Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 72 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

72 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

72 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
48
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-20 of 52 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews
Overall, it's a great monitor, great value.
3/9/2012

Customer review by RoyalRaptor

5.0 stars 3/9/2012 by RoyalRaptor
by RoyalRaptor

I just purchased this monitor today. Got it home, very easy set up. The only assembly is putting the base on the monitor, which is done with a single screw that doesn't even require a screwdriver. It also comes with both a VGA AND a DVI cable, which I wasn't expecting. I was using a LG 22" LCD monitor (belonged to a friend#. This Acer model is far superior. It comes with a users manual, a quick start guide and a CD containing both the manual and the quick start guide. I booted up, adjusted my resolution and noticed this monitor is WAY brighter than the LG I was using. Used the menu buttons on the monitor to adjust the brightness down #it was set at maximum setting#. Loaded up Fallout New Vegas #game) and noticed a HUGE difference. Went through some photos and again, was impressed by the clarity and sharpness. Also the price was great. Bought this for $169.99. Now for the downside. The buttons on the monitor are not on the front, the are on the underside, so they are not visible. Easy enough to push them as they are larger than most I've seen. The only other down side is the monitor cables stick horizontially out of the back of the monitor. Not sure that will be an issue over time, but we'll see. Overall it's a great monitor. Now I just need to get my new video card and really push this bad boy.

Was this review helpful? (78) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RoyalRaptor
DeKalb, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No HDMI but same quality if better.
7/28/2012

Customer review by CWallD

5.0 stars 7/28/2012 by CWallD
by CWallD

First let me mention that the version I have the (ACER S230HL Abd) not the ACER S230HL Abii which has an HDMI cable. If that one is horizontally mounted you'll have problems if you use thicker cables, which are heavy and will make you loose connection. Anyway, this one only has a DVI port and a VGA port (DVI created 1999, VGA in the 70's both standard for every video card or motherboard, for a little while) and ships with a VGA cable, and a power converter about the size of your cell phone. Quality: Compared to my wife's 23"(Dell St2320lf) LCD monitor (2012), it looks exactly the same only her's has to have HDMI to look nice. I'll also note that our Visio Blue-ray and LED TV look grainy and high speed action look terrible without HDMI. This Acer on the other hand, looks great, and I can put the extra $30-$50 into buying a better video card or processor for my computer. Comparisons: When run with the VGA on my HP laptop (Nvidia GT 230M) the clarity of text is diminished by 2%-5%, and Photoshop editing on low resolution pictures isn't good. A 600x400 picture that looked great on my 1366x768 laptop, looses all detail, and high resolution images, look a little off. This will always happen when going from 1366x768 to a 1920x1080 monitor. On my wife's AMD 6450 video card the picture is crisp, the same can be said about the integrated graphics on Intels i7 3770 integrated graphics . Photoshop looks nice, and videos are crisp. As mentioned by others I'm excited to see what it will look like with a real dedicated graphics card. Concerns: There are 3 color setting (warm/cool/standard) under the monitor. This means your pictures will look like they were taken from a Cannon, Nikon and hopefully a true color view. Since I do photo editing I prefer to make my own changes to color and use standard. Standard will adjust... brightness and color. Each being different if you have the lights on in the room or off. I have no idea if it has a sensor but it will make slight changes each time you press it. I am still sceptical if CYMB for printing will remain the same, but I'm hopeful. In action: Youtube videos are a little grainy from 2 feet away, but DVD's are very crisp. The picture fits the full screen on this monitor, (with my laptop, a Dell, and on Intel's dedicated graphics on the I7 3770) unlike some monitors (Dell)that give you a boarder by chopping off the sides and top and tell you that the 22" picture you are viewing is a 23" wide screen. If you like this, there is an option called Aspect that can make your 23" inch monitor look like a 21" if that's what your into. There is a Econo, Standard, Graphics and Movie mode, as well as the ability to move the and I recommend turning on AMC, after looking it up it is (in-theory) going to increase the life of my monitor. For those that complain about the power switch being one of six buttons on the bottom in other websites... press the one on the "FAR RIGHT" on the bottom, almost right under the blue LED on/off light. This blinks when your computer is off, and since it is an energy star device and only uses 23 watts when on you don't have to freak out if you didn't turn off your monitor on the drive to work. The monitor is very light and the stand is 6.5" front to back. As for those that fear flinging the monitor off their desk when "pushing the power button from the underside", or think that they have to "hold the monitor with two hands to turn it off" as mentioned on other sites... (I roll my eyes) See my comment below on making sure the monitor is connected to the stand. I don't think that this is a con, but the tilt on the stand only tilts back and not down, I I have stuck something under it to give it a downward tilt. When opening the box, you are given a monitor which has a plastic tab, and a stand that has a funky looking metal clasp. In this situation metal and plastic do mix. You must follow the instructions and place the stand on the floor, and push the monitor firmly onto the clasp. You may feel that you might break it... and Acer doesn't give you the satisfaction of hearing a "click" when it is completed, but it feels very sturdy after connected. Conclusion, great price, excellent quality, and would recommend... unsure if a professional printing shop. I'm keeping mine and am a graphic designer, but I'm also a college student with a budget. Thanks, hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CWallD
Nampa, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great moniter
7/26/2012

Customer review by Stcrapper

4.0 stars 7/26/2012 by Stcrapper
by Stcrapper

I use with VGA connection for XBOX 360 and with my laptop and it looks great either way. Games with scenery look amazing and the response time is great for fast-paced action. The monitor is very thin and extremely light. I move it around a lot and I have to be careful. It doesn't have wall mounts but it does have a small footprint on a counter or desk. The AC adapter gets a little hot, but it is just a Barrell-Jack wal-wart and those are easy enough to find replacements for.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stcrapper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice monitor for the money, but 16:9 not 16:10
11/7/2013

Customer review by rbhrrie

4.0 stars 11/7/2013 by rbhrrie
by rbhrrie

Nice enjoyable monitor, great value, but if you want to read documents one page at a time without scrolling, you really need at least a 24-inch diagonal for a monitor with a 16:9 aspect ratio. The older monitors were 16:10, so you could get away with a 22-inch diagonal to get the same readable height. Most low cost monitors are now 16:9, thanks to the entertainment industry. I returned the s230hl and ordered a v246hl bd instead, 23 inch versus 24 inch. The extra diagonal inch gives and extra half inch in useable height. The V-model is only a few dollars more, site to store. Came in three days. The S model has connectors that attach straight back. The V model has connectors that attach downward, for better wall mounting, if desired. S-models are slim, but wider at the base, which lowers the center of gravity for stable mounting. The V essential professional models have a boxier rear panel, but they also have a built-in power supply instead of a wall module. The stands are adequate. I like both monitors. It depends what you need it for. Here's how the Acer part numbers work: S=slim V=essential professional. Next two numbers are diagonal size. Third number relates to options. H=high definition. L=LED back-light.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rbhrrie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Loving this monitor!!!
9/5/2013

Customer review by gardenmg

5.0 stars 9/5/2013 by gardenmg
by gardenmg

I am very pleased with the definition and performance of this monitor. Thank you for a great product at a great price.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gardenmg
houston, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Picture!!
11/3/2013

Customer review by John67

5.0 stars 11/3/2013 by John67
by John67

Really, I can't see you needing more unless your an avid game player! I mainly watch movies (many fast action), movie clips, and lots of reading. Pros: For movies, the dark's are awesome! Keeps up with fast action rather good, real good! As for reading, the text is very crisp, even the fine print!! I just can't see going out and buying all these expensive monitors where the difference is very minute, at the same time they are very problematic. Cons: The hidden panel buttons are lacking descriptions. If they spent just a few seconds on the panel controls, they could of easily found that they could have solved this problem by adding a very cheap piece of a transparent display sticker above the buttons on the lower right front of the screen so we would know which buttons do what instead of trying to guess or memorize them. Think people, think! :-) Just an added note, even though it doesn't have an hdmi input, trust me, the picture quality is very good! At first I was hesitant, but it didn't disappoint. Bottom Line: Buy it!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
John67
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value for the money
10/15/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 10/15/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Plugged it in to new desktop PC and had to do nothing else.....good deal.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
De Queen, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fantastic! Great quality, good price, EASY SET UP
4/19/2014

Customer review by LoveTheMamaLife

5.0 stars 4/19/2014 by LoveTheMamaLife
by LoveTheMamaLife

My hubby enjoys gaming and his old monitor was dying and awful. At ten at night, I ran to my nearest wal-mart to get him a cheap monitor. Was aiming for around $100 but when I saw this, I thought, well, it's an early birthday present, why not upgrade? SO GLAD I DID!!! It is GREAT!!!!!! Beautiful, light weight, thin, EASY SET UP, GREAT PICTURE, LARGE! My husband had it up and running with his game in about two minutes and he was a HAPPY MAN!!! : ) SOOOOO glad I didn't go with the no name brand for $100. I have an acer laptop and love it. This monitor is a GREAT BUY!!!! : )

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveTheMamaLife
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Good Buy
1/24/2013

Customer review by Vallecat

4.0 stars 1/24/2013 by Vallecat
by Vallecat

I purchased the Acer 23" LCD Widescreen Monitor. Although, I have not had it for a long time, I can say that this is a very good monitor. I love the actual screen size you get for viewing and it is high in resolution.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vallecat
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GORGEOUS !
5/3/2013

Customer review by Joeegirl

5.0 stars 5/3/2013 by Joeegirl
by Joeegirl

Clear, Beautiful so easy to set up my cat could have done it ! Nice height and tiltable base. Very light and very thin ! When I tell people how much I spent they can believe how inexpensive it was. Similar monitors of the same size and make are at least $65. dollars more at stores like Bestbuy. I told a friend(a licensed Microsoft engineer and as soon as the words were out of my mouth, he said Great deal, Buy it ! I couldn't not be happier ! Also very fast shipping !

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Joeegirl
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/15/2013

Customer review by cg68

4.0 stars 8/15/2013 by cg68
by cg68

Good monitor; sharp colors, and very light and thin. Just wished that the frame wasn't glossy finish. Stand is a bit cheap and cannot adjust height or tilt.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cg68
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value.
4/30/2013

Customer review by sm615

4.0 stars 4/30/2013 by sm615
by sm615

This widescreen monitor is exactly as specified. Very easy to connect/install and the color and resolution are great.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sm615
nashville, tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Monitor
9/4/2013

Customer review by orangestick

4.0 stars 9/4/2013 by orangestick
by orangestick

The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is was very hard to attach to the base. Once I finally got the base on it was very easy to connect and start using.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
orangestick
Gulfport,MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Monitor
11/2/2012

Customer review by aallord

3.0 stars 11/2/2012 by aallord
by aallord

I rated this monitor three stars only because it does not have an HDMI port. Considering the day we are in HDMI should be a standard port on all monitors.... The HDMI port is also why I rated it 4 in meeting my expectations. Though I will admit I did not read the description or even think about HDMI for the laptop I was attaching this monitor to. Was surprised when I got it home and found it did not have a HDMI port and that was one of two monitor connections my laptop supports. I kept the monitor and used a DVI to HDMI adaptor and the monitor is great. Everything I have come to expect from the Acer family of products over the many years I have been using their product.

Was this review helpful? (10) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aallord
Helena, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic Monitor
11/11/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/11/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

It more than met my expectations. The monitor looked better, bigger, and more beautiful then the one I already had. I had wish I had bought (2) two of them instead. It gives a great picture. large picture, beautiful colors.... And, It delivers everything I needed and more...Now, I can work with more comfort and ease. I have made it my main monitor...If I were to have more of them, I would have them surround me.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I Love the big picture
7/23/2013

Customer review by onabreak

5.0 stars 7/23/2013 by onabreak
by onabreak

I am pleased with this monitor. The screen size is nice and big and good for movies and game playing. It does get warm though so I shut it off at night. I havent had a problem with a monitor getting warm before so I dont know if this is normal or not. I am hoping it will last as long as all my other monitors have. They usually dont ever wear out for me I just replaced the one I had because I wanted a bigger one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
onabreak
Clackamas, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this one
9/10/2013

Customer review by Farsight

5.0 stars 9/10/2013 by Farsight
by Farsight

VGA & DVI connections. Clear. Easy to set up. Exactly what I expected and wanted.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Farsight
Princeton, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product for the price.
7/25/2013

Customer review by disappointed42

5.0 stars 7/25/2013 by disappointed42
by disappointed42

Was looking for a new monitor for my husband. This was the price point I had in mind. It is functioning perfectly and he loves it. No problems as of this writing. Would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
disappointed42
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love it!
8/22/2013

Customer review by Liv2Laff

5.0 stars 8/22/2013 by Liv2Laff
by Liv2Laff

A nice large screen and has clear graphics.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Liv2Laff
Wichita, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This my third Acer monitor
7/26/2013

Customer review by Bulldozerguard

5.0 stars 7/26/2013 by Bulldozerguard
by Bulldozerguard

My last one lasted seven years before. the part that lights up the screen quit. I still have two more in use. The screen on this one is amazing, I can not get over how clear the lines are. I am very pleased with this monitor.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bulldozerguard
Fayetteville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews