Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 32 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

32 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

32 reviews | 4 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
5
1-20 of 31 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews
7/31/2012

Customer review by Blue7107

5.0 stars 7/31/2012 by Blue7107
by Blue7107

I bought one for my grandson in college last year and now bought one for my wife who has her own business. This laptop is everything I expected and is a great value.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Blue7107
Los Angeles, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Good Performer From A Great Brand
9/4/2012

Customer review by BrotherBarnabas

5.0 stars 9/4/2012 by BrotherBarnabas
by BrotherBarnabas

This particular Dell model's configuration is sufficient for most users of home-computing hardware. It is NOT designed for the serious on-line gamer. The Intel Core i5-2450M processor included in this NOTEBOOK computer does not seem to respond quite as quickly as the Intel Core i5 processors installed in DESKTOP computers with the same amount of RAM. However, it does handle multiple tasks simultaneously well and plays SD and HD video files well. Also, the flat-screen HD display in this unit has rich colors and very good graphics. The on-board network adapter (for wired ethenet connection or for wireless WiFi connections) appears to be a fast-performer. I'm glad that this PC includes BlueTooth capability, which is unusual for one at this price-point. The keyboard is average-quality, but adequate and well-laid-out. The "SRS Premium Sound", whatever that means, is sub-par and not-at-all-impressive. I would suggest using a high-quality set of PC speakers (at home) or a high-quality pair of headphones (when traveling). From the factory, this notebook PC arrives LOADED with quite a bit of "bloat-ware" software; this is not unusual nowadays for desktop PCs or for notebook PCs, regardless of the manufacturer. However, please be aware that this WILL affect the speed at which your computer will process and respond-to user requests, unless you remove any un-needed software.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BrotherBarnabas
Birmingham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Dell Lover!!
4/13/2012

Customer review by chikchat29

5.0 stars 4/13/2012 by chikchat29
by chikchat29

I am a Dell lover all the way. Having several teenagers in my home, and returning to college myself, we love our Dell laptops! Notice, I say laptopsssssss. Yes, we have more than one. Three to be exact. One purple, one black, and one grassy green. We have also bought a Sony Viao, HP, and Gateway. I will never recommend any of those computer systems. I wish I had bought Dell the very first time, I woldn't have wasted so much money on the other three systems. My Dell laptops are so user friendly, that even my five and nine year olds do their homework and play games on them. The only problem we've run into is finding a laptop that is available to use! I cannot think of cons to purchasing my Dell's. Technical support is great and very helpful. I've only called once and it turned out to be a problem with my HP printer, not the laptop. So, I guess next on my list will be to purchase a Dell printer! Thanks Dell!

chikchat29
Lexington, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great laptop for price.
7/2/2012

Customer review by shoshana1949

5.0 stars 7/2/2012 by shoshana1949
by shoshana1949

Great laptop for price.Love the speed on internet. Easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shoshana1949
Rochester,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Dell Inspiron 15R
8/18/2012

Customer review by WeLikeMovies

5.0 stars 8/18/2012 by WeLikeMovies
by WeLikeMovies

This is my first Dell laptop and so far I am well pleased. I purchased it to replace an HP desktop that "crashed and burned" because I wanted portability. The i5 processor is very fast and I have had no problems multi-tasking anything. Very responsive and I like the look and feel of it. A very good medium range laptop. The only things that could improve it would be a backlit keyboard and longer battery life.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WeLikeMovies
Gastonia,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Poor Quality
7/21/2012

Customer review by sadproduct

1.0 stars 7/21/2012 by sadproduct
by sadproduct

I purchased a Dell laptop in 2005 and it was a great product for years. Finally, it was time to upgrade and I bought the Dell 15R. 4 weeks later it completely crashed and wiped my hard drive. I use my computer for school purposes so this was incredibly frustrating. Besides the system failure, this computer is assembled with poor quality. It overheats very quickly and the fans constantly run. The disc drive is very flimsy and feels like it is going to break every time I open it. The entire keyboard shakes when I type. Even for being a brand new system, it runs very slow, and I'm used to an eight year old laptop. Overall, I would not purchase this computer again, and certainly would not recommend it to anyone, and am even questioning buying another Dell product in the future.

sadproduct
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great!
4/12/2012

Customer review by couurtneyf

5.0 stars 4/12/2012 by couurtneyf
by couurtneyf

Pros: I am just in love with this product. I love the switchable lids because you can put your own little style in it. I also love the fact that the weather has an icon on the desktop. It makes it so easy to see the weather. I love how fast the computer is and how it's very strict on backing up your information if something were to happen. I got the laptop as a graduation present, even though I knew I was getting it cause I picked it out myself. I think it will be a perfect laptop for college and help me with everything I need. I also recommend buying the microsoft office program! it's always helpful even if you arnt a student Cons: I don't have any really Review: Thanks so much dell, I recommend you too all my friends and family!

couurtneyf
Reynoldsburg Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dell - Always a Good Buy!
3/8/2012

Customer review by arjaywall

5.0 stars 3/8/2012 by arjaywall
by arjaywall

I've been purchasing Dell products for the past 9 years...I've had several laptops, a couple of desktops, and I have always been pleased with the products, the service, and the performance of each computer. My latest purchase of an Inspiron 15R laptop is no different. Being new to Windows 7, I was a bit hesitant about jumping into a new Operating System that was different that XP, but I have found that it is very easy to use and a lot faster than my XP machine. The design of the laptop is very sleek and lightweight, the graphics are very clear, and the keyboard very responsive. Overall, I would highly recommend a Dell product to any of my friends and family, I've never been disappointed!

arjaywall
San Diego, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Buy and awesome service
5/23/2012

Customer review by DanTruby

5.0 stars 5/23/2012 by DanTruby
by DanTruby

After much research and looking into every laptop manufacturer out there, I went ahead and ordered this computer. I can say now that after about a month of owning it, I don't think I could have purchased a better computer for my needs. everything about this works very smoothly and is very user friendly. When I had a question about hardware, the service department was very knowledgeable and helpful. Pros: The push to TV, the large Hard Drive, the USB 3.0, the size, the number pad for working in excel. Con: some of the Dell proprietary software-- was pretty easy to remove and replace with my own though.

DanTruby
GA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/31/2012

Customer review by stanhw

1.0 stars 12/31/2012 by stanhw
by stanhw

I purchased my first Dell Laptop on January 2010 and had more than enough normal problems. The screen finally "burn't out" after some 18 months of minimal service. Like a fool I purchased another Dell Inspiron N5110 Laptop on December 2012 and have nothing but problems with the typing as it prints all over the page. It appears to print normally and then it skips and prints where the cursor is set. I have contact your service group about his and had it fixed temporarily. I will never buy another Dell Product!!!!!!

stanhw
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not all that I dreamed it would be
6/4/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 6/4/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased this laptop shortly before leaving for College last July and in short it is just not cut out for college. It just squeaked by my first year before the hard drive failed, I sent it in to get it serviced and recently got it back. Not sure how long this hard drive will last. I would probably recommend a more powerful computer to my friends and future college goers. If you do decide to buy it, be sure to get the extended warranty unless you can replace the parts yourself after the warranty runs out.

An anonymous customer
Henderson, Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Fast machine but unreliable wifi and gets viruses
2/7/2013

Customer review by Jack110

3.0 stars 2/7/2013 by Jack110
by Jack110

I have owned my machine for 6 months - I have had to rebuils it 3 times due to the easy confusion of the wifi and the Widi. And now - since I have only been using the provided MS security software - I have a huge virus/malware issue that has slowly deactivated most of the advanced features of this machine. It should ship with something better - and yes I know that was my choice - but with Dell's buying power it should come with it free for a year!

Jack110
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great value and performance
4/18/2012

Customer review by brotheryang

5.0 stars 4/18/2012 by brotheryang
by brotheryang

No real complaints here with this computer. The performance is great, I have no problem surfing the web, playing music and running a couple of apps. The keys feel good and are responsive. CD burner is quiet and smooth when it's being used. My only criticism would be to put the usb ports closer together and to have them on the right side, but that may just be a personal preference thing. All in all a great machine!

brotheryang
A decaying midwestern city
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dell experiences
6/28/2012

Customer review by Rhonda05

4.0 stars 6/28/2012 by Rhonda05
by Rhonda05

I am very excited about my latest Dell purchases over the past year. I have been forunate in purchasing lap tops for my daughter (hers was stolen) and her best friend who needed a lap top because she was returning to college. Over the past few months I had the opportunity to purchase my own personal lap top and a replacement desk top. I am ecstatic. I love that I can change out my lid to different colors.

Rhonda05
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Keyboard is awful.
2/22/2012

Customer review by valants

1.0 stars 2/22/2012 by valants
by valants

I am so disappointed with the keyboard on this laptop, I have constant errors when typing because the touch pad is so sensitive. Find my cursor jumping all over the place when I'm typing and whole sentences are deleted. I have to be practically on top of the keyboard to get accurate results. Power cord is not in a good place. The computer itself works fine, it just needs a complete overhaul of the keyboard

valants
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
LAPTOP!
4/12/2012

Customer review by Ristretto

5.0 stars 4/12/2012 by Ristretto
by Ristretto

I was looking for an easy to use laptop for everyday surfing and other web related activities (music, movies etc) and found exactly what I wanted. Super easy setup, literally turn it on, and away it goes. The only thing one could possibly do with out is the erroneous software, it would be great if things were an option to add instead of already installed. Other than that, it's been great!

Ristretto
WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not what I expected
8/14/2012

Customer review by mpowers

3.0 stars 8/14/2012 by mpowers
by mpowers

I previously bought a Dell Inspiron 530 desktop and loved it so much that I ordered this one for the cottage. It had driver conflicts and stopped working on day 3. Dell support got it working again but all of the 3rd Party software (that you buy extra) that comes with it (like Nero) keeps interfering with the computer operation. Will I buy another Dell - Probably not

mpowers
Would recommend to a friend? No
Total waist of money
7/30/2012

Customer review by TMad

1.0 stars 7/30/2012 by TMad
by TMad

Purchased two of these end of May 2012. By mid June they started having problems booting and shutting down. Contacted technical support and they informed me that one needs a new hard drive and the second needs a new hard drive and a new motherboard. I have been using computers for 20 years never have I had to change a motherboard or hard drive.

TMad
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? No
Inspiron 15R
6/21/2012

Customer review by wireless15

5.0 stars 6/21/2012 by wireless15
by wireless15

I choose the 15R and I am completely satisfied with my choice. I choose this size because I wanted the number pad included. This size is so much more than portable than the 17" laptop I purchased a yr ago. I did not have any experince with face recognition software, but this unit comes with the software that makes it simple to use.

wireless15
Gautier, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/12/2012

Customer review by bigrob52

5.0 stars 7/12/2012 by bigrob52
by bigrob52

really enjoying my new dell laptop,i passed my last one dowm to my son for school.i have the core 5 and find it is everything i need.online shopping with dell was easy and fast.very happy with this product.also bought my fist wireless printerand its awsome.i have been a dell costumer for 15 years and have always been satified..

bigrob52
ville platte ,la.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews