Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 31 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

31 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

31 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 26 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews
Bad Hardware
3/11/2012

Customer review by SRH20

1.0 stars 3/11/2012 by SRH20
by SRH20

I purchased this computer for my PhD exams and it works beautifully -- unbelievably fast and the screen quality is amazing, but before the weekend was out it had already started to malfunction. I exchanged the computer after only 4 days, and the second one has started to do the same thing. There's a clicking noise and lines across the screen -- my father works on computers and told me that's a hardware issue with the graphics card. Since both computers have malfunctioned in the same way, within the first week, I'm inclined to believe the problem is a manufacturing issue in the model itself rather than a fluke. I've dealt with bad hardware before, and the hassle isn't worth it. I'm returning the second computer today and will not get a third.

Was this review helpful? (118) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SRH20
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Laptop
3/16/2012

Customer review by msmerlinsmagic

5.0 stars 3/16/2012 by msmerlinsmagic
by msmerlinsmagic

I have had this pc for a month - it's fantastic - a great deal for the price. After reading about it here on site - I found it in stock at my local Walmart and could not believe I finally found one with good specs a big bright 17.3 inch screen, The amd quad core processor has the power needed for heavy use. The next perk in this pc is the graphics abilities, the integrated 6520G is equip with 3D tech and Direct X11 and uses 2Gs of shared ram, so while this little gem is not listed as a gamer you can easily upgrade your ram and play most all games with it. It's also good for graphic editing . As far as I am concerned the motherboard, processor and video-card in a laptop are the most important features since they are not as easily upgraded as most everything else. It did come with 4Gs of ram which is good for most use but not enough for me so I will be upgrading it to 8 soon. Interestingly the ram is all in one module so there is an empty slot for another 4 G stick providing you get an exact match to the 1333 speed thats in it. I will probably save the one that is in it and just put two dual sticks in. It's specs say 8 Gs are its max but that is not a hindrance. This Laptop is also pre loaded with Win7 and all the standard HP software. It was totally pre set up - just open it up and use it. The battery was even pre charged ! LOL Contrary to popular belief this pc was not loaded with a lot of useless software, I just deleted some game links and got rid of the trial of Norton antivirus and it was good to go. On a budget needing a pc this is a great buy ! (I caution to couple this pc with a cooler - it does not run hot but it can get warm with hours of heavy use as expected, so if you value it - a laptop cooler would be good prevention) only con I have found so far is the very strongly connecting wifi adapter does not have bluetooth coupled in it (that I have found so far) that too is an easily solved issue with a $10 Bluetooth usb adapter. I am getting almost a full 5 hours of battery life from the stock battery ! That too is up gradable to a 12 cell - I highly recommend this pc.

Was this review helpful? (58) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
msmerlinsmagic
Lebanon, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AWESOME FOR PRICE
3/17/2012

Customer review by PackRat25

5.0 stars 3/17/2012 by PackRat25
by PackRat25

picked this computer up about two weeks ago and I love it plays all games I throw at it on either high or medium settings smoothly. Upgraded it to 8 GB memory and it has doubled in performance. only issues i have which aren't major i wish it would have had a faster HDD and maybe better speakers like "beats". If your looking for a desktop replacement or a gamer this is the way to go.

Was this review helpful? (39) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PackRat25
Marksville, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No problems after 2 weeks.
3/14/2012

Customer review by AnthonyA

5.0 stars 3/14/2012 by AnthonyA
by AnthonyA

I've had this Laptop for 2 weeks now, use it about 4-5 hours a day and I've watched movies and surfed the web, especially with free agency in the NFL, I'm on it all day. I have not had any problems whatsoever with this. There are good and bad with all things. I've always owned HP computers and never had an issue that I didn't see coming. Own a 7 year desktop and the HD will go out eventually, right? 7 years though, c'mon, that's awesome. Anyways, I'm happy with this laptop. I bought mine in the store for $498. They didn't have a demo but I seen 2 on the shelf and bought it on site. My mom and wife both have this model G7 laptop but with different CPU's. Mom and wife both have the i3 CPU. Runs just as good as AMD quad core. Just depends on what you are using it for. NO regrets here and you won't either.

Was this review helpful? (36) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AnthonyA
Boise, Id
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/15/2012

Customer review by brobob22

1.0 stars 3/15/2012 by brobob22
by brobob22

I also have the same problem as the other person, I have had this computer for 3 days now and it just started showing random lines across the screen... my mother purchased one a few months back and hers did the same thing within 2 days... we sent it back to hp and they fixed it, but this one is brand new and i just got it from walmart, i went to 9 walmart stores trying to find it and finally found one... and now its defective.... SUCH A SHAME!! :(

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brobob22
Lexington KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very fast access to internet.
4/13/2012

Customer review by JoeLH

5.0 stars 4/13/2012 by JoeLH
by JoeLH

Overall a great laptop! I bought the computer for my wife as a replacement for her Toshiba Satellite. Not really expecting much, I got her the one she wanted. Boy! what a shocker! This thing is fast! It downloads, gets you out fast, and does everything like it was thinking for you! Amazing!

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JoeLH
Murphy, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This Computer Rocks
3/20/2012

Customer review by PreacherPat

5.0 stars 3/20/2012 by PreacherPat
by PreacherPat

We have owned this computer for about a month and it absolutely rocks! Set up was a breeze and it is so user friendly. It starts up in seconds and loads instantly! The graphics are totally HD and videos and movies are fabulous. It is 10 times faster than any computer I've ever owned, and would give it a high 10 rating! The battery last about 5 hours under constant load, but when plugged in, recharges quick even under a full load. For the price, you can't beat this computer!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PreacherPat
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So far so good
3/17/2012

Customer review by Kam21

5.0 stars 3/17/2012 by Kam21
by Kam21

I have had this laptop for about three weeks now and it works great. It is Nice, big and vibrant. The hardware works well. It came with microsoft starter which is good for now until i purchase microsoft office. The price was good for the size, overall good product

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kam21
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Love this laptop
3/21/2012

Customer review by famergirl

5.0 stars 3/21/2012 by famergirl
by famergirl

I was looking for a laptop with good reviews, fit my needs and my budget. I found all in this laptop. I like the larger screen, the full number pad, the speed is great and picture quality excellent. Couldn't have found a better laptop for this price.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
famergirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Value for Money and Functions Well
4/7/2012

Customer review by merhug

5.0 stars 4/7/2012 by merhug
by merhug

Laptop is excellent and well worth the price I paid. It looks good and worked perfectly straight out of the box. The 17" screen has HD resolution and looks very impressive. The onboard keyboard has good sized keys and works well when on the road. However when at home I use a wireless keyboard and mouse rather than the built in touch pad. This is to avoid reaching over the touch pad. Also, I prefer the screen to be elevated to my eye level and my keyboard naturally at wrist height. This is not the fault of the machine which certainly works on the road. I would have liked more USB ports but I get around that with a USB 4 in 1 extension. Overall I am very satified and would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
merhug
Sugar Land, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great school laptop for someone with children
4/15/2012

Customer review by InLovewithMyHero

5.0 stars 4/15/2012 by InLovewithMyHero
by InLovewithMyHero

My second parents bought this laptop for me as I will be visiting them this summer and also taking a few online classes as well. I have had it for about 2 months and I absolutely love it! They got me the two year warranty as well for it. This laptop has given my kids and myself more freedom. When they want to play outside and I have a lot of school work I can simply just take it out and still do what I need to while still allowing them to be children and just enjoy the outdoors and life, until they get into school and college : P I use it for school, email, etsy shop, etc. This has truely changed my views on laptops...I was strictly a desktop person but now I see that there are benefits to both types.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
InLovewithMyHero
Vancouver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
a great replacement for desk top
5/22/2012

Customer review by NEjean

5.0 stars 5/22/2012 by NEjean
by NEjean

I had to replace my old desktop and decided to go with this HP. It does not have the fastest processor available, but for what I do, I thought it was a great value. I don't game or do tv stuff on it, but for the rest of my work, I am very satisfied. Only problems I had was with my older printer which needed to have an updated drive. the HP people helped me with that!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NEjean
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
nice laptop
3/28/2012

Customer review by christian4life1959

5.0 stars 3/28/2012 by christian4life1959
by christian4life1959

I have run every test I can think of and this laptop passed them all this laptop is great for games I have not had any problem with it I would say use a cooling pad I like the webcam software alot but all is said and done this laptop is a great deal

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
christian4life1959
El Cajon Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/16/2012

Customer review by oboyiniowa

5.0 stars 3/16/2012 by oboyiniowa
by oboyiniowa

no problems after 1 week, I love it

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oboyiniowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT BUY
4/5/2012

Customer review by mlopez8806

5.0 stars 4/5/2012 by mlopez8806
by mlopez8806

I WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THIS LAPTOP! IT IS DEFINITELY WORTH THE MONEY SPENT. I ALWAYS SHOP HP AS MY FIRST CHOICE. THE SPECS OF THE COMPUTER ARE GREAT!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mlopez8806
DALLAS, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great and Fast Computer
3/19/2012

Customer review by mommamik

5.0 stars 3/19/2012 by mommamik
by mommamik

The fastest laptop Ive ever owned! Love the huge screen and large keyboard.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mommamik
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great laptop for the money
5/23/2012

Customer review by jdandme

5.0 stars 5/23/2012 by jdandme
by jdandme

So far it's been great. Love the HP tech support. Mouse is easy to use, dosn't move around too much or get in the way of typing. Picture is great, sound is good. Everything I expected and needed. I am not a computer geek but from what I can tell, this is a good computer. It does everything I need it to do.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jdandme
Ozark Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect for my needs
6/18/2012

Customer review by tinahyg

5.0 stars 6/18/2012 by tinahyg
by tinahyg

This has been an exceptional buy. I use my computer to stream movies, store pictures and read. It has been perfect for my needs. Very pleased with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tinahyg
South Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
beautifull laptop
5/7/2012

Customer review by bunnygirl52

5.0 stars 5/7/2012 by bunnygirl52
by bunnygirl52

oh my gosh the hp g7-1329 amd quad is beautifull..its not as fast as intel's icores but is far better in amd radeon graphics! the computer itself is lovely..huge screen,crystal clear..wifi is very good as far as signal,and hp loaded all the extra goodies,the turbo boost is totally automatic so u cant do it yourself in bios..the dvd is a bit flimsy and fragile but works flawlessly..this hp computer is a great buy and the $50 gift card is wonderfull too..im very happy

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bunnygirl52
Value upgrade. Spend more if you have it...
6/9/2012

Customer review by OfficerSnook

4.0 stars 6/9/2012 by OfficerSnook
by OfficerSnook

I upgraded from a Dell Inspiron 6000 (2006) to the refurbished HP G7 1329wm for $399 and I am satisfied for the most part. The only disappointment was the sound from the speakers. The SRS sound has an additional program that helps adjust the music to your liking however, the sound feels like it comes out of the keyboard and seems muffled. Eventually, you'll find a setting that may be tolerable. At high volume level, the system has trouble keeping all the sounds even. Definitely try before you buy to make sure you are ok with the sound. Other than that I am happy with my purchase. I can have 10 different light usage programs open and surf the web without a problem. Wish I had waited one day later (June2) to order because new orders come with discounted Windows 8. Oh, and the mouse pad misses a little, the two finger scrolling gesture is finicky. No biggie.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OfficerSnook
Miami
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews