Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 734 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

734 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

734 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
369
4 stars
117
3 stars
58
2 stars
47
1 stars
143
1-20 of 727 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 727 total reviews
1-20 of 727 reviews
Why discontinue Hydrience?
3/28/2012

Customer review by Cleo

1.0 stars 3/28/2012 by Cleo
by Cleo

The color was OK. The way it made my hair feel is AWFUL! I used Hydrience for years. It was great, my hair looked and felt wonderful. It covered gray, didn't fade, looked natural, soft and shiny. Nice and Easy ruined my hair. I am trying to get the damaged part grown out and cut off. How can you discontinue a great product and promote a terrible one? Last weekend I saw pictures of myself with the Hydrience and the difference is amazing. I quit using Nice and Easy a few months ago but seeing those pictures and still having terrible hair prompted me to write a review today. I can't use enough hair products to make my hair look good like it did before Nice and Easy. I'm just sorry I used it several times. I still have a few more months to grow out the damaged hair. The ONLY good thing was that it covered gray. Is Clairol going to have another line to replace Hydrience (besides Nice and Easy)? A very low or no ammonia formula hair color that covered gray would be great. Or bring back Hydrience.

Cleo
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
dissappointed
1/26/2011

Customer review by Olivia

4.0 stars 1/26/2011 by Olivia
by Olivia

This is the second time I used Nice 'n Easy. The last time my roots were the color I wanted after I colored but the rest of my hair became way too dark. I was using the next lightest color than my natural color. I thought maybe I had colored more than the root area initially and that's why it was darker. Today I colored again and was sure to just color my root area only and left it on for the 20 minutes like I did the last time and then worked the rest of the color into the ends and left on for 5 minutes. Sad to say my roots were exactly the color I wish the rest of my hair was (dark brown) but again the rest of my hair is almost black. After I dried it I noticed how much of a difference there is between the root area and the rest of my hair. I don't know if the color will oxidize over the next day or so and even out - I hope so. I do love the shine however and the silkiness. I just wish the color was consistent right after coloring. I will contact Customer Service tomorrow and see what can be done.

Olivia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great conditioner...but I've still got grey bits!
11/17/2013

Customer review by sms9758

3.0 stars 11/17/2013 by sms9758
by sms9758

Having just lightened my (greying, many times dyed brunette) hair, and achieved a slightly odd gingery shade, I decided to try a dark blonde dye. Now I had no particular expectations about the color, which would be a gamble, but I DID expect to cover the grey patches well, especially with a dearer brand like Nice n Easy. Well I achieved a perfectly nice light brown. And I must emphasize what brilliant conditioner is included - my hair has endured 2 applications of lightener in last 2 days (and was feeling a tad strawlike), AND been dyed. But it feels incredibly soft and sleek, so well done there. No the only issue is the grey coverage, notably those bits round the ears that go first. After dyeing I noticed they remained grey, and thought maybe I hadn't fully covered those areas, so got the remainder of the dye and smarmed it on affected areas only and gave them ANOTHER 45 mins. Washed it off and they remain grey. Not an issue I've ever encountered with any other brand...

sms9758
aylesbury, bucks, uk
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good.
7/19/2012

Customer review by Pikapoprocks

4.0 stars 7/19/2012 by Pikapoprocks
by Pikapoprocks

I bought 2 boxes of the Dark Caramel Brown color. I have mid back length hair so 2 boxes is usually just enough. The color is true to the picture. Covers well, the conditioner is great. Smells good. Overall good value for the price. Ive been dying my hair since i was 13 (I'm 24 now) so I've used not only this brand but many others. I keep coming back to this brand because its cheap and effective for my forever changing color needs :) Id recommend.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pikapoprocks
Dallas, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
I never did it myself
5/29/2010

Customer review by Karen

5.0 stars 5/29/2010 by Karen
by Karen

I have had the hardest hair to color for years. It turned red or too dark, or nothing happened. I have alway gotten it done at the salon (blonde highlights) and I finally let it grow out back to my natural color of dark brown abotu 2 year ago. I had about half dark brown with 30% or so gray. I have never colored my hair myself in my ilfe!! I finally got up the nerve to use Perfect 10 about 5 months ago so I still had a little color on the bottom half of my hair. I finally got up the guts to try this. It came out the most beautiful light brown color- exactly like the box, but with natural looking lighter hairs throughout- which must be the gray- however it is not gray, it is just a lighter brown, so it looks really pretty, especially around my face. I can't believe I waited this long after hearing (and seeing) some of the results my friends have had. Maybe they tried a color that was far too light for them! I am THRILLED with this product. My hair matches the box and the conditioner left it silky and shiny.

Karen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Horrible
6/7/2010

Customer review by Kayyyyyyyyyy

1.0 stars 6/7/2010 by Kayyyyyyyyyy
by Kayyyyyyyyyy

I bought this color to darken my hair a bit so it would match my root color. My hair was originally a light blonde. I called their customer service and asked them what that "ash" meant and she told me it was a lighter tint to the color. I asked her if it meant gray and she insisted it did not. As i was waiting to rinse my hair out i realized a purple liquid dripping on my white shirt. I come to find it was the hair dye. When i rinsed my hair out and dried it, it way gray with blotches of purple. I spent almost 300 dollars just to get my hair fixed. But hey at least they sent me my lousy 9 dollars back. I would not reccomend anyone with blonde hair to use this color. I no longer use store brands, I would much rather spend the 50 dollars knowing that my hair will come out how I want it to then go through fixing it. Their customer service is also a joke. They had no answers for me. I would advise them to hire someone who actaully knows what they are talking about.

Kayyyyyyyyyy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Most natural hair color ever
1/15/2011

Customer review by Andi

4.0 stars 1/15/2011 by Andi
by Andi

I have dyed my hair since I was 14. I am a natural brunette with red highlights. I went blonde for a few years (let the salon take care of that for me) then decided to go back brown. The salon did it the first 2 times and then I wanted to save money so I did it at home. The first two times I dyed it I used medium brown and then medium ash brown. They really brought out the red and actually maroon in my hair. It was too dark. I was about to go back to the salon but let the dye wash out as much as it could (about 4-5 weeks) then I decided to try Nice n Easy Color blend technology. I LOVED IT!!!! It was perfect! It didn't bring out the red in my hair and it looks & feels SOOOOO soft and healthy. Very impressed! The only thing I didn't love was my roots. For some reason they turned out lighter then my hair. It isn't that noticable but at least my hair didn't look black and unnatural like before, or red! I used Light Ash Brown 114 & will definitely be using it again:)

Andi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Surprisingly good result
10/15/2011

Customer review by Sparkiesmom

4.0 stars 10/15/2011 by Sparkiesmom
by Sparkiesmom

I had been using Loreal Excellence Dark Caramel Blonde, but the red tones were making my root regrowth look very obvious. I tried Nice N Easy 106, hoping to get a slightly lighter result overall, with less red. I got what I wanted. I was surprised, one pack was enough for my below shoulder length hair. I left it on the roots for 20 minutes, and another 20 minutes on the rest. The join between the roots and the old colour is completely covered, can't see any sign that I used a different colour before. The overall result is a little darker than I expected, but it looks natural. The conditioner is great, I wish I could buy it separately, since the tube will be enough for about 3 applications for my hair. The formula applies easily, dripping is not a problem and it rinses out easily. I don't see any need to try the foam formulation. And also, I was pleased with the quality of the gloves, much better than the gloves that came with the previous product I was using.

Sparkiesmom
Johannesburg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Only thing to cover my bleaching disaster!
7/23/2010

Customer review by Kitsune

5.0 stars 7/23/2010 by Kitsune
by Kitsune

I started out several months ago with a natural hair color just slightly lighter than this shade. I dyed it a very dark espresso brown (which I loved), but then decided to try to go back to blonde for the summer. This process started with a bleaching kit, and ended with a rainbow of colors from white to Sunkist orange, not to mention a few tears. I bleached again, and then put another platinum shade over that, with very little result. In reading similar stories online, I learned that an Ash shade was the way to go to counteract orange-y tones, and Nice 'n Easy came highly recommended. Long story short, I tried everything short of a Britney-esque head-shaving freakout to retrieve some semblance of normal human color, and this shade was the only thing that could do it. Even with multiple shades on my head, and having bleached the life out of my hair, it still ended up a uniform color, with tonal highlights, and didn't fry the last bit of life out of my poor strands. Me and my re-blonded tresses are in your debt.

Kitsune
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice & Easy Foam- The WORST
3/30/2011

Customer review by upset

1.0 stars 3/30/2011 by upset
by upset

Nice & Easy Foam Formula was one of the worst I have ever used! I prefer the old formula instead- I wasn't in for any surprise then. First the way to get the foam, you had to squeeze the bottle in order to get it out of the bottle and in the foam form. I thought it would be like the liquid soap dispenser that you push the top and the foamy soap comes out of the nozzle. No, you have to squeeze the middle of the bottle. Do you know how difficult that is with someone in the early stages of arthitis-- and I'm only 42 years old. Then it was VERY messy. The foam would drip. It had the consistency of the foam on a root beer with the liquid mixed in. I thought it would be thick like shaving cream. It dripped all over my body and on the sink. When the foam dried, it left dye spot stains! It also left a smell that lingered for days, unlike the original formula. I will never use this again and if I cannot find the original formula, will be switching brands completely.

upset
Would recommend to a friend? No
Most Natural Healthy Black Hair
1/30/2012

Customer review by blondestar

5.0 stars 1/30/2012 by blondestar
by blondestar

As a natural dark blonde with neutral coloring I decided to dye my very light blonde hair black. I stayed black for 3 years and my hair grew shoulder length and shiny using Clairol Natural Black every 6 weeks. It gave me wonderful natural highlights after a few weeks, but still remained very beautifully rich and dark, this ever slight fading it made it look natural. Everyone thought it was my own color. Although I am now back to blonde (thanks to Clairol as well) I loved my hair this way and never strayed from using Clairol Natural Black. I highly recommend this shade to those who are naturally black or those just wanting to go darker it works like a charm. FYI: For those blonde who are brave enough to go dark first you need to put the red back into your blonde hair. To get from blonde to black, I first I used Natural Instincts in a red Spice light Aburn color over my blonde hair, and then the next day I used the Clairol Natural Black. It looked amazing.

blondestar
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
104 NatMedGoldBlonde
12/25/2010

Customer review by TKTK

2.0 stars 12/25/2010 by TKTK
by TKTK

it has been 10 years since I colored my hair at home out of fear of choosing the wrong color. And I did. I made the mistake of using the "before and after" hair color key on the back of the box, instead of studying the model's hair color on the front the box - which is, truthfully, very close to what I got. So if you want light honey-blonde hair - use this product. However, I was aiming for a slightly lighter brown color with warm copper tones, similar to the before/after picture on the back of the box. My natural "medium brown" hair is now bright carrot orange-red-blonde, and white! (White patches around the temples. Too much highlighting?) The color strand test, for me, was not enough to determine the final look, due to my lack of hair color experience. So I followed the 25 minute instructions rather than deviate. If I ever do this again I will get professional advice first. Now, how soon can I change the color back to brown without damaging my hair?

TKTK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
clairol 121A natural darkest brown
9/10/2011

Customer review by Joel

1.0 stars 9/10/2011 by Joel
by Joel

clairol 121A natural darkest brown, is the worst product, I am very careful with my shopping because I don't like red highlights, I've been useing 118 natural medium beutral brown, or the 118A which gives too many reds, in fact both 118 batches this year have too much reds, so I went for a 121A to darken my hair closer to my natural color, and believe me there is apsolutly NO BROWN in this product, it made my hair a a COAL BLUE BLACK PLASTIC DOLL HAIR look and haven't left the house because of it, luckily I found an old box of loreal haircolor remover kit, and used that for 10 minutes, now my hair is BLACK BLACK minuse some of the blue, I was afraid to use the remover any longer because it burned, I have to leave the house sometime, and face my embarassment, but at least it isn't coal blue black anymore, but if you love your brown hair, and despise black never never never use this color, there is no brown in it and there are NO HIGHLIGHTS in it though it states color blend technology with 8 weeks of tones and highlights.

Joel
Would recommend to a friend? No
Made Me Look Like Morticia Adams
2/28/2011

Customer review by m4mitchell

1.0 stars 2/28/2011 by m4mitchell
by m4mitchell

I have naturally dark brown hair, with greys at my temple. As I dislike having noticably grey hair at the age of 24, I decided to dye it dark brown. I had used Clairol's Nice N Easy Hair Dye in the past - namely 118A Natural Medium Neutral Brown. I was generally happy with that shade but found it a tad too light and as it faded it left my hair looking brassy, so I decided to try 121A - Natural Darkest Brown. BIG MISTAKE! Rather than a deep brown, I have BLACK. Stark, unforgiving, gothic black. This might be suitable if I was an angsty fifteen-year-old, or even if this was the shade the box had promised to give - but it's not. Take a look at the box - does it show harsh black? No! It shows a dark rich brown. 7 shampoos and 3 applications of dish soap later, I *still* have black. I look like death warmed over, and I'll be visiting a hair salon tomorrow to see if there's anything I can do to repair it. You've lost a customer, Clairol, and I won't recommend you to friends or family. In fact, I'll adamantly recommend against you.

m4mitchell
Would recommend to a friend? No
Product is Darker Than Before!!
3/30/2012

Customer review by Kerri

2.0 stars 3/30/2012 by Kerri
by Kerri

Like many of the other reviewers, I have noticed that shade #102 has become definitively darker. People have even come up to me and ask why I "browned" my hair! I had used #102 happily for many years, but now it is noticeably darker and muddier. If I shampoo over and over with a harsh shampoo (such as a dandruff shampoo), then it lightens up over a few weeks, but then when you color again it goes back to dark. I called the Clairol hotline and they insisted that they have not changed the shade, but I think this is not true. They said I must have a buildup of color, so I FOLLOWED THEIR INSTRUCTIONS, applying with a little brush to make sure the color went only on the roots, and yet at the next coloring my hair is back to muddy dark again. Clairol, with all these users noticing the difference in shade, I think you should come clean and acknowledge that you changed the formula. After all these years, I may have to move to a different brand.

Kerri
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Hair Color
7/4/2011

Customer review by Babs

5.0 stars 7/4/2011 by Babs
by Babs

I have been using this 104 shade for about four years. I changed from an ash blonde and much prefer the redish tones that this color produces. I have quite a bit of grey and it is very resistant. I consulted with the salon where I get my hair cut and the girls said that the home products stop processing after 40 to 45 minutes and to leave mine on that long because of all the grey. The color is just perfect. My grey is completely gone. I do start with the temples first, then bangs and parts first. Then finish with the rest on the root areas. As for those that complain about fading, don't use shampoos with sulfates. Burts Bees works well. You will have to Read Shampoo Bottles. I have great color for a month before I have to redo or use the root touch up. My problem is this color is very difficult to find in the stores around me. I love this color but I am becoming more and more frustrated with the lack of stock in the area where I live.

Babs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
worst dye experience ever
3/20/2011

Customer review by swift

1.0 stars 3/20/2011 by swift
by swift

I tried the new foam hair color system. It is without a doubt the worst hair dye experience I have ever had. The foam was runny and stained my face and ears. It seaped through the gloves and stanined little dots on my hands. The dye had a terrible odor, not the typical hair dye smell, much worse and is still around after washing and conditioning. The color is actually black. I have used other Clairol products before in this shade and never had reults like this. There is no brown left in my hair, no high lights no shine. I have a color I did not select and a badly stained face/hair line due to the runny product. I don't even want to go out in public my hari/scalp look so bad. I will never ever use this product again and I recommend that the company work a little harder at perfecting this concept of a foam dye to make sure it is actually a good product not just a product trying to copy someone elses innovation.

swift
Would recommend to a friend? No
Horrible Experience
10/14/2011

Customer review by sarahhh95

1.0 stars 10/14/2011 by sarahhh95
by sarahhh95

This was my first experience with Nice and Easy, and it will be my last. I started with a nice light ash brown hair and decided to try an ash blonde color. I was hesitant, but after an hour at the drug store reading all the boxes and referring to this forum, the Nautral Medium Ash Blonde seemed like a safe and fool proof solution. The box showed the color result to be basically the same color, but I figured it would have better tone and highlight than my current color. Boy, was I wrong. Last night I colored my hair with two boxes. The result is brassy, with a red undertone. My roots are bright brassy orange. I have no idea now how I am going to correct this and am concerned with applying more box dye to my hair as I do not want to damage it more. I am not exaggerating this either, I will be putting a hat on when I go to the drug store as this is extremely embarrassing. I do not recommend this product.

sarahhh95
Would recommend to a friend? No
Fantastic Color
4/13/2014

Customer review by mtmg

5.0 stars 4/13/2014 by mtmg
by mtmg
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got 4 boxes of the Light Caramel Brown, which I absolutely LOVE. The online price was equal to sale prices at other stores. Don't know why it always shows Mahogany Black on website, but they do have the other color squares underneath. I only do my roots each time, using half of the solutions. Since I get two uses out of each box, I really paid for the equivalent of 8 boxes.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mtmg
Trafford, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
saved my hair!
12/10/2010

Customer review by jacknasty

4.0 stars 12/10/2010 by jacknasty
by jacknasty

i'm a natural ash blonde, but i use (at home) highlights to brighten it up a little. i made the terrible mistake of leaving them on too long which took me to PLATINUM! it was HORRIBLE. i waited a few days to dye over it because my hair was so porous at this point. the original color i chose (103a) turned my strand test a deep pinkish purple & gray. (so glad i did that strand test! how would you fix that?! always do a strand test!) i picked up this box, not so sure about the color, but my strand test looked so perfect! so i chose to use it, ( all over color) and the color is AMAZING. it really makes my features pop! (gray eyes, sunkissed skin) it does have a slight brassy twinge to it though, but shimmer lights will fix that. by the way guys, that stuff is a miracle in a bottle! great price and it really works! so if you've been iffy about trying it, i definitely say go for it! THANK YOU, CLAIROL!!

jacknasty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 727 total reviews
1-20 of 727 reviews