Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 68 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

68 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

68 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

61%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
19
4 stars
16
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 stars
17
1-20 of 57 total reviews
61%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 57 total reviews
1-20 of 57 reviews
Cheap, Reliable, Easy to assemble
3/18/2012

Customer review by jarrett2k

4.0 stars 3/18/2012 by jarrett2k
by jarrett2k

I really don't understand why people are complaining about how hard this mower is to put together. My 13 year old brother and I put this together in 30 minutes. It's narrow enough for me to fit between our flower beds, and lightweight enough for me to mow the gigantic bank out in front of my house. I could care less that it's simple and you have to propel it, if I want something that propels itself I'll just get on my riding mower.

Was this review helpful? (101) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jarrett2k
gretna, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
great for trimming
2/28/2012

Customer review by kyman2010

5.0 stars 2/28/2012 by kyman2010
by kyman2010

this mower is great, lightweight, and easy to maneuver. i bought it this month because my murray from 2001 croaked on me and so far i have only used this once because most of the grass is still dormant here. the instructions was not in the box but it went together with a snap i didn't have no problems out of it i filled it with oil and gas and it started 1st pull with 3 primes. i recommend this mower to anyone wanting a basic lawnmower who has a small yard or needs something to trim around the house with.

Was this review helpful? (102) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kyman2010
Park City, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Impressed!
4/3/2012

Customer review by direwolf6584

5.0 stars 4/3/2012 by direwolf6584
by direwolf6584

I did not have a problem putting this mower together. Then again I did look at all the manuals before I started. In one of the smaller ones it gave instructions on putting it together. Granted it depended on which model you had, but was not hard to figure out...that is if you stopped to think about it and read the manual. The mower was impressive and was just what I needed, simple and cut grass....even wet grass. Which I done on purpose just to test it out. On my mower I do have to press the primer about 6 times for it to start, but when it does I have a hard time bogging it down. If you want a great basic mower grab one. I am happy I did. Take Care!

Was this review helpful? (55) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
direwolf6584
Clyde, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
A solid, economical mower, w/ a simple design
4/15/2012

Customer review by kramer2354

4.0 stars 4/15/2012 by kramer2354
by kramer2354

The mower is certainly worth the money. As for pros, the mower is LIGHT (I love that), has a very gas efficient engine, and simply cuts well. I like the simple, economical design; there isn't all this extra junk that weighs down the mower and creates the opportunity for more things to breakdown. Installation went very well; it was easy and straight forward; took no more than 30 min. Also, the engine turns on very easily. Here goes the cons: 1. NO choke, NO automatic adjustment for wheel height; you have to remove the bolts each time. Speaking of which, the bolts that came with my mower would go on REALLY tight (had a unique design); so I would recommend using your own since you'll be adjusting the wheel height. Also, it appears that for the first several minutes that the mower is own, lifting it, or going up an incline causes the engine to choke, perhaps due to a lack of gas feeding into the engine. Also, tilting the mower over on its side with the exhaust causes gas to leak out, so avoid that. So far I've mowed several times, and the mower has been running great. Note: it's important to keep the blade nice in sharp because the engine isn't that strong.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kramer2354
Harrisonburg, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Do NOT buy!
4/7/2012

Customer review by NancyPA

1.0 stars 4/7/2012 by NancyPA
by NancyPA

Returned to store because parts were missing, or wrong for mower. Asked associate to open new box to make sure it had the right things, and it was exactly the same. Nuts that wouldn't fit with the bolts. Don't waist your time!!

Was this review helpful? (32) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NancyPA
Erie, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
average mower
4/21/2012

Customer review by mcdalen

3.0 stars 4/21/2012 by mcdalen
by mcdalen

I bought this mower at WalMart last night, put it together this morning, just got done mowing the grass. I've had better assembly instructions before ... a more model-specific manual would help, or just a picture of the assembled mower (found online). Someone mentioned ill-fitting bolts. I'll bet these are the wheel bolts. They offered incredible resistance to the nut - so much that I thought I had it cross-threaded. But no, all the bolts & nuts are like that - they just go on rough. Everything else snapped into place fine. The mower takes the full bottle of oil provided. It started on second pull & mowed just like it was supposed to. Of course the jury's still out on the long-term, but for now I am quite satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mcdalen
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
TOO DIFFICULT TO ASSEMBLE THIS TIME
4/24/2012

Customer review by heytoots

2.0 stars 4/24/2012 by heytoots
by heytoots

I have assembled one of these Murrays in the past, and frequently put together products at home, but Seldom have as much Trouble as I did with this thing. The Instruction manual, for Multiple Mowers with various options, was ridiculously Confusing. Worst of all were the nuts for the wheel bolts which Seemed like the Wrong Size. I finally Forced them on, since it would have been a Headache to Repackage & Return.. Then, I had to come to the Walmart website just to see a full picture of this mower, as a point of reference for the handle details, etc, And to see that Many Others had the same Issues. Hopefully it will work great, or it's going back!

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
heytoots
TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
This is the worst mower I have ever purchased.
5/1/2012

Customer review by Suzeqqu

1.0 stars 5/1/2012 by Suzeqqu
by Suzeqqu

To begin with, the correct parts are not included. Instead of returning it to the store, I purchased the correct parts and put the mower together. This model has no wheel adjustments. I have never seen one constructed this cheaply. On the box it touts that there are four cutting heights which is misleading. There are four holes on each wheel location and you can take your pick. Every time you would want to change the wheel height, you have to take all four wheels off and reinstall them. I positioned the wheels to drop the mower down as far as possible. Having not mowed my lawn for two weeks, the grass seriously needed cut. After mowing a strip, I could not even tell I had been over the grass except for the tracks the wheels left. Since I have used it, I cannot now take it back which is what I wish I had done when I discovered the parts were missing. Do not waste your money on this mower. I am going to Lowe's to buy another mower.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Suzeqqu
Jacksonville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Very poor quality
4/25/2012

Customer review by qwerty1000

1.0 stars 4/25/2012 by qwerty1000
by qwerty1000

We bought this, and the starter wouldn't even pull out properly from the mower. It had dings on it, and the instructions were atrociously confusing. Also, parts were missing. I would strongly recommend you buy something else.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
qwerty1000
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great Value
5/20/2012

Customer review by kstrock

5.0 stars 5/20/2012 by kstrock
by kstrock

When looking for a cheaper mower for our small yard we decided to check out the online review for this product first and after sorting out the people that didn't like the packaging or weren't good at self assembly we felt like this product really was a 4 out of 5 mower. our only issue was that to lower the mower you have to remove the wheels but besides that its a great value, easy to put together and all metal.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kstrock
Oconto falls, wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
better then I thought
4/14/2012

Customer review by badwolf58

4.0 stars 4/14/2012 by badwolf58
by badwolf58

I bought one of these mowers today not expecting much of it but I was surprised it cut alot better then I thought it would . The instructions threw me off some but I figured it out after about half hour or so . It came with enough oil to fill it up and i fill up the gas tank ,,, primed the carb. a few times and started mowing . Overall i am pleased with it being a cheap mower . I even tryed it out in tall grass and was surprised it never bogged down or cut out . So if your looking for a Inexpensive mower I would recommend this one for the price and cutting ability .

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
badwolf58
Maryville tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
GREAT FOR SMALL YARD
4/19/2012

Customer review by papajimbo81

3.0 stars 4/19/2012 by papajimbo81
by papajimbo81

GREAT LAWNMOWER ONCE YOU GET IT TOGETHER! DIRECTIONS AND PICTURES WERE VERY HARD TO FOLLOW. YOU NEED SOME STRENGTH TO PUT THE LOCK NUTS ON FOR THE WHEELS. IT IS WORTH THE LITTLE MONEY THAT YOU PAY FOR IT!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
papajimbo81
portage, in
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Junk. Blade hits body & no throttle control
4/19/2012

Customer review by Knox7

1.0 stars 4/19/2012 by Knox7
by Knox7

Hadnt bought a new push mower in yrs. Things have changed for the worse. I saw mowers with half plastic bodies bolted on. Geez..Then i saw this murray with a metal body. Put it together in the order of the instructions & at the end discovered theres no throttle control. I knew it didnt have a throttle cable but i assumed it had a control at the carb (I had a mower like that once). Some newer junk mowers have a gov but his one is fixed throttle. Was gonna return it right then but my wife talked me into putting oil & gas in it & givin it a try. Ha! There i was with a mower running about wide open with no way to control it & the slightest pressure upward on the handle caused the blade hit the frame. The more pressure i applied to the handle the worse the blade hit the frame. I watched the frame as i added pressure & i could see the frame flexing where the handle connects. CLANG CLANG CLANG CLANG..Rapidly too because you cant turn it down. Shut it off & looked underneath & could see where the blade had been beating the frame. Flimsy junk. I dont care if Murray calls it an "economy", who wants a flimsy mower with the blade hitting the frame & who wants a mower without a throttle control? I want a rugged 20" to do trim, ditchlines & in gravel driveways but theyre all junk nowdays for less than 200$ or more, wheather its Murray or another brand. Returned this one 2 days after purchasing it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Knox7
East Tn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Just your average mower
4/29/2012

Customer review by Commodore64

4.0 stars 4/29/2012 by Commodore64
by Commodore64

Got this home from Walmart. Opened it up and read thru the instruction manual and like other reviewers on here, agree the manual is quite confusing as it is generic for their various brands of mowers. One of the harder things to do was to tighten the nuts for the wheels. I then Remembered what other reviewers said about it, I accepted this situation. Otherwise, I might have thought about returning the mower. I wish the manual would have just added a note to tell the customers it was normal to be hard to tighten the wheel nuts. The other parts got installed okay though I had to skip some parts of the manual where it did not seem applicable to this particular model mower. Instructions should have been updated when parts get changed. Still I was able to assemble it with all the pieces provided, I believe. Filled it up with included oil bottle, filled up the gas tank. Primed the button three times and was able to start it with one or two pulls. Motor seemed to run weak/slow, but it seemed strong enough to cut the damp grass okay. Or the blade was sharp enough to do the job even with a slow motor. I will need to adjust the wheels later to make it lower to the ground as I put it n the upper middle hole which now is too high for my grass. After done mowing, I tilted it on its side (side catcher up) to clean the blade and inside. After I set it upright, noticed gas leaking on that side. Then remembered a reviewer saying this and knew I should have rememered this point better. After cleaning off the gas again and trying to start it again, gas kept coming out that side. I hope eventually the gas will clear out and I can re-mower again in the coming weeks. For now I will just store it and hope for the best.. we'll see... So, notwithstanding these issues, the mower did seem strong enough to cut the grass and not die on me.. time will tell.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Commodore64
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Murray Brigg & Stranton 4.5
4/15/2012

Customer review by allyopps

4.0 stars 4/15/2012 by allyopps
by allyopps

The wheels can only be adjusted by unbolting them.The shut-off cable ,to keep the motor from running when not compressed, was too long;so I removed the safety feature. It's easy enough to put together. It runs well & I hope it last like my old one did;over 39 years! It was the same engine model. All I did was change the blade twice,& replaced the spark plugs 3 times. I always checked the oil fluid level. I'd give this 3 & 1/2 Stars

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
allyopps
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Ok Lawn Mower - Quality Not Great
4/28/2012

Customer review by namerandom

2.0 stars 4/28/2012 by namerandom
by namerandom

I bought this lawn mower and after getting it together I put oil in it and found out that there was a leak in the oil tank. After draining the oil I took it back to Wal-Mart and exchanged it. I brought the second one home and set it up and found that oil was not included - oil was included in the first one. I had to go back to the store and buy oil. The second mower also had obviously been put together and returned because it had scratches of green paint (it's a grey mower) on the base and the nuts had paint stripped off. But it worked well and cut the small part of the lawn that I needed it for without a problem. I agree with other reviewers that this was a little intense to put together. It wasn't horrible and only took about fifteen minutes, but I think it required more tools than the average person buying a cheap lawn mower will have around the house and the directions had diagrams that were backwards and included a lot of instructions for other models. I would not try to put this together without using the correct tools.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
namerandom
Wichita Falls, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Confusing, Mismatched Parts, NOT RECOMMENDED.
6/16/2012

Customer review by Sandgag

2.0 stars 6/16/2012 by Sandgag
by Sandgag

Sorry, no matter what others may post/review here, mine and other's experiences seem similiar. IF you are one the purchasers of this mower and had little to no problems assembling it, then great. I bought mine 06/15/2012, and it sits in my garage, probably waiting to be returned. Cannot get the wheels bolted on; I would strip the hex bolt if I continue to to try to "force" it to turn w/ the wheel screw. Agreed w/ one reviewer; very confusing instructions, combining several models in one manual. WHAT?? Parts do not seem to fit together, and I suspect some parts may be missing. IF an option was to buy an already assembled mower, then sure, great, I'd take it/buy it, etc. But having to assemble this? Those wheels have thwarted my enthusiam, and if I have any further issues, it goes back. Dissapointed, as I was looking forward to using it. Hmm...Murray Co. wonder how many customer complaints you've received on this model. Overall, I would not recommend this one, unless it was already assembled, or you had the option of having it put together by a employee.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sandgag
Seattle, Wa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Unreliable basic mower...
5/29/2012

Customer review by Jerry48

1.0 stars 5/29/2012 by Jerry48
by Jerry48

Purchased this mower on March 15, 2012, assembled myself with some difficulty, but pleased with end result. Mower started right up, and ran great, doing good job cutting. After using for 7 hrs total running time, since couple days after putting mower into service, without warning, or any previous problems, will start with minimal priming, but stops after only about five seconds. Mower will start, but will not run, at all now. I have been using same basic model mower, different brands sold by different stores since the mid 1970's (last couple mowers were sold by Walmart#, getting an average of about ten years out of each mower, without problem. This one is the first one to refuse to run at all, after only less than 8 hrs of use. All previous mowers I've ever used had Briggs & Stratton engines. We still have a Weedeater mower purchassed in 2009, and it's still running good #recently had maintenance pulled on it, but that's expected, especially after about two years of constant use (several times per months during cutting season)) Will be taking back this Murray to the store today.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jerry48
Norfolk, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Walmart associate
Spend a little more money on a better mower!
8/4/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 8/4/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

My husband and I were looking for a reasonably priced mower for our small lawn. Unfortunately, we had problems from THE VERY beginning. First of all, the assembling process was terrible: had a manual/instructions for a different model, had incorrect parts, etc. After using it twice, it began to stall after 10 seconds of starting it. And when it did work and was usable, it seemed to be at a very low power, as if it was clogged. At that time, I replaced the filter and spark plug thinking that this would solve the issue. It worked well for 5 minutes and would then just turn completely off. I would not recommend this to anyone. Spend the extra few dollars to get a more durable, efficient lawn mower....It will save you time & energy!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Shreveport, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good budget lawnmower.
5/3/2012

Customer review by Cheppe39

4.0 stars 5/3/2012 by Cheppe39
by Cheppe39

Great budget lawnmower. Had it assembled in about thirty minutes and only needed one wrench and socket. The wheel bolts weren't bad to put on considering they use lock nuts. Started right up and didn't stall at all going through tall grass and weeds. Takes a little more priming than it says it needs though.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cheppe39
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 57 total reviews
1-20 of 57 reviews