Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 140 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

140 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

140 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
1-20 of 122 total reviews
Would recommend to a friend



1-20 of 122 total reviews
1-20 of 122 reviews

Customer review by ilivefor2day

2.0 stars 5/24/2012 by ilivefor2day
by ilivefor2day

Computer would not burn the recover three dvd disk, the dvd recorder stoped working. Returned to store. None in stock so I went to B.B. they had same pc with more mem. bigger hard drive and wireless, for a dollor more.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Taylor Mi.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less

Customer review by TessGoodman

5.0 stars 5/19/2012 by TessGoodman
by TessGoodman

I have ordered at least 10 Dell PC's for myself, friends and family over the years. I've also been an IT tech for 13 years. I got my new Inspiron 620 through Dell Outlet and I could not be happier. It is without a doubt the QUIETEST computer I have ever come into contact with - and I've worked on a LOT of computers. It's so quiet you'll question whether it's even running. And, it's FAST! Set up was a breeze, it connected immediately to my wireless network & the BEST thing is it came without a ton of bloatware on it. In the past, I've been accustomed to reformatting a new computer's hard drive & reinstalling a clean OS to rid myself of bloatware -- not necessary with this machine & that has saved me a lot of time. Dell is my first choice for new computer purchases, and this is just the latest example of why. All of my purchases from Dell have been problem free, great experiences. Thank you, Dell.

Wichita, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
As it stands now......great!

Customer review by vacantlotts

4.0 stars 9/2/2012 by vacantlotts
by vacantlotts

Only had my new Dell 620 for a few days, but understand this; cannot be overly anxious and be too praising. Still a bit early. But, since my old Dell Dimension series was over 13 years old, a teletype machine would've been welcomed. What I do love about it is the improved techno stuff, Windows 7, over XP and the unreal speed of it all plus the ease of use. Neat as heck,as far as I'm concerned, so I'll take it even if it has to be burped, now and then.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Copperpolis, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
great so far!

Customer review by 4theDogs

5.0 stars 5/27/2012 by 4theDogs
by 4theDogs

love the windows 7, nice computer... keyboard included is a low profile slim one, which i have already replaced just because i kept hitting two keys at once. very satisfied with the price, delivery and value. thank you, walmart. you are my go-to place for just about everything.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great system even for MMORPG gamers

Customer review by dr3dd1ne

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by dr3dd1ne
by dr3dd1ne

Got the INspiron 620 with i3-2120 processor, 6GB RAM, 1TB hard drive, wireless card, 16X DVD+/-RW drive, Windows 7 Home Premium. It's a STEAL for the price. Also got a Dell 23" LED screen to go with it. I game a LOT on this for MMORPGs (WoW & Star Wars the Old Republic). I knew that Intel incorporates HD 2000 graphics into their processor chipset now and wanted to test out if it would play WoW & SWTOR without a dedicated graphics card. Plays both on this system without a hitch on good to fair graphics settings in game. I added a Asus RAdeon HD6670 just for some more graphics umphh just cause I wanted to. If you want to play those MMORPGs and are on a tight budget, you'll be fine with the onboard graphics. Just set your ingame graphics to fair or good. Wireless card works fine. Usually 3 to 4 bars consistently through walls 40ft or so from my wireless router.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
better than I thought

Customer review by worldclass

5.0 stars 4/12/2012 by worldclass
by worldclass

fast, simple, easy set up, 500 gb hard drive great price.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lancaster sc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Bad reviews? Why?

Customer review by SueD55

5.0 stars 1/30/2012 by SueD55
by SueD55

We received the new Dell Inspiron 620 very quickly, and have been very happy since installing it. This computer, with Windows 7 Home, is an excellent buy. Fast, and not too much "bloat" software installed. Normally I order professional machines for business, but this was for my husband to use at home for photos, music and mapping applications. My husband is a map "geek" and the files are large and extensive. No problem running any of these large files on this new system. It pulls them up quickly. Same with music and photos. Previous to this computer, we had not used any Windows "Home" product. We had have always used the Professional versions of Windows. This has turned out to be an excellent great choice and haven't noticed any significant difference. Back to the computer. I ordered a stock machine with no extras except for one year on-site service. Stuff happens and we have learned that normally, unless it is a problem due to age, it's going to happen during the first year of use. I would have no problem recommending this computer for any family or friends. It has been in use for two weeks and my husband is very pleased!

United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pray you get a working one-Dell is aware of defect

Customer review by Pholidot

1.0 stars 12/6/2011 by Pholidot
by Pholidot

Let me start by saying, I LOVE Dell computers. However, this is my first bad experience with a system they have manufactured. I will also say, their customer service was great in my situation however i STRONGLY caution ANYONE buying the SLIM model, 620s, if your power supply dies within the first couple of days, return the system. It's just not worth a 1 year warranty for a defect like the power button/supply that Dell is aware of to take the risk of needing another computer in a year. Long story short, my power supply died in the first 2 days of owning the system. Dell sent out a tech to repair it, replaced the PSU and within another 2 days, goodbye power supply. After researching the problem, it appears VERY frequently, just read through the reviews. Dell is a great company but this is a system I do NOT trust. Hope that helps.

Would recommend to a friend? No
620s - love it

Customer review by BostonEngineer

5.0 stars 1/16/2012 by BostonEngineer
by BostonEngineer

Just received the 620S with i5 processor. Love it. Pros: 1. Extremely quiet 2. Fast 3. Small case yet does everything. 4. Runs cool Cons (very minor): 1. The fan transmits a very slight vibration to my wooden computer cabinet resulting in a very very slight hum. The hum is not noticeable unless you are listening for it, and I did not notice it until my wife pointed it out. Lifting the computer off the cabinet base removes the hum, and mounting the computer on the floor or desktop would probably remove it also. Perhaps Dell should mount the fan to the chassis with a better vibration mount? 2. I purchased the 620S as part of a package with an ST2420L monitor. Dell supplied a DVI-VGA adapter and a VGA cable, instead of a DVI cable. However this seems to work OK and gives a great picture.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Won't Start....power button dark...very loud

Customer review by Evelyn3170

1.0 stars 2/1/2012 by Evelyn3170
by Evelyn3170

In the past I have purchased a Dell Dimension desktop and two Dell Inspiron Laptops...all great computers. I prefer buying new computers and never upgrade operating systems. I purchased the Dell Inspiron 620 in June 2011. I noticed there was something "funny" about the power button from the beginning...thought it was just hard to press correctly. ..then in Sept. 2011 power button won't work so I tried turning off everything and turning back on and the Inspiron started. At that time I didn't shut down the Inspiron very often and kept it in sleep most of the time. Then I read about a house burning down when a computer tower fan stopped working and started shuting down Inspiron at night. This Inspiron had always been the loudest computer I had ever seen...and that includes the first computer I used at work in 1983...the tower part of that computer was the size of a small car. Now the only way to restart this Inspiron is to disconnect everything , open the tower, and remove and reseat the memory ....Dell support updated the bios when I called the first time and I thought that fixed same old problem again. I'd like to leave it on sleep but worry it is a fire hazard due to all that noise.

Would recommend to a friend? No
Best Computers AND Customer Service!

Customer review by DSava

5.0 stars 3/17/2012 by DSava
by DSava

I had 2 'namebrand' computers in the past, that only lasted a few years before having problems. I bought my first DELL in 2002, and LOVED it! Had NO problems, and it finally stopped working in Dec. 2011. I KNEW that no other computer would live up to a DELL, so I got the Inspiron 620. I absolutely LOVE IT! I did have a tiny problem when it was delivered. I thought there was something wrong with the USB ports on the front, but it turns out, they were just SUPER tight because they were new. But DELL bent over backwards and immediately sent a tech to try to help me with the problem, and I mean they WENT OUT OF THEIR WAY to make me happy! I would never even think of buying any other brand, and I just hope this new one lasts as long as my last one. WAY TO GO DELL!!

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Mostly excellent all around

Customer review by Sharkey

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by Sharkey
by Sharkey

First of all I have had several Dell computers since the early 1990's. Each one has given me excellent service. On this partcular model the 620 MT I expect the same. I have had this model up and running for a week. It is very quiet except when the fan comes on and that is very infrequently and not a problem. This ia NOT the 620S which seems to be the unit that most people are complaining about. Maybe the slim design holds more heat or reflects the fan noise that some are complaining about. Look at the complaints closely. Rarely is a 620 regular cabinet mentioned. I do not know why Dell does not seperate the two from one another on this board. It is like comparing grapes and oranges. Two of my friends also purchased this model with no problems.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
620 Slim Tower All The Way Baby

Customer review by Galvatron86

4.0 stars 5/8/2012 by Galvatron86
by Galvatron86

620 Slim Tower Pros: 1) Windows 7 - WWWAAYYY !!! Better than Vista in so many ways. 2.)Intel I3 Processor - It's really fast 3.) Intel HD Graphics - Even though I have a monitor that is 6 yrs. old movies(even Adult Movies),and Youtube videos come in so clear. Now don't get me wrong it is 10 times better if you have a HD mnonitor but it has made a differenve on my monitor. 4.) Desktop Wallpaper and Screensaver already comes with pictures that are very vivid. Cons: 1.) Carrier - FedEx Ground was slow in delivering it on the day they promised. In their defense the driver did explain that FedEx overstocked his truck. 2.) I wish Dell had Accidental & Damage Protection Plan on all their products not just their most recent products.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very noisy - both fan and disk

Customer review by matt333

2.0 stars 5/12/2012 by matt333
by matt333

The fan is excessively noisy, probably as a result of the mediocre casing. Different frequencies of vibrations are heard, some of which vary when squeezing the casing with your hands from both sides in various locations. The casing by the way feels extremely clunky in particular on the back end where all the ports are - it is very unstable there (I have never seen this kind of low quality back panel in any desktop I've used so far). In addition, the hard drive is noisy. Every hard drive operation can be heard, reminds of how hard drives were 15 years ago... I would not recommend this desktop due to those reasons. It is just too distracting to use like this and a bad surprise. Disappointed.

Would recommend to a friend? No
I like this 620

Customer review by Bopat

5.0 stars 1/26/2012 by Bopat
by Bopat

Just bought it this month. So far it's been great. It's very fast,Quiet and starts up so fast I can't believe it. This computer will do every thing fast I mean realy fast, the best computer I've owned. The 24" Monitor is great viewing. Computer was Easy to start right out of the box, It was just plug and play thats the first time we had a computer that did that. Turned it on, It up graded it self and was then ready to use. Now that is great. Even the price was the best price for a computer that we could have found. That is with a 24" Dell Monitor, Dell Wireless Keyboard and Mouse, also with speakers! This Dell system can't be beat CONS: There is none We are VERY HAPPY Thank You Bob

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Disappointment

Customer review by LED7500

3.0 stars 12/18/2011 by LED7500
by LED7500

The online ordering process and subsequent delivery were excellent, typical Dell high quality. However, this Inspiron 620 minitower was a disappointment. First of all, although I am computer literate hardware wise, the Quick Start instructions were lacking in several areas. Since I ordered an HDMI cable Dell had disabled the HDMI,VGA, and sound connectors on the case but that was not mentioned in print. I figured out the cable needed to be connected to an HDMI Express card. Regarding connecting the speakers I was at a loss until I figured out the live pin connections were on the bottom of the monitor. Again, there was nothing in print telling me that. And, when I opened the case to insert a second DVD drive I found the spare power connectors, but no data connections for that or for a second hard drive! Lastly, and most disappointing, this 620 is noisy and slooooow. Something in the minitower is vibrating against the the case, but I have yet to resolve that. The hard drive is also noisy and can be heard several feet away. As far as response time to pull up applications and perform some tasks such as backup, this 620 is much slower than my 10 year old Dell XPS. Overall I am disappointed technically and would not recommend this computer to anyone who is looking for performance and quietness.

Gainesville, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
power supply will not turn on

Customer review by CLau138

4.0 stars 1/28/2012 by CLau138
by CLau138

When I have my computer shut off for the night I cannot turn on the computer in the morning. I tried numerous times and I figured it out that the Keyboard and mouse have to be communicating or linked to the computer. The crazy thing is that when the inspiron 620s is turned off the keyboard and mouse also goes to sleep preventing the computer to be turned on. I don't know why but try it and get back to my post if I am right. Before you press the power button on the computer first press the wireless sync for your keyboard and mouse. Then give a few seconds and press the computer power. This should work. I don't know if wired keyboards does the same thing but it worked for me.

new jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Inspiron 620 Rattle and Hum

Customer review by rickyt369

2.0 stars 11/15/2011 by rickyt369
by rickyt369

After installing my new Inspiron 620 PC, I was quite disappointed to hear how brutally loud it was. At first, I thought it was a bad hard drive, but after investigation I found that the housing is so poorly designed that it vibrates badly. Thankfully, I found a solution for all you frustrated folks out there. Take off the side panel (2 screws and slide off), cut up one of those felt adhesive furniture leg pieces into narrow strips and stick them to the computer frame where they won't get in the way. Reinstall the sliding panel (with some muscle to push it back on), and the noise is gone. Hey Dell engineers...a little rubber "weather stripping" would go a long way here!

New Orleans
Would recommend to a friend? No
Fantastic Computer!

Customer review by rjg426

5.0 stars 12/29/2011 by rjg426
by rjg426

My old IBM home computer was top-of-the-line 9 years ago but just wasn't cutting it in today's environment. I got tired of all the humming and whinning noises and waiting forever for web pages to load. My new Dell 620 is fantastic! It's so quiet, I can't tell if it's on or not. It's lightning fast with impressive specs at a decent price (best value in my opinion after comparing other major brands). I mainly use it for web browsing, not gaming so I didn't need upgraded graphics. It's got the i5-2320 3.0GHz processor with 8 GB RAM so I should be set for quite a few years. I've had it for about a month and I'm very pleased so far, can't think of anything negative.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Satisfied Customer

Customer review by Tenor73

5.0 stars 1/12/2012 by Tenor73
by Tenor73

My Dell Dimensions 4300 was exactly 10 years old when I decided to shop for a new computer. I read reviews of various HP, Gateway, and other desktops before deciding to get another Dell. I have not been disappointed. I read some negative reviews here, but find it hard to believe they are talking about the same computer that I have. The Dimensions 620 is quiet and powerful. I got 8 GB ram and a 1 TB hard drive - more than I need, but the price of upgrading is mimimal. Dell support in the past has been great. I also bought Dell Home System ISP Setup with Data Transfer. It was well worth the money. My experience with Dell has been all positive.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 122 total reviews
1-20 of 122 reviews