Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 19 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

19 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

19 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-19 of 19 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Better design for a blower/vac combo
7/24/2012

Customer review by TBAIII

4.0 stars 7/24/2012 by TBAIII
by TBAIII

Bought a different blower/vac/mulcher in May 2012. It lasted 4 weeks (4 uses) and would not turn on. Thank goodness that Walmart makes it so easy to return unusable items. Bought this Sun Joe unit in June and so far so good. Have used it 4 times and it's still going. The design on this unit is much better in my opinion: There's one tube that stays in place for both blower and vac with a switch that changes direction of airflow. The position of the tube is the same as that of just a blower. The ergonomics of this design is much easier to use even though this unit is a little heavier than the Greenworks. The tube diameter is a little smaller which makes it easier to get into bushes to suck out debris. Because of the smaller diameter, the suction is greater which is a problem on landscape gravel. However, this unit has variable speed control (as did the Greenworks) providing customized suction. The smaller diameter tube also allows for more powerful blower airflow. The bag hangs from the bottom of the unit, so there's no having to hang it over your shoulder. Overall, I'm much more pleased with the ergonomics and ease of use with this unit. If it will last at least 2 years, I'll be thrilled!

Was this review helpful? (71) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TBAIII
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
So far, so good.
10/16/2012

Customer review by BeachyKeen

5.0 stars 10/16/2012 by BeachyKeen
by BeachyKeen

My biggest fear was accidentally sucking up the hickory nuts that lie under leaves on our decks, but that didn't happen. Yay! The next challenge involved vacuuming up leaves on landscaping pebbles, but since these aren't pea-sized rocks, no problem. My only issue thus far is the weight of the blower/vacuum--the wheels, however, make a huge difference.

Was this review helpful? (38) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BeachyKeen
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Purchase
11/10/2012

Customer review by Baylee1

4.0 stars 11/10/2012 by Baylee1
by Baylee1

While it took a while from purchase to delivery, I was amazed at how wonderfully this picked up leaves. I have a large rocked area in front of my home that accumulates leaves. It took be about 1 1/2 hours but I did a great job of removing the leaves. I will have to say that I wish that the stem had an additional attachment about 1/2 as long to add to the existing. I am tall and have to bend over a bit and that can be hard on your back. It was actually easier on the rocked area than it was on the grassed area but overall it did a great job. I would highly recommend this!

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Baylee1
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good design
11/7/2013

Customer review by abqyard

5.0 stars 11/7/2013 by abqyard
by abqyard

Good product. I had purchased a Toro because of Consumer Reports' ratings, but the disassembly/reassembly to change from blowing to vacuuming was tedious. The Sun Joe accomplishes this switch with the flip of a lever. The blowing velocity is just less than the Toro's, and the vacuuming c.f.m. is above the Toro's. Variable speed feature is nice. The unit digests leaves nicely, and the cloth bag seems pretty sturdy. My only complaint is the unit runs a bit loudly.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
abqyard
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just a little heavier than I expected.
1/28/2013

Customer review by BMLCustomer

3.0 stars 1/28/2013 by BMLCustomer
by BMLCustomer

I love it, but it's a bit heavier than expected. I haven't decided to keep it or not. I'll try it one more time. I'm elderly and disabled, so it may not be an issue for the average person.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BMLCustomer
Hayward, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy assembly, very good shredder
12/14/2013

Customer review by BlufftonB

5.0 stars 12/14/2013 by BlufftonB
by BlufftonB

The blower works about as well as I expected; not as good as a gas powered unit but still very good. The shredder was better than expected. It quickly sucks up leaves an chops then into mulch. I filled 1 trash bag with mulch and I think it would easily have filled 4 bags if it was not mulched. Given the low price, it's a very good value.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlufftonB
Bluffton, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
top heavy
11/9/2012

Customer review by iceteakid

1.0 stars 11/9/2012 by iceteakid
by iceteakid

It does have good suction power and blowing power.For me it is to heavy and way to bulky.

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iceteakid
thayer,mo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Absolutely Terrible
12/19/2012

Customer review by bbelly

1.0 stars 12/19/2012 by bbelly
by bbelly

This this only lasted 15 minutes in light work. Cheaply built On a positive note: My local Walmart(Payson AZ) refunded my money with no questions

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bbelly
Payson AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
vacuum blower...good item for leaves
1/8/2013

Customer review by valuewanted

4.0 stars 1/8/2013 by valuewanted
by valuewanted

this item was very good at performing task that were listed. Blower was excellent and vacuum did a great job mulching the leaves. The only issue I would have is the blower/vacuum is a little bulky and gets heavy when it's full. Smaller people may have issues using.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
valuewanted
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent blower power for the money
6/10/2013

Customer review by Sam2288

4.0 stars 6/10/2013 by Sam2288
by Sam2288

Product is a little heavy, and it vibrates a lot when at the highest speed - other than those two points, I like the unit and would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sam2288
Ellicott City, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Useful quick change worth weight
9/16/2014

Customer review by 2K2K2

4.0 stars 9/16/2014 by 2K2K2
by 2K2K2

Added bulk for quick change feature bonus. For blower use I prefer lighter single purpose units. Vacuum does job well. Switch lever is easy. A real plus when you need blower. The bag appears small, but weight drives dumping often anyway. It is right size, easy to attach/remove, and does not impair in tight spots around plants. The bag side zipper is well suited to trash bins. Conveniently set unit on top of open can, rotate like BBQ spit, unzip, empty, and zip shut at convenient height. The pickup is relatively non clogging. Avoids common twig material jams at impeller inlet.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2K2K2
ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
it blows
1/27/2013

Customer review by mom2Beagain2

5.0 stars 1/27/2013 by mom2Beagain2
by mom2Beagain2

it was easy to put together and works great!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mom2Beagain2
Jackson, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excellent
3/12/2014

Customer review by foxmgt

5.0 stars 3/12/2014 by foxmgt
by foxmgt

excellent buy for money

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
foxmgt
New Port Richey, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
vacumer
1/23/2015

Customer review by hessie

5.0 stars 1/23/2015 by hessie
by hessie

great product and a great price. all I could ask for.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hessie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love This
6/30/2015

Customer review by Happycustomer

5.0 stars 6/30/2015 by Happycustomer
by Happycustomer

We have used the blower twice and it works great and is easy to use. Love the different speeds that you can use. Vacumns and shredds great as well. Would definately recommend this to a friend!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Happycustomer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Too heavy for women.
12/4/2013

Customer review by ssspain

3.0 stars 12/4/2013 by ssspain
by ssspain

I bought an electric thinking it would be lighter than gas but this blower is very heavy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ssspain
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very heavy
11/21/2014

Customer review by BertinthePoconos

3.0 stars 11/21/2014 by BertinthePoconos
by BertinthePoconos

The item works well on both modes, however, I hadn't expected it to be so heavy. I like the fact that you don't have to change the hoses in order to switch from vacuum to blower.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BertinthePoconos
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not a good product
12/11/2013

Customer review by Jimg23

1.0 stars 12/11/2013 by Jimg23
by Jimg23

Got clogged with thin twig twice the first time I used it. Had to unscrew chute with Phillips head (twice) to unclog and get it to work. the second time it just broke and wouldn't vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jimg23
NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
make my jop alot easy and fast
10/2/2013

Customer review by dkef

5.0 stars 10/2/2013 by dkef
by dkef

the product is excellent..

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dkef
north myrte beach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.