Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 79 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

79 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

79 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
25
4 stars
34
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 stars
11
1-20 of 78 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 78 total reviews
1-20 of 78 reviews
Good for the small stuff
6/23/2012

Customer review by crankybat

4.0 stars 6/23/2012 by crankybat
by crankybat

With a lot of overgrown trees to remove from my yard and lot's of clean up, this unit is perfectly servicable for the small things, which the majority of the taking-up-space volume of trees and branches turn into once they are cut up. I have a chainsaw to cut the rest into firewood, so it's no big deal. It won't handle anything bigger than about an inch or inch and a half, the branches have to be cut so that they are straight enough to fit through the opening, you will need some dry, dead things to run though it frequently to "clear" it, and it's best to let it "rest" for a little bit after each pile reaches the height of the bottom opening. I've used it for hours every day after work, and the only problems are operator error when I try to run something through that doesn't fit, but it's easy to open and clear when that happens. The time it takes to cut another stack of branches with a pair of pruners is long enough for a cool off period if it seems to be getting hot or working too hard.. It just isn't heavy duty unit designed for the job I bought it to do, and I knew that to begin with. For the price, it is most certainly worth the money. It will take care of the most unsightly mess and if I kill it with overwork, it's cheap enough to buy a new one. If it survives the abuse I'm putting it through with a major tree clearing project, it will be really good for the pruning that will go on in future years. If not, it did it's job, it cost less than having someone come over and do the chipping for me, and I'll give it a decent recyling burial. It paid for itself in the first week.

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crankybat
Pueblo, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works Good
2/24/2014

Customer review by peachpruner

5.0 stars 2/24/2014 by peachpruner
by peachpruner

Now I've only used it for one day, so I can't attest to durability. But it's made a nice pile of mulch for me already. I'd say about enough to fill two five gallon buckets so far. As others have mentioned, you have to clip side branches off to fit limbs through the hopper. So it's a little tedious. But much cheaper than renting an industrial chipper. And much better than dragging your pruning to the curb and then driving to the store to buy a bag of mulch. Based on the construction, I'd say the weakest part is probably where the plastic body attaches to the metal tubing stand. It may break there after several years of use. We'll see.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
peachpruner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Light weight chipper/mulcher
8/6/2012

Customer review by MidgesRN

4.0 stars 8/6/2012 by MidgesRN
by MidgesRN

Product works well for chipping and mulching everyday garden trimmings. Easy to use. It is somewhat fragile - an odd part broke after three days usage, but it is under warranty.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MidgesRN
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
The little thing works
4/7/2014

Customer review by Bobsq

5.0 stars 4/7/2014 by Bobsq
by Bobsq

I have a half acer with lots of trees. Branches are always coming down in the yard. This little guy really works. Just take it slow on feeding the branches in the hooper. It takes as advertise up to an inch and half. You wouldn't think it could do the job to look at it, but it meets all my needs. Used it this weekend on maple and pine branches and also prunings from several shrubs. Took them all and made fine woodchips out of the bunch. It nice to have a product that does what it advertises.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bobsq
Eldersburg, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/14/2012

Customer review by revdey

5.0 stars 8/14/2012 by revdey
by revdey

I was very pleased. The unit was lightweight yet handled everything I put into it and never jammed once. I also could not believe the small pile of mulch it left after chipping a very large pile of tree branches.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
revdey
Harrisburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Good tool for small yard projects
1/18/2014

Customer review by backyardhound

4.0 stars 1/18/2014 by backyardhound
by backyardhound

Assemby was easy. Caution and safety info was adequate. I did read other users comments and agree straight branches quick chipping. Those with bends or where multiply branches join in it's better to separate them takes a little longer but well worth the time. The Sun Joe only jammed on me once I did not notice a knot growth on a branch and this is where it jammed. I chipped two types of wood. Very dry from a tree that I removed a year ago and the recent trees I removed recently. The dry wood did take the 1 1/2" brances well. The green branches same size I had to feed slowly. Reference what someone else posted: a. very small twigs do not chip. I removed them while working. b. This unit does not shred. The opening is to small, with two chipping blades most of what I did shred just went thru and it was hard to tell if it shred at all. This is a good tool for the price. Take your time, split branches to reduce jams, and keep the chipping area clean

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
backyardhound
Austin, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good wood chipper
7/16/2012

Customer review by kanorak

1.0 stars 7/16/2012 by kanorak
by kanorak

I've used the Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder for about 2 hours since I purchased it. I was surprised @ how well it turned twigs into something resembling sawdust. It actually chipped/mulched the larger twigs better than the very small ones. However, as my technique @ using it improved more of the smaller twigs were sawdusted also. I just hand pruned the smaller twigs that had not been sawdusted by Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder before putting the remains into my compost bin. As my technique using the Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder improves, I expect to get more sawdust from my twigs up to the recommended 1&1/2 inch diameter. The paddle that came with the unit to push the twigs into the blades was very helpful & well designed. I did not find that leaves were effectively mulched by the Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder. Assembly for the unit was quick and straightforward. The instruction manual is well and clearly written. Up to this point I am very pleased and somewhat surprised @ how well the Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder actually chips & mulches twigs. Sun Joe also told me that they do sell replacement parts ( replacement blades) for the Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder. Only time will tell how pleased I will ultimately be with this product but it's certainly off to a great start with me.

Was this review helpful? (14) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kanorak
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
it did not chip anything very well.
7/15/2012

Customer review by travelermike

1.0 stars 7/15/2012 by travelermike
by travelermike

if a stick was not straight it would not go through. sticks with leaves would not feed. leaves alone hung up. sticks 1" in diameter would not chip.

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
travelermike
portland,oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great for small garden branches and clippings
9/21/2013

Customer review by SFGardenGuy1

4.0 stars 9/21/2013 by SFGardenGuy1
by SFGardenGuy1

Even though it's somewhat slow it does make great mulch. There's little danger to hurt yourself because the chute is very small and the shoving paddle works fine. Though, when it does get jammed and you have to open the top to clear the jam from the blades, you have to remember to unplug the machine. The largest branch width it will take is about 1 1/2 inches but considering the limitations, it's a nice little garden machine that's great for trimmings from bushes and trees to make nice mulch to spread around the garden.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SFGardenGuy1
san francisco, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Super Chipper shredder
8/23/2014

Customer review by HouHandyMan

5.0 stars 8/23/2014 by HouHandyMan
by HouHandyMan

More than time was saved by purchasing. Ease of use , only jammed once in using daily for the last week removing a 25 ' Diameter Crepe Myrtle.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HouHandyMan
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Chopping hay for old goats
9/20/2014

Customer review by fredthegoat

5.0 stars 9/20/2014 by fredthegoat
by fredthegoat

We are using it to chop up hay for old goats with bad teeth. I was afraid that the hay would wrap a round the blade but it didn't. I looked all over the internet and only found very large hay choppers but this worked great for just two goats, they are 15 years old. I have heard of people doing this for very old horses to.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fredthegoat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This Was a Great Purchase
5/4/2014

Customer review by Coldwarrior1984

5.0 stars 5/4/2014 by Coldwarrior1984
by Coldwarrior1984

I have been very pleased with this little wood chipper so far. It has performed very well and done exactly what it is advertised to do and a little more. The larger pieces need to be fed slowly, but so far I have had only 3 jams (in a total of about 6 hours of operation) and those were on hard wood or on large pieces at or more than 1.5 inches. The jams are easy to clear. Turn off the machine and pull the plug. Then, unscrew the big red knob. The whole top folds over for cleaning and debris removal. I think this will be easy to get to for sharpening and/or blade changes, too. To put it back in working order, just close the top again and screw the red knob back down (all the way). Plug it back in and turn it on. 2 minutes tops. I was skeptical about this because it is electric, but absolutely no problem. Assembly was less than 20 minutes and very easy. The product shipped fast and arrived in good shape. This little machine did a great job for me and was well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (6) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Coldwarrior1984
E. Hartford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I have 27 trees and no regrets.
7/27/2014

Customer review by iamsotiredandineedsomezzz

4.0 stars 7/27/2014 by iamsotiredandineedsomezzz
by iamsotiredandineedsomezzz

Use when you have no leaves for the best results. When I chipped red oak with leaves I had powdered leaf jams. Will chip a straight 10 foot, 1+ inch leafless branch in about 5 seconds. Leaves turn to powder and plug the exit or run right through with little reduction in size. It should work great in the early spring or late fall without leaves!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iamsotiredandineedsomezzz
C.F.,Ia.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/4/2013

Customer review by FishDays

1.0 stars 3/4/2013 by FishDays
by FishDays

I can not give to much a of a review as the product was broken. The nut for the safety locking and closer bolt was stripped. It was also missing the washers that are required to hold the wheels on. I returned it to my local Walmart along with the 3 year warranty. The return went perfect. Maybe when I get the replacement one I will be able to write a better review.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FishDays
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nope!
5/7/2014

Customer review by MtGreybeard

1.0 stars 5/7/2014 by MtGreybeard
by MtGreybeard

35 minutes of light chipping--Broke.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MtGreybeard
Great Falls, Mt
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Husbands New Toy
11/22/2013

Customer review by CheapestMomEver

5.0 stars 11/22/2013 by CheapestMomEver
by CheapestMomEver

I bought this at my husbands request. He wanted it to use on leaves and small twigs. He used it all day last Sunday and is pleased with its performance. The price was a lot cheaper than the other places we looked. The Site to Store shipping was really fast.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CheapestMomEver
Warrington Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Absolutely Incredible
7/5/2014

Customer review by Waikane

5.0 stars 7/5/2014 by Waikane
by Waikane

This tiller is well worth the money as it saves time and effort in leveling/pruning trees. Although a pole chainsaw, pole pruner and regular chainsaw we used to cut down a 30' tree, this machine made quick work of limbs over 10' tall and no more than 1.25" in diameter. Don't let the plastic housing/inexpensive price fool you. It took all of 5 minutes to set up and working with it for 6.5 hours, I only had to clear the hopper twice. The motor actually sounds stronger as it's chipping the branches. It does a great job with branches but being that it's a chipper not a mulcher, the leaves come out approx 30% of size with some leaves leaving the hopper at 50%. All-in-all, this is a fabulous buy and although I didn't purchase the product from this vendor, I thought it'd be good to review it on this site none-the-less.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Waikane
Munhall, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Sun Joe does the job
2/11/2015

Customer review by ILikeTechToys

5.0 stars 2/11/2015 by ILikeTechToys
by ILikeTechToys

The Sun Joe works well for small branches and twigs. The largest branch I put through it was about an inch but it would probably take an inch and a half as is advertised. I tried putting green bush trimmings though it and it does not take those as well. You need to push all of them through with the paddle. So, after I learned what it does best I am very satisfied with this item. You can't find anything close for this price that will do what this machine does. It is also light and easy to move around. I plugged it a couple of times, but it is easy to clean. The steel blades look very strudy. It is well designed so you can't get your hand close to them when the machine is running. Good safety feature.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ILikeTechToys
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great chipper/shredder
4/10/2014

Customer review by innaanna

5.0 stars 4/10/2014 by innaanna
by innaanna

This is my first time ever I used this kind of machine. I was worry little, but this chipper is so easy to use it, and works great! Ha, I felt like in the kitchen using juice extractor. And kind of fun for me. Great thing.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
innaanna
Lehighton, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quick, clean mulcher for shrubbery trimmings
4/16/2014

Customer review by puppiesue

5.0 stars 4/16/2014 by puppiesue
by puppiesue

This little chipper has been in use for two days now without any problems of any kind. It easily handles both green and woody shrub material and produces a nice mulch. It is the answer for my yard full of Oleanders and other shrubs and trees as well. The trimmings from a very large Oleander would easily fill four large contractor bags that have to be hauled to the dump since I live in a rural area without a refuse disposal service. Instead of four (or more) large contractor bags, I ended up with one kitchen bag of usable mulch. I wish I had run across this ten years ago. These initial days of use of the Sun Joe Chipper presented no clogs or jams. I am extremely satisfied thus far. It is easy to maneuver and stores in a small area. I have already recommended it to four others. I am delighted with this product and found the best price (with free shipping) at Walmart. (P.S. I am an elderly woman over 70 years old; it's fun to use.)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
puppiesue
Ocotillo, CA (desert)
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 78 total reviews
1-20 of 78 reviews