Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 117 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

117 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

117 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
42
4 stars
44
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 stars
16
1-20 of 115 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 115 total reviews
1-20 of 115 reviews
Good tool for small yard projects
1/18/2014

Customer review by backyardhound

4.0 stars 1/18/2014 by backyardhound
by backyardhound
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Assemby was easy. Caution and safety info was adequate. I did read other users comments and agree straight branches quick chipping. Those with bends or where multiply branches join in it's better to separate them takes a little longer but well worth the time. The Sun Joe only jammed on me once I did not notice a knot growth on a branch and this is where it jammed. I chipped two types of wood. Very dry from a tree that I removed a year ago and the recent trees I removed recently. The dry wood did take the 1 1/2" brances well. The green branches same size I had to feed slowly. Reference what someone else posted: a. very small twigs do not chip. I removed them while working. b. This unit does not shred. The opening is to small, with two chipping blades most of what I did shred just went thru and it was hard to tell if it shred at all. This is a good tool for the price. Take your time, split branches to reduce jams, and keep the chipping area clean

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
backyardhound
Austin, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This Was a Great Purchase
5/4/2014

Customer review by Coldwarrior1984

5.0 stars 5/4/2014 by Coldwarrior1984
by Coldwarrior1984
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have been very pleased with this little wood chipper so far. It has performed very well and done exactly what it is advertised to do and a little more. The larger pieces need to be fed slowly, but so far I have had only 3 jams (in a total of about 6 hours of operation) and those were on hard wood or on large pieces at or more than 1.5 inches. The jams are easy to clear. Turn off the machine and pull the plug. Then, unscrew the big red knob. The whole top folds over for cleaning and debris removal. I think this will be easy to get to for sharpening and/or blade changes, too. To put it back in working order, just close the top again and screw the red knob back down (all the way). Plug it back in and turn it on. 2 minutes tops. I was skeptical about this because it is electric, but absolutely no problem. Assembly was less than 20 minutes and very easy. The product shipped fast and arrived in good shape. This little machine did a great job for me and was well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (18) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Coldwarrior1984
E. Hartford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worked great for my overgrown back yard
11/29/2016

Customer review by Jeremy

5.0 stars 11/29/2016 by Jeremy
by Jeremy

It was easy to put together and started using it right after it arrived. I started with very small branches and worked my way up to the larger ones. Every once in a while a stick would be too wide or have a joint in it where another branch was and it wouldn't go through smoothly. Most sticks, branches and brush was easily handled by it. As instructions say, don't feed branches too fast and if you jam it, it is easy to shut off and open up the top to pull out the branch and go right back at it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jeremy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Reduced pine bark nuggets
1/13/2017

Customer review by Steve

4.0 stars 1/13/2017 by Steve
by Steve
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Used to chop up to 2.5" long bark pieces for seedling potting mix. 99% of older bark, after one pass through the chipper, went through a 1/2" screen. Fresh bark required some pieces to go back through a total of three passes. Required a rubber hammer to knock the stand into the holes on the underside so the screws would fit.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Steve
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Didnt even last 3 days
5/14/2016

Customer review by fallout125

1.0 stars 5/14/2016 by fallout125
by fallout125

Got it on a Thursday, used it for alittle bit after work then put it up, same on Friday, started using it Saturday and ran out of branches, so i shut it off to get some more, came back started to use it and it ran sluggishly and stalled and wouldn't start back up unless you smacked the motor, it didn't trip the reset switch either. Ran fine up until that point. was chopping mainly cedar branches under 1inch going slow. So was delivered Thursday afternoon and returned Saturday morning with maybe 3 or so hours of use. On a side note the included tool to push the leaves and etc down the hole is tied to the chipper with a role which can get tangled up in branches and then be pulled into the chipper because its too long, needless to say i cut that off. also the blades looked perfect after all the chipping but the motor(or i assume it was the motor that died) just didnt hold up

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 10/3/2016

So sorry to hear that you're having an issue with our product. We take each matter very seriously and want to make sure you are happy. At Snow Joe + Sun Joe we stand behind each product we manufacture. Our toll-free number is 866-766-9563 (M-F 9-6EST and Sunday 9-4EST). We promise to do our best to make sure you are satisfied 100%. Thanks, Andres.

fallout125
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works Good
2/24/2014

Customer review by peachpruner

5.0 stars 2/24/2014 by peachpruner
by peachpruner
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Now I've only used it for one day, so I can't attest to durability. But it's made a nice pile of mulch for me already. I'd say about enough to fill two five gallon buckets so far. As others have mentioned, you have to clip side branches off to fit limbs through the hopper. So it's a little tedious. But much cheaper than renting an industrial chipper. And much better than dragging your pruning to the curb and then driving to the store to buy a bag of mulch. Based on the construction, I'd say the weakest part is probably where the plastic body attaches to the metal tubing stand. It may break there after several years of use. We'll see.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
peachpruner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for the small stuff
6/23/2012

Customer review by crankybat

4.0 stars 6/23/2012 by crankybat
by crankybat

With a lot of overgrown trees to remove from my yard and lot's of clean up, this unit is perfectly servicable for the small things, which the majority of the taking-up-space volume of trees and branches turn into once they are cut up. I have a chainsaw to cut the rest into firewood, so it's no big deal. It won't handle anything bigger than about an inch or inch and a half, the branches have to be cut so that they are straight enough to fit through the opening, you will need some dry, dead things to run though it frequently to "clear" it, and it's best to let it "rest" for a little bit after each pile reaches the height of the bottom opening. I've used it for hours every day after work, and the only problems are operator error when I try to run something through that doesn't fit, but it's easy to open and clear when that happens. The time it takes to cut another stack of branches with a pair of pruners is long enough for a cool off period if it seems to be getting hot or working too hard.. It just isn't heavy duty unit designed for the job I bought it to do, and I knew that to begin with. For the price, it is most certainly worth the money. It will take care of the most unsightly mess and if I kill it with overwork, it's cheap enough to buy a new one. If it survives the abuse I'm putting it through with a major tree clearing project, it will be really good for the pruning that will go on in future years. If not, it did it's job, it cost less than having someone come over and do the chipping for me, and I'll give it a decent recyling burial. It paid for itself in the first week.

Was this review helpful? (48) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crankybat
Pueblo, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Truly needs a zero star
5/9/2015

Customer review by AJsTreeHouse

1.0 stars 5/9/2015 by AJsTreeHouse
by AJsTreeHouse

I purchased on Sunday night and received on Wednesday morning via FedEx. It worked off and on for 3 hours, mulching small branches 1" or less. These were all hedge bush branches. The overload protection kicked in. I attempted multiple times to reset by pressing the circuit breaker reset button and then restart it. We tried this in various different ways, attempting to start the motor back up. After 5 more hours of never getting it to reset, I took it back the same day I received it. That night, I ordered another one, hoping that I had just gotten a dud. Ordered on Wednesday night, received on Saturday morning. I started it up and did branches that were 1/4" - 3/4". I never forced the branches with either unit. It self-fed, which was nice. After 10 minutes and 6 tiny branches, the overload protection kicked in. I have tried several times to reset this unit, but it wont start. I'm taking it back. This brand was suppose to be the #1 electric chipper on the market, and it's awful. I'm sorry, but it's not good. Wish I had the money for a gas chipper....

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 10/3/2016

So sorry to hear that you're having an issue with our product. We take each matter very seriously and want to make sure you are happy. At Snow Joe + Sun Joe we stand behind each product we manufacture. Our toll-free number is 866-766-9563 (M-F 9-6EST and Sunday 9-4EST). We promise to do our best to make sure you are satisfied 100%. Thanks, Andres.

AJsTreeHouse
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best woodchipper ever
2/1/2017

Customer review by EricH

5.0 stars 2/1/2017 by EricH
by EricH
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I shopped a round and Walmart had the best price ever and it came to my house within three days very ease of ordering online and quick delivery recommend this to a every day yard person

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EricH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quick, clean mulcher for shrubbery trimmings
4/16/2014

Customer review by puppiesue

5.0 stars 4/16/2014 by puppiesue
by puppiesue
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This little chipper has been in use for two days now without any problems of any kind. It easily handles both green and woody shrub material and produces a nice mulch. It is the answer for my yard full of Oleanders and other shrubs and trees as well. The trimmings from a very large Oleander would easily fill four large contractor bags that have to be hauled to the dump since I live in a rural area without a refuse disposal service. Instead of four (or more) large contractor bags, I ended up with one kitchen bag of usable mulch. I wish I had run across this ten years ago. These initial days of use of the Sun Joe Chipper presented no clogs or jams. I am extremely satisfied thus far. It is easy to maneuver and stores in a small area. I have already recommended it to four others. I am delighted with this product and found the best price (with free shipping) at Walmart. (P.S. I am an elderly woman over 70 years old; it's fun to use.)

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
puppiesue
Ocotillo, CA (desert)
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Light weight chipper/mulcher
8/6/2012

Customer review by MidgesRN

4.0 stars 8/6/2012 by MidgesRN
by MidgesRN

Product works well for chipping and mulching everyday garden trimmings. Easy to use. It is somewhat fragile - an odd part broke after three days usage, but it is under warranty.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MidgesRN
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Sun Joe Chipper/Shredder
10/17/2016

Customer review by jgar972

5.0 stars 10/17/2016 by jgar972
by jgar972

First let me say that this is not a commercial unit. I personally don't need anything commercial so this chipper/shredder works great for me. The blades do dull relatively quick so I ordered and extra set. This way I always have a sharp pair ready. This unit ate up 500 corn plants and mulched them in to two trash bags. It would have filled up about 15 bags not shredded. This not only saved me time, but worked better than I had even hoped for. Next project is the tomato plants and blackberry, raspberry and other bushes. If you are looking for a chipper/ shredder just for chopping up smaller stuff, this can't be beat for the money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jgar972
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good choice for economy and performance
1/9/2017

Customer review by Alice

5.0 stars 1/9/2017 by Alice
by Alice
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The machine was easy to put together - clear instructions. It works so very well. I'm cleaning up sticks and small limbs that I used to have to bag or drag to the street for city pickup. Chipping them in this machine has given me a good supply of mulch, saving me money and feeding my garden with the chips which help keep the weeds down. I'm very happy with the performance. Don't overload it, don't put in limbs that are too big and you'll be happy, too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alice
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little chipper for bushes and small branches
1/12/2017

Customer review by odonoghue

5.0 stars 1/12/2017 by odonoghue
by odonoghue
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have used this chipper now for about 4 hours and have only had one jam due to the fibrous bark on some of the bush branches. The jams are easy to clear because of the easy access. I have had no problem chipping branches up to 1" in diameter. Any branches that are larger than 1" I use for firewood.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
odonoghue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Affordable wood chipper
1/17/2017

Customer review by peoriacarol

5.0 stars 1/17/2017 by peoriacarol
by peoriacarol
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is perfect for pruning and trimming in my yard

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
peoriacarol
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The little thing works
4/7/2014

Customer review by Bobsq

5.0 stars 4/7/2014 by Bobsq
by Bobsq
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a half acer with lots of trees. Branches are always coming down in the yard. This little guy really works. Just take it slow on feeding the branches in the hooper. It takes as advertise up to an inch and half. You wouldn't think it could do the job to look at it, but it meets all my needs. Used it this weekend on maple and pine branches and also prunings from several shrubs. Took them all and made fine woodchips out of the bunch. It nice to have a product that does what it advertises.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bobsq
Eldersburg, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The Little Chipper that Could
12/29/2016

Customer review by HackJob101

5.0 stars 12/29/2016 by HackJob101
by HackJob101
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works great for appropriately sized brush and branches. Shutdown function has saved me from burning out the motor a few times. Makes great mulch if you feed it good material (garbage in, garbage out, it's not a magician.) For the price, you can't go wrong. It takes more time to run through a pile of brush than a more expensive model, but you can either have time or money. I keep the money in my pocket, thanks to the Little Chipper that Could.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HackJob101
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
woid chipper
9/26/2016

Customer review by Happymom

5.0 stars 9/26/2016 by Happymom
by Happymom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am very happy with this product , 2 in 1 cleans my yard and add mulch to my yard I just love it . Its a great size too . Thank you

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happymom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Was dissappointed
4/29/2016

Customer review by trackside

2.0 stars 4/29/2016 by trackside
by trackside

Putting the machine together is a snap. It runs great and did chop some small to 3/4 inch limbs with ease. However, after 5 minutes of running it stopped. The motor wound down and then it would not restart even after it sat all night. The reset button did not need reset as it did not trip. I can't say this is normal of all the Sun Joe Chippers but I know it happened to the one I had. I had it over night then returned it to Wal Mart the next morning for a full refund. I guess it is like everything else. Sometimes you get a lemon from an otherwise good product. Would I recommend this unit to someone else. Not sure if I would or not.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 10/3/2016

So sorry to hear that you're having an issue with our product. We take each matter very seriously and want to make sure you are happy. At Snow Joe + Sun Joe we stand behind each product we manufacture. Our toll-free number is 866-766-9563 (M-F 9-6EST and Sunday 9-4EST). We promise to do our best to make sure you are satisfied 100%. Thanks, Andres.

trackside
Would recommend to a friend? No
Sun Joe Chipper
8/31/2016

Customer review by Sophie123

5.0 stars 8/31/2016 by Sophie123
by Sophie123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This has been the best investment i have made in years. I mainly purchased this chipper to cut up my 360 corn stocks that were finished with corn. They were green but they chewed them up like butter. I have not used them on my raspberries or apple trees yet but i am sure they will work just as well . Worth every penny. I also ordered the replacement blades which most others you could not. Thanks Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sophie123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 115 total reviews
1-20 of 115 reviews