Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 112 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

112 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

112 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
55
4 stars
33
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 stars
8
1-20 of 101 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 101 total reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews
Great computer
7/14/2012

Customer review by Kanou

5.0 stars 7/14/2012 by Kanou
by Kanou

I bought it for a friend, work well really nice computer and the new design of dell is amazing! great buy

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kanou
milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good value for a low end laptop
9/18/2012

Customer review by RPaulM

4.0 stars 9/18/2012 by RPaulM
by RPaulM

Bought this 2011 model 14z at the very end of its product cycle after reading many reviews. (This laptop will be for my college freshman daughter.) The 2012 model Inspiron 14z is a completely different design that is smaller and slightly lighter than this 2011 14z. This 2011 version I'm reviewing is a great value. Solid build, with metal case. Excellent battery life of 8+ hrs, better than the new 2012 version. Keyboard is good, though not backlit. Touchpad is fine. Wireless worked well and it has bluetooth. The free Adobe software is a nice bonus. It seems like it attracts fingerprints but that's life. Any smaller screem "ultrabook" or pre-ultrabook will not have a CD/DVD drive as this does.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RPaulM
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/6/2013

Customer review by Phillipm15

3.0 stars 3/6/2013 by Phillipm15
by Phillipm15

We have been having problems with the laptop

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Phillipm15
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
LOVE*LOVE*LOVE THIS LAPTOP!
9/17/2011

Customer review by Carwell

5.0 stars 9/17/2011 by Carwell
by Carwell

This laptop is the PERFECT size for the user that wants a smaller light weight laptop. We have 2 other 15.6 Dell laptops (and a Dell desktop) in our house. This provides all the power, memory, speed & battery life I need to have available while traveling. I think it's construction is just fine. However, if you're not careful and you drop it, you will (just like every other manufacturer) damage it to some extent. The black color which I think is actually more bronze, is very rich. Buy it!!! You'll love it!!

Carwell
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Value
8/23/2011

Customer review by happydude77

5.0 stars 8/23/2011 by happydude77
by happydude77

The 14z was designed with me in mind. I didn't want to pay for a macpro but wanted something thin and didn't want to compromise on performance. This laptop has been great. The battery life is amazing and my wife loves that it doesn't way a bunch. Pros - Thin - Snappy Performance - Amazing Battery Cons - None

happydude77
Austin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice Laptop
9/24/2011

Customer review by DannyO

5.0 stars 9/24/2011 by DannyO
by DannyO

Opps....Dell initially sent the wrong order but when I received the correct one I was impressed! Great build, size & weight, just what I was looking for! I have purchased many Dell products in the past and this one too meets all my needs. For the money you can't beat it.

DannyO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cannot go wrong with this one
9/7/2011

Customer review by JustAnotherPortlander

5.0 stars 9/7/2011 by JustAnotherPortlander
by JustAnotherPortlander

Pros: Excellent design Great aluminium body Great rich look and feel Nice Dark Brown color(Diamond Black) Great Keyboard Runs cool Light HDMI USB 3.0 Intel WiDi Core i5 Cons: Touchpad a little bit coarse to touch, and sometimes non-responsive due to finger not moving smoothly over it. Adjusting the properties solves this issue. Nothing else, just amazing,amazing laptop

JustAnotherPortlander
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great experience
6/28/2012

Customer review by ElizaG

5.0 stars 6/28/2012 by ElizaG
by ElizaG

I have no complaints about this laptop, other than the easily-made smudges on the exterior of the laptop. I am not using it for any fancy uses, just the basic Office, browsing the Internet, and regular software, and it is doing a fantastic job at serving the purpose. I would definitely recommend this laptop to anyone.

ElizaG
Queens, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Laptop
5/17/2012

Customer review by S05271

5.0 stars 5/17/2012 by S05271
by S05271

Very easy to use and carry with you. Great features. Very pleased with screen clarity and resolution. Only criticism is the plastic covers for the USB and earphone ports.

S05271
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Laptop!!
11/22/2011

Customer review by nssll3

5.0 stars 11/22/2011 by nssll3
by nssll3

I have had this laptop for almost 2 months and I have been very pleased with it. Very fast Laptop. My family uses it for school projects, preparing work presentations, watching videos of my girls athletic events and much more. I would definitely recommend.

nssll3
Victoria, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
In Love
12/14/2011

Customer review by liketheboat09

5.0 stars 12/14/2011 by liketheboat09
by liketheboat09

This laptop is one of the nicest machines I have ever owned and this is coming from a Mac enthusiast. Form- It's beautiful. The Espresso Black color is gorgeous and the brushed metal look gives it a nice professional feel. The chicklet style keyboard is great and it doesn't matter that it's not backlit. Another reviewer said it looks terrible without the feature, I call that person crazy. Plus, I love that the USB ports are covered with a plastic piece- it prevents dust from getting trapped inside them when not in use. The screen does have a bit of a glare BUT unless you work outdoors, it really shouldn't be a problem. Finally, it's very light weight and thin making it easily transportable. Function- I'm a grad student with a large music and paper collection. This computer is able to handle running multiple programs at once while also being on the internet. The touchpad isn't the best I've seen but it's definitely not unusable as other users may make it sound. I like wireless mouses anyway so for me it's not a problem.

liketheboat09
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Inspiron 14Z
1/9/2012

Customer review by muziklady

5.0 stars 1/9/2012 by muziklady
by muziklady

Awesome laptop. Like the sleek design, keyboard just the right size. No complaints.

muziklady
marietta, ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for College
12/27/2011

Customer review by charley1205

5.0 stars 12/27/2011 by charley1205
by charley1205

As a college student, the Dell Inspiron 14z is perfect. The battery life is phenomenal and the laptop itself is very thin and lightweight. I chose the Intel Core i5 processor which provides users with blazing fast speed without sacrificing battery life. Furthermore, the laptop feels very sturdy while its durability is enhanced by the aluminum brushed body. Pros: Battery Life Cons: Speakers could be more impressive

charley1205
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent laptop! Performs like a champ....
1/5/2012

Customer review by Bayareamike2

5.0 stars 1/5/2012 by Bayareamike2
by Bayareamike2

I bought the Inspiorn 14z to replace a $1300 17 inch HP laptop that lasted 2 years before failing on me. I thought the 17 inch was bulky and heavy for a laptop anyway. This time I wanted something more lightweight and portable. Also, Consumer Reports rathed this computer very highly. I bought the 14z with the i3 processor, 6GB Ram, 640GB hard disk. Great performance. Very long battery life. Packed with features. I thought it had a lighted keyboard, which it doesn't, but no big deal. Excellent value. I thought about getting the i5 or i7 processors, but thought I would give the i3 a chance. The i3 has PLENTY of power to run multiple applications without any hesitation what-so-ever. I've owned several computers (both laptops and desktops), and this is the best one yet!

Bayareamike2
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Simply Beautiful
1/12/2012

Customer review by MacConvert

5.0 stars 1/12/2012 by MacConvert
by MacConvert

I did a lot of research while looking to purchase my latest computer and finally settled on the Inspiron 14z with an i5 processor, backlit keyboard and the Fire Red option. It's a gorgeous machine. But having read every review I could find, as well as switching from a Mac, I was a bit nervous about certain things that were mentioned more than once, that I'll focus on. WiFi - I connect quite often to the citywide wireless, with varying degrees of signal strength. The wifi on this computer works beautifully. I haven't had a problem with it. Sound Quality - I found the sound to be surprisingly good for this little laptop. It's not the best ever, but the speakers are loud and clear. Trackpad Buttons - Are a bit tight, but nothing unmanageable. Overall it's a quick, powerful machine that looks really stylish. I don't mind the plastic bottom and it hasn't gotten too warm for me to handle. The brushed aluminum lid and casing looks fantastic. If you have the option, add on the backlit keyboard, which raises the aesthetic appeal even more. Dell Tech Support has also been great, calling to let me know that production was on schedule, and then calling after it arrived to make sure I had no issues with the machine. That's good customer service! Cons - The keys can be a bit noisy. The case does collect finger prints. It comes loaded with a lot of bloatware, or at least, programs that I didn't need. For the price though, this laptop has exceeded my expectations, and made the transition back to Windows pleasant rather than scary.

MacConvert
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/9/2012

Customer review by Dimuthub

5.0 stars 1/9/2012 by Dimuthub
by Dimuthub

Dimuthub
Colombo Sri Lanka
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very satisfied customer
9/14/2011

Customer review by Firebirds

5.0 stars 9/14/2011 by Firebirds
by Firebirds

I am a Dell user (XPS for Home Office) and was needing a faster, lightweight laptop with larger screen for travel. The N411z is perfect. The keyboard is excellent, setup was a breeze and I can be anywhere in my home and connect to Wifi. I highly recomment this model and the value is awsome.

Firebirds
San Francisco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great laptop!!!
1/22/2012

Customer review by papabernz

5.0 stars 1/22/2012 by papabernz
by papabernz

Pros its a friendly user notebook. multitasking no problem.

papabernz
San Bernardino, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great!
10/21/2011

Customer review by MeTaLMaNiAk

5.0 stars 10/21/2011 by MeTaLMaNiAk
by MeTaLMaNiAk

Excellent product. Highly recommendable

MeTaLMaNiAk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very happy!
12/26/2011

Customer review by Westiemom

5.0 stars 12/26/2011 by Westiemom
by Westiemom

We received our Inspiron 14Z as a Christmas gift from our son. (He is in a very technical field and a computer geek so he did his research first and picked this one as best for us.) Our old computer had "died" and my husband's laptop had also "kicked the bucket!" We were down to my little netbook for home use. So our sweet son had this beautiful laptop shipped to us. It is beautiful to look at, a joy to use, and just right for us. He put some upgrades on it. It has the backlit keyboard and Office 2010. The espresso color is very attractive and different. We have been using this now for a couple of weeks. (It came before Christmas and of course when I saw the Dell box from FedEx is didn't last until Christmas until we opened it!) The setup was super easy and the features are great. I love the keyboard! It is very easy to type on and looks great too! Would I recommend? Yes, I would to anyone needing a great all-around laptop for general purposes and good portability. I use a computer daily at work and at home and am the one in my office that everyone goes to when they need computer help, so I've used a lot of computers and know what I like. We are very pleased with this laptop!

Westiemom
Columbia Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 101 total reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews