Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 86 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

86 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

86 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
37
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 stars
13
1-20 of 85 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 85 total reviews
1-20 of 85 reviews
Good tool for small yard projects
1/18/2014

Customer review by backyardhound

4.0 stars 1/18/2014 by backyardhound
by backyardhound
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Assemby was easy. Caution and safety info was adequate. I did read other users comments and agree straight branches quick chipping. Those with bends or where multiply branches join in it's better to separate them takes a little longer but well worth the time. The Sun Joe only jammed on me once I did not notice a knot growth on a branch and this is where it jammed. I chipped two types of wood. Very dry from a tree that I removed a year ago and the recent trees I removed recently. The dry wood did take the 1 1/2" brances well. The green branches same size I had to feed slowly. Reference what someone else posted: a. very small twigs do not chip. I removed them while working. b. This unit does not shred. The opening is to small, with two chipping blades most of what I did shred just went thru and it was hard to tell if it shred at all. This is a good tool for the price. Take your time, split branches to reduce jams, and keep the chipping area clean

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
backyardhound
Austin, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This Was a Great Purchase
5/4/2014

Customer review by Coldwarrior1984

5.0 stars 5/4/2014 by Coldwarrior1984
by Coldwarrior1984
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have been very pleased with this little wood chipper so far. It has performed very well and done exactly what it is advertised to do and a little more. The larger pieces need to be fed slowly, but so far I have had only 3 jams (in a total of about 6 hours of operation) and those were on hard wood or on large pieces at or more than 1.5 inches. The jams are easy to clear. Turn off the machine and pull the plug. Then, unscrew the big red knob. The whole top folds over for cleaning and debris removal. I think this will be easy to get to for sharpening and/or blade changes, too. To put it back in working order, just close the top again and screw the red knob back down (all the way). Plug it back in and turn it on. 2 minutes tops. I was skeptical about this because it is electric, but absolutely no problem. Assembly was less than 20 minutes and very easy. The product shipped fast and arrived in good shape. This little machine did a great job for me and was well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (7) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Coldwarrior1984
E. Hartford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for the small stuff
6/23/2012

Customer review by crankybat

4.0 stars 6/23/2012 by crankybat
by crankybat

With a lot of overgrown trees to remove from my yard and lot's of clean up, this unit is perfectly servicable for the small things, which the majority of the taking-up-space volume of trees and branches turn into once they are cut up. I have a chainsaw to cut the rest into firewood, so it's no big deal. It won't handle anything bigger than about an inch or inch and a half, the branches have to be cut so that they are straight enough to fit through the opening, you will need some dry, dead things to run though it frequently to "clear" it, and it's best to let it "rest" for a little bit after each pile reaches the height of the bottom opening. I've used it for hours every day after work, and the only problems are operator error when I try to run something through that doesn't fit, but it's easy to open and clear when that happens. The time it takes to cut another stack of branches with a pair of pruners is long enough for a cool off period if it seems to be getting hot or working too hard.. It just isn't heavy duty unit designed for the job I bought it to do, and I knew that to begin with. For the price, it is most certainly worth the money. It will take care of the most unsightly mess and if I kill it with overwork, it's cheap enough to buy a new one. If it survives the abuse I'm putting it through with a major tree clearing project, it will be really good for the pruning that will go on in future years. If not, it did it's job, it cost less than having someone come over and do the chipping for me, and I'll give it a decent recyling burial. It paid for itself in the first week.

Was this review helpful? (34) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crankybat
Pueblo, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works Good
2/24/2014

Customer review by peachpruner

5.0 stars 2/24/2014 by peachpruner
by peachpruner
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Now I've only used it for one day, so I can't attest to durability. But it's made a nice pile of mulch for me already. I'd say about enough to fill two five gallon buckets so far. As others have mentioned, you have to clip side branches off to fit limbs through the hopper. So it's a little tedious. But much cheaper than renting an industrial chipper. And much better than dragging your pruning to the curb and then driving to the store to buy a bag of mulch. Based on the construction, I'd say the weakest part is probably where the plastic body attaches to the metal tubing stand. It may break there after several years of use. We'll see.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
peachpruner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
poorly fitted parts, terrible customer service
11/5/2015

Customer review by frustrated

1.0 stars 11/5/2015 by frustrated
by frustrated

The assembly looked easy in the instructions, but the parts fit together so poorly that I'm nervous about using it. The wheel bracket will not go into the body all the way, so the screw holes won't line up. I called the number for help, but their network was down. I called back later, and they said if I emailed them a picture , someone would call me back within 24 hours. Of course I had to register the product, give them personal info, and answer a marketing survey first. I did all that and sent them pictures, model number, description of the problem, and a return phone number - and now I wait and hope they call soon. The day is shot. Worst service ever. And it took forever to get here too. First they said the order was delayed, and no revised ship date. When the box did get here, it looked like it had been opened before. Definitely would not recommend this product or company.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
frustrated
Would recommend to a friend? No
Truly needs a zero star
5/9/2015

Customer review by AJsTreeHouse

1.0 stars 5/9/2015 by AJsTreeHouse
by AJsTreeHouse

I purchased on Sunday night and received on Wednesday morning via FedEx. It worked off and on for 3 hours, mulching small branches 1" or less. These were all hedge bush branches. The overload protection kicked in. I attempted multiple times to reset by pressing the circuit breaker reset button and then restart it. We tried this in various different ways, attempting to start the motor back up. After 5 more hours of never getting it to reset, I took it back the same day I received it. That night, I ordered another one, hoping that I had just gotten a dud. Ordered on Wednesday night, received on Saturday morning. I started it up and did branches that were 1/4" - 3/4". I never forced the branches with either unit. It self-fed, which was nice. After 10 minutes and 6 tiny branches, the overload protection kicked in. I have tried several times to reset this unit, but it wont start. I'm taking it back. This brand was suppose to be the #1 electric chipper on the market, and it's awful. I'm sorry, but it's not good. Wish I had the money for a gas chipper....

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AJsTreeHouse
Would recommend to a friend? No
Light weight chipper/mulcher
8/6/2012

Customer review by MidgesRN

4.0 stars 8/6/2012 by MidgesRN
by MidgesRN

Product works well for chipping and mulching everyday garden trimmings. Easy to use. It is somewhat fragile - an odd part broke after three days usage, but it is under warranty.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MidgesRN
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent value
12/24/2015

Customer review by DC3Flyer

5.0 stars 12/24/2015 by DC3Flyer
by DC3Flyer

Good tool if used as designed. I use to chip up 7 Crepe Myrtles and it is just perfect for that job. Features that I like, discharge chute faces downward so debris doesn't go all over the place. The unit is high enough off of the ground that good sized collection box will fit below it. It is small and light enough that one person can easily transport in a passenger car with ease.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DC3Flyer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quick, clean mulcher for shrubbery trimmings
4/16/2014

Customer review by puppiesue

5.0 stars 4/16/2014 by puppiesue
by puppiesue
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This little chipper has been in use for two days now without any problems of any kind. It easily handles both green and woody shrub material and produces a nice mulch. It is the answer for my yard full of Oleanders and other shrubs and trees as well. The trimmings from a very large Oleander would easily fill four large contractor bags that have to be hauled to the dump since I live in a rural area without a refuse disposal service. Instead of four (or more) large contractor bags, I ended up with one kitchen bag of usable mulch. I wish I had run across this ten years ago. These initial days of use of the Sun Joe Chipper presented no clogs or jams. I am extremely satisfied thus far. It is easy to maneuver and stores in a small area. I have already recommended it to four others. I am delighted with this product and found the best price (with free shipping) at Walmart. (P.S. I am an elderly woman over 70 years old; it's fun to use.)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
puppiesue
Ocotillo, CA (desert)
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quality rated.
12/20/2015

Customer review by ActiveParent

2.0 stars 12/20/2015 by ActiveParent
by ActiveParent

It does not shredded the leafs as it stated. It did a fair job with wood. Overall, it is not worth it if you have leafs to shred.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ActiveParent
Would recommend to a friend? No
The little thing works
4/7/2014

Customer review by Bobsq

5.0 stars 4/7/2014 by Bobsq
by Bobsq
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a half acer with lots of trees. Branches are always coming down in the yard. This little guy really works. Just take it slow on feeding the branches in the hooper. It takes as advertise up to an inch and half. You wouldn't think it could do the job to look at it, but it meets all my needs. Used it this weekend on maple and pine branches and also prunings from several shrubs. Took them all and made fine woodchips out of the bunch. It nice to have a product that does what it advertises.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bobsq
Eldersburg, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's great for one thing....small pruning s.
1/17/2014

Customer review by joyscountrycottage

3.0 stars 1/17/2014 by joyscountrycottage
by joyscountrycottage
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's wonderful for small pruning s of bushes and trees, up to 1 1/2 " diameter. You do have to prune off the side branches. The aggravating part of using it, is the very skinny hopper. I understand why they make it that way...safety, so people can't stick their hands down there, as people would..... The power level was just fine, if you don't force it. The noise level is fine. I leaned up a plastic garden cart I also bought online, and it collected the nice small chips well. I wish there was a way to have a little chute for smaller twigs, and leaves. I plan on getting a load of tree trimmer chips and would love to chop them smaller. I think this will do it, but very slowly. I haven't clogged it once, as I just let it do it's job as intended. You definitely have to have patience.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
joyscountrycottage
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for small garden branches and clippings
9/21/2013

Customer review by SFGardenGuy1

4.0 stars 9/21/2013 by SFGardenGuy1
by SFGardenGuy1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Even though it's somewhat slow it does make great mulch. There's little danger to hurt yourself because the chute is very small and the shoving paddle works fine. Though, when it does get jammed and you have to open the top to clear the jam from the blades, you have to remember to unplug the machine. The largest branch width it will take is about 1 1/2 inches but considering the limitations, it's a nice little garden machine that's great for trimmings from bushes and trees to make nice mulch to spread around the garden.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SFGardenGuy1
san francisco, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Absolutely Incredible
7/5/2014

Customer review by Waikane

5.0 stars 7/5/2014 by Waikane
by Waikane

This tiller is well worth the money as it saves time and effort in leveling/pruning trees. Although a pole chainsaw, pole pruner and regular chainsaw we used to cut down a 30' tree, this machine made quick work of limbs over 10' tall and no more than 1.25" in diameter. Don't let the plastic housing/inexpensive price fool you. It took all of 5 minutes to set up and working with it for 6.5 hours, I only had to clear the hopper twice. The motor actually sounds stronger as it's chipping the branches. It does a great job with branches but being that it's a chipper not a mulcher, the leaves come out approx 30% of size with some leaves leaving the hopper at 50%. All-in-all, this is a fabulous buy and although I didn't purchase the product from this vendor, I thought it'd be good to review it on this site none-the-less.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Waikane
Munhall, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Electric wood chipper
10/19/2015

Customer review by southwesterner

4.0 stars 10/19/2015 by southwesterner
by southwesterner

Product meets my expectation. It is powerful enough for branches that are up to 1" in diameter. At first I was skeptical but it is actually quite fast too. I can fill a 3 gallon pot full of chips within 10 minutes. Also make note that The automatic manufactural warranty is two years which is the same with walmart protection plan ($14). If one decided to purchase this chipper, don't buy the protection plan.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
southwesterner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/14/2012

Customer review by revdey

5.0 stars 8/14/2012 by revdey
by revdey

I was very pleased. The unit was lightweight yet handled everything I put into it and never jammed once. I also could not believe the small pile of mulch it left after chipping a very large pile of tree branches.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
revdey
Harrisburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Good wood chipper
7/16/2012

Customer review by kanorak

1.0 stars 7/16/2012 by kanorak
by kanorak

I've used the Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder for about 2 hours since I purchased it. I was surprised @ how well it turned twigs into something resembling sawdust. It actually chipped/mulched the larger twigs better than the very small ones. However, as my technique @ using it improved more of the smaller twigs were sawdusted also. I just hand pruned the smaller twigs that had not been sawdusted by Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder before putting the remains into my compost bin. As my technique using the Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder improves, I expect to get more sawdust from my twigs up to the recommended 1&1/2 inch diameter. The paddle that came with the unit to push the twigs into the blades was very helpful & well designed. I did not find that leaves were effectively mulched by the Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder. Assembly for the unit was quick and straightforward. The instruction manual is well and clearly written. Up to this point I am very pleased and somewhat surprised @ how well the Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder actually chips & mulches twigs. Sun Joe also told me that they do sell replacement parts ( replacement blades) for the Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder. Only time will tell how pleased I will ultimately be with this product but it's certainly off to a great start with me.

Was this review helpful? (15) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kanorak
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Super Chipper shredder
8/23/2014

Customer review by HouHandyMan

5.0 stars 8/23/2014 by HouHandyMan
by HouHandyMan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

More than time was saved by purchasing. Ease of use , only jammed once in using daily for the last week removing a 25 ' Diameter Crepe Myrtle.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HouHandyMan
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
it did not chip anything very well.
7/15/2012

Customer review by travelermike

1.0 stars 7/15/2012 by travelermike
by travelermike

if a stick was not straight it would not go through. sticks with leaves would not feed. leaves alone hung up. sticks 1" in diameter would not chip.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
travelermike
portland,oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
quick and easy
11/11/2014

Customer review by partTimeGardener

1.0 stars 11/11/2014 by partTimeGardener
by partTimeGardener

The chipper came one day late from the promise date, puting it together took a little work the legs wouldn't go all the in to allign with the screw holes, I had to bang it in. Once assembled the device worked like a charm. It does not do good with tine twigs, seems to fall through and watch out for the oak, the machine said 1.5" branch, but barely an inch for the oak or maples. If it hits a branch too tough it will blow a fuse and in my case the generater shutoff due to over load. Once you understand the branch type and size just chip away.w

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
partTimeGardener
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 85 total reviews
1-20 of 85 reviews