Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 85 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

85 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

85 reviews | 4 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
24
3 stars
8
2 stars
9
1 stars
5
1-20 of 74 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 74 total reviews
1-20 of 74 reviews
Pleasantly Surprised
6/19/2015

Customer review by PeppermintPatty

4.0 stars 6/19/2015 by PeppermintPatty
by PeppermintPatty

The reel mower was simple to assemble. It took only a few minutes, the instructions are clearly written and easily accomplished. The mower is much easier to push than expected. I live in central Fl and have St Augustine grass and lots of tall thin weeds that pop up. After reading other reviews I didn't expect it to cut the tall thin weeds, and as expected it doesn't cut the weeds. But, it does cut the grass. So, you have to keep the yard cut regularly. Pushing the mower was actually much easier than I expected. It does get stuck, the reel gets jammed and needs to be cleared. This happens more than I would like, but it is easy to fix. The yard has to be cleared of sticks and other things that would cause the mower to jam. The grass catcher fills quickly and needs to be emptied often. It is definitely not for someone who isn't willing to put effort into the whole process. It doesn't throw sand and debris into the air so it is much cleaner to use and doesn't stir asthma and allergies as much as a power mower.

Was this review helpful? (28) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PeppermintPatty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A push lawnmower - emphasis on push
5/2/2016

Customer review by Mapreader

4.0 stars 5/2/2016 by Mapreader
by Mapreader

This is a well made reel lawnmower and it cut well. However, read the instructions carefully and adjust the cutting height so that only a modest amout is being cut off. Otherwise, it will be almost impossible to push through higher grass.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mapreader
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not suitable for 'wild' yards
4/16/2014

Customer review by digirlqtpie7187

2.0 stars 4/16/2014 by digirlqtpie7187
by digirlqtpie7187
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased and used this product, or at least tried to, a few times. I live in Georgia and don't have one of those lawns that are one consistency/type of grass throughout. It cut the regular soft/green/level grass fine. It will make your arms strengthen though. When I got to parts of my lawn that had the grass rising from the lawn, like a little explosion of grass, it would not mow it. I had to go over it multiple times, and even then some of the grass just laid down. Random weeds or grass with the texture/thickness of daffodils would only bend or lay down. They sprung back up the next day. Also, parts of the yard where the grass was dry/brownish the mower would get stuck. The blades do fine on regular healthy grass, but if you have any imperfections in your yard be ready to spend twice as long mowing.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
digirlqtpie7187
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great exercise
4/14/2016

Customer review by Clerk

5.0 stars 4/14/2016 by Clerk
by Clerk

If you are looking for a lawn mower to take the edge off of even the angriest teenager this is the one for you. After mowing the lawn my was very subdued.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Clerk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does not cut very well
6/2/2016

Customer review by Adamg

3.0 stars 6/2/2016 by Adamg
by Adamg
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have adjusted the blade and it still doesn't cut the way I think it should.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Adamg
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not impressed...
6/15/2012

Customer review by LesDex

2.0 stars 6/15/2012 by LesDex
by LesDex

I purchased this mower thinking 1) it would save on gas money 2) based on other reviews, it seemed to work well. After I got it home and tried it out, it really wasn't anything I expected. It wouldn't go through the grass to start with. It would keep getting jammed up. So we had to raise it to the tallest setting, and keep dropping it down to lower settings. It took almost 3 passes just to mow the front yard, where as with a gas powered, it would have only taken 1. Another reason I bought this mower was for the catch attachment, but only half of the grass (that was actually cut) would make it into there. There is also a safety guard on the front, this prevents anything tall from being cut because it just bends the tall grass down and it doesn't hit the blades. Needless to say I'm not impressed with this product at all, ecspecially for just shy of $100.

Was this review helpful? (81) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LesDex
iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great little manual mower!
6/18/2016

Customer review by fox5live

5.0 stars 6/18/2016 by fox5live
by fox5live
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My property is landscaped. this is helping me keep lawn looking good between paid mowings..granted, I restrict which areas I decide to mow...lol. Was easy to assemble, I can pick it up by myself...and it fits in my storage room. cuts great!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fox5live
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for the price
2/14/2014

Customer review by JTMF7

4.0 stars 2/14/2014 by JTMF7
by JTMF7
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a small yard and this is great for me. The person who was cutting my yard moved away so it has taken a couple of passes to cut the grass down to the height I want but it did it. I read the reviews before I bought this one and saw several that said to do the first pass on high and then lower the blades. I did this and had no problems. My yard looks great again and I get some much needed exercise.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JTMF7
Lakc Charles, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excellent mower for small area
5/22/2012

Customer review by golferbill

5.0 stars 5/22/2012 by golferbill
by golferbill

This mower is very easy to use and does an excellent job. It was very easy to assemble and ready for use. It is almost effortless to push.

Was this review helpful? (98) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
golferbill
myrtle beach, sc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Reel lawn mower
5/30/2016

Customer review by catandbud

3.0 stars 5/30/2016 by catandbud
by catandbud
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

How easily the wheels come off.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
catandbud
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Mower for small flat yards
5/26/2014

Customer review by ckeating

5.0 stars 5/26/2014 by ckeating
by ckeating
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Not only is the price great, the price to keep it going is even better- no gas, no electricity... Obviously, you can't use this on grass that's really tall- the grass just bends over and can't be cut. But if you keep your grass fairly well tended, have a smallish yard with no hilly landscape this is a great mover and the workout is free- no need to join a gym!

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ckeating
Bennington, VT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great manual mower
7/6/2012

Customer review by Humbd344

5.0 stars 7/6/2012 by Humbd344
by Humbd344

The mower takes a little to get use too. You need to train youself when to mow before the grass gets to tall. The reason I purchased the mower because no gas is needed and to maintain is simple.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Humbd344
Balmorhea, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great for clean mowing
8/16/2012

Customer review by TNSenior

5.0 stars 8/16/2012 by TNSenior
by TNSenior

This mower is easy to use & cuts the grass cleanly. I am 65 & my yard slopes in in two directions so it is not easy to mow. This mower is as good as a gas or electric without the fuel usage.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TNSenior
Clarksville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Better than expected
5/18/2014

Customer review by Summer94

4.0 stars 5/18/2014 by Summer94
by Summer94
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was pleasantly surprised by this little mower. I wasn't sure exactly the quality that it would be for the money. It is well made and performs far better than I thought it would. The grass catcher that comes with it might as well not be sent and knock off $10 from the price as it doesn't do anything at all. If you have a rough yard I wouldn't recommend this mower for that type of terrain. If you have a flat yard that is relatively small this will pay for itself in no time flat. It was easy to put together and you can really get the mower humming along. It doesn't do well in longer grass, but once you have a height that you want to maintain it works well.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Summer94
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pass! Pass! Passssssssssssssss!
10/3/2012

Customer review by Qtsmom

1.0 stars 10/3/2012 by Qtsmom
by Qtsmom

Once upon time I had one of the original reel mowers made of heavy steel. It was wonderful, but when I sold my house, the mower stayed. Fast forward 14 years... I buy this mower hoping it would be everything my old mower was and more because it came with a bag. WRONG! It was hard to use, push, get grass into the bag and manuver. The only time it worked well was a flat, even piece of the lawn where the grass was not too thick... not tall, thick. If you have the muscle to try and push this thing around... go for it. I am small and simply could not make the reel turn properly... add to that the fact that the handles are rather flimsy and move too much. We wound up having to get a small simple lawn mower, also at Walmart that works just great, doesn't have a bag and mulches just the same.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Qtsmom
Tulare, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Good For Green Lawn
5/8/2014

Customer review by Tartuffe

3.0 stars 5/8/2014 by Tartuffe
by Tartuffe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I returned the item to Walmart...It was okay for cutting "grassy area", but my yard is not really grassy; I have "weeds" and it would not cut the weeds...It was a mistake on my part.I have no doubt if my yard was green and grassy, the Reel Mower would have been ideal for maintaining my lawn...Thankfully, Walmart allowed me to return the mower.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tartuffe
Sylvania,GA 30467
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little mower
5/27/2012

Customer review by GreatLakesGirl

5.0 stars 5/27/2012 by GreatLakesGirl
by GreatLakesGirl

We have only a small grass area in our yard plus the boulevard that need to be mowed, and this reel mower is perfect for it. It is easy to push, rolls smoothly, is sharp, and the handle is comfortable. Much better than firing up a gas engine, so you can feel good about that, too!

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GreatLakesGirl
Petoskey, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
8/1/2012

Customer review by latinwidow

5.0 stars 8/1/2012 by latinwidow
by latinwidow

works wonderfully. If grass is high, put on highest level and then lower when you go on the second pass. With the 9 different settings you can adjust to the height of the growth of grass. Even with carpal tunnel it was easy to push. If pushing for long periods - just use wrist braces- so as not to do overdo pressure on wrist. easy to push-even grandkids pushed it- some of the younger ones also wanted to push it. Great on the pocketbook (no gas), good for excerise and even better for the environment!!

Was this review helpful? (29) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
latinwidow
kissimmee, florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Wanted a way to save on the gas.
4/22/2014

Customer review by jdepue

4.0 stars 4/22/2014 by jdepue
by jdepue
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

GOOD FOR THE ENVIORMENT. GOOD EXERSISE. No longer have to buy gas ........ we spent more on gas and not use most of it. our yard is small so we did not need anything else.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jdepue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/20/2012

Customer review by jspirit

4.0 stars 6/20/2012 by jspirit
by jspirit

I love using the Reel Mower with or without the catcher to maintain my lawn. The grass is cut with the regular mower first. Then I use the reel mower to maintain it. I found it difficult to use in really tall grass.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jspirit
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 74 total reviews
1-20 of 74 reviews