Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 309 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

309 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

309 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
236
4 stars
59
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
5
1-20 of 308 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 308 total reviews
1-20 of 308 reviews
abu's black max is a winner at a great price!
12/6/2011

Customer review by igor

5.0 stars 12/6/2011 by igor
by igor

i used the black max last year for bass,muskie and northern and it held up great to whatever i could throw at it...i paired it up w/ 30lb braid and it cast a mile. it also had the lock down drag out power to drag the hogs out of the jungle. for the price this reel cant be beat! i look forward to buying another one to add to my deadly abu aresenal!

igor
central wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Absolutely amazing!
4/29/2012

Customer review by BornToBeOutdoors

5.0 stars 4/29/2012 by BornToBeOutdoors
by BornToBeOutdoors

I just bought this reel last weekend and it has completely blown me away. I've picked up reels priced up to $130 and they didn't feel as smooth as this one. Amazing quality for a fraction of the price. Great for veteran bait cast users or beginners.

Was this review helpful? (52) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BornToBeOutdoors
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
awesome reel for begginers
4/23/2013

Customer review by catchenembass

5.0 stars 4/23/2013 by catchenembass
by catchenembass

I got this reel the other day and it worked excellent didnt have a backlash all day

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
catchenembass
north carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Next bang for your buck! A workhorse.
4/28/2016

Customer review by Siskiyou Bassin

5.0 stars 4/28/2016 by Siskiyou Bassin
by Siskiyou Bassin

Don't let the sticker price fool you, this cost efficient workhorse of a reel is a steal. I love my Black Max reels. I throw everything from crank baits to glide baits on mine without problems. 12 to 20 pound test fluorocarbon is what I choose to arm my reels with, and it works flawlessly. These things flat out cast a long distance. Retrieval is smooth, brakes are easy to use, this reel gets it done. Do yourself a favor and pick one up for yourself.

Siskiyou Bassin
Yreka, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
Amazing Reel Great Price
3/5/2015

Customer review by BigBassBump

5.0 stars 3/5/2015 by BigBassBump
by BigBassBump

I first bought this reel 4 years ago and since then I have bought many of these reels, they are amazing they handle any type of line great, they have a lot of power and I've never lost a fish while using one of my black max reels. I own a total of four of them and am going to be buying more. I am a father of four so I can't afford the revo so I had to find one that would do the job I needed it to do and with the black max I've never had any problems with them. They're easy to handle, easy to clean, light weight, strong and durable and can handle any conditions with ease. I put them on heavy rods, medium heavy rods and they work truly amazing. I use a lot of high strength lines like braid and flourocarbon, I almost never get a bird's nest. They cast super smooth and tell in like a dream. If you in the market to buy a new reel for any or all of your rods you can't go wrong with any of the black max reels. I highly recommend them

BigBassBump
Fresno, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great reel!
4/11/2013

Customer review by chunk777

5.0 stars 4/11/2013 by chunk777
by chunk777

This is a great reel for starters or more expeirenced fishers. It has far smooth casting and 5 ball bearing system for very easy reeling. I was wandering if I should buy this reel for the price but it is deffenitly worth it. I would recemmend this to anyone. I love it!

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chunk777
Florida, sanford
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Avid Amateurs First Baitcaster
3/24/2015

Customer review by JFrick

5.0 stars 3/24/2015 by JFrick
by JFrick

After a lifetime of fishing with cheap spinning reels, I finally got the courage to buy a baitcast reel. I had grown up with horror stories of how they were difficult to use and unreliable. But after watching so many professionals on TV use them with confidence, I thought if they could do it I could too. Abu Garcia makes it easy to learn. There are a million online videos of tips and tricks, go check some out. After spooling up for the first time and learning how to adjust the magnetic brake and drag, I was off and fishing. On the first day, I did one or two (or five) little overruns completely due to user error. This is still a very forgiving reel to a first timer. On the second day, I didn't have a single one. 6 months later and I'm fishing like a pro, or at least I look the part with an Abu Garcia in hand. I would recommend this to anglers of any skill level, as a first baitcast or as another weapon in their arsenal. Good build quality, easy to use and all at an amazing price. Would you just buy one already, you already know you're going to.

JFrick
Phoenix, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great reel
4/4/2013

Customer review by paulallen65270

5.0 stars 4/4/2013 by paulallen65270
by paulallen65270
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I just purchased this reel, so have not got a chance to use it. However, the feel of it as I was stringing it was great. Light easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
paulallen65270
Holliday, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Really great reels
4/30/2016

Customer review by Golleysocker

5.0 stars 4/30/2016 by Golleysocker
by Golleysocker

All the Garcia reels are of the highest quality. . I have been using them for over 40 years. The black max stands up to the quality test that I demand and has helped me haul in numerous pigs from Toledo Bend.

Golleysocker
Toledo Bend , La
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
My first baitcaster, my first Calico Bass
3/6/2015

Customer review by Big East

5.0 stars 3/6/2015 by Big East
by Big East

My dad is a big fan of Abu Garcia products, and the Apple doesn't fall far from the tree. I decided that I wanted to catch one a Calico Bass from shore in Southern California. A few days later I ordered a left handed Abu Garcia Black Max baitcaster reel, and 7' 6" Heavy/Fast Abu Garcia Vendetta Rod. Me and a buddy found a cove that we thought might be a great place to fish, and my rod and reel arrived the night before our trip. We had to climb down a very steep slope in the rain and cold, but we had our lines in the water for 7:00am. We tried every swim bait we had, but the fish just weren't biting. However, I was having a blast casting my new rig, so we decided to hang out a little longer. A few cast later, bam...fish on! I pulled this guy threw the kelp and the rocks with a huge smile on my face. It was my first time using a baitcaster and I was able to fish for over 4 hours without any problems. Thank you Abu Garcia.

Big East
Los Angeles, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Amazing for braid and frog fishing!
4/28/2016

Customer review by IDaZzleYoU

5.0 stars 4/28/2016 by IDaZzleYoU
by IDaZzleYoU

I have 16 reels and they are all Abu. Bought one lews and returned it within a week. Started out with the black max and now have upgraded to pro maxes and revos! I still use my silver maxes too.

IDaZzleYoU
La Crosse, WI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
Great price for what you get.
4/28/2016

Customer review by SBeckerDTD

5.0 stars 4/28/2016 by SBeckerDTD
by SBeckerDTD

I helped my friend pick this out for his first baitcaster. I'm a quantum guy but I gotta say after using this reel, that might change fast. It's an unbelievably quality reel for a great price.

SBeckerDTD
Iowa, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
Perfect for trolling
4/28/2016

Customer review by Pepsi Guy 28

5.0 stars 4/28/2016 by Pepsi Guy 28
by Pepsi Guy 28

I used this reel all last summer. Its perfect for trolling doesn't rat nest. I like how smooth the reel glides while using it.

Pepsi Guy 28
Minnesota, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
Smooth casting
4/28/2016

Customer review by Chadley

4.0 stars 4/28/2016 by Chadley
by Chadley

I bought this reel begin of the year. I have fish with it a lot and always smooth casting. It's great beginner reel.

Chadley
Asheboro, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
Good reel!
4/28/2016

Customer review by Mataylor1026

4.0 stars 4/28/2016 by Mataylor1026
by Mataylor1026

Great reel for the money! Not an expensive reel but is a good bang for the buck. Lot of nice features.

Mataylor1026
Hurt, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
Love the reel
4/28/2016

Customer review by Buck111

5.0 stars 4/28/2016 by Buck111
by Buck111

I bought this reel several years ago and use it consistently every year.

Buck111
Illinois, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
Great drag
4/28/2016

Customer review by Geop

5.0 stars 4/28/2016 by Geop
by Geop

I bought one last year live reel great drag. Cast grest

Geop
Connecticut, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
I am deeeeeeelighted!
7/26/2012

Customer review by Dave

5.0 stars 7/26/2012 by Dave
by Dave

Having retired last year, I found that I was bored to death with no hobbies to speak of. I decided to take up fishing. I bought a couple of fishing kayaks (one for the wife, as she's an outdoor kind'a girl# and began looking for some equipment. After deciding to try out baitcasting, I bought a cheeeap combo and got to where I could kind of throw the thing without too much trouble so, wanting to progress with the sport, I looked for a tad better reel ... and stumbled upon the Black Max. I am delighted with my purchase. I know its the bottom of Abu's offerings but #perhaps because I'm a novice) I feel that for the money, I couldn't be happier. No problems what-so-ever. Easy to spool, light as a feather, effortless to cast and retrieves like a dream. I'll get a nicer rod when my next retirement check comes in but until then ... and until I win the Revo contest ... I couldn't be happier. Great job Abu!

Dave
Starkville, Ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best bang for your buck!
4/7/2016

Customer review by bsdrivera

5.0 stars 4/7/2016 by bsdrivera
by bsdrivera

When it comes to baitcasters, Abu Garcia is my favorite brand because of the price and performance. Best bang for your buck, and this one is no exception. Had it for over a year now and I've caught everything from stripers, largemouth bass, bluegill, even surf perch. Paired it with the Abu Garcia Vendetta Medium Heavy. No complaints! Figured out how to dial in the brakes and I get no backlash, don't even have to use my thumb, and it casts a mile. Just keep it clean at all times and don't over lube.

bsdrivera
Los Angeles, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
Great reel for the price point
4/7/2016

Customer review by Wallysan4285

5.0 stars 4/7/2016 by Wallysan4285
by Wallysan4285

This is my first Abu Garcia as well as my first bait caster reel (bought it last year for Christmas). I love it! It has a really smooth retrieve and holds all the line I need. The breaking system is perfect for a beginner like me. If there was one flaw, I would liked to have the spool tensioner knob have a "click" system to help me determine how much I have adjusted (I have seen these on othe reels), but I am used to it now. When I tie on a new lure, I can make the necessary adjustments and go.

Wallysan4285
Grove City, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 308 total reviews
1-20 of 308 reviews