with an 7' Abu Garcia Conolon rod and 12lb braid. This combination has proven to be extremely adequate for fishing around docks, brush piles and other close in areas and such (like heavy millfoil & hydrilla). Dollar for dollar, the value you get can't be beat for it's class!

NassauRebel
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 260 total reviews
1-20 of 260 reviews