Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 101 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

101 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

101 reviews | 4 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
54
4 stars
24
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 stars
12
1-20 of 99 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 99 total reviews
1-20 of 99 reviews
You got to be crazy not to get this Notebook!
9/1/2011

Customer review by MooMoo407

5.0 stars 9/1/2011 by MooMoo407
by MooMoo407

My Specs: • Steel gray • Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium • 2nd generation Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2310M) + Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000 • 4GB DDR3 System Memory (1 Dimm) •640GB 5400RPM Hard Drive • 6-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery (standard) • 14.0" diagonal High-Definition HP BrightView LED Display • SuperMulti 8X DVD+/-R/RW with Double Layer Support • HP TrueVision HD Webcam with Integrated Digital Microphone and HP SimplePass Fingerprint Reader • Intel 802.11b/g/n WLAN with Wireless Display Support • Standard Keyboard I Bought this Notebook for my little sister because i recently bought a DV6 and she wanted one too. So I did some research and found HP Dm4! I honestly wanted to buy her a DV6 but she said she would prefer something smaller and light weight so i decided to get her the DM4. It took some time to ship because of Hurricane Irene, but it came and now we both have a great Performance, High Quality, HP Laptops! If you don't buy this laptop you will regret it! So order yours A.S.A.P!

MooMoo407
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Best Laptop Around!
6/8/2012

Customer review by roo93

5.0 stars 6/8/2012 by roo93
by roo93

I bought this laptop about three weeks ago for college in the fall. My initial thought was that it wouldn't be good enough to play current PC games, such as Diablo 3. As I took it home, put my games on there, it ran Diablo 3, and all other current games without a problem. This is a very fast, very sleek computer with enough power to do whatever you need to do. The drawback, if you would call it one, is how it loves to show fingerprints, everywhere. But performance and quality wise, I am extremely happy with my buy.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
roo93
Marshall, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Overall, Excellent Purchase
6/23/2012

Customer review by Bob0354

5.0 stars 6/23/2012 by Bob0354
by Bob0354

Overall, the laptop is very exceptional. I find it very easy to use, manipulate, and the speed is unbelievable. It is excellent for multi tasking and working on the internet via windows 7 and working on a spreadsheet at the same time. I had only one issue, which does not reflect on the product it self, i could not connect to the internet, and still can't because i have verizon fios. I am using a lan line, BUT, i have used the wifi at other locations and connected immediately. It has something to do with the security key. Otherwise, this was an overall exceptional purchase, and before i forget, the sound is out of this world, and so is the picture quality. I watch movies on it all the time, i wish it had a blue ray player. I would recommend that if you purchase this product, go for the few extra dollars and have a blue ray player installed....Bob. A.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bob0354
Dumont, New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
BEST WINDOWS COMPUTER I HAVE EVER OWNED
4/22/2012

Customer review by CVALPATIC

5.0 stars 4/22/2012 by CVALPATIC
by CVALPATIC

THIS IS THE BEST WINDOWS COMPUTER I HAVE EVER OWNED AND WILL ONLY GET BETTER WITH WINDOWS 8. I GOT VERY SICK OF APPLE COMPUTERS SO I DECIDED TO GO BACK TO WINDOWS BUT I WANTED ONE THAT HAD GREAT AUDIO QUALITY. THE BEATS AUDIO IS AMAZING WHETHER LISTENING THROUGH THE COMPUTERS SPEAKERS/SUBWOOFER OR THROUGH STANDARD HEADPHONES YOU CAN REALLY TELL THE DIFFERENCE. THE COMPUTER IS BUTTERY SMOOTH WITH NO LAG. THE QUALITY OF MATERIALS THAT WERE USED TO MAKE THIS WERE TOP OF THE LINE AND THE HD+ ANTI GLARE SCREEN IS GREAT. JUST THE COMPUTER I WAS LOOKING FOR!! BATTERY LIFE IS PRETTY GOOD I GET ABOUT 6-7 HOURS OFF OF A CHARGE.

Was this review helpful? (51) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CVALPATIC
FORT WAYNE, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Balanced Price-Value Performance
7/31/2011

Customer review by Orens

5.0 stars 7/31/2011 by Orens
by Orens

This is one of the best computers that I have ever had. For everyday computing is the most amazing one ever. I am a computer programmer, and for what I do it's perfect, but however I wanted to test this one and I found that the only drawback is during game. Even though I am a programmer, I was unable to track down the problem and distinct if it's the graphics' fault or processor's. However, unless you want this computer to play games, it's the best one and I would recommend that you costumize it a little and if you don't plan to buy another one soon, I would say that you should be looking for a Intel i7 processor and high nVidia Graphics if there is any option for that ... (Excuse me if I am making an advertisement) In a nutshell, It's just amaizing ... (Also the software that came with it and HP support and drivers and everything), just excepting the problem that I mentioned, but I believe that if you download new graphic drivers ... THIS ONE WILL BE THE BEST ...

Orens
Tirana, Albania, Europe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great laptop for entertainment & portability
6/5/2012

Customer review by Armani1

5.0 stars 6/5/2012 by Armani1
by Armani1

I did my fair share research and was looking for a 14" laptop, w/ at least 6GB of memory, good speakers and at least an i5 processor. I found this laptop at HP, but at $899 it was a little more I wanted to spend. I found it at Walmart for $100 cheaper than anywhere else, so I had to get it. I ordered the laptop on Monday and received it Wednesday! I have no complaints and it has exceeded my expectations. I love the fingerprint reader and the backlit keyboard is awesome! The only thing I might consider upgrading is the battery (only lasts a little over 5 hrs) and expand the memory.

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Armani1
Gainesville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome Computer!
8/4/2011

Customer review by CJ92

5.0 stars 8/4/2011 by CJ92
by CJ92

I bought the Pavilion dm4 about a month ago. Since the day I got it I have loved everything about it. My configuration is Intel Core i5, 6GB RAM, 640GB Hard Drive, Windows 7 Premium, Intel HM65 Express Chipset. The computer fires right up and is ready to go in less than a minute. It has a beautiful HD display that looks stunning with everything I view on it. DVD-R/RW is nice to have. Wi-fi works flawlessly and is very speedy. The computer itself is extremely snappy, and has no problem multitasking with multiple programs. Chiclet style keyboard is awesome and the keys feel nice under your fingers. Very lightweight & portable, speakers sound great for being on-board. Also has a very sleek brushed aluminum design that gets looks everywhere I go. The HP logo on the cover illuminates when the computer is on, and the HP CoolSense actually works and keeps the bottom of the laptop at a comfortable temp when you're just chilling. Awesome laptop for college.

CJ92
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Amazing laptop, Amazing features, Amazing price
6/1/2012

Customer review by Andy303

5.0 stars 6/1/2012 by Andy303
by Andy303

Bought this laptop for personal use (College) and it has turned out to be a wonderful laptop. I began shopping and reviewing looking for a laptop that was stylish yet powerful. I originally planned on getting a Macbook pro, but I grew up as a PC user so I decided to look around a little more before I threw in the towel. I stumbled across this laptop while looking at all laptops at once and it caught my eye. Its beautifully constructed with the beats logo against the black aluminum. I opened it and was immediately pleased by the design of it. I turned on the back-lite keyboard and was blown away. The audio is great, crisp and clear for music connoisseurs. The processing power is substantial for such a small laptop. Overall I am happy to call myself an HP user and I am thoroughly impressed with this purchase. I ordered it on Monday night and received it on Thursday. I again recommend this laptop for the occasional gamer that likes to surf the net.

Andy303
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great design and performance but the keyboard, ugh
12/13/2011

Customer review by Cera123

4.0 stars 12/13/2011 by Cera123
by Cera123

Love it! Light, fast, beautiful design (I even got compliments from some mac users). It worked great out of the box and haven't had any of the horror stories that others have talked about, but yes THE KEYBOARD! Since I'll be using this mostly at home, I will probably have it hooked up to a mouse and keyboard and will mostly be using it for performance..the keyboard isn't a big issue. I type fast, like 90 words per minute (I am a data input specialist so that skill comes in very handy), and this keyboard really slows me down. It's not bad for playing games or surfing on the web, but just typing this review has been painful with the spacebar. I hope it really gets better as time goes on because I really do love everything else about it and I am an HP loyalist, but I would imagine this getting very frustrating bringing it to class or typing long essays/papers and such which I will probably save for my HP desktop or my Toshiba/commuter laptop..

Cera123
New York Metro Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Pretty Good :)
2/11/2012

Customer review by Creatrix

4.0 stars 2/11/2012 by Creatrix
by Creatrix

Received my laptop earlier today and so far pretty satisfied. The keys are a little larger then a regular keyboard, making it easier for me to avoid as many typos. Graphics are pretty, with the AMD Radeon graphics card, speed is good with the i5 2.5ghz processor, making it so I can run some pretty nice games on high quality. Steel gray shows no fingerprints. Back lit keyboard is awesome for dark areas. Anti glare screen is convenient for thous well lit areas. Nice weight and size, easy to carry around, mine is about 5 to 6 lbs. Sound is amazingly loud and clear with Beats Audio. Currently at 60% of battery with an estimate of 4 hours left so it will last about 6 or 7 hours. A little disappointed seeing how I got a high capacity 6 cell and it just about meets with the advertised lifetime for a regular 6 cell. Otherwise, I think this thing will be great for school work and a little more to just enjoy yourself. :)

Creatrix
Beaverton, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Love it!!
5/25/2012

Customer review by ConstantiaLoveBball

5.0 stars 5/25/2012 by ConstantiaLoveBball
by ConstantiaLoveBball

I love the color black and read. I like the fact that the key board lights up. It is the perfect size for traveling and it is super light. I has the perfect pre-install digital reader. It is fast and worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (15) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ConstantiaLoveBball
Afghanistan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Do not buy HP!
10/20/2012

Customer review by Shadmin

1.0 stars 10/20/2012 by Shadmin
by Shadmin

I bought this laptop a short time ago and it had al sorts of features and looked good, but shortly after buying it the WiFi connectivity stopped working and could not be recovered, then the screen went black and would not display anything, so I contacted HP and they said they would repair it by putting in a new mobo for over $300? I had just purchased the computer and had had it for a little over 3 mos? They should have done it for free! So I returned it to Walmart and got an Acer which is what I should have done in the first place! HP has serious QC issues these days and have gone downhill, they used to have top of the line quality, seems Acer is the better quality product these days.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shadmin
Rocky Mountains, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product But....
9/20/2011

Customer review by Network

4.0 stars 9/20/2011 by Network
by Network

Computer seems great so far. Size, speed, screen display quality are great. Quality of the product itself is impressive. It's a great looking, solid feeling device. I was in the IT industry so setting up a machine isn't really a problem. Finding out how to activate the fingerprint reader was an adventure and the problem was solved through searching the problem on line....not on the HP site. In fact I emailed tech support at HP and never got a response. The other issue I have is minor but frustrating. The HP Assistant keeps popping up asking for action. It's pretty straightforward but the updates I select don't always seem to download or if they do they don't install. I'll find an alternative method but this could be a real pain for traditional users. My complaints are minor. So far I'm awed by the quality and price of this laptop.

Network
Eastern Shore, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Decent with a few glitches
4/17/2012

Customer review by Rebecca19

4.0 stars 4/17/2012 by Rebecca19
by Rebecca19

I read a lot of reviews before I purchased this computer, and I'm decently happy with it. As some reviewers have mentioned, the keyboard can have a few issues. When I first got it, a few keys weren't recognizing my fingers and my left clicker button isn't as responsive as my last HP computer. It doesn't seem to be an issue anymore, though. My biggest problem is with the track pad. It is rough to the touch compared to my last HP and there is no scroll bar on the side; it has the two-finger scroll function like a MAC. It's been frustrating and not as easy to use. It's kind of like a bad dream, where you just can't move to where you'd like. The screen was shorter than I had imagined; look at the dimensions. The arrow keys are also smaller than I had thought. A few times my Internet browser has randomly closed because of a mis-click. Other seemed to have this problem. Purchase the backlight -- very cool. The Beats Audio speakers are nice, but located in the front. The headphone jack in on the side, strange compared to a more functional front side placement. The design is very lightweight and sleek; the cover is a neat texture but can look greasy.

Rebecca19
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for the Money!
4/29/2012

Customer review by Indoboy24

4.0 stars 4/29/2012 by Indoboy24
by Indoboy24

So after reviewing the notebooks for a while, and looking for a power packed, compact unit, i stumbled on this laptop. Great display (comparable or better to the apple products), good power, and great price for what you are getting. Some Pros: Great backlit Keyboard! Great Display. Great HD camera for Skype. Great keyboard fell when typing. Some Recommendations: Make sure to get the bigger hard drive as space is easy to fill. The Beats Audio is cool, but depending on your usage, it might not be worth the extra $$ spent. Also, definitely spend the extra money on an extended battery as the sound and cool lights will drain the battery. Overall: For the price, it has more than enough and more! It is a great looking unit, with power, and is a great option if you are looking for a portable nice looking machine.

Indoboy24
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Laptop Overall!
5/31/2012

Customer review by brendan127

5.0 stars 5/31/2012 by brendan127
by brendan127

This laptop has many features that others at this price point don't. And I also believe this laptop to be much better than mac's once you cut through all of this bloatware that is! The everyday performance of this laptop is great, not a single hiccup, and typing on this keyboard is awesome too! Definitely download the drivers for this laptop. The only reason I dropped a star on performance, is because this laptop only has integrated graphics, while this will be fine for most users, the Intel HD Graphics 3000 will not meet the requirements of a heavy gamer. The startup is very fast in comparison to the 500GB 5400RPM hard drive I had in my last laptop, and 1600 x 900 resolution is great in comparison to the 1366 x 768 I used to have with the glossy screen also! Overall this laptop won't disappoint you!

brendan127
Converse, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good Purchase
4/3/2012

Customer review by idieh

4.0 stars 4/3/2012 by idieh
by idieh

Overall, this was a good purchase. I will continue with the pros and cons. PROS: -Nice keyboard -Nice display -Great battery life -Portable -Has enough ports (3 USBs, HDMI, Ethernet, etc.) -Beats audio -Great price -Track pad works great -Manual control for backlit keyboard -CoolSense definitely does a great job at keeping the laptop cool & the fan makes little to no noise -Webcam has been greatly improved CONS: -The track pad buttons are slightly uneven (the left button is tilted downward as it reaches the right button) -Audio is on the bottom of the laptop so it sounds a little muffled IMO -Fingerprint reader takes a few times to recognize my finger This was not the best purchase but still great nonetheless. It's definitely worth the money and great for college.

idieh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/13/2012

Customer review by HappyWithHP

5.0 stars 7/13/2012 by HappyWithHP
by HappyWithHP

Outstanding product! I purchased this laptop to replace a previous DM4 and it has performed excellent. Backlit keyboard makes it a great choice in low light areas. I have had this laptop for 2 months and have had zero problems/issues while using it between 3 and 5 hours daily!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyWithHP
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
My worst laptop yet
3/12/2012

Customer review by Syde

1.0 stars 3/12/2012 by Syde
by Syde

This is perhaps my 5th laptop in the past 7-8 years. Wanted to buy with the latest features and more hard drive space. Since the first day, this laptop (Dmt4-3000) has been giving me grief. The network adapter crahses losing internet connectivity and hence leading to ineffecient performace. 6th day of the purchase, the hard drive crashed. I lose all my important docuements. HP will replace the drive, but they cannot retreive my files.Geek squad charges $150 to reterive /backup data. Now I realize why people vouch for a Mac. The customer service should have been more considerate. They should have offered to retreive my data etc. Now i am still within the 21 day return window. If this system gives me one more problem, its going back to Shangai..

Syde
Atlanta,GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
EXCELLENT computer
3/28/2012

Customer review by annie22

5.0 stars 3/28/2012 by annie22
by annie22

I love the computer. It never gets hot and the fan is very quiet. DELL is a lot worse in terms of the fan noise and temperature. This laptop is very light, less than 5 pounds, even with a 9 cell oversized battery. Its a very powerful and a GREAT computer! The only thing I don't like is it does not have a matte screen display. Samsung laptops all come with a matte screen display, so you don't have to worry about all the glare and reflections on your computer screen. I don't know why HP does not offer a matte screen display. HP, if you want to beat your competitions, you need to have matte screen displays NOW! I hate to see you losing out to your competitors, but if you don't listen to what your customers want, you won't survive or thrive!

annie22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 99 total reviews
1-20 of 99 reviews