Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.4out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 | 40 reviews
5 stars
26
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
Sort by: 
1-20 of 26 reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews
Great Family Game!!!
3/11/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We bought this game for my husband, myself, and my 5 year old. It is a great game. Well worth the money spent. We have played every part of the game. It is a better value then the Mario Party 8. It has a lot of differnt stages and mini games. I am very impressed with the quility. I would highly recommend this for any age group. No matter the age it is a great family fun game night game.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (72)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
If you are a party fan...AVOID this one!!!
3/12/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My family and I are huge Mario Party fans...from the very beginning, so when we learned of a new one finally coming out we were thrilled. Needless to say, getting it and playing it, HUGE let down. It is like the creators took and easy route this time. There are no mini games after every round, everyone is in the same car going around taking turns as "captain" the challenges are weak and some just down right dumb, for example there is a card mini game that you have to try and beat the other players with choosing the higher number...well everyone can see the numbers you have and what you choice so you always end up in a tie and no one wins. Also you don't use the WII remote motion wise for much anymore in this game. You now press the A button to jump, and pretty much everything has a button command to move, etc in the game. Another big disappointment in the game, not using the WII functions! I am very disappointed in this Mario Party. They strayed way to far from the Mario Party theme and made this game an un-fun family game! Again if you are a Mario Party Fan....I would avoid this game...You will be highly disappointed. I know I was.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (41)No (30)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I want the old Mario creator back :(
3/14/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
When I discovered Mario Party 9 was coming out I was really excited. Me and my family have played the Mario Party games sinse the very first one. I heard that this one was being created by someone knew so I was a little skeptic. And I was right to be. There aren't as many characters to choose from like before. There aren't mini-games after every round of turns. There are no stars that you have to travel around the board after. You have to stay in a cart with all the other players throughout the entire game. Overall I'm very disappointed. I love Mario Party but this seems like a whole other game.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (39)No (15)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Sitting on the fence.
3/16/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was very happy with Mario party8, first one I ever played. So, so, so fun! Well I got married to a gamer (3 years ago) and he has played almost every Nintendo game there is (sadly I’m not exaggerating) and when I told him #9 was on it’s way he quickly raced to the Nintendo wii store and bought Mario Party2. We have been using the classic controllers and playing that one for the past couple of weeks. I am pretty hooked on #2 I really like it. My only complaint is how long the old games (2 and8) were. I never played more than the 10 rounds. That being said, this game flies. My husband and I flew through the first 3 stages in about 40 minutes. There is a mini boss battle ½ way through the board and a boss battle at the end. If it’s your turn you’re driving the car so you run into stars and things that take them away. Now I have no idea why they are “stars” not coins, but that was my first disappointment. Now I’m not the gamer but when I play Mario I expect coins! Not in this one. There is no place to buy dice blocks, instead you land on spaces to get everything (dice blocks and mini-games mainly) It’s also harder to mess with your opponents. There is no boo that I’ve seen and I’ve played 4 out of 5 of the stages so I have no hope. No way to run them over and take things, really it’s just if you land on the space that lets you do something like take a dice block or you have to give 10 stars to last place. It’s kind of a let down. It seems more like a $20 game, not a full price one. Now the pro’s, because there are some! It is a fun looking game, colorful, bright, and little details in the background. You can play 1-4 players, so my husband and I can play with just us, or add in 1 or 2 computes. There are 1 vs 2 minigames if you have 3 players. So that’s cool, and you don’t have to wait for a computer to do it’s thing for ½ of the game. Some of the minigames are pretty fun, but I haven’t seen one that’s been a big challenge. My 3 year old nephew can play them all, I mean all. It is a fun game and I will play it, but unless Mario Party 10 is very different I will not spend the money on it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Classic Fun
3/17/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I boyfriend bought this for me the day it came out. I played this game with my family and my friend. They love the new twist with this Mario Party game and we love the new mini games.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great game lot of fun for a small investment
3/25/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My grandson wanted the mario game for his birthday. I have played it with him and it was fun and entertaining. Good game for children.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fun but not quite what I was expecting.
3/28/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
I was really excited also when I saw that Mario Party 9 was coming out and had to preorder it right away. I love that so many people can play together in the game. The mini games are fun and there's lots of them and boards. Once thing I was disappointed on was that fact that you cannot play on teams as you could on Mario Party 8. My wife likes to play with me on the same team and was also dissapointed about that in this game. I'm not really sure if I like all the players riding around in the same car and taking turns as captain but it does speed up the game play.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Immensely Disappointed
9/13/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was so excited to see a new mario party was coming out. I had a 50 dollar gift card that i had received as a gift. I was all hyped up because I grew up on Mario Party, and many of my childhood memories are of playing this game with my cousins and sisters. I was so disappointed when I was met with a completely different game. The mini games are alright, but i hate the car with everyone in it. There is simply no fun in it. It feels like they totally short cutted on this one. I'm so disappointed that I just don't like playing it unless someone asks me too. If you have never played mario party before, this is a great game I'm sure If you loved the old Mario parties, this mario party is a huge flop :(
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Family fun
3/30/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
If you have anyone in the family that likes Mario this is a great game to play solo or with others.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fun Family game!
6/4/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We have another Mario party game that we love. I wanted something new that we could play together. This game is very fun. I like the working together in the car. The Donkey Kong level is really fun and we like buying the new vehicles to use on the levels.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
4/1/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
my grandson loves this game
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
how did this get good reviews
8/26/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Bought this as a gift for a 12 year old who was having a gaming party for his birthday and even he was insulted at how simplified and boring this game is compared to the last one. We went and traded it and got Mario Party 8 again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great game my daughter loves!
2/25/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Better than other Mario Party games my daughter has played.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
mario party 9 wii
12/29/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
My 5 yrs old son loves playing mostly mario party 9 its worth! it has several different kind of games so fun!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Game
8/22/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought this for the kids because why else, it's a Mario game. The kids have played and played this game since the purchase. I have played it two times with them and it's a pretty fun game. It's like an animated board game with different levels. I don't get into it as much as they do but they will play it all day long if you let them. All in all I think the game was well worth the money and it was ready same day when I purchased it online. You can't beat that and even saved some money by the online purchase.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Game!
4/20/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
this is a great game. this is the first mario party game i've played and i love it! I love all the places like toad road and boo's horror castle. I also love the boss battles and the minigames. the graphics are awesome and its a fun family game. although i wish there were more characters to choose from and more minigame spaces. overall...Great Game!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great buy overall
6/11/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I got this for my 5 year olds birthday present and he loved it. I would say its expensive, but that's the normal price for wii games I guess. The game itself has a large variety of options of playing, so you're sure to find something you like. Also great because up to 4 players can participate.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Addicting Family Game!
11/27/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this game about 3 months ago, it was supposed to be a Christmas gift for my husband! :) We started playing the game, and my oh my is it ever addicting! The game itself is very creative and funny! Interactions with other players is fun. Definitely a great game for family time! 
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
mario party 9
11/11/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Lots of new mini-games which are  fun  i like the multi-player cause you all travel together.  It's actually a really fun party game for the price! if you want a great family game this will give you hours and hours of family time with the kids even my 4 year old joined in for the fun 
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
5/8/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Really like it quite different from the last one which gives you a reason to buy it. Mini games are not to hard at all and seem to have more of the old fashion controls. Games are about 30 minutes which is nice but wish you could make them longer would be my only thought.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642843, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-