Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 145 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

145 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

145 reviews | 4 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
67
4 stars
44
3 stars
12
2 stars
11
1 stars
11
1-20 of 144 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 144 total reviews
1-20 of 144 reviews
I loved it!
1/12/2016

Customer review by runninmom

3.0 stars 1/12/2016 by runninmom
by runninmom

I have always used bissell products. The problem I am having is after 2 uses, the Hepa filter blows off. It is new. They are sending me a new filter, hopefully, it will solve the problem. If not, could it be the door?

runninmom
Boyce, LA, USA
Gender:Female
Very good vacuum
10/8/2012

Customer review by Army wife85

3.0 stars 10/8/2012 by Army wife85
by Army wife85

I got this vacuum as a gift and I have been fairly pleased with it. It does a very good job of getting up dirt that other vacuums have missed and getting up pet hair as well. i use this on my stairs, floors and on my microfiber couch. There are 2 things I am not so fond of with this vacuum: 1) the hose.. it's supposed to be easier than the older model vacuums with just the attachments, this one stretches farther and can reach more places but I find that i have to hold the vacuum or it will fall over when I try to use the hose. It's more of a pain for ne to use the hose to clean my house or stairs because I have to hold the vacuum so it doesn't fall. 2) the filters. You are supposed to be able to remove them and clean them in the sink with water but I found that after I did that just ONCE they smelled moldy almost. Anytime I used the vacuum after that it gave off that funky smell so I ended up having to buy new filters after only a month of having the vacuum.

Comment from Joe - 10/16/2012

If you prefer not to wash your filters, you can knock them out as best as you can, but over time you will have to replace them as the dust and dirt will collect. If you do wash them, make sure you let them thoroughly dry. I recommend 48 hours to be safe. You may just want to have 2 sets of filters on hand so you can always use one while the other is drying. Here is a link to get the filters: http://www.bissell.com/parts/?sc=part&productid=2459&partid=4701

Army wife85
Fort Riley, Madison, KS 67432, USA
Gender:Female
suctions is good and the machine itself is quite
12/21/2012

Customer review by pielc

4.0 stars 12/21/2012 by pielc
by pielc
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I notice that the vacuum sucks the dust and other debris immediately.Easy to manuver on small area.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pielc
oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Vacuum works well, description incorrect.
12/16/2015

Customer review by Florida-1

4.0 stars 12/16/2015 by Florida-1
by Florida-1

This is second Bissell, and as first this unit works well. Am disappointed that description listed this as having TWO rotating brushes - it DOES NOT.

Florida-1
Florida
Gender:Male
I think this smart vacuum is a smart buy
9/21/2013

Customer review by sarahb

4.0 stars 9/21/2013 by sarahb
by sarahb

I really like this vacuum. I've had it for a little more than 1 year. Pros -cleans my floors (mostly carpet) very well -moves around easily -reliable -all but 1 of the filters can be rinsed at home. I love not having the hassle and expense of buying new filters all the time. -it lights up to tell you when filters need to be cleaned -it lights up to tell you when the floor is clean. Not sure how well such a sensor can detect cleanliness, but 1) getting everything up from my carpet is important to maintain it and 2) vacuuming can be a tedious task but watching the light makes it more fun. -the automatic cord rewind is more convenient than I expected Although these are not faults, there are 2 minor things I don't like: -it takes a while for the filters to dry, so I can only wash them if I am completely done with vacuuming for a few days. -it isn't easy to use this to clean carpeted stairs, and there isn't a stair cleaning attachment that fits this machine.

Comment from Lisa - 9/23/2013

Thank you for your review. You can order the filters direct; this way you have an extra set on hand instead of waiting to vacuum. Here is the link to order: http://www.bissell.com/parts/?sc=product&productid=8240&icid=ccrr

sarahb
San Diego, CA, USA
Gender:Female
Best Quality Performance Vacuum
6/16/2013

Customer review by rwharold

5.0 stars 6/16/2013 by rwharold
by rwharold

It is a very powerful vacuum with a 12 amp motor. It is very easy to maneuver and cleans a 15 inch wide edge to edge path. Maintenance is very simple. Just empty the dust cup when full. Occasionally take out the filter cup underneath the dust cup and clean and wash both the outer circular foam filter and the inner circular pleated filter. Be sure to let them both air dry for 24 hours. You may also remove the small lower circular post motor foam filter and wash and air dry. The HEPA filter on the side of the vacuum is not washable and should be replaced annually. Maintenance is very easy. The features that I like most are the retractable 25 foot cord, the head lamp, the red and green lights Clean Carpet Sensor and the Turbo Brush attachment. All-in-all, it is a great vacuum and out performs all the the higher priced vacuums. I would highly recommend the Bissell 58F83 Rewind SmartClean to anyone wanting a great quality powerful vacuum. Best of all it has a 3-year warranty unlike the many others which have only a 1-year warranty.

rwharold
Reston, VA, USA
Gender:Male
Love It, has just about everything
2/20/2015

Customer review by retired50

5.0 stars 2/20/2015 by retired50
by retired50

This vacuum cleaner has everything I want in a vacuum! Assembling it was easy. The first thing I noticed was how quiet the machine was. I can't believe I put up with my old vacuum for so long. Not only was it quieter, but it's powerful. It picks up the dirt and dust on hardwood and carpets, and it's easy to work with. The turbo tool is the best; it makes cleaning the sofa and chair cushions simple. I think my favorite thing is the cord rewind, push the lever and cord rewinds itself. This is great!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
retired50
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
First Time Use....Impressed
11/3/2015

Customer review by Tiffany35

4.0 stars 11/3/2015 by Tiffany35
by Tiffany35

I purchased this product on 10/30/2015 and it was delivered on 11/02/2015 , which I was pleasantly surprised as the delivery date was for 11/06/2015 - 11/10/2015. I decided to try it out that evening and I am so glad I did. I was shocked at how dirty my carpet actually was! This vacuum picked up carpet powder that my other vacuum left behind! About 2 weeks ago I had used a powder when I vacuumed and the carpet appeared 'cleaned' but there were a few pieces of fuzz and inner lining from a toy my dog had destroyed laying around. SmartClean sucked up all carpet powder that had found it's way to the lower level of carpet, as well as lint, hair, paper, and a business card that had fell on the floor! The clean carpet indicator is amazing! The indicator stayed 'red' for about 15 mins letting me know my carpet was still dirty. I didn't want to believe it, but as I looked into the bin, dirt was still coming up from the hose into the bucket! Finally, the light turned 'green' letting me know the carpet was cleaned and I didn't see any particles going into the bin, and I swear it appears to be a shade lighter. The suction is great and I hope it continues to have the same power. My only problem with my last Bissell which was on the Helix System is that the suction died over time and eventually would barely pick up anything. I'll do another update in a few months to see if the SmartClean is still going strong!

Tiffany35
Dallas, TX, USA
Gender:Female
WOW
11/7/2015

Customer review by neneofeight

5.0 stars 11/7/2015 by neneofeight
by neneofeight

I LOVE this vacuum! I had an older Bissel and realized it was just worn out. I live in a fairly rural area with a lot of sandstone......consequently a lot of Sandy, dusty grit comes in. This little gem with the clean and dirty lights is too cool!! I never had to replace one belt on the previous cleaner and loved that the filter was washable and that is why I went with another Bissell. I was also spoiled with the previous cleaners rewinding cord......another awesome feature and factor into buying this machine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
neneofeight
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Can,t beat this vacuum with a rug cleaner
12/12/2013

Customer review by phillly

5.0 stars 12/12/2013 by phillly
by phillly
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have used an Oreck for years but when I tried this, this was the best. It sucked everything out of the carpet and started to take the wallpaper down. I purchased one in Florida used it and when came home to New Jersey bought another. Highly recommend this for cleaning floors, it is a little heavy but it does the job.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
phillly
Naples, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love this vacuum- but the stupid HEPA filter won't stay on!
5/16/2014

Customer review by Jeff 61

4.0 stars 5/16/2014 by Jeff 61
by Jeff 61

My wife and I placed this vacuum on our wedding registry, and we were very excited when we received it. We also have an older, smaller model Bissell that we like so much, we still have it. We love this vacuum because it works really well at cleaning the floor- and that's why we asked for it! The suction is excellent and the retractable cord is a really cool feature. Despite our satisfaction with these 2 features, there are 2 complaints that we have. 1. The HEPA Media Filter and filter cover just started randomly blowing off of the machine last week! It's the weirdest thing- every time we turn the machine on, it flies off. We taped it down, but the force from the air was powerful enough to blow through the tape. Annoying! 2. The attachments are also pretty disappointing. Once you attach them to the hose, the suction is absolutely awful. We use our older model Bissell to handle couches curtains, and blinds.

Jeff 61
Malden, MA, USA
Gender:Male
Good value for price
7/23/2014

Customer review by Tusondesert

4.0 stars 7/23/2014 by Tusondesert
by Tusondesert
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This vacuum is good value for price. I have owned more expensive and less expensive vacuum cleaners. This one does an excellent job on carpet. I have not yet used on tile floors. This one does a great job of picking up lots of dirt and cat hair. Dirt canister is easy to empty. Cord rewind works better than some I have had. Have only had a short time. But good so far.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tusondesert
Tucson
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Impressed
3/3/2014

Customer review by Eddie55

4.0 stars 3/3/2014 by Eddie55
by Eddie55

I just picked up a used/rebuilt unit and so far, I'm impressed. I got it from my local vac repair shop as I just wanted something easy, simple and inexpensive for my lower-level basement/office (where my wife prefers I NOT use her expensive Simplicity vac.#. After trying it out, she now wants the Bissell upstairs! I had just vacuumed with the Dirt Devil that quit on me, and the Bissell picked up so much more. The little Turbo Brush tool hits the stairs like nothing else can. I've learned a lot about 'bagless' when I was shopping for more expensive brands, and I know that bagless vacs are not as well sealed, so I get that, but it is easy to see how you're doing and its easy to keep emply/clean all the time without a dirt-bag hanging out in your closet between changes. I love the retractable cord and another reviewer said they didn't like the location of it #too low#, which he has a point. However, I just loop it over the hose hook toward the top. No big deal. I do have to get my hands on the little 'multi-tool' brush though, as it was missing from my used one, which is otherwise immaculate.

Eddie55
Greatest Low Priced Unit on sale
12/26/2014

Customer review by 76sr

5.0 stars 12/26/2014 by 76sr
by 76sr

I now have two of these Bissell Vacuum's. One for upstairs, one for downstairs!! This particular vacuum has enough suction t suck the hair off your head!! I love everything about these units except cleaning out the accumulated dirt traps. You have to clean the dirt traps & wash & dry the foam filters before putting the machine back together. That being said, well worth the inconvenience for the quality of the vacuum!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
76sr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great upgrade from my 15 year old Bissell model 3596 Revolution vacuum.
1/9/2014

Customer review by Tom3529

5.0 stars 1/9/2014 by Tom3529
by Tom3529

Approximately 15 years ago I purchased a Bissell model 3596 Revolution bagless upright vacuum cleaner with a filter clean sensor and the red and green cleaning sensor lights. What an excellent workhorse it has been! I have 2 long haired cats that necessitate almost daily vacuuming of the house. Each time I vacuum I get at least a softball size ball of cat hair from the vacuum. The clean sensor lights are an absolute wonder in how well they work in sensing and helping to remove deep down dirt from the carpeting. Alas, after 15 years of continual use the mechanism that holds the vacuum in an upright position became unrepairable . I wanted another Bissell with sensor clean lights and this time a rewind cord. I found that plus more in the Smart Clean 58F83. Although I was very pleased with the Revolution cleaning system in the old vacuum I must say the Helix cleaning system is a major improvement. It cleans better and it is easier to clean the filters. And of course, the Smart Clean lights are invaluable if you really want a deep down cleaning of your carpets. Congratulations Bissell on a superb evolutionary product.

Tom3529
Wellington, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Smelly
7/6/2013

Customer review by smellymcsmellsmell

3.0 stars 7/6/2013 by smellymcsmellsmell
by smellymcsmellsmell

We received this as a wedding gift and were VERY excited about it. We've had great experiences with it, that is UNTIL we cleaned the filters. I washed the filters as directed and let them air dry for at least three days, maybe more. Today when I went to use the vacum (about 1.5 weeks after washing the filters - we're grad students, give us a break!) the smell was AWFUL. It smelled SO much like mildew we were gagging and thought the machine ate our nasty gym shorts or something. We re-washed the filters and purchased new ones that will (hopefully) come in the mail soon. Long story short, it takes MUCH MORE than 24 hours for these filters to dry, and it is a total disgusting mistake to use them when they're not dry. Of course, had I known they weren't dry I wouldn't have used them, they seemed dry to me! Hopefully with the new dry filters the vacum won't stink, if it does then this three star rating is sure to drop to a one or two star. However, like I said - it has worked great for us suction-wise. We have a dog and cat that shed like crazy and it picks everything up! Great for animal owners, just beware of cleaning/drying the filters.

Comment from Lisa - 7/9/2013

Thank you for your review. With such a strong odor; perhaps the filters just needed to replace instead of washed. We are certain you won't have this odor with new filters!

smellymcsmellsmell
I love this vacuum!
9/28/2012

Customer review by janetinbatonrouge

4.0 stars 9/28/2012 by janetinbatonrouge
by janetinbatonrouge

I love this vacuum. I had no idea how dirty my carpet was! The only reason it does not get a five points is because it is a little bit heavy, the attachment wand would do well to be a little longer, and the cord is in an awkward spot making it necessary to always be holding it out of the way. But it is powerful, manuevers pretty good despite the heaviness and the main filters are washable. It has a great turbo attachment for vacuuming furniture that is awesome. I got it because my dog had got fleas in the carpet and I needed something powerful to not just suck them up but the powder treatment I had sprinkled in the rug. The light that goes green when the carpet is clean is really a help although I thought it was gimmicky at first. It really works. It is substantial and does not have a cheap feeling part on it. I am very happy with this.

janetinbatonrouge
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Gender:Female
worked great , but smells bad now
5/13/2013

Customer review by herculees

1.0 stars 5/13/2013 by herculees
by herculees

at first i loved this vacuum the clean and dirty lamps , and the filter indicator , but even though i live in a one bedroom apartment with no pets something is worng with the unit after a few months. It smells really bad , i cleaned all the filters and the smell seesm to be coming from the motor itself a really bad smell that stinks up the whole apartment . I had a cheap bagless before this one that lasted several years , i didnt want to spend a ton of money for the really high end stuff and was sure bissell makes a mid level product , right now I dont know what to do , it might be unusable probably to old to return and I shouldnt have to pay to repair it already when it was used very slightly probably only once a week , in a one bedroom apartment no pets for a few months . My next one might not be a bissell though .

Comment from Lisa - 5/16/2013

Thanks for your feedback. You may need to replace the filters. To order click at this link: http://www.bissell.com/rewind-smartclean-vacuum/?tab=Parts. If new filters don't help, you can have your machine inspected at a BISSELL Service Center. For locations, click here: http://www.bissell.com/service-centers/?zip=Enter%20your%20zip%20code&distance=50

herculees
Ca
Gender:Male
Everything I wanted was good except where the Hepa filter goes.
3/15/2015

Customer review by Bob999

4.0 stars 3/15/2015 by Bob999
by Bob999

I usually don't do reviews but I couldn't help myself on this one. The engineers on this placement of the filter blew it, no pun intended. I was exited to get my new vacuum, put it together and fired it up. It probably wasn't 2 minutes and boom the cover and filter blew off. I called Bissell and was told that maybe it was dirty. I said but mam I just put it together, I then tried electrical tape and it lasted about 15 minutes. Today I bought gorilla tape and it worked for most of the cleaning. They sent a 7 filter when it says on the machine a 9. They are sending a 9 and hopefully that will work. Otherwise they can have it back.

Bob999
Illinois, USA
Gender:Male
Disapointed
11/25/2012

Customer review by CleanFreak

2.0 stars 11/25/2012 by CleanFreak
by CleanFreak

We received this vacuum as a wedding gift that we put on our registry. We have been using the vacuum for a year, since August 2011. It worked great at first, however, about 6 months in it started to stink. At first, I washed the filters as recommended, let them dry but it still smelled. So then, I bought new filters from the website and even on first use of the new filters, it still smelled. I then went through the how-to-guides to check the belt, the spin brush, cleaned both those areas off of any debris, hair, etc. I read I could vacuum up some baking soda to help with a smell....that helped a SMALL bit. I like the vacuum and want to keep using it but at this point it smells too disgusting that I am going to have to purchase a new one.

Comment from Lisa - 11/28/2012

Perhaps a maintenance cleaning is needed. Also, we do not recommend using baking soda. For a BISSELL Service Center location, please click at this link http://www.bissell.com/service-centers/?zip=Enter%20your%20zip%20code&distance=50. We hope this helps!

CleanFreak
Columbus, Ohio
Gender:Female
1-20 of 144 total reviews
1-20 of 144 reviews