Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 78 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

78 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

78 reviews | 4 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
37
4 stars
22
3 stars
5
2 stars
9
1 stars
5
1-20 of 67 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews
excellent mower for small area
5/22/2012

Customer review by golferbill

5.0 stars 5/22/2012 by golferbill
by golferbill

This mower is very easy to use and does an excellent job. It was very easy to assemble and ready for use. It is almost effortless to push.

Was this review helpful? (82) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
golferbill
myrtle beach, sc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Not impressed...
6/15/2012

Customer review by LesDex

2.0 stars 6/15/2012 by LesDex
by LesDex

I purchased this mower thinking 1) it would save on gas money 2) based on other reviews, it seemed to work well. After I got it home and tried it out, it really wasn't anything I expected. It wouldn't go through the grass to start with. It would keep getting jammed up. So we had to raise it to the tallest setting, and keep dropping it down to lower settings. It took almost 3 passes just to mow the front yard, where as with a gas powered, it would have only taken 1. Another reason I bought this mower was for the catch attachment, but only half of the grass (that was actually cut) would make it into there. There is also a safety guard on the front, this prevents anything tall from being cut because it just bends the tall grass down and it doesn't hit the blades. Needless to say I'm not impressed with this product at all, ecspecially for just shy of $100.

Was this review helpful? (63) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LesDex
iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Loving this mower!
5/28/2012

Customer review by auntienay

5.0 stars 5/28/2012 by auntienay
by auntienay

I have only used this mower twice, however it has met my expectations and then some. I love how easy it is to start mowing-don't have to worry about storing the gasoline, buying oil for the motor, getting killed by rogue rocks, having my eye impaled like a shishkabob by a sharpened, flying stick, or annoying the neighbors with all the noise. I have at least two different types of grass on my lawn - one is super soft and stays pretty short due to growing in the shade. This is very easy to mow, and probably the preferred type of grass for these push reel mowers. The other type of grass is very thick and hardy, and littered with fox-tails and other thick weeds. After I was done mowing this part of the lawn, it looked like a terrible hair cut. I suggest that you know your grass before you get this mower, just so you won't be disappointed. I paired this purchase with the Expert brand electric trimmer to get rid of the aforementioned hardy weeds that the reel mower just can't cut. And as long as you stay on top of the lawn-don't let the grass get too high-it makes it soo much easier to cut. The grass catcher really wasn't needed, but that is just my personal preference and it definitely can be a plus for people that don't enjoy raking and/or leaving the grass clippings on the lawn. Assembling the mower was easy and simple, I built it in my living room within 15 minutes. The only cons for this product is that it does not cut as well as a power mower, and the pros (noise reduction, cost in upkeep and fueling, ease of take down and storage, and reduction of air pollution). Buy it and Captain Planet will be your bff!

Was this review helpful? (44) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
auntienay
Mishawaka, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
Good for the price
2/14/2014

Customer review by JTMF7

4.0 stars 2/14/2014 by JTMF7
by JTMF7

I have a small yard and this is great for me. The person who was cutting my yard moved away so it has taken a couple of passes to cut the grass down to the height I want but it did it. I read the reviews before I bought this one and saw several that said to do the first pass on high and then lower the blades. I did this and had no problems. My yard looks great again and I get some much needed exercise.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JTMF7
Lakc Charles, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/1/2012

Customer review by latinwidow

5.0 stars 8/1/2012 by latinwidow
by latinwidow

works wonderfully. If grass is high, put on highest level and then lower when you go on the second pass. With the 9 different settings you can adjust to the height of the growth of grass. Even with carpal tunnel it was easy to push. If pushing for long periods - just use wrist braces- so as not to do overdo pressure on wrist. easy to push-even grandkids pushed it- some of the younger ones also wanted to push it. Great on the pocketbook (no gas), good for excerise and even better for the environment!!

Was this review helpful? (25) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
latinwidow
kissimmee, florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great little mower
5/27/2012

Customer review by GreatLakesGirl

5.0 stars 5/27/2012 by GreatLakesGirl
by GreatLakesGirl

We have only a small grass area in our yard plus the boulevard that need to be mowed, and this reel mower is perfect for it. It is easy to push, rolls smoothly, is sharp, and the handle is comfortable. Much better than firing up a gas engine, so you can feel good about that, too!

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GreatLakesGirl
Petoskey, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great for clean mowing
8/16/2012

Customer review by TNSenior

5.0 stars 8/16/2012 by TNSenior
by TNSenior

This mower is easy to use & cuts the grass cleanly. I am 65 & my yard slopes in in two directions so it is not easy to mow. This mower is as good as a gas or electric without the fuel usage.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TNSenior
Clarksville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Not suitable for 'wild' yards
4/16/2014

Customer review by digirlqtpie7187

2.0 stars 4/16/2014 by digirlqtpie7187
by digirlqtpie7187

I purchased and used this product, or at least tried to, a few times. I live in Georgia and don't have one of those lawns that are one consistency/type of grass throughout. It cut the regular soft/green/level grass fine. It will make your arms strengthen though. When I got to parts of my lawn that had the grass rising from the lawn, like a little explosion of grass, it would not mow it. I had to go over it multiple times, and even then some of the grass just laid down. Random weeds or grass with the texture/thickness of daffodils would only bend or lay down. They sprung back up the next day. Also, parts of the yard where the grass was dry/brownish the mower would get stuck. The blades do fine on regular healthy grass, but if you have any imperfections in your yard be ready to spend twice as long mowing.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
digirlqtpie7187
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great mower
4/10/2014

Customer review by merrymary49

5.0 stars 4/10/2014 by merrymary49
by merrymary49

This is a great mower. Easy to put together. Great value for the cost. Have a small lawn but great for exercise for a senior citizen. Would recommended it to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
merrymary49
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great manual mower
7/6/2012

Customer review by Humbd344

5.0 stars 7/6/2012 by Humbd344
by Humbd344

The mower takes a little to get use too. You need to train youself when to mow before the grass gets to tall. The reason I purchased the mower because no gas is needed and to maintain is simple.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Humbd344
Balmorhea, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
6/20/2012

Customer review by jspirit

4.0 stars 6/20/2012 by jspirit
by jspirit

I love using the Reel Mower with or without the catcher to maintain my lawn. The grass is cut with the regular mower first. Then I use the reel mower to maintain it. I found it difficult to use in really tall grass.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jspirit
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Mower for small flat yards
5/26/2014

Customer review by ckeating

5.0 stars 5/26/2014 by ckeating
by ckeating

Not only is the price great, the price to keep it going is even better- no gas, no electricity... Obviously, you can't use this on grass that's really tall- the grass just bends over and can't be cut. But if you keep your grass fairly well tended, have a smallish yard with no hilly landscape this is a great mover and the workout is free- no need to join a gym!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ckeating
Bennington, VT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wanted a way to save on the gas.
4/22/2014

Customer review by jdepue

4.0 stars 4/22/2014 by jdepue
by jdepue

GOOD FOR THE ENVIORMENT. GOOD EXERSISE. No longer have to buy gas ........ we spent more on gas and not use most of it. our yard is small so we did not need anything else.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jdepue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good For Green Lawn
5/8/2014

Customer review by Tartuffe

3.0 stars 5/8/2014 by Tartuffe
by Tartuffe

I returned the item to Walmart...It was okay for cutting "grassy area", but my yard is not really grassy; I have "weeds" and it would not cut the weeds...It was a mistake on my part.I have no doubt if my yard was green and grassy, the Reel Mower would have been ideal for maintaining my lawn...Thankfully, Walmart allowed me to return the mower.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tartuffe
Sylvania,GA 30467
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
easy to assemble and use.
7/7/2012

Customer review by lou59

4.0 stars 7/7/2012 by lou59
by lou59

I have only used this twice as we are in the middle of a drought. I found it to cut very well the two times I did use it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lou59
Kalamazoo, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Better than expected
5/18/2014

Customer review by Summer94

4.0 stars 5/18/2014 by Summer94
by Summer94

I was pleasantly surprised by this little mower. I wasn't sure exactly the quality that it would be for the money. It is well made and performs far better than I thought it would. The grass catcher that comes with it might as well not be sent and knock off $10 from the price as it doesn't do anything at all. If you have a rough yard I wouldn't recommend this mower for that type of terrain. If you have a flat yard that is relatively small this will pay for itself in no time flat. It was easy to put together and you can really get the mower humming along. It doesn't do well in longer grass, but once you have a height that you want to maintain it works well.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Summer94
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product for the price.
9/22/2012

Customer review by jas1956

4.0 stars 9/22/2012 by jas1956
by jas1956

Does a great job if you don't let the grass get too high. The bar that covers the front of the blades knocks the taller stuff over instead of cutting it. Easy to push and does a great job if you mow before it gets too high. I would recommend it to others. Love the fact that I don't have to constantly buy gas and oil, and that it does not make all that noise.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jas1956
Jacksonville, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
This is a good deal for what I needed
4/1/2013

Customer review by Luvtoshopfromhome

5.0 stars 4/1/2013 by Luvtoshopfromhome
by Luvtoshopfromhome

This mower is easy to push. I am over 60 and female and it gives me no problems. I have an area that I can't get mowed with the riding lawn mower and this handles it quickly and efficiently. It was easy to put together. It is easy to use and the 4 wheels make it just right for me. The height adjustment is handy and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Luvtoshopfromhome
Boonies, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pass! Pass! Passssssssssssssss!
10/3/2012

Customer review by Qtsmom

1.0 stars 10/3/2012 by Qtsmom
by Qtsmom

Once upon time I had one of the original reel mowers made of heavy steel. It was wonderful, but when I sold my house, the mower stayed. Fast forward 14 years... I buy this mower hoping it would be everything my old mower was and more because it came with a bag. WRONG! It was hard to use, push, get grass into the bag and manuver. The only time it worked well was a flat, even piece of the lawn where the grass was not too thick... not tall, thick. If you have the muscle to try and push this thing around... go for it. I am small and simply could not make the reel turn properly... add to that the fact that the handles are rather flimsy and move too much. We wound up having to get a small simple lawn mower, also at Walmart that works just great, doesn't have a bag and mulches just the same.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Qtsmom
Tulare, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
8/1/2012

Customer review by SeesAGreatDeal

5.0 stars 8/1/2012 by SeesAGreatDeal
by SeesAGreatDeal

This is a great Mower! I highly recommend it to everyone. It doesn't require gasoline or oil usage and you don't have to prime the gas and pull the starter cord on a mower to get it to start. I love that! It mulches and catches grass and I don't have to rake anymore. Our yard looks great. I believe it mows better than a gas lawnmower. You have to make sure the grass is pushed back away from the turning blades when its being thrown into the catcher. I don't mind a little inconvenience since it does such a great job.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SeesAGreatDeal
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews