Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 102 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

102 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

102 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
51
4 stars
24
3 stars
10
2 stars
1
1 stars
16
1-20 of 90 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 90 total reviews
1-20 of 90 reviews
Great bang-for-the-buck laptop!!!
4/23/2012

Customer review by cameraman55

5.0 stars 4/23/2012 by cameraman55
by cameraman55

Having used other brands in the past, I expected the same from this Dell, but was I surprised! This is one of the fastest laptops I've owned and it's still about 4 year old technology but i didn't want to move away from XP Pro. The screen is very clear and the optical drive and media readers work great. I use an external hard drive and save all of my larger files (pictures, songs, videos) on that and that could be why this machine flys, but I'm not complaining. Took a few weeks to get used to the trackpad, but all is fine now and loving this Dell laptop!!!

Was this review helpful? (45) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cameraman55
Boston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
What turned me onto Dell
7/11/2012

Customer review by mknabster

5.0 stars 7/11/2012 by mknabster
by mknabster

I originally had Dell Inspiron and Dimension machines and i had multiple problems with them. But last year, i was handed down a Dell Latitude D630 from work, as a little gift for the end of my internship, and after using this guy, I took back all the bad things i said about Dell in the past. Though now i only buy business class, this computer wowed me for its age. I ended up installing a bigger HDD, more RAM, and a DVD burner after i got it, and with Windows 7 Ultimate x64, it flies. When i was at school, this was my backup for when my MacBook Pro crashed, which seems to be happening more now, despite it being newer than the D630. Since my sister is going off to school this upcoming year, we thought that she would need a known dependable machine to keep up with her. So i gave her the D630, and she loves it, and never has a problem with it either. I have nothing bad to say about it, it's a good machine, and still a bargain in terms of power for whatever need despite its age.

mknabster
Limerick, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very nice
3/6/2012

Customer review by deanmr23

5.0 stars 3/6/2012 by deanmr23
by deanmr23

Very nice laptop for the price recommend it to anybody

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
deanmr23
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Overall It Gets the Job Done
4/22/2012

Customer review by Tee73

3.0 stars 4/22/2012 by Tee73
by Tee73

I bought this to keep my teens off my laptop since they only use their older model Mac desktop for internet surfing. I must admit I can't complain. I had Dell (since my laptop is a higher model & I have an account) install software to monitor activity and keep it clean. I also had a Dell webcam installed (this does not have one) for their usage. They don't complain about it and school work gets done along with all the other stuff teenagers put on laptops. I would recommend for the person who don't want to spend a lot, especially since kids crash computers frequently.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tee73
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for the money
9/21/2012

Customer review by TomcatDriver

5.0 stars 9/21/2012 by TomcatDriver
by TomcatDriver

Great value, can be found refurbished for low $$$ in a number of places. I had this same model for my work laptop for four years. Durable and reliable, Dell made this a good device. Motherboard supports up to 8GB of DDR2 RAM (RAM modules are pricey). Only thing a bit complex is updating the RAM. It has two slots, one which requires removing the keyboard, but it's a strightforward job, just slightly tedious. Updating to a new SATA2 750G HD running Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit was quite easy. Wireless works well. It does not support HDMI. Overall, love the machine for normal Office work. The Dell site supports excellent downloads and machine updates.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TomcatDriver
Stafford, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
5/4/2013

Customer review by WORLDISTURNING

5.0 stars 5/4/2013 by WORLDISTURNING
by WORLDISTURNING
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The computer was like new. Easy to follow instructions and got online in a few minutes. I would surely recommend this computer to anyone, young or old, computer saavy or not.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WORLDISTURNING
HAVERHILL,MASS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/2/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 2/2/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

not what I expected, refurbish is not a good option for me.. it did have a couple of details, corners of the laptop were scratch (all 4) and also have a little hit on the Dell logo... I had to return it

Was this review helpful? (61) (42)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Nogales, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Purchase... Yeah!!!
3/15/2009

Customer review by Zinx

4.0 stars 3/15/2009 by Zinx
by Zinx

Its difficult to summarise in Pros and cons. so i'll give u my whole story on this. i wanted to buy a lappy with PCMCIA support, and this was the only one that had it when i bought it. if u are a student, this is the best for u, trust me. you can put up all the heavy apps u need during ur graduation and run'em all at the same time, without sweating ur machine. Now this is not a very gaming oriented machine. i mean the Quadro 135M/145M cannot give u that power. but i had no other option. dell replaced my mother board in 3 days every time it blew up (once there was a current leakeage, second time the video card fried itself) i dunno where to put it, in pros or cons. But seriously guys if you wanna use ur lappy for working, some movie watching and not so die hard gaming, u can put it in ur back pack and go anywhere in the world. just remember to add a 9 cell batery when u configure it. i dunno how much dell claims it to be but i ran the lappy on battery for 11 Hrs and 40 odd minutes, through out my train journey. if u want to know anything in specific shoot me a mail and i'd be glad to reply it.

Zinx
Hyderabad, India
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/22/2012

Customer review by PBRCaptain

4.0 stars 8/22/2012 by PBRCaptain
by PBRCaptain

The laptop will only accept 1 hard drive otherwise it is a great deal.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PBRCaptain
Jeromesville, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Christmas Present for School
3/17/2008

Customer review by Guvan

4.0 stars 3/17/2008 by Guvan
by Guvan

I use this laptop for simple computing needs like office, internet, and email, but i also run Chief Architect, a 3D architecture program. All of these aplication run smoothly on my 2.2 Ghrtz procesor and 2 GB of ram. I have heard that Vista runs slowly on many machines, but i feel that one needs the correct combination of speed and memory to help Vista along a bit. I have found this laptop sufficienct for my needs and would recomend it to any business user. For the lack of basic multi-media needs like s-video SD card, HDMI, Web-cam, etc; this is not the laptop for you. I suggest purchassing the M1330 instead. For the same price, one can get better specs with the D630, so it was my top pick. This is a very nice laptop.

Guvan
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A very well made laptop...
7/19/2008

Customer review by Chrisengineer

5.0 stars 7/19/2008 by Chrisengineer
by Chrisengineer

I purchased this laptop for the purpose of using it when I go off to University in the Fall. I needed a laptop with discrete graphics so that I could utilize CAD software for some of my Electronics classes. The serial port will be useful for programming routers, microprocessors, and my robotics projects. With the resolution on the screen, I can do the homework for my programming classes without my eyes becoming strained. The core2duo platform is snappy and responsive and can probably handle anything that I decide to throw at it. This laptop is a business class machine and I hope to get many good years of service from it.

Chrisengineer
Pinehurst, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
For the most part a good value
10/8/2013

Customer review by ruby27262

3.0 stars 10/8/2013 by ruby27262
by ruby27262
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I recently order this Dell laptop. I have had a few Dells in the past so I was familiar with their products. Overall this laptop was a good value. The only things I found wrong with this particular model were the audio...doesn't have very good sound...the volume doesn't go very high. Also, there seem to be some connection problems while trying to get online. It keeps losing a connection. I've not experienced this with previous laptops nor do other PCs or laptops in the household have this problem. I ordered it mainly for college and general internet use. It does have a clear picture and very comfortable to use. For the most part a good value

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ruby27262
greensboro, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/6/2013

Customer review by 123know

1.0 stars 9/6/2013 by 123know
by 123know

i bought this lap top just over a year ago and it completely crashed on me . and was barely used. i spent 2 full days with techs to try and fix the problem costing $200 and in the end i was told that this item was purchased with internal and external problems that would no matter what crash on me. i had to wipe my data clean and lost all pics etc and had to re install a new windows . but the keys on the key pad have fallen off so very hard to type still........ and of course there is no replacement for this nor refund for all the money spent.... would never think to save money by getting a refurbished anything .......

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
123know
washington
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Simply Amazing!
11/29/2012

Customer review by ElmoRapz

5.0 stars 11/29/2012 by ElmoRapz
by ElmoRapz

Anyone that says the D630 is a bad piece of machinery should really recap on how they use the computer. I am a computer programmer, web developer, app developer, DJ, and sound system expertise...so far in the past year that I have had this computer it has done more things than my old Compaq computer could ever do in its lifetime. This runs really smoothly and works perfectly with the dock feature. I can have my external keyboard and mouse plugged in, and have duel displays from my T.V. to my other LCD laptop monitor. I have it hooked up to my stereo and it has an amazing sound card. I can get every sound that i need out of it. The default speakers are loud too. When I am developing applications it flies by when I am putting in code, and the graphics card goes well so I know what I will need to expect when I test out on my Galaxy Nexus S. Internet storage is what I usually use, and it always keeps me up to date on everything so I am never in the dark when getting something from my teammates. Also when traveling with it, the battery will last 5 hours on a single charge so it worked amazingly when going to and back from school. Personally i have taken apart this computer and put it back together, and it is the ONLY computer that is so easy to really understand. I love how I can move around my Wireless card to the front for better connection and it is easy to just get everything fixed on it. I absolutely love this computer!!

ElmoRapz
Centerton AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for High-School
10/28/2007

Customer review by wiz3512

5.0 stars 10/28/2007 by wiz3512
by wiz3512

It could be a little heavy for some if you have the 9-cell battery, but it's not too bad for me. I recommend this laptop for everyday use and for high-school and college students. It has one of the best prices for what it is- a thinish, lightish laptop with plenty of power for many tasks. And the sound issues that some talk about seem to be unjustified. Although I am no audiophile, the speakers have adequate sound to play back voice recordings, dvds, and music in good quality. I highly recommend this laptop

wiz3512
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Look like Trash in a box
9/20/2013

Customer review by mslana2u504

1.0 stars 9/20/2013 by mslana2u504
by mslana2u504

I was so happy when I got home and found that my pc arrived. When I opened the box, I saw through the clear wrapping how damage it was and I understand its refurbished, but from the online viewing and product details it didn't state about damages and wear and tear. And I feel played because there's a Man who sells Refurbished Dell laptops in Louisiana and they don't have the wear and tear and damages like the one I purchased from walmart.com. His laptops are much cheaper starting at $85.00up to $125.00 with a lot of memory. I'm not a happy consumer right now.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mslana2u504
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great upgrade from my Latitude D600
2/18/2008

Customer review by XCMCFO

5.0 stars 2/18/2008 by XCMCFO
by XCMCFO

I love the widescreen format of this new laptop. I love signing on with a swipe of the fingerprint reader and the EV-DO card being built in. Dell has made a lot of subtitle changes to the laptop since my D600 version that just shows their attention to the details. From new side vents to the new rubber grip on the joystick to wider rubber feet on the bottom to the added wrist rest with the 9 cell battery. This Laptop not only performs well but it looks good and feels good at the same time.

XCMCFO
Wausau, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Road Warrior
7/15/2008

Customer review by WPMan

4.0 stars 7/15/2008 by WPMan
by WPMan

I bought this notebook because it had a daylight visible screen. I wanted to be able to work while travelling in all conditions. I even have a RAM mount for my vehicle so I can use it for GPS navigation or work from passenger seat while someone else drives. That is why I was able to live with the compromises. The most disappointing compromise is the audio volume. I like the internal EVDO modem because I do not want the danger of notebook damage when a card sticks out the PC Card slot.

WPMan
Ottawa, ON
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great laptop for what I need.
10/14/2013

Customer review by monet82

5.0 stars 10/14/2013 by monet82
by monet82
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I decided it was time that I needed a laptop because of the practicality of it. I did not want to spend a lot of money and did not need anything fancy. Just a basic PC laptop for WiFi internet access, college assignments, listening to music and watching movies. This laptop so far has proven to be able to do all these things. Connects to college WiFi with no problems. Yes, it is not in brand new condition (exterior wise) but still in good condition since it is refurbished. Works great for what I need it for at a affordable price. :)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
monet82
Sparta, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A real powerhouse and unbeatable value
3/4/2008

Customer review by ChrisCycleworks

5.0 stars 3/4/2008 by ChrisCycleworks
by ChrisCycleworks

I did not even boot this laptop to the installed windows operating system. The first thing I did was install ubuntu. There are a couple of "gotchyas" when installing linux on any computer, so search ahead of time for any special commands or settings or to learn how other linux users have their D630s set up. I chose to run 64bit version, which initially made things more difficult than needed, but compile times are blindingly fast.

ChrisCycleworks
san diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 90 total reviews
1-20 of 90 reviews